Fiat to develop new low cost car: new Palio? Uno?

The latest automaker to jump onto the low cost car bandwagon is Fiat. The company plans to reveal its low cost car somewhere in 2010. According to Fiat R&D Chief Harald Wester, the new low cost car will be slighty larger than the Fiat Panda, but did not quote any indicative price range for the car.

The new low-cost Fiat will help with the company’s position in markets such as South America, Russia, India and China. It’s not known yet whether the new low cost car will be Fiat-badged or not, as there is a possiblity of a new brand being used. Fiat is still conducting internal studies on whether a low cost model could damage Fiat’s image.

This car would effectively be the spiritual successor to the Fiat Palio, a supermini designed by Fiat as a “world car” aimed at developing countries. There has been speculation on the revival of the Fiat Uno nameplate as well.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 7:22 pm

FIAT Koala? LOL :)

btw, if it ever had a chance to come here i doubt it can be price lower than a Proton.. Hurrah…

we need cheap car also… not cheap car with high price tag.. cheap car with cheap price thank you..

• hyundai (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 10:05 pm

Hope to see this car soon…

• azrai (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 7:37 am

How about Fiat approaching Proton and have a win-win deal. A low cost car develop together with Proton with Proton badged. Sound interesting. R&D, money coming, without affecting Fiat reputation with low cost badged car, and increasing technology transfer from Fiat to Proton. Anyone who has the power listen to me? Grab this chance. make full use of our knowledge and resources + up our economy.

• prometheus (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 8:33 am

Low cost car by Fiat? The Fiat UNO was a disaster in Malaysia.Was it ever sold thru malaysian distributors or was it only a parallel import?. When i was studying in India in the Mid 90’s, i did see a lot of Fiat Unos there though, somehow in Malaysia, i’ve only actually seen a handful. maybe its the reliability issues..

• luqmanrohaizat (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 12:33 pm

Wa, if fiat have ties wit proton, proton would be related to, like, ferrari, which would be really cool…

• bavarian (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 11:09 am

it can’t possibly be competing with tata nano but maybe a car of toyota aygo level

• adunadun (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 5:35 pm

good idea if fiat come to proton, hopefully their know that proton too need replacement for perdana model .so give take lah

• valkyrie on Mar 03, 2009 at 5:32 pm

i say, FIAT is cool with or without proton… lol

helped me alot saved for gasoline… im a student and FIAT is my ally …