VIDEO: Mercedes-Benz F-CELL Roadster

F-CELL

Mercedes-Benz talks about the rather odd F-CELL Roadster in this video production which you can watch after the jump. When the F-CELL Roadster was announced near the end of March this year many dismissed it as an April Fool’s gag because of how bizarre it was. It takes retro-futurism to a whole new level, as this is inspired by a model that was way way in the past.

We’re talking about a 1.6 horsepower fuel cell with a top speed of 25km/h, hardly anything that serves modern motoring needs, and we haven’t even gotten around to the lack of a roof yet. If put into production in its current state it could possibly serve as some kind of luxury golf course transportation, or some kind of Segway-like vehicle at most.

Halfway through the video comes the answer – it was actually built by Mercedes-Benz apprentices as some kind of training project for them.

Watch the video after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=199]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Roti naan on May 13, 2009 at 3:03 am

first!!!

This will be the penarik beca's wet dream

• scanzew on May 13, 2009 at 3:16 am

ugly fuel cell car with 'tayar basikal'…hard for drifter…patah la if make drift attempt hehe

• xshiro on May 13, 2009 at 3:30 am

nice if use it for sighseeing around park

• xzibit on May 13, 2009 at 3:38 am

long distant forget it … hahahaha

• guys,it should be fun.

i guess…

hahah..

NOT….

• Old meets new without added productivity. haha

Anyways. I'ts great going around parks and all.

• Dracryst on May 13, 2009 at 5:12 am

Imagine this being used to replace every trishaw in Penang Island and Melaka. Hahaha!

• chaku on May 13, 2009 at 5:16 am

to my sense,i doesnt look ugly.

• chaku on May 13, 2009 at 5:16 am

opss..typo..i mean the car doesnt look ugly…

• mystvearn on May 13, 2009 at 5:30 am

Mercedes can afford to clown around making concepts that will never see the light of day

• apixz on May 13, 2009 at 6:24 am

yesss!!..bring it to malaysia..got lots of lubang in road to be tested..hehhe

• Along on May 13, 2009 at 7:03 am

Actually, it is a good idea for tuorism.. since a long time ago, Taxi Driver in East Coast Kelantan especially using 'Mercedes Batman' to become a taxi. but by having this new machine, this will become new attraction to tourist to visit East coast..

• Man Belon on May 13, 2009 at 7:05 am

OMG..the Rims sooooo big…. but it looks like Satria Neo .. anyone agree with me?

• nice concept…

desing + tech + poetry = great!!!

short distance sight seeing ride in it would be great..simple navigation for basic transportation need…

"Man Belon" – not it dont look anything like Satria Neo…

"Along" – agree wit u.

"mystvearn" – i suppose other car maker have it too…such R&D exploration are crucial to bring up it's standard of expectation.

"chaku" – i'll said it's poetry

"xshiro" – agree

"scanzew" – drift for fark sake…use ur brain before u post any comment.

• gattaca on May 13, 2009 at 7:24 pm

[quote comment="238003"]nice concept…

short distance sight seeing ride in it would be great..simple navigation for basic transportation need…

"Along" – agree wit u.

"mystvearn" – i suppose other car maker have it too…such R&D exploration are crucial to bring up it's standard of expectation.

"xshiro" – agree

"scanzew" – drift for fark sake…use ur brain before u post any comment.[/quote]

rileks la daze..some of this guys just have a little joke of the day..dont take it seriously..

but from rear side, it may have look like satria neo..hahhahahah (joke only, okay!)

• scanzew on May 13, 2009 at 9:27 pm

"Along" – agree wit u.

"xshiro" – agree

jokes dgn statement pun dah tak boleh beza…krisis keegoan pendapat sendiri jer kot

• scanzew on May 13, 2009 at 9:37 pm

"Along" – agree wit u.

"xshiro" – agree

typical ppl that hav dictation in mind…blocking other ppl make some statement..nie negara demokrasi semua boleh buat statement…jgn tanamkan semangat diktator dlm diri semata2 memenangkan pendapat sendiri saja….

daze=haze=jerebu

namanya kelabu asap setara orangnya!

• plutohunter on May 13, 2009 at 9:42 pm

It's cool old-school like that, I kinda like it. I'd be wearing my top hat, walking stick and my pocket watch riding one of these.

• mybrother's gen on May 14, 2009 at 12:42 am

Not sure if it' really an audacious design for the future as it was claimed in the video. More a retro-design that goes back to the 1st patented model by Benz to me. I have faith in the fuel cell technology though, despite some of its drawbacks.

• xshiro on May 14, 2009 at 4:28 am

the seats looks cool…

• the seat doesnt look comfy enough for a Benz

haha

cheers!

• andy law on May 14, 2009 at 3:58 pm

like a F1 car laaaa….

• p1basher on May 14, 2009 at 5:50 pm

wow, luxury beca. i guess our menteri besar would like to buy one for sightseeing.