Two Lexus models for Malaysia in 2007

lexusls4501.jpg

UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd’s plans for the Lexus marque this year – two models, one of which will be the flagship Lexus LS. Lexus has never really been in Malaysia officially with proper support, previously you could only purchase Lexus cars through grey importers. UMW Toyota will focus on establishing the Lexus brand in the local luxury segment, and not just to be viewed as more upmarket Toyotas.

It’s perfect really – despite only being a 17 year old brand, Lexus is the top luxury segment seller in the US, and is immediately associated with the luxury car image. Not only that, it has also benefitted from Toyota’s reputation for good build and reliability.

The Lexus LS is a massive full-sized luxury sedan, powered by powerful V8 engines. I wonder what’s the other model to be brought in, it should be either the IS or the ever so popular RX. My bet is on the latter. Rear shot of the Lexus LS after the jump, you’ll find that it looks very similar to a model in Toyota’s existing line-up.

lexusls4502.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tariq (Member) on Dec 11, 2006 at 3:19 pm

The 2007 LS and Camry do share some good looks, but under that skin,they are two different animals.definitely targeted for two different market segments.

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Dec 11, 2006 at 4:45 pm

Lexus always have the luxurious car design cum sporty look, not to compare to those German's BMW, Just taking comparisom between Honda, Toyota and Hyundai, Lexus always has the best design among them in sense of my feeling..Simplicity but aggresive. Saw a Lexus model yesterday parking, Whole white and…Cool!

• kendo (Member) on Dec 11, 2006 at 5:50 pm

Why is that Japan car prices still HIGH,

despite we have sign – Msia-JAPAN Tax Tree Import Agreement!

• kington (Member) on Dec 11, 2006 at 6:32 pm

For Lexus, the RX is definitely a must, but the one that's really selling is the softer 2.4 litre model and if i'm not mistaken the only RX available is the RX330 and the hybrid model. Hence i doubt many would fork out the much higher extra premium for the RX330, not forgetting the higher road tax and fuel it commands. Of course, those who can afford it will have no problems, unlike mortals like me…. sigh….

The LS, if competitvely priced should give the S and the 7 a fight for its money. True, its heritage is nowhere near the Merc or the Beemer especially when you consider just how good the new big Merc is. Tech, spec, style and comfort has never been better packaged in a three pointed star. The Beemer on the other hand, while being slightly older, is still pretty well packaged and offers its drivers, handling that is second to none in its class.

The LS however, maintains itself as the more refined in its class, comfort at any speeds is now heaps better, thanks to its revised air suspension (the Europeans get that option) and of course, being Japan's biggest car (bar the Toyota Century with its V12 engine – a JDM model) still offers tech specs that are comparable with the Merc's.

To me, The ES has always been a flop, being the Lexus-fied Camry and trully, serves no purpose as a FWD comfy cruiser. I doubt they'll bring it here. The IS250 would be fun, but the CKD 320i will still be cheaper, i guess, so only Lexae fans may apply.

The GS has always been my favorite, somehow, and it would be nice to see the hybrid model here, which is capable of supercar sprint figures. I fell in love with the GS soon after i chanced upon a custom-made twin turbo unit of the 2nd gen GS400 in OZ…absolute scorcher on the straights and it swept corners in superb fashion thanks to its Bilstein-tuned suspension.

For the UMW – Lexae team, all the best and i hope youguys do well here, just make sure your service and technicians pay more attention towards attending your customers' needs, and not your target of the day… like your Toyota comrads.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Dec 11, 2006 at 7:16 pm

It would not be the RX. The new Harrier was in Malaysian market for more than 2 years. Those who want it, would have bought it; god some would have even 'upgrade' themselves to the Murano. (**upgrade = change one every 2 years).

It would most definitely be the IS, since the E90 was just launched, new C-class is on the horizon, it would be a good shot to have a Lexus IS, priced cheaper than the German trios, with better specs and the promise of Jap reliability. It will be the perfect timing to undercut them.

• ckengyo (Member) on Dec 11, 2006 at 7:54 pm

i've saw alot of harrier convert 2 the lexus logo. but no matter how completed they change their car's logo, the airbag still show their toyota root. yet no mark levinson ice.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 12:22 am

Lexus LS?? Still acceptable, maybe a "luxury" price tag or "luxury" performance, but lack of "luxury" exterior appearance compared to BMW, Maserati, Mercedes-Benz, Jaguar, and……….Maybach, haha~

out of topic, sorry…..

• offroader manix (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 9:09 am

Well, since UMW can bring such cars at that price tag…..I think next year tax definitely down……it a sign of better cars for our market.

• transformer (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 11:49 pm

tax down???? hopefully…. every Malaysian citizen also hope so…

harga kereta turun!

harga minyak turun!

but gaji tetap naik lo!

maybe if this tax down(import duty) then the other

tax(Sales Tax or ED or Income Tax) going up!

Lets keep our finger crossed!

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 1:16 am

Go toyota… can't wait 2 see the prices…. mesti dasat pny… but sure some msians can buy one… i tgk saja bolelah.. can feed my eyes oso…..

Hail toyota!!!

• zanggief (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 6:35 am

what a great competitor for the luxury player especially d bmw & mb……but need some time to establish their brand…..