Proton posts loss for Q1 2007

Proton has posted a net loss of RM46.85 million for the first quarter of the financial year ended 30th June 2007. While it is not back in the black yet, this amount is an improvement over the RM95.54 million ringgit loss recorded during the same period in the 2006 financial year. This lower losses were achievable despite lower revenue of RM1.14 billion compared to RM1.42 billion the previous year, a sign of effective cost cutting measures.

I’m expecting the second quarter this year to be better, as this quarter does not include the effects of recent positive Proton deals including the Europestar GEN2 deals and the new revenue stream from the Proton Persona, of which bookings have now exceeded 11,000 units.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• comflash2 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 1:30 pm

Good job PROTON. Cost cutting really crucial to Proton. Q1 improvement looks like solely rely on cost cutting effectiveness. Pesona really great product… sure Q2-Q3 earning will be skyrocket :)

• piaa (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 1:46 pm

11,000 booking!! Wow…Persona will make Proton more profit for next quater. Thumbs up!!

Before Raya will drive new Persona..

• szw (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 1:51 pm

u can do it proton !

• khimfoh (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 2:17 pm

11000 bookings for the Persona!!!.

It goes to show you that people still prefer a sedan rather than a hatchback.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 2:20 pm

wah..evyone rooting for proton now..unbelievable…..in just a short time…

• altimi (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 3:43 pm

Proton BOLEH!!!!!MERDEKA!!!!

• azrai (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 3:48 pm

Persona is a clear signal to Proton. Please make a car that people want and need. Listen to the rakyat power.

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 4:01 pm

Proton, you’ll never walk alone….

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 4:11 pm

PROTON HAD DONE A GR8 JOB!!!!NAZA??R U DYING NOW?????? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAH……………………

• efikz_1011 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 4:12 pm

Give proton a chance to shine!!yeah;-)

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 4:20 pm

Persona..
    Kau pilihanku kini pasti…

Kau..Persona menawan hati..

Kau..ku kini bebas menuju ke destinasi

Kau..Persona yang ku nanti….

Oo..

Kau..idamanku kini pasti..

Kau..Persona menambat hati…

Kau..ku kini mampu memikat buah hatiku…

Kau..Persona yang ku cari…….

******* gunakan rentak lagu tema ViVA******

Lagu : Ihsan Perodua
    Lirik : Zack_keyme988
    Komposer :???????
    Penyanyi : Sesiapa yang membacanyer…

• myNeo (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 4:21 pm

do whateva that can gain your profit back again !hell yeah impressive.

• motoaku (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 4:29 pm

see protonians?…who backs u up?

so please win our hearts…hehehhe

• engtaokia (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 4:36 pm

best present for merdeka day celebration?hehehe…
    anyway, keep going with your effort. dont make us dissapointed again.

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 4:40 pm

Biarpun beribu halangan,
    Mahu umpatan dari sesiapa,
    Takkan ku mengiyakan saja,
    Telan semua,
    Kata mereka,

Tiap hari ku baca,
    Satu persatu, cita cita,
    Mimpi yang terbit dari jiwa,
    Berkhayalan di minda

chorus (A)
    satu harapan membara dan menyala
    kan menyinari perjalananku
    sejauh langit biru, takkan ku berpatah, arah

harapan ku membawa kaki melangkah
    moga kau rasa kehadiranya, oh yeah
    kan terpahat namaku di ingatan mu oh..

verse
    Biar sekuat mana hati
    Menjerit hiba meronta ronta,
    Takku hanyut dalam lamunan
    Merintih, menitis air mata

Harusku tegar membawa
    Harapan ini ke alam nyata
    Agar bisa ku raih angan
    Dan sejuta impian

bridge
    Harapan yang tersimpan kian lama
    Menghimpun segala pengorbanan
    O suka duka ku jalani
    Dengan tabah,
    Tiada putus asa

*****Kepada PROTON Team Member..Hayati luahan hati kami rakyat Malaysia kepada Syarikat Anda…..******

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 4:53 pm

How weird our local market taste preference for cars. It can swing a company just by one model………
    Heard P2 is struggling to penatrate sales of VIVA. One thing for sure they are planning for a facelift soon……….But Myvi is still the king, or rather queen………

• Hikaru (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 5:03 pm

Some how i got a feeling that Proton’s lost is not as simple as it is.

I dreamt of this senario where the incompetence, MV Augusta deal, high production costs (so they say) is in actual fact money bled out due to impropriety (u know what i am talking about). So while certain ppl laugh all the way to the banks, Proton is left to slowly lick its wounds by reporting losses and taking the flak for under performing etc. etc.

Now, most of the bleed as been write off year by year, proton is up again and some ppl (i don’t know who) are driving Ferrari(s?) in Italy. Then i woke up from my dream.

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 5:10 pm

This lower losses were achievable despite lower revenue of RM1.14 billion compared to RM1.42 billion the previous year, a sign of effective cost cutting measures.
    ————–
    RM 1.14 billion sales! say Proton car average RM 50K per car, means it sales around 23K units for three months? If Persona can maintain the sales momentum with more than 11,000 bookings, then it is likely more than the combine sales of Proton’s all models!

Padan muka Viva, small compact car but overprice! Knowing very well any car can sell below RM 50K, then just price it in upper range to maximize profits!

• Prem3377 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 5:13 pm

good job proton..but please improve futher and keep on coming with better products…

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 5:21 pm

WHEN THE PROTON BLM WILL LAUNCH?? ANYONE HAVE IDEA???THE REPLACEMENT OF SAGA….

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 5:32 pm

BLM – Look like VIVA competitor but with butt job!

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 5:54 pm

every sector involve in proton must have enthusiasm toward proton,
    everyone should feel devoted in making a good car,
    maker should be perceptive of the local and world automotive industry issue,

keep the blue print checked in implemented

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 5:58 pm

every sector involve in proton must have enthusiasm toward proton,
    everyone should feel devoted in making a good car,
    maker should be perceptive of the local and world automotive industry issue,

keep the blue print checked, AND implemented

• wong (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 6:08 pm

thats its,once on right track,go…no more off track..no more excuse..good job that means a well deserved pat in the back,or else get a well deserve bash…so far so good

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 7:08 pm

Obviously, when you’re doing fine everybody is behind you but if it’s the opposite everybody leave behind you. Let’s keep the faith will you.

• kingglim (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 7:22 pm

Congrat, this is very good good starting step for P1 towards self-sufficiency and competitiveness. It proves that P1 could be competitive and up-to-par with international standards all along. It proves the public belief is true that P1 only got dragged down by the blood-sucking crony suppliers/contractors and the corrupt kickback-asking purchasing managers. It is very obvious, the improvements come instantly by cleaning up the supply chain…costs down and quality up. Kudo to the current P1 management for having the courage of doing the right things!

Fact is, Malaysians are low-income people and most of us can only afford P1 or P2. We are very much stuck with P1 and it is frustrating when P1 is symbol of mediocre products…that’s why people bash P1. Bashing P1 was just out of our frustration…we all are tired of lousy P1 cars and government subsidies and bailout. Now, P1 deserves praise also for doing the right things. Again, this is only one small step of cleaning up the bigger mess, more need to be done. Well done!

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 7:51 pm

Seemingly Proton is not utilizing Lotus at a max, which they should. Its a Proton company, they produced excellent design and highly rated as one of the best automotive engineering company in the world. The VVA, APX and loads of other innovation are potentially the key for Proton to advance further. Go for SUV and 4×4 crossover, and the home market is yours.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 8:15 pm

the problem with lotus, they are so tuned to building niche cars, its imporssible to incorporate all their technology for proton, which is essentially an entry level car.

VVA, APX is a completely bespoke aluminum chassis thats incredibly difficult and expensive to develop. its just not feasible to use this technology for a low cost mass production car.

btw, lotus designed the Gen.2’s styling and trained a whole generation of proton ride and handling engineers. so i suppose they did utilise them pretty ok.

anyways.. the news says that proton will launch a 7 seater in 2009. i’m pretty sure it will run on a “regular” monocoque steel chassis.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 8:22 pm

persona was to deal with myvi and the upcoming BLM will fight with viva. with the price of potong cars are now consider valuable i think next year will be perodua turn to suffers profits loss.

• nizam_na78 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 8:47 pm

I extremely suggest PROTON to keep produce upcoming new model in sedan type. Nowadays, I foresee lots of users choose 4 doors rather than 2 doors even youngster. Thusn Neo was not hot enuff compared to PERSONA. Congratulation to PROTON for their endless effort to produce high quality, competitive and affordable to local market. Until now, people are keep visiting their showroom and there is only one reason, to be induced by PERSONA. Please PROTON, don’t produce any two doors or hatchback type anymore…. Market already shown that.

• mazdafd3s (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 8:59 pm

11,000 bookings only……. half of em will probably fall through :/

• mazdafd3s (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 9:01 pm

11,000 BOOKINGS only
    more than half of em will fall through :/
    long way to go

• shooter (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 10:04 pm

a definite positive sign, but they’re not out of the woods yet. the booking figures shows that when the product is of the right stuff, consumers are willing to shell out their hard earned monies to buy them, patriotic sentiments not needed. here’s hoping one day P1 can slug it out with the rest of the world on a level playing field, no more being a jaguh kampung, insya Allah.

• bmx (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 10:36 pm

No shame, no shame, happy with loss…$46.85million can built a hospital for the sick and poor…

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 10:39 pm

VVA, APX is a completely bespoke aluminum chassis thats incredibly difficult and expensive to develop…disagree, the VVA is a completely developed platform. Its already there to be apply in any model. Its a modular chassis not only compatible to Proton but other manufacturer. Supplying the technology could prove to be highly profitable. Other manufacturers are trying to develope similar technology but so far none rival Lotus. Variety of models provide buyers with choices, which is a good thing. That’s why marketing dept is important, don’t give up – go aggressive. Paul drove the Neo, it is on par with the VW, Audi or even BMWmini, isn’t it Paul?

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 10:46 pm

I hope they will put the BLM on right price, then more people can afford it…

• shooter (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 10:54 pm

BMX,
    P1 is not in the hospital making business. besides there ‘happy’ with the said loss despite lower revenue, a sign of good cost reduction measures.

• shooter (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:01 pm

BMX, P1 is not in the hospital making business. besides ‘happy’ is not the right word, more like glad. glad that the measures taken are baring some kind of positive results.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:03 pm

2010 then proton back in black?

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:06 pm

nizam, neo not hot selling,,well…. yeah
    but they have their own fan, or family of 3/4, or additional car for wife,
    or purposely for zippy car fan at a bigger horses, or i WANT a satria.
    i test one, damn!! its solid and entering the corner makes me smile

i think,satria neo has right exist, to complete proton lineup, not as many as blm or persona,
    if serious about space wait for MPV proton,

• anj97 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:09 pm

I stronglt urge PROTON to close shop for good.Nothing is achieved.Only losses after losses but car callec proton sagas to perdana sell at very high price.No quality.The proton chairman to stepdown.Its better just Myvi company take charge of national car inters.Since 1985 till 2007 no improvement.All because of the Former PM.A tale of donkey took elephant for a joy ride.Taking the stupid malaysian for a jolly good ride.

• Dogster (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:35 pm

anj97,
    If perodua takes over proton, then damn there will be many overpriced car. as a start VIVA. compare the prices of myvi and viva with persona. who wont want to get a proton? Dont just bash blindly…

Proton keep up your good work. There is still a long way to go!

• Infinitt (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 12:05 am

Good sign and well improvement for Proton. Proton Boleh. Malaysia football under 23 team also Boleh !! Congratulations. Nice memory for 50th years Merdeka. I believe Proton will improve more in Q2-3 as their Saga and Persona the selling so so good. Proton strategy to introduce 2 models this year really helping them. Just keep up your good work. Nice product, nice marketing and nice after sales service.

• king (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 1:44 am

11,000 sales since 2 weekz fr official launch. good job proton. this car already ate viva up for supper as predicted earlier.

• azrai (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 7:04 am

Proton already bought VW Sharan platform design from VW. The upcoming MPV will base on this platform. It is big, bigger than Wish. Somehow like the ambulance or alphard size. Hmmm….Campro 1.8 and 2.0 in CPS form by 2012? The Perdana replacement model is gonna be the Mitsubishi 380 I think.

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 8:27 am

Don’t be too enthusiasism with Persona yang mempersonakan, there is still long bumpy road for Proton to mak impact on the market. Local market is not a good indicator of market acceptance of it product as it is NAP-compliance protective market.

Go to oversea market like Australia or UK, if it can improve Proton sales over there, means they provide better products. If it can compete with the rest under level playing field, then Prootn is on par with world players.

But I think oversea market will see Persona as at least second or older generation of its competitor. Just like we see Pentium 4 and Duo core for computer.

• wildthingz (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 10:24 am

congrate proton make malaysian proud driving proton cars. wish to see mpv/suv from proton soon good job.

p/s: bila nak suruh jeremy clarkson test persona

• schdmitz (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 10:28 am

really ???????numbers can be create!remember G2?????3000 booking before the creation then wat happen?????lots of car lying in the port……see it then believe….

• megatron (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 10:30 am

See, this is what will happen if Proton listen to the rakyat’s voice…just produce what people wants… please anyone tell me whether Proton is going to come out with 5-door Neo. Give me 2 years, I’m will to wait for it as my Iswara replacement

• megatron (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 10:41 am

Good job Proton, thinking of replacing my Korean car with Persona…

• thecrash (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 11:18 am

I’m using Neo.. and happy with neo’s performance… even family man like me can use Neo.

• Skyline (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 11:24 am

I’m using Savvy.. and happy with Savvy’s performance especially handling better better than Myvi… Styling R3 also more ‘jantan’ than Myvi.

• megatron (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 11:52 am

it’s true, Savvy is more “jantan” than Myvi

• chewdan (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 11:53 am

over price? bcos of who we need to buy such a expensive car? (envy other country people buy Mazda3 with RM40K+)

personal.. for me just a “longer” version of gen2.. really a surprise with that amount of order… how long does the waiting period?

proton need long time to win my heart back

• ady (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 12:19 pm

Same like me….
    now i use PROTON WAJA,2002……until now
    so far no big problem,i proud with my waja,no change until death……..

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 2:13 pm

Good job Proton. Anyway, still a long way to go. There are still have many areas and space for improvement.

All the best to you, PROTON!

• 90125 (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 2:21 pm

To Proton,please get rid of those uncommited,unproductive and those service centre guys who says ‘biasalah ni Proton’to any complaints…still a long way to go..but not impossible if every single person in Proton is really commited..

• avanza (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 3:50 pm

11000 bookings does not mean 11000 sales. Many of the bookings were not translated to sales as the banks rejected the loans. I heard from one Proton salesman that you can get quick delivery from some of these rejected cases if you are not particular with colors.

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 4:52 pm

hello forumers.first of all i would like to congrats proton for all the effort you put on Persona. you guys sure did hell of a job there.

y’all can ctiticise proton in a constructive way, so it will became better and better in the future. however, please dont just came out with “i heard from one Proton salesman that…” kind of phrase. they are salesmen, they’ll say lots of sweet words to sell the products.get the info from the true people in the industry.

lastly, Happy Merdeka to all forumers.

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 5:05 pm

I stronglt urge PROTON to close shop for good.Nothing is achieved.Only losses after losses but car callec proton sagas to perdana sell at very high price.No quality.The proton chairman to stepdown.Its better just Myvi company take charge of national car inters.Since 1985 till 2007 no improvement.All because of the Former PM.A tale of donkey took elephant for a joy ride.Taking the stupid malaysian for a jolly good ride.

Who is this CLOWN? Is he not Malaysian himself? If you’re not into this discussion, then don’t. We don’t need another freak who just condemned and speculate blindly, and not having any positive contributions to the discussion. Comment fairly will you anj97, don’t prompt sentiment here!

• transformer (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 5:57 pm

11,000 bookings mainly due to Persona competive pricing…
    size does matter as compared to close rival, the Myvi and Viva…
    many will choose bigger for the least bucks…

But anyway, we see how Persona owner said about their “dipersonakan” experience soon… very soon…

Goodluck…

• eagle707 (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 6:08 pm

BRAVO to PROTON!!!!

• 90125 (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 6:20 pm

Anj97,sounds very confused here,…u’re not a critic,not a basher, of course not a supporter,…why tell all the ‘basi’ stories here,you are the one who’s left behind…don’t blame others laa….

• GlowJo (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 10:18 pm

90125 said,

August 30, 2007 @ 6:20 pm

Anj97,sounds very confused here,…u’re not a critic,not a basher, of course not a supporter,…why tell all the ‘basi’ stories here,you are the one who’s left behind…don’t blame others laa….
    ……………………………………………………………………………………..

Our Frog Prince(ss) Mr(s) Anj97 just came out from his/her coconut shell….
    CLUELESS mumbling around about nothing…

To Anj97, this year we are celebrating our 50th Merdeka, Pak Lah is our PM now. I tell you former PM has step down yearsssssss ago.

Or… Anj97 were you in the prison during Tun Mahathir era??

• GlowJo (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 10:20 pm

90125 said,

August 30, 2007 @ 6:20 pm

……………………………………………………………………………………..

Our Frog Prince(ss) Mr(s) Anj97 just came out from his/her coconut shell….
    CLUELESS mumbling around about nothing…

To Anj97, this year we are celebrating our 50th Merdeka, Pak Lah is our PM now. I tell you former PM has step down yearsssssss ago.

Or… Anj97 were you in the prison during Tun Mahathir era?

• anj97 (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 12:06 am

to all those commented on Anj97

You drive a proton is it?If yes no wonder you sound so supportive.What u know about Dr.M era?That so called leader brought nothing put problem to automovotive industry.If he wouldn;t have invented proton in the first place all of us can afford a BMW.Just because of Proton all other import model price are hicked up.All of you al were in prison and nutshell when Mahathir were taking the rakyat for a jolly good ride.Get your facts first before commenting.Idiot!.What you know about automotive industry in Malaysia.Have you been to Singapore?In 2 years Proton will close shop.I am left behind in what sense?I drive the latest Honda CRV.You think I am left behind?You think I drive Proton Pesona AKA Gen2 Extention?I know the former PM has step down long time ago, but do you idiots realize that he still controls PROTON?He back up PROTON.To answer your dumb question, I was not in prison during Tun Mahathir era,you idiots were.Blindly want to celebrate merdeka.Bloody roads full of poth holes,drivers no manners,cut “q” like no body business.All this atarted during Mahatir era la.All of you were in prison not realizing what was happening during his reign.From Proton to Road condition..all rotten.So what merdeka is there to celebrate about..I just hate the way proton design their models and sell it at high price not worth buying for.All non’s in Malaysia should think about this.All the best.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 12:39 am

anj car ia about gradually is getting cheaper, not to mention considerably cheaper proton,
    2/3 east coast highway completed 2004, no more breathtaking 14/16wheeler overtaking,
    you can go gua musang -cameron highland,
    no more sucidal road bentung raub,

• 90125 (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 3:54 am

anj97, whatever it is,u are really,really ,really confused..

• 90125 (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 3:58 am

anj97, whatever u drive,whatever u think, thats your problem,only an IDIOT will call others an idiot,idiot

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 8:57 am

Actually “national car” status is a dubious title since this project is initiate by “clueless” government. Unlike Ford, Daimler, Honda, Toyota, etc, they all were initiated by legendary successful individual tycoon with a passion and vision for car.

That is why in today world class auto practice, all these successful car manufacturer at all time never said they are national car maker, but known as local or domestic makes in their own country. In oversea, they are more associate with the “individual” rather than nation, German, American, Japanese makes!

National institution like, ATM, PDRM, EPF, etc. normally “operate” within the boundary of the country! But to relate commercial products with national entity is rather dubious and confusing! It shall relate to products make by Malaysian.

• bmx (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 11:02 am

It is always like that, take it or leave it. Only certain party made quick profits, whether project earn or loss. One thing for sure, wasting rakyat’s money is very normal and acceptable.

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 2:52 pm

I wouldn’t consider Mr Toyoda as a “legendary successful individual tycoon with a passion and vision for car” :P . He may be legendary, he may be successful, bt his creations are “passion-less” and as far as “vision” is concerned, it’s all abt makin $$$. A Toyota, is just a car, a machine wit 4 wheels, to get u from A to B, w/o breakin down n wit high re-sale value. Yawn……..

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 4:16 pm

not so sure about those big name really its first intention to make cars,
    probally it star up with other thing, like aviation, motorbike, or a small machining or engineering company,or evey by heavy industries and developing its entreprneurship untill it makes a car or choose to make car, baring its founder’s name,

for proton is a jumpstart purposely to make a car, thats why gov involve in its infrastructure,
    i think,

• scorpicore (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 7:13 pm

I am quite sad to hear those who just know to say the negative outcome of things implemented our beloved ex-PM. I am very supportive of what he has done for the nation. No one can have so much money to corrupt everyone in the nation to make him the longest serving PM in Malaysia. He is really contributed so much to the nation, equal to the effort by TAR, our first PM, if not more. Do remember, DrM is our father of modernization.

I remember, back in 80’s, malaysia is a country based on labour-intensive for its industry. With the modernization by bringing more technology-based, knowledge-based industries, now we can have local companies with the capability to produce high-end and Sophisticated products.

Two main industries that really made that changes besides many others, are PERWAJA and PROTON.

P1 may have contributed to so high-priced imported cars, but P1 never resulted in malaysian unable to own a car. It also contributed so much to prevent out-flow of our currency.

P1 actually making progress after the invention of WAJA. WAJA is good, the only problem is with its components supplied by local vendors with poor Q. In between, problems with poor designs of JUARA, TIARA and SAVVY. Otherwise GEN2 and NEO design quite impressive, even some other companies copied some of the concept.

With P2, i still think the effort done by this company is enough. If you say Myvi is designed by P2, why overseas market labeled as “Toyota” brand? Our WAJA, GEN2 for export markets still known as malaysian-made cars! SO P2 is still not on par to be compared to P1.

• GlowJo (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 10:39 pm

Dear anj,
    Potong Q is nothing to do with Dr.M. Neither the potholes on the road. Anj have you ever had a lunch or dinner with Dr.M? I did sat with him in an occasion, I did asked him about the purpose of all project, and he did explain why. Personally, in my opinion he is a true leader and I feels proud to have Dr.M as our prime minister.

I have no offense if you called me idiot because I do agree with 90125 only an idiot will call other people idiot..

FYI I am driving a harrier, never look down those people who drive a aging kancil, who knows may be in the future he will be your boss Anj!!!

I don’t care about people cutting q, may be they are in emergency. I guess a good person will have a positive attitude towards others.

Anj, I have been in Singapore, nothing so great, over there. In my opinion Singapore is the ‘middleman’ country they just trade goods, services etc. What is the pride of Singaporean, a Merlion statue? They have no orchard, padi fields etc., living in a small flat? too expensive road tax? Is this what you call a good country?

Today we celebrate our 50th merdeka, let us appreciate our former leaders for what they have done for our country, If they were so corrupted, I don’t think that we will be like what we have today. I guess we will be pretty much as Indonesia, Philippines, Cambodia, Myanmar etc.

Lastly to Anj, try to control your temper, because form your writing I can conclude that you are a selfish person.

• chanel (Member) on Sep 01, 2007 at 1:09 am

haiya….another Proton story…sure have another tongue fight scenario….
    come-on men..or women….we all matured enough & knowledge enough, why can’t keep the discussion/comment simple……don’t make it like a dog fight…..

remember, everybody in the world is entitled to his/her own view or comment……

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 01, 2007 at 2:27 am

anj97,

you are totally dumb..how can you relate poton q with tun dr M??yah i do agree proton was the cause for the prices of foreign makes to be higher than usual but proton is not just a company..its an industry…and tun dr M has plan the future of this country very well and his vision were great…not for stupid people like you to understand..and its proven you are stupid by relating portholes and potong q attitude to tun!!proton and all that tun create is to benefit the nation in future…not so soon..but if no proton,our automotive industries will control the industry..they will hike up prices to make additional profits…in 1980 before proton were lauched..cars like corrolla were about rm 40000…so it was expensive back then..it was not cheap and proton made malaysians consider owning a car and create a spark in the automotive industry…tun is a man who makes dream come true…formula1,motor gp, and etc wouldnt even be here if he was not the PM…dont simply talk crap k…appreciate and acklowledge what people have done for u…its not easy to make malaysia so famous in such a short time..proton,klcc,sepang and all has put malaysia in the world map and this alone will create massive revenue for the country….look at the bigger picture man!!this time around all the comments were very constructive and u spoiled the whole thing..and because of you kinda people..forums and blogs are in trouble and the G is finding a way to stop or ban it….