Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Hyundai Grand Starex Royale gets a new grille!

Advertisement

Hyundai Grand Starex Royale

Hyundai has updated the Hyundai Grand Starex with a new front grille that features a slatted design rather than the original Starex’s mesh grille with a chrome surround and a chrome bar going through it. The new model is called the Hyundai Grand Starex Royale. The wing mirrors are also now body-coloured instead of black, and now feature signal indicators on them.

One of the gripes that we had in our Grand Starex review was also the absence of a rear windscreen wiper – this has now been added onto the Grand Starex Royale. On the interior there is a new Pioneer touch screen LCD DVD player that is linked to a 7 inch LCD screen located at the middle top of the MPV for rear passenger enertainment purposes.

For more details on whether the Grand Starex is a worthy addition to your fleet of vehicles especially if you have a growing family (the Starex has a total of 11 seats with seatbelts – that’s alot of people!), check our our test drive review of the Grand Starex. Or look after the jump for more photos of the updated Hyundai Grand Starex Royale. It’s priced at RM148,888 OTR in West Malaysia and RM153,997.50 OTR in East Malaysia. Four colours are available – Crystal White, Stone Black, Sleek Silver and Carbon Grey.

GSR_02
GSR_01
GSR_07
GSR_06
GSR_03
GSR_04

82 Comments »

1. loveyourdidi said,

August 10, 2009 @ 11:14 am

this is one huge people carrier. how’s the safety like? any ratings given?

2. Black Dog said,

August 10, 2009 @ 11:27 am

Need to start a travel business to buy this one!

3. Muzill said,

August 10, 2009 @ 11:38 am

The grill looks like a paintball mask and I think that the new grill did not accentuate the grand and and royale language of the car.

4. din3187 said,

August 10, 2009 @ 11:48 am

i like this car…nice looking… :D

5. Ha Gnih said,

August 10, 2009 @ 12:01 pm

This is one hellova people carrier. With full load, it still accellerates well. Climbs better than most sedans. Maybe it’s because of the commonrail turbo diesel engine. Smooth ride and handling. There’s never a time where I feel un-safe whenever I drive this one around nor do any of my passengers ever complain that they feel threatened. Comfort is there, but for me, since I have quite a number of family members to drive around, 2 thumbs up (3, if I’m an alien), for the space offered at such affordable price.

6. donny said,

August 10, 2009 @ 12:02 pm

Oh tak mahu…asap busuk sbb enjin diesel. Kotor tangan semasa isi minyak.

7. AlfaRomeo=Ferrari’sCousin said,

August 10, 2009 @ 12:04 pm

An alternative to T Alphard? Can we take out the extra seats???

8. Giggs said,

August 10, 2009 @ 12:11 pm

The front grille look so weird to me..
    Better buy a small school bus, so u can carry the whole village…hehehe

9. a18 said,

August 10, 2009 @ 12:14 pm

tis is d chepeast among Alphard / Elegrand / Estima / Serena

Indo is selling a lot…..

10. Gajen said,

August 10, 2009 @ 12:19 pm

the grille is from alphard…

11. _xXx_ said,

August 10, 2009 @ 12:25 pm

is this a bus?

12. _xXx_ said,

August 10, 2009 @ 12:26 pm

alamak grille mcm pagar kandang lembu

13. azrai said,

August 10, 2009 @ 12:32 pm

Korean Alphard Wannabe.

14. Ndmervin said,

August 10, 2009 @ 12:34 pm

If only they could add in power sliding doors.. but it wud kick up the price then..

It’s a great people carrier.. I remember I took it to Genting with 4 passengers.. slow on the hill climbs but it gets the job done! Cornerings are very stable but needs alot of getting used to..

15. bmpower said,

August 10, 2009 @ 12:43 pm

new grill also wanna announce aa?
    poor hyundai..
    but nway.. it’s better than alphard.

16. fastcx said,

August 10, 2009 @ 12:46 pm

There’s a aunty used grand starex as school bus near my area, so no surprise if some1 use it for travel agency

17. ezwan said,

August 10, 2009 @ 12:49 pm

hmmm……..the third brake light could have design much sportier rather than that.like the white colour better.wish i have big family to buy this mpv.worth every penny if u look at the specs for an mpv.could simply throw out the last row of seat and reconfig the other seat arrangement for more space plus the the cargo area.this is what i called a family car.great job Hyundai

18. nabil said,

August 10, 2009 @ 12:52 pm

looks like a mask for H1n1 protection ! the old one nicer

19. Elvis said,

August 10, 2009 @ 12:55 pm

I see a lot of so-called vip use this car with driver. Yupp, if i am filthy rich, love to seat at the back and be pampered rather than use those crappy Mercedez, or whatever luxury sedan on the market. Actually, i see the point of some rich people owning this car. Very relaxing and spacious on the back and you can do plenty of work too. Beat those MPV wanabees like Proton, Perodua, Nissan…stupid type of cars and calling them what? MPVs…my goodness…

20. ezwan said,

August 10, 2009 @ 1:00 pm

donny,
    just stop complain about being dirty n busuk.guess u never change or top up some pressure for your tires then.spoilt rich boy,all u know is just to drive it without knowin how to take care of it.asap busuk laa…..like u prefer sniff petrol car so much.grow up kiddo

21. P2_permanent_basher said,

August 10, 2009 @ 1:07 pm

this is a pimp van!!! :P

22. linear_system said,

August 10, 2009 @ 1:09 pm

nice…if i have a big family,will consider to buy it..

23. Wai Lun said,

August 10, 2009 @ 1:10 pm

I visited the showroom last week to view this car. I think the Koreans have done a very good job with this vehicle. One thing they should definitely improve on is the handbrakes. It is placed in a very inconvenient location (as highlighted in your last review) just like the Naza Ria. Should consider replacing the handbrake with a brake pedal just like the Toyota Camry.

24. farghmee said,

August 10, 2009 @ 1:11 pm

nmpk ganas la grill tu.

others, move away!

hehehe

25. minniah90 said,

August 10, 2009 @ 2:01 pm

This car versus Exora Prestige… who will win?
    it just a Big Van…

26. kelson kee said,

August 10, 2009 @ 2:10 pm

looks like alphard feel at the 1st sight.

27. solarcar said,

August 10, 2009 @ 2:42 pm

these huge monsters 8 seaters are threatening other people’s lives on the road. because they are big, they tend to bully smaller cars.

28. kantoiz said,

August 10, 2009 @ 2:49 pm

this is an elgrande copycat…it’s like poor but still want to lansi by driving elgrande replica..

29. kantoiz said,

August 10, 2009 @ 2:52 pm

maybe Nirvana will start to use it and replace their mercedes benz range…to target lower market segment…

30. kantoiz said,

August 10, 2009 @ 2:53 pm

maybe Nirvana will use this model to replace some of their mercedes benz range to target lower market segment..

31. putra_rider said,

August 10, 2009 @ 2:56 pm

looks like stavic…

32. csv said,

August 10, 2009 @ 2:58 pm

i prefer the old look, this new one makes it look abit like a bug.

33. w_lighter said,

August 10, 2009 @ 3:12 pm

motoring news sure has died down recently huh? Its very obvious when paul even starts to announce a grille change on a car…..

34. Wira 1.8(A) DOHC said,

August 10, 2009 @ 3:28 pm

i don’t like the grill.

but i like the car, it’s really a good car indeed, got 5-speed auto and powerful 400Nm and 170HP 2.5liter Diesel engine.

And a large body bigger than Naza Ria, it’s really a worth ‘mini-Bus’

whole family on the move!!!!

35. kkchai said,

August 10, 2009 @ 3:42 pm

Fren, the smoke is smelly not because it is diesel but our diesel quality is LOW!

36. old timers said,

August 10, 2009 @ 3:56 pm

power, mmg korean dah buat a good people mover..selesa dan mantop, enjin pun berkuasa…kalo price nye serendah 60K mmg dah lama saya cekup satu..

37. littleboy said,

August 10, 2009 @ 4:00 pm

in Srwk its used as “kereta Mayat” for funeral…..

38. barca_supporter said,

August 10, 2009 @ 4:01 pm

i’ve to buy a house first… i’ll consider this type of big van in 10-15 years time… cant afford to have both now…

39. CARing said,

August 10, 2009 @ 4:07 pm

I do love its new front look…I hate the chrome that used to attach to its front..
    It would make a good rapper official vehicle if it comes with red body paint with 20inch++ red rims…seriously I’m quite into this car even though its badge won’t match alphards, estimas and odysseys.

40. lo said,

August 10, 2009 @ 4:40 pm

one problem that is plaguing with korean cars nowadays is that most of the facelifted one comes with funny look such as melted bumper, or angry crab front bumper design.

so sad that after so long that hyundai has been finding their family trademark DNA , and suddenly it all vanishes in the new facelifted design.

41. R0NaLD0 said,

August 10, 2009 @ 4:46 pm

ni keta sesuai utk semua bapak ayam kat KL…….

42. mitlanevo said,

August 10, 2009 @ 5:22 pm

saw 1 white Starex not long ago, blinged with bodykits and chrome wheels, NICE!!!

feels better than blinged Elgrand…

43. c4 said,

August 10, 2009 @ 5:32 pm

yucks…

44. wuttaheck said,

August 10, 2009 @ 5:34 pm

more room for bangbus…yea!!

45. fauzi said,

August 10, 2009 @ 5:45 pm

boleh bawak 1 pasukan bola

46. double helices said,

August 10, 2009 @ 6:03 pm

I’ve got to be honest, from an esthetic point of view that has to be the Ugliest people mover I’ve ever seen, period.

47. pelumba sepi said,

August 10, 2009 @ 6:57 pm

the front looks like the face of optimus prime…. http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3182/2649033006_76dd01991d.jpg

cheers, just joking….

48. zul said,

August 10, 2009 @ 7:05 pm

The grill is a carry over design from Hyundai Genesis luxury division. with the price being offered, this is an alternative to Nissan and Toyota.

49. Leseid Obrut said,

August 10, 2009 @ 7:48 pm

Is it just me or does this van look like a guinea pig? Hahaha…

50. M3 said,

August 10, 2009 @ 8:00 pm

oh donny, ure such a primitive.

51. barca_supporter said,

August 10, 2009 @ 8:09 pm

guinea pig… is that guinea pig related to the pig family?

52. barca_supporter said,

August 10, 2009 @ 8:10 pm

link to gp : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guinea_pig

53. Rhys Miller said,

August 10, 2009 @ 8:55 pm

You know I heard that there is a 1 month waiting list on this mpv ..

54. albagmane said,

August 10, 2009 @ 9:29 pm

im surprised they use Pioneer as their ICE instead of Samsung… LOL…

55. piranna said,

August 10, 2009 @ 9:48 pm

wow..thats ugly

56. piranna said,

August 10, 2009 @ 9:50 pm

Kenapa hyundai design tak berape cantik..lebih baik proton..

57. mamat puchong said,

August 10, 2009 @ 10:13 pm

One thing for sure… it is big. can anyone share the fuel consumpsion?
    Thanks.

58. prolover said,

August 10, 2009 @ 10:29 pm

look even more sportier than the previous one…
    just like camel transform 2 dromedary…….
    for me its like an alternative for alphard, c4 grand picasso, grand espace, estima and even an elgrand… for a monster mpv with a 2.5 turbo diesel engine… its a good deal 4 ppl who have many child……and of course….big money for the road tax and also insurans….include gas.

59. adeh said,

August 10, 2009 @ 10:35 pm

Fugly LORRY

60. barca_supporter said,

August 10, 2009 @ 10:50 pm

maybe samsung is not a well-known ice provider…

61. horsepower said,

August 10, 2009 @ 10:57 pm

today i have 2 Starex on the road, one in PJ and one in Puchong…
    the black Starex looks cool…

I like this facelifted one too… personally i feel it looks better than the Alphard :)

very attractive price for such a giant MPV… value for money for its built quality, better than buying the old look Kia Ria which my friend sold it due to super high FC….

62. kimi_ said,

August 10, 2009 @ 11:01 pm

WTH…this facelift looks uglier than previous

63. horsepower said,

August 10, 2009 @ 11:01 pm

btw, i just found out from chinese forum that this Starex is very selling in China… looks like favorites for many travel agencies in China due to attractive price, spacious, comfort, and powerful too….

64. nuajon said,

August 11, 2009 @ 12:15 am

kereta utk org kaya yg sombong….sesuai ngn facelift @ grille muka besar hidung pun tinggi

65. Caddilac said,

August 11, 2009 @ 7:44 am

The previous Starex, which is name as JAC Ruifeng is the best selling MPV in China… They have sold more than 20,000 in the first half 2009…
    http://auto.gasgoo.com/News/2009/07/22015723572396041918.shtml

66. Jeffrey Chew said,

August 11, 2009 @ 9:29 am

is quite an attractive price for this size of MPV. it almost same feeling with Toyota Alphard/ Vellfire, but definitely Toyota is on the high price.. Well, I’m still feeling wired to Exora, the roof was so high!

67. initial R said,

August 11, 2009 @ 9:33 am

i have test drive last week, the handling a bit like lorry however have to reset tyre presure mo make driving comfortable. Well its batter than Alphard in term of space & funtion since not all driving this MPV are Pilot. Kena tambah nilai astatik untuk bersaing ngan Alphard & Elgrand. Yang i tahu sekarang nie banyak org kaya beli untuk jejalan dengan keluarga diaorg hujung minggu.

68. 5ruz said,

August 11, 2009 @ 12:17 pm

ok..x mampu nak pki alphard..starex ni pn ok ape.

69. ah zam said,

August 11, 2009 @ 1:11 pm

we orang miskin will complaint about smeely diesel, hand get dirty, etc if buying this car, mpv, whatever ..those orang kaya will buy because road tax is the same as petrol, period between refuelling, big enough room for their whole family, golf clubs and all those fancy clothes in their big bags in one go

and in CBT last 2/3 weeks even 1 pro racer saying that the handling is even better than T.alphard that he initially wanted to buy ..and we orang miskin thought that with this big body it will drive like a bus ..hmmmm

70. Rhys Miller said,

August 11, 2009 @ 2:25 pm

Mamat Puchong,

According to the fuel consumption declaration in the Bosch Fuel Efficiency Awards
    8.5 l/100 km = 11.8 km/l … combined data.

It is reported in some other forums that they could get 900 over km on highway driving with 1 Tank which is 75l .. which equates to about just over 12 km/l. Mind you that diesel is RM 1.70 /l which means that’s about 14.1 cents per km.

Turbo charging diesel engines will increase economy .. let alone a VGT one.

71. LittleMin said,

August 11, 2009 @ 4:49 pm

tis grille looked stupid for me..macam nak jadi copycat frm alphard n elgrand..

n seems like tis is not d official facelift from Hyundai..
    it seems like a facelift from our Hyundai Malaysia distributor instead..
    jz like wat they did to new Accent..new Elantra..which is also looked stupid den original look..

72. neo said,

August 11, 2009 @ 6:53 pm

the new grill makes the van look cheaper cherry estar look more fine then this plastic sugery..grill BUT they name it royale so shame nothing is ok with the grill look like a reject model

73. mamat puchong said,

August 11, 2009 @ 10:09 pm

Rhys Miller.

Thank you… indeed you have make a good reference.

74. g.i.jo said,

August 22, 2009 @ 6:40 pm

aku baru je beli,kaler hitam smart la,dalam selesa,rasa mcm naik kapal terbang,pikap power..ok la dr pd alphard yang mahal nk mampus tu

75. tengku said,

August 24, 2009 @ 3:49 pm

I just took Starex Royale last week (white colour). My humble opinion for this model :
    1) Spacious for 11-12 passengers
    2) 5 years warranty or 300k
    3) 2009 brand new and not 2004
    4) A lot of accesorries i.e. sensor , DVD , leather seats etc
    5) Turbo Diesel

Maybe it is not comparable with Alphard. But bottom line I am proud to park my Starex Royale next to Alphard or Elgrand. For those who can afford to buy but like to condemn , pls take your deep breath….

76. Din Pgd said,

October 1, 2009 @ 11:58 am

I just bought one white colour before Hari Raya. I am proud for:

a) Very economic fuel consumption within its class & capacity
    b) Spacious & Comfortable
    c) Superb road handling. Tested on a speed at 160km ~ 170km…to my surprise..rpm is about 3,000…
    d) I have change my wheel from 16″ to 20″ chrome sporty & elegance sport rims but within the original spec…. Now, my “second wife” looks more sexy…juicy..and all the ccccc…

Worth of my every single penny spend..:-)

77. PAPA EZE said,

October 25, 2009 @ 12:11 pm

i bought 1 already…huhuhu..best oooooo…..murah… besar…kelasnyer tersendiri..

78. faizal zaki said,

December 18, 2009 @ 12:32 am

My brand new starex royale is waiting for me to fetch her this coming monday, 20 Dec 2009. can’t wait to take her around KL!

79. *MeGat* said,

December 23, 2009 @ 3:44 pm

LuRve THis MPV… LoOks LiKe AlPhaRd…. So AweSome… CAn’t WaiT To HaVe ThiS StArex RoYaLe……

80. Haji Dee said,

January 2, 2010 @ 9:56 pm

Din Pgd …Mana nak dapat sport rim size 20 tu kat KL..dan berapa $$$$

81. Mohd Mohyidin said,

January 4, 2010 @ 1:24 pm

Salam..
    Tuan Haji Dee, you can have choices of 20″ rims at Kelana Jaya, Subang Jaya or beside Sunway Pyramid. I hardly recall the shop location..The price range varies from RM6K to 18K…it is much depend on the brand & quality.
    Goodluck to you.

82. hyundai owner said,

January 9, 2010 @ 2:28 pm

baru td g tengok starex,akhirnya kan ku beli jua….matrix reloaded,akan aku simpan sebagai kenangan….

83. zubairi wazir said,

February 8, 2010 @ 11:24 am

to all out there…I’ve been driving this Grand Starex for almost a year. So far I got no problem with it beside getting into some basement parking with narrow corner. The rest, all ok with me. Spacious & comfortable! I also got no problem pumping diesel. Driving it just like normal petrol MPV.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: Renault to help smart with next generation forfour
next post: Why RON 95 with Techron is better?