Mitsubishi Triton 2.5 Standard: more details revealed!

Mitsubishi has launched the Triton 2.5 Standard earlier today and we now have more information to share with you concerning the new variant that sits between the Triton Lite and the Triton 2.5. Compared to the latter, the exterior of the Standard lacks the side steps, sports bar and front fog lamps.

Inside, the steering wheel, gear knob and the hand brake lever are all finished in urethane while the audio unit does not have Bluetooth or USB connectivity but has MP3 and WMA playback. The 2.5 Standard also does not come with any airbags unfortunately. Last but not least, as seen in the image above, the Triton 2.5 Standard has its wheel arches in grey, instead of body colour. It has a 136 PS 2.5 litre turbodiesel mated to a manual transmission and has a 4X4 configuration.

New Mitsubishi Triton Standard goes for RM77,715.80, more details to come soon!

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• The Loner on Nov 27, 2009 at 2:27 am

Business is picked up for pickups in M'sia.

• At this price, it will kill off Nissan Frontier.

• lowprofile on Nov 27, 2009 at 2:39 am

they should just drop 4X4 which saps acceleration and compensate with the auto. their combination looks like they are targetting the business owner rather than individual owners.

• mitlanevo on Nov 27, 2009 at 2:48 am

whatever, Navara, D-Max and Ranger are still much much much better…

• Ndmervin on Nov 27, 2009 at 2:51 am

I think its a good move by MMM to make offroad sport more accesible to all Malaysians. Having the 4×4 configuration is still very useful! So I guess the cool LCD meter display still remains, eh!? :D Too bad the airbags are gone :P

• Triton 2.5A Owner on Nov 27, 2009 at 3:32 am

I am an owner of a Triton 2.5A variant. Mine was bought at some RM9xk. This new variant is just RM78k?! The side steps, sports bar and fog lamps could be easily installed in local accessories shops at app RM1k. Man, this is going to hurt the resale value of the current Triton owners' rides.

• Toyota Prado or Pajero still better then Mitsubishi Triton

• Dennis Lee Yin Zhang

• saki77 on Nov 27, 2009 at 4:38 am

Pajero and Prado? Are they in the same category?

• littleboy on Nov 27, 2009 at 5:23 am

d-max…Hilux….value for $$$

• just me on Nov 27, 2009 at 6:00 am

i think navara is the best! 6-speed and most powerful =)

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Nov 27, 2009 at 7:06 am

Why alot car models launch basic version? Viva EXB, Exora B-L, Vios J Spec, Avanza 1.5E, then now Triton Standard…What next?

• fight against manual navara?

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Nov 27, 2009 at 8:24 am

csv said,

November 26, 2009 @ 11:48 pm

fight against manual navara?

—————————————————————-

I think is fighting against Triton Lite, hehe…

• seancorr on Nov 27, 2009 at 8:32 am

Next u see basic Mercedes C class or BMW 3 series LOL

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Nov 27, 2009 at 8:37 am

seancorr said,

November 27, 2009 @ 12:32 am

Next u see basic Mercedes C class or BMW 3 series LOL

—————————————————————-

Sounds great, now everyone can get a Mercedes or BMW for less than RM90k… The features include : No airbag, no ABS, no EBD, no BA, no Traction Control, no power windows, plastic windows, no coloured bumpers and body, no aircond, no radio…

• Head Hunter on Nov 27, 2009 at 8:47 am

I went for the launching in Kuching this morning and I feel that it's a good move as contractors are sure to buy into this. Despite losing airbags, the body strength is pretty good at minimizing impacts. I own a Triton myself and I have to say, it's been worth my money. I've had it for a year and so far it's been a joy to drive. It may lose to navara and ranger horsepowerwise, but i feel it is adequate enough for daily driving. At least it's not underpowered like the Hilux or D-Max, both of which my relatives own. Hehe..

• alxand on Nov 27, 2009 at 10:45 am

tonnes of things r lost…

just imagine triton 4x4m minus sport bar, side step, air bags leather finishes at steering n gear lever, diff cd player… from 89k down to 79k…

sport bar est rm1k, side steps at est 1.5k, air bags at 3k each… all these comes to 10k off the price :)

dun worry of resell value :) enjoy the car… tat's foremost most important in buying a car…

• i couldnt agree more with what alxand had comment.

buying a car should be the enjoyment and satisifaction of driving it, dont worry too much on the resale value.

this variants are being introduce for different kind of consumer, to me, i would gladly pay the extras to get those equipment..=)

and to reduce the price, the automatic transmission was also taken away.=(

• No accessories = lighter.

With extra savings, run to Overlander 4×4 or ORE for accessories!

• dzulx on Nov 27, 2009 at 7:11 pm

Wah… nobody complaint of not having airbags… Even say better ;)

• gtmaniac on Nov 27, 2009 at 8:14 pm

Ya laa dzulx… hahahaa.. If local manufacturer, they will bomb it kaw kaw..

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Nov 27, 2009 at 8:57 pm

dzulx said,

November 27, 2009 @ 11:11 am

Wah… nobody complaint of not having airbags… Even say better

—————————————————————-

Now cars without airbags is not a big deal liao bcoz of economy recession. Everyone wants basic that is at a affordable price. Maybe next time you will see Mercedes Basic and BMW Basic like "seancorr" mentioned.

• Head Hunter on Nov 28, 2009 at 1:49 am

Accidents can be avoided if you drive the car safely by abiding speed limits and wearing seatbelts. An airbag is rendered useless if the seat belts are not used. A big car this size would not be a death trap if one take necessary measures to buckle up and drive safely. i've seen a wrecked triton in a workshop which suffered severe frontal damage but the passenger shell is still intact with minimal intrusion. Airbags are added to give more chance of survival and one cannot deny that. But as long as we take precautionary measures and be civilized on the road then we don't have to worry about crashing the car. Cheers!

• Airbag is still not seen as standard items in Malaysia motor industry, unfotunately. Much less a mandatory item for modern car.

Anyway, Malaysian lives are cheaper than mat salleh's life.

So, Malaysian can mati katak anytime, anywhere in the milo car with 4 wheel. Semua OK kan?

• jaygan (Member) on Nov 28, 2009 at 11:32 pm

Just read in 4wdaction.com.au issue 142.

A new Triton (Triton MN) launched with 2.5L turbo diesel with the following spec. (power wise).

Power: 131kW@4000

Torque: 400Nm@2000rpm

Gearbox: Manual 5 or Auto 4.

while the old 3.2L Triton specs. are:

Power: 118kW@3800

Torque: 347Nm@2000rom

Gearbox: Same

Why the big difference? Aussie's diesel is better? :)

• jaygan (Member) on Nov 28, 2009 at 11:39 pm

4WD AT not Basic, huh?

• Red car on Nov 29, 2009 at 4:10 am

okaylah, quite good for those who wanted to enjoy 4×4 without burning holes in your pocket… competition good for consumer… next basic navara…hehe

• kfcho7 on Nov 29, 2009 at 6:57 pm

RT jaygan: Yes. Australia uses EURO-4.

• eddie on Nov 30, 2009 at 8:19 am

nice…good job!!

• kfcho7 said,

November 29, 2009 @ 10:57 am

RT jaygan: Yes. Australia uses EURO-4.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I c. thanks kfcho7.

If you go to the Australian website, looks like they "ditched" the 3.2 :)

So is it "ma" be fair to say that "if you fuel is clean (less sulphur), you can use a lower CC engine to generate higer Nm and kW. Otherwise you will still need the 3.2 for higer Nm and kW. :)

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Nov 30, 2009 at 7:15 pm

Any comments on Perodua Nautica 4WD?

• triton is better for offroad

• Gobuk Taragang on Jan 25, 2010 at 12:35 am

old triton is much better than facelift-ed one…