Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Toyota Hilux VN Turbo uses VGT turbocharger

Advertisement

Toyota Hilux VN Turbo

The Hilux is the choice of nany contractors and people who actually need pickup trucks for their utility and not as a lifestyle vehicles. Alot of people who just want to experience a 4WD truck for the occasional light offroad trek and the frugal diesel engine tend to dismiss the Hilux because of its weak engine – only 100 horsepower and 260Nm of torque. This is thanks to the mild tuning of the engine, so mild that it does not even require an intercooler.

This could change. A more powerful version of the Hilux has just been launched in Thailand and its called the Toyota Hilux Vigo VN Turbo. The biggest change is highlighted in the name – it has a Variable Nozzle Turbo, also known as a Variable Geometry Turbocharger, similiar to the unit you can find in the Ford Ranger TDCi.

Two engines are available – a larger 3.0 VN Turbo (1KD-FTV) putting out 163 horses and 343Nm of torque between 1,400 to 3,200rpm, and a smaller 2.5 liter unit (2KD-FTV) making 144 horses and the same 343Nm of torque, this time over a narrower peak torque band between 1,600 to 2,800rpm. All engines are intercooled. These engines are Euro III engines (okay, so they may not end up being available here) and are B5 diesel capable.

36 Comments »

1. silv3r said,

August 24, 2009 @ 9:31 am

Sure it will be a powerfull 4wd in town…if these model will be launch in msia~
    two thumbs up for toyota…

2. Darkness_Rizal said,

August 24, 2009 @ 9:32 am

First!.. :D ..

But I rather choose D-MAX..! (cheaper,powerful and stylish)

3. a18 said,

August 24, 2009 @ 9:48 am

improvement on d turbo kits is welcome, what bout d gearbox system? still d same?

would fixed geometry turbo better than variable geometry turbo here for HILUX? given d massive torque

any idea?

4. bmpower said,

August 24, 2009 @ 9:49 am

aiyoh.. so long time making engine..
    still cannot produce a good engine ah?
    what a rubbish toyota.

5. steven said,

August 24, 2009 @ 10:12 am

haiz y hilux always the last one produce a better things … Mazda/ford advance 1st VGT + 5speed auto . Nissan all tough !! mitsubishi complete with intercooler 3.2 …

just buy a used vigo … wan self + intercooler … unichip … boost turbo … aiks feel regerts … + repair chassis … T.T

6. gatuso said,

August 24, 2009 @ 4:40 pm

sounds good.i guess D-max still ahead of the rest till now.the only upset is lack of bigger aft cabin seating area for some comfort for most pick truck sold in malaysia except for triton i guess.

7. Mohd said,

August 24, 2009 @ 5:47 pm

Hm, not quite state of the art…

The 2.5l has 144hp/343Nm. A Ford 2.2TDCI has 175hp and 400Nm.

And a big 3l turbo engine with only 163hp and 343Nm is a joke (Volkswagen 3.0TDI: 240hp and 550Nm)…

8. ambipur said,

August 24, 2009 @ 6:36 pm

dmax,ranger,navara,triton all are good 4×4 pickups but none of them can beat the hilux. hilux is a couple years old and has the lowest hp amongst all but
    here in sarawak a stock hilux can go on logging road with no probs. ranger, dmax, and triton struggle to get through due to low ground clearance and uneasy maneuverability plus its such a town car that one feels contemplated to trash it.now hilux, its a machine built tough.
    for on road use im sure the others are better.

9. GL3n said,

August 24, 2009 @ 7:38 pm

I’m still wondering why Nissan’s Navara 2.5l engine with VGT turbocharger can produce 170hp/400nm? and why this Hilux VN that uses bigger 3.0l engine plus VGT turbocharger and it can ONLY produce 163hp/343nm?(about the same with Triton 3.2 i guess) I’m a little confused…..A little help from forumers? And Paul maybe?….Thanks a lot in advance.

10. mct said,

August 24, 2009 @ 8:49 pm

And a big 3l turbo engine with only 163hp and 343Nm is a joke (Volkswagen 3.0TDI: 240hp and 550Nm)…
    ——————————————————————
    you cannot compare 4×4 diesel with normal sedan use diesel engine …….
    their tuning is a lot difference

11. old timers said,

August 24, 2009 @ 8:52 pm

power banyak2 pun buat per? Last2 buat town driving…tapi aku mmg suka DMax, pemanduan ok, minyak pun tak rabak..

Nissan plak mmg nak enjin yg terpower… sejak zaman Frontier lagi menguasai enjin2 diesel turbo power ni…

12. csv said,

August 24, 2009 @ 9:25 pm

the nissan engine is highly tuned. the hilux isn’t.

over the long term, the nissan engine MIGHT be more prone to problems.

but i have no problem with it. the navara is absolutely king of the road in terms of size. i saw a few on the road, totally distinguishes itself from others. and the speed of that car……seeing it accelerate from standstill….damn.

13. LorenzooOOOoooOOO said,

August 24, 2009 @ 9:50 pm

….

…..

……

Just wanna askin…..

When this model will introduce in malaysia market ??

And how about the price..

Roadtax of this 4×4 always be the issue…..

….

…..

14. LorenzooOOOoooOOOo said,

August 24, 2009 @ 9:52 pm

….

…..

……

Just wanna askin…..

When this model will introduce in malaysia market ??

And how about the price..

Roadtax of this 4×4 always be the issue…..

….

…..

……

15. mingyuyu said,

August 24, 2009 @ 11:25 pm

WOW…

16. Qalif said,

August 25, 2009 @ 5:29 am

Nissan Navara only 2.5Turbo Diesel but the most power SUT 175Bhp and 403 Torque..

17. NARUdaDRIVeR said,

August 25, 2009 @ 6:22 am

ambipur..
    i might agree on you on the ground clearance… but theres noting OME suspension kits cant fix.. btw hilux feels so light in comparison to other pickups… went on long fistance trip from miri to kuching and the ride is just so jumpy… just so different in comparison to mitsu’s 3.2 triton..

still for offroad use i better trust my old isuzu trooper =)

18. bmpower said,

August 25, 2009 @ 1:03 am

mct said,

——————————————————————

+++++++++++

I see you are very blind. by the T badge.
    Those comparison above is very fair.
    the problem are… the Toyota are very fail and super weak!
    FYI.. Toureg use that engine (3.0TDI) too.. and it’s not a sedan.

19. tonton said,

August 25, 2009 @ 1:17 am

mct said,

——————————————————————

+++++++++++

I see you are very blind. by the T badge.
    Those comparison above is very fair.
    the problem are… the Toyota are very fail and super weak!
    FYI.. Toureg use that engine (3.0TDI) too.. and it’s not a sedan.

——————————

then, buy the toureg la. and bring that toureg into any forest in malaysia. or join any 4×4 challenge.

komplen pandai. biarla enjin die hp kecik pon. toksa beli. senang hidup.

have u seen the indestructible toyota hilux? even being put at the demolition area, the engine still can be used! using only normal tools to repair it

20. boo said,

August 25, 2009 @ 1:34 am

They should put that engine to the HiAce van,,,

21. James said,

August 25, 2009 @ 3:09 am

The variable turbo version 3L diesel has been sold in Brunei for many years already. My dad bought this Hilux 5 years ago. It is only now that you guys see this model in Msia.

I suppose the heavy tax imposed by gov. makes it uneconomical to buy sell this the High end Hilux in Msia.

As for comparing Ford’s car? well, I personally prefer to compare the reliability. Remember, Hilux is indestructible (watch the special episode of TopGear).

22. JQ said,

August 25, 2009 @ 3:36 pm

Agreed with Boo.Toyota should put the 3.0(1KD-FTV) engine spec in the Hiace van mated to Auto Transmission and make it available in Standard Roof(Low Roof type) and High Roof type.

23. K’ said,

August 25, 2009 @ 6:26 pm

toyota n isuzu engine is most reliable. but toyota got less black smoke(unburn diesel) of all. nissan is just to smoky even new. mitsu just wouldn last long enough. diesel engine is all about durability. volks is just too pricey, n ford i don know…they just escape closing down.

24. The Watcher said,

August 25, 2009 @ 10:27 pm

Please bear in mind that in order to have more power, one vital thing must notice is the pistons’ compression ratio. Those diesel engines with VG turbo & intercooler that have massive output like Navara have compression ratio below 17:1. Can the engine operate optimal on such low compression ratio?

U guys can look related info and find out.

25. MHR said,

August 26, 2009 @ 8:15 am

Toyota stand for durability and get through all the obstacles that it’s facing.What for the vehicle run 100km/h in 11.3 or be like a sedan in term of comfort or handling if you can’t manage to get out from the obstacles that your in to?Takde maknanya semua power tu kalau sangkut kat dalam hutan@lumpur.Yang penting boleh lepas semua dengan mudah.Macam di Sabah dan Sarawak yang mana jalannya memang untuk 4wd punya kereta,Toyota Hilux yang menjadi pilihan berbanding dengan brand yang lain.Most of the Tauke Ikan,Balak,Kontraktor dan Jabatan Kerajaan guna Kereta Toyota(Hilux Dan Fortuner).Why the choose it?Because the can depend on it’s durability and toughness.

26. affuan said,

August 26, 2009 @ 10:46 am

but navara’s hp is still highest right? then, navara rules.

27. K’ said,

August 27, 2009 @ 3:00 am

no, navara is not the highest. continental car got the highest diesel hp. navara is only the biggest of 4×4 of them all.

28. JQ said,

September 1, 2009 @ 11:57 am

Hi Paul,
    Do you think you can convince Toyota Malaysia to put this engine in the Hiace with auto gearbox?I have written email to the customer service but the reply I get is fed up mentioning different country,different spec.I feel UMW are not willing to bring in the auto version of the hiace although there are a lot in singapore.

29. charles chia kwang dong said,

September 9, 2009 @ 12:15 am

The Malaysian Govt. is the most sickening of all the asean countries. Using African grade diesel depriving us of good diesel models which is the in thing today. The tax on vehicles is so heavy the govt. makes more money than the vehicles manufacturers. Look at prices of our cars, the costliest in the region. Really useless govt.

30. jenatixel said,

September 19, 2009 @ 2:34 am

i strongly agreed that toyota hilux is the best of them all, especially the late model (the sr turbo common rail) mine is 5 years old already, no complain, the engine never leak, still using all the original parts…. i went up to the logging camp weekly and drive to brunei 2-3 times a week, it never break down, of course their is other brand that offer better engine, cabin space, ride and handling but if you thinking of reliability and worth buying, i recommended the hilux, it never die….(top gear hilux episode)

31. Oragon said,

September 20, 2009 @ 6:42 pm

When it comes to pickup truck, nothing beats Hilux! Hail Toyota Hilux! ive tested hilux for almost 10years of work in the field. 2 thumbs up!

32. ccpoh said,

September 21, 2009 @ 10:25 pm

When UMW Toyota Hilux Vigo VN Turbo launched in Malaysia?

33. 76009 said,

September 27, 2009 @ 11:24 pm

?high power D4D Hilux vigo???????2.5 120hp ?????????????????????????????????????????VN Turbo ??????????????????????????????

34. 76009 said,

September 27, 2009 @ 11:28 pm

??hilux vigo????????????????????VN Turbo ?vigo???

35. peter said,

September 27, 2009 @ 11:34 pm

Hilux No.1 in malaysia,so best ley!upgrade………haha

36. Airpool@Miri said,

September 28, 2009 @ 5:28 pm

my comment:
    Mitsubishi Triton/Triton Lite :P ower and comfortable (still the best)
    Navara : Power and wide stability (no comment at all)
    D-max : Fuel efficiency (economical for 3.0, not for 2.5)
    Toyota Hilux Vigo: Power = 95%, comfortable best for driver and front passenger, fuel efficiency (680km=RM80 for average 120-140km/h)

I’m the user of Hilux Vigo since july 2008 and maintain servicing and UMW, and I’m statisfied with this vehicle. why?

Because:
    A. Power = which one is better?
    Triton = unbelievable bcos they are not 100% fuel economy, only 70-80%
    Navara = power ratio : body weight
    D-max = Fuh, salute….economy! but less fuel can give more power for high load capacity? not 100% correct, man. cockpit? still unacceptable at rear passenger.
    Hilux = Moderate, powerful + fuel use = unbelievable (still can save some money)…luggage capacity? for me, its better than the other (without fiberglass cover/canopy)

B. where do you want to send your vehicle for servicing?

1.Triton = Mitsubushi service center (how many are available in every city?), EON, DAMN their worker are no discipline to done the servicing on time.
    2.Navara & D-max = dealers target only want to sell it of, Done.
    ”Problem? uh…we need to wait for spare, sir…”
    How long? ”it takes few month, sir….”

My uncle experience it all,(he is the Triton lite owner)… he himself comment that, what ever the car condition is comfortable or fuel economy, but the authorised service center is not efficient, he have to wait for more than 4 hours to wait for queue (what about servicing hours?). nowdays, he prefer to service it at workshop he trust (”just 1 hour…” he said). what about warranty? Nah, its your own risk…

He always say that Hilux is the best, even he still using that Triton (because we always care bout our car).

Bro…Think wisely, and you will not regret….
    -Just for sharing-

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: Next generation Hyundai Sonata pix leaked!
next post: Korean market Kia Lotze Innovation gets minor changes a year after facelift