Renew road tax online with MyEG

MyEG

MyEG has added another service to its portfolio. I’ve written about MyEG before previously, and at that time they offered a few services such as JPJ, DBKL and PDRM summons as well as the ability to renew your CDL driving license online.

About a year later, MyEG has now unveiled a new road tax renewal service. You just enter your insurance details (cover note, etc) and make your payment online using a credit or debit card, and the road tax disc can be delivered to your home or office. If you require to renew your insurance online, it can be done as well with 3 insurance companies – CIMB, Etiqa and Lonpac.

The service charge for the road tax disc renewal is RM2.75. Delivery charges for the road tax disc for the Klang Valley is RM6, and RM8 for the rest of Peninsular Malaysia. For East Malaysia, the delivery charge is RM10.

I’ve not tried the service out yet but I intend to do so, as the Ford Telstar’s road tax and insurance is up for renewal but unfortunately I have not gotten the name transfer sorted out yet. This Puspakom check business is a chore.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pOckeTbOcoR (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 10:07 am

damn, i checked last week they dont offer this yet.
    caused me the trouble to go to JPJ and stuff. really waste of time…
    anyway, myeg has been really helpful & convenient, i also renew my driver’s license & pay for DBKL summons online…

• keyboard.rosak (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 2:42 pm

how long does it take for the delivery to reach u?
    if u pick up at the center, how long is the processing time?

• pOckeTbOcoR (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 4:03 pm

the delivery took around one week, i dun really remember
    of course, u hv to pay for the delivery charges
    u can choose between normal or courier services

i know its quite long to wait but if ur so lazy or dun hv time to go to jpj/post office, its better to renew thru myeg

simple yet very convenient

pickup at the center? what center? did u mean jpj?
    if jpj, u can get it on the spot maa…

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 10:34 pm

Interesting feature. Can it be applied to Malaysian International Driving License?
    No need to take overseas car test. Just renew IDL every year, also harder to get saman from country you are residing. haha

• qosman (Member) on Apr 21, 2008 at 4:03 pm

Tried it out the day it was launched. Had my insurance cover note, road tax and green card ready. When I clicked the ‘submit’ button, the system did not recognize my registration number. Tried another registration number, the system did not recognize it either. Sent email, no reply. Unable to access the system today. Typical.

• Definitely not for me as MYEG charges peninsular Malaysia rate even if you renew it from East Malaysia.