Proton Satria Neo among Parker’s top 10 slowest depreciating cars in 2007

Proton Satria Neo in the UK

Parker’s is a car price guide in the UK started back in 1972. According to the latest Parker’s guide, the Proton Satria Neo was placed within the top ten slowest depreciating cars for 2007 in the UK. According to Parker’s, desirability, reliability, style, reputation and mileage as well as the original cost are all key factors in determining how much a brand new car is likely to depreciate in value.

“Proton might not be one of the obvious brands people think of when it comes to cars that lose cash slowly. But the fact that the Satria Neo is a new model and is relatively inexpensive in the first place means drivers haven’t lost much money to depreciation during the first year of ownership, which is a pleasant surprise for anyone who has one on their drive,” says Kieren Puffet, Editor for Parker’s.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kody (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:14 am

wahlaueh….

I like outlool of Neo but with 178cm height my head is touching the roof top at driver seat…. i wonder how is UK mat salleh to sit in it… Persona’s head should base on Neo instead of GEN2… NEO any times better outlook than GEN2…

• dr_carz (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:21 am

I SAY GOOD JOB THERE PROTON.

• mohdjiman (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:24 am

Agree with kody…and more yummy if Neo’s engine come with CPS + VIM. It will be my second car!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:41 am

always nice to hear positive things on anything Malaysian overseas.

• ndmervin (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:45 am

The Neo could do better with lower seats – thats what most sports cars have rite?? That’s why our heads touch the roof..

Its great that the Neo depreciates slowly unlike the European makes here in Malaysia, it drops dramatically!

• lembagatanah (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:50 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop, same with me. the patriotism is always there

• fastcx (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 10:18 am

haha kody,178cm dah complain? v have a huge club member whose over 180…his still comfortable vf his neo,cz he custom made his seat,actually,modified his ori seat, to make it lower, or u can also change to racing seat, much much lower. after all, it’s a great car for driver pleasure

• zidane (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 10:19 am

WAH!!!

Agree with you guys…

• jazzer (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 10:24 am

bangga aku….

• tec96248 (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 10:56 am

good to hear that, make malaysian and products proud.

• longjaafar (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 10:59 am

This is good news and the ad agency should immediately put out adverts mentioning this whilst the news is still hot!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 11:18 am

‘But the fact that the Satria Neo is a new model and is relatively inexpensive in the first place means drivers haven’t lost much money to depreciation during the first year of ownership’

It’s means that the car is already cheap in the first place, so if depreciate also will not be bad like those expensive luxury cars… Is like us comparing wif a merc value, for sure a proton value will depreciate less then a new merc value.

• BW (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 11:53 am

Ha? Really ka Neo is in top 10 slowest depreciating car? Really can’t believe it haha.. Good job…

• Rees_lll (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 12:11 pm

Proton..

Pls..
    Make it a four doors hatchback….
    Surely, i’ll buy…

• abtm (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 12:22 pm

so what, evo magazine gave it only 2.5/5 stars

• kei9 (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 1:15 pm

great news..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 1:44 pm

come on, don’t be so cruel to Neo, it is such a nice car……

• mzfnd (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 2:38 pm

I’ve driven one. Thoroughly enjoyed the handling. It’s one of those cars that make you wanna go real fast. Good car indeed.

• Rees_lll (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 2:51 pm

good..

but better if with four doors..
    sure will have a long booking list..

agree?

• sleme (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 3:20 pm

abtm.. so called petrol head like you annoy me to no end. You can only see negative. So what evo gave 2.5/5. Have you driven the Neo or you only listen to the magazine, i.e. if some mat salleh (based in a country where there is no more car manufacturing industry because they made crap cars) says the Neo is not a good car then you will believe it wholly? Dont be a sheep.

If you were to read most publications esp the uk ones, the cars that sell and are profitable are never usually the most exciting ones. Most profitable car company in the world is Toyota. Car mags always mark down Toyotas as being boring, unimaginative etc. Do you really think Toyota management cares with the money its making? Proton needs to make money first by making bread and butter cars. No need to be sporty etc. Reliable, well built and competitively priced..thats all. If a renowned publication like Parkers states that the Neo loses less money than most other compacts, then that is a good thing.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 3:23 pm

I really wonder how they define depreciation. Especially for such a new low volume car. How long exactly has the Neo been on sale in UK?

If they meant the GTI, that I can believe. It is (ok, was) one of the best value for small cheap sporty hatchback.

Don’t get me wrong, I like the Neo, but it could have been better if they fix the seat height, change the wheels and improve the interior plastics…

I would be first to question how the gwailo can fit in it. Perhaps the export versions have the seat rails factory modified.

• ezralimm (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 4:55 pm

This i wasnt expecting to hear.

Wonder what the other ten cars were.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 4:57 pm

Rees_lll said,
    February 1, 2008 @ 12:11 pm

Proton..

Pls..
    Surely, i’ll buy…

————————————————————–

aiya how many times people asking this already…Neo hatcback is a Gen2!!

• chap_de_x (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 5:21 pm

Neo is a good car what…i have drive it…slow to get to 100 km/h but after that smooth run without you realize its already out meter…the one that i drove is neo 1.3..if 1.6 i dunno.. how fast i can go…the meter is showing 200 km/h but the car is still stable and smooth…feel safe inside…i like those revving sound of the engine…wonder how fast it can go if the engine are campro cps+Vim…

• Sofea Ali (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 6:22 pm

Hi, I’ve seen this car in London last year. What a marvellous Malaysian car. Good job Proton. Proud to be Malaysian.

• King Samurai (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 6:35 pm

Beside quality issue i hate the Campro’s low end tork the most!!! Minyak kuat ley…espcially town driving.Hau siau punya engine..Better get the L series 1.5 VTEC and fix in the engine bay…sure normal city vtec can makan asap one…

• Roti Naan (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 8:18 pm

sleme, relek-relek. no need to be so work up. btw, are you driving a proton?

• szw (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 8:29 pm

well done…
    nice one proton…

• kakilubuk (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 8:36 pm

Well! Nice car but too expensive to be called a national car. Better buy second hand Honda Civic EK.
    If proton sell it around 30k. I’ll get me 3. For working, for fishing and for racing ( maybe after some modification ).

• megatron (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:01 pm

Proton..

Pls..
    Surely, i’ll buy…

————————————
    You’re right, four/five doors hatchback please, i’ll definately buy it……

• megatron (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:03 pm

but of course with CPS…!!!!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:06 pm

Everyone loves Proton overnight? Some voodoo is going on!

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:44 pm

my girlfriend owns a 1.6 auto. we work at the same office & i got to drive everyday, hehehe. when driving it on the highway, the only indication that i drove to fast is her pinching my thigh. very stable especially in corners.

• ah liew (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 10:16 pm

if you’re single get a Satria but if you’re married then get a Saga. Make sense right?

• pekan (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 10:40 pm

2008’s a good year for proton

• adunadun (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 11:10 pm

LittleFire85 said,
    February 1, 2008 @ 11:18 am

It’s means that the car is already cheap in the first place, so if depreciate also will not be bad like those expensive luxury cars… Is like us comparing wif a merc value, for sure a proton value will depreciate less then a new merc value.

——————————

i dont think Editor stupid enough try to compare with merc or lamborgini. Maybe with other pacific brand,they all have brain like u. or more

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 11:26 pm

Omedeto Proton!!

Considering how the British hv a very negative outlook towards car from “pacific rim”, this is a commendable feat.

• kingglim (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 11:43 pm

Hmmm, I always think Satria Neo got the best look and interior than both waja, gen2 and persona. It is a mistake that P1 build persona based on gen2 instead.

• Scania Irizar (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 12:08 am

Surprise surprise…

• leedehao (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 12:10 am

I’m wondering how he calculate the depreciation of the car. If he goes by how much it depreciates by saying Proton depreciates by $1,000 while Mercedes depreciates by $10,000 then it is an unfair comparison. If you go by the percentage of the price of car then it would be a totally different story. If a Proton costs $7,000 and depreciates by $1,000 after 1 year, then it depreciation is roughly 14%. If a Mercedes cost $100,000 and depreciates by $10,000 after 1 year, then its depreciation is only 10%.

• Scania Irizar (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 12:10 am

kingglim said,
    February 1, 2008 @ 11:43 pm

Hmmm, I always think Satria Neo got the best look and interior than both waja, gen2 and persona. It is a mistake that P1 build persona based on gen2 instead.
    —————————————————————-

You have very bad taste lah bro.

• Scania Irizar (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 12:19 am

kody said,
    February 1, 2008 @ 9:14 am

wahlaueh….

I like outlool of Neo but with 178cm height my head is touching the roof top at driver seat…. i wonder how is UK mat salleh to sit in it… Persona’s head should base on Neo instead of GEN2… NEO any times better outlook than GEN2…
    —————————————————————-

Remember the classic Mini? Those Mat Sallehs still like it although its damn small…I’m a Mini fan too.

• wong (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 12:39 am

People can say whatever, but I simply love driving this car!

• jung_zai (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 12:54 am

LittleFire85 said,
    February 1, 2008 @ 11:18 am

(‘But the fact that the Satria Neo is a new model and is relatively inexpensive in the first place means drivers haven’t lost much money to depreciation during the first year of ownership’

It’s means that the car is already cheap in the first place, so if depreciate also will not be bad like those expensive luxury cars… Is like us comparing wif a merc value, for sure a proton value will depreciate less then a new merc value.)

its calculate by percentage.

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 1:06 am

Cost less, sure will devalue less. That is common sense. But there are some cars, cost less, appreciate in value after 1 year has gone by. Try being like that car. The new mini is an example

• joe1209p (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 9:15 am

there are actually rumors that Proton will make Satria Neo 5-door hatchback.. i know, i know.. gen-2 is the Neo hatchback.. but the one i’m talking about is Neo exact same body.. only with 2 extra doors.. you know what i mean..

with its excellent handling and driving stability (nobody could deny this)… plus Proton’s latest VIM technology to eliminate low end tork and “kuat makan minyak” problems.. Satria Neo would definitely sells like goreng pisang panas if it ever made into production.. dunno though whether the rumors are true.. even of it is, i don’t think 5-door Neo will make into production soon.. Proton are now busy with their MPV project.. they promise us MPV that would make people think twice to buy another brand..

• joe1209p (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 9:20 am

“Tang neo 5 door tu ada dengar jugaklah…actually model dah ada cume selepas ni kami nak focus on mpv dahulu…kalau lulus proposal neo 5-door tu oleh board of director sy akan beritahu…”

that what was written by a Proton ppl in another forum when asked about Neo 5-door.. i do not personally know him.. but i’m positive he’s telling the truth..

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 1:10 pm

I heard that there are many concept models actually, including a satria convertible, so it’s nt surprising if they do hv 5-door neo. Bt cost is a major factor they must consider, n the fact they hv a number of hatchbacks edi. So it is rite for them to focus on mpv, then look bck at 5-door neo to consider. Although, I’d rather they focus on waja replacement (shud compete wit altis n civic) n perdana replacement (shud compete wit accord n camry) after the mpv.

• civ96110 (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 1:49 pm

Here’s a not so flattering review oif the Neo in the Reuters’ website:

http://motoring.reuters.co.uk/reuters/vocmain.jsp?lnk=201&model=1175&desc=Proton%20Satria%20Neo

• elpaciko (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 5:37 pm

proton should make 5 door satria neo instead of savvy.

• The Unicons (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 6:41 pm

Agree with tokmoh. Proton needs models which can compete with other car manufacturers within each segment. At the same time, the models must able to generate more profits into the company.

No use to design those models for small markets. Proton must concentrate on models for bigger markets first. Only bigger markets car models can generate more profits.

• adunadun (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 10:30 pm

i dont think it was a mistake to build saga from savy. cost save beb. plus some country dont need such a big car. go to india pakistan, their car about savy size only.
    why need to build 4 doors from neo? their already have gen-2…only give them extra butt, then siap. tapi neo mahal aa…apa aa proton!!! reduce ur price lah!! not as low as saga,,but between saga n persona lah!

• syanas (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 11:24 pm

i love this neo very much….but im still waiting for neo gti

• dr_carz (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 9:12 am

OIIT ADUN ARE U CONTESTING IN THE NEXT GENERAL ELECTION?

• antnagir (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 9:49 am

I like Neo. Only one complaint – give me softer seats!!. My backside sore after each thrilling ride!

• carsut (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 1:14 pm

love to hear that…love NEO

• Rees_lll (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 2:19 pm

MisterBenjo said,
    February 1, 2008 @ 4:57 pm

Rees_lll said,
    February 1, 2008 @ 12:11 pm

Proton..

Pls..
    Surely, i’ll buy…

————————————————————–

aiya how many times people asking this already…Neo hatcback is a Gen2!!

———————————–

Haiya Leng Cai…
    I tau la NEO hatchback is a Gen2..
    BUT, im talking about a car dat has a same platform, front and end looks as da same as Satria Neo but has a 4/5 doors.
    Easier, A mazda3 loook alike.

i know it would b costly, but better than they produce a weird car ex. Savvy.
    ppls still but Savvy though..

—————————————————–

oe1209p said,
    February 2, 2008 @ 9:20 am

“Tang neo 5 door tu ada dengar jugaklah…actually model dah ada cume selepas ni kami nak focus on mpv dahulu…kalau lulus proposal neo 5-door tu oleh board of director sy akan beritahu…”

that what was written by a Proton ppl in another forum when asked about Neo 5-door.. i do not personally know him.. but i’m positive he’s telling the truth..

——————————————————

It’s realy a gud news..
    Yes, they should focus on their MALAYSIAN PEOPLE’s VEHICLE first.
    Then pls make it the Neo-5 door rumors a reality.
    WE WILL WAIT, SUMPAH!!!.

Any proton member or parparazzi?
    Need ur comment.. =)
    thanks!!!

• joe1209p (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 2:23 am

Proton’s MPV is not a rumor. it is expected to be launched in the second half of 2009. well, the launching date is still rumor of course, but Proton’s MPV definitely not just rumor. they promised us an MPV that would make Malaysians think twice about buying other brands’. with the steady improvement on Proton cars lately, i expect the MPV would a hit like Saga as well. Malaysians are hoping for an MPV for a while already.