Volkswagen reinvents the teh tarik hook

snakey
Click for enlarge image

The funny-looking little gizmo you see above is called the “Snakey” and it is sold by the Volkswagen Accessories division. Volkswagen says the Snakey will help keep your car organized so you won’t have to chuck your coat or bag on the seats or something like that.

All you have to do is remove your headrest and slide Snakey onto the headrest struts. Then refit your headrest. Snakey is made of expandable and resilient material and is good for up to 2kg of weight. No worries – if Volkswagen ever takes over Proton, you won’t have to wonder if future Proton models will continue coming with teh tarik hooks!

The idea for this product was born out of the design forum that Volkswagen Accessories regularly organises in collaboration with the design faculty of the Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences.Young design students get a chance to demonstrate their creativity, to get thinking about automotive-specific subjects and problems and to transform these thoughts and possible solutions into concrete product ideas.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• initial R on Dec 10, 2009 at 9:24 pm

Hahaha…. german ppl also like teh tarik… hahaha….. (joke only)… ;)

• mouse on Dec 10, 2009 at 9:26 pm

neat.. way better then those ugly hooks.

• squawk on Dec 10, 2009 at 9:28 pm

Cool. Makes you wonder why something so simple and effective wasn't designed earlier.

• old man on Dec 10, 2009 at 9:37 pm

No, Proton is the best car in the world, it will take over VW, not being take over! we want the local Teh Tarik hook since it shows our culture!

• MyDear on Dec 10, 2009 at 9:49 pm

"The idea for this product was born out of the design forum that Volkswagen Accessories regularly organises in collaboration with the design faculty of the Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences."

Hum .. like dis idea .. :D .. so student will be more interested with what their doing and can focus on r n d because people outside the uni look at them..

When m'sia proton/perodua/naza will take the same step? ahaha .. dreaming .. theyll said "what our student can do to contribute to us??"

• Paul Tan on Dec 10, 2009 at 9:51 pm

Maybe they can drink Weissbier from plastic bag.

• chiewwl on Dec 10, 2009 at 10:01 pm

not surprise if P1 comes out a 'Kris' or 'Tongkat Ali' hooks..

• theanswer on Dec 10, 2009 at 10:14 pm

in few months this stuff can be found at brothers.

• Captain Hook will be proud of all this hook stuff…

• azrai on Dec 10, 2009 at 10:36 pm

Sure got Brother's one after this. made in China.

• Gajen on Dec 10, 2009 at 11:03 pm

nice to see simple things like this can be reinvented better…

• Fuego66 on Dec 10, 2009 at 11:27 pm

Sometimes smal thing goes a looooooong way!

• BrakeFader on Dec 11, 2009 at 12:18 am

That would keep shut a certain local journalist up from writing a whole paragraph harping on teh tarik hooks.

• kremer on Dec 11, 2009 at 12:20 am

saw this hook at ikea longggg time ago……reinvented? nottttttttt……the ikea one can hooked anywhere……n got size n variable colors too…….

if P1 "reinvented" this things…sure being condemned kaw kaw….super condem

• wow, they managed to further improve on our teh tarik hook design. impressive.

actually, anyone know how the teh tarik hook design came about in the 1st place. i am pretty sure 5- 10 years ago we had no such thing, we hang our teh tarik on the lock you see in kancil or door handle.

• mantois (Member) on Dec 11, 2009 at 1:41 am

love teh tarik… :-)

• mystvearn on Dec 11, 2009 at 2:31 am

I can see accessory shop copycat this and seill it out to public soon

• Elvis on Dec 11, 2009 at 2:34 am

Bro Paul, never in my life drinking beer in plastic bag like teh tarik. Wont work, remember, dont drink and drive bro….hahahaha…

• d3sign3r on Dec 11, 2009 at 5:58 am

"csv said, December 10, 2009 @ 4:47 pm

wow, they managed to further improve on our teh tarik hook design. impressive.

actually, anyone know how the teh tarik hook design came about in the 1st place. i am pretty sure 5- 10 years ago we had no such thing, we hang our teh tarik on the lock you see in kancil or door handle."

I used to hang the drinks at any suitable aircond controller knob in the old saga…hahaha..

• Brian on Dec 11, 2009 at 7:03 am

this hook looks very normal to me.

• Does anyone else think that with the growing intricacy of cars and technology, that there is no longer a car mechanic but instead a car technician?

• limwe on Dec 11, 2009 at 8:16 am

From the picture, looks like the hook protrudes slightly in front and will disturb the front passenger's neck.

• what the hell? a simple hook need R & D from some Uni.. betcha it will cost at least $200-300 RM if buy from VW malaysia.

• Elvis on Dec 11, 2009 at 10:00 am

You can buy plastic hook for RM2 and stick it where ever you please, dont need R and D for that….

• arch808 on Dec 11, 2009 at 6:21 pm

Am not impressed with the design at all as the function is similar with the hook which we can buy at any accesory shops in Jinjang.

snakey or not snakey, we can still hook 2 items. besides, the heavier the stuff is i'm sure snakey gonna get stretched.

Paul, dont u have better articles to post?

• Kambing Laut on Dec 13, 2009 at 5:32 pm

Good for my sirap bandung.