Naza Bikes launches NTech lubricants

cpi_gtr.jpg

Naza Bikes announced two new product ranges – a new brand of scooters called Scoped, which are badge-engineered scooters by Taiwanese company CPI Motor Company as well as a line of motorcycle lubricants.

Although it’s not clear to me at this point which CPI Motor scooter the new Naza Scoped will be based on, above is a photo of the CPI GTR 150. Naza says the Scoped will have a 4-stroke engine, and the GTR 150 the only 4-stroke unit, while the others are all 2-stroke scooters. For all scooters produced by CPI, click here. Naza plans to launch a second model in collaboration with CPI after the affordable RM3,000 Naza Scoped is launched. Local assembly will begin early 2007.

As for the lubricants, the new Naza NTech series comprise of the fully synthetic 4T SAE 5W/40 API SL/CF NTech 8000 at RM25, the semi synthetic 4T SAE 10W/40 API SL NTech 5000 at RM16 and the mineral 4T SAE 15W/40 API SF NTech 2000 for RM10.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• asimo (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 1:51 pm

this bike,the position riding really cool.. i already test ride my friend cpi gtr…but this bike underpower,as it use low quality part and overheat engine.if naza produce this bike,i hope they use good quality part…but ant belive this model will be sell aroud 3k…maybe a new model of cpi…maybe not this model…"MAYBE"…good luck Naza

• viceice (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 3:51 pm

I word: Wannabe

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 5:13 pm

I have to agree the styling is unique and outstanding compare with Japs Kapcai. But then How much? 6K to 10K?

Also, Where is the engine original from? Maybe from Suzuki or Honda? or Taiwanese modified version from Japs and Korean made.

Sorry I don't use any bike. :)

Naza will not get any profit from me……

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 5:25 pm

This bike now costs arount 7k. I checked it out at a nike shop in Cheras. Sold as Ritz GTR. If what asimo says about the bike being underpowered and overheats is true, I hope Naza fixes these issues before the bike officially comes into the market or it'll only create bad publicity for the bike and Naza. Overall, I like the design. At least its a scooter trying not to look like one. Looks like a new trend starting.

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 5:26 pm

Oops, typo error there:

This bike now costs arount 7k. I checked it out at a bike shop in Cheras. Sold as Ritz GTR. If what asimo says about the bike being underpowered and overheats is true, I hope Naza fixes these issues before the bike officially comes into the market or it’ll only create bad publicity for the bike and Naza. Overall, I like the design. At least its a scooter trying not to look like one. Looks like a new trend starting.

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 5:37 pm

I saw this GTR ads quite sometime, but never see the real bike on the road until now.. Naza??.. uweekk.. their bad reputation on after sale support is not a secret anymore.. tahu jual saja, but support terrible.. spare parts suma susah mau cari…. thumbs down to all vehicles from taiwan & china!!.. see what happen to Comel, JRD & etc.. beli 1 free 1.. but still nobody wanted to buy.. poor those ppl tricked by their cheap products…

• KY (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 5:59 pm

From the picture it looks like the bike might have a water cooled engine. If that is the case, using proper coolant (something Malaysian is not known for) might aleveate the overheating problem.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 6:40 pm

Regular peeps who do uses bikes would not buy a Naza. A lot bought them for looks and had were burned by the lack of reliability and after sales support. Mostly its the reliability. They don't have service centres to go to. They go to the nearest bike shop.

Most of the time when we do send it, its for change of oil. Other than 'potong blok' or 'tukar paip' which is once in a lifetime anyway. Naza needs to do a lot of branding work to get peeps to move away from the incumbents. Naza needs to do more than just rebadging work.

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 7:06 pm

Yup, I think the bike is liquid cooled. Maybe it needs a slightly bigger radiator or stronger and bigger fan. I have read much about it. Sold in US too.

• amir (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 7:39 pm

cool design….if its 7k, im sure no one will buy this thing

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 8:46 pm

hmmm, if Naza does this bike locally and sells it at around 3 plus k, and improves the materials and heating problem, it sounds quite enticing.

• drM (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 9:12 pm

remove it from here..GTR is only symbolised the beast looking, japanese monster, churning about 400bhp, and its all about tyre smoking and going sideways all day long. sound familiar? never in my life, a GTR is a bike..remove it from here

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 9:18 pm

Aisay, easylah. Just change the namelah. As Paul said, it may be called Scoped 150 instead. So the name is no problemlah.

• i'm run (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 10:12 pm

2-stroke scooters?? Are you sure..? I never heard 2-stroke scooters before..

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 10:26 pm

Vespas are 2-stroke. Lambrettas are two stroke. Every Gilera Runner except the VXR200 is a 2-stroke. Everything that sounds like treng-te-teng-teng-teng is 2-stroke! :)

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 12:53 am

new toys for Mat Rempit….

• MyBoy (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 1:04 am

Kapcai in scooter guise.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 1:17 am

Most chicks don't know. One in my former workplace took a ride on some guy's Aprilia RS125 (Treng-te-teng-teng-teng all the way) and came back saying – "Oh cool, I just had a ride on a SUPERBIKE!".

I laughed my head off! Superbike formula was always 750cc 4-cylinder or 1000cc 2-cylinder. In Malaysia I guess anything goes!

• Celicazz (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 1:34 am

haha, very funny …

i guess that how it goes here in Malaysia…

how cluless she has been…

neway, nice bike, especially those exposed frames…

• asimo (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 2:57 am

this is scooter,not moped or superbike.already sell here in malaysia under ritz motor(formerly itro) but the quality WTF!!!underpower bike….

but i guest not this model….maybe a new model….but if yes,this model,like i said before,please do a good qulity bike….not like what ritz motor did..kesian my fren

• domoteka (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 2:57 am

hmm, naza scooters….. the idea doesn't bode well with me….. take a look at their earlier offerings, the naza symphony and naza gemilang II(with radical swing arm) the bikes were cheap and were widely seen when it was launched….

however after 2-3 years in the market,the few which are seen now,i hear the engine running as if it was going to explode or there was no more engine oil left in the bike, however i doubt the latter.i guess the problem is that the engine is not made to last or the quality is in doubt.my humble opinion, wait 2 years to see the durability of the bike before buying one. As a note, i use a 7 year Yamaha Majesty YP250 Scooter and it still runs like new and i travel outstation every other day with it.Talk about durability.

• asimo (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 3:06 am

lowprofile said,

thats true lowprofile,at this moment better dont buy cpi gtr under ritz motor..quality really bad….the quality not as high as our modenas scooter.Modenas also using Taiwan partner.PGO.but the quality really superb.

Cpi under ritz is using low quality part and not done R&D test before sell it,others than overheat ,it is also really underpower,it just fell like scooter below 125cc.

If Naza produce this bike with a superb quality,and this is the model…I without no doubt,wcan consider to buy this scoot..i like the style,and the riding position…but pretty to cpi gtr owner now,if the price is around 4k-5k….no resale value…

• acbc (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 4:25 am

MCH! Giving more benefits to Mat Rempits! WTF?????

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 6:42 am

Nice design, I thought it was a normal bike, and not a scooter. But if next year, selling at 3K, I'm not looking forward to this. I'm looking for the locally assembled SOLAR powered scooter cost less than 3K, and you get a BT equiped helmet. No more filling up the motor with oil.

• KingKong (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 3:02 pm

Naza should rebadge BMW motorbikes.

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 5:22 am

whoaa….very garang looking scooter laaa…but the quality also must be garang laa…power HAVE to be far more garang one…..If can match 150cc Modenas Elit, sure a good buy…….but also keep the RM down laaa…so everybody who likes it can buy….

• asimo (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 8:11 am

performance really bad!!!more slower than moskito…!!!!

moskito is very slow,this scoot more slow than moskito….huhu…naza please do a good job…

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 1:07 am

scooter + moped = Scoped… What a "brilliant" idea….

• asimo (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 9:04 am

scootcai

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 8:27 pm

Naza should build Harleys lah. Seeing how popular they are with Malaysians, and thanks to American Chopper, etc. Tons of clone choppers being built in US. I believe you can build an entire bike with zero HD factory parts!

• Deon (Member) on Dec 24, 2006 at 9:30 am

Bros, u guys know where i can find a sample somewhere in PJ? Please advice

• Deon (Member) on Dec 24, 2006 at 9:48 am

Bros, can u guys tell me where can i see a sample of the GTR in PJ?

• illegaldriver (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 8:13 pm

loh..

all of us shld jst naik basikal la..

more safe,v bcme more healty n easy to use..

even economic oso

• Hi, I don?t understand how to add your site in my rss reader. Can you Help me, please :)

• Opsor on Aug 04, 2009 at 5:38 pm

Gentlemen,

How about fuel consumption? This scooter use 150cc. So, I assume that the fuel consumption also quite non-economic. (I think only)

• cust. on Sep 05, 2009 at 7:18 am

very simple naza …. build this bike in quality to meet your targets.talking about the design i think everyone likes it.only quality that matters.i might buying one for my self but see first laa how ……..