Hyundai Grand Starex Royale gets a new grille!

Hyundai Grand Starex Royale

Hyundai has updated the Hyundai Grand Starex with a new front grille that features a slatted design rather than the original Starex’s mesh grille with a chrome surround and a chrome bar going through it. The new model is called the Hyundai Grand Starex Royale. The wing mirrors are also now body-coloured instead of black, and now feature signal indicators on them.

One of the gripes that we had in our Grand Starex review was also the absence of a rear windscreen wiper – this has now been added onto the Grand Starex Royale. On the interior there is a new Pioneer touch screen LCD DVD player that is linked to a 7 inch LCD screen located at the middle top of the MPV for rear passenger enertainment purposes.

For more details on whether the Grand Starex is a worthy addition to your fleet of vehicles especially if you have a growing family (the Starex has a total of 11 seats with seatbelts – that’s alot of people!), check our our test drive review of the Grand Starex. Or look after the jump for more photos of the updated Hyundai Grand Starex Royale. It’s priced at RM148,888 OTR in West Malaysia and RM153,997.50 OTR in East Malaysia. Four colours are available – Crystal White, Stone Black, Sleek Silver and Carbon Grey.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=420]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• loveyourdidi on Aug 10, 2009 at 7:14 pm

this is one huge people carrier. how's the safety like? any ratings given?

• Black Dog on Aug 10, 2009 at 7:27 pm

Need to start a travel business to buy this one!

• Muzill on Aug 10, 2009 at 7:38 pm

The grill looks like a paintball mask and I think that the new grill did not accentuate the grand and and royale language of the car.

• din3187 on Aug 10, 2009 at 7:48 pm

i like this car…nice looking… :D

• Ha Gnih on Aug 10, 2009 at 8:01 pm

This is one hellova people carrier. With full load, it still accellerates well. Climbs better than most sedans. Maybe it's because of the commonrail turbo diesel engine. Smooth ride and handling. There's never a time where I feel un-safe whenever I drive this one around nor do any of my passengers ever complain that they feel threatened. Comfort is there, but for me, since I have quite a number of family members to drive around, 2 thumbs up (3, if I'm an alien), for the space offered at such affordable price.

• donny on Aug 10, 2009 at 8:02 pm

Oh tak mahu…asap busuk sbb enjin diesel. Kotor tangan semasa isi minyak.

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Aug 10, 2009 at 8:04 pm

An alternative to T Alphard? Can we take out the extra seats???

• Giggs on Aug 10, 2009 at 8:11 pm

The front grille look so weird to me..

Better buy a small school bus, so u can carry the whole village…hehehe

• tis is d chepeast among Alphard / Elegrand / Estima / Serena

Indo is selling a lot…..

• Gajen on Aug 10, 2009 at 8:19 pm

the grille is from alphard…

• _xXx_ on Aug 10, 2009 at 8:25 pm

is this a bus?

• _xXx_ on Aug 10, 2009 at 8:26 pm

alamak grille mcm pagar kandang lembu

• azrai on Aug 10, 2009 at 8:32 pm

Korean Alphard Wannabe.

• Ndmervin on Aug 10, 2009 at 8:34 pm

If only they could add in power sliding doors.. but it wud kick up the price then..

It's a great people carrier.. I remember I took it to Genting with 4 passengers.. slow on the hill climbs but it gets the job done! Cornerings are very stable but needs alot of getting used to..

• bmpower on Aug 10, 2009 at 8:43 pm

new grill also wanna announce aa?

poor hyundai..

but nway.. it's better than alphard.

• fastcx on Aug 10, 2009 at 8:46 pm

There's a aunty used grand starex as school bus near my area, so no surprise if some1 use it for travel agency

• ezwan on Aug 10, 2009 at 8:49 pm

hmmm……..the third brake light could have design much sportier rather than that.like the white colour better.wish i have big family to buy this mpv.worth every penny if u look at the specs for an mpv.could simply throw out the last row of seat and reconfig the other seat arrangement for more space plus the the cargo area.this is what i called a family car.great job Hyundai

• nabil on Aug 10, 2009 at 8:52 pm

looks like a mask for H1n1 protection ! the old one nicer

• Elvis on Aug 10, 2009 at 8:55 pm

I see a lot of so-called vip use this car with driver. Yupp, if i am filthy rich, love to seat at the back and be pampered rather than use those crappy Mercedez, or whatever luxury sedan on the market. Actually, i see the point of some rich people owning this car. Very relaxing and spacious on the back and you can do plenty of work too. Beat those MPV wanabees like Proton, Perodua, Nissan…stupid type of cars and calling them what? MPVs…my goodness…

• ezwan on Aug 10, 2009 at 9:00 pm

donny,

just stop complain about being dirty n busuk.guess u never change or top up some pressure for your tires then.spoilt rich boy,all u know is just to drive it without knowin how to take care of it.asap busuk laa…..like u prefer sniff petrol car so much.grow up kiddo

• P2_permanent_basher on Aug 10, 2009 at 9:07 pm

this is a pimp van!!! :P

• linear_system on Aug 10, 2009 at 9:09 pm

nice…if i have a big family,will consider to buy it..

• Wai Lun on Aug 10, 2009 at 9:10 pm

I visited the showroom last week to view this car. I think the Koreans have done a very good job with this vehicle. One thing they should definitely improve on is the handbrakes. It is placed in a very inconvenient location (as highlighted in your last review) just like the Naza Ria. Should consider replacing the handbrake with a brake pedal just like the Toyota Camry.

• farghmee on Aug 10, 2009 at 9:11 pm

nmpk ganas la grill tu.

others, move away!

hehehe

• minniah90 on Aug 10, 2009 at 10:01 pm

This car versus Exora Prestige… who will win?

it just a Big Van…

• kelson kee on Aug 10, 2009 at 10:10 pm

looks like alphard feel at the 1st sight.

• solarcar on Aug 10, 2009 at 10:42 pm

these huge monsters 8 seaters are threatening other people's lives on the road. because they are big, they tend to bully smaller cars.

• kantoiz on Aug 10, 2009 at 10:49 pm

this is an elgrande copycat…it's like poor but still want to lansi by driving elgrande replica..

• kantoiz on Aug 10, 2009 at 10:52 pm

maybe Nirvana will start to use it and replace their mercedes benz range…to target lower market segment…

• kantoiz on Aug 10, 2009 at 10:53 pm

maybe Nirvana will use this model to replace some of their mercedes benz range to target lower market segment..

• putra_rider on Aug 10, 2009 at 10:56 pm

looks like stavic…

• i prefer the old look, this new one makes it look abit like a bug.

• w_lighter (Member) on Aug 10, 2009 at 11:12 pm

motoring news sure has died down recently huh? Its very obvious when paul even starts to announce a grille change on a car…..

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC on Aug 10, 2009 at 11:28 pm

i don't like the grill.

but i like the car, it's really a good car indeed, got 5-speed auto and powerful 400Nm and 170HP 2.5liter Diesel engine.

And a large body bigger than Naza Ria, it's really a worth 'mini-Bus'

whole family on the move!!!!

• kkchai on Aug 10, 2009 at 11:42 pm

Fren, the smoke is smelly not because it is diesel but our diesel quality is LOW!

• old timers on Aug 10, 2009 at 11:56 pm

power, mmg korean dah buat a good people mover..selesa dan mantop, enjin pun berkuasa…kalo price nye serendah 60K mmg dah lama saya cekup satu..

• littleboy on Aug 11, 2009 at 12:00 am

in Srwk its used as "kereta Mayat" for funeral…..

• barca_supporter on Aug 11, 2009 at 12:01 am

i've to buy a house first… i'll consider this type of big van in 10-15 years time… cant afford to have both now…

• CARing on Aug 11, 2009 at 12:07 am

I do love its new front look…I hate the chrome that used to attach to its front..

It would make a good rapper official vehicle if it comes with red body paint with 20inch++ red rims…seriously I'm quite into this car even though its badge won't match alphards, estimas and odysseys.

• one problem that is plaguing with korean cars nowadays is that most of the facelifted one comes with funny look such as melted bumper, or angry crab front bumper design.

so sad that after so long that hyundai has been finding their family trademark DNA , and suddenly it all vanishes in the new facelifted design.

• R0NaLD0 on Aug 11, 2009 at 12:46 am

ni keta sesuai utk semua bapak ayam kat KL…….

• mitlanevo on Aug 11, 2009 at 1:22 am

saw 1 white Starex not long ago, blinged with bodykits and chrome wheels, NICE!!!

feels better than blinged Elgrand…

• yucks…

• wuttaheck on Aug 11, 2009 at 1:34 am

more room for bangbus…yea!!

• fauzi on Aug 11, 2009 at 1:45 am

boleh bawak 1 pasukan bola

• double helices on Aug 11, 2009 at 2:03 am

I've got to be honest, from an esthetic point of view that has to be the Ugliest people mover I've ever seen, period.

• pelumba sepi on Aug 11, 2009 at 2:57 am

the front looks like the face of optimus prime…. http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3182/2649033006_76…

cheers, just joking….

• The grill is a carry over design from Hyundai Genesis luxury division. with the price being offered, this is an alternative to Nissan and Toyota.

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 11, 2009 at 3:48 am

Is it just me or does this van look like a guinea pig? Hahaha…

• oh donny, ure such a primitive.

• barca_supporter on Aug 11, 2009 at 4:09 am

guinea pig… is that guinea pig related to the pig family?

• barca_supporter on Aug 11, 2009 at 4:10 am

link to gp : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guinea_pig

• Rhys Miller (Member) on Aug 11, 2009 at 4:55 am

You know I heard that there is a 1 month waiting list on this mpv ..

• albagmane on Aug 11, 2009 at 5:29 am

im surprised they use Pioneer as their ICE instead of Samsung… LOL…

• piranna on Aug 11, 2009 at 5:48 am

wow..thats ugly

• piranna on Aug 11, 2009 at 5:50 am

Kenapa hyundai design tak berape cantik..lebih baik proton..

• mamat puchong on Aug 11, 2009 at 6:13 am

One thing for sure… it is big. can anyone share the fuel consumpsion?

Thanks.

• prolover on Aug 11, 2009 at 6:29 am

look even more sportier than the previous one…

just like camel transform 2 dromedary…….

for me its like an alternative for alphard, c4 grand picasso, grand espace, estima and even an elgrand… for a monster mpv with a 2.5 turbo diesel engine… its a good deal 4 ppl who have many child……and of course….big money for the road tax and also insurans….include gas.

• Fugly LORRY

• barca_supporter on Aug 11, 2009 at 6:50 am

maybe samsung is not a well-known ice provider…

• horsepower on Aug 11, 2009 at 6:57 am

today i have 2 Starex on the road, one in PJ and one in Puchong…

the black Starex looks cool…

I like this facelifted one too… personally i feel it looks better than the Alphard :)

very attractive price for such a giant MPV… value for money for its built quality, better than buying the old look Kia Ria which my friend sold it due to super high FC….

• kimi_ on Aug 11, 2009 at 7:01 am

WTH…this facelift looks uglier than previous

• horsepower on Aug 11, 2009 at 7:01 am

btw, i just found out from chinese forum that this Starex is very selling in China… looks like favorites for many travel agencies in China due to attractive price, spacious, comfort, and powerful too….

• nuajon on Aug 11, 2009 at 8:15 am

kereta utk org kaya yg sombong….sesuai ngn facelift @ grille muka besar hidung pun tinggi

• Caddilac on Aug 11, 2009 at 3:44 pm

The previous Starex, which is name as JAC Ruifeng is the best selling MPV in China… They have sold more than 20,000 in the first half 2009…
    http://auto.gasgoo.com/News/2009/07/2201572357239…

• Jeffrey Chew on Aug 11, 2009 at 5:29 pm

is quite an attractive price for this size of MPV. it almost same feeling with Toyota Alphard/ Vellfire, but definitely Toyota is on the high price.. Well, I'm still feeling wired to Exora, the roof was so high!

• initial R on Aug 11, 2009 at 5:33 pm

i have test drive last week, the handling a bit like lorry however have to reset tyre presure mo make driving comfortable. Well its batter than Alphard in term of space & funtion since not all driving this MPV are Pilot. Kena tambah nilai astatik untuk bersaing ngan Alphard & Elgrand. Yang i tahu sekarang nie banyak org kaya beli untuk jejalan dengan keluarga diaorg hujung minggu.

• ok..x mampu nak pki alphard..starex ni pn ok ape.

• ah zam on Aug 11, 2009 at 9:11 pm

we orang miskin will complaint about smeely diesel, hand get dirty, etc if buying this car, mpv, whatever ..those orang kaya will buy because road tax is the same as petrol, period between refuelling, big enough room for their whole family, golf clubs and all those fancy clothes in their big bags in one go

and in CBT last 2/3 weeks even 1 pro racer saying that the handling is even better than T.alphard that he initially wanted to buy ..and we orang miskin thought that with this big body it will drive like a bus ..hmmmm

• Rhys Miller on Aug 11, 2009 at 10:25 pm

Mamat Puchong,

According to the fuel consumption declaration in the Bosch Fuel Efficiency Awards

8.5 l/100 km = 11.8 km/l … combined data.

It is reported in some other forums that they could get 900 over km on highway driving with 1 Tank which is 75l .. which equates to about just over 12 km/l. Mind you that diesel is RM 1.70 /l which means that's about 14.1 cents per km.

Turbo charging diesel engines will increase economy .. let alone a VGT one.

• LittleMin on Aug 12, 2009 at 12:49 am

tis grille looked stupid for me..macam nak jadi copycat frm alphard n elgrand..

n seems like tis is not d official facelift from Hyundai..

it seems like a facelift from our Hyundai Malaysia distributor instead..

jz like wat they did to new Accent..new Elantra..which is also looked stupid den original look..

• the new grill makes the van look cheaper cherry estar look more fine then this plastic sugery..grill BUT they name it royale so shame nothing is ok with the grill look like a reject model

• mamat puchong on Aug 12, 2009 at 6:09 am

Rhys Miller.

Thank you… indeed you have make a good reference.

• g.i.jo on Aug 23, 2009 at 2:40 am

aku baru je beli,kaler hitam smart la,dalam selesa,rasa mcm naik kapal terbang,pikap power..ok la dr pd alphard yang mahal nk mampus tu

• tengku on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:49 pm

I just took Starex Royale last week (white colour). My humble opinion for this model :

1) Spacious for 11-12 passengers

2) 5 years warranty or 300k

3) 2009 brand new and not 2004

4) A lot of accesorries i.e. sensor , DVD , leather seats etc

5) Turbo Diesel

Maybe it is not comparable with Alphard. But bottom line I am proud to park my Starex Royale next to Alphard or Elgrand. For those who can afford to buy but like to condemn , pls take your deep breath….

• Din Pgd on Oct 01, 2009 at 7:58 pm

I just bought one white colour before Hari Raya. I am proud for:

a) Very economic fuel consumption within its class & capacity

b) Spacious & Comfortable

c) Superb road handling. Tested on a speed at 160km ~ 170km…to my surprise..rpm is about 3,000…

d) I have change my wheel from 16" to 20" chrome sporty & elegance sport rims but within the original spec…. Now, my "second wife" looks more sexy…juicy..and all the ccccc…

Worth of my every single penny spend..:-)

• Din,

How your strarex… is it good… i am thinking of buying one.. hows the servicing… cheap ?? how much do u spend for normal service?? tell me more of its pro and cons… u can contact me at [email protected]. thanks

• Bro, can you post the pictures to us…for sharing offcourse.

• PAPA EZE on Oct 25, 2009 at 8:11 pm

i bought 1 already…huhuhu..best oooooo…..murah… besar…kelasnyer tersendiri..

• faizal zaki on Dec 18, 2009 at 8:32 am

My brand new starex royale is waiting for me to fetch her this coming monday, 20 Dec 2009. can't wait to take her around KL!

• *MeGat* on Dec 23, 2009 at 11:44 pm

LuRve THis MPV… LoOks LiKe AlPhaRd…. So AweSome… CAn't WaiT To HaVe ThiS StArex RoYaLe……

• Haji Dee on Jan 03, 2010 at 5:56 am

Din Pgd …Mana nak dapat sport rim size 20 tu kat KL..dan berapa $$$$

• Mohd Mohyidin on Jan 04, 2010 at 9:24 pm

Salam..

Tuan Haji Dee, you can have choices of 20" rims at Kelana Jaya, Subang Jaya or beside Sunway Pyramid. I hardly recall the shop location..The price range varies from RM6K to 18K…it is much depend on the brand & quality.

Goodluck to you.

• hyundai owner on Jan 09, 2010 at 10:28 pm

baru td g tengok starex,akhirnya kan ku beli jua….matrix reloaded,akan aku simpan sebagai kenangan….

• zubairi wazir on Feb 08, 2010 at 7:24 pm

to all out there…I've been driving this Grand Starex for almost a year. So far I got no problem with it beside getting into some basement parking with narrow corner. The rest, all ok with me. Spacious & comfortable! I also got no problem pumping diesel. Driving it just like normal petrol MPV.

• badigol alam on Feb 15, 2010 at 7:49 am

tiap kereta ada lebih, dan ada kekurangannya, Tapi Grand Starex nampak 'GRAND' betul.

• badigol alam on Feb 15, 2010 at 7:52 am

baru feel bawa kenderaan, besar beb.

• Khairul on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:25 am

just bought this car for my wife 2 weeks ago.. my kids love it very much. dont want to follow papa already unless driving with starec royale. no problem to speed 160kmh without vibration. thinking of full speed. berapa agaknya bole lari… hehe. very stable

• Nat98 on Feb 22, 2010 at 2:19 am

Minnah, Exora prestige ugly, only the front nice, the ORDINARY H-Line Exora is nice

• Nat98 on Feb 22, 2010 at 2:20 am

Nice la, but I prefer the T. Alphard or the Honda Elgrand

• khali-FaH !! on Mar 04, 2010 at 7:58 pm

Anybody Starex bOs that have been own a year or more,,,,please share ur opinion on this GiaNt….

weatHer its about ur giAnT have problemS….

OR

wOrthiness……

Tq for ur sharing….

• November on Mar 15, 2010 at 10:29 am

i just wish to buy this car since now the interest rate is rinse to 3.6%. Who can tell you those who already get the car, the saleman give what king of benefit to you(eg: discount money,trade-in high value, free something) tq

• ahmadJB on Mar 18, 2010 at 3:13 am

come on la.

please do not compare alphard and elgrand or even elysion. For those who only got 130-150k in hand , want a warranty , big , huge family > 10people , then starex is suit for you. koreans car esp hyundai is better , better , better now….but of course if your money sudah lebih , don't care bout warranty , ready to pay for possible problem that can arise from recon car … then u can can choose alphard 2004 ..with mileage of > 100k , no warranty, no leather seat …. it is all your choice . if anybobody said ugly starex , mini bus , minivan or kotak mancis usually are those yang tak beli..

• Starexputih on Apr 07, 2010 at 6:35 pm

yes bro, u can’t compare this so-called “mini-bus” to alphard or elgrand.. different target market altogether.. and for different driving style too.. this car can can really go, if need be.. cruise speed 190kph, no prob.. one time i got a WRX trailing in my busuk diesel fumes bcoz he couldn’t keep up with me.. my rpm was only 3.5k but i bet his was already well past 6k to get the hp and torque just to keep up.. how long can u drive at 6-7k rpm b4 the engine blows? just the facts, not to showboat.. with torque of 392Nm available from 2k rpm, the push power is amazing.. rear wheel drive means better handling and balance.. imagine taking a sweeping corner at 150kph on this.. it’s normal to get “boy-racer” cars making way during corners bcoz they just couldn’t handle it.. anyway, u can see on youtube how this “bus” power-slides a corner in nurburgring.. and read the comments from the driver as well.. all in all, for me, i got a people mover that rocks.. just bring it on..

• hatany67 on May 12, 2010 at 2:45 pm

I’ve booking this g.r starex and will get the unit for another 2 weeks time. I don’t bother about the facelift as to me it is acceptable. It is spacious and powerful moreover with 1st hand condition not the recons with high price. It cater my need to my big family with 1 maid.

• considering this one seriously..any good deal and service SA? do they have 3s centre?

• Din pgd on May 21, 2010 at 9:25 am

Dont worry, HYUNDAI has a number of reliable 3S centre nationwide..This giant has almost everything that you wanted…What is next???? The all new SONATA model will be launched in June…

• tengok dah tadi.smart giler kete ni.enjin hyundai ok ke?

• jailani on Aug 03, 2010 at 10:31 am

Enjin ada problem tak lepas 70k km perjalanan. Ramai mengadu ada masalah enjin disel.

• i just bought one. Very powerful and spacious. Alphard shud had this engine.

• Got a chance to sit on this Monster MVP (Royale version) this Fridays from Singapore to Melaka.
    Very comfy than Toyota Estima or Nissan Serena!
    No problem to overtook any 2.0 Sedan car on the highway.
    Can easily reach it max speed!

• I had a chance with this MPV 2 years ago…

Very spacious and comfort for my long journey from JB to Lumut. Plus with Pioneer Entertainment made my journey enjoyable.

For me it’s value for money for an MPV. Although it looks like a minibus (huge and bulky), it is not underpowered.

For 150k u can get a new one compare a recond one.

I just wonder the maintenance for diesel powered vehicle? Someone can share with it?

• Dusty on Sep 18, 2010 at 4:01 pm

Anybody knows where I can find the part of face lift, grille, of Starex above. Please give me an advice where can i buy it and can i put this grille in previous model.

cheers

• koffin on Oct 25, 2010 at 2:27 pm

thinking of buying this monster, guess that since i’ve got 6 kids and they are growing up fast. any problems that you want to share especially anyone who has bought one and had used it for quite sometime?

• If im not mistaken this car grand royale uses same engine as the current sorento 2.5CDRi except for the turbocharger (VGT) which makes it more efficient (fuel saving) and more power.

• Hmmm…but no one seems to talk abt the Fuel consump(FC) compared to Estima 2.4 and Alphard 2.4. What is the FC for Starex and what are the FCs for Estima 2.4 and Alphard 2.4 with the same parameters? ie. km/l? Anyone care to comment?

• What condition the 5 years warranty void?

• Ramli on Feb 13, 2011 at 5:12 pm

Hi there,
      Had anyone seen the price for a two years old starex roughly?
      Can the rear seet be adjusted to put bicycles?
      Thanks.

• Ahmad JB & Starexputih.
    Well said.
    I’ve been using this starex almost 3 years (2nd batch with reverse monitor on LCD screen).
    Kalau takat bebudak racer atas highway tu, tak payahlah menyibuk.Unless they use NOS. Mine clocking 68Km. Oh yeah….sebulan 2-3 kali aje keluar garaj.
    Jangan tak percaya, my so-called mini bus can get 210 km/h.
    With just fitting small thinggy device………………
    Those familiar with JB-KL PLUS highway probably can spot me with samurai sticker.

• atiey on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:38 am

I dah bayar deposit utk starex royale 2011 and dah sain loan, tp kete dah abis stok wa…mare betul ngan dealer 2 , nak tunggu yang baru harga mahal wo… sedih betul la

• Mat Kentut on Apr 22, 2015 at 4:33 am

i like starex royal..