Proton Exora platform to spawn new models

Proton Persona

Proton has always had this problem. The high development cost of vehicle platforms. Vehicle platform and engine technology are some of the main reasons that they need a technical tie-up. Whether it is to share a platform with an existing manufacturer, or sell their own platform to recover some of the development cost, the world economy is just in too much of a crappy condition for Proton to have so many platforms.

Continue reading after the jump for a glimpse into Proton’s new platform strategy.

The new direction of the future in terms of vehicle platforms for Proton is a two platform strategy. One large platform, and one smaller one. We now have these two platforms, and all that needs to come next are the cars built on these platforms in order to plug the holes in the market that Proton has been leaving void.

The small platform is the Proton Saga platform. With small platforms that typically underpin cheaper cars, you can go for volume. That means less models based on the platform, but more cars sold, which helps bring up the numbers. Companies like Toyota can even do better, its small platforms can spawn so many models, and I’m not only talking about the “same chassis different bodykit” JDM models.

Proton Exora
Click for enlarged image

Enter the large platform, the Proton Exora’s platform. It was developed by Proton and automotive consultancy LG CNS, with the specifications and directions from Proton.

It is quite a versatile platform, allowing it to be reshaped for different kinds of cars. This allows better return on investment, more variants of essentially the same or similiar underpinings with lots of parts sharing, resulting in less units sold multiplied by many types equals to the large volume needed to reduce costs and improve profit.

The easiest and quickest vehicle would be a commercial vehicle version of the Proton Exora. There is also potential for a Proton Persona or Proton Perdana replacement model (an initial concept drawing from Proton shown above).

Exora Van
Click for enlarged image

It has the option for both a torsion beam and multi-link rear, depending on usage. All Proton needs to do to create a CR-V type of vehicle is fit the multi-link setup at the rear and install the all-wheel drive parts. Don’t forget to raise the height too.

The next generation Persona can come with a torsion beam. A sportier version, the future equivalent of the GEN2, can use the multi-link setup. Stretch it a little and give it the multi-link as well, and you get a potential new Perdana.

Because the engine bay can take engines from as small as a 1.3 litre inline-4 all the way up to a 2.5 litre V6 or even an inline-5, and is already ready to take a turbocharged Campro engine, I am indeed looking forward to future product launches from Proton.

Exora Pickup
Click for enlarged image

Proton engineers have developed a really nice product. The Proton Exora is a true bargain at its price with the only downside being its low on torque. But I think many people who just want something to lug their family members around won’t mind it and will get used to it. You need a little more calculation when entering busy roundabouts or crossing busy crossjunctions that’s all.

I really hope Proton’s suppliers and assembly plant will buck up and build the Proton Exora to the specs of that nice MPV that Proton has developed. Not a half baked unit that’s put together wrongly. A perfectly assembled Proton Exora can be the perfect people mover for Malaysian income levels.

Proton Exora: Malaysia’s first MPV from RM69,998!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jules on Apr 16, 2009 at 8:14 am

good effort on design and style…but need a bigger engine…simple as that!

1.6 is just underpowered !

• aMoei on Apr 16, 2009 at 8:17 am

first!!!!

• Jules on Apr 16, 2009 at 8:18 am

1.6 is underpowered in relative to its weight !

• Cutester on Apr 16, 2009 at 8:19 am

wow….. not bad

• Black Dog on Apr 16, 2009 at 8:35 am

THIRD!

Yeah, the next step should be medium to large cars. Problem with Proton is they are building too many small cars that basically they are competing against each other! What's the diff. between Satria Neo & Gen 2? Waste money and resources. Doesn't make sense! Hope now they are on the correct path, building cars for the normal ppl than cars for racers!

• MisterBenjo on Apr 16, 2009 at 8:37 am

So Wajalution and Rover 75 still on or not?

• msian on Apr 16, 2009 at 8:42 am

hey…that perdana concept looks alright la……

• mspfaz on Apr 16, 2009 at 8:50 am

If that is the upcoming Proton Perdana, the drawing itself already looks awesome. Couldn't wait for it to replace the aging current Perdana. Will it be built? Hoping we would be able to see some spyshots …..

• yeah, that sketch looks good. just dont put the badge there. spoils the flow of the car.

other than that, its pretty decent!

• hyperX on Apr 16, 2009 at 9:03 am

They should provide 2 different version, one with normal campro, one with CPS :)

• why not build a pickup truck out of this platform. Something like hilux

• vincent on Apr 16, 2009 at 9:06 am

Can't wait to see how the Waja replacement model will look like. Will it look like the Lancer GT? Then it's going to be Wajalution all over again.

But it's nice to hv an affordable shark nosed sedan.

• why not build a pickup truck like hilux out from this platform. With diesel engine

• sponge_bob on Apr 16, 2009 at 9:09 am

1.6liter is a underpower engine for those kind of size .

I will be amazed if they somehow can make a 2.0 or 2.5 liter in that MPV for RM80000-RM90000 while maintaining the 1.6 model . This will offer wider variety to customer .

However , this car will plunging into the streets in PACKS .

• Would like to see if suv 2.5 from proton based on that platform :p

• samad on Apr 16, 2009 at 9:22 am

if new pesona come maybe we will get the new campro ..

wow it just my cent

• [quote comment="230226"]why not build a pickup truck like hilux out from this platform. With diesel engine[/quote]

agree.. don't let just toyota, isuzu, ford, etc in this segment, it sure more affordable.

• Tengokaje.. on Apr 16, 2009 at 9:28 am

The sketch looks nice. Could it be the replacement for Perdana or Waja? Only time will tell.

Salam..

• EricG on Apr 16, 2009 at 9:33 am

I think its still on. judging by the look of the sketch, esp the headlites, it looks like waja. Sifu, is the waja going to come out by 2010? pls give us some bits of pieces info. hihi

• I'm wondering how much time Exora need to reach genting from kl in full loaded..

• Gajen on Apr 16, 2009 at 10:06 am

Exora is good…but im still waiting for the new perdana….i mean its the falgship car for gods sake…the sketch above looks good…proton should concerntrate on the new perdana…

• msian on Apr 16, 2009 at 10:22 am

[quote comment="230251"]Exora is good…but im still waiting for the new perdana….i mean its the falgship car for gods sake…the sketch above looks good…proton should concerntrate on the new perdana…[/quote]

not a viable option at the moment.perdana is a luxury car..due to the economic crisis we are going through now….the demand for cheaper, more value for money cars are on the rise…car makers are looking towards smaller cc engines and so on…so if u ask me….ur wait for the new perdana is gonna be a pretty long one…

• oldwira on Apr 16, 2009 at 10:44 am

Still its a long way up journey for Proton. As a truly Malaysian car manufacturer we always support you Proton as long as you will to work harder for better and better products. Way d go Proton!

• If the current sketch of the new perdana is the real design of the new perdana, then i must be very proud of it coz it looks pretty darn classy and nice!!! But then don't you guys think it looks kinda like an Audi?

• tansri on Apr 16, 2009 at 11:11 am

This shows Proton are smart..

but when other car company like toyota, renault with nissan etc do the same thing, how P1 can survive for the longer term. Looks like it is still hard for p1 to compete in the global market..there are something beyond their control..

The way to go is for p1 produce really smart car and give more value for money in the o.c markets. To compete with price and brand maybe they have problems or only on par with others. so they have be smarter then other in designing the car.They cannot afford to produce wrong model again..

Hopefully syed zainal can create more join ventures to save cost. looks like they are going in the right direction..

• emphbone on Apr 16, 2009 at 11:20 am

nice design..

really like the headlight.. can develop more on supersedan?

• mystvearn on Apr 16, 2009 at 11:29 am

Paul, what car is that design at the top? Perdana replacement model? Something Proton sent to you for public perception?

Did the Proton Arena and Saga shared the same platform? How come that did not work? It works well in Australia. Because the last image strike fear into me. It reminds me of when Proton hastely went in the pick-up truck with the Arena.

The van-pickup looks almost like the Exora without rear side windows.

• ali38hak on Apr 16, 2009 at 11:39 am

i wish they would use the plattform for an SUV!!

very 'in' here, but they need a diesel engine for SUV and commercial vehicles..

perdana sketch reminds me a bit to VW Phaeton and passat ! !

but all in all it looks fine..

hope the exora comes out with an new diesel in the near, very near future.. :)

good day to all malaysian brothers from Türkiye..

• Azrul Haji Mokhtar on Apr 16, 2009 at 1:07 pm

Perdana? That sketch looks seriously good! Keep us posted, Paul! =D

• VW Phaeton-ish design look cool and conti. BTW, Proton really need a Japanese, Korean or European-sourced reliable diesel to fuel it market acceptance otherwise pretty hard. One reason why Chery Alado Eastar sells is Mitsubishi engine. In my place, they outsell Rondo.

• Proton, no matter how massive the order tally QUALITY is no compromise. Never ever let down your charismatic MD and test buyers patience will LOW QUALITY attitude and end product.

No room for complacent and lackadaisical. Without economies of scale, less forgiving room for any mistake. Very costly indeed for Proton survival. NOW, it's timely to bring back trust and support from Malaysians. Imagine, if we can CONVERT or REVERT back the Avanza owners to buy EXORA?

Avanza still a decent example of HOW desperate Malaysians (after Indonesians) to own a reliable so-called MPv (moving people van). I wish Exora booking will exceed those enjoyed by Avanza if not Myvi. Possible DSZ?

• kimi_ on Apr 16, 2009 at 2:12 pm

more to come…hehe

• Actually to make platforms in Malaysia is cheaper than in Japan or Europe. Why don't Proton make Platforms for other car manufacturers.

• wisedriver (Member) on Apr 16, 2009 at 5:33 pm

Hope to see more better product from proton since they have gain trust from customer.

I really like to see proton come out with campro cps with turbocharged engine

(with reasonable price)

The pickup truck also looks great!

A respect for you proton.

p/s: i wonder if proton have made join venture with vw or gm, maybe people thought it was vw and gm ideas. And people may says "Orang malaysia x bleh buat keta"

• napsterman on Apr 16, 2009 at 5:51 pm

All Proton needs now is a decent engine. The Campro is good enough, but Proton needs the 1.8L and 2.0L pretty damn quick.

• Alifz on Apr 16, 2009 at 6:41 pm

[quote comment="230222"]yeah, that sketch looks good. just dont put the badge there. spoils the flow of the car.

other than that, its pretty decent![/quote]

Can put badge, but make ot small like Perdana V6, not like Waja CPS. For me Waja CPS emblem look awful..

• ardley on Apr 16, 2009 at 8:03 pm

NEW PERDANA!!! no need to get new name for perdana replacement model.. just maintain perdana name…

• Arise on Apr 16, 2009 at 8:13 pm

BCM supply by a factory in China. Congratulations to China for being part of Proton.

• Lmao wajalution? that is how many years ago story…

but i wonder why the front design are almost all the same…

limited creativity…

• LogicallyMad on Apr 16, 2009 at 9:47 pm

[quote comment="230503"]BCM supply by a factory in China. Congratulations to China for being part of Proton.[/quote]

Anything wrong with that??

• poower to body weight ration aint gud enough ..

• MyBoy on Apr 17, 2009 at 12:38 am

The sketch look dangerously close to VW Passat.

• Zaff1984 on Apr 17, 2009 at 1:13 am

love the sketch, look like VW EOS to me, but still carry Waja's + Pesona's design DNA. But pls no more crope tail light design.

• bmpower on Apr 17, 2009 at 1:26 am

the next proton arena?

nice!.. sold well in aussie and uk.

• tamannegara (Member) on Apr 17, 2009 at 1:51 am

sure avanza sale will be affected by exora launching.

• lambov12 (Member) on Apr 17, 2009 at 2:38 am

should put a 1.8 Turbo engine on the Exora SE ..

• lambov12 (Member) on Apr 17, 2009 at 3:00 am

the sedan sketch really looks like passat and camry ..

• theanswer on Apr 17, 2009 at 5:47 pm

[quote comment="230228"]1.6liter is a underpower engine for those kind of size .

I will be amazed if they somehow can make a 2.0 or 2.5 liter in that MPV for RM80000-RM90000 while maintaining the 1.6 model . This will offer wider variety to customer .

However , this car will plunging into the streets in PACKS .[/quote]

maintaining the 1.6 model is not a good idea for p1 i think..ppl will be spoilt with choices and one in the end no one going to buy the other one.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 18, 2009 at 10:55 pm

I've coloured the sketch above.

More visual impact IMHO.
    http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff304/keishin9…

• danielle on Apr 20, 2009 at 4:18 am

[quote comment="230226"]why not build a pickup truck like hilux out from this platform. With diesel engine[/quote]

man, it is said above in paul's writing, that they just had developed a platform that can be re-used to make whatever vehicle we can imagine of. exora is the first start. just wait for 'what's next' from proton, could you? it is not just by casting 'avracadabra' and you'll get hilux in front of your face..

• Nizam Hassan on Apr 21, 2009 at 12:08 am

Lets to Proton make SUV plak, Beli Produk Malaysia so support Proton

• Zigbee09 on Apr 26, 2009 at 8:57 pm

Congrat PROTON gaining more trust by msian..we support PROTON we support Belilah Barangan Buatan Malaysia.. Go PROTON!!

• ZigBee09 on Apr 26, 2009 at 9:02 pm

really amazed by Exora..rich of user freindly specs..th etrue indentity of Malaysian car..hopefully no compromise of qaulity isues..no negotation with plitical things..esp.with the return of 'super det' hehe..scared wih those political ghost.. PEACEEE…!!

• They might come out with new model replacing Perdana.

I've seen a model that closely to above sketch but a bit longer…side/rear looks like BMW 5 series…and it's really awesome. It might come with 2.0/2.5L engine.

Let's wait and hope this come ture :)

• pengawas on May 05, 2009 at 4:26 pm

[quote comment="234198"]They might come out with new model replacing Perdana.

I've seen a model that closely to above sketch but a bit longer…side/rear looks like BMW 5 series…and it's really awesome. It might come with 2.0/2.5L engine.

Let's wait and hope this come ture :)[/quote]

yeap… i hope so… but i'm already see their sketch… they are trying to do this car bigger and slightly BMW 5 series on side & rear view… when you see from the from the front.. it's like VW Passat… lets pray that the sketch will come true…. hehe..

• good for u proton.

• Melayu Boleh on May 20, 2009 at 8:41 pm

[quote comment="230174"]first!!!![/quote]

and you are the 1st replied for the first comment.

congrats!

• bleedification on May 22, 2009 at 5:36 pm

underpowered!!!

Sheesh people, quit it with the whining la. Want power go plonk a turbo or whatever la. got sejuta hp oso you guys will drive 110 kmh only. maybe la got some kaya ppl here can afford to pay speeding ticket everytime they speed, so can buy fast2 pawderful cars. but not most of us. ppl who buy m'sian car, they not so rich la (some rich, most not). so no need super powerful car. power = thirsty, karang kuat makan minyak lu orang bising juga. so 1.6l = adequate power, reasonable price and reliability is much more important than power. bawak anak jalan2 pun mau laju2 ka? haiya.

btw paul. the sedan model looks sweet. Kudos Proton. :thumbs:

• Yus kl on Jun 23, 2009 at 11:15 pm

My Exora fuel consumption 7.8L/100km for long distance . For city drive 10.3L / 100km . Not much different compare to my other car that is 1.6 and 2.0 . It is how you drive that is more important . So far so good no complain at all . Superb handling and ride . Good AC system ,my kid that sit on the 3rd row sit did not have any complain .The enjine power is good and enough for me and I have drove Exora for more than 3800km until now . I did drove to Genting without any difficulty .Before I buy Exora I did consider other mpv and test drive them but for me Exora is the best in term of value for money . I have been driving for 20 years that is since I get my first driving license and had use 8 cars from proton and other brand . In my opinion any car have their pro & cons , and any car have their own problem . It is up to you to make your own choice .

I dont like to bash other of their own preference MPV or car . They have their own reason and it is their own money .

• Specialist on Aug 08, 2009 at 9:34 am

Proton Exora… Best car of the year. If you need MPV for bigger family. This is the car you must test drive. Exore 1.6 with cps really make enough power to run. Test it yourself. This time P1 did it well. Nice work!!

• the pick up can be redesign again kah? looks… -_-"

Can Proton make a pick up car, yet handling like normal sedan?

I don't like the handling of most pick up… It is scary for back seat passanger when the driver is speeding…

• if personal use only…

i may consider the pick up looks car…

hope proton can come with a low Fuel consumption "Pick looks" car…

• Automotive Jury on Aug 26, 2009 at 7:30 am

Sokong je la..xske xpyah beli..hehe

• JetLee on Sep 06, 2009 at 2:06 am

Just make sure do not use "CAP AYAM" accessories..

• Norman on Sep 07, 2009 at 11:10 am

Exora already made a slight impact in Singapore market despite some sceptical.1st batch already sold out.Now buyers have to wait at least till Oct to received the 2nd batch..Thumbs up.Seriously the new Arena should be 4 doors not 2 doors

• Shawal on Sep 28, 2009 at 1:21 pm

ARE MALAYSIAN's road safety compromised?

Proton is covered , guaranteed , protected by the government and the gov also impose HEFTY taxes on imported cars. People buy proton because they got no choice

how bout… enough of this R3 rally, luxury concept nonsense

1) Govt should inject money (OUR TAX MONEY BTW) into proton, to enable them to make quality cars

– HIRE ENGINEERS from outside, all the japanese car maker has a tie-up with sum european company maybe except toyota & honda,KIA-HYUNDAI group employs European engineers and designersa, A spanish man is a CEO of nissan…etc , Proton is making cars which compromises safety ( a single airbag? )

…PROTON, all models should only come in 2 variants (manual or automatic), dont compromise safety!!!, saves u time in the production line, running cost in bigger volumes, and people cant question whatever is not being offered.. if the brand is good , we dont mind if its not playing a fair game, MALAYSIAN PRODUCTS FOR MALAYSIANS!…

2) OR if those things sounds a bit too much to ask, the governtment can try to win some VOTES by reducing TAXES on CARS THAT HAVE VERY HIGH SAFETY STANDARDS AND BEING ASSEMBLED IN MALAYSIA! cuz too many people died on the road, this can show that the government puts people's safety first. this will enable big companies to try and capture the malaysian market, more factories, more money both ways, more models, more work for malaysians, these 'safe' cars could also be exported, its a win-win situation..

3) If all fails…at least we still have Perodua ,

• Shawal on Sep 28, 2009 at 1:24 pm

Point the finger at the government & proton, you can compromise on quality

but for the love of god, dont compromise on safety, too many people died on the road, they wouldnt have if the better cars were cheaper, or the only cheap cars were better

• zafferey on Oct 18, 2009 at 2:52 am

well… I thnk its time to comment for passenger.. Though Ixora looks perfectly cargo… still those who chubby or tummy find out its too uncomfortable aspecially for back seat. I ve been to the showroom and the salesman starled when he ask me why i want to test back seated passenger? Well.. I told him all front seat have the same comfort. But for the back seated.. Sure its the best to test on MPV car. Know what he said…. its ok for short distance! Yeah,, He fully damn right.. A foolish buyer won't take a tought about it! But not me.. If you want a car for just to buy a packet of sugar.. take Kancil then! or a bike! ha ha ha.. MPV is a long distance vehicle. Bear it in mind. So for Proton is not just for speed! Its not for luxury! its all and comfortable!!!

Do take note cause I'm Malaysian and I love Proton. Don't waste money on that silly salesman answered. Take Action!!!

• Sharviin Sasasey on Nov 08, 2009 at 9:50 pm

dats a pretty solid ute we gt there!!

• yang turbo2 tu masuk malaysia ker?

• bluefire on Jan 17, 2010 at 10:44 am

yes!!!under powered…..

• love to see Exora with turbodiesel 2.0 or 2.2 maybe…. thumbs up for Proton.

• Daniel on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:28 am

So much has been said about proton improvements,.. still proton cars are really less than desireable,… in fact, all the buzz on Proton are really misleading. Sometimes I felt that proton has been cheating us Malaysian for way too long. Just compare the local proton cars and the one for export.The export models are fitted with better finishing and are priced much cheaper than the local cars. Most airport limos are waja export models. Just jump into one of these airport limo cabs and you can feel the difference. Better noise, less engine humming, etc…

Try and ask those guys from proton service centres, most of the cars will have interior water leakages when they are washed with water pumps.

Buffed up about Exora, guess again… if you have ever driven the mpv, it feels like you are driving a van. Load it up with 7 adults and the car will move like a snail from zero (something Paul Tan didnt say in his review). Try revving the engine above 3k rpm and something in the car will start to rattle. Drive the car up a small hill and the car will roar it's way up (literally speaking). Crazy but true.

And It's consumption… don't listen to the sales man,…. it's 20 cent per km on the Highway if you are doing 80-90km/hr with just 2 adult on board. Seriously.

Only thing I cant complaint is the air cond.

And about Perodua,… hai…. enuff said on Malaysian cars.

… wait another 3-5 years la if you are thinking of buying a Malaysian car now..hopefully miracle will happen this time…