BMW: “Don’t trust advertising. Only trust yourself.”

BMW Trust Yourself

BMW recently saw the switch from Jung von Matt (which left the BMW account for Mercedes-Benz) to Media Audience Beratung, and MAB’s first ad campaign for BMW carries the tagline: “Don’t trust advertising. Only trust yourself.”

The campaign consists of a series of print ads and TV commercials, of which the print ad is shown above (in German), and the TV commercial is viewable after the jump. The cleverly done ad campaign tells consumers not to trust advertising and instead test drive the 3-Series themselves to find out what a great drive it is.

The TV commercial starts off with beautiful and exaggerated scenes of the BMW 3-Series driving through the countryside, but slowly everything including the background music disappears and you are only left with the car.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 1:41 pm

Sorry off topic but,
    friend of mine told that a Sales Agent sms-ed him and said that Waja CPS is now AVAILABLE at the PROTON SHOWROOM??

• IsaacVky (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 1:42 pm

RM 61,888 (Manual), RM 64,888 (Auto) Waja CPS!

• maxtek (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 1:45 pm

What the heck, commenting on Waja in a 3-Series topic room…

I don’t think a new engine and a new badge of CPS at the back is going to make the Proton customers so impatient to pay now and wait for the car, only to find that it’s going to be worse?

Nicely done, finally they’re going to put the plain and simple reason into customer’s minds why buy a BMW…

• sxe10r (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 1:47 pm

wat waja o ~ this is bmw topic ~ !

• IsaacVky (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 1:48 pm

Sorry but I’m sure Paul will get the information more easily.

There’s lots of potential customers in the forum which I usually hang out.
    We’re waiting and waiting for it so long time ago.

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 2:04 pm

Hands down…one of the coolest ad so far!..

• cetait (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 2:08 pm

So instead of clicking the link marked “Contact Me” you hijack a BMW thread to talk to him? I know waja is proton’s “answer to the 3-series” (heh) but it doesn’t belong on this thread.

Liked the ad, straight and to the point with a sense of humor.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 7:26 pm

Gosh..nice, and now this is something that makes me think to be a German.

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:28 am

hope there is an english version of this commercial

• kakilubuk (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 7:57 am

Yeaa!!! Bravo! Thumb up for BMW.

• abtm (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 8:03 am

ve dun underztande germann larh

• ando (Member) on Feb 07, 2008 at 2:33 am

@abtm: a small translation, just for you ;-)

Don’t trust the light effects!
    Don’t trust the models!
    Don’t trust the majestic scenery!
    Don’t trust the curves!
    Don’t trust the music!
    Don’t trust the advertisment!

Just trust yourself. Test the BMW 3-series, the “serial winner” in comparisons.

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 7:25 pm

oh havent you heard?
    proton waja is Asia’s answer to the BMW 3 series