Honda Skydeck: live from Tokyo Motorshow 2009

honda-skydeck-live-1

With the Honda FR-V (also called the Edix) now gone, many are calling this new Skydeck concept a preview of what could end up being the next generation 6-seater Honda. But in reality while it seats 6, the seating positions are quite different from the Edix.

The Edix was Honda’s take on the Fiat Multipla’s seating configuration – it sat three people each in two rows.

honda-skydeck-live-2

This new Honda Skydeck Concept sits 6, but in three rows of 2 individual seats each. This makes it look more like a Japanese Mercedes-Benz R-Class instead. The seats are quite interesting – it uses a mesh construction for the backrest, much like the ergonomic office chairs that you see on sale very often these days.

honda-skydeck-live-3

The Skydeck’s interior is actually quite bare and devoid of any details, with the dashboard instead just being paneled mostly with a light wood grain. The rest of the cabin also carries a minimalist theme.

honda-skydeck-live-4

I managed to snap up-close shots of the interior. The above knob shows that Honda might be up to a new iDrive-like interface for its cars. What we can see here is a knob flanked by three buttons saying Back, Audio/Navi and Menu. It might just be a funky position for a main audio system control knob though.

Look after the jump for the gallery of Skydeck photos I snapped.

GALLERY: Honda Skydeck Live Photos

[zenphotopress number=99 album=575]

GALLERY: Honda Skydeck Official Product Photos

[zenphotopress number=99 album=521]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Those side passenger sliding door looks good!! But scissors doors.. ermm…

Front view looks like a polar bear.. :)

• hmm... on Oct 23, 2009 at 8:07 am

nice!!!!!!

• transformer (Member) on Oct 23, 2009 at 8:21 am

I managed to snap up-close shots of the interior.

Paul, u r at Tokyo rite?

• sumbody @ tokyo

• Lightning McQueen on Oct 23, 2009 at 3:37 pm

Nice concept, but not suitable for M'sia, surely this car can become a microwave oven… Even if u tint with V-kool.

• azrai on Oct 23, 2009 at 4:08 pm

Maybe the next gen Odyssey. The seat look like taken from IKEA store.

• King Samurai on Oct 23, 2009 at 5:40 pm

Lucky Paul…..he was at the media's opening Tokyo Motorshow yesterday…Public opens this weekend only…

• LP560-4 on Oct 23, 2009 at 6:38 pm

Good one Honda! Finally, there is a good design vehicle from Honda… ;)

• Wow Next gen Honda Odyssey or Stream ?

• mu_77 on Oct 23, 2009 at 8:03 pm

The current Odyssey Absolute looks nice alredi.. If future design like this… breath of fresh air for mpv's…. Looks like many manufacturers planning for knobless gear control and futuristic looks for future…. Chun…

• CiViC_7900 on Oct 23, 2009 at 11:31 pm

YES LA.lawa.it's got some nice design cues

• R0NaLD0 on Oct 23, 2009 at 11:39 pm

the car look nice. but sky roof.. with glass? i not so sure….the weather here in MY is so hot.. and those glass surely cost a fortune to replace if broken…. u know lah highway in MY so many lorry……..

• awg1031 on Oct 24, 2009 at 1:48 am

very nice indeed..but yeah.agree with u guys..what's with the usage of glass all over? malaysia not suitable.just like architect bringing those glasses building and houses here..ridiculous!!

• and what's with the thin seat fabric? tak senang koyak ke? but then, it's just a concept car…

• FAReast on Oct 24, 2009 at 6:09 am

all the people inside will feel hot with the direct sunlight at day time.

while at night you might not be able to see the stars above if there is glare

at the roof windows…

• those seat are sure to save a lof of weight.and space saving too.suddenly i wonder why contemporary car seats need to be so bulky.it it works for office se,why not cars?