Current model Jumbuck to be phased out to make way for all-new Proton Jumbuck (Arena)

Exora Pickup
Click for enlarged image

The latest news from the land down under is that Proton will be phasing out the current Wira-based Proton Jumbuck (known as the Proton Arena in Malaysia) over the next few months in preparation for the launch of an all-new Jumbuck.

According to the story, the new Jumbuck/Arena will be based on an existing passenger car platform. It would make sense for Proton to base the new Jumbuck on the Exora’s platform and they’ve actually hinted at this during the Exora’s R&D showcase earlier this year. The rendering you see above was provided by Proton and shows what a new Jumbuck/Arena based on the Exora could look like.

The Exora’s platform was designed to be modular and flexible with even the option of changing the rear torsion beam into a multi-link setup for more versatility in tuning the suspension behaviour for passenger car usage.

Proton Exora platform to spawn new models

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Adrian Foo on Aug 15, 2009 at 9:41 pm

Can't wait for it!!!

• xoomie on Aug 15, 2009 at 9:43 pm

Why dont proton plonked in a 2.0 engine in Jumbuck

• jazzer on Aug 15, 2009 at 9:57 pm

better proton make it higher and use 4wd drivetrain system..so it can beat up hilux and navara…for the engine,get the miysu engine…then sell below 70k,for sure it will boost the market

• Anonymous on Aug 15, 2009 at 10:16 pm

Proton repeating their dark era.

• Ricky on Aug 15, 2009 at 10:28 pm

Look like sangyong actyon

• fliedlice on Aug 15, 2009 at 10:36 pm

Anonymous said,

August 15, 2009 @ 2:16 pm

————————————–

wow anonymous is such a genius. writing rubbish like this for no reason. so all companies that make pick-ups are "in the dark"? pick-ups are very popular in australia.

• Really good move by proton. Exora platform had multiple usage. Even Toyata and Honda used scheme such as this.

• EdwardWong on Aug 15, 2009 at 10:49 pm

Can't wait!!!!!

Hope it will be done and work best on the CPS!

• zidane on Aug 15, 2009 at 11:07 pm

I agree with xoomie….

I think that proton has improved. but i'm not planning on buying because i'm not confident that the engine will satisfy me even with its current CPS.

• Maverick on Aug 15, 2009 at 11:10 pm

As far as I know, those Aussies put everything from farm animals to the kitchen sink on the back of pick-ups. And if Proton can deliver a decent, well-built, and.. dare I say it.. tough.. pick-up. Its a definite winner!

• i believe 1 of de main reason y pick-ups r so popular its because dey r very cheap. Less den 100k in general? So how much is this gona be priced at? Petrol?

• ilmondo on Aug 15, 2009 at 11:39 pm

r3 version will be sweet

happy motoring :)

• kimi_ on Aug 16, 2009 at 12:23 am

I think the roof looks weird and too high…maybe just the sketch…

• peroempat on Aug 16, 2009 at 12:26 am

The Exobuck.

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 16, 2009 at 12:53 am

Give it a meaty turbodiesel so it can actually haul stuff…

• For Australia on Aug 16, 2009 at 1:03 am

Australian will love it..this car would do good sales in aus..

• Victor on Aug 16, 2009 at 1:26 am

what engine will be this truck using huh?? CPS? Campro… unless proton really can build a diesel engine with massive of torque, then i think this must be a good buy.

• mystvearn on Aug 16, 2009 at 1:49 am

Make it as cheap as the current jumback in Australia and it will sell!

No need to put some 2.0L supercharger as then proton will be going up against the Maloo.

• Black Dog on Aug 16, 2009 at 2:33 am

Anonymous said,

————————————–

wow anonymous is such a genius. writing rubbish like this for no reason. so all companies that make pick-ups are “in the dark”? pick-ups are very popular in australia

————————————————

I agree with Anonymous.

How many Arena's can you see on Malaysian roads?

How many Arena's have they sold in Australia?? (I've been to Australia a few times and haven't seen any. Nobody knows about them too!) Fliedlice, have you been Down Under before you even comment???

• toughcar on Aug 16, 2009 at 2:52 am

hmm…Proton Campak? Can they think of some better names?

• too be honest this is a fairly simple designed exterior….take a van cut of its back half then add persona head to it tada….but in my opinion if they would juz get rid of its pick up area and the commonly used door side plastic bar it would make quite a cute 2 sitter low emission vehicle

• w_lighter (Member) on Aug 16, 2009 at 3:38 am

This as far as i know only sell in australia…. And from the recent top gear… Proton got a hell of a competition in a form of a 425HP HSV Maloo… and it also looks apart too.. so how the hell are they goin to match that.. i have no idea

• go to kampung area laa.. ofcoz laa no arena in the city. buy airline ticket and see the world laa wei.

• fertittabro3 on Aug 16, 2009 at 4:01 am

y again 2 door , what is this shit , who want buy a car at above 50k only can bring goods and yourself.

• yuzaph on Aug 16, 2009 at 4:03 am

One word on design = UGLY.

InM'sia our so called pick up wannabe use 1.6l CPS.

Be it sedan/mpv/pickup truck,all share the same engine.

Definately the performance will be pathetic.

Shd benchmark with Toyota Tundra/Tacoma/Nissan Frontier http://www.themotorreport.com.au/39696/proton-jum…

• noob_kia_la_u on Aug 16, 2009 at 4:40 am

aiyoo.. why must Proton cater to a niche market like Ozzie..

juz keep on manufacturing cars for Malaysians!!

we are the taxpayers, not them ozzies!

also, our tax are used in order to give those Britons and ozzies better specced proton cars than us!

unfair!!

• kerelbort on Aug 16, 2009 at 4:42 am

jumbuck is actually anak kangaroo name or some sort if not mistaken…

it's the second popular car from Proton, 1st still satria which make it to cult in oz…

because of airasia, everybody can fly to oz.. so everyone who've been there claimed they went there ald and never seen one.. booohoo… they use jumbuck as a lifestyle car for some of the youth of oz.. where they went out surfing and slept in their car… there's even a higly modified jumbuck over there… Proton move to introduce jumbuck over there is good as there's market…

for how it look likes…. its might be exora -> jumbuck… i've seen satria neo pickup last time i went to Proton is shah alam.. looks quite good in flesh… and no need big engine… 1.6 is enuff as per existing Arena/jumbuck..

Good luck Proton. If the Jumbuck Neo… I say… good design there…

• Paul Tan on Aug 16, 2009 at 4:49 am

Small and fuel efficient car-based pickups like this are not just a niche market of Australia. If it were, Renault/Dacia and Nissan would not bother with the Nissan NP200 and Logan pickup.

http://paultan.org/2008/10/03/nissan-np200-ute-ba… http://paultan.org/2008/02/19/renault-logan-picku…

• albey on Aug 16, 2009 at 4:50 am

Black Dog said,

August 15, 2009 @ 6:33 pm

I agree with Anonymous.

How many Arena’s can you see on Malaysian roads?

How many Arena’s have they sold in Australia?? (I’ve been to Australia a few times and haven’t seen any. Nobody knows about them too!) Fliedlice, have you been Down Under before you even comment???

——————————–

how many nautika on malaysian roads???

how many nautika pero dua have sold??

proton berani utk create this model maybe ada permintaan..

just wait and see la..

• kerelbort on Aug 16, 2009 at 4:56 am

New safety features will include multiple SRS airbags – the current model is not offered with airbags – ABS brakes, Lotus-tuned suspension, and crash protection, such as crumple zones and integrated passenger cells. <— i think its Satria Neo Jumbuck.. might be JumbuckNeo..!

• kerelbort on Aug 16, 2009 at 5:22 am

Yeah.. Manage to scrumble through piles of pics… enjoy it

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v382/kerelbort/…

• Paul Tan on Aug 16, 2009 at 5:23 am

Wow that looks pretty cool. Can I add it to the story?

• s.subramaniam on Aug 16, 2009 at 5:58 am

pay for roti canai want to taste like roti telur.

• unknown on Aug 16, 2009 at 5:59 am

proton just use it to finised their old part neo stock har?

like persona, it can be good looking with big body if not base on gen-2…

hmmm.. wake up la proton??

• fauzi on Aug 16, 2009 at 6:06 am

if this ute have double cab sure i will get one and transform to lowrider , if proton send this one to thailand sure can sell punya

• raybrig85 on Aug 16, 2009 at 6:34 am

Maverick said,

August 15, 2009 @ 3:10 pm

yeah…it can be sell at australia coz the market is in australia..not in malaysia..but to hv a gd sale..proton should make a powerful version of jumbuck if want to compete with the holden and ford ute in australia..as for holden and ford..if compare with jumbuck..they are a way ahead in term of design n powertrain coz in australia the ute are really powerful..btw..kudos proton..

• raybrig85 on Aug 16, 2009 at 6:41 am

Black Dog said,

yo bro…get ur facts right…im going to down under every mnth coz ive project there…n i wanna tell u that ive seen varies of proton car in australia….from the smallest range of savvy till jumbuck…plz get ur facts right bro or u havent been to down under??

im not a proton basher nor defender..but sumtime if u want to bash u hv get ur facts right…

• raybrig85 on Aug 16, 2009 at 6:47 am

w_lighter said,

August 15, 2009 @

holden hsv ute is the high end version like amg for merc…of cozla proton cant compete wit it if compare with standard jumbuck…u should compare it with a standard holden n ford ute..but still..both of it a powerful car..maybe proton should come out with a powerful engine if wanna compete with both 2…

• Leonardo on Aug 16, 2009 at 7:20 am

Paul, how come you did not notice this pick up during the Proton Tech Day? Anyway, i don't think it will be that soon for the replacement. Maybe another year or two.

• Jimmy on Aug 16, 2009 at 8:00 am

Better buy Triton Lite or Ford lah if prices are similar, better looking. Bodoh job! Sales going to be < 100 per month nationwide. Kerugian ditanggung rakyat, so never mind le, we can play what we want and no need to survey market.

• Neo.S on Aug 16, 2009 at 8:50 am

haiya , whatever it was …..is still in development la

we all hope Proton will develop some good product. as far as we can see now is improving. Like Neo and SAGA is quite a good car ma beside the quality of interior. For those basher …please la you are just a buyer not a developer nor super engineer so if you think you can develop a better car go do it yourself and make yourself proud or just modify here and there with your existing car and tell the world you known how to create a car lo. hahahahahaha

• hahah poor proton, cant sell the unpractical ugly satria neo, so chop the boot off and put a trailer in? This is so horrible, ugly and just showing how bad their taste and judgement is..Satria neo isnt designed to be chopped up like that!

Ish damn ugly

It would have been prettier and sensible for them to chop the exora, like the rendering.

• henry on Aug 16, 2009 at 9:13 am

raybrig85, actually that Black-Dog fella only watch Australia Network TV on Astro only. even if he went to OZ, he might end-up going around on a tour bus only.

• henry on Aug 16, 2009 at 9:18 am

first of all, i think they should look at bigger market instead of re-producing Arena. they should re-focus on Savvy segment/platform.. get a nice one in design and tech, then the market are everywhere.

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Aug 16, 2009 at 9:40 am

Don't care…

• bmpower on Aug 16, 2009 at 9:57 am

they don't need to put 2.0 engine. That Campro 1.6 Turbo 240hp is over enough already.

oh!.. there rubbish 880cc neeehhhhh.

• Budak IRB said on Aug 16, 2009 at 4:43 pm

wah..ok diversified proton products don't bother the proton bashers

their just critics without solve it…

Just do it at ur own capabilites and most proton bashers is not educated just 'kerja makan gaji only' if company down of course their also jump kikik …

Good Job Proton…..let's move towards vision 2020…MERDEKA MERDEKA FOR PROTON…We fight for life ,we conquer for win…….

• akupunya on Aug 16, 2009 at 4:47 pm

i prefer PROTON bulid up a lowered pickup version like the Thailand pickup..so gorgeus..and please put turbo if the engine is 1.6 cps..

bagi i, better PROTON hasilkan mini van daripada pickup ni…at leasat boleh lawan market nissan vennet…

• linear_system on Aug 16, 2009 at 5:29 pm

Black Dog said,

How many Arena’s have they sold in Australia?? (I’ve been to Australia a few times and haven’t seen any. Nobody knows about them too!) Fliedlice, have you been Down Under before you even comment???

____________________________________________________________________________

i've been to aus to before.quite a times.i can see many jumback been driven around.i guess u didnt even notice it as jumback because u are looking at other cars..or u not recognize proton enuff.lol

• theanswer on Aug 16, 2009 at 7:29 pm

no need to compete with hilux or navara..because in australia jumbuck compete in ute market alongside holden and ford which price far higher than jumbuck. ute is not a pickup truck. some of the aussie dont need v8 block as ute..1.5 engine from jumbuck is enuf.

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Aug 16, 2009 at 8:31 pm

It was supposed to be named JUNKbuck in the first place, must have been a critical typo error years ago…

• they should have made it a four door pick-up and two door option… and give it a bigger engine option….

• perolima on Aug 16, 2009 at 9:27 pm

Yah, can deliver pisang and durian in kebun kampung some said kelapa sawit in Felda.

• Harris Iskandar Taib on Aug 16, 2009 at 10:46 pm

from the rendering, the new pick-up looks good.

a much better effort than the exora. perhaps some fine tuning of the rear tail lights – doesn't look quite right.

cheers.

• proton plz surprised on Aug 16, 2009 at 10:53 pm

better 2 door pickup.that look cool.its a small pickup not like navara/ranger which for offroad or entering site.i have seen arena converted to evo front,turbo engine++ other mod.that look cool.2 door,lowered,big rim,good engine.how great is that?

• TazioNuvolari on Aug 17, 2009 at 12:14 am

To Proton : No thanks.!. Arena was a complete failure and useless. Why bother making that "jumbuck".

• pahlawankentang on Aug 17, 2009 at 2:32 am

They are calling this type of vehicle as Ute. its very big down there coz they like to travel, having off road activities with their ATC or scramblers, and they are using this Ute to carry this off..

However, better if they use the satria or gen 2 platform rather than exora..looks better than on that picture..like what holden has made with their Utes

• LANCE on Aug 17, 2009 at 5:51 am

WAAAA SO MANY NEW PROJECT..CONGRATS…LIKE THIS AR CAN GIVE MORE INCREMENT TO ALL PROTON STAFF…..PITY THEM

• paul another add on to proton news

the LHD proton saga blm
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HnSW_lHhhcM

• jazzer on Aug 17, 2009 at 8:21 am

this one far better than nissan ute r..this is the business strategy…right prodct for the right market..

• rio ferdinando on Aug 17, 2009 at 10:18 am

OMG OMG OMG cant wait for this sh1t and bring my girls around my waist jalan2 with this car

• azrai on Aug 17, 2009 at 3:53 pm

Is there any real potential market for this car? membazir je develop berjuta2, nobody gonna buy it. So how many do they sell really in Australia.

• Shaif on Aug 17, 2009 at 4:46 pm

Go Proton and I believe they have done a survey on this matter and as it is not intended for Malaysian, its for the Aussie.

To complaint, talk crap is super easy, why not go google and read about Jumbuck in OZ.

• Shaif on Aug 17, 2009 at 4:49 pm

Reference,
    http://www.caradvice.com.au/38295/proton-jumbuck-…
    and if looking with the pics of Neo turn to Jumbuck, well not bad, just that Satria Neo looks small than Wira, or they will use the Exora…

• looks like a pair of slippers to me…not sure about what u guys think hehehe

• uzair on Aug 17, 2009 at 5:36 pm

to me…. its better to use the satria neo platform to design new putra… that will sell in my opinion. and regarding the new arena… using exora platform seems to be better

• farghmee on Aug 17, 2009 at 5:37 pm

proton, pls increase two more seats (total 4) in that "jumback exo".

as exterior is concern, the above posted pic is not nice.

more cabin space would make it looks nicer, wouldn't it?

make sure the rear section "blends" with overall lines of exora, so that it wouldn't look as "cincai" job.

power-wise, i think next campro-turbo will be enuff.

haha..grass is always greener on other side of field :D

• One of Proton's better selling models in AU.. especially in the rural outback areas, where most ppl in a tour bus don't see ;)

• keyboard rosak on Aug 17, 2009 at 7:42 pm

farghmee said,

August 17, 2009 @ 9:37 am

proton, pls increase two more seats (total 4) in that “jumback exo”.

as exterior is concern, the above posted pic is not nice.

more cabin space would make it looks nicer, wouldn’t it?

make sure the rear section “blends” with overall lines of exora, so that it wouldn’t look as “cincai” job.

power-wise, i think next campro-turbo will be enuff.

haha..grass is always greener on other side of field :D

————————————————-

the above image is the rendering image created by theopilus chin only. he do not know what are the design really is. thats why the design is not proportion, not well blend bla bla..i believe the proton designer will do better on this. just like neo, saga and exora..

wait n see la..

• Paul Tan on Aug 17, 2009 at 7:49 pm

It's not a rendering by Theophilus. It was a rendering by Proton displayed at the Exora launch.

• gtmaniac on Aug 17, 2009 at 8:07 pm

Should make the new Arena/Jumbuck based on car.. not MPV. Exora is quite tall to be sporty to be a sport-ute.. looks like small lorry already.

How about using the Persona/Gen2?

• firefox on Aug 17, 2009 at 10:00 pm

hahahah, change to Neo platform, i think proton still playing "rojak" with the production, come on..creative sikit la….

• EYESORE on Aug 17, 2009 at 11:52 pm

Aiyooo! those r just suggestion or rendering by PROTON when they launch Exora just to show how the platform can be exploited to produce different models… I believe if PROTON is actually gonna make jumbuck replacement, it will be very different from the images above… duh….

• saint on Aug 18, 2009 at 12:01 am

when can we order now!! extremely nice car can compare toyota hilux!!!!i think proton is really take care and concern our ppl to developed such good car for us

• icecold on Aug 18, 2009 at 12:27 am

reading all the bashers comment here always make me smile. u can see how little or no brainer they are, bashers if u want to bash do it intelligently lerrr.

• intelligent basher.. on Aug 18, 2009 at 3:21 am

basher=intelligent?

hahaha….u jk right?

• stupid basher on Aug 18, 2009 at 4:22 am

Cuz you dont have enough inteligent to understand what thy are bashing…

You only know how to laugh, joker.

• benzema on Aug 18, 2009 at 4:36 am

jazzer said,

August 15, 2009 @ 1:57 pm

better proton make it higher and use 4wd drivetrain system..so it can beat up hilux and navara…for the engine,get the miysu engine…then sell below 70k,for sure it will boost the market

– totally typical malaysian. want something good,complicated to do and costly in a cheaper price. how can the developer gain the profit?

• roti naan1 on Aug 18, 2009 at 5:01 am

I got headache seeing the pics….

Must be the ugliness…

• Automotive_Critics on Aug 18, 2009 at 4:58 pm

It seems Proton is playing with hell fire again by project that obviously not viable to mass market. If it is pick up model then is worthdoing but if just an Arena class model then loss is inevitable.

It was good start for P1 when they "benchmark"ing Wish and others MPV weakness to produce Exora but sadly this time they step backward with benchmarking failed product from their own garage.

Azlano, please focus on A-segment model. Do benchmark the Jazz which has succesfully sold in 110countries worldwide rather than this sure-to-fail project. Transform the Savvy platform to Jazz class design and practicality model, put Campro 1.3 Cps and i bet it will sell well at least in 30 countries. Achieve ROI within 2 months. OK Azlano?

• farghmee on Aug 18, 2009 at 6:18 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

It seems Proton is playing with hell fire again by project that obviously not viable to mass market. If it is pick up model then is worthdoing but if just an Arena class model then loss is inevitable.

It was good start for P1 when they “benchmark”ing Wish and others MPV weakness to produce Exora but sadly this time they step backward with benchmarking failed product from their own garage.

Azlano, please focus on A-segment model. Do benchmark the Jazz which has succesfully sold in 110countries worldwide rather than this sure-to-fail project. Transform the Savvy platform to Jazz class design and practicality model, put Campro 1.3 Cps and i bet it will sell well at least in 30 countries. Achieve ROI within 2 months. OK Azlano?

————————————————————–

1. i dunno how to predict like u, but sure proton did break-even calculation before, rather than seeing-thru-sphere crystal wizardry.

2. benchmarking failed product (arena)? what is benchmarking means to u?

3. azlano is only a designer. other than that, u need engineer. on top of that, u need the approver :)

• all basher are stupi on Aug 18, 2009 at 6:36 pm

this will be a great product…hope it come up sooner..peniaga pasar tani like me really in need something like this (seriously)…I don't fancy those jap or amerika built

• satria neo on Aug 18, 2009 at 6:43 pm

one word – FUGLY..and it not worth for..even they chopped the EXORA VAN to make look like a pick up…lifeststyle konon..even proton die hard fan wont buy it…

• jammed on Aug 18, 2009 at 6:49 pm

hooray!1..good news for all, for sure all malaysian will buy this product..this will be come top seller for proton! i sure!..

so beautiful..elegant and im sure the quality is on par with BMW and Range rover ..opps maybe same level with rexton la kot…

haha..

• Tiadaid on Aug 18, 2009 at 7:57 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

August 18, 2009 @ 8:58 am

——————————————–

The Jumbuck is popular in the Australian market. They're not going to sell it here I think…

• lalala on Aug 18, 2009 at 9:02 pm

well im sure the previous one sells good in OZ bcoz being developed from wira's mold, it have the oil efficient and very good engine reliability. that was what make it popular in rough rural areas bcos its simple design and easy to maintain multi purpose vehicle, plus cheap too. even amateur mechanic can fix it.

if the new one can match that, then its gonna sell well. not everybody wants an electronic everything like what Nissan etc is offering, it just adding mess.

• Automotive_Critics on Aug 18, 2009 at 10:50 pm

farghmee said,

August 18, 2009 @ 10:18 am

1. i dunno how to predict like u, but sure proton did break-even calculation before, rather than seeing-thru-sphere crystal wizardry.

2. benchmarking failed product (arena)? what is benchmarking means to u?

3. azlano is only a designer. other than that, u need engineer. on top of that, u need the approver

————————————

1. My sphere crystal is actually our Earth which is sphere in shape. I talk with foundation of what is happening throughout the world now. In paper, it won't sells much as it is for niche market particularly Aussie only. I believe you also agree with that P1 really does need more mass market product to keep it's liquidity for long term run. Agree? Please come to my house in BBB i will borrow you my crystal sphere which i used to put my Fish before.

2. I tought my broken english already easy enough for people to understand. Sorry i meant here benchmarking product which failed for mass market. Better to develop pick up truck and amass it to african and middle east. They often used it as public transport and not forget for rebellion which they put 100mm self propelled machine gun. Which one better? Jumbuck or All new pick up?

3. Understand but Azlano has been heavily criticised for past failure Gen2 and Neo but luckily he gained commendable feedback for Exora. Being chief designer, i just notice him to focus on said segment and should give justification to one-eye-covered management not to approve niche market project for this time while. So would he do that? What happened to DSZ? I think his motto already change to "niche product" for "wrong time" for "Aussie market".

• Tengokaje.. on Aug 18, 2009 at 11:30 pm

Not bad at all from the picture that kerelbot post it here. Is it a prototype or maybe P1 have another design to replace Jumbuck a.k.a Arena.

Good luck to P1.

Salam..

• farghmee on Aug 19, 2009 at 6:51 am

hehehe ;)

1. i'm not very well versed in platform/chassis thingy. but to fully utilise available chassis (exora) is good.

2. if it is a variation of current exora chassis, why not?

again, pickup truck with new ladder chassis? or just use readily available exora chassis? which one is cheaper?

3. well, in a production, a designer is one portion from many portions. get my idea? he may agree with u, but power isn't in his hand?

automotive engineering is not my cup of tea, but as far as engineering is concerned, it's not easy to come with a very agreeable decision.

some give&take is a must, as long it meets the objective.

• Nabil on Aug 19, 2009 at 8:30 am

I personally would never buy a small pick-up no matter how well-designed they are since I dont have a reason to.

But in this case, Im sure the demand for Jumbuck is still there in Oz, and if it does, Proton has the right to make them and sell them there (but please la, not a Satria-based front). If it's profitable, do it.

• raptorclans on Aug 19, 2009 at 4:16 pm

The Arena sold more units overseas than in Malaysia, it makes total sense to produce a new one. Besides, the 1st one was one of the cooler Protons they have come up with. Now just hope for some rear seats :)

• Automotive_Critics on Aug 19, 2009 at 5:18 pm

farghmee said,

August 18, 2009 @ 10:51 pm

1. Yeah good but still need to invest huge penny to produce side panel, roof panel dies,moulds bla-bla just for very small volume? is it appropriate justification?

2. Exora platform can be derives to sedan which has better volume. Why bother Arena? Develope ladder chassis might cost much this time but when all platform is ready. P1 can varies it's model than become cheaper in long run. But if wasting time focus on niche market produt while delaying ladder chassis development might cost a lot in long run. Why? 1. Waste manhour for the new arena 2. Market already stagnant with flooded foreign pick up.

But still there is people will say better late than never.

3. Agree but design has playing biggest roll in producing a product. Product planning must improve also. (Huge improvement product planning for Exora a job well done.) So OKlah malas dah nak kata. Jgn jadik pi mai pi mai tang tu dah le. Nak tak nak cukai pendapatan kena bayar juga. Bolehlah nanti beli arena untuk bawak anak pisang tanam kat kebun.

• farghmee on Aug 19, 2009 at 9:43 pm

Automotive_Critics,

i believe Proton, under DSZ management, has made detail calculation & market survey before they come with the idea.

so it's up for them to make a wise decision.

it is not things that we always see is the total holistic situation, but just mere a fraction it.

kita buat salah, kita xbuat pn salah?

kalau org lain buat selalu xsalah?

• Automotive_Critics on Aug 20, 2009 at 1:58 am

farghmee said,

August 19, 2009 @ 1:43 pm

kita buat salah, kita xbuat pn salah?

kalau org lain buat selalu xsalah?

——————————-

Kalau dah terang-terang salah kalau buat mestilah salah. Betul? Tapi janganlah sampai depa tu ulangi kesilapan. Saya hanya menyampaikan.

DSZ pun bukannya sempurna untuk Proton. Tapi dia adalah terbaik setakat ni untuk jawatan pengarah urusan. Ape-ape pun good luck dan ingat Jangan jadi pi mai pi mai tang tu. Adios.

• Tiadaid on Aug 20, 2009 at 3:33 am

P1_P2_Are_Shit said,

August 16, 2009 @ 1:40 am

Don’t care…

P1_P2_Are_Shit said,

August 16, 2009 @ 12:31 pm

It was supposed to be named JUNKbuck in the first place, must have been a critical typo error years ago…

———————————————–

Funny, for a person who don't care, why did you post twice? And the only JUNK around here is YOUR brain!

• DSZ_much_better_than on Aug 20, 2009 at 5:55 am

Exora (MPV) & Arena (commercial) – Grab other market share.

Savvy (car) , Satria Neo (car), Persona (car), Gen2 (car), Saga (car), Waja (car) – Eating own market share.

Going forward, if you really must RnD, pick 1 car & 1 mpv-cum-commercial.

Other low volume, pls rebadge.

Important : If you quality is low, no matter how many models also no use. Waste money. Just look at Perodua, Myvi & Viva get the things done.

• Nahar ARS on Aug 20, 2009 at 6:13 am

Proton Jumbuck to be crash tested (ANCAP)
    http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mellor.nsf/story2…

• budlee on Aug 20, 2009 at 6:26 pm

hmm is proton producing diesel soon? this would fit the characteristic of a low ride pickup (like the triton light)

if it is the size of the exora, the jumbuck would have a incredibly large truck bed..

would it you normal leaf springs or would heavy duty coil springs would be use both with a live axel of course..

if no diesel, then a turbo charged cps? hmm..interesting… a pick up that goes vrooom pssst, vrooom psst :p

i already imagine people pimping this truck up already..

but if proton has a diesel, this would be great for Asean countries..

• farghmee on Aug 20, 2009 at 6:50 pm

eating own market share?

neo (2doors) eating waja (4doors).

savvy (small) eating persona (big).

what a valid comparison is this? :D

proton gives customers various options.

options that probably suits u :)

• yes right produa/produa myvi get the things done.

warped disc brake

clonking suspension after only few year

i dont understand why people dont appreciate proton car.

well FC is a little bit…

i drive both type of cars. proton gives a solid drive, while produa feels light.

and campro engine a little… at the beginig as it goes half way and upper you will enjoy it belive me, batter and more improvement on iafm or cps.

please dont look down at proton car. explore the car capability you know what you saying.

• JULIAN_LEE on Aug 20, 2009 at 11:44 pm

yeah at least proton got choices, not like taik company perdua, got 2 ugly cars oni, myvi and viva, and soon the myvi papan edition… then the only variation, the nautica, price like babi. dats why perodua cars sux

anyway, alpina & bmw still better

• Anonymous said,

————————————–

wow anonymous is such a genius. writing rubbish like this for no reason. so all companies that make pick-ups are “in the dark”? pick-ups are very popular in australia

————————————————

I agree with Anonymous.

——————————————

base on the new picture, it will look good, for normal use. can bawa pisang, but not buah kelapa sawit.. Lightduty truck not Heavyduty. nampak juga cantik.. Still Hilux is the best…

• myfuad on Aug 21, 2009 at 10:51 pm

i hope proton not using exora face. that can be damage exora image. please be creative without spend more money, if can't, can be open for contestant.

• DSZ_much_better_than on Aug 22, 2009 at 2:14 am

Yeah, they have diff # of doors. And diff class of vehicles.

But a would be Gen2 buyer might switch to a Persona.

A would be Persona buyer might switch to Saga.

Because the number of consumer who would STILL consider a Proton is almost fixed ( because those who had chosen a Perodua will axe out Proton, no matter how many models you launch).

So, you are targeting the same segment of ppl.

Unless you improve even more on quality ( Proton is in the right direction since Persona, but needs to do more to win back customers trust. Because of the bad customer satisfaction during Mahaleels time, Proton's quality must strive to even exceed Perodua's – unless Perodua screws up in near future and repeats a Proton, its like hoping for and own goal) , you will only have the same handful of ppl to sell to. Launching new half bake models, will only have limited effect on getting more orders. Even worse still, it can make ppl's distrust of Proton to be even more entrenched! Shell out RM 500 mil to get bad publicity. ( Mahaleel wasted money big time ! He is a car company ceo who doesn't know how to run a car company – I think he used this word on others!)

Persona did stop the rot. Saga given a glimpse of Proton's past glory. Exora is the next small hope that we can be sure that we don't embarass ourself in Indonesia.

If only DSZ was the ceo when Proton has > RM 2 bil and not Mahaleel.

Btw, 2 things that Mahaleel might have done right is:

1) He bullied EON into submitting to Proton's terms in conditions imposed for EON to continue get to sell Proton. EON is like a freeloader.

2) He managed to get the Germans to be interested in Proton. (But only to realise that it was a marriage not meant to be). No have entire plan. Only PR skills.

* i might be wrong, but these are what i read. Hope the part on DSZ is true.

• DSZ_much_better_than on Aug 22, 2009 at 2:28 am

Btw, vendor of proton parts should shoulder a big part of the blame.

Unless they ship good parts to Proton, they are like parasites and still Proton needs to let them suck money from them ( Hope the current improvement of parts is continous and not manisfestation of these parasites fighting for survival as they know their host is dying. If not they will again feast on Proton. Pay your due and be proud of what you are doing )

If they do ship good parts to Proton, they are an asset instead of a liability.

Btw, Americans and British had an early start against the Koreans.

Koreans didn't use that as an excuse & worked hard and smart to beat Americans and British.

We started later than Koreans.

We gave excuses, we can never be as successful like Koreans because our society get subsidized on electricity,petrol,flour,sugar ( i am okay to do away with subsidy if goverment money is well spent, if not better continue to subsidize than gets into some big shot's pocket)…

Proton's malaise reflects us..our goverment's incompetence is a relection of our attitude and social contract.

• DSZ_much_better_than on Aug 22, 2009 at 2:32 am

Btw, vendor of proton parts should shoulder a big part of the blame. Unless they ship good parts to Proton, they are like parasites and still Proton needs to let them suck money from them ( Hope the current improvement of parts is continous and not manisfestation of these parasites fighting for survival as they know their host is dying. If not they will again feast on Proton. Pay your due and be proud of what you are doing ) If they do ship good parts to Proton, they are an asset instead of a liability. Btw, Americans and British had an early start against the Koreans. Koreans didn't use that as an excuse & worked hard and smart to beat Americans and British. We started later than Koreans. We gave excuses, we can never be as successful like Koreans because our society get subsidized on electricity,petrol,flour,sugar ( i am okay to do away with subsidy if goverment money is well spent, if not better continue to subsidize than money being siphoned into some big shot's pocket)… Proton's malaise reflects us..our goverment's incompetence is a reflection of our attitude and social contract.

• DSZ_much_better_than on Aug 22, 2009 at 3:00 am

Btw, vendor of proton parts should shoulder a big part of the blame. Unless they ship good parts to Proton, they are like parasites and still Proton needs to let them suck money from them ( Hope the current improvement of parts is continous and not manisfestation of these parasites fighting for survival as they know their host is dying. If not they will again feast on Proton. Pay your due and be proud of what you are doing ) If they do ship good parts to Proton, they are an asset instead of a liability. Btw, Americans and British had an early start against the Koreans. Koreans didn't use that as an excuse & worked hard and smart to beat Americans and British. We started later than Koreans. We gave excuses, we can never be as successful like Koreans because our society get subsidized on electricity,petrol,flour,sugar ( i am okay to do away with subsidy if goverment money is well spent, if not better continue to subsidize than money being siphoned into some big shot's pocket)… Proton's malaise reflects us..our goverment's incompetence is a reflection of our attitude and social contract.

I drive a Saga BLM. Booked on the 1st week upon viewing the car.

Mind you, i drove a 20 year old nissan and put my money on Proton after delaying for 6 years!

Hmm, Saga is a good drive. Minimum maintainance and nuiscance.

But it has nagging rattling sound on the drivers door and air cond vent/glove box. If they can rid that off, only FC a tad higher than Myvi. Remember, Saga is a sedan. Myvi is a hatchback. So, its still acceptable.

• im a person who likes driving.

driving different type of car. i cant rational drving a 90k honda city is rewarding. produas car economy light car is fun to drive???

am i stupid praising proton cars.

some issue on normal campro, some smile on iafm,cps.

bitsy on interior fix. its magic that i like the dynamic of proton car control, its magic that i like the hp when torque is an issue, FC. but the fun factor is there which i can easily forgot some of its bitsy. and its solid looking car.

am i stupid when i can afford vios or city or of course produas. still im going for proton,

-, im a person who likes driving, feel the car, so i choose the car the serve my driving enjoyment. proton does have it..

• wayne kofoed on Aug 25, 2009 at 11:35 pm

I own 2003 jumbuck. It is not a rolls royce, but for what it is it is a very good ute I am looking forward to the new model I won't parting with the old one but will be buying new ute in 2010. satisfied owner australia.

• kerelbort on Aug 26, 2009 at 10:41 pm

paul – yes. you can add the neo-jumbuck pics. most ppl might ignore this over the MSX model park next to it..

• DJB_flaeiar on Sep 02, 2009 at 4:14 pm

Haha, you turkeys. First of all, a "Jumbuck" isn't anything to do with a kangaroo, its an old slang word for a sheep. Second of all we don't call them 'pick ups' or 'trucks'- they're utes. Thirdly, (and at the risk of sounding uncouth) I don't care who you are, these things are NOT popular in aussie culture. Sure it may be economical, reliable and all the rest of it, but for someone who's looking for a work horse they're out of their game, or if you're after a more sportier then jumbucks don't even come to mind. The big players are Holden, Ford, Toyota, Mitsubishi, Nissan and Mazda- I can't imagine that many buyers would even consider Proton. I dunno, maybe its different down south, but in Queensland I'd swear if you suggested to someone that they buy a Jumbuck more people'd start singing Waltzing Matilda at you before they realise you were talking about a ute. Its not that its a bad vehical mate, its just not a good ute.

• lalala on Sep 02, 2009 at 7:05 pm

@DJB_flaeiar

haha dont waste ur time on these guys mate. all pretend to know everything, naturally born-basher. anything goes, n not that their comment is constructive, or useful, well, most of the time. some of them are good tho.

• wayne kofoed on Sep 03, 2009 at 12:56 am

A comment on some the posts above Jumbucks are very popular in my area.Popullation main town 3.000 surrounding area 12000 people.I can count 15 jumbucks. comerial traders in Bendigo vic. Australia also use these vechiles. there is one fellow in Bendigo has a turbo on his and does 9.5 sec quarters at local drag strip I must say he used to rebuild motors often In Melbourne aus i have seen jumbies fitted out with Evo 5 lancer gear.One note the load carry compascity exceeds homn grown Holden SS ute by 80kg.These utes (jumbies) cost one quarter the of price of a Holden SS ute

• Perodua Hater on Sep 11, 2009 at 6:54 pm

Not Bad!!

• jared on Jul 28, 2010 at 3:02 pm

The main pick up (utes are derived from cars) sold in Australia is the Toyota Hilux. Nothing else sells even close.

The Holden and Ford utes are bigger and thirstier than the Jumbuck.

The cheapest competitor to the Jumbuck is the Great Wall Sailor, a 1.8 ton dual cab with a 68 kW engine, so its barely capable of moving its own weight.
    The cheapest _real_ competitors are the single cab 4x2s around $25 000 (Jumbuck is $16 000).

AFAIK, until the Saga was released, Proton was really ‘the Jumbuck company’, they sold little else.
    People buy them cos they’re cheap to buy and run, and have a decent sized tray. They don’t want 4wd, and they don’t want a dual cab.
    If they wanted to carry pallets of stuff, they’d buy a Hilux.

• Proton is selling the last of their Jumbucks in Oz and not bringing any more until 2012 with a new design.
    What killed the Jumbuck here is the complete lack of safety features.
    No air bags. No ABS.
    Great Wall now have both these things in the utes they sell here now.
    I think the Jumbuck is a great little ute, practicle for someone like me to carry their camping gear and trail bike. But the lack of any safety feature except a seat belt is a major hurdle.
    The Jumbuck perfromed the worst of any ute in a 2009 independant crash test.
    The cab practically disintergrated. Shocking.
    Great Wall wasn’t much better…and right away they started producing their utes with air bags and ABS. If Prorton wants to come to the party they will need to produce a ute at least as safety orientated as the new Great Wall utes.

• pomen_gtr on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:14 pm

add campro cps turbo 1.6 engine…yummmy….

• abcdefg on Dec 11, 2010 at 1:48 pm

I want Proton to rebadge Mitsubishi Triton in Malaysia!!!

• abcdefg on Dec 11, 2010 at 1:51 pm

I want Proton to rebadge Mitsubishi Triton in Malaysia with 100 percent petrol engine, no diesel, and with turbos and R3 package.