RON97 petrol to be floated from July 2009!

Fuel Wallet GaugeThere will be some massive changes to the grade and price of fuel we buy at the pumps in Malaysia this year. First up is the previously announced phasing out of RON92 fuel for a new RON95 fuel grade, which will be subsidised as the government assumes this is the grade that is suitable for the majority of users in Malaysia.

The second major change is a switch to a floating system for RON97 petrol according to international oil prices from July 2009 onwards. It was not indicated whether this would be a daily, weekly, twice a month or monthly float. Since prices are now determined twice a month perhaps it may change to a more frequent weekly float. RON97 is considered by the government to be a “premium fuel’ and thus will not be subsidised. Petrol retailers also told Business Times that not only will RON97 not enjoy subsidies, it might even be taxed!

Lastly, diesel in Malaysia will be upgraded from current MS123 standards to Euro 2M standards.

Cheaper RON95 fuel to be introduced mid-2009
APM: How fuel prices are calculated in Malaysia
Malaysian diesel to be Euro 2M grade in 2009

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aiya, the petrol retailers have abit sot as now ron97 is not subsidies and being taxed , nothing change what :rf:

as for the floating price, are gov really want to do that ? i heard this news since last year .

• Analyzer on Feb 19, 2009 at 12:32 pm

In that case, it'll be quite interesting to see how much the market price of petrol is, perhaps a reminder to the people how much the government is subsidizing for petrol each time you pump petrol. I wonder though, since it's taxed, how much would they tax.

Even so, is it possible to see RON97 cheaper than "subsidized" RON95 petrol. Hmm..

• not_ah_beng on Feb 19, 2009 at 1:04 pm

@BanyakMasukWorkshop:

then there is another 20-30% who are already enjoying much reduced taxes with vehicles coming from thailand, which leaves another 10% who are probably taxed the highest.

Hmmmm………..this is not true. As I had proven before.

They still pay very high excise tax. Unless you consider people paying extra 30k on a lousy Vios as “enjoying much reduced taxes”. Verrrry funny definition on “enjoy” for you people…

• what i say on Feb 19, 2009 at 2:12 pm

if you tax fuel, then no need for road tax la.. you use fuel to drive on the road ma, double tax no good la.

• chanel on Feb 19, 2009 at 2:15 pm

RON 97 to be cheaper than "subsidized RON 95" petrol if floating market allowed???? I would say wait-long-long that our gov will allowed it…………i'm supposed we shall at enjoyed another round of fuel price cut say at least 5cent from the RM1.85 now….but Sharir always had his excuses………

• kimi_ on Feb 19, 2009 at 3:44 pm

If PR become G, i wonder how much petrol price be now….

rm1.50 or rm1.30? cheers!!!

• PTAllTheBest on Feb 19, 2009 at 3:49 pm

WTF! our country is the 1 which produce oil but the petrol that sells here will be taxed?

• BrakeFader on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:03 pm

Great. Floating but with tax. I can imagine how it floats with fuel tax attached. It will be a fixed float.

At time of difficulty, it is pathetic to tax the rakyat on fuel when ppl are already taxed heavily for cars.

• HMMaster (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:09 pm

@chanel

the price now is already RM1.80

• ericfoong81exe on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:09 pm

Indirectly we are forced to use RON95 in future, unless your wallet is always full or driving your super car around in town…..nothing much different by using RON 95 for normal car.

• food_lover on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:19 pm

As for our current market price fuel, i'll be the 1st who buy the RON97 because of the floating system.. because it'll cost only around Rm1.40 per liter.. If it really 'float' as the G claim! U cant tax them when it low, because you wont subsidies it when the price rise.. its unfair! G r so stupid and full of lies!!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:26 pm

BrakeFader said,

February 19, 2009 @ 8:03 am

At time of difficulty, it is pathetic to tax the rakyat on fuel when ppl are already taxed heavily for cars.

____________________________________________________-

technically, 'not everyone' is heavily taxed for cars.. the high majority of cars sold today, are still the national makes, at over 60%. then there is another 20-30% who are already enjoying much reduced taxes with vehicles coming from thailand, which leaves another 10% who are probably taxed the highest.

• rexis on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:35 pm

Hahahahaha, RON97 is premium fuel.

Obviously they are looking at the total sales of RON92 and think hey we can affort to subsidize that only.

• MisterBenjo on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:40 pm

aiyo very hard la when minister knows nothing about engine!

• wuttaheck on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:45 pm

kimi_ said,

February 19, 2009 @ 7:44 am

If PR become G, i wonder how much petrol price be now….

rm1.50 or rm1.30? cheers!!!

….

dream on!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 4:46 pm

rexis said,

February 19, 2009 @ 8:35 am

Hahahahaha, RON97 is premium fuel.

Obviously they are looking at the total sales of RON92 and think hey we can affort to subsidize that only.

_____________________________-

knowing most malaysians, many will go for 95, and the govt will still be paying lots of subsidies.

• torque (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:08 pm

I'll wait n see if the G can talk the talk n walk the walk…if not…ceh! Waste of time only…tax here, tax there…next time when you post a comment in paultan.org also got tax…hahaha :-)

• azrai on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:11 pm

Tak adil. Even new and luxury cars can take 92RON gasoline. By the way, we still have to remember fuel is depleted. I was thinking to find some electric motor and good lithium ion battery to replace my car’s engine in this 2 years time.

• bolehLand? on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:19 pm

yeah… floating as market rate with tax? then just we will never really enjoy it even if RON97 with low market price. Our bolehland government will increase the tax to make sure the $ will flow into their pocket

• p1basher on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:23 pm

wah our car already taxed like crazy, and now comes our petrol tax. I thought we produce petrol, and our public facilities dint change much after 10 years except new highways with expensive tolls. Where is our petrol money?

• kemosabe on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:49 pm

I heard that when the gov does subsidized our petrol, it means that the gov just reduces the tax imposed on the petrol price and not giving actual money to stabilize the pump price.

I think i read it somewhere in this website that there was only a few years that the gov did not collect petrol tax to keep the price stable. Other years petrol was taxed.

So for the floating price mechanism, petrol may be taxed even higher than what it is now.

So much for policy makers.

• Shaekey on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:51 pm

Anybody watched Hujah on TV9 a couple of nights ago? When talking about fuel price, Khir Toyo mentioned that government still subsidizing the current price for about 5 or 6 sen per liter. Anybody catched that? I was like… wtf!

• Wilfred on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:56 pm

to Shaekey

Is like that lah….just like he accuse Eli Wong should resign becoz private photo disclose by unauthorized ppl

i wonder he either brainless….or he jz never read newspaper…

or not listen to his BN colleague…

• whiteeye on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:06 pm

Typical Malaysia Gov, as i heard the new's this morning the petrol oil will be going 3o plus, c weather they will reduces according wat they say, just they use it for political power….

• budlee on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:10 pm

hmm i used only petronas petrol… they only have RON 97. What will stop people for buying RON 95 anyway…

well as long petronas will produced back RON 95… if not, well then I am switching brands

• yahoo on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:22 pm

If can, dont support Petronas.They are making tons of money,we should have cheaper petrol prices.Thats why they can always do competation with expensive prizes.Kill Petronas and the petrol price will go down.

• 4g63tDSM on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:27 pm

Those single (grade) pump stations will probably all change to RON95. Its those of us that need RON97 will have to scout around for dual grade RON92/RON97 stations.

Make little logic why they are doing this in the first place, unless they are trying to spur the economy by forcing people to buy new cars that can run RON95. If they want that why bother even with RON95?

Fortunately, I don't drive enough for this to affect me much.

I can suppose those that own older wiras will have to consider selling thier cars now, since then the RON95 spec comes, they will have a hard time running on RON95. These old cars knock and ping so much under load.

• moha774 on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:26 pm

aiyah… even my old Satria (carburetted) have sticker says that I should use at least RON97 for fuel.. and I'm not even rich…

• adlanb20 on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:31 pm

This move would be very similar to what is being practiced and what is available in the UK. Most cars will run just fine on RON95. Only highly tuned engines may need more octane, but you have RON97. The interesting thing is, a tuner friend of mine (and a lot of his tuner friends agree), is that Malaysian RON97 petrol behaves more like RON100!

• ilhadi on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:35 pm

yahoo said,

February 19, 2009 @ 10:22 am

If can, dont support Petronas.They are making tons of money,we should have cheaper petrol prices.Thats why they can always do competation with expensive prizes.Kill Petronas and the petrol price will go down.

Very constructive Yahoo. I wonder where did you get this argument?

• tiadaid on Feb 19, 2009 at 8:05 pm

yahoo said,

February 19, 2009 @ 10:22 am

If can, dont support Petronas.They are making tons of money,we should have cheaper petrol prices.Thats why they can always do competation with expensive prizes.Kill Petronas and the petrol price will go down

————————————-

And the prize for the dumbest comment on Paul Tan goes to…this guy. Allo, you kill petronas how you can get cheap petrol la…Bodoh!

• hazxkh on Feb 19, 2009 at 8:57 pm

300% imported cars tax + **% ron 97 tax +**%land tax + **%door tax +**%road tax

= giler cekik darah …

nasib baik aku pakai EX5 tak de lah sakit2 ..

punya banyak cukai tapi x der perubahan pun …

trafik jalan raya = jam @ slow…

infrastrucutur internet = lembAB

x tau gi mane duit cukai to pergi

• not_ah_beng on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:06 pm

Next time got "cukai oksigen".

Everytime you breathe must pay 5sen to G, cos, you know, air is our country natural resource as well.

And if your house nearby got trees, need to pay 10sen, cos is "premium", cleaner air.

Pooodah lah this idiots.

• ReactiX on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:44 pm

@yahoo

People are getting dumber and dumberer this time.

Without Petronas, the oil reserve in malaysia will be contracted out to foreign company. and all the profit go straight to G pocket. with Petronas around, at least the royalty still paid to the state. Petronas also helps in education, supporting other national business by sell cheap oil product i.e to TNB (only TNB is stupid enough to contract out to IPP). at least more than 30k people have job under Petronas and 95% of them is malaysian. if u let foreign company dig our oil, they just fly their people from say netherland to help digging our oil. and u got nothing.

think again laa… even if in recession time like in 97, Petronas is the one that support G in financial. the G debt to Petronas is just considered like royalty only. if Petronas doesnt support during that time, G sure collapse and riot here and there (like in Perak XD).

• what i say on Feb 19, 2009 at 10:24 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop, you gone bonkers? 'much reduced taxes with vehicles coming from thailand'.. I thought we're paying extra RM20k for thai assembled cars compared to thai prices. Did I miss an announcement somewhere?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 10:32 pm

not_ah_beng said,

February 19, 2009 @ 1:04 pm

@BanyakMasukWorkshop:

then there is another 20-30% who are already enjoying much reduced taxes with vehicles coming from thailand, which leaves another 10% who are probably taxed the highest.

Hmmmm………..this is not true. As I had proven before.

They still pay very high excise tax. Unless you consider people paying extra 30k on a lousy Vios as “enjoying much reduced taxes”. Verrrry funny definition on “enjoy” for you people…

erm.. i still dont see what you are trying to prove, and what you've proven in the past. i still stick by what i say. and i'm not even talking about the amount of excise duty one pays.

• droll on Feb 19, 2009 at 10:33 pm

My god………petrol cartels!!

• ctawyong on Feb 19, 2009 at 10:56 pm

stupid G, always change the system to their own benefit, always play with public money, eco down ppl suffer and not the G, they think everyway and just anything to maintain their own benefit only not to us!!! selfish G

• Littlefire on Feb 19, 2009 at 11:21 pm

Where is my EURO2 diesel?!? From 2007 until now, is already 2-3 years.. Bloody hell, set a date and implement it! Why dare not set a date, while the Ron97 market price can set it by July 2009?

They have no mean to upgrade the diesel quality as the cost will went up, these G ppl only know how to maximize profit. Where's our current fuel tax went? Did the G inform us how they gonna use it? Well, i think i know.. ByE-Election..

Euro2 standard diesel is not only better grade of diesel, it is also more environment friendly as the sulfur is less compare to the previous standard. Sulfur is the main cause of black smoke and now in Europe ppl are going to EURO5, and Shell even have Vpower Diesel!

• Bodow on Feb 19, 2009 at 11:57 pm

Cilaka punya gomen … tahu nak tax rakyat kasik mampus .

Dapat duit banyak2 kasik itu kroni hidup senang lenang pakai Ferrari , Lambo , rakyat paksa pakai Proton Perodua bila accident cepat skit mampus atau cacat otak …Poodah BN !!!!!!!!!!!

• dr_caz on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:01 am

By the way, ellys boyfriend is cute!

hahahah

i am not gay u guys!

• makan-makan on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:23 am

no wonder…comments suddenly shoot up..and 80% of it was crap..

saudara bodow..yg akan kena tax tu…Ron 97. Ron 95 tak kena mengena(malahan dapat rebet lagi). Most of the car can actually use RON 95. My current ride 4g69 mivec pon pakai RON 91..no problem. Dalam manual pun stated, boleh pakai Ron 91 lagi.

float harga minyak is the way to go…di australia..harga minyak float daily, di brussel weekly float..

..cukuplah cerita psl politik bla-bla (byk dah forum pl politik ni..)

masuk forum kereta pon, again cerita psl BN, pasal PR, psl bukit.lanjang..penatlah

• MoveJJE on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:34 am

A related story with fuel crisis to share with you.

This is how 'they' make money on petrol

Once upon a time in a village in India , a man announced to the villagers that he would buy monkeys for $10.

The villagers seeing there were many monkeys around, went out to the forest and started catching them. The man bought thousands at $10, but, as the supply started to diminish, the villagers stopped their efforts. The man further announced that he would now buy at $20. This renewed the efforts of the villagers and they started catching monkeys again.

Soon the supply diminished even further and people started going back to their farms. The offer rate increased to $25 and the supply of monkeys became so little that it was an effort to even see a monkey, let alone catch it!

The man now announced that he would buy monkeys at $50! However, since he had to go to the city on some business, his assistant would now act as buyer, on his behalf.

In the absence of the man, the assistant told the villagers: ' Look at all these monkeys in the big cage that the man has collected. I will sell them to you at $35 and when he returns from the city, you can sell them back to him for $50. '

The villagers squeezed together their savings and bought all the monkeys.

Then they never saw the man or his assistant again, only monkeys everywhere!

cheers!!

• KS_Phang on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:45 am

OMG. Its like a nightmare to read. Tax us people for RON97? force us to use RON95? Tax for V-power, yes. BUT RON 97?!?!?! WTF is wrong with you people?!

• KS_Phang on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:53 am

comes to think of it. G should work for the people, not the people work for the G. Everything also tax. IMO, G should work to move the country to a point whr the people are able to use "premium" quality goods as their daily goods. Here, the G move the people to lower quality goods and TAX the "not so premium" goods and label them as "premium" goods.

Didn't get me? in short we are moving backwards.

• KS_Phang on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:57 am

to:tiadaid

"If can, dont support Petronas.They are making tons of money,we should have cheaper petrol prices.Thats why they can always do competation with expensive prizes.Kill Petronas and the petrol price will go down"

—————————————————————–

Bro, what you said is wrong. Petronas doesn't earn much from petrol. As most knew that Petronas give back the G more then what they earn from petrol. Their annual earnings are from investment that they themselves smartly made. Peace.

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 1:15 am

unless the amount of money the villagers pool together and use to buy the monkey at $35 is bigger than the amount the man had paid / given to them since the beginning + all the expenses the man need to fork out to maintain the monkey & the assistant, your wonderful story, sadly have it loophole. But the great story anyway! hahahaha..

Now that what i've called a value-added posting.

this goes well to the euro diesel 2M fuel.. there is no specific timeline but that nothing… as what we need is euro 4 diesel. only then its easy for distributors to introduce clean diesel passenger car here in critical number.

but since all these clean diesel car mostly are from Europe and not japan, i guess it doesn't bode well with the G preferencial treatment of japanese (and local) car manufacturer.

look at it this way, during the last budget (or 2 last budget), G announced a policy that favour local assembly of hybrid car or something like it (but for a limited time offer).. it all about hybrid and only hybrid. any good guess how long, in reality, it will take for hybrid to be 'accessible' to everyone? in malaysian context? worldwide, what the take up rate on hybrid? still very very small expect in california, usa maybe.. just by looking at how long the G took to improve the fuel quality is scary enough.

whereas, clean diesel (with comparable and some ever better fuel economy than hybrid) is all the rage in europe. its not rage anymore, its has become a norm. there is a lot of products to choose from and readily available as clean diesel is a mature segment already. so why does the G continuously ignoring the clean diesel cars (which at the very least could prove to be an effective stop-gap measure until hybrid technology is fully mature, produce by enuff number of manufacturer, instead of only H &T and economical worldwide)?

what wrong with having a really clean diesel i.e. euro 4 or ULSD or euro5 ? We are not America, who is known to be allergic to diesel. understand that.

Is the one-time cost to introduce clean diesel is soo sooo heavy (to G + oil companies+ petrol station)?

Wouldn't hybrid will eventually deprieve oil companies + petrol station from revenue (thus profit) as hybrid use less fossil fuel?

Can anyone enlighten me and all on this particular mystery?

There might be a bigger agenda on the card here. what could it might be?

Anyone?

• donovanchin (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 1:56 am

This is extremely disappointing. I was hoping that the introduction of RON95 would put the premium petrol at RON99 or RON100. Now it seems like we'll be paying premium for the same crap we've been using all this while.

• csv (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 5:37 am

if you wanna float, then float with no strings attached, if you still wanna attach a tax to it, then whats the point.

the common people will all move to 95, and only those super car drivers will be buying 97. isnt it the same as right now?

• Javanese (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 6:16 am

Malaysian are still dreaming… they dont realize how lenient our government are towards tax implementations and collections. Try living/working overseas, I worked in the deutschland before and they tax you on absolutely everything and there's no escaping the tax even if you're a student.

• CocoBear (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 6:21 am

WTF! Why should the government tax RON97? We have to pay premium price for a premium car and we also have to pay premium price for the petrol? Well fuck sia….

• dothan (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 6:48 am

Javanese said,

February 19, 2009 @ 10:16 pm ·

Malaysian are still dreaming… they dont realize how lenient our government are towards tax implementations and collections. Try living/working overseas, I worked in the deutschland before and they tax you on absolutely everything and there’s no escaping the tax even if you’re a student.

—————————————————————————————————————

Your statement is half correct. Several questions throw back to you:

1. How many tolls you encounter when you drive along their autobahns? None except tunnels.

2. What's the road condition comparing to Malaysia? You know the answer.

3. Do you know the German government PAYS wages for the companies running very low production volume right now? Yes, they DO.

4. Do you know the parking is free unless you park on private ground?

Honestly, I don't think our gov tax policy is lenient. They are taxing majority middle income group. It is the same idea for this petrol policy.

Cheers!

• MyBoy (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 9:26 am

@dothan

Well said, bro. Can't agree more.

• king (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 9:54 am

what i say said,

February 19, 2009 @ 2:12 pm ·

if you tax fuel, then no need for road tax la.. you use fuel to drive on the road ma, double tax no good la.

—–

yup…double taxation is not good enough for our G, they need quadruple tax

– tax on car you buy

– road tax

– tax on petrol

– tax on the road (toll)

• Paul Tan on Feb 20, 2009 at 10:41 am

This is the MOPS chart per barrel for Singapore Super Unleaded (RON97) for the last 6 months. Anyone want to do calculations?

http://img172.imageshack.us/img172/3122/9d9c96366…

• mits27 (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 3:09 pm

We are oil exporter, also got taxed, everything is taxed nowaday, I also wonder why the food price, clothing price not going down this much, I know the market is really bad, pay cut strategy has spread to many companies in Malaysia….

They think we are rich, but indeed we are poor…so, please help us…

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 6:15 pm

King, figure out how to do 'tax evasion ' la… but I still see a large middle income group which means the gap between the rich and the poor isn't that big. RON95 is for the mass population so it's good. Unless you're middle class but gatal buy sports car, or 5 Series sapa suruh..

If they're considering RON97 as luxury and float the price, then luxury cars floated price also ke..

• warna (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 1:37 am

Curse gov, complained bla bla bla.

I just bought drinking water. 500ml costing me RM1.40. Without water, u dead. Drinkin water is made in Malaysia. Never finish. Petrol? Dig in ocean, filtered, bla bla bla, bring to expensive petrol kiosk, buy expensive pumps, bla bla bla and it cost: HALF OF THAT fcking drinking water. Geezzzzzzzzzzzzzz and nobody give a sht.