BMW Emergency Stop Assistant brings your car to a stop if you can’t drive it

Old Man

BMW’s Emergency Stop Assistant project is part of The German Federal Ministry of Education and Research’s SmartSenior program, which aims to develop intelligent services to make the lives of senior citizens easier and safer. BMW’s system is of course designed to make it safer for senior citizens to drive.

As you know, as we get older more and more health problems start to appear. Some older people may develop intermittent cardiovascular problems, and this may also apply to young people if they are unlucky or live an unhealthy lifestyle. What if you get a heart attack while driving, something that really might just happen considering the kind of traffic and bandits you have to deal with on Malaysian roads on a daily basis.

The BMW Emergency Stop Assistant system automatically activates an autonomous driving mode when it detects that the driver has a serious medical problem (through the use of driver vital sensors), and carries out a controlled emergency stop. It uses sensors around the car to detect the traffic around it to maneuver carefully to the outer edge of the road with the hazard lights on before stopping. BMW ConnectedDrive then performs and emergency call for medical and traffic assistance.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Cutester on Jun 10, 2009 at 7:16 pm

Great tech and invention!

• theanswer on Jun 10, 2009 at 7:36 pm

can this system detect sleepy driver?

• It would have stopped at the wrong side in Malaysia :D

• saharil on Jun 10, 2009 at 9:45 pm

I heard that Proton also working R&D on similar system. Do you hear anything on telematics in Protons? Hopefully if it ever happened, it wont cost that much!

• Jolly_idiot on Jun 10, 2009 at 10:08 pm

For sure Proton & every car have this. If you're sleepy and can't drive. You'll end up crash stop. It's just a little different in the stopping type. Haha

• wat the hell ! Proton ? are you joking man…

• aksMs on Jun 10, 2009 at 10:49 pm

Such technology are most welcome. I think every automaker should make this technology available in all range of models they produce.

• Wak Rempit on Jun 10, 2009 at 11:21 pm

Truly a wonderful technology. But in KL traffic I wonder how the car will maneuver with all the kiasu's and mat rempits.

Can the car also stop when husband and wife fighting in the car? That can also cause higher blood pressure and heart pumping rate… hehe

• hidz7 on Jun 11, 2009 at 1:33 am

wow..great technology from a great company.

this kind of technology might be expensive, but hey,safety is the top priority right?

• Hikaru Hejimenmashit on Jun 11, 2009 at 1:43 am

where is my post Paul?

• cool tech

• perotujuh on Jun 11, 2009 at 5:14 am

BMW dive you now. LOL

• Why don't we heard Volvo doing this ?

• Jacky on Jun 12, 2009 at 6:49 am

What the hell??!! you thought malaysian people very rich? How many of us can buy BMW? Jangan harap Proton will do R&D and even invest that….. if you do then you all still dreaming…..

• Salamander on Jun 13, 2009 at 12:55 am

[quote comment="244221"]What the hell??!! you thought malaysian people very rich? How many of us can buy BMW? Jangan harap Proton will do R&D and even invest that….. if you do then you all still dreaming…..[/quote]

Typical Malaysian who always assume rather the give facts.

• Aimran on Jul 11, 2009 at 9:17 am

You know…it'd be terribly funny if they had a miscommunication over WHICH SIDE OF THE ROAD MALAYSIA DRIVES ON…only to have the car steer itself into the opposite lane….dang