Euro Honda Civic Type R MUGEN confirmed for the UK: only 20 units to be produced!

MUGEN Euro has confirmed that it will roll out 20 Honda Civic Type Rs prepped by the tuner. Each will be powered by a 2.0 litre i-VTEC engine capable or producing 240 PS (Civic Type R sedan sold in Malaysia is capable of 225 PS). Major Improvements made to the powerplant include new camshafts, a modified intake system, a custom stainless steel exhaust system as well as a bespoke Mugen map for the ECU.

MUGEN also worked its magic on the handling by improving the suspension set-up with custom-made springs and dampers. The Type R Mugen also comes with a limited slip differential. Stopping power has been improved with bespoke four-piston mono-block racing brake calipers. There are also high-density, lightweight forged alloy wheels.

Exterior wise the Civic Type R MUGEN is treated to a large rear wing, new front and rear skirts, a new grille wearing the MUGEN emblem and a Championship White body finish. The colour is Honda’s the traditional racing colour that was first seen on the brand’s 1964 Formula 1 car. Buyers can also opt for a Track Pack that is made up by Recaro front seats, water and oil temperature/pressure gauges, data recording equipment and track-ready road-legal tires. However the package will take away the rear seat bench to help reduce weight.

The Honda Civic Type R MUGEN will cost £38,599 and each of the Type Rs will be built to the buyer’s exact specification. In fact, the ECU mapping can be adjusted to suit specific customer tastes or driving style.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Yes!

• Neo.S on Oct 23, 2009 at 4:28 am

huh ?! just 20 unit ?!!!! so lansi meh lol

• SavvyTron on Oct 23, 2009 at 4:47 am

COme to Malaysia Please..

• takeo1070 on Oct 23, 2009 at 4:47 am

still prefer the sedan version type R…

• albagmane on Oct 23, 2009 at 5:58 am

trolley on the move!

• wah, allow customisation woah. i know i'll have mine in all black interior leather.

• trolley? i notice the spoiler, but do u also mean the torsion beam rear suspension…its funny if a really mean car to have tis, its like a mafia who love britney spears song and pink color

• scottloeb on Oct 23, 2009 at 7:36 am

I like!

• pulge on Oct 23, 2009 at 7:37 am

If only I can afford this and bring it here, my friend (a Honda fan) will be drooling over it! T_T

• xenonchrist on Oct 23, 2009 at 8:09 am

nothing better than a four door.seriously.

this lj car with strasnge back is failed compared to ep3.

• Afezi on Oct 23, 2009 at 8:15 am

Wow! for only 2o unit..proce $38k..huh so cheap in europe!!

front look awesome sporty! prefer type R sedan too..

• old timers on Oct 23, 2009 at 8:42 am

custom made…mmmm that's power of dream. Like it when auto player starts focusing making car…

• Looking Around on Oct 23, 2009 at 10:07 am

38k Pounds? = RM 247000..you call this so cheap?..u must be rich..hehe..me?..i prefer EK9 hatchback with K20A 6-speed DC5 under the hood..haha..

• Even limited than Ferrari Enzo?

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 23, 2009 at 3:10 pm

That second rear spoiler will limit rear viewing a lot. Hopefully parking sensors are standard on this car.

• mohd hafizzul on Oct 23, 2009 at 3:55 pm

Aku tengok keta ni dah macam troli yang dekat pasaraya pulak…wakakak!

Bila nak sampai Malaysia hah??

• azrai on Oct 23, 2009 at 4:09 pm

One word.Ganas.

• i like this one. despite my preference for sedan shapes, this one looks so far ahead of its time! singapore has the tyre R hatch though.

• I think they want to built it only 20units because the car cannot pass normal vehicle homologation (emissions etc etc) and will pass through the UK SVA approval. That is why the car can produce 240hp, as it does not have to pass all the tests that normal type r and other cars has to undergo.

• LP560-4 on Oct 23, 2009 at 6:11 pm

Come on Honda… I know you can do better. It looks so bulky. Sedan Civic Type R looks so much better.

• quadlights on Oct 24, 2009 at 3:58 am

If you are into Honda and racing you know this fn2 chassis is crap. Purist will definitely choose ep, dc or ek! Maybe they are trying hard to penetrate europe market?