Ducati 1198 and 1198 S launched at Next Bike’s new Ducati showroom in TTDI!

Ducati 1198

Naza’s Next Bike Sdn Bhd has just opened the doors to its second Ducati showroom in Malaysia, occupying the first floor of the 3-storey 28,000 square feet Naza Autoworld Complex at TTDI Plaza. Service remains at the 4S centre at Naza Automall PJ along the Federal Highway.

The new Ducati 1198 also got its official importer launch at the showroom opening. Next Bike has held the Ducati import and distributorship since November 2000, so it’s been 9 years of sales now. Next Bike intends to sell 120 Dukes this year from the entire Ducati range including the Monster, Hypermotard and the superbikes.

An initial allocation of 13 Ducati 1198 and 1198S has arrived, but already some have been pre-sold. The bike’s 1198cc Testastretta Evoluzione engine puts out 180 horses at 9,750rpm and 13.4kgm of torque at 8,000rpm. The new motor is nearly 3kg lighter than the one in the 1098 S.

The 1198 S also has a Ducati Traction Control system which is competition ready, and system activation/intervention is indicated on the rider’s instrument panel.

Ducati 1198

Other than the DTC system, the 1198 S further improves upon the 1198 with lighter wheels – 7-spoke GP replica Marchesini forged and machined wheels to be exact, while the 1198 uses 10-spoke wheels. The 1198 S uses 43mm Ohlin shocks while the 1198 uses a set supplied by Showa. There is also a Ducati Data Analysis package for the S, which enables the retrieval and analysis of data collected from your previous track session or road trip via a USB cable and PC software.

Other than the bikes, a full range of Ducati and Ducati Corse mechantise from fashion wear to premium gifts, miniature bikes and lifestyle equipment with Ducati branding are also sold at the showroom.

The Ducati 1198 goes for RM158k while the 1198 S goes for RM185k. Look after the jump for some images and a video of the 1198 and the 1198 S.
[zenphotopress number=99 album=291]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tHe^CuLpRit on May 20, 2009 at 9:22 am

that's ALOT of money for 2-wheels, but if you can afford it then its worth it for a fine piece of Italian machine.

• realBikers on May 20, 2009 at 10:05 am

158k for a big bike? ca buy a Civic . No wonder mat rempit stil using kap chai now ;)

• Typical attitude among M’sians; better buy a house instead of overpriced car/bike ;-) better yet , better deposit money in banks & live in squatter ville instead of wasting ’em on dirt & rubble of a house.

The difference between living & existing is, I guess is; passion. If what you want became your need plus you could afford it or maybe borrow or steal; then by all means go for it!

Otherwise, just PLEASE shut-the-hell-up!

• Keong on May 20, 2009 at 3:49 pm

Ferrari of 2 wheels =)

• _xXx_ on May 20, 2009 at 3:50 pm

Throw in a bit more you get Civic Type R or Golf GTI. These are just toys for the richs. But mind u it's only USD21k (RM74k) for the 1198S in the US. So do you guys earn 2.5 times more than the US ppl?

• Calvin De La Rosa on May 20, 2009 at 4:08 pm

Pink? There's a pink superbike??

• droll on May 20, 2009 at 4:40 pm

when you buy a ducati, it's not about what other CAR you can get for this bike.

it's about the sheer adrenaline rush you get that NO OTHER CAR can give you. not even a civic type-r comes close to the experience of riding on super bike! in fact, i dare say only the atom ariel comes anywhere near (still way off by a gazillion miles) to the experience on a super bike.

imagine doing 300km/h with nothing around you except tarmac and 2 wheels! woohoo! and you need a special helmet and suit to keep you glued to the bike at such speeds.

• droll on May 20, 2009 at 4:41 pm

the only thing on 4 wheels that bests a super bike around the track is a formula 1 car. nothing else!

• nEuRoPsYcHo on May 20, 2009 at 4:41 pm

Pink superbike???

=.='

My girl might like it though…

Haha…

=)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on May 20, 2009 at 4:52 pm

[quote comment="239915"]the only thing on 4 wheels that bests a super bike around the track is a formula 1 car. nothing else![/quote]

agreed

• mohdjiman on May 20, 2009 at 5:11 pm

180 horses inside this 2 wheelers…

• yahoo on May 20, 2009 at 5:17 pm

[quote comment="239906"]Throw in a bit more you get Civic Type R or Golf GTI. These are just toys for the richs. But mind u it's only USD21k (RM74k) for the 1198S in the US. So do you guys earn 2.5 times more than the US ppl?[/quote]

Note that you also earn nearly dollar to dollar in the US/AU. If I earn RM8k, bike = RM185k. If I earn AUD8k, bike = AUD31k

Therefore, Malaysia is 23x monthly salary and AU is 4x monthly salary. Same goes for cars. BTW a brand new CTR in AUD is about RM35k. So on that note, the price of the bike and the TR is at par in Malaysia :)

• yahoo on May 20, 2009 at 5:20 pm

[quote comment="239927"][quote comment="239906"]Throw in a bit more you get Civic Type R or Golf GTI. These are just toys for the richs. But mind u it's only USD21k (RM74k) for the 1198S in the US. So do you guys earn 2.5 times more than the US ppl?[/quote]

Note that you also earn nearly dollar to dollar in the US/AU. If I earn RM8k, bike = RM185k. If I earn AUD8k, bike = AUD31k

Therefore, Malaysia is 23x monthly salary and AU is 4x monthly salary. Same goes for cars. BTW a brand new CTR in AUD is about RM35k. So on that note, the price of the bike and the TR is at par in Malaysia :)[/quote]

Oops.. typo. CTR in AU is AUD35k, not RM35k.

• yahoo on May 20, 2009 at 5:21 pm

Oops.. typo on the prices. CTR is AUD35k, not RM35k. I'd buy it in a second if it was RM35k :)

• gangully on May 20, 2009 at 5:52 pm

there are always people coming on to this site and saying "waaahh, can buy other things for the price", "can buy other cars for the price", "toys for the rich" and what i say everytime i read comments like that is… GET A LIFE!

This is a site very well engineered and thought off by Paultan, and the demographics of his readers are not only those who complain about everything but also those who can afford those cars/motorbikes that have been featured. If you can't afford it, like me, then just keep quiet and admire. Not come on and make fleeting comments just because you can't afford it. Some of the rich in this country worked for their har earned money. So don't just generalise.

My 2 cents

• amirad (Member) on May 20, 2009 at 6:12 pm

Most average driver if given a supercar can drive up to 300 km/h. How many average riders if given a hyperbike can ride up to 300 km/h ? I for one, don't have the guts and skill to do it.

• Jaybond on May 20, 2009 at 6:18 pm

This is a chick magnet. Better get a biposto.

• damanda on May 20, 2009 at 6:24 pm

they got pink bike?

anyway , im gonna choose white 1..

• AP aside, 185K is reasonably priced considering it is one of the best specs that you can get in Malaysia. And it is Ferrari of 2 wheels.

The BMW 3 sell at 30K USD over there, still there are plentiful over here. A lots of people can afford for the brand that they have believe in.

• Australia don't sell CTR like we have here, if there is, that would be from gray importer there. The 3 doors hatch same as UK specs FN is selling at 41990. Malaysia is the only one country outside of Japan to have the same model selling at its showroom.

You need to save up RM100k before you get to migrate there, and you need another RM115K to buy that car in cash, since no bank there will provide the loan to new migrate.

http://civic.honda.com.au/landing.aspx

• superbike always with man…. ONLY rich

• dreamer on May 20, 2009 at 8:02 pm

emm…in USD21k (74k)..in malaysia =158k..wow..dats a big margine..wonder where the money goes……

• bila nak kuar meter screen color….hehe

• _xXx_ on May 20, 2009 at 9:58 pm

[quote comment="239938"]there are always people coming on to this site and saying "waaahh, can buy other things for the price", "can buy other cars for the price", "toys for the rich" and what i say everytime i read comments like that is… GET A LIFE!

This is a site very well engineered and thought off by Paultan, and the demographics of his readers are not only those who complain about everything but also those who can afford those cars/motorbikes that have been featured. If you can't afford it, like me, then just keep quiet and admire. Not come on and make fleeting comments just because you can't afford it. Some of the rich in this country worked for their har earned money. So don't just generalise.

My 2 cents[/quote]

oh yeah, you too, keep quiet and spit on my posting if you don't like it. Who the heck u think u r for stopping ppl from voicing out their negative opinion?

• _xXx_ on May 20, 2009 at 10:00 pm

[quote comment="239977"]emm…in USD21k (74k)..in malaysia =158k..wow..dats a big margine..wonder where the money goes……[/quote]

salah la bro, compare the S model prices, diff is >100k!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on May 20, 2009 at 10:11 pm

[quote comment="240007"][quote comment="239938"]there are always people coming on to this site and saying "waaahh, can buy other things for the price", "can buy other cars for the price", "toys for the rich" and what i say everytime i read comments like that is… GET A LIFE!

My 2 cents[/quote]

oh yeah, you too, keep quiet and spit on my posting if you don't like it. Who the heck u think u r for stopping ppl from voicing out their negative opinion?[/quote]

to be fair to him, he didnt "spit" on your posting, or singled out your posting. he didnt even quote you.. and honestly, the reality is, not everyone in the US can afford a bike that costs USD22k. the average american only earns around USD 2-3k a month only. not everyone there is rich.

• _xXx_ on May 20, 2009 at 10:16 pm

[quote comment="239986"]Typical attitude among M'sians; better buy a house instead of overpriced car/bike ;-) better yet , better deposit money in banks & live in squatter ville instead of wasting 'em on dirt & rubble of a house.

The difference between living & existing is, I guess is; passion. If what you want became your need plus you could afford it or maybe borrow or steal; then by all means go for it!

Otherwise, just PLEASE shut-the-hell-up![/quote]

Do you really do what you mentioned above? I think you were trying to tell us that kind of Nike BS "life is short, play hard" thingy….don't regret, my frd

• arch808 on May 20, 2009 at 10:49 pm

I'm now rm50k poorer after getting my 650bike. may not be anywhere near the Dukes bikes, but 210kmh is gud enuff for me. it definitely gave me a lot more adrenaline rush than my 07 Civic. :-)

cheers

• _xXx_ on May 20, 2009 at 10:50 pm

[quote comment="240010"]and honestly, the reality is, not everyone in the US can afford a bike that costs USD22k. the average american only earns around USD 2-3k a month only. not everyone there is rich.[/quote]

if I am earning RM2k here, I can comfortably own a Duc if it is priced at RM22k. But the fact is – I am earning much more but I can't afford the 183k bike! The interest itself is already killing! Not to mention the pricipal.

• Calvin De La Rosa on May 20, 2009 at 11:25 pm

[quote comment="239986"]Typical attitude among M'sians; better buy a house instead of overpriced car/bike ;-) better yet , better deposit money in banks & live in squatter ville instead of wasting 'em on dirt & rubble of a house.

The difference between living & existing is, I guess is; passion. If what you want became your need plus you could afford it or maybe borrow or STEAL; then by all means go for it!

Otherwise, just PLEASE shut-the-hell-up![/quote]

What is wrong with you… encourage STEALING!

I bet you're a rich kid/guy or you just got a multi-millions contract. Most likely money comes easy for you. But there are people with passion out there that not as fortunate as the riches. What, if they ride a kapcai and has passion for Ducati, and NO ONE wants to borrow it to them, they should STEAL it?

Come on…!

• gangully on May 20, 2009 at 11:38 pm

hahahaha xXx is going on an all out attack

famous malay saying "siapa makan cili, dia rasa pedas"

voice out all your negative comments, on proper channels, this posting is about the Duc and its 1198, not about how expensive it is.

thanks!

• mitlanevo on May 20, 2009 at 11:41 pm

[quote comment="240000"]bila nak kuar meter screen color….hehe[/quote]

siap dengan fungsi Playstation dan GPS? lol~

• wow…sexy bikes ! I am not a bike person but ducati got the most amazing bikes around, if only proton didnt sell Agusta for 1 pound we might got ourself a national superbike here in Bolehland.

• [quote comment="239914"]when you buy a ducati, it's not about what other CAR you can get for this bike.

it's about the sheer adrenaline rush you get that NO OTHER CAR can give you. not even a civic type-r comes close to the experience of riding on super bike! in fact, i dare say only the atom ariel comes anywhere near (still way off by a gazillion miles) to the experience on a super bike.

imagine doing 300km/h with nothing around you except tarmac and 2 wheels! woohoo! and you need a special helmet and suit to keep you glued to the bike at such speeds.[/quote]

'samseng jalan' oso can get adrenalin rush doing "superman" stunt with kap chai at 120 kmh…no need this bike…heheh :)

• _xXx_ on May 21, 2009 at 1:47 am

[quote comment="240028"]…this posting is about the Duc and its 1198, not about how expensive it is…[/quote]

uuh? Whose rule is this? Urs? Berambuslah, the malay saying.

• dreamer on May 21, 2009 at 2:59 am

well..the price's like hell coz da tax is rubbish.

• Miss Janet on May 21, 2009 at 5:42 am

Paul,

U forgot to mention how many SRS airbags and crash test rating on this thing…

• Madness on May 21, 2009 at 6:07 am

Buy Ducati 1198S's halfcut then plonk the engine into kelisa. It should be fit..1200cc somemore can pass JPJ tess.

• Madness on May 21, 2009 at 6:07 am

test*

• Calvin De La Rosa on May 21, 2009 at 6:09 am

[quote comment="240044"][quote comment="240028"]…this posting is about the Duc and its 1198, not about how expensive it is…[/quote]

uuh? Whose rule is this? Urs? Berambuslah, the malay saying.[/quote]

Don't fuel the fire, my friend. We do not need rude people while discussing automotive matters.

(Dont think we do not know what you're trying to imply there.)

• BodowBodow on May 21, 2009 at 7:29 am

life is too precious for a superbike accident haha …

• _xXx_ on May 21, 2009 at 8:12 am

[quote comment="240077"]Dont think we do not know what you're trying to imply there.[/quote]

Good. Go do something to the person who stirred up the ???? then.

• Calvin De La Rosa on May 21, 2009 at 9:24 am

[quote comment="240095"][quote comment="240077"]Dont think we do not know what you're trying to imply there.[/quote]

Good. Go do something to the person who stirred up the ???? then.[/quote]

Hence I SAID DON'T FUEL THE FIRE. Retaliation only causes 'accident'. Be the smart 'driver'. Drive on the 'right lane' & don't go over the 'speed limit'.

'Smart driver don't think they smart, but they act smart.'

• Calvin De La Rosa on May 21, 2009 at 9:31 am

Paul, I strongly believe you're one of those 'smart driver'. And this is a very civilized albeit few friendly banters amongst manufacturers fan here and there.

But I think a moderate moderation should be in hand… just to keep the repo of this blog intact.

My MYR0.02