E89 BMW Z4 M scrapped – no business case!

BMW Z4

BMW has axed the BMW Z4 M because according to them, there is no business case in such a product in this time and age, thanks to the economic downturn and the lack of interest in such a model.

Yes, yes, I know, no business case for the Z4 M but no problem for the X5 M and the X6 M, hardcore versions of now-frowned-upon SUVs? Well, think of it this way, with some of the rich losing alot of their investment values in the crash, most can no longer afford a big SUV for the weekdays and a sports car for the weekends. They will have to buy a 2 in 1 vehicle, something that serves both functions. Oh my, how tragic!!!

The reality is that these products begin development long before we even hear of them and the X5 M and the X6 M had been signed off long before all of this mess happened, which is why BMW is going ahead with them anyway.

The top of the line Z4 is going to be a M-Sport Z4 which has yet to be revealed, and will get the usual wheels, bodykit, suspension, steering and etc. It may even get BMW Performance parts thrown into the mix, either as standard or as an option. The flagship Z4 is the xDrive35i and BMW Performance could make available a BMW Performance Power Kit for the Z4, similiar to the kit they did for the same twin turbo engine in the 335i and the 135i. It upgrades the engine’s power from 306hp and 400Nm up to 326hp and 450Nm, equalling the tuning found in the BMW 740i. As it is, that’s more torque than the new M3 by a good 50Nm, and spread wide across the RPM range too.

Coupled with the recent announcement that the next gen M3 and M5 will go small-engine with twin-turbo power instead, it looks like the delicious high-revving S65B40 4.0 litre V8 will not find its way into any other production BMW other than the M3 :(

As a tribute to the S65B40, there are 2 orgasmic sound files after the jump of the engine being worked hard on the dyno and on the track as well. Enjoy!

S65B40 M3 on a dyno, 0 to 200km/h

S65B40 on the Nurburgring

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Slum in Bolehland on Mar 22, 2009 at 1:27 am

a gud news to hear

• KS_Phang on Mar 22, 2009 at 3:39 am

Many might feel This Z4 M should be in mass production not the X5 and X6 M. I have not comment on that. But do u guys notice that in the FnB industry the Expensive and The Cheapest having the most business but those in the middle are dying. May be its the same for auto industry. Just my 2 cents

• mystvearn on Mar 22, 2009 at 4:23 am

BMW should try concentrate making the entire range like cheaper by half of its current price. That will make their cars more applealing to lower income people

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 22, 2009 at 9:36 pm

would you agree also paul, that bmw could be continuing with the SUV's, not just because they were signed off earlier, but also because the demand for SUV's are still high in the middle east?

• KS_Phang on Mar 23, 2009 at 8:07 am

good point. middle east, nvr tot of dat

• KS_Phang on Mar 23, 2009 at 8:08 am

but i must say even X5 or X6 M is not hardcore enuf for crazy middle east ppl

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 23, 2009 at 5:11 pm

[quote comment="223384"]but i must say even X5 or X6 M is not hardcore enuf for crazy middle east ppl[/quote]

they have more money than sense sometimes.

• Leonardo on Mar 23, 2009 at 7:42 pm

It's a real pity – such a beautiful car. Probably the economy woes in US is also contributing the 'business case'. The 2 seater sports cabrio is very popular in the US,(and in Europe)but less so in the other parts of the world.

SUVs and MPVs are still very much in demand and is a safer bet for BMW, hence the decision to drop the Z4, IMO.