New Mitsubishi Triton Standard goes for RM77,715.80, more details to come soon!

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia will introduce a new Triton variant today. This new model is called the Triton 2.5 Standard. The Triton 2.5 Standard carries a RM77,715.80 price tag (on-the-road, without insurance) which is about RM16,000 more than the Triton Lite and is RM14,000 less than the price you would pay for a Triton 2.5.

The engine is the same 2.5 litre turbodiesel unit found in the Triton 2.5, meaning it produces 136 PS at 3,500 revs and 314Nm of torque at 2,000 revs. The engine is paired with a manual transmission. Potential buyers can choose between two colour options including Cool Silver Metallic and White Solid.

Unfortunately I do not know at the moment what this new variant lacks compared to the more expensive Triton 2.5 that has been available all this while. What we do know is that its exterior looks will be similiar to the Triton (and not the Triton Lite), and it will continue to have a 4X4 system.

More information will be shared once it becomes available.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• sn00py on Nov 27, 2009 at 12:04 am

woots~ another price war ?

• yay…!

• Steven on Nov 27, 2009 at 12:43 am

bought vigo last year ago …

• No foglights, no safety features? single-cab?

• Ndmervin on Nov 27, 2009 at 12:57 am

I hope they still have that little LCD meter display on the dash.. the rest are OK. I dont think they will upgrade the seas – bad for lumbar support lah..

• sad car enthusiast who search for power. found this 4×4 is more cheap and powerful.

shame, hope proton come up with its turbo car earlier very very soon.

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Nov 27, 2009 at 2:11 am

hopefully it become a good deal to beat navara and hilux

• Wow! Will suggest to boss because company is thinking of buying a 2-year old Triton for new partnet.

• Triton 2.5A Owner on Nov 27, 2009 at 3:35 am

What a great buy! This will hurt our current Triton 2.5A owners' rides' resale values, man!

• Yup, great model….it is all any truck loving 4WD needs.

• fadzly on Nov 27, 2009 at 6:16 am

mitsubishi is always cheaper.,, y ar??

and y on earth the insurance so expensive??? my car only 600++ a year

• brutus on Nov 27, 2009 at 6:38 am

why dont they just intro the Triton Lite with this engine? sure we will get to see some really slammed down version with 20-22" rims running around!

• Just baught Dmax 3.0 2 months ago. The customer service worse compared to UMW. Triton, Idont like the truck shape. Better the old Mits Storm shape. Hows the customer service. Do they have customer satisfaction survey just at UMW?

• i was hoping 2.5L (non-turbo) but with auto option…

• jaygan (Member) on Nov 28, 2009 at 11:40 pm

better if turbo auto :)

• mingyuyu on Nov 29, 2009 at 3:46 am

Actually I hate the facelift of Triton.

• whatever on Nov 30, 2009 at 4:02 am

whatever it is Triton and Vigo is just no near to Ford Ranger TDCi. 330Nm of torque+ VGT turbo…

• perkasa on Nov 30, 2009 at 6:24 pm

im choose the 'mother trucker'..

• for me thats a over rated 4×4 look its got low ground clearance bad fuel 9.1 try 8.4 with a dmax extra urban 7.2 urban 10.5 great ground clearance 225mm and good price 43k ls-u cant go wrong btw thats top model while triton offers electronics that brake fast and dmax is all performance btw i know their is so many problems with triton because my father inlaw has 1 (GLX-R) take it a bit off road and it shit its self n scoreboard is up to 6th repair by warranty lol and what ******* rated 5star comfort try sit at the back and go over a speed bump 1.5star from me people who have a triton sell it before ya warranty ends and then you go offroad lets say its a womans city 4×4

• BUMBLEBEE on Dec 30, 2009 at 11:49 pm

THE BEST 4X4.SPEED & STRONG