Latest model from Naza: Rosomak 8X8 armoured vehicle!

Not sure about you, but this came as a surprise to me. While we know that the Naza Group does more than just sell cars (they’re involved in property, hotels and F&B for instance) I would never have imagined a tank!

According to the company’s latest press release, Naza Bumar, a subsidiary of Naza Defence, unveiled this Rosomak 8X8 Armoured Modular Vehicle (AMV) at the ongoing Defence Services Asia 2010 exhibition at Putra World Trade Centre.

The Rosomak (Wolverine in Polish) is made by Bumar of Poland and is currently used by the former Eastern Bloc nation for its Land Forces in Afghanistan, Chad and Iraq, besides armies from Croatia, Finland, Poland, Slovenia, South Africa and the UAE.

The main feature of the Rosomak is its modular design, which allows the incorporation of different turrets, weapons, sensors and communications systems on the same platform. The 8×8 AMV weighs between 18 and 26 tonnes depending on armour, weapons and ammunition on board. The Rosomak is said to have very good mine protection and can withstand TNT explosions of up to 10 kgs, besides ballistic protection against 30 mm armour piercing APFSDS rounds.

Don’t expect hot hatch handling, although the Rosomak is said to have “agile mobility, combining speed, agility, and crew comfort in all kinds of terrain and adverse climatic conditions” from its hydraulic all-independent suspension. How much does it cost? Call the Ministry of Defence’s hotline number!

UPDATE: The Rosomak is powered by a Scania 12-litre diesel engine with 480 bhp and 1970 Nm of torque. It is paired to a 7-speed ZF automatic gearbox, which sends drive to all eight wheels. It can even survive in water thanks to two shrouded propellers at the rear of the hull. Max swimming speed is 10 km/h.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ko malu saje... on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:29 pm

next time we’ll see naza buran?

• Nick.c on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:34 pm

The Rosomak 8X8 Armoured Modular Vehicle – The only way you’ll be safe from being blown up by Rosmah?

• THUMBS UP! i want one…
    does my local naza dealer have in the showroom?

• tikus on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:03 pm

Showroom no but chop shop got, just like TUDM jet engine.ha ha

• Wah… going chop shop now.. planning to put into a myvi.

• No .. no. Can’t find it in showroom. But you can try in condo room. And don’t forget to use the password ‘Mokhtar’ before entering the room.

• eisyam on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:42 pm

gonna have a test drive soon…..huhuhu

• hyrax on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:45 pm

how much is it….if under 70k i will book one

• letstorque on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:21 pm

at least RM 1 million without accessories such as NBC (nuclear, biological, chemical) protection system, laser detector, special paint to absorb to reduce heat/infrared emission,night vision device, armament (gun,cannon,fire control system,battle management system),and telecomunication.

• frossonice on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:47 pm

Special paint eh? Make mine British Racing Green, just like on the Lotus. Hahaha. I know the qualifying lap will be slow but then again during race, I just can blow up everyone else. Good?

• Prelude on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:48 pm

oo how about an airbag?? just for driver…??

• the stik on Apr 20, 2010 at 9:38 am

bucket seat? LED driving lights? GT wing? Ohlins x 8 unit..

• letstorque on Apr 20, 2010 at 1:57 pm

The suspension system quite expensive, since it must be able to go off road at speed at least 30kmh. And help to reduce workload of the gun stabiliser and increase accuracy, when ‘firing-on-the-move’.

• who need airbag ???? for what ?? driver & passenger protection ? hohoho

• afkar on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:46 pm

haha..ahead, naza!

• bardraiko on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:48 pm

sorry paul…. i just nk perbetulkan artikel u…
    Rosomak 8X8 armoured vehicle is not a tank…
    dia adalah sebuah kenderaan dlm kluarga APC (armoured personal carrier) @ IFV (infantry fighting vehicles).
    for more information plz refer to majalah tempur or bolg berkaitan ketenteraan…
    oke desu…

• powered by kia ?

• Mysticmind on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:53 pm

Naza Rosmah? urghhh….
    Naza Najiv coming soon?

• rakyat on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:53 pm

maybe next time NAZA can build an aerospace ship

• frossonice on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:52 pm

Aerospace ship? You mean with mast, rudder and sail and propeller?

You must have been mistaken it with the correct term; spaceship.

• tamaki on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:58 pm

Soon we’ll see naza sky-jet, combat planes, then space ship. :P

• afkar on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:59 pm

wait,it means we public can buy this?cool!

• carneo on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Got mp3 player, c/w usb reader and Audio jack……lol

• The Steak on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:01 pm

“The Rosomak is said to have very good mine protection and can withstand TNT explosions of up to 10 kgs, besides ballistic protection against 30 mm armour piercing APFSDS rounds…”

Being assembled by Naza, can you guarantee the safety features above will work!?

• frossonice on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:55 pm

Damn, I thought only cars get bashed by the basher.

Get a life.

• is not MRAP. i can say 100% sure it is not IED proof. maybe side protection against TNT but not from the undercarriage. it got a flat hull at the bottom.

• With a vehicle like this, don’t have to worry about Double Parkers or Raod Bullies.

But seriously for armour protection, the real test is against:

1) Shape Charged explosives like the Hellfire Missle
      2) DU Rounds – Depleted Uranium – aka the A10-Tank Buster

Of course, its not fair for just a IFV (Infantry Fighting Vehicle) or APC (Armoured Personnel Carrier) to perform like a Main Battle Tank.

Actually, nowadays, the role of Armoured Vehicles in Modern Warfare also is at a cross roads. With more Shoulder Launched Anti-Armour Weapons, these bulky Vehicles are a sitting duck. Discovery even featured a special Sniper Riffle (firing a 50 calibre shell) that could defeat a Main Battle Tank.

• letstorque on Apr 20, 2010 at 2:12 pm

Sniper rifle firing 0.5inch (12.7mm) bullet (usually called anti-material sniper rifle) is not capable to penetrate Main Battle Tank armour, but to make tank useless. Targets to attack are various sensors (so can’t operate at night,can’t detect laser designator so easier for shoulder launched ATGM to hit), aerials (to cut communication), periscope (tank crew can’t see outside), remote camera, remote weapon system.

This method of attack can crippled even the most advanced tank. Israeli Merkava once been in this situation, fortunately they still can radio for help.Palestinian fighters focus their RPG (latest ones, not normally see on TV) on their sensors and track mechanism. The tank can’t move a bit and the crew can’t see anything outside.

During Bosnian war, Serb or Croatian even use 20 mm sniper rifle, that can penetrate any APC,IFV armour.

• .50 cal FMJ and those cheap RPGs always used only to disable a tank lah, not destroy them.

same tactic used by Hezbollah to beat Merkavas in Gaza. they made the israeli war minister look like an ass lol.

• Tommy on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:18 pm

Yes

• Wormnachia on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:03 pm

mana DEFETECH (HICOM) ?

• letstorque on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:30 pm

Deftech already got contract for ACV-300 Adnan tracked APC.And now Hicom (which owned Deftech) and MMC Defence (the only rival to Deftech before, for land defence system) are controlled by the guy, Syed Mokhtar Al Bukhari.

• ezmil75 on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:25 am

Deftech unveiled their AV8 8×8 APC also at DSA 2010. However, it is only in 3D animation hehehe

• MyCarMyLife on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:05 pm

Lets go to war ??

• Kaki kereta on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:09 pm

powered by Campro Lotus F1 NEo

• Fallen_1 on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:11 pm

Awesome, this would be perfect for those late nights out in Mat Rempitsville/Shah Alam….

• whats the road tax like? Warranty n after service? Is it easy to get spare part? Anybody drive this before can share what is it like?… Thinking to upgrade my tank saga to this. Tq.

• malaysia on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:20 pm

i wonder how many rosakmak malaysia BN will buy…i guess until Naza is satisfied…..

• letstorque on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:38 pm

Actually there’s requirement for between 400-800 units of this type of vehicle, to replace Sibmas (6X6,90mm gun,fire support armoured vehicle,Belgium-made, powered by MAN truck engine) (more than 100 units) and Condor (4X4, multi version, Armoured Personel Vehicle, German-made, powered by Mercedes-Benz engine, with many component commonality with Unimog).

Since Malaysia already have 211 units Adnan ACV 300 and 80+ units Korean Infantry Fighting Vehicle, I think Gov will need minimum 400 units of these.

• I think PKR should buy this … easy for street protest. Can protect from FRU water canon. Anwar can ask big sponsors from overseas to support the purchase

• haha shoking news NAZA.. nape ader org komen kat sini berbaur politik benci betul… haih political is damn dirty, sini blog kereta bukan nak kutuk org wei…

• Rosomak = Rosmah… .
    C4 proof or not ..?hahahahaha..

• Littlefire on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:54 pm

Yeah, sound like Rosmah… You know whose wife is that…

• Tommy on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:15 pm

hEY, dont make such jokes lah… you might be in danger… just dont…

• Mad Cat on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:21 pm

Ini CBU lah brudder!

• letstorque on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:43 pm

If gov order in large numbers, most probably they will assemble it here, making it SKD.just like Adnan ACV 300
      Even if it come fully-built, like PT-91 Main Battle Tank, system integration (weapon, telecommunication,detectors,electronics) will be done in Malaysia, for security reason.

• LoL! it makes screechy sound like P1 after 3 Combat sorties.

mechanized infantry combat engineer comments ‘tu NAZA ma, wat u expect?’ ROTFL! >.<

• apeman on Apr 21, 2010 at 3:40 pm

hey u good man! d u have any blogs bout army stuff?

• dickybird on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:27 pm

looks a russian built Striker?

• megpan on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:29 pm

oo…wan buy 1 to drive to boss house :D boss..erm…u were saying? XD

• Commenter on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:30 pm

I already called ministry of defence. RM700k for basic model without optional items. If you want to put machine gun or artillery or grenade launcher you have to add more, price is base on spec and equipment you want to equip.

• proton on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:54 am

Optional with ABS, EBD and free service warranty? The track got under warranty or not?

Any free upgrade? Like free upgrade to 30mm cannon or something ^^

• Wormnachia on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:32 pm

SAME !!!

KTO Rosomak / Patria AMV (Finland / Poland) / MOWAG Piranha (Switzerland)

ST Engineering Terrex ICV (Singapore) / Boxer MRAV / GTK (German / Dutch)

• Mad Cat on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:38 pm

I just got back from DSA and posed with lots of firearms! This is actually better than Stryker as the V-hull sits on a modular chassis. The chassis itself is two-piece, so if there’s a HUGE mineblast which rips off the front or rear chassis, just tear the mangled parts off, bolt in an entire new subassembly chassis module complete, hook up the necessary bits and off you go! Uses a 30mm Bushmaster chaingun!

• chaku on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:45 pm

rosomak=rosmah
    naza bumar=burma

this post is a joke right?the post even filed under Laughs

• Wormnachia on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:50 pm

Contender

Boustead Zimbru 2000 8×8 APC (Malaysia)

http://img32.imageshack.us/img32/7961/bousteadheavyindustrysd.jpg

http://img193.imageshack.us/img193/1081/dsa2010klsreviewzimbru2.jpg

CT One Nexter 8×8 Wheel Amoured Vehicle (VBCI)

http://img253.imageshack.us/img253/3641/ctonecorporationnextera.jpg

http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/3641/ctonecorporationnextera.jpg

http://img30.imageshack.us/img30/3641/ctonecorporationnextera.jpg

http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/3641/ctonecorporationnextera.jpg

http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/3641/ctonecorporationnextera.jpg

Pindad Anoa 6×6 APC (Indonesia)

http://i891.photobucket.com/albums/ac111/bintangrock/Anoa6x6.jpg

• corupter on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:58 pm

ni semua mahu sapu kontrak gomen….kroni…bagi2 duit tax payer
    y must buy from naza ..buy direct …from Rosomak

• letstorque on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:56 pm

I agree that’s it’s cheaper to buy direct. But Malaysia during last 20 years, Malaysia never buy heavy defence equipment directly without modification, to create uniqueness (harder for enemy to plant ‘bugs’) and to ensure when come time of war or embargo, that piece of equipment can still operate,.

Electronics for Sukhoi Su-30 MKM came from Siemen of French (the only other Su-30MK series, Su-30 MKI for India,use electronics from Israel), telecommuniation usually from Thales (UK, I think).

PT-91 main battle tank use equipment from 11 countries, from rubber pad for track from Germany to ammunition from Bosnia.

• did i read electronics frm the JEWS!

• if im the minister of def, i would upgrade the Su-30MKM to Su-35BM spec lol. except i will retain the canards and the 2 seater cockpit oh yeah.

• khairi on Apr 19, 2010 at 10:25 pm

Why not you corupter submit your own proposal to the government … with your own IFV vehicle and grab the reward

• Srotong on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:08 am

Who cares? Only interested whether got climate control for aircon and keyless entry.

• this will guarantee ur safety at the road, rempit, hogger, tailgater, etc…

• Mad Cat on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:06 pm

When hell gets filled up and the dead walk the earth … I wanna be in a Rosomak! Scania power!

• skiborne on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:07 pm

7 -speed ZF gearbox? wow

• frossonice on Apr 19, 2010 at 10:03 pm

Yes, I was wandering about that too. And 8-wheel drive! How cool is that!

• infinity on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:21 pm

No interior shots??hahaha

• Wormnachia on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:25 pm

ToT

• Raja Petra Kamarudin: “Oh, and before I sign off, keep a close watch on Naza, the Car Czar and AP King of Malaysia. Something interesting is about to happen. And remember, you read it here first.”

http://malaysia-today.net/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=30420:why-the-two-thirds-is-crucial&catid=84:archives-2010&Itemid=100149

• Eric G on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:18 pm

just look at the amount of torque! almost 2000Nm!!!

• how many yrs warranty?

• bmpower on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:27 pm

got airbags?
    isofix somemore?
    teh tarik hook?

• kinesthe on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:35 pm

the big question is, does it have teh tarik hooks?

• Motorist on Apr 20, 2010 at 1:04 pm

M16 brackets comes pre installed.

Teh tarik hooks optional :-)

• no, ATM’s FN Minimi bipod bracket comes standard, teh tarik hook not needed, just sangkut at the Minimi’s ammo box holder lol. cost effective maa xD

• This is definitely good news. At least Naza is investing the country’s money on the right direction! Defense Defense Defense!

Malaysia is a maritime country. We surely need amphibious All-Terrain-Vehicle to move our troops and military assets at will if hell break lose in Malaysia (I hope not).

Nevertheless, I hope Naza in the near future can create a “hybrid” engine or better “ev” engine for its massive military vehicles.

In the future, war will be won by those who use the least natural resources, so getting an efficient engine which doesn’t rely on fossil fuel is a good gamble!

Kudos to Naza! (but still your sports cars are still expensive) haha.

• snakepit on Apr 20, 2010 at 5:39 pm

sorry no power windows problem here…syoh.syoh.syoh

• I’ll take that as sarcasm, hohohohohohoho. If this APC gonna be installed with power windows, just make sure it ain’t parts supplied by Proton. Huhuhuhu.

• and Proton is using parts supplied by some companies lol. so you cant blame Proton :P

• Mastermind on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:48 pm

How Many Star..for NCAP got 5 star??????

dont touch any political issue here…we have monitored by military intelligence unit…….

so stop… made stupid conclusions or silly opinions….or paultan blog….may be closed down by authorities………caused by stupid comments by some people…….

Think with mind….not emotion….

• Cyberkayu on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:07 pm

NCAP wall for collision will collapse when this crash test being carried out~~

• g-spot on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:51 pm

this is an automotive blog…not a politic blog.
    boleh tak satu hari kita tak cerita tntng politic2 ni…bosan tau…

• shawal on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Automatic cannon is standard in all trim
    Bullets and camouflage paint will cost you extra

*Free extended warranty up tp 500,000km

Hari Raya / wartime Promotion*

• oredy got 25mm gun, if i got it, i would add a computer/remote controlled .50 cal AN/M2 machine gun above the turret, 4x Khrizantema anti-tank tandem missile (bole kasi hancor M1 Abram woo), reactive armor or chobaum armor, same firing system like in tentera darat’s PT-91M, NBC protection (Nuclear, Biological, Chemical), and turbocharger for the diesel engine.

build 164 of them for ATM. oh yeahhh. the most kickass army in the ASEAN region. xD

• tikus on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:34 pm

Dont forgot NOS system,Toda Hi-cam,Brembo brake,Tein Adjustable suspension,K&N air filter,Motec ECU,Rockford Frostgate ICE and most important Volk Racing sport RIM !!! NOw it’s real KICKASS!! M1 Abram no fight.

• almost every euro engine got a turbo…no need add…i sure this 1 got…see the torque..

• hang kasturi on Apr 20, 2010 at 2:12 am

A-10 Thunderbolt II will shred this ciplak AMV to pieces.

• the Su-30MKM will shred the A-10 to pieces

• letstorque on Apr 21, 2010 at 9:11 am

with widespread use of Man portable Surface to air missile, A-10 Warthog is useless.It’s top speed is sub sonic,which is peanut for VSHORAD like Igla or even Starburst.And if it fails,remember we still got Jernas.

• JERNAS FTW.

i heard that the russians offer ATM the Buk-M2-E at discount price lol. if ATM take it, even SR-71 can’t penetrate our airspace lol.

• Considering our neighbour out in the “south” fully utilize the Cybertronic Warfare, UAV (Unmanned Aerial Vehicle), saboteur and spies. I guess conventional war is a last resort. War has always been fought behind the scene of our naked eyes. But it is also good to have this military firepower as deterrent!

• Otakelapa on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:31 pm

Every Mr. BeaN Assembly man & woman may need one soon, so they can make the escape when the poor folks come to get them. C4 is standard issue. Any option for rocket launcher or maybe space for an Iranian nuclear cruise missile??? That must be the Hi-Line or the toppest of the top version: RoSmack-Da-Bitch & kill-them-all version^^
    In 2012, Naza Submarine, anyone???

• frossonice on Apr 19, 2010 at 10:14 pm

Coconut brain, stop politicking. We have enough of it on main stream media. This is petrolhead’s blog.

• Squawk on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:43 pm

What’s the resale value? :-)

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Apr 20, 2010 at 1:32 pm

reasale value=none when totalled by other scud…

also resale value=multiple by 10 during war..

value depreciation ratio: 10% every second…. (coz noboy’s going to war right now in malaysia)

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:55 pm

“The Rosomak is powered by a Scania 12-litre diesel engine with 480 bhp and 1970 Nm of torque. It is paired to a 7-speed ZF automatic gearbox, which sends drive to all eight wheels. It can even survive in water thanks to two shrouded propellers at the rear of the hull. Max swimming speed is 10 km/h. ”

Max land speed? 300km? lol

• DiVo D27 (Member) on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:57 pm

From AutoMotive to Armored VehiLce n Machicenaries?!
    wht elSe….?! tunneL diGGer?!

• tokmoh on Apr 20, 2010 at 9:40 am

Tunnel Boring Machine (TBM) would be nice. That way can create more subway routes. Improve public train system and network!

• gavin on Apr 19, 2010 at 10:34 pm

Got leather seats? start stop button? cruise control? ipod integration?

5 years warranty or 100,000km?

• theanswer on Apr 19, 2010 at 10:37 pm

so..the engine layout gonna be what? FMR?of FF? hehehe.. how abt the acceleration?

• ^(oo)^ on Apr 19, 2010 at 10:38 pm

naza?!?! WOW!! hahaha

• loller on Apr 19, 2010 at 10:38 pm

When other manufacturers like toyota and honda are trying to go “green”, so does NAZA… in a very different way.

On a more serious note, naming kinda sucks.

• say WHAT? Naza Group copying Stark Industries. Nasarudin Nasimuddin emulating Tony Stark???

maybe YES, he is secretly building 1Malaysia first Ayam Man Mk.I =.=”

• RON96 on Apr 20, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Great idea^^ 1Ayam-man MK1 (makcik 1)

Toppest of the Top version:
      Rosmack-da-bitch (a.k.a Kill-Them-All)
      List of add-on:
      1) 50mm machine gun
      2) Hell-fire missile
      3) Grenade launcher et.c

**Optional purchase with purchase amargeddon weaponry OFFER: Special imported Iranian-Custome-House hand-built Nuclear Cruise Missile (free launcher^^) with 30% discount!!!! Get it now & give them hell!!! (Free ticket to meet Kim Jong il b4 he die)

• mohdjiman on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:06 pm

This is what i say good move to govt…more safety to Malaysian.

• YeapyEvo on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:19 pm

I hope I am able to drive this on the road and clear all those road hoggers and mat rempit away with a press of button muahahaha…

• phas3r on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:20 pm

i got a 12.0L with almost 2000Nm torque.. that’s pretty cool to say to others

• Roy.Focker on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:29 pm

i won’t be suprise NAZA Defense should start designing mechs like those from MACROSS.

maybe Malaysia will be the first to have such technology. MALAYSIA BOLEH ma!

• w_lighter (Member) on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:34 pm

power window warranty how long?

o wait…

• tikus on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:40 pm

0-100km?
    Why no sport rim ah?
    Got ABS brake ah?

• ezmil75 on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:28 am

This type of vehicle has ABS and traction control and of course, run flat tyres… who needs sports rims? hahaha

• Hadi1975 on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:46 pm

Was thinking of getting a hiace or starex now i’ll go for this….though the name kinda stink….but suitable for klang valley with all the sudden flashfloods…so no need to worry anymore…. lol…

• seancorr on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:53 pm

Mr. Naza is going to be one hell of a rich guy. Anyone doing weapons sales is bound for greatness. I wouldn’t mind driving one of these to Midvalley on a weekend… =]

• fazron80 on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:54 pm

I see smoked headlights. Maybe got led taillights too?

• Malaysia is going to enter soviet era…huhu

• edifice on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:34 am

aha!

the big boys are going to be even bigger…entering defence industry.

this is part of lobby to replace ageing Sibmas 6×6 and Condor 4×4 APC

demand for such vehicles for ATM at least 400 in batch. Haha..u calculate the cost of project.

personally im against Soviet /Eastern bloc defence products…poor backup service

• Mad Cat on Apr 20, 2010 at 6:07 am

That’s what I thought too until I visited the booth and had a close look. Speak to one of their managers Michael Rumin. He can explain more about the vehicle. The V-hull, modular chassis (2-piece) subassembly, comfortable interior and 30mm (NOT 25mm) Bushmaster, in a fully stabilised turret (you can fire on the move) with laser rangefinder and thermal sights made me like it. Lots of thought went into this design, which originally came out in 2003. It’s a new generation wheeled APC/IFV, not a Soviet classic. Almost everything on the vehicle is Western bloc, so it’s not fair to compare this with the PT-91M. That one’s really weird and overmodified with a French Leclerc fire control system, etc.

• 30mm? V-Hull? full stabilised turret? oh yeah this is gonna pwn Strykers.

well it is not fair to compare this to the PT-91M lol, PT-91 is a goddamn MBT.

actually ATM had to use PT-91M lol, any other tank not suitable for malay forest.
        but i heard the PT-91M is very high tech, it can pwn the M1A2 Abrams easily. (PT-91M’s 125mm gun can fire 9M119 Svir/AT-11 Sniper tandem warhead radar/laser AT missile from 7km range :O )

• ezmil75 on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:37 am

This is not your typical Eastern Block product. The Rosomak is based on the Patria, a Finnish designed APC with upgrades. BTW, Poland has shed its communist image and actually leans more towards standardizing their military equipment to NATO standards.

Poland has an advantage to close the deal as we have purchased their PT91 tanks a few years ago.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 20, 2010 at 1:11 am

omg…the corruption………….

• JULIAN_LEE on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:07 am

can blast any perodua that dare stand in its way

• Auto_crat on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:52 am

It says “former” eastern block. In fact Poland is now part of NATO. Their defence products are way better.

• proton on Apr 20, 2010 at 9:07 am

naza is going to earn big money, better than selling kia forte and peugeot 308!!!!!

• Mad Cat on Apr 20, 2010 at 9:29 am

Yeah right. My prediction is that Big G will probably sign an mou with Deftech in the end for the Turkish FNSS Pars.

• Mysticmind on Apr 20, 2010 at 9:35 am

wish this one not had SAP problem. lol!

• Wormnachia on Apr 20, 2010 at 9:41 am

Deftech AV-8 8×8

http://img56.imageshack.us/img56/5568/deftechav88x8dsa201001.jpg

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/7517/deftechav88x8dsa201002.jpg

http://img202.imageshack.us/img202/3622/deftechav88x8dsa201003.jpg

• kopi-man on Apr 20, 2010 at 9:49 am

This explain the myth how come Naza has so many cash to load in those car in the show room…well, same submarine theory, its all from the G pocket, which is from all citizen’s pocket..now u got it yet?

• if NAza got the Contract (in which 100% will be)..

Naza can really sit down and enjoy their early retirement.. :D

• adijb on Apr 20, 2010 at 10:02 am

Naza, please have the decency to change the name. Please.

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Apr 20, 2010 at 10:37 am

this NAZA people sure knows how to make easy money huh

• Wormnachia on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:08 pm

The Winner Is

http://img519.imageshack.us/img519/4264/kosmoatmbakalmiliki500k.jpg

• kimi_ on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:18 pm

It looks like the back of garbage collector vehicles

• omanjedi on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:50 pm

actually the Rosomak is the licensed product from Finland – PATRIA AMV. Nothing wrong with the APC, the military has conducted test for majority of the APCs in the market a few years back & from what I heard, this is the best APC for our terrain same as PT-91M that we bought a few years ago.

The military needs their APCs fast and their Condors and Sibmas are ageing and operated beyond the normal operating period of 20 years.

Whats amazes everyone is the speed of NAZA signing the JV with Bumar Labedy as they know MINDEF will chooses this APC anyway. A little to late for HICOM unfortunately.

• salambangi on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:55 pm

Does it have ABS and VSA ? I want one it has these electronics

• Viosuser on Apr 20, 2010 at 1:51 pm

trust me this thing cannot pakai one, .38 revolver also can penetrate.

only can use when there is a rally in KL street. forget about fighting in jungle

• letstorque on Apr 21, 2010 at 9:16 am

.38 can only break its headlamp glass cover at point blank.

• i heard that ATM’s gonna buy 500 AV8’s? is it true? goddamn thats awesome.

• lambov12 on Apr 20, 2010 at 2:49 pm

ZF auto gearbox ??

That sounds very similiar to BMW gearbox …

It will definitely on the sub zero section .

• Wormnachia on Apr 20, 2010 at 2:58 pm

mana ada….

• Wormnachia on Apr 20, 2010 at 3:01 pm

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7750/themalaysianreservenaza.jpg

• ComPort on Apr 20, 2010 at 3:05 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/KTO_Rosomak

“In 2006 r. KTO Rosomak was tested in Malaysia, it is very likely to that KTO Rosomak will follow the PT-91M sold to this country.”

way back huh …

• kremer on Apr 20, 2010 at 3:56 pm

the wheels are very expose, easy target for RPG7 and even pistol also can make all the tyres flat…too many blind spot for the driver……like some fellow said…we are going back to the soviet era…:(

• letstorque on Apr 21, 2010 at 9:24 am

All wheeled APC use run flat tyre. For 8X8 APC, even if 2 ( in some APC up to 3 wheel) wheels compltely gone, say hit by land mine, it can still move.

The air in the tyre just to give better ride and better grip when off road.The inner solid rubber block/wheel are actually carrying the load of the vehicle.

For FIBUA(fighting in built up area) and MOUT (military operation in urban terrain), wheeled APC is the best, as it give better speed, ease of maintenance and quieter than tracked APC.

• what the… hehe…

• neutral_minds on Apr 20, 2010 at 6:16 pm

stupid person who didnt know about military still wanted to comment..
    38 revolver….wheels expose to rpg7….blind spot……bla bla bla….learn basic of APC before comment here…..

usa- stryker
    germany- mowag piranha
    sg- terreX
    indon-anoa

btw it is APC not MBT

• Mad Cat on Apr 20, 2010 at 7:07 pm

Yeah lots of fast talkers who’ve never even done much reading before shooting (their mouths off). Hahahaha! Fun to read though especially the guy who thinks his pockets are being emptied by some unseen force or maybe ‘The Man’.

• learn basic of APC before comment here…..
        usa- stryker
        germany- mowag piranha
        sg- terreX
        indon-anoa

you miss one the greatest of them all…

Msia— APC vehicle with Naza emblem on it..
        the emblem only can reduce import duites .. isn’t that amazing…

• letstorque on Apr 21, 2010 at 9:27 am

military equipment for gov, just like PDRM Evo X,or any Federal Gov vehicle, are not subjected to import duty and tax.
          That’s plain simple.I though all readers here knew about that.

• edifice on Apr 20, 2010 at 7:18 pm

ahh seee..

fine if derived from Patria

i tot from old Soviet

whatever it is, Condors are too old

• neutral_minds on Apr 20, 2010 at 11:19 pm

anyway malaysia army decide to but fnss pars..good choice i guess…

• Mad Cat on Apr 21, 2010 at 6:06 am

Yeah looks like the govt has decided on the Turkish FNSS Pars via DRB-Hicom’s Deftech. Too bad for the Rosomak. It’s a very advanced vehicle with lots of features.

• MACC-shit on Apr 21, 2010 at 1:36 am

sell to who?
    corrupted again

• letstorque on Apr 21, 2010 at 9:31 am

I understand this is car nuts blogs, so most don’t have enough knowledge about military,but some of the comments reflect that there’re who just give comment for the sake of just that…..don’t even have knowledge about cars and automotive industry, and taxation system.

• Nasa boss was thinking the other day …
    err.. we have got err..a lot of extra unused APs this year.. what to do lah???
    err.. we go import those cheap Eastern Europe tanks and sell it to MINDEF ..
    can make a lot!!

Then we setup a service center for the tanks.. and make even more $$ from servicing.

sounds like a good idea?

• limtat on Apr 21, 2010 at 12:35 pm

too late la naza….deftech already got 8bil contract..darn

• omanjedi on Apr 21, 2010 at 2:44 pm

Managed to look at it this morning at the DSA. Such a good looking army vehicle. Sorry, even better than those Mercs, BMW’s and HONDA’s.