Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Toyota to introduce a hybrid Supra in 2011, concept to appear this year?

Advertisement

Reports worldwide are indicating that Japanese auto maker Toyota, will revive the Supra, and that a production model could hit dealerships by 2011. The news was first fueled back in 2007, when the auto maker previewed the FT-HS Concept car the Detroit Auto Show.

Now, words are being exchanged again regarding the revival of the Nissan Skyline-fighter. Apparently, the new Supra would be powered by a Lexus-sourced 2GR-VSE 3.5-liter V6, that will be paired with a hybrid system, sourced from the Toyota Crown.

While the previous Supra produced up to 320HP from it’s 2JZ-GTE inline-6 twin turbo powerplant (depending on the market), the replacement model could produce more than 400HP, when mated to the hybrid system. Expect the auto maker to showcase a concept at this year’s motor show in Tokyo. Keep your fingers crossed!

16 Comments »

1. met said,

June 24, 2009 @ 12:54 pm

whoaaa!!! nice car…am I the first one?? yahoo..

2. 8th Prime said,

June 24, 2009 @ 1:40 pm

Can’t wait…woohooo

3. Baron said,

June 24, 2009 @ 1:48 pm

Hybrid Supercar!!!!

4. chyan said,

June 24, 2009 @ 3:09 pm

Whoa..

Let’s see about that.

5. Gajen said,

June 24, 2009 @ 3:38 pm

supra is back….cant wait cant wait….any news about LFA?

6. Supra85 said,

June 24, 2009 @ 4:35 pm

OMG….No please…just let Supra RIP…
    I like JZA80 very much~ just don’t revive Supra OR don’t let that machine wear Supra name T_T

7. PETRONAS TOM’S MALAYSIA-JAPAN said,

June 24, 2009 @ 9:31 pm

hope after this PETRONAS MALAYSIA will backup TOM’S JAPAN to enter Nurburgring race with the new TOYOTA SUPRA!

Malaysia automotive industry need this hybrid technology!

8. csv said,

June 25, 2009 @ 12:14 am

wah, looks like GT-R must buck up now.

9. funnyppl said,

June 25, 2009 @ 1:32 am

wah all ppl comment here sounds so excited like they all really can afford it when the new supra really make it to our market..LOL…eg. can’t wait can’t wait..LOL…

10. Keith said,

June 25, 2009 @ 4:27 am

I would LOVE a hybrid supercar! Come on Toyota… reset that bar!

11. mystvearn said,

June 25, 2009 @ 6:41 am

This concept has been out qiite some time, I thiink the final version will look different than that

12. Bodowee said,

June 25, 2009 @ 4:41 pm

No need lah …my Vios TRD can hit 200 km/hr you know ! kah kah kah …
    Supra waste of money …. only my gf from Indonesia Suprawani Budiyanto i want

13. whatever said,

June 25, 2009 @ 9:30 pm

I notice that every post will have, ” I’m First, No 1, blah blah blah…what’s up lah with doing first comment? LOL!

14. Cristian said,

June 28, 2009 @ 2:34 pm

Looks like ass!! Way prefer my MKIV than this concept car….not a fan at all!!

15. icyd said,

June 30, 2009 @ 10:01 am

“I notice that every post will have, ” I’m First, No 1, blah blah blah…what’s up lah with doing first comment? LOL!”

paul gives RM2 to each first commenters

16. adam said,

July 1, 2009 @ 9:19 pm

I am really looking forward to this car.

But I hope it doesnt have a CVT transmission. They should mate it to a Direct shift trasmission, or a normal automatic like they did with the HONDA ACCORD hybrid, because at least then you will be able to hear upshifts.

INSTEAD OF A CONSTANT ANNOYING NOISE !

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: Fiat 500C: 5 minute-long driving footage
next post: Nissan to unveil an electric vehicle prototype on August 2nd?