Rolls-Royce Ghost to offer “magic carpet ride”

Rolls-Royce Ghost

Rolls-Royce has released a little more info on the new 200EX Ghost, probably in response to the noise Bentley is making about its upcoming Arnage replacement. The Ghost will have a state-of-the-art chassis which uses an intelligent four corner air suspension system and multi-link aluminum front and rear axles.

Various systems like Active Roll Stabilization, four corner air springs and Variable Damping Control operate as one with sensor data read and new settings calculated as often as every 2.5 milliseconds to provide what Rolls-Royce proudly calls a “magic carpet ride”. The air suspension system is so sensitive that it can detect even the smallest of changes. It can even sense the movement of a single rear passenger from one side of the seat to the other, and will compensate accordingly.

Rolls-Royce Ghost

Now that’s a huge claim to make considering magic carpets miraculously fly through the air so you shouldn’t have to feel any bumps on the road at all. The suspension system can also rise and lower itself by 25mm to either assist with entry and exit or allow the Ghost to travel over uneven ground.

The Ghost measures 5399mm long, 1948mm wide and 1550mm tall, with a wheelbase of 3295mm. Unlike the Phantom range’s 6.75 litre V12 engine producing 453 horsepower and 720Nm of torque, the Ghost will have a 6.6 litre turbocharged V12 that’s said to produce at least 500 horsepower, and that already exceeds the Phantom’s engine. This will be mated to a 8-speed ZF transmission, similiar to the one in the 760Li and the 5-Series GT.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=118]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• oohlala.. on Jun 12, 2009 at 5:06 am

wau…that sure can get the most comfortable car to drive..fuiyo..

• mystvearn on Jun 12, 2009 at 5:32 am

Looks like the ultra rich are not even affected by the recession

• naysh on Jun 12, 2009 at 5:36 am

the stuff dreams are made of …….sigh !

• FLIZZARDO on Jun 12, 2009 at 5:58 am

my dad is buying one.

• beautiful,

• FLIZZARDO on Jun 12, 2009 at 7:43 am

my dad bought one already.

• hidz7 on Jun 12, 2009 at 8:11 am

one word came to my mind..awesome

comfortness+power+great technology=great product..

and of course,it's the toy for the ultra rich people..;)

• Dj_Vanilla on Jun 12, 2009 at 6:01 pm

Hey FLIZZARDO,

Ur dad bought it,emmm…do you mind to share what a price is this Ghost? Imean MYR currency..

• afkar on Jun 12, 2009 at 6:22 pm

this is what we call the legend 's legacy..

• Thomas on Jun 12, 2009 at 6:28 pm

Fully handemade car

• RunnerUp on Jun 12, 2009 at 10:17 pm

"Ghost" offers "magic carpet ride."

Zam zam alakazam!

• carsut on Jun 13, 2009 at 12:32 am

maybe P.Ramlee or Aladin are the bench mark..huhu

• pelams on Jun 13, 2009 at 12:41 am

hydraulic type of suspension??

• albagmane on Jun 13, 2009 at 1:31 am

FLIZZARDO said,

June 11, 2009 @ 11:43 pm · Quote

oh peeeleaasee… not you again… ur the one who always talk BIG in lowyat.net rite… -_- ur dad gonna buy u a toddler wheel chair for sure…

• RunnerUp on Jun 13, 2009 at 4:43 am

[quote comment="244209"]my dad is buying one.[/quote]

[quote comment="244229"]my dad bought one already.[/quote]

wow!

in less than two hours, the status changed from "is buying one" to "bought one already?"

what a dad!

• HamannE92 on Jun 13, 2009 at 4:53 am

[quote comment="244378"]FLIZZARDO said,

June 11, 2009 @ 11:43 pm · Quote

oh peeeleaasee… not you again… ur the one who always talk BIG in lowyat.net rite… -_- ur dad gonna buy u a toddler wheel chair for sure…[/quote]

hahahahahahaha…..

• awg1031 on Jun 13, 2009 at 4:53 am

oooowh,i love this car..looks nice and comfortable

• Archer on Jun 13, 2009 at 8:44 am

Here in Malaysia got RR being driven for casual reasons at all? I think those who can afford them usually buy them without paying the taxes for official purposes in most cases. Would be nice if Government removed the heavy taxes on import cars let the people have more to choose from including this Magic Carpet :-)

• Expat on Jun 13, 2009 at 9:27 am

Malaysias can only drool and call it a dream car. Pathetic fools

• kimi_ (Member) on Jun 13, 2009 at 7:35 pm

for your information, many handmade car will have messy inteior especially beneath the car. for eg, the engine part….

• nighttrain on Jun 13, 2009 at 10:28 pm

I think RR just copied from some Chinese carmaker for this model lah.. So kesian one, the Chinese carmaker.

• mitlanevo on Jun 13, 2009 at 11:17 pm

[quote comment="244229"]my dad bought one already.[/quote]

my dad bought a dozen of these already for offroad rally racing…..

• tonton on Jun 17, 2009 at 12:42 am

[quote comment="244461"][quote comment="244229"]my dad bought one already.[/quote]

my dad bought a dozen of these already for offroad rally racing…..[/quote]

if u read back paul post, it is not even on sale.

Rolls-Royce has released a little more info on the new 200EX Ghost, probably in response to the noise Bentley is making about its upcoming Arnage replacement. The Ghost will have a state-of-the-art chassis which uses an intelligent four corner air suspension system and multi-link aluminum front and rear axles.