VIDEO: Mercedes-Benz F-CELL Roadster

Mercedes-Benz talks about the rather odd F-CELL Roadster in this video production which you can watch after the jump. When the F-CELL Roadster was announced near the end of March this year many dismissed it as an April Fool’s gag because of how bizarre it was. It takes retro-futurism to a whole new level, as this is inspired by a model that was way way in the past.
We’re talking about a 1.6 horsepower fuel cell with a top speed of 25km/h, hardly anything that serves modern motoring needs, and we haven’t even gotten around to the lack of a roof yet. If put into production in its current state it could possibly serve as some kind of luxury golf course transportation, or some kind of Segway-like vehicle at most.
Halfway through the video comes the answer – it was actually built by Mercedes-Benz apprentices as some kind of training project for them.
Watch the video after the jump.

May 12, 2009 @ 7:03 pm
first!!!
This will be the penarik beca’s wet dream
May 12, 2009 @ 7:16 pm
ugly fuel cell car with ‘tayar basikal’…hard for drifter…patah la if make drift attempt hehe
May 12, 2009 @ 7:30 pm
nice if use it for sighseeing around park
May 12, 2009 @ 7:38 pm
long distant forget it … hahahaha
May 12, 2009 @ 8:27 pm
guys,it should be fun.
i guess…
hahah..
NOT….
May 12, 2009 @ 8:54 pm
Old meets new without added productivity. haha
Anyways. I’ts great going around parks and all.
May 12, 2009 @ 9:12 pm
Imagine this being used to replace every trishaw in Penang Island and Melaka. Hahaha!
May 12, 2009 @ 9:16 pm
to my sense,i doesnt look ugly.
May 12, 2009 @ 9:16 pm
opss..typo..i mean the car doesnt look ugly…
May 12, 2009 @ 9:30 pm
Mercedes can afford to clown around making concepts that will never see the light of day
May 12, 2009 @ 10:24 pm
yesss!!..bring it to malaysia..got lots of lubang in road to be tested..hehhe
May 12, 2009 @ 11:03 pm
Actually, it is a good idea for tuorism.. since a long time ago, Taxi Driver in East Coast Kelantan especially using ‘Mercedes Batman’ to become a taxi. but by having this new machine, this will become new attraction to tourist to visit East coast..
May 12, 2009 @ 11:05 pm
OMG..the Rims sooooo big…. but it looks like Satria Neo .. anyone agree with me?
May 13, 2009 @ 9:26 am
nice concept…
desing + tech + poetry = great!!!
short distance sight seeing ride in it would be great..simple navigation for basic transportation need…
“Man Belon” – not it dont look anything like Satria Neo…
“Along” – agree wit u.
“mystvearn” – i suppose other car maker have it too…such R&D exploration are crucial to bring up it’s standard of expectation.
“chaku” – i’ll said it’s poetry
“xshiro” – agree
“scanzew” – drift for fark sake…use ur brain before u post any comment.
May 13, 2009 @ 11:24 am
[quote comment="238003"]nice concept…
short distance sight seeing ride in it would be great..simple navigation for basic transportation need…
“Along” – agree wit u.
“mystvearn” – i suppose other car maker have it too…such R&D exploration are crucial to bring up it’s standard of expectation.
“xshiro” – agree
“scanzew” – drift for fark sake…use ur brain before u post any comment.[/quote]
rileks la daze..some of this guys just have a little joke of the day..dont take it seriously..
but from rear side, it may have look like satria neo..hahhahahah (joke only, okay!)
May 13, 2009 @ 1:27 pm
“Along” – agree wit u.
“xshiro” – agree
jokes dgn statement pun dah tak boleh beza…krisis keegoan pendapat sendiri jer kot
May 13, 2009 @ 1:37 pm
“Along” – agree wit u.
“xshiro” – agree
typical ppl that hav dictation in mind…blocking other ppl make some statement..nie negara demokrasi semua boleh buat statement…jgn tanamkan semangat diktator dlm diri semata2 memenangkan pendapat sendiri saja….
daze=haze=jerebu
namanya kelabu asap setara orangnya!
May 13, 2009 @ 1:42 pm
It’s cool old-school like that, I kinda like it. I’d be wearing my top hat, walking stick and my pocket watch riding one of these.
May 13, 2009 @ 4:42 pm
Not sure if it’ really an audacious design for the future as it was claimed in the video. More a retro-design that goes back to the 1st patented model by Benz to me. I have faith in the fuel cell technology though, despite some of its drawbacks.
May 13, 2009 @ 8:28 pm
the seats looks cool…
May 14, 2009 @ 12:24 am
the seat doesnt look comfy enough for a Benz
haha
cheers!
May 14, 2009 @ 7:58 am
like a F1 car laaaa….
May 14, 2009 @ 9:50 am
wow, luxury beca. i guess our menteri besar would like to buy one for sightseeing.