Maserati set to make a comeback in Malaysia

Maserati GranTurismo

The word through the grapevines is that Maserati will be making an official comeback to Malaysia with an official dealer/distributor representing the brand. The Maserati brand was previously distributed by Next Car Sdn Bhd. Now that is definitely good news to me as I no longer have to stand around Orchard street to catch a glimpse of the Maserati GranTurismo that I am so infatuated with.

Many see Maseratis as more sedate Ferraris that are easier to live with, and according to JPJ data, 2008 saw 1 Maserati GranTurismo and 2 Maserati Quattroportes being registered. Numbers are relative but this is quite a small amount compared to the previous years where 2 Maserati Cambiocorsa, 1 Maserati Gransport and 7 Maserati Quattroportes were registered in 2006, and another 7 units of the Quattroporte in 2007.

Maserati Quattroporte

When it was still sold here in Malaysia, a Quattroporte went for just a little over RM1 million, which puts it head to head with the likes of the Mercedes-Benz S500L and the BMW 750Li.

With an official distributor back in the game, these numbers could pick up. An official announcement will be made by the end of this quarter. I am a long way to affording such a machine but I do wish to see more of these babies on the road purely for eye candy purposes.

New Maserati GranTurismo styled by Pininfarina
VIDEO: The sexy Maserati GranTurismo
VIDEO: Maserati GranTurismo S
Maserati Quattroporte Sport GT S 4.7 V8
Maserati Quattroporte gets facelift and S variant

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fastcx (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 9:23 pm

hope their come back can brings more spice to our dull road tat fills with unexciting boxes with wheels

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 9:47 pm

maserati are really good looking ..

jus that in Malaysia, all the cars are overpriced ..

even a kancil, which is equal to a big milo tin with 4 wheels and an engine on it oso cost you RM20k ..

• boomerkk (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 10:11 pm

Just saw a GranTurismo on the road yesterday over here, and it was staggeringly beautiful and stunning.

Paul, what do you think of the Maserati 3200 coupe, produced around 2000-2001?

Prices in the UK have come down to a level of affordability at around £12-13k… and with the weak pound, that’s about RM60-70k (before import taxes).

If Maserati opens a dealer/distributor chain in Malaysia, it would probably enhance ownership of these magnificient cars in Malaysia.

• csv (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 11:20 pm

probably Naza.

looking at how Naza swallowed Next Car SBN BHD, i think they could be the most probable distributor.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:42 am

good for AP King..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 12:04 pm

lambov12 said,
    January 14, 2009 @ 9:47 pm

_________________________________-

a maserati is overpriced in any country in the world.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 1:21 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

January 15, 2009 @ 12:04 pm

lambov12 said,

————————-
    but its massively, extensively overpriced at pornographic prices in this bitch of a country

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:25 pm

Yeah I agree with you guys. It will be obscenely expensive to own a maserati, not just here in Bolehland, but anywhere in the world for that matter.
    But then, how many of them can we actually see on our roads? Those millionaires who buy them will just stash them in their garages for their own viewing. Haiz……………..what a waste!!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 8:51 am

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 15, 2009 @ 1:21 pm

lambov12 said,

————————-
    but its massively, extensively overpriced at pornographic prices in this bitch of a country
    ————————–

i dont know what point you’re trying to make, but a maserati is still a maserati no matter how much it costs in malaysia. an expensive luxury car that not everyone can afford to own no matter where they live.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 10:49 am

anybody who can afford a merc in malaysia can afford a maserati in anywhere else

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 6:57 pm

a car that make more malaysian cry…uwwaaaaaaaa…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 7:52 pm

lets rob the banks, sell our house to buy one.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 18, 2009 at 7:10 pm

January 16, 2009 @ 8:51 am

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 15, 2009 @ 1:21 pm

lambov12 said,

————————-
    ————————–

i dont know what point you’re trying to make, but a maserati is still a maserati no matter how much it costs in malaysia. an expensive luxury car that not everyone can afford to own no matter where they live.

—————————————–

go compare car prices in yahoo in US and in malaysia…. Then u will know why u can afford a masserati SOMEWHERE ELSE if u can affrod a C-class merc ion mALAYSIA….

• orangetribal (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 11:48 am

the only registered maserati gran turismo is a white one and its owned by a wealthy indian businessman reciding in kota kemuning,shah alam.

how i know? cause my frens house is just two houses away from his,so whenever i drop by her house,i would drool at the car..just splendid !!

• Yesudian on Feb 14, 2009 at 8:30 am

Apart from the 1 registered Maserati gt in Kota Kemuning there is also a blue Quattroporte and a beautiful classic 425 Biturbo regularly spotted in Kota Kemuning.
    Yes some of you guys are right, you could pick a decent one else where in the world for about RM 100 K. In Malaysia not all the time BOLEH. What a shame not many could own one of this beauty here in Malaysia.