Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI Test Drive Review

The Volkwagen Golf GTI is the dream car of many urban professionals. It’s not priced completely out of affordability, it looks sedate enough and it has 5-doors so it can pass off as a ‘sensible’ type of vehicle to scrutinizing family members, it’s powerful and torquey at all the right rev ranges, and it allows you to experience the latest in automotive technology – dual clutch transmission technology, the concept of engine downsizing, turbocharging, direct injection, the works!

To top it all off, it actually looks good to most of us, and whoever doesn’t adore the looks will most likely not necessarily dislike it either. Because it’s such a relatively safe choice while at the same time ticking many positive checkboxes, it’s no wonder that the Golf GTI has gained such success in Malaysia.

But still, the new Mk6 Golf GTI’s price tag of over RM200k might be a hindrance to some. The previous generation of Golf featured a sort of warm hatch model – the Golf Sport/Golf GT, powered by Volkswagen’s 1.4 litre TSI engine. The significantly smaller engine produced a very nice 170 PS, which is about as much as the 2.5 litre inline-5 that VW uses in the American market Golf (known as the Rabbit there).

There’s no Golf Sport as of yet with the Mk6, but what we have is something with performance levels that are quite close – enter the Mk6 Volkswagen Golf TSI, powered by Volkswagen’s award winning EA111 1.4 litre TSI engine, making 160 PS and 240Nm of torque. This is a seriously very interesting engine, for one, the more powerful variants of it employ twin-charging, which basically means it uses two force induction devices to push power up to well over the 100 horsepower per litre mark.

Look after the jump to read our full review of the new Golf TSI.

Volkswagen Group Malaysia first briefed Malaysian journalists about the TSI engine quite some time ago. I still remember the image of a small bee that could carry a huge load used at the event. VGM also brought in a few cars equipped with TSI engines for selected media to try (we didn’t get to try any) such as a Jetta and a Touran MPV, all equipped with the 1.4 litre TSI engine. But it was at the 2005 Frankfurt Motor Show that the world first heard of the new twincharged EA111 aluminium head cast iron block engine.

Initially there were two tunes – a 140 PS version and a 170 PS version. The 140 PS 200Nm version was used in “regular” Golfs and other vehicles like the Tiguan. This was already a huge amount of power to come out of a 1.4 litre engine – it’s around 100 PS per litre. This was later upgraded to 150 PS, and now we see this ‘regular output’ twincharged variant being offered as a 160 PS model in the Golf TSI.

From the power and torque outputs, this makes the 150 PS version of the engine the equivalent of a 2.0 litre normally aspirated engine, except that it will actually feel far more beefier than a normally aspirated 2.0 because it can generate the torque that a 2.0 litre typically makes at only around 4,500rpm much lower – from as low as 1,500rpm! The resulting feel is that we interpret the car as having much more “pick up”, it really wants to go right from the moment you step on the accelerator pedal, instead of moving on slowly and having its power peak only later in the rev range. In the new 160 PS version found in the Golf TSI, you can probably compare the ‘shove’ to a 2.4 litre engine as it can make 240Nm between 1,750rpm to 4,500rpm.

Enthusiasts will probably wonder why I am bothering to explain this but I figured there will certainly be readers who will want to understand what this feeling of ‘torque’ is and why peak torque at such a low RPM is impressive and a desirable quality. And a car such as the Golf TSI will not only attract enthusiasts but other more A to B kind of drivers, possibly a lot of female drivers as well, the kind that would go for a Mercedes-Benz A-Class or B-Class.

The higher output 170 PS 240Nm version was used in cars lke the Golf GT. It also made its peak torque from a very low rev range – 240Nm is sustained between 1,750rpm to 4,500rpm, with torque dropping to 200Nm between 4,500rpm to 6,000rpm. The de facto ‘high output’ tune has now been upgraded to around 180 PS, first featured in the SEAT Ibiza Cupra. The Polo GTI will probably get this same tune as well.

How is all this massive power developed from a small 1.4 litre engine? Twin-charging uses both an exhaust driven KKK turbocharger and a mechanical supercharger to operate at different engine speeds. The turbocharger is tuned to provide maximum boost at the upper rev ranges, but when you do this normally low end will suffer with turbo lag and slow boost kick in. How Volkswagen solves this problem is by employing a second forced induction device – a mechanically driven Eaton Roots-type supercharger.

This supercharger is driven at 1.5 times the speed of the crankshaft, running from idle speed all the way up to 3,500rpm where the ECU disengages the supercharger’s clutch and bypasses it to let the turbocharger (which has by then spooled up into its proper operating range) do the forced induction on its own. During daily driving which results in a very mixed and non-linear rev range movement (instead of outright acceleration which is pretty much easy to predict), a boost pressure control unit senses the amount of boost being generated and decides whether the supercharger needs to be kicked back in or not.

A direct injection system enables more precise fuel delivery, thus saving fuel and producing more power whenever needed, and the precision of the fuel delivery allows the piston compression ratio to be higher than usual – it runs at a regular normally aspirated-like 10.0:1, no need to drop to 9.0:1 compression ratio despite the high boosts involved. Boost can go as high as 2.5 bar at 1,500rpm.

Volkswagen later launched another EA111 TSI engine which only made about 122 PS to replace its 1.6 litre FSI normally aspirated engine. This particular model used only a single turbocharger without any supercharger, and it also used a water-to-air intercooler instead of the twin-charged engine’s air-to-air intercooler (separate water circuit from the radiator however shares a single reservoir with a separator to make sure the user only has to check a single reservoir for water). But we’re not going to focus on the single-charged version here, we’re talking about the 160 PS and 240Nm unit in the Golf TSI.

The Golf TSI drives very much like how a turbodiesel engine would feel, but it is way more free revving and sounds much better. 0 to 100km/h sprints feel strong and good however there is not as much ‘rush’ as in the Golf TSI and even though the engine shares the same 160 PS and 240Nm output figures as the 1.8 TFSI engine in the B8 Audi A4 1.8T, somehow it doesn’t really feel as brisk.

However it is during in-gear acceleration while you are already on the go and overtaking maneuvers that Volkswagen’s EA111 1.4 litre TSI engine really shines. The kind of shove into the seat and pick up that you can feel is really surprising and somehow feels stronger than when you do a 0 to 100km/h sprint. I am guessing it is something to do with how the supercharger and turbocharger kicks in at different times and different driving styles.

This is easily the most fun that anything under RM160k for a brand new car can buy you and the engine offers all the power you ever really need, with anything more than this being purely for entertainment at the expense of your fuel reserve. This little 1.4 litre motor puts all the 2.3 to 2.5 litre big 4-potters in the D-segment under RM200k car range to shame, and thanks to our country’s arcane displacement-based road tax calculation system you also save hundreds of ringgit on road tax a year in the process. The torque curve certainly feels stronger and wider than the 1.4 litre T-JET single-turbo in the similiarly priced and specced Fiat Bravo GT.

However if you want something that feels really powerful, go for nothing less than the Golf GTI, or you could go down the dark path and modify the EA111 for more output with chiptuning – tuners like Abt Sportsline have managed to squeeze out a Golf GTI-matching 210 PS that little 1.4 litre engine, with 290Nm of torque. APR has a similiar tune for 197 horses and 307Nm for RON95 fuel, and another that increases power to 203 horses on RON98 fuel.

Notice that APR’s tune quotes different power outputs for RON95 and RON98 fuel. You might be asking – what RON does this engine require? The twin-charger engine is most likely not making its full 160 PS potential here in Malaysia, since the fuel 160 PS is rated when using RON98 fuel, however the engine can run on RON95 without issues as RON98 is the recommended fuel for maximum power rather than a minimum RON rating to avoid knocks. The single-turbo EA111 I mentioned earlier can make its maximum power with RON95 though.

The 7-speed twin clutch transmission that is paired to the EA111 in this car is of a different model than the one found in the Golf GTI. It has one additional gear ratio and is much lighter and has lower maintenance costs compared to the 6-speed DSG thanks to a dry clutch design as opposed to the 6-speeder’s wet clutch design.

No doubt the DSG transmission is extremely smooth for something that doesn’t use a torque converter. Only VW’s implementation of the twin clutch design has so far resulted upshifts are seriously lightning quick while remaining smooth at the same time, other twin clutch transmission that I’ve sampled either trade shift speed for smoothness or shift lightning quick but in a neck-snapping manner. I really don’t know what their trade secret it but it seriously works very very well. You can either let the gearbox intelligence do the shifting for you or you can manually shift via either the gear shifter or the steering wheel paddles.

However there are a few things you must understand about the transmission. It is not a torque converter automatic transmission so there are some differences in how the drive feels like. For one, when you insert your automatic transmission into D, the car will move forward on its own if you don’t press the brakes. This is called ‘creep’ and can be quite useful when driving the car at very low speeds (such as parking), just let the car move along and control the speed via the brakes. This ‘creep’ feature is really quite minimal on the DSG transmission so you need to be a little more precise control of the throttle in order to perform small and minute movements such as those required when parking in a tight spot. This is because what the gearbox computer is doing is actually slowly engaging and disengaging the clutch for you to move but maintain smoothness at the same time. It also has to do what a human driver operating a clutch has to do when starting off from an uphill slope, so the Golf has hill-start assist to help hold on to the brakes while you set off from the incline.

Throttle modulation is certainly much easier than early implementations of single-clutch AMT. I also experienced some rare instances where the transmission could not really keep up with rapid and erratic stop and go movements such as when you are slowly and aggressively trying to merge with roundabout traffic or cross a junction without traffic lights. But other than these scenarios, the DSG is almost flawless and really should be the future of automatic transmission design.

As this is not a GTI model, the exhaust system used mutes the engine and as a result the car is really quite exceptionally quiet, with an idle ambient noise that’s almost like that of an electric vehicle. I hope that this level of soundproofing continues throughout the production run. You don’t really hear much of the engine at all during normal driving actually, the volume of the engine note only fades in during hard acceleration, and there’s also no small exhaust pop during gearchanges that you get with the GTI.

The smaller wheels and thicker tyre profile used on this Golf TSI makes it feel slightly softer than the GTI, which has big wheels and low profile tyres. There’s also no electronically adjustable damper Adaptive Chassis Control (ACC) feature on the Golf TSI. What you get instead is a very “Euro” suspension setup, a little firm and very well balanced around the corners, yet is able to tackle most road irregularities with ease. It is still a little on the firm side though. The suspension design uses MacPherson struts at the front and a multi-link rear architecture.

The total airbags that we are getting with our Golf TSI is a seven, which is the same standard offered in Europe. You’re probably used to 6 airbags as being the max in a regular C-segment car like this – the 7th airbag is actually under the steering column to offer protection to the driver’s knee if deployment is needed. There’s also ESP stability control and traction control which will keep wheel torque in check in case there is any slip. There’s no XDS electronic limited slip differential here.

I found myself really quite comfortable in the fabric seats offered. The shape suits and cosets large people like me quite well, but I’m not sure if this may cause smaller people to feel a little ‘loose’ in the seats. I like the texture and they offer enough grip during cornering. They’re manually controlled even for the driver, and the front-rear sliding adjustment is easily reached and controlled. As for backrest angle, you have to adjust it via a big rotary knob which while isn’t that ergonomic if you’re already seated in your seat, allows much finer control over the backrest angle than your usual release lever type of backrest angle adjuster. 6-footers could also fit comfortably in the rear, and the car also features ISOFIX points for those who have toddlers. The front arm rest can not only be adjusted forward and rearward but can also be tilted up and down.

A useful feature for night driving is the high spec unit’s dynamic cornering Bi-Xenon headlamps, which can swivel left and right if you’re going around a bend. You won’t think much of this at first as you won’t notice it working but after driving this car as your daily driver for a few days, get back into another car without this feature and you’ll miss it – you’ll be going left or right but your headlamp will be pointing straight on into the road curb.

There’s nothing fancy with the interior layout – it’s a very safe design but everything is quite ergonomically placed and it’s easy to understand how to use all the controls at first glance. Plastics and gaps were generally very good. There is also ample storage in the door cards and in the middle of the two seats. You can either use the storage compartment aft of the gear lever as two cupholders by using the included Volkswagen-badged bottle opener as a separator, or keep the bottle opener in its storage slot and create one larger storage compartment. I had no problems finding convenient and secure places to put my mobile phones, wallet, and Smart TAG.

There multi-info display in between the tachometer and speedometer. There are many different displays and you control it via a four way rocker dial with an OK button in the middle. Easy to control. The instrument panel features lots of details missing in some modern cars – there’s a water temp meter which is reassuring, and the multi-info display also shows the engine’s oil temperature in digital format, something you might want to monitor with a forced induction engine.

The head unit offered in the Golf TSI is a basic unit but the high spec model we’re testing here came with a media-in kit which included a USB/iPod input. I still don’t like the blue backlighting of the head unit (which I first encountered in the CrossPolo) – I feel like the black text blends into the blue light at night and it strains my eyes to focus on the text. Unlike the head unit, the instrumentation cluster in front of you is lit up in a very Audi-like predominantly white with red details, with a crisp and clear needle and text, as opposed to the old style blue instrumentation.

I really don’t know why Volkswagen continued to use blue backlighting for the radio unit when the high spec colour screen versions of the head unit use a white and red colour scheme much like the instrument cluster. I’d prefer a low spec version of the low spec head unit to have some kind of red/white colour scheme as well as that would match the instrumentation cluster in front of the driver much better. Even a white text on black background radio would work as it would match the multi-info display between the tachometer and speedometer.

The high spec version we tested here is priced at RM155,888 OTR without insurance, and there is also a cheaper version which loses the foglamps, Bi-Xenon dynamic cornering control headlamps and the iPod/USB media-in interface for RM148,888 – we’d seriously recommend the RM155,888 version because those headlamps are just really good. If you don’t need the size of a D-segment car, this is no doubt a car that you should really consider buying at that price range. It’s really one of the best that Europe can offer right now, and the driveline is really something that most of its competitors have not caught up to.

If you have any questions about the car that I’ve missed in the review, feel free to ask in the comments and I will try to answer.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• TheGunner on Sep 15, 2010 at 12:52 pm

Comprehensively written. What tyres were featured in your test car? The unit I tested had Dunlop SP Sport FastResponse whilst others have Bridgestone Turanza ER300.

• haidir on Sep 27, 2010 at 4:39 pm

i like the door window of GTi, it opens w/o window frame. is it TSi does the same?

• Grumpy Bumpy on Oct 06, 2010 at 7:15 pm

Honestly, as a new owner of the VW M6 Golf GTI, am terribly disappointed. I’d bought this model from Goh Brothers, Penang, Malaysia and received my car recently in Jan 2010.

I am currently experiencing gear box issues with this car. I had encountered this problem twice this week. What happened was that in the midst of driving, the safe mode kicked in, as a result the gear did not engage causing the speed of the car to drop, with a terribly strained sound coming from the engine. I could not even engage the reverse gear even when the car was stationary. Had to stop at the side of the road, turn off the engine and restart the car.

I brought it over to the Service Centre on 27 Feb, for a check up and the mechanic said that their troubleshooting showed that its a sporadic problem hence they cannot escalate the issue to replace the gear box. So i was told to go back and if it happens again bring it back for them to test again. Its extremely dangerous if this happened while i was overtaking another vehicle.

Clearly the message I got from VW wearnes service centre is that they will only take it seriously if this problem occurs again, i.e. they can test it as a permanent fault in the system or if I get into an accident in this car due to this issue.

Talk about great customer service and absolutely reassuring piece of vehicle.

By the way, Id bought this car in Malaysia, and I’d like to highlight that this car is less than 3 months old, just had its first 1000 km service on 10th Feb 2010.

Not recommending anyone to buy this car….I honestly thought it was a to-die-for car. Forget it, despite how great the handling is this car is missing the most important & basic thing, a gear box thats suppose to be key to support its performance!

Terribly disappointed.

• serious on Dec 02, 2010 at 8:25 am

Unbelievable! I mean that the car has such a problem, but totally believable as far as the typical lackadaisical attitude we get here in Malaysia as far as what “customer service” here means. This is a serious problem, anybody encounter it with the non-GTI model? I’m actually seriously looking at buying the non-gti golf and am hoping that your problem only occurs with the GTI models as it actually has a slightly different transmission system as highlighted already in the above review.

• Cass Lim on Dec 13, 2010 at 11:33 pm

Well i can only say its a matter of luck. I had a bad experience wit my beemer too. Thats y i sold it n got a gti n happy wit it.

• eeeriz on Feb 22, 2011 at 8:26 pm

Yeap, same thing ‘ere. I’ve had my problems with my Volvo S60 T5, great car to drive however really hate the maintenance. Spent more than RM20k to repair the car within 3 years…

Sigh…

• i’m shock when u said u done 1st 1000km service.how can be my golf 1st service is 15000km / 1year whichever comes 1st? 1000km, r u kidding me?this guy full of shit actually.

• Is the Golf CBU from Wolfburg Germany or is it CBU from South Africa like its smaller brother Polo?

• alldisc on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:37 pm

it could be either. the chassis number will tell so, and it is visible underneath the front windscreen.

• ops…better on hold my purchase of golf 1.4 tsi since the service is shity

• Hi Paul,

Am BMW E36 owner for 10 years. My biggest concern of driving a continental car is the operating temperature of the engine. I have few Qs here:

1) What is the operating temperature of Golf TSI 1.4 ie. the thermostat of water pump opens at what temp?
      2) Is the radiator water reservoir pressurised like BMW cars?

The Sales Reps at VM M’sia can’t answer all these Qs at all. :-(

Many Thx.

AC

• awesome……

• alldisc on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:00 pm

great article Paul!!

i have driven this car, in terms of handling and grip it cannot match the hot GTI but according to the salesman this car is meant more towards comfort.

i wonder about resale value since golf GTI Mk5 used market is still very high, in good demand i think. instead of 120K, it still fetches 130-150K.

paying 15)k for this new golf i believe represents good value.

• Anti Proton on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:01 pm

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=Volkswagen-Golf-1.4-TSI-Review&image=DSC08737.jpg rear parking sensors?

• malaysia memang boleh on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:05 pm

Paul,how about the Polo?

• FAReast on Sep 16, 2010 at 1:18 pm

polo is cheaper, but only have turbocharged engine.
      the golf have both turbocharged & supercharged engine!

• Thomanic on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:12 pm

exceptionally good review….I wish there is more details review like this….nice one paul.:-)

• Mk6Ipoh on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:15 pm

I am having quite a big jerk in the first gear with my MK6 Golf GTI, i was wondering if that is what you were explaining below? Is that normal? i dont really feel comfortable with it….

“This ‘creep’ feature is really quite minimal on the DSG transmission so you need to be a little more precise control of the throttle in order to perform small and minute movements such as those required when parking in a tight spot. This is because what the gearbox computer is doing is actually slowly engaging and disengaging the clutch for you to move but maintain smoothness at the same time. It also has to do what a human driver operating a clutch has to do when starting off from an uphill slope, so the Golf has hill-start assist to help hold on to the brakes while you set off from the incline.

Throttle modulation is certainly much easier than early implementations of single-clutch AMT. I also experienced some rare instances where the transmission could not really keep up with rapid and erratic stop and go movements such as when you are slowly and aggressively trying to merge with roundabout traffic or cross a junction without traffic lights. But other than these scenarios, the DSG is almost flawless and really should be the future of automatic transmission design. “

• bimmerguy on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:26 pm

no mention about fuel consumption ?

• Jimmy on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:53 pm

Stupid question for someone rich enough to buy an expensive low-resale-value car who bought it just for fun. If you care about extra RM200 fuel consumption per month, I advise you to buy Camry G, you definitely safe more (from the resale in 5 years time). I have never seen anybody complaining about fuel consumption if his car is a sport car or Ninja King.

• objectivism on Sep 16, 2010 at 12:11 am

the car has one of the lowest fuel consumption. Under a perfect situation, it drinks 6.2 liters of fuel per 100 kilometers! That is more than 16 km per liter! Which means, it’s more fuel efficient than the Camry 2.0G. Actually Camry 2.4V drinks less fuel than 2.0G.

• rossi46 on Sep 16, 2010 at 9:32 am

Plus lower road tax….and useful low down torque compared to normal Japs car

• KL-ATR on Sep 17, 2010 at 5:57 pm

I think a lot of cars are more fuel efficient than the 2.0 Camry, since it drinks 8.2 liters /100km. Who’s gonna compare a 1.4’s fuel economy with a 2.0 anyway?

Let me give you a better comparison. The Australian model of Honda Jazz 1.3 Auto is rated at 6.6 liters /100km (combined urban & cruise). The Golf TSi is bigger, heavier, more powerful and still drink less petrol than the 1.3 Jazz!!!

I’ll wait for the Polo GTi to be launched before I decide which to go…

• Tommy on Sep 17, 2010 at 2:46 am

I don’t think Golf TSI will be “expensive and low resale value”, even Golf 2nd hand market is very hot, go do some research.

• austin_cipan on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:27 pm

What’s the rev at 80, 90, 110 & 130kph?

• phas3r on Sep 17, 2010 at 2:37 am

100km/h is around 2k rpm on 7th gear. really low and good for FC

• Hi Paul, any idea on the delivery period if I were to book now? My family is looking to get two of these :)

• torque on Sep 15, 2010 at 2:29 pm

Waaa…wan 2 some more? Call me ar…hahaha…the car is here already (*depends on colour availability), loan approved u can get ur car within 7 working days! Going deliver 1 next week. And YES to some comments above, this car is meant for comfort but the low gear have the tendency to “creep” in low gear. So, don’t expect to burst from a stand still but this car could keep up with any 2 liter NA despite its 1.4 twincharger capacity. Hey, u smile when u pay the roadtax though! :-)

• Where are you located?

• looking for either black, shark blue, white or red

• torque on Sep 15, 2010 at 6:29 pm

VW Glenmarie (opening soon by next month), currently “tumpang” place at Volvo near Midvalley. Black, red and white r famous colour…left a few only!!

• Henry on Nov 25, 2010 at 5:52 pm

What’s the delivery on a MK6 GTi?

• Mark Leo on Sep 16, 2010 at 6:37 pm

I made a booking for the car 2 weeks ago and I can only get it at the end of October. This is from Wearnes VW at Bangsar.

• torque on Sep 16, 2010 at 6:58 pm

Different dealer, different amount of stocks bro! I’m gonna register it by next week.

• Shahrul on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:35 pm

The high specced is called light and sound package. Is there a sound quality improvement over the standard unit apart from more inputs for the head unit? Thanks!

Can anybody clarify the maintenance cost of this tsi golf compared to accord / camry 2.0? Yes, they are from different category but this infos might be interesting to many.

• alldisc on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:09 pm

accord 2.0 EFI, ivtec, 5sp AT, timing chain, 140-150K (2 specs 142K VTI and 149K VTIL)

camry 2.0 EFI, VVTI, 4 sp AT, timing chain, ATF change at 160K, 140-150K (2 specs 2.0E 144K, 2.0G 154K)

Golf 160PS 1.4 twincharge direct injection, 7 sp DSG, lifetime gear oil, timing chain, best engine of the year award because superb power output and low exhaust emission
      * Light & Sound Package: Bi-xenon headlights, Dynamic and static cornering light system, Dynamic headlight range adjustment, Front fog lights, Headlight cleaning system, MEDIA-IN USB/iPod media interface

all info sourced from honda, toyota and vw malaysia websites.

• Civic & Exora owner on Sep 15, 2010 at 10:14 pm

Good !

• jflee169 on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:52 pm

nice review. wonder when will the Jetta coming in with the same engine.

• Gavin on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:53 pm

I’ve been asking this question and people seem to prefer to not answer it.

How is the after sales service of VW in malaysia?

Are they good? Fast to respond to warranty claims and quick to get parts?

Knowledge able enough to get it right the first time round, i mean for people who can afford these cars are also probably very busy people so can’t afford to keep going back to the SC for one problem only.

Maintaining a car is an even bigger issue than buying it and actually after sales service is one major major reason the koreans are giving others a massively tough time.

• Yes Paul. I think a lot of us want to know about servicing costs ie. Service window, life span of DSG gearbox (lube change?) and routine service costs.

• someone on Sep 16, 2010 at 1:27 am

no lube change required for dsg 7 speed gearbox as it is dry gearbox.

• alldisc on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:41 pm

it is using a dry clutch, the gearbox still has oil for lubrication.

• azrul on Sep 15, 2010 at 2:56 pm

I own MK5, i can tell you that it is almost maintenance free. As long as you don’t drive 200 over all the time, it s pretty much standard oil change every 15,000 Km. Service time as the same as my honda. Service cost always way below 1k.

• service cost always way below 1k, thats a very good estimation…NOT.

• rossi46 on Sep 16, 2010 at 9:35 am

At 15,000km interval!!…if its a Honda, meaning u have to service it 3 times already (every 5,000km) vs VW once every 15k…

• If you use fully syn oli like the Golf, the Honda will only need to be serviced every 10,000km and NOT 5,000km.

• NavydaG on Oct 04, 2010 at 4:13 am

The Golf has a longer interval because it has a bigger oil sump. Most European marques do.

• azrul on Sep 18, 2010 at 11:13 am

Sorry, got no time to dig up the receipt. I am just saying there seems to be no different than honda.

• gangully on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:30 pm

Gavin, you probably would not get an answer let alone a straight answer from any VW users at the moment.

From what i hear, VWM’s after sales service is not up to par, but cost of parts are not up to the range that you would pay for either a bmw or merc.

should this car not come with some sort of tlc package? if it does, use it for the duration of the tlc package and sell just before :)

• alldisc on Sep 15, 2010 at 5:01 pm

for a company with very small share market, its not easy for VW to stock up spare parts worth of 20 million ringgit. it does not make sense. its a different scenario if VW is selling 5,000 unit of cars per month. the time will come, but not so soon.

this was how Kia, or Peugoet started. And same goes to Mazda, Fiat or Mitsubishi.

VW is still rare for our market. they have been away for a very long time.

• Gavin on Sep 15, 2010 at 6:20 pm

Stocking is not an issue, in my head this is a scenario with VW

1. Check engine light comes on
          2. Drive to SC, plug in diagnostic, got error code, not sure, have to write to HQ
          3. wait 1 week only get reply suspect one sensor faulty
          4. Part ordered expected 2 weeks, end up +1 week delay
          5. Meantime just erase code and keep driving with CEL on
          6. Part arrive, want to make booking to replace all bay full until 1 week later
          7. Drive to SC again, get sensor replaced.
          8. 2 days ok, 3rd day CEL again come on
          9. Drive again to SC, same error code, again write to HQ, meantime erase code and keep driving
          10. HQ take 1 week reply but during this time no more CEL, HQ again suggest replace one more time sensor.
          11. Again wait for sensor
          12. All the while CEL not lighted, cannot decide to replace or not the sensor
          13. If yes go again if not dunno what is real problem.

Summay 1 month 1 problem, 1 month potong stim CEL on

• someone on Sep 16, 2010 at 1:31 am

when was this happen? Please advice.

• alldisc on Sep 16, 2010 at 2:19 pm

i pity u, gavin. fyi, well this does not happen in my 20 years old proton saga megavalve. sure, its no 200hp nor able to hit 230kph mark. but sensor problem was very rare over the past 15 years, since this car use a carb and there is basically no sensors at all.

reliability questions often come with high tech EFI engines – the only way to guarantee max output against displacement, low fuel consumption, emission and high eifficiency.

i agree its frustrating to go through your experience but this is the risk we took upon bbuying such a rare brand. dont give up bro!

happy malaysia day!

• mondo on Sep 17, 2010 at 11:55 am

SC – good luck to the future owners. For a simple rattling door noise problem on my tig, it took me 4 visits to the SC. For door rubber seal squeaks they can’t do anything. Now, I’m learning to live with the creeks and squeaks. Macam My old Waja.

• @gavin:

is this kind of “trial and error” problem solving method still happening? i thought this happened only during the good ol’ days of “vw c**s sd bhd”. i sent my polo there one time to check on my door lock, which was behaving not as it should. i never got any feedback from them after the first visit. they just concurred there was a problem, need to send to hq…just like you described. i never bothered to call them back to check, until they got kicked out by vw malaysia.

now i just send my polo to independent vw/audi workshops. cheaper, faster, and they know what they’re doing.

how are the newly appointed dealers/service centers performing?

• Jimmy on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:02 pm

YES, for busy man, money is not the issue, the issue is that you cannot get your parts repaired in the way/speed that you want; you have to follow up yourself(making calls and begging people to answer your calls, and making multiple visits to service centres waiting there for hours or trapped in traffic jam). You are like pengemis, meminta sedekah from them, be it within waranty period or not. And I tell you, this won’t happen with TOYOTA (they call you, not you call them). So for busy people, I advise you to stick to Toyota unless you have a driver or runner AND you have more than one cars.

• rulered on Sep 15, 2010 at 9:13 pm

..Or, for ‘busy ppl’ with lots of money…..there is always an option of third or even fourth car.

• This is not the first time I heard about TOYOTA good service. Hmm.. Are they really that good??

• Car of the Year Auditor. on Sep 15, 2010 at 2:15 pm

Just want to ask, is VW Jetta here soon?I suppose next three mth ale to see oled?

• mr.eims @ Perfume on Sep 15, 2010 at 2:15 pm

i,ve read few articles about golf 1.4TSI but never found the info about fuel consumption of this powerful small engine and 0- 100 in how many seconds… =|

help.. help..
    should i go for new golf 1.4 TSI or 2nd hand golf GTI Mk5. which cost about the same 150K price mark

• The GTi is the iconic Golf. If you get this TSi, you’ll never stop looking at GTi’s, so just get the GTI :)

• azrul on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:00 pm

If you need a lot more fun, should go for Mk5. However, if you do mostly city driving, Mk5 is a waste. Plus, Mk5 GTI has a rather hard suspension. While it is fun, if you using it for daily ride to work, you’d sometimes wish for something more comfy. I’d personally go for 1.4 if I haven’t bought mine. Even with 1.4, you should have no problem cruising comfortably at 140/150 at highway…

• E Bear on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:09 pm

I think the 2nd hand models will have lots of wear n tear considering, these are sporty cars. No idea where they have been through.

If you choose the new one,you will need to live with the fact despite all power figures, it is a 1.4 lit.

• alldisc on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:27 pm

read within the lines… it is a 1.4 but the power output is 160PS (like Perdana V6) with torque output of 260Nm (like a 2.6 EFI engine) but flat peak from 1,500-4,500rpm (like a big diesel engine).

fuel consumption is really low (sumthing like a 1.3 engine) with exceptional exhaust emission level.

* i am not VW salesman…. thee hee hee :D

• HPperLTR on Sep 15, 2010 at 6:23 pm

bro, are you saying that you still live in 90’s when it come to engine displacement equal to amount of HP? and 7speed DSG is a fairytale?

• Tiadaid on Sep 15, 2010 at 7:25 pm

What’s wrong with a 1.4L engine? Cheaper road tax, but higher power. You get the best of both worlds!

• Tommy on Sep 17, 2010 at 2:48 am

You don’t know anything about “technology”… sad!

• White Jack on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:36 pm

This kind of car better buy new since it is same $$ from your pocket :)

• engdau on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:38 pm

Better buy new car 1.4 TSI. Small engine but having 2.0 natural aspirated engine’s torque. Cheap to maintain, less fuel consumption.

• highway04 on Sep 16, 2010 at 11:02 am

cheap to maintain??? u sure??? the parts r more turbo plus supercharged… hence more problem

• engdau on Sep 17, 2010 at 9:42 am

Dude, please open your eyes big enough to read this motoring articles on Golf 1.4 TSI

• phas3r on Sep 17, 2010 at 2:46 am

more like torque of 2.4L

• Philip J. Fry on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:01 pm

Check out the VW website for fuel consumption and 0-100 time:
      http://my.volkswagen.com/vwcms/master_public/virtualmaster/my/models2/golf_1_4/data_and_facts/technical_data.html

• zaff1984 on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:10 pm

the issue is new vs 2nd hand…

1) 5 years warranty with unlimited mileage vs No warranty
      2) 160PS vs 200PS
      3) the smell of the new car vs used one

its depends on your personal preference…but seriously please test drive both unit (1.4 and the gti first)

p/s if I have 150k may be i also asking the same question here… lol…

• Storm on Sep 15, 2010 at 11:45 pm

My opinion: buy new car. Everything new and smells new. No worry of engine problems, breakdown, leakings and whatnot. Not forgetting the look of shining paint of new car. Whatmore with warranty & maintenance free for some years.

A used GTI: bring back must first send for full service. Then send go polish and interior cleaning. Not long later, see got leaks on car porch in the morning. And the list goes on if you are unlucky.

Power wise, no doubt its GTI. But that’s only temporarily. I drive a 2.4litre car, yes the power is there. First 1 week very shiok main tekan. Tekan till 220kmh. But can only tekan at 1am on KESAS when going home. Now also don’t feel like tekan. Why? Cos in long run, not good for car. Somemore, our highways here got too many cars all the time, no chance to tekan. And honestly, how often do we really need those power!

My bet will be a new car.

• someone on Sep 16, 2010 at 1:32 am

you should visit vw malaysia website, all details are being provided there.

• I had that dilemma as well over the past 2 weeks. But I just closed my eyes and jumped into the deep end and ordered the Mk6 1.4 TSi. So now I’m just waiting for registration. Test drove both cars. For the Mk6 1.4, it’s powerful and the torque is there.

Basically that’s a new car you are getting and the interest rates for banks are lower than the Golf GTi Mk5 at that price. IN the long run, the Mk5 is much higher priced and higher maintenance if we look at the overall picture. Also most of the Mk5 would have been trashed out fully by the previous owners. Frankly, who would buy a car with such power and drive it like a grand-mother on the road. Hence maintenance of an older car would be more expensive and there’s no warranty.

As mentioned earlier, the Mk5 is a tougher/stiffer ride for everyday driving. Whereas the Mk6 is a much comfortable and silent ride for daily use. (Cross my fingers first before picking up the car and hopefully my new car has no issues). FYI for others this is not my 1st/daily used car……….. so I’m SAFE and I do not need a TOYOTA!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Hey people you can’t compare this car to a Perdana V6. I had a Perdana V6 before for 3yrs; bought brand new; & half the time the car was in the service centre/workshop. Almost every 6 mths I had to change a gearbox……… That’s a piece of crap………

• this car is like Pug 308 T, good car, but, with questionable after sales and reliability due to service center lousy work.

• Jimmy on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:07 pm

VW lah, Hyundai+Kia lah and so on, why don’t all of you supervise your dealers’ after-sale service. If they are not good, don’t give them a chance to distribute your cars, give it to UMW, UMW ya.

• Wondering on Sep 15, 2010 at 11:37 pm

Are you a Toyota salesman? Look at all your replies dude… Choose Camry la, Toyota service centre the best la… and now UMW… sigh… *facepalm*

• i am so fed up with toyota or umw
        i had an previous gen altis and my masterkey cannot open my own car,it only can open the boot….it was a “great” experience when my remote malfunction and i cannot enter my car and it was raining in cameron highland!..i sent to toyota,guess wat,the sales and the foreman told me i hv had the wrong key(how the hell i have the wrong key when they are the ones who gave me the key) and it is “meant” to be like that…

and my cousin who owns camry(previous gen),guess wat,he keep sending his cars bek to toyota and the problem never fixed.and when he finally took it out and on his way to work,his car suddenly cannot rev up and dead in the middle of road.so he send back again,same case,the salesman and foreman told him they change for him the new-gen-camry-parts,hence the car “SOMETIMES IT”S LIKE THAT”

different time,different salesman and foreman,different location of the SC,
        BUT the same BRAND!

thanks to toyota’s “GOOD” service…i love you!
        just sharing,no hard feelings :-)

• first thing to do is book first at least a week earlier n come on time……1 big malaysian prob r…not booking first, come late, don wan to ques…but want sc to serve them first…..if they do lousy work sent them back the car for repair n any other prob if u not puas hati..if proton they has mention it at their receipt..so no prob…people not read their right that has been stated there…or u test first before pay if they do lousy work don pay la..as easy as ABC…..

• The car so high-tech mechanic cannot catch up~

• I don’t believe this Golf TSi is using the BorgWarner built DSG unit. VW’s cheaper 7speed dry clutch DSGs are made by LuK Clutch Systems (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dual_clutch_transmission) and are meant for lower powered/torque model ranges. If you couldn’t tell the difference from the BorgWarner unit, then it must be pretty good as well!

• Paul Tan on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:09 pm

Thanks for pointing that article out… I will do some more research on this.

http://www.luk.de/content.luk.de/en/press/press-releases/press-details.jsp?id=2405783

• No worries mate. I always love a good technical review writeup, and this is a great one! Can’t wait for the new Polo GTi to hit our shores.

• droll on Sep 17, 2010 at 2:54 pm

something to think about.

http://www.autoblog.com/2007/12/21/vw-introduces-7-speed-dsg-on-euro-golf-and-golf-plus/

the 7 speed DSG has a maximum torque rating of 250nm (look at page 5). i think if you were to go ahead and APR this 1.4 TSI Golf, it may break the gearbox.

in the new polo gti, which uses the same 7 speed dry clutch DSG, the maximum torque the engine delivers is at 249nm. i think that number is there for a reason.

anyone care to try and APR their car?

• Tommy on Sep 17, 2010 at 2:51 am

There are 2 types of DSG, one is wet and the TSI one if maintenance free… dry clutch.

• handsome*dude on Sep 15, 2010 at 2:38 pm

if not meant for Hot hatch, this 1.4T is for comfort, then its fall the same category with PUG 308T ~

but this DSG far more better than the PUG ~

• Paul,

Could you please kindly advise:
    1. Maintenance interval for this car? 10K? 15?
    2. Fuel Consumption?
    3. Is it easy to maintain a turbo supercharged car? Is it true that this car is bound to have oil leak?
    4. Are the spare parts expensive as compared with Camry?

• Jimmy on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:09 pm

If you still care about spare part price, you better buy Camry. Of course if you care about after-sale service, then it is logical.

• klaka seram on Sep 17, 2010 at 5:23 pm

there u go, the toyota salesman has spoken..

• Is it true that the windscreen for the Camry costs in excess of RM3k at UMWT while the one for the Hyundai Sonata NF costs RM1k+ from Hyundai SD?

Please don’t spew nonsense here. PT readers are here because they are well-informed. If you want to solicit business, look for some cinapeks who don’t surf the Net.

• aduss on Sep 16, 2010 at 2:04 am

if you can bay this car, so no problm to mainten it..

• Facebook_User on Sep 17, 2010 at 5:14 pm

15 thou service interval – If I heard it right lah from my colleague

• Gan Kok Chi on Sep 15, 2010 at 2:51 pm

Great car! Great value! 5 years unlimited mileage warranty! European quality! What else can you ask for?

• blackbox on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:03 pm

I interior is just so grey. A little bit boring.

• It’s a german built car … like BMW, Merc and Audi … it tends to be a bit “dry” … but heck .. the built quality is superb and top-notch ….

What I really want to know is how is this compared to the Giulietta when it is brought in by Alfa Romeo (if it will ever come in)?

• Simon Har on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:12 pm

awesome car! can’t believe VW is offering it at such a low price.
    only 1 thing which doesn’t satisfy me is the styling, too bland and doesn’t stand out from the crowd :(

• Jimmy on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:10 pm

True, especially without moonroof.

• zaff1984 on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:17 pm

and may be because of it 1.4TSI..? VW want to differentiate the entry level golf and the GTi version… because the different almost RM50k….

if the styling made as good as the GTi version.. it will make the GTi owner mad…

• ladyguy on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:16 pm

Alot of reliability issues with the new 7 speed DSG in region like Taiwan,China and America, problems start occurring in less than 30,000KM. And the warranty Terms n Conditions r not very friendly, pls google for more info before u get this car.

• budleee on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:26 pm

bigger wheels, dramatic body kit, change of decals..

no one will know the difference

actually….normal people won’t really notice it anyway..

beside, I seen many golf gti on the road with their own choice of rims..

• i owns a mk5 gti and when it comes to after sales service, it really depends where you go and who you’re dealing with. i have no complain over maintenance, the technical person pretty much know everything. Winning point for VW is that they have alot of forum’s and really have alot of technical information… i believe if theres problem with the car, the europeans would be the 1st 1 to know. Reliability of the car is really depends on the driver… i have no major problem yet, “touch wood”. Just wear and tear and the most expensive service is Rm1.6k for a major service (60k km). Anyhow VW offers a 5 years warranty, which i think is a very good program for those who worry about the reliability.

• gainmore on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:34 pm

the mechatronic and sensor are one of most ‘fragile’ components in this DSG setup

to be more informed, pls click the link here,
    http://www.myturbodiesel.com/1000q/DSG-faq-VW-Audi.htm

more related news
    http://www.autoinsane.com/2009/08/28/news/recalls-tsbs/volkswagen-recalls-53300-new-vehicles-announces-service-program-to-address-dsg-complaints/

just a community service here for those who r not well informed :)

happy motoring.

• JasJos on Sep 15, 2010 at 6:19 pm

more info on this on singapore forum. I’m not trying to deter anyone from buying the car, as I’m sure there are lots of them running around without problems. Potential buyers should know what they are going for.

http://www.vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38554

http://www.vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38580

• hcgui on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:41 pm

If i remember correctly, i saw a total of 9 airbags instead of 7.
    2 for front
    2 for A pillars
    2 for B pillars
    2 for C pillars
    1 for driver’s knee

• Paul Tan on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:07 pm

I’m not sure how you are counting but here is the airbag count:

2 x front airbags
      2 x front side airbags
      2 x curtain airbags
      1 x driver knee airbag

• torque on Sep 15, 2010 at 6:41 pm

hcgui,

Hey bro, u can’t count like that!! All A, B and C pillars airbag r actually ONE. One curtain airbag. There’s 2 in the front, 2 curtain airbags, 1 driver knee airbag and 2 at the side seat just like Paul point out to u.

• hcgui on Sep 15, 2010 at 11:32 pm

oh okay, thanks for pointing out on how to count. haha. my car got only 1 driver’s airbag. so when i tested d new Golf 1.4TSI, i saw a total of 9 ‘airbag’ words so i thought there’s 9 in total. hehe.

• torque on Sep 16, 2010 at 4:06 pm

hcgui,

hey bro, no prob…that’s y we all here. To learn from each other and to exchange different opinion. We still learn even as we grew old. Happy motoring!

• Jimmy on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:47 pm

VW group produce the best cars, but then again this is Malaysia, to offer a sporty car at that price range without moonroof is a bit kedekut, isn’t it. For a person rich enough to buy it for fun, he definitely want the moonroof. He will not care about resale value (unlike buying Korean car ya), but what about the after-sale service?

• BobbyBalaz on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:55 pm

I personally drive a MK6 GTi. There’s been alot of talk about after sale service, & reliability. Let me just say that, it’s not always what it seems. I have had my car for 6months now, every issue & concern has been handled with an up most professional manner. My SA is a gem of a guy. And so is my Service Exec.

After sales service cost just as much as any car in it’s class would. service intervals are at 15,000km for European vehicles, where else other marquees comes in at a far less mileage. But I wont deny that parts for the VW marquee is rather on the pricey side. This is only because it isn’t as mature as other marquees yet. But even then, grey imports for these part are reasonable enough.

• Gavin on Sep 16, 2010 at 1:40 pm

6 months and what are the issues you already had?

how many times in the 6 months did you have to go to the SC?

• serious on Dec 06, 2010 at 8:32 am

this guy sounds like he’s working for some VW dealership lah that’s why no reply. SO obvious!

• alphamann on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:02 pm

Is this Golf 1.4TSI made-in-Pekan?

• alldisc on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:41 pm

no, not yet. its a CBU with VW reknowned quality.

• only 3 models to be assembled in Pekan by FY11 by DRB-Hicom.

1. Jetta
        2. Passat
        3. ANd another model which is not the golf

Now it’s all fully imported CBU

• trollbait on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:14 pm

Eh, where’s the radio antenna? Printed type like Vios?

• nabill on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:21 pm

luv this car,it deserves to sel more than wat it achieves now….probem is , alot of ppl compare price with that of a accord/camry…..

maybe VW msia need to do abit more prmotions and advertisments to educate and convince that the golf can be a replacement to those cars n customers should look beynond the price target

swesome car though

• this cannot be compare with camry nor accord.. is different class. no doubt toyota and honda hold better 2nd value and more like a bargain. Somehow for me this car does worth every cent paid for. Hot hatch, city driving and drivers car.. makes you smile when ever you press the throttle

• Facebook_User on Sep 15, 2010 at 7:51 pm

VW is indeed awesome.
      they own lots of companies.they r the epitome of an evil empire.hhHhhHhHaaahahaha…but apa pun,VW rocks

• Lordson on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:30 pm

Nice review Paul ! Anyone who interested pls look for me at Volkswagen Penang showroom just beside HL bank,pls let me know earlier for a test drive

• paul, actually there’s a phone icon button up there steering possible to explain what it functions? or perhaps have a full graph of the all steering button and switch etc function?

the tail light is not same as GTI led right?

• that is a add on module with bluetooth..

• is that mean we can make call/receive call with that button or something? whats the actual functionality of that button?

• bluetooth only for audio not for phone

• it works for phone, thats why theres 2 button on the steering wheel! the bluetooth is connected via the player which is an option to change in order for the button to work. 2 DIN player with touch sceen, dvd, gps, rear camera and all the good stuff.. and VW is selling very expensive!

• muse, u mean VW selling that player? how much would that be cost? 1 unit comes with touchscreen, dvd, gps, rear camera etc? any website or detail to view from?

• David on Sep 26, 2010 at 8:00 pm

bro, the unit with GPS and the Bluetooth connection would set is a whopping 17k!!

• That add on apparently doesn’t work. Caused I asked the same question when I went into VW to oder my car

• Then why the button is there for nothing?

• Display purposes only………. Apparently it doesn’t work in Malaysia but works in other EU countries

• GTI has the same tail lights. Golf R has nice LED based tail lights for the MK6 tho. Seen a few folks who have the Golf R tail lamps fitted on their MK6 GTI’s.

• Nice review. Any chance we’ll be getting one on the Polo, too?

Also, where were those pics taken? I see a Ford Fiesta hatchback parked at the side of the road in one of the pics.

• fort minor on Sep 15, 2010 at 5:02 pm

for me. i’m comparing the new VW range of cars as follows:

practical car for city usage: polo 1.2 vs golf 1.4
    similar in practicality and price range (but different size). for city driving, polo would be better i guess….

sports car: golf gti vs new scirocco (1.6 is it? i don’t remember)
    similar pricing, both are sporty, but one is more practical than the other….

my vote: polo for the wifey and scirocco for me (as all of these cars have rather small luggage capacity, i might as well go for the extremes, but need to keep the current sedan for the usual extended balik kampung trip.hehe )

my theory, asians love to balik kampung, that’s why we prefer sedan rather than a hatch. where to put all the durians in a hatch??lol …. ;p

• letstorque on Sep 17, 2010 at 11:14 pm

actually I quite agree with last sentence.I own a Volvo wagon/estate.My wife keep complaining when I carry some durians as the smell spread into passenger cabin.Even with boot cover in place.Same problem with Honda Jazz.
      I think better use sedan,or better still,use pick up to carry durian.

• tmsoo on Sep 29, 2010 at 10:10 am

If you bringing a durian, don’t think a sedan can separate the smells… durian smells very strong

• RAZMAN MAJID on Sep 15, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Thank You Paul.

Good comprehensive write up.

For those never owning Continental cars, my advise stick to Japanese Koreans Malaysian cars. Germans VW is best affordable at this moment, in Malaysia. VW is good reliable, best handling cars – a must own/ buy – quite comfortable too. Very much safe and sound as well.

Buy one and go long-distance traveling, forget about its resale value. Once you can afford VW Group Audi Brand, then change to Audi. What’s Lexus when you can afford Audi….

Efficiency and Safety is always on Germans mind, profitability comes later. Asians thinking otherwise, that’s why Asian Cars are as good as…. Good Luck!

Oh…… where’s my VW another brand, Q7?

• reuben how on Sep 17, 2010 at 8:36 pm

I am not attacking VW, but i am attacking common sense. When you say “good” and “reliable” do you have any data to back it up. Malaysians, please use that stuff between your ears.

• kita sukakereta on Sep 15, 2010 at 5:23 pm

Though it is smack bang in the Camry/Accord/Mazda6’s 2 litre territory, this VWgolf is of a different category. IMHO it will not compete directly with the aforementioned T/H/Ms but maybe cater to a new set of buyer demographics, something which is now emerging locally and which is not fully satisfactorily catered to presently. I hope VWM have surveyed n researched the local market thoroughly to identify existence of this new breed of Tech-savvy and drive enthusiasts. And VW should be warmly confident that this new breed market segment is indeed waiting out there for this kind of product offering. (I for one am really tempted as I currently have an MPV and an SUV in my driveway). A technologically advanced drive as the golf would be very interesting…. personally, IMO if VW added a discreet dash of executive taste, (e.g. driver only electric seats, wood trims sparingly applied…) it could seal it for me!!! :)
    happy reading fellas, cheers.

• shawal on Sep 15, 2010 at 6:17 pm

Excellent Review!!!
    Btw , how many choice of colors and rim (+rim colors) does VW offer..?

• http://my.volkswagen.com/vwcms/master_public/virtualmaster/my/models2/golf_1_4/features.html

8 colours and only 1 type of rims.

• Emailed VW Malaysia about delivery dates, here’s their reply.

“Thank you for your interest in the new Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI.

With regards to your inquiry, the delivery timeline for the new Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI will depend on your color selection and dealer stock availability.

Since you are interested in owning one, we would highly recommend that you to proceed to one of our authorized dealers to place a booking as soon as possible.

Thank you and best regards.”

• It doesn’t help at all. They could have just replied some estimations.

• pulge on Sep 15, 2010 at 8:58 pm

I saw a Fiesta in one of the pictures. Any local test drive review? Look forward to that. XD

• mirror mirror on Sep 15, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Better wait till next year to buy a VW, looks like they have after sales service problems now. In the meantime can also wait to see the new Volvo S60.

• ramlidin on Sep 15, 2010 at 9:01 pm

Fantastic and detailed write-up Paul. Thumbs up to you !!
    After reading this article on the advancement in engine technology
    it made me wonder why the hell did Proton turn down the opportunity
    to work with VW.
    Anyyway its history now and just hope that the DRB Pekan assembly models
    will be competitively priced.
    Was reading an article which mentioned that
    MITI will only allow 1.8 lt models to be assembled here so it looks like
    we will not enjoy the anticipated re-badged GTI’s and Golf ‘s.

• reuben how on Sep 15, 2010 at 9:48 pm

i think that this site should present just the pros and cons but sometimes i feel that this site is being paid off by the car manufacturers. Are you kidding ? Twin forced induction ? On a small 1.4 litre engine ? Expect massive bills after 3 years. Nevermind, you paid a bomb in the first space so you should have plenty of money left…

• Paul Tan on Sep 15, 2010 at 9:59 pm

Right… And I suppose the professional way to write a review is to randomly speculate about big maintenance bills without any basis!

You are just another one of those who will criticize and baselessly accuse anyone who doesn’t write something that agrees with your opinion of being biased or paid off.

I am not going to speculate on the longevity of the engine but lets look at the facts: What has the displacement of the engine have to do with anything? The block is iron and you can use forged components for the internals to withstand the higher pressures. It’s called technology.

• Wo hen wuliao on Sep 15, 2010 at 10:10 pm

just ignore him paul he just like another person like what in malay called’ Katak bawah tempurung’…

• Facebook_User on Sep 16, 2010 at 10:37 am

Yes Brader,well said

• GOLF TSi Owner on Sep 17, 2010 at 2:56 am

I own this car…….. wouldn’t agree more with Paul Tan’s pros and cons on his review

Well Reuben it should be “In the first place” and not in the first SPACE!!! If you can’t afford a VW then pls do not insult VW lovers.

After 3 yrs what cars do not have massive maintenance bills……even Proton’s have it…….

• kaminski on Sep 15, 2010 at 10:15 pm

I disagree with your point about this site being paid off by some manufacturers, why is that some Malaysians pepper their comments with envy or a sense of petty jealousy.
      This site in my opinion does present the pros and cons on vehicles that they personally test, and one last thing, if you think the site sucks or whatever then why bother reading and then commenting?
      As for further down the line in the engine reliability stakes, this engine will be like any other out there, some will be fine others will encounter issues.Depends on what “must have like my mate mods” people install, depends on how people drive the car etc etc yada yada.

• reuben how on Sep 17, 2010 at 8:30 pm

That is exactly the point. Malaysia is a third world country and with a third world mentality. The reason i am commenting is not for personal profit, which is why i am putting an effort in commenting on the quality of the site. No, i am sorry but engine reliability really differs between manufacturers. This data is easily accesible on the internet, and is almost always impossible to ignore. There is “best in class” performance (eg. Honda’s VTEC with near zero warranty claims in the first three years, source: WARRANTY DIRECT, united kingdom) and then there’s volkswagen which scores average for their reliability. If i was a reviewer like Paul Tan, then of course i would present this data when writing a review. Of course, this is his blog, and that’s his right whether to ignore data when doing a write up. If he is a journalist worth his salt, then he would not be in Malaysia. He would have migrated.

• Paul Tan on Sep 17, 2010 at 9:57 pm

Your last sentence is quite amusing.

Anyway I appreciate your advice and perhaps in future reports I will look into something like this. But your tone is seriously condescending, i am presuming you have successfully emigrated and have left all of us here “not worth our salt” in Malaysia.

Also, i don’t believe it is accurate to use a manufacurer-wide rating for a story about a specific model.

• Duo clutch on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:03 am

Not sure who run warranty direct, who know they also bias? just my opinion, do you really believes near zero claim?? even so, look back where we are. does it mean near zero claim for Malaysia Honda as well? this i can assure you no! at least. is good for ref but not for benchmark.

• xavier lert on Sep 18, 2010 at 9:49 am

who are you?

• losantara on Sep 20, 2010 at 12:31 am

Honestly I do feel that this site is paid by car manufacturers for advertisement but I don’t think there is anything wrong with that! But I think this Paul Tan fella is still better than most car magazines in his comment. I have quited buying Malaysian car magazines because I feel that they are really very BIASED. Yes I still read a few Singapore car magazines.

After I read Paul Tan comment on the Chevrolet Cruze, honestly I would never considering that car after Paul Tan described the car as ‘underpower’. I think he really GOT GUTS to comment in this manner if he is really paid by Chevrolet. And brave comment like this wil continue to put PaulTan.org as the number 1 car site in this country.

Mentioning about migration, I think if you are not really a loser, why considering migrate? LOSERS SHOULD SERIOUSLY CONSIDERING MIGRATE BUT NOT WINNERS ! This Paul Tan fella is and will continue be a winner trust me.

• Ash Menon on Sep 26, 2010 at 12:10 am

Wow, that was seriously offensive. If you don’t like his journalism that much, leave.

On a side note, Paul, may I congratulate you on being one of the few bloggers I know who aren’t afraid to talk rough to haters.

• Alpha on Sep 15, 2010 at 10:34 pm

Are you a fortune teller??If so,why don’t u open your own site and tell us the longetivity of EACH AND EVERY engine.I really appreciate this site for what they’ve done.BOO YOU!!

P/S – I’m looking forward to your fortune-telling blog.

• reuben how on Sep 16, 2010 at 8:40 pm

No, i am not in the fortune telling business. I have used google, however. And, more surveys are coming out each year which analyzes reliability and total cost ownership. Of course, the situation in Malaysia would have differences, but some of the data would still be applicable.

• protonSux on Sep 16, 2010 at 11:26 pm

excuse me , volkswagen is a German car manufacturer who makes their car seriously , unlike some company who throws a 1.6 litre engine in an MPV . They are proffesionals at what they do and they do it with perfection . And the age limit of a car for what I feel is around 5 – 10 years , after that , which car will not need maintainence … Adding on , many people now buy car due to resale value , no offence , but my point of view of buying a car really is to love looking at it and driving it ….Why buy a car when u think that ” oh this car doesn’t look that good , but if i sell it later on i still get some of my money back ” .. This way , how will anyone get the joy of loving a car ?

• which company? what mpv? have you calculated the hp ? power weight ratio? even 1.3 litre mpv also got la, haih

• Joshua on Apr 07, 2011 at 3:50 am

why so stress? dont like meh dont buy loh~

• do you actually own a car? do you even have a driving license? or are you just another spotty punk in his room, plotting to take over the world right after yo’ mama finished feeding you the greens and you successfully trolled another status update on that facetube thingy?

• RadzLee on Sep 15, 2010 at 11:05 pm

WTH? Boooo!~

• Kevin on Sep 16, 2010 at 11:07 am

I guess this guy is only exposed to kelisa turbo or kancil turbo, where more boost = vastly lower engine life.

If engines are designed for turbo from ground up, then it would have much stronger internals. Hence, no worries about turbo and engine life as long as u service properly, and use proper engine oil, just like any regular car.

My smart roadster( came stock with garrett turbo ) runs on 1.5 bar boost pressure for years now. If that is a stock internals kelisa or satria running 1.5 bar, bet the lifespan is measured in days.

• leonard on Sep 22, 2010 at 3:00 pm

Ur smart roadster is original come with turbo kit. Can’t even compare kelisa / kancil bolt on turbo. My kelisa with YRV 1.3 Turbo (K3vet) is good running condition even i boost to 1.8 bar. And i drove it almost 3 year still can beat it.

• Jimmy on Sep 16, 2010 at 10:04 pm

I guess RH likes to spend thousands of ringgit doing charity. Congrats you ya.
      By the way, there were lots of articles here that were not paid by the industries. If you were the owner of this website, I think you will be even worse in handling the articles/reviews. If something is good, say so. Don’t try to be outstanding this way. Ke Kiang, you think you are better than VW engineerSSS? You MAY NOT be even someone who handle car structures or engines day in and day out.

• Tommy on Sep 17, 2010 at 3:01 am

Do you know TSI engine can easily be tune up to 190bhp? That’s called technology and engineering…

• Muddy on Sep 15, 2010 at 10:26 pm

Can’t agree more with you Paul. You just do best, ignore the ninkompood!!!
    Btw, any review soon on Scirocco 1.4 TSI?

• John Doe on Sep 15, 2010 at 10:55 pm

Fabric seats seriously make the interior look cheap. For that kind of pricing, at least throw in a good leathers seats to compliment the interior.

VMW should be pricing the car sub RM140K to attract the D-segment buyers. As it is, lots of people will still find it difficult to pay RM15K more for a car one class smaller than what is widely available for other brands..

• Tommy on Sep 17, 2010 at 2:56 am

You should try that seat before commenting, quality is higher than the normal leather.

If anyone can afford $130K civic, this is 10X better with only 30K more, in terms of loan, add 100, no big deal…

Then the performance, sweet! You can easily tune this car to 190bhp with another 3K, I can’t think of anything more value for money.

• hafiz on Dec 01, 2010 at 3:37 pm

tommy, seriously ? this 1.4TSI can be tuned up to 190bhp ? :O

woww. i didn’t know that. ehehh.

• Ash Menon on Sep 26, 2010 at 12:21 am

Really? I think leather seats would look kinda awkward, considering all the other surfaces are matte grey plastic. Personal opinion, though, and slightly biased, as I’m not too fond of leather seats.

I agree with your points about the pricing. The Malaysian car-buying audience still looks to the “family points”, i.e. space, fuel consumption, maintenance costs, resale value when looking at models, and sadly this mentality has been extended to cars like the Golf, Fiesta, and Scirocco. “Drive points” like handling, performance, suspension, NVH are still considered, but as a second tier.

VW’s going to have a challenge on it’s hand marketing this car here. Hopefully they manage to do something successful though! Not only is this a fantastic car, but it’d go a long way towards shaking up some old-school beliefs here in bolehland.

• Anwar on Sep 15, 2010 at 10:59 pm

I own Mk6 GTI and recently I test drive the Golf 1.4 TSI. I wish I own the 1.4 TSI due to its quietness, comfort, full-size spare tire, and the extra 7th gear. When cruising on the highway, even within speed limit, the GTI is noisy and bumpy – its COMFORT setting is never comfortable. Also, engine rev at 6th gear is not really low, about 2,700 rpm at 110km/h. I can’t really enjoy the audio system at cruising speed. It gets worse at higher speed.

Golf TSI comes with cruise control and Media/USB interface, which are missing in GTI.

Golf TSI gives the right balance between power/performance and comfort/refinement. 8.0s to 100km/h is pretty impressive actually. Based on VW spec, fuel consumption for Golf TSI is really good, much better than GTI where I can get 12-16km/L for highway and 8-10km/L for town driving, depending on how aggressive I am.

• VW_fan on Sep 15, 2010 at 11:48 pm

Both cars are catered to different market segments. My family complains that they get sick in the back seat after a while in the GTI. But I still like the car and the FC is actually very good for its power output compared to my other turbo car. The 1.4 is brilliant as a family car with a bit of poke. Depends on what you want.

My only grouse with VW is that they don’t stock enough parts.

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 16, 2010 at 4:05 am

Perhaps you could buy a second Golf? lol

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 16, 2010 at 4:06 am

also i think there would be people who wouldn’t mind trading in their brand new Golf 1.4TSI for a used Golf GTi

• Anwar on Sep 16, 2010 at 12:56 pm

I may buy the 1.4 TSI Golf for my wife

BTW, correction for the engine rev. Golf GTI revs at 2,800 rpm for 120km/h cruising while Golf TSI only at 2,400rpm.

• phas3r on Sep 17, 2010 at 9:29 am

the louder sound from the GTI is from the exhausts

• RadzLee on Sep 15, 2010 at 11:03 pm

Paul,

nice explaination regarding the technical things. very helpful for me since im quite new to this forum and automotive scene.

i oso interested with the Scirocco 1.4 TSI (golf design just doesn’t suit my taste). will u do a review about it too? im guessing it will be quite on par with this golf 1.4 if not better.

i hope that u can summarize the pros and cons at the end of the review. it will be quite convenient.

Congrats & thanks for the review!

• nabill on Sep 15, 2010 at 11:17 pm

jus curios , how come there is no picture of the engine bay?

and why is there a red marking on the 30 and 60km/hr on the speedometer?what does it indicate ?

• alldisc on Sep 16, 2010 at 2:30 pm

30kph is a speed reminder at school area while 60kph is speed limit for city drives. it is a euro standard.

so should a collision occured in the city/school area as a result of overspeeding VW should not be blamed for. thee hee.. :D

* i dont design VW cars.

• hooray on Sep 16, 2010 at 12:03 am

This car is really desirable….really hope to own one before I die. But as a typical 30 something family man, I still think Camry or Accord is a safer bet for my 150k.

VW still cannot convince me on the reliability, maintanance cost, resale value and parts availability. Probably they never target for people like me but much more richer customer segment.

Wish to read comments from readers who are approching midlife crisis like me owning a Golf like to share his experience…………

• BeemerFreak on Sep 16, 2010 at 8:34 pm

Erm, dont worry so much about what others say. I pushed most of my savings on a brand new Scirocco, and a year later I have not stop enjoying my car. Everytime i park it at home, i would open the window to take a look at it to make sure no one gets close. While having dinner at a restaurant, people would take a look at my car parked outside it while ognoring others. Me too is in my 30s, and that doesnt mean i need a camry or accord. Buy what u think ur heart likes, not with ur brain, because ultimately u dun feel with ur brains, but with ur heart.

• hooray on Sep 16, 2010 at 11:30 pm

haha thanks for the sharing, ‘feel with your heart not your brain’….well said

• psychoblade on Sep 16, 2010 at 12:45 am

i prefer scirocco~

=)

• rossi46 on Sep 16, 2010 at 1:20 pm

if u don’t have family…go ahead, this is for normal family man who needs 4 doors

• Greatdrive on Sep 16, 2010 at 2:09 am

This car is really good. Test drove one and loved it instantly. Feels better to drive than most European cars, better to drive than the Pug 308 or Ford Focus.

Lets not even compare with Japanese cars – as currently, no Japanese car can match its performance, drive, feel, excitement etc.

.. and by the way, the issue of VW After Sales service is mostly made up by disgruntled buyers of a previous VW dealer. VW Malaysia has terminated the services of the dealer. So should be ok, now!

• thank you for the review paul…looking forward for the next one…

• The rear reminds me of 1st Gen Satria and i wonder why Japanese car don’t design their engine like VW (same displacement with high output)

• melisale on Sep 16, 2010 at 9:36 am

some experts mentioned that it’s due to the fact that “mid-long term reliability” is jap manufacturer main engineering priority.

• U mean to say VW engine will not be lasting?

• littlefire on Sep 17, 2010 at 11:01 am

I dont have issue wif my father old VW beetle.. It still can be droven from 70’s until now the same old flat-4 engine without even using water radiator (Air-cooled!).. Somemore the spare parts are still available around the world..

• This car is selling for US$20k in the states. So much different here….no wonder we are perpetually a slave to the banks

• bukapintubayartol on Sep 16, 2010 at 10:42 am

Paul,
    One of your best articles in a long time. Probably the best review of the Golf 1.4TSI anywhere. But i cannot be sure… cant read German. :)

• alldisc on Sep 16, 2010 at 2:34 pm

dont be too pesimistic!! i think anyone can read German – even you my friend, without understanding a single word.

just like me!! but dont worry, paultan to the rescue with his great articles!!

• highway04 on Sep 17, 2010 at 10:08 am

nah…its a bias review to me thou….keep repeating the ‘ea111’ (about 7 times) and keep boasting about the number of the engine output… like he is the engineer or the engine… kind of annoying 2 me…

• Paul Tan on Sep 17, 2010 at 10:49 am

I took extra time to explain how the engine works Because there are still many users who don’t understand that these days engine displacement has nothing to do with power output anymore. The rest, you are free to have your own opinions :)

• RunnerUp on Sep 20, 2010 at 8:11 am

i think it’s more annoying to read silly comments like “RM150K for just 1.4”.
        it’s obvious that these people didn’t read the whole article despite the efforts put in by the author.

• torres on Sep 16, 2010 at 10:49 am

I own a BMW b4. In term of built i feel VW is better built than BMW.I dun tink accord or camry their resale value is good either. Once u drive a european car u wont even wanna look at japs car anymore. No doubt japs car r more reliable.

• mmghazali on Oct 15, 2010 at 2:48 am

You’re so right Torres. Once u drive a european car u wont even wanna look at japs car anymore. I can’t afford a new golf but my trusty renault kangoo still gives me goosebum when I drive it around.

• it’s a bloody good car. Booked last month, getting it next week, only to test drove it yesterday. ahaha. To my surprise, GTi n 1.4 has got only fraction of differences. the engine was very pacey n torquey. Fuel consumption is very low as u go to 90kmh, it’s already in it’s 7th gear. suspension setup is towards comfort unlike gti which has stiff setup. The only thing buruk bout the car is the rim. they should have brought in with an inch bigger rims.hehe. warranty can claim easily. If u’re good to ur SA,surely no prob. it’s 2 year manufacturer’s warranty+3 years allianz insurance warranty. 5 years of unlimited claim except for wear n tear. was told by SA happens to be a family fren.

• ik
      we in the same boat, I also book last month and test drive it only today ! my car already at Sales centre so it will be couple of days for jpj, insurance and predelivery inspection.
      Can’t really test power of engine due traffic condition.

• RAZMAN MAJID on Sep 17, 2010 at 6:13 pm

Yak

Bought my wife VW Cross Polo 1.6Auto 6speed last year and we’ve done 24,000km traveling Penang in 2-3hours uphill downhill cornering safe and sound. 6 airbags wont take your life in this VW; last week tested VW Passat 360. Goodness at RM250K, its just nice for other wife car. handling and performance is simply best, next to Audi TT and/or Merc!

Camry 2.4 just cannot lah…. quiet like in coffin but its just not like a car, that’s all.

• highway04 on Sep 16, 2010 at 8:58 pm

sounds like a SA to me

• aiyo highway04…it’s an honest comment n ur bashing is baseless. go try this car n u’ll appreciate it la bro. i can say this bcoz there r accord,camry,beemer n merc in stable already. got extra quid,go for this car rather than japs. SA anytime can get business without even logging into this forum la. yak,haffun with ur car.

• highway04 on Sep 17, 2010 at 10:00 am

bukan bashing la… the way u comment give me a feel of SA only… but i do agree wif u about the rims^^…

• Lim Kopi on Sep 17, 2010 at 5:13 pm

ik …
      the GTI has selectable comfort mode now lar with DCC which works pretty well, no longer stiff like u probably think in the Mk 5 … so go test 1st before u comment la :)

• Henry on Sep 16, 2010 at 11:57 am

I am looking forward to the Polo GTi which comes with the same engine. The power to weight ratio would be awesome.

• phas3r on Sep 17, 2010 at 9:27 am

same engine, but the pologti produces 180PS and 250Nm which is more than this 1.4. will surely be helluva car

• nomar on Sep 17, 2010 at 2:34 pm

was told by sales manager when I went to see my Golf that Polo Gti will be detuned…maybe about same PS with Golf 1.4Tsi, of course with the advantage of lighter body !

• rossi46 on Sep 16, 2010 at 1:18 pm

The Golf TSI drives very much like how a turbodiesel engine would feel, but it is way more free revving and sounds much better.
    ———————————————————————————————————————
    Honda/Toyota ..and all Japs, pls read the above and learn… instead of bringing your typical Honda/Toyota..japs car of fantastic build quality but gutless engine. When will the Japs engineers figure people don’t give a toss about F1 inspired, rev happy engines. For everyday use people want torque, at low revs. Turbo petrol or diesel, get with the program.(get real..REAL world driving)

• Wondering how would the resale value for this car. Camry seems to have very good resale value. A 3 yr old Camry can still fetch around RM100K…

I reckon that this is a good car. But I do have many questions in my mind like reliability, spare parts and after sales support. Not that it is a fair comparison with Camry but they fall under the same price range.

• alldisc on Sep 17, 2010 at 12:17 pm

is it really like that?

for a 3 years old camry losing 40K over 3 years (for 2.0 spec) is like average figure to me. nothing outstanding of its 28% depreciation.

worst still if its a 2.4 camry and losing 40% value (from 165K to 100K) over the same period. maybe its better than a Volvo S60 or Hyundai Sonata but to classify it as VERY GOOD VALUE is a little exaggerating.

dont get me wrong, i am bashing anyone here. its just my 2 cents.

• alldisc on Sep 17, 2010 at 12:18 pm

not bashing. not bashing. apology for typo error. the correct sentence should be

dont get me wrong, i am NOT bashing anyone here. its just my 2 cents.

• Alamak on Sep 17, 2010 at 2:23 pm

A 3 year old previous generation VW Golf Gti mk5 can still fetch 150k. Do a search on classifieds to see the high resale value of VW cars.

• handsome*dude on Sep 16, 2010 at 2:23 pm

right now, this is one of the very very few conti car that has a good resell value other than those boring toyota ~~

GOLF with TSI engine and DSG~~ a very good car to own~!!! many of us will sacrifice the needs of a sedan boot to go for this hot hatch~~

it change the perception of our long time feeling of how owning a car should be…

Paul Tan like Golf a lot, so his report on this is so detail~~ editor sure has a bit bias ~~ but its no his fault, its bcos is the GOLF is too good to make everyone love it~~

• Bought golf gti 6 months ago if this car were there 6 months ago, it would have been my choice. Would have saved 60K and gone for a holiday. Marvelous car, quieter comfortable, very good pick-up, hardly any turbo lag. Unlike golf gti very easy to drive during heavy traffic jam. I hate leather seats, very uncomfortable for our weather.

Of course it is not a sports car so please test it as what it is designed for.

• Just got back from VW showroom at Jalan 222. Was told only ONE unit left, white in colour. Next batch maybe November, delivery in early December.

Christmas presents anyone? :D

• Lucky I booked mine at VW @TTDI a few days ago,…….. hahahahaha…….. now waiting for JPJ and other procedures…..

I think they might still hv a few units left.

Service of the sales execs are good…… except for a few rotten apples…… LoL

• Would they still bring in a batch in November? Normally hard to get rid of cars at year-end due to the loss of one year in registration.

If you want to get the car … and you can wait (not urgent requirement) … maybe it would be better to wait for the 2011 batch due in March.

• BMW M-Problem on Sep 16, 2010 at 5:17 pm

test drove 1,4 TSI and GTI it is a shame it does not come in 6 Speed Manual.
    The reliability of DSG is questionable. Just google DSG problem and you will be suprised. There was even a recall in US on DSG… Better stick to tried and tested manual GB….unfortunately on available in Aus, UK, and US.

DSG is good technology however not proven yet…..Maybe wait for Jap to come out then see how…..

• alldisc on Sep 17, 2010 at 12:25 pm

DSG is a proven technology that made VW and Audi winners in racing like Le Mans endurance and British Touring Car Championship.

now that the DSG patent license has expired, many and many manufacturers are coming up with their own version of DSG,

• AntiEvil on Sep 16, 2010 at 5:19 pm

Dated exterior design… better off getting a 2nd hand BMW or Audi than a Rabbit

• Citroen DS3 on Sep 16, 2010 at 6:36 pm

Say What?! dated? this is the new body bro…

• Citroen DS3 on Sep 16, 2010 at 6:38 pm

Sorry.. didnt finish.. anyway.. this is the new MK6 body bro… only release last year.. what you talking dated? Beemer only dated la,.. facelift here and there abit only…

• its the Malaysian sedan-bias talking. All hatches look like Charades and therefore “dated”. Its just like whites saying Asians all look the same. If the general Malaysian would be more interested in hatches, they would surely pick out differences in styling.

• phas3r on Sep 17, 2010 at 9:24 am

yes, golfs are never meant to look to striking. especially as this is only equipped with the small 16″.

• alldisc on Sep 17, 2010 at 12:28 pm

VW cars are design to be similar between each generation. example Golf Mk6 is similar to Mk5, but not Mk3.
            while Mk4 is similar to Mk3. its planned like that as part of marketing strategies preventing a huge drop of value when all new model is introduced.

• anoymous on Sep 16, 2010 at 6:20 pm

really interested to know its reliability???i own a super march turbo + supercharger before..not a very friendly experience…Working next to a supermarche car tuning shop, i do know GTI DSG is kind of reknown in the industry for its DSG “reliability”…even a prominent minister brought in his GTI within 6 months of bought due to DSG problems…wonder why he have no balls to return to VW service centre…

• BMW M-Problem on Sep 17, 2010 at 9:38 am

Bro.. Google DSG Problem and see the result….many unhappy owners around the world…. still unproven technology…sad…. good car a let down by GB. UK owners are lucky cos have 6 MT option….

My experience with DSG is it takes away the fun out of driving….the car controls u and not you control the car… When you try the first time it is fun but after awhile it feels like a auto…
      Even when you downshift with brake pedal pressed it will blip the throttle for you.
      You don’t have to heel n toe…where is the driving involvement ?.

What we need is real 6MT gearbox with clutch pedal with Auto function
      Not the other way around… This will be the next wave to replace manual gearbox.
      DSG does not replace manual GB.

• BMW M-Problem on Sep 17, 2010 at 4:20 pm

I missed the comment made by Paul…. DSG is the future of Automatic transmission.
        I have to agree…. It is more closer to Auto than an actual manual GB…

• I currently own a 3 year-old honda fd2. in a month’s time it will be traded-in for this car. while the honda is a good car, i found that it fails to provide me with that little bit of driving excitement. plus its so-so build quality + below-average rolling refinement have put a dent into the overall ownership experience.

I test drove the golf last week and was stunned by its combination of real-driving performance, ride comfort and refinement. during the short test drive, i found myself with huge grin plastered across my face as the shorter wheelbase allows the car to be more agile through corners and giving it full throttle mid-corner resulted in some ‘fun’ oversteer moment. luckily the electronics what-nots were there to keep everything in check. while the primary ride is a bit firm, the secondary ride is supple enough to absorb bumps and ruts on the road. its long list of features also shame many japanese competitors.

will my opinion change after three years owning the car? maybe, but that is what progress of technology does to you. maybe electric car will kick off big time here, and you can have 400NM torque at 0rpm and range of 1000km. and you can bet your bottom dollar there’l be doubters saying the battery won’t last and you should stick to your internal combustion engine. to this people, i’ll say it’s your loss.

• Danny on Sep 17, 2010 at 1:23 am

Me too own civic but not 8gen, it was 7 gen civic ET, quite a fast car compare to other 2.0 NA sedan (0-100km/hrs only need 8.7sec), but the NVH level are so disappointed!
      Still not yet test drive this 1.4 tsi, S.A informed me on available test drive by end of this month, hope it can meet my expectation ! : -)

• alldisc on Sep 17, 2010 at 12:50 pm

hm, you havent experience the launch control yet… its like F1 – rocketing you from standstill at neck breaking speed.

not advisable to do everyday laa… once a year maybe ok. or else, DSG clutch can bakar pre-maturely. but the fun is there. i dont think there is any car at 150-200K other than golf capable of launch control acceleration.

• fandango on Sep 16, 2010 at 10:38 pm

Test drove the car this morning at jalan 222…man, if only i can afford it…it is such a refined and responsive car. It is truly an amazing car, no wonder it was awarded world car of the year recently, if I’m not mistaken. NVH was excellent, ride and handling inspiring, and the car accelerates with such aplomb that it’s hard to notice how fast you’re going unless you take a quick peek at the speedo. Comment of the day? My seven-year old, who was in the back seat, said, “Pa, if you do buy this car, I will explode with joy”. :)

• chriscym on Sep 16, 2010 at 11:36 pm

test drove this on monday, just love it but isnt it a poor man’s GTI? the acceleration is very nice… tempted to trade in my Vios for this. Just finish the 5 years installment but I don’t think I want to commit another 5 or 7 years installment for this car… perhaps I would invest in property, let the gain to buy this car.. hmm not bad idea eh :)

• Lim Kopi on Sep 17, 2010 at 2:45 am

DEAR ALL

No doubt this is a good german car with wonderful technology…

BUT – it is still just a C segment car with a D segment pricetag …

So I’d try to rationalise if I was going to buy one and then call it a good buy.

The next Ford Focus will likely have this sort of drivetrain , ie twin clutch and turbocharged engine, but I sure don’t think it shall be priced like a Mondeo…

Just Think …

• fandango on Sep 17, 2010 at 10:41 am

well if the new Focus can offer something as tantalising as the Golf and price it much closer to the likes of Civics and Altises, then I’ll be the first one on the queue…:)

• Lim Kopi on Sep 17, 2010 at 5:07 pm

well apparently the new focus can offer something similar :

http://www.autocar.co.uk/News/NewsArticle/AllCars/246327/

• VW…For the love of cars….
    Forget everything else…..just buy and enjoy the car…

I owned a Golf R32….
    Loving it everyday….

• amirad on Sep 17, 2010 at 10:21 am

As much as I would love to have this car, I will only make a decision once I have test drive the new focus next year hopefully. Not really in a rush to get a new car but reading all these posts about the golf tsi really gets my hearts pounding and palms sweaty. I’ve been eyeing these two cars for quite some time now.

• chris on Sep 17, 2010 at 10:59 am

I test drove the Golf a few weeks back and this had me wondering..

The test unit had quite a bit of road noise, especially when sitting at the back. You don’t hear it that much if you’re in front driving though… did they rectify this? Better sound proofing or change of tyres, perhaps? Everything else like the engine, even the signal ‘tick’ is pretty much ‘quiet’ / ‘silent’.

Looking forward to the Polo test drive (and the Polo review from you).

• Danny on Sep 17, 2010 at 11:12 am

ILL WAIT FOR THE CKD VERSION. AFTER THE KILANG IN PLANT IS BUILT. MAYBE THE PRICE AROUN 120

• Robert88 on Sep 17, 2010 at 10:08 pm

hmm, so far i havent see any CKD < 1.5L engine except P1/P2..

just wondering whether VW's CKD can using 1.4L or not..

• scgtimk1 on Sep 20, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Suzuki Swift 1.5 is CKD assembled in Pekan

Inokom (Hyundai) Getz 1.4 is CKD in Kulim

Naza (Peugeot) 206 Bestari is CKD in Gurun

Please do some search and learn before making comments.

• For ppl who are comparing the GT to accord/camry, its like comparing apples to oranges, the GT is meant to cater to a whole different market segment and not to the chinese uncles who buy the camry

The GT will cater to the new segment of educated middle class, who dun have a fanatical loyalty to T/H, worry less about resale value, and want to be happy with what they are driving…but cant quite stretch to get a GTI or 3 series

The GT fabric seats are excellent quality, and actually will last longer and look better then leather seats. I had a Mk5 GTI, and the leather was so-so, i would have preferred the very chic fabric seats that the GT comes with

If u are looking for a GT, i would recommend getting the current batch with light and sound…the HID’s alone are worth it already, they look great compared to the normal lights

• David on Sep 17, 2010 at 2:36 pm

I own a Golf GTI MK6 and it’s lovely… very lovely..

Maintenance wise, every interm service costs about RM 700-800 for air filter, engine oil and etc. (alignment, oil fiter, balancing)

Just engine oil change is about RM 200-300+, haven’t reached the milage to change DSG oil (wet clutches)

Bigger service costs about RM 1k+

Best of all 5 years warranty.. which covers gearbox and engine (impt parts!)

• alldisc on Sep 17, 2010 at 9:24 pm

15,000km = RM800 per service.

for normal car with 5,000km service schedule the average cost is RM800 ÷ 3 = RM270.

cheap and reasonable while saving owner valuable hours to spend at service centres. eat that proton/perodua.

• tigana on Nov 22, 2010 at 12:23 pm

OMG please dun bring proton/perodua here. Not only the $$ is high but after dealing with their service center people you will swear never to get a proton/perodua again.

• BobbyBalaz on Sep 17, 2010 at 5:41 pm

Wow, amazing- 215 comments in just 3days. Be it haters or lovers, this car/post is generating stupendous amount of attention. Nice one Paul.

• Dr.Mamak on Sep 17, 2010 at 7:11 pm

Conclusion:

Overpriced for 1.4L.

Tunggu ckd model la.

• phas3r on Sep 18, 2010 at 7:58 am

1.4 in name only. ain’t nothing 1.4 about how it goes.

• Manny on Sep 19, 2010 at 10:52 am

They’re not having a CKD version of the cars they’re selling as CBU, makes no sense, they’d be losing money that way. Makes no sense financially for VW Malaysia to do so.

• handsome*dude on Sep 17, 2010 at 9:02 pm

Seriously, GOLF design is not that attractive (except for those die hard fans will love it always) compare to other hot hatch out there ….

e.g. Citroen DS4, Renault Megane coupe~

but under the skin, it’s rock and truly hot blood~~!~~! that’s how its win driver’s heart!~

• paparazi on Sep 17, 2010 at 11:21 pm

this great car, really wanted to own (if could go for GTi),
    but monthly need to pay at least RM1300 or above + every 15,000KM service RM800….
    dam annoying.

• torres on Sep 17, 2010 at 11:34 pm

How annoying? Normal japs car u need 2 go service 3 times and wit euro car oni once. Japs car service ard RM200-300 every 5000km.If u really do ur calculation properly actually does save u alot, u save PETROL/TIME/TOL MONEY if u need to pass one.lolzz

• paparazi on Sep 18, 2010 at 12:07 am

torres, are you owned a euro car now? which brand? could share some experience.
        Anyone who booked could advise about bank loan? 9 years? monthly exact payment?

• torres on Sep 18, 2010 at 1:18 am

Hi paparazzi, yes i owned a BMW Z4 before.Been driving tis car for 3yrs and the most expensive service i had is RM800+ and not to mention my car is 2.5cc.Y it cost so much becoz i do change some parts like brake pads etc.I do the service every 10000KM.After all u buying a new car so part is no worries coz VW offer 5yrs warranty.Coz mine i bought it recond.I tink installment should be ard RM1500-1700 if u take 100% loan and 9yrs repayment.

• Yoong Tofu on Sep 18, 2010 at 8:32 pm

your car is 2.5cc – toy car ka? wakakaka

• masda on Sep 20, 2010 at 12:27 pm

Mazda gives 3 years of free service including parts and labour. Toyota and Honda can extend service intervals to 10,000km if owners use fully synthetic oil instead of mineral oils. For Euro makes that claim 15,000km per interval, be prepared to do engine desludging/decarbonising by 80,000km, if lucky; some BMW has to do it by 30,000km.

• xavier lert on Sep 21, 2010 at 11:43 am

my last FD2 service at HSC cost me RM1111 and thats for the 100k milage….

i went wit my brothers last wkend at VW just to test drive this car…i must say its different.. japs and europe theres a gap. its like compare europe girls wit asia girl…..its different…its really depend on you which one u like…

overall the car is very good .. wit engine size lil bit bigger than “MiVI” its really putting the power that wack all the 2.Os crying …. plus the gearbox is brilliant… but yeh… who ever thinking of buying this car…and have lil more on the budget..better opt for GTi..why? feel it and it will explain by itself.

• paparazi on Sep 17, 2010 at 11:28 pm

don just work hard & work smart, must buy lottery too

• Lim Kopi on Sep 18, 2010 at 1:15 am

Camon la guys, I mean its a good car but some of u praise it like its some sort of marvel …

almost becoming OVER RATED :)

• phas3r on Sep 18, 2010 at 7:56 am

if our roads are still flooded by japanese cars, it means that it’s not over rated yet

• For goodness sake this car is just as common as our Proton over at europe, we guys here giving it a cult status. So pathetic…. it’s just a people’s car , meant for daily commune.

• Lim Kopi on Sep 18, 2010 at 6:33 pm

thank u , my case in point :)

• Agree. I used to rent it from Hertz all the time in UK. So common.

• be real on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:11 am

It might be common due to the European car pricing within Europe, but if you read the car reviews even over there .. you must admit this is a brilliant car.

Even Steven Sutcliffe and Jeremy Clarkson sometimes say that its better to drive a Golf than a Supercar, cause the DSG is marvelous, its fun to drive and its a far more reliable car.

Besides, now it is also the “Best Car In The World” and “Engine Of The Year” for the last 6 years.

Tell me which other car in the world can boast that record? Nothing, nada!

• Fifteen on Sep 18, 2010 at 11:06 am

I like the Golf TSI for the driving dynamics, engine and gearbox. Never mind the looks.

From the photos, I see Golf’s interior doesn’t quite make the mark, though. The fabric seats are horrid and the dash is a sea of unimaginative grey and what’s that ’80s lookalike digital panel doing on the controls cluster?

I drive an ’09 Fiat Grande Punto and reckons the Fiat beats VW hands down in interior quality – the Grande’s quality seat fabrics make the Golf’s look like an ’80s hand-me-down.

The Golf’ TSI’s cabin is in dire need of a designer’s touch.

• Langdon on Sep 18, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Overpriced for a car with a tiny engine.

At under 130k I can get a 2.0 liter Toyota Altis with a more luxurious interior with wood trim!

• John Doe on Sep 18, 2010 at 9:33 pm

Wood trim! Oooh I’d kill for a wood trim! And don’t forget the cupholders!

/sarcasm

• how about the lacy headrest coverings? must have those too right? Ooooh…Altis…my heart just flutters at the mere mention of that hot rod…

/sarcasm

• huhaha on Sep 19, 2010 at 11:40 pm

Langdon,

THIS CAR IS FOR THOSE

1)who has already paid up their house
      2)own a decent Camry / Accord as the first car
      3)already prepare 800k for each child for their study in UK
      4) already has 2 million retirement fund

For those SOH CHAI who do not have all those listed above and wanna own a Golf, I really laugh at them.

For you and me, Altis is the right choice

• amirad on Sep 20, 2010 at 5:17 pm

Conclusions
        A person driving a RM160k golf is ‘more loaded’ than the a person driving a RM170 Camry 2.4.
        Similiarly, a person driving a RM110k polo is ‘more loaded’ than a person driving a RM120 Altis 1.8.

• ricky on Sep 21, 2010 at 12:22 am

i think you are pretty funny. if you got 2 m cash…still wanna get a golf ?

altis suitable for you if you earn less than 5k per month.

work smart lar ..altis owner ! are u dreaming of this golf ? lol

• gracke on Sep 21, 2010 at 9:31 am

you definitely do not understand what is volkswagen 1.4TSI, and the worst is you bring Altis 2.0 as a competitor.

• The TSI has too many airbags and will cost a bomb to replace in the event of an accident. Yes, I too agree that the Altis with 2 airbags is a better buy than this overpriced 1.4 German car of questionable service quality. Maybe the Altis 1.6 is better with a single airbag but that variant does not come with my favourite wood trim :(

Can’t wait for the FL Altis to launch. My fingers are quivering with excitement as I type this.

BTW, I am not a Toyota salesman ;)

• John Doe on Oct 03, 2010 at 11:56 am

Just say, you got into an accident which your car roll over a few times, knock up telephone poles, trees, other cars, and concrete center median. Would you rather be in a Golf with 7 airbags or your beloved corolla?

IMO you can never have a car that’s too safe, even when it costs an arm and a leg (or, it might save them).

• if somebody bang you from the side, are the front airbag protect you….you can replace airbag but life only once..no spare…

• Vincent on May 10, 2011 at 3:31 pm

OMG! How pathetic?

Why worry about having too many life saving devices?
        Are you suggesting that life saved is less appreciative than the few dols spent?

• if your airbag open during an accident, your insurance will pay, if you’re still alive.

exact question i asked when i got my myvi.

” airbag one how much? rm3000? wa, so expensive ar?”

salesman, ” if accident until airbag open, insurance pay, dont worry”

SO true. wisdom.

• Cummon on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:14 am

A Toyota Altis? Thats not a car, thats an elevator. The Golf IS A CAR!
      I’m not a VW salesman either, just love cars and test drive them often!

• buy this car if:
    1)you have plenty of time to wait for sparepart
    2)you have other car to use if this car fails
    3)your income is more than 5k per month
    4)you love speed more than everything else
    5)you want to pay for c segment car space with d segment car price
    6)you don’t care about resell value
    7)you like to take over accord and camry with style
    8)you want other people turns head to you

• huhaha on Sep 19, 2010 at 11:32 pm

5k a month cannot own this car la pleaseeeeeee

• john doe on Sep 20, 2010 at 10:24 am

just because u cant buy the car doest mean other ppl with 5K income cannot…

n wat kind of jack asses compares an VW continental with an award winning engine, with the lousy ugly Altis…mental

• neppy on Sep 20, 2010 at 7:17 pm

sure why not , no need eat maggi everyday

• xavier lert on Sep 21, 2010 at 10:52 am

can!!!… do the math….10% downpayment 1/3 of ur salary… the installment is less then 1.7 k…1.7*3 = how much?…

if the loan can pass this than thats it…if u cannot pay the maintenance thats ur own problem…

• torres on Sep 21, 2010 at 5:13 pm

1) What make u tink tht VW is not reliable? (remember world war 1/2 they use VW beetle)until now the car u still see it on th road in M’sia
      2) Gv me a reason y no resale value? CONTI car doesn’t mean no resale value.Eventhough Japs car got value but do u rather buy new car or a 2nd hand car wen u end up buying 2nd hand car wit higher interest rate? Do ur calculation guys!!
      3) Japs is a good car no doubt but CONTI car is oni for real DRIVER to drive.
      4) Accord camry they hv no resale value too.But u cant use Accord/Camry 2 compare wit Golf.Accord/Camry u muz compare wit PASSAT CC.

• Why us typical malaysian have those thinking? what i meant is condem ppl thought…. as what you all can see, up there everybody is perly ing here and there. Those who support Japs Car, will taruh those who support Conti Car….

Come on la guys…. we need to change in order to improve…..

yeah you may said that japs car have better resell value
    or you may say that VW car is just a Proton car in Europe

but please do not forget although VW car is like Proton, but the RnD anytime wins over and the quality anytime better than our Proton. In short you may said it likes proton but the quality is likes BM or MErc

just my 2cents :)

• This is a car for serious enthusiast only ………for those people who appreciate the handling, performance and technology just like golf gti …..it is an icon to drive in Europe. It has certainly earn it’s reputation and brandname.

Cannot be compared to other cars in its cc class as no other car come close to it in terms of road handling, soundproffing and performance in terms of speed & torque.

VW is giving unlimited mileage waranty for 5 years cause this german company is so confident of its product.

Definitely sure winner this year. Good review and writeup by Paul.

Already test drove the car and share the same opinion as Paul. Thumbs up.

• jack sparrow on Dec 13, 2010 at 4:13 pm

hey guys out there, who experienced/saw a civic type r FD ‘main’ with golf gti on the road? who wins? i really want to see the difference between those two types (NA vs turbocharged and of course Japanese vs Conti)! PLEASEEE! price are almost the same, power also does but the looks that subjective…both are nice! but i can only choose either one…

• jack sparrow on Dec 13, 2010 at 4:25 pm

hey guys, who have seen the civic FD type R ‘main’ with golf GTi? i really want to see who wins…need to have an option of only either one lah! both are terrific! and likely to see the real battle between japans and conti (NA vs turbocharged)!

• Man Toye on Sep 20, 2010 at 2:36 pm

If Golf is soooooo bloody good and reliable… have you ever seen this car on race track?

This car is as boring as civic, they will continue to be produced until MK100++

• brainless comment.. this is a everyday car and is not even consider sports. it just give you the power that you need and comfort at the same time. if you want track car, go get a track car.. not this beauty.

• Mata2 on Sep 20, 2010 at 11:20 pm

This car is everyday car in europe same like proton or produa here in msia, that what he meant. Nothing special except fast and good fc for its type of engine and cc, carefully designed for its heritage. It has been sold for millions same as civics. The follower will feel this model special simply because technology advancement at this time that can be found in msia. Hot hatch? I doubt so, alfa, fiat, citroen, ford n renault are to name a few of more appealing hatch.

• Cummon on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:22 am

Excuse me, it is the best selling car in Europe and the no.1 choice for reliability. Its engines are the best in the world. It is not a drag car or some other street racing type. This car is for serious enthusiasts only.

Many Malaysians who have not lived abroad would not understand this. They base on local perception only.

Better to test drive one first, before commenting negatively here ..

• evoskylancer on Oct 01, 2010 at 4:10 pm

I have never test driven the car before but I am already confident of its superb ride and handling, not to mention the torquey performance of its award-winning engine…I am also a car enthusiast myself and would definitely buy this car if I already have a family car…I guess I better wait for CKD Jetta then =)

• surecanwan on Oct 05, 2010 at 10:31 pm

Excuse me, in case you don’t know .. the word “Hot Hatch” was invented for the original Golf GTI in the in the early 1980’s.

• USAelectrico on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:32 am

This car is nt worth the mOney , in CHina is sold for 100k and alot of chinese are driving it… it is a big hit in China…yahoo made in china.

• gracke on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:45 pm

This is a driver car and passenger car, she gives handling, performance and riding. It is more worth than value and satisfy us a lot !!!

• netracer on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:09 am

in short, frugal guys may tend to bias for T/H, hence the bashing. No doubt, RM vs RM spent on both T/H and VW has a significant value. However, deep inside…. imagine this.
    Early this morning, open your gate and both Camry and TSI at your disposal. Which would you drive to work (while enjoy along the journey?)

Presuming the installment is +/-10% and maintenance is equal. Resale value is somewhat +/-15% equal over a 5 year period.

Only reason I would drive the Camry is to IKEA to transport back some ‘large’ purchase to be placed in the boot. How large can it be? How often or rather must I buy from IKEA or can’t it be shipped by the seller? Why would I want to carry it anyway? I would have bought a Hilux instead.

T/H D-segment car is a norm in the road. Ah, you oso buy one ah?
    VW C-segment car is more unique comparisonly. Aiyo, y u dowan Camry ah? So small ? Then you have to open up doors, show them how spacious, bring them for a spin, try to sell them the ‘experience’ of what a CAR should have… sigh….

• Ken Law on Sep 26, 2010 at 5:33 pm

just wonder is it worth to spend another 7k for the additional features as below
    :
    1 Bi-xenon headlights for high and low beam with integrated turn signal indicator
    2 Cornering light system: static and dynamic bending
    3 Dynamic headlight-range adjustment
    4 Front fog lights
    5 Headlight cleaning system
    6 MEDIA-IN USB/iPod media interface

i am located in Sarawak, so far only full spec Golf Tsi available in the showroom,
    is there anyone can tell me more about these featurea, especially item 1,2,3.

• torres on Sep 26, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Hmm..is all depends, but all of the above oni 1&6 i keen.Coz 7k is quite alot, if u add a bit u will hv rims and bodykit tht make u car even nicer…;)

• Ken Law on Sep 27, 2010 at 9:38 am

i hv excactly same opinion with u, first thing i do is go for 18″ rim and VKool. Wonder how does it look like if the Tsi come without item 1, is there any images i can view fr internet?

• Anyone see golf 1.4 without light & sound upgrade. It still look the same from outside?

• As one poster said, best test the car before commenting. I did and will be getting my mine this friday. Can’t wait. :)

• i suggest u to test 2.4 accord before 1.4 golf, then u will only realise that what is so called VW technology, the result definately will surprise u!

• No worries, I was a owner of 2 hondas before and even driven a 3.0. I know what honda is capable of. In fact I recommend a friend of mine honda over Camry (he wanted a large sporty sedan). Experience both the new Camry and Honda. Great cars and has its own merits. But VW has it’s driving experience i enjoy.

• Used to be Honda Lover on Sep 30, 2010 at 5:53 am

I owned a Honda Civic FD2 2.0 before (for 2 years) and is currently driving a Honda Accord 2.0, I have always liked Honda and the performance of the VTEC engines.

However, after I test drove both the VW Golf TSI and GTI earlier this month, I have to say that the experience of driving a VW Golf TSI or GTI wins hands down when compared to the 6 years driving experience I have with Honda cars. If it is not because of the small boot space which made the family travelling difficult, I may have driven one GTI by now by trading in my Accord.

Having said that, if a Honda cars’ performance cannot even be matched against VW Golf (based on my test drive experience), needless to say the boring design Toyota Altis/Camry with its VVTI (Very Very Tiring Indeed) engines and “kayu” feel handling, which were among the worse cars I have driven. Resell value wise, my Honda Civic lost 33k in 2 years and my Honda Accord lost 77k in 6 years time (based on latest valuation in Sep 10), better resale value for Japs, I don’t think so.

• Yeah, i have the same opinion too. Honda has it sporty nature but the VW gives you a whole different experience altogether. :). As for Toyota, it may share the same market segment as Honda but it caters for a different driver’s taste. So lets leave it at that. :P.

• got jetta n passat as well from vw :D

• Hi brother…so any command after the test drive? Is the 1.4L torque better compare with 2.4 L???

• evoskylancer on Sep 30, 2010 at 5:35 pm

Paul, what is the Golf’s boot capacity (in liter)?

• May it be a poor man’s GTI but no Toyota/Honda drivers are as loaded as they are.

• Cowabunga! on Oct 02, 2010 at 8:35 am

paying 150k for a recon Mark-X is better and cheaper to maintain than a Golf….

• torres on Oct 03, 2010 at 4:03 am

HONDA/TOYOTA they r good car but is juz a normal car tht u can see otr everyday.VW has personality.

• Hi Paul, I’m a newbie in turbo charged cars and I just drove the pug 308 and was impressed by its pick-up. How would u rate the golf 1.4 and 308 considering their price is 40k diff?

• harry on Oct 04, 2010 at 2:00 pm

you should test drive the golf 1.4 bro..totally different animal.Just to point on the gear speed..golf wins hands-down.Fuel consumption also way better..go and test drive..

• Hell a lot of diff in acceleration

• Joe Tan on Oct 04, 2010 at 2:09 pm

Test drove this car on the weekend. No qualms about the drive. Its great even. Only problem i had with is for the +-RM150K car, it that its sooo bland! If i were to buy it, i’d be sourcing a bodykit to make it look more pleasing, which apparently cost a bomb and may have issues with the warranty! So as far as i’m concerned, might as well save a bit more and go for the GTI. Goes stink and much more pleasing in the looks department.

• Test drive this beauty 2 days ago, the handling is superb & the pick up is more than enough for street use. Love it but ‘Home Minister’ tak approve….sad.

• Ally Lau on Oct 05, 2010 at 12:22 pm

I test-drove a GTI (pre-owned) and it was awesome! But with RM160K, I was advised to get the new 1.4 Golf TSI instead, new and powerful too. Has anyone drove both and compared? Any significant difference? Thanks!

• Golf 1.4 without light & sound upgrade still have halogen projector head lamp or just normal reflector head lamp?

• Dear Paul,

overall package.. a Golf 1.4 TSI or a Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI? kind to share?

• ladybird on Oct 14, 2010 at 8:07 pm

i still love turbo cars.. can resist my eyes looking at R35 =P~~~ but i might consider this as 2nd car. At the end of the day.. its up to you.. your money your choice.. peace! =)

• Hi Paul, I just visited VW showroom near Glenmarie. But seem that the accessories different from what display @ VW malaysia website. For example. Only 4 air bags instead of 6 air bags. No front fog lamp. Manual air cond instead of semi auto mentioned. No arm rest. No Heat-insulating green tinted glass. Price remain the same. FOR VW POLO..

• Is the Golf CBU from Wolfburg Germany or is it from South Africa?

• Is there launch control for our version?

• mazda 6 or golf gti 1.4

• Pacman88 on Nov 05, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Paul,

How about this Golf vs a Peugeot 308 turbo 6 speed which is coming soon? Price difference may be around RM40k. Is the Golf still worth it?

• This is gotto be the best value car in malaysia right now ! Seriously spent a few more k and u can upgrade the power to the same as a gti. Replace all camry on the road with this better haha european quality cars. Btw wonder if there is leather option for this 160ps golf ?

• bro, wearnes jln ampang can offer leather for rm2900..

• hafiz on Dec 01, 2010 at 4:03 pm

really ?? but i already bought mine in glenmarie three weeks ago.
        do they still accept my car to change for leather ?

• hafiz on Dec 01, 2010 at 4:08 pm

azh, seriously ? cause i bought mine in VW glenmarie 3 weeks ago ? would they still accept my car to change to leather ? and one more thing, doesn’t that void my warranty ?

• the sales said it doesnt effect the warranty coz the leather seat is done by them. There is some opening at the side of seat to ensure airbag can be open during impact.

they can make leather same as mk6 GTI (leather with color stitches). you guys can ask them about this.

before I made the booking at weanes ampang, i went to Glenmarie but the salesman not really friendly. They will not entertain if you ask for more. Meresat Larna Nehi ( Hindustan version)..

• poor man’s golf??
    it still costs more than RM 150 k ==

• I was abt to ask the same question as Pacman88. Don’t get me wrong, I love the Golf, but the Pug 308T, to me, seems to offer more bang for the buck.
    I mean i don’t think im comparing apples & oranges as they’re both conti cars. Just the other one’s CKD rite?

Roughly similar torque & HP figures. Only lack the supercharger for the Pug. Your thoughts?

• Pacman88 on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:41 am

Pug is officially ckd but in reality it’s fully imported. There are more differences:-

1. Supercharger
      2. 7 speed DSG vs 6 speed auto
      3. Paddle shifts
      4. Knee airbag
      5. Lighter weight (1,361kg vs 1,430kg)
      6. Longer service interval (15k vs 10k)
      7. Front parking sensors
      8. 5 year warranty vs 3 years
      9. Golf is quicker 0-100 in 8.0 vs 9.1, vmax 220 vs 212

• 10. Cruise Control
        11. Multi link suspecsion – rear
        12. Bi -Xenon dynamic cornering light
        13. Better design and appreance (my point of view)
        14. More fuel economic 6 liter/100km (16.7km/liter)
        15. Lower roadtax RM70 vs RM90 (pug)
        16. Made in Wolfburg (state of art plant)
        17. No moon roof (i don’t like it …it made the car more hot)
        18. Better resale value (Pug service by Naza is suck)

anyone have anything to add????

• turbocharged on Sep 03, 2011 at 2:55 pm

so bias

1 thing that pwned golf.

308= better look & bigger.

if you have frens and family to ferry, 308 is a good choice too.

and VW has gave up twincharger technology. next is only turbo charged. good luck to your second hand value if any one of charger(super/turbo) spoilt.

• John Doe on Nov 28, 2010 at 12:02 pm

azh says:
    24/11/2010 at 10:27 pm

bro, wearnes jln ampang can offer leather for rm2900..

———————————————————————————————

Please check whether it is a factory fitted option or an after-market option. After-market option will definitely affect warranty due to the side air-bags being in the front seat.

• John, they said not effect the warranty but you can ask them further details regarding this..
      There is some open at the side to ensure airbag open during the impact…

• macho9020 on Nov 29, 2010 at 12:40 pm

Once you test drive it. then you know why they call it DAS AUTO. No point making so much comments…cheers

• eevolution3 on Dec 04, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Guys,

Golf GTI being a known enthusiast’s car it saddens me to say that any modifications done to the car will in fact void the warranty (in Malaysia at least).

My car, a Mk6 GTI with bolt on mods have recently been denied warranty for a particular damaged part. VGM seems to be basing this on speculation and faulty generalisation instead of technical aspects of the failed part. Its like …oh …noticed this mod that mod…then somehow they’re able to link it to the faulty part! hahahha…hilarious! am still pursuing this issue and close to a month now my car’s been stationary!

So my advice to potential and existing owners of VW vehicles..Don mod your car …even if its leather seatS! or wheels or air freshener! hahah…Uve been warned! Thumbs up VGM …Third world mentality alright…

• Just curious, Is there any car manufacturer that allow mod within its warranty period. When i was driving honda, it was the same case but i heard some drivers just did it and void their warranty.

• kentji on Apr 01, 2013 at 8:03 pm

none car manufacturer allow modifying for warranty claim unless, you have good relationship with your dealer and they willing to help you claim with one eye open one open close

• John Doe on Dec 08, 2010 at 4:27 pm

Golf 1.4 TSI may be *better* (albeit slightly) than the Peugeot 308T but does it justified an almost RM40,000 premium over the Peugeot? I think not. My money’s on the latter I’m afraid.

• I beg to differ . The previous PUG had a weak gearbox which let it’s down. The new model addresses this but I still find the Golf still ahead of it. If i given a chance to choose my car again, i still go for the golf (or big brother-the GTI) over the PUG. Wish it had leather and electrical seats even as an option. My primary choice actually was the Audi A4 but alas it had a 6 month waiting list and it was way above my budget.

• 148-118 = 30k premium and what u get extra are
      1. Twin charger vs turbo charger
      2. 7 speed DSG vs normal 6-sp
      3. Paddle shifts
      4. Knee airbag
      5. Lighter weight (1,361kg vs 1,430kg)
      6. Longer service interval (15k vs 10k)
      7. Front parking sensors
      8. 5 year warranty unlimited miles vs 3 years or 100k
      9. 0-100km/h in 8.0s vs 9.1s
      10. Multi link suspension for rear vs torsion beam
      12. More fuel economic 6 liter/100km
      11. Lower roadtax RM70 vs RM90
      12. Made in Wolfburg (CBU) vs NAZA (CKD)

• add another 30000 you get scirrocco.

keep adding, and there goes your money :)

• The experience of driving my new Golf Tsi makes me appreciate the finer things about cars.Driving is not just to get from A to B,but the joy one gets when doing so.The built quality,excellent ergonomics,adequate power,excellent FC,fine ride &handling more than justify the extra 30k over the pug..The combination of the TSI engine and DSG complements each other in any road situations..no power lost to the wheel(unlike in automatic torque converters) and save time in upshifts..and that’s one reasons why the pug is slower to 100km/h.

• harry on Dec 20, 2010 at 10:58 am

i test drove both..the golf is way above the peug…seems like the france can’t beat the germans in terms of technology..very good car on the golf..wins hands-down..

• I book one this week and pending for loan processing, I should get it by next week.

There is an interesting story behind:

I always talk about this car with my wife but my wife always said “nah … not good la dun buy…”

We went for test drive a few cars and before the test drive for TSI, my wife still not so interested and I don’t have big hope to get it.

But magic happen when she accelerate with the car, she said please buy this one.

And we book after the test drive, after going back until today, my wife always imagine she is driving it and show quite interest to this car.

What a miracle …

PS: My wife just have one comment one this, she ask me don’t drive everyday like the test drive day

• same case as mine…….
      My friend cannot understand why i paid 150k for 1.4 cc small car
      But when they test drive the car ….the question is answer by itself
      The cabin size of the car is in between Civic & Altis but engine & gearbox performance better then 2.4cc in accord & Camry

• Cabin size is somewhere the size of City and definitely not in the Civic’s league. Anyhow RM156K is too much for the size and specifications.

• Tigana on Jan 14, 2011 at 2:06 am

Please la dun compare the Golf with the City or Civic. No where near.

• Tigana on Jan 14, 2011 at 2:09 am

Please la don’t compare the Golf with the City or Civic. No where near.

• I don’t understand why 156K is not worth for the specification …

Do you know cars ?

Do you find any DSG gearbox is 128K Civic or even other cars at 160 K?
            Do you find any Twin charger in any car below 200 K or inside Civic ?
            The handling technology is also one of the best with this range of money

Where not worth ? Just because it is smaller ?

• Which specification does not worth 156 K ?

DSG 7 Speed Gearbox, try fix one in the Civic and see how much
            Twin Charger engine, dunno where to find also in below 200 K cars
            Handling also is one of the best within 156 K ?

There are more but these 3 impress me.

If you talk about car specification alone, 156 K is definitely the worth price is Malaysia market.

• New German cars technology does not matter how small engines they r,at least it’s good fuel economy,enough power and less carbon dioxide!

let see my Myvi 1.3 yes it’s small but underpower and quite bad fuel economy!

my friend Camry 2.4 yes it’s quite powerful but it’s not as fast as new Mercedes E class 1.8!

anyway i really love my Polo 1.2 TSI!good handling and powerful!

• limbo on Jan 21, 2011 at 12:13 am

Not all german cars are perfect. Polo tsi few classes down compare to golf tsi or GTI. Turbo lag is obvious. Handling so so not much fun around corners and cabin space lousy. Engine noise level not up to expectation too.

• Limbo, a bit too harsh i think …

Don’t forget POLO is 50 K cheaper than Golf, and with that price, even Turbo lag is obvious but by maintaining at a high RPM in the highway, It still perform better than the car that close to that price range. (where golf have super charger to handle the low RPM)

Handling I can’t comment too much as i didn’t have chance to test handling.

But I do agree with you the cabin space is “not so nice”.

Golf and Polo are like brothers ma, don’t so harsh . Money makes the different le

• limbo on Jan 21, 2011 at 12:37 am

I don’t see why people kept comparing japanese made like Toyota or Honda to VW especially golf MK6. Can you people differentiate the taste of lobters to farm caltivated shrimp ? If not, stick to shrimp, is difinately cheaper !

• When you hear 10 people saying shrimp is better and you never taste lobsters before, you start to think shrimp is better until one day you test it.

But got one thing very strange for Golf, what does the paddle shift meant for ?
      I don’t find my self more intelligence in gear hifting compare to either the D or S mode.

I try to use it a few times…., but you don’t get smooth and peace compare to D and you don’t get fierce compare to S.

Just redundant to me

And last problem, you start to worry people bumping your back as most of the car in Malaysia have ways back of braking system compare to this one.

• By the way, my wife took over my car and i become second driver pulak.

• 2cent on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:10 am

20 years old Nissan March ( MA09ERT ) ran quicker than this, only have 930cc SOHC,

• chrisg on Feb 05, 2011 at 6:25 pm

Camry looks nicely designed- the exterior onLy and it was also copied from Audi’s styling. Older Camry looks like mobile coffin. Most importantly, thhe interior of Jap cars look cheap/ too flashy/ or like courst mammoth sofa.

I was @ toyo shoroom, looked @ Altis. I find it interior terrible. The beige, the fake plastic wood trims! So china pek. It does not feel RM100k car. Persona is better really.

Hondas interior? Well flashy- ah bengs with coloured hair will like it.

VW lovers? I’m only afraid boy racers will start to like this car. It is actually a proper, executive car for intellectuals. Vw is only for Ppl who won’t wear slacks with sport shoes and silky shirt everywhr they go. H+T owners r very typical M’sians- always influenced by friends. Seldom read, the more they see the brand being advertised- the more they think it is good.

• 2cent

wow it’s just a old Nissan March what’s a big deal?lolx feel so cheap!

• chrisG on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Hi guys,

Had Golf tsi 1.4 for a about the 3rd week now- and really the car is just great. In terms of value, comfort and power. The looks imho are a bit plain- but yes i bought it not because of its looks but bcos i did much homework comparing cars within this range of budget.

The features- you will never find it anywhr in a Jap car. I really did go to Toyota- to see their offerings but again, im not impressed.

And please, even this car is powerful- it is not all about the speed. it is about the perceived value, and package VW offers. I am not tempted to race with boy racers or Nissan March just like what 2cents bragged abt, or any other mod/sports car out thr. Its all abt control and safety too.

For those who blindly support T&H Japanese offerings, go ahead and buy your Freed, Camry, Altis etc and stop insulting the intelligence of others.

• hong2166 on Mar 16, 2011 at 11:52 pm

I own Golf 1.4 for around 2 weeks and went to test drive 308 this afternoon, to clear my doubt whether 1.4 is really a better car.

Some comments:

Golf advantages:
    1. Interior built quality is very good comapre with 308. 308 looks more plastic feel
    2. Performance especially on DSG. However, i always wonder can a dry clutch gear box can last for more than 6 years ?
    3. Better FC. My Golf 1.4 manage to achieve 9l/100km. SA of 308 told me that the car can do like 10.1l/100km. My friend own a 4-speed gear box 308 told me around 11l/100km. Seems like DSG + TSI is a better choice.

4. I manage to reach 210km this afternoon. I am very surprise and amazed that i am just like driving at 130km/h. I own a CIVIC and i cannot imagine i can achieve this with CIVIC. It is very stable, very quiet and very smooth when i reach 200km and i know it can go up further. You should really try if you really want to know the real performance of 1.4. i only achieve 150km with 308 and cannot further as SA beside me. But the feel is not as good as 1.4.
    5. Our clutch pedal is very nice. Very smooth from N to D , to R or to manual. 308’s is not so smooth.
    6. 1.4 has a better display in terms of MFD.

308 advantages:
    1. Better exterior. All of my friends say my car is like a MVYI. 308 is like a woman killer and 1.4 is like a AUNTY CAR. haha.
    2. 308 got a bigger boot !
    3. 308 got the glass roof. I always imagine if my GOLF has this. I can view the starts at night. how sad
    4. Wider space on the front interior portion and this create a better hi-fi quality as my friend own 308 is crazy about sounds.

308 acceleration is much better than Jap car. However, it is not as smooth as 1.4 as it not using DSG. But it is a very good car already.

My final comment: I have no regreat of paying 155k for 1.4, but 308 also a good buy at its price. I just love my car so much when i know how it feels when it reach 200km++. You will never want to go back to Jap car. What is my next car ? that can beat 1.4. Maybe TIGUAN ? haha

• limbo on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:13 am

Been driving golf tsi for 4 months and love it much. Done 10k km now and rotated front set wheels with rear. Found out the car wheels can’t be balance with on wheel balancing method due to DSG. Tried it and smoke came out under the bonnet ! comfirmed with VW malaysia later that the car can only do off wheel balancing.
    took it to 2 workshops appointed by VW for off wheel but the results were unsatisfactory. I want answer

• Ramesh on Apr 17, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Glad to hear. Gonna book one real soon. Only concern is the rumours about premature engine and gearbox failure. I think if we drive sensibly then the car will last forever. The 2011 model comes with DRL and redesigned gear knob.

Can’t wait to own one.

• cipan bara on Apr 13, 2011 at 3:40 am

test drive 1.4tsi yesterday..superb car…
    saleswoman amoi pun hot…..

• mnoory on May 08, 2011 at 8:56 am

Thanks Paul for the great review. Test drove a 1.4 TSI yesterday, unbelievable! I felt a rush when I test drove a 2.4 liter Jap car which I eventually bought. That was three years ago

But yesterday, the rush was even greater. My engineer daughter (who was in the car with me during the test drive) went gaga over it because she said it was so practical for a lady driver! She is signing up for one unit very soon.

I am going to drive that car and she will drive my beemer.

• Vincent on May 23, 2011 at 4:49 pm

Thanks paul for the detailed review.

Booked the car last week at Glenmarie. Ask Joe.
      Hope to get it in another week’s time….
      It is our third & lowest cc car, but probably not any lesser in fun driving it, I ventured.
      The mazda3 failed to be enlisted in comparison, though having considered either jazz & polo earlier.

Having test driven the car & GTi… I must say it has a very impressive engine & DSG, though a 1.4.

• My TSI windscreen got chipped on the way to KB. My own fault for driving fast and too close to the car in front for trying to overtake along k lipis to gua musang road.
        Dnt buy windscreen insurance coz expensive 15% of RM 3k. Ppl ask me to insure then claim I don’t believe in that . Anyway insuarance company may find out. Luckily my SA said can repair the chipped portion. Call VW at tmn tun quoted 200+ . Lucky check website glass mechanic quote about RM 120. Done already quite a good job. Save 3k plus the tint would have been hefty. Well the car performance is great so far. Can’t wait to drive around every weekend .

• My TSI windscreen also got chipped.Do u have the name and contacts of your glass mech?

• linda on Jun 08, 2011 at 12:21 am

u can go to website ‘glass mechanic’ in ss2 terrace house

• Nazri on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Our journey in buying family 2nd car took us more then 1 month . We have tested many cars …PUG 308 , Ford Focus TDI , Mazda 3 , Honda Civic 2.0 , Ford Fiesta , Polo , Nissan Latio and finally decided on Golf 1.4tsi .

The day we got our Golf , i was surprised that i’ve drove the car @ 140km/h and i almost being stop by police due to speed . The car produced very little noise you cant hardly hear it . Handling was extremely superb ….

After 5 days …we just managed to clock 154km . Anyway , its our weekend car .
    To summarize ……we love our GOLF very much . Its worth it to spend a bit extra to get the German technology . German rock ;-)

• passat on Sep 03, 2012 at 6:05 pm

totally agreed…..love driving my Golf,…..actually had no plans to change car but after test driving it, i’m hooked…and now i got one in my garage…

• Jerry on Jul 20, 2011 at 12:36 am

anyone have any bad encounters with the car? I am deciding if I should opt for this

• 1.4 TSI was cheaper at Indonesia for around RM120K.
    Exterior looks normal, interiors’ quality very good if upgraded to black eather seats.
    Powerful acceleration after test-drive.

• Linda on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:18 pm

Bad luck last weekend spotted windscreen got line crack about 8 inch on the left side lucky away from the old bull eye crack . Got the same mechanic to fix for RM 150, He mentioned imported car windscreen not as hardy as local car as more suitable for winter etc. Dunno how true. Looks like have to insure windscreen next renewal. Will claim if get another crack. Dun park too near another car at shopping complex. U dunno who drive next car , may irk and simply open the door. My TSI left door got dented. Careful new car owners esp TSI

• chong on Sep 19, 2011 at 9:45 am

Love everthing about Golf TSI 1.4 except one thing..- its boot.
    Hmmm..car that is named golf but can’t carry golf bag without rear seats folding down?? Hard to believe..

• Every VW’s model name is derived from winds, in this case it’s derived from German’s word for ‘gulf stream’. pls wikipedia it bro…

• Medic on May 09, 2012 at 8:54 am

I own a golf & i have no probelm fitting a golf bag in…in fact there’s space for a few more luggages as well.Don’t come here talk like you’re retarded.

• Prosinka on Nov 04, 2011 at 2:08 pm

GTi sucks,proton satria R3 will smoke it.

• Idiot Satria R3 cant smoke THE GTI and pls don’t keep dreaming lolx and Satrias are poor man cars…

• golok guy on Apr 19, 2012 at 12:00 pm

TSI 1.4 is very good car except for interior site especially the seat….they should be included with leather seat maaa….

• mechavelli on Apr 22, 2012 at 10:37 pm

P1 is offering this car Volkswagen Golf TSI in their currently run contest…it works if you sign up and plan & stand a chance to win…not bad at all if you are dying to get this with limited cash.

• Melvin on Jun 03, 2012 at 9:01 am

I am in a cross road between scirocco 1.4 vs golf1.4
    My understanding is both uses the same engine and very much a like except scirocco is3 doors vs 5 golf. I tested scirocco and the cabin build is very solid and quite. The engine is very responsive. Is Golf same as Scirocco in terms of comfort, performance and quietness. I never do sharp cornering in high speed. I wish to have a comfortable, quite, relatively powerful engine but tiny car. It’s a 30k different between both car… :-)

Sme advise would be very much appreciated

• Melvin on Jun 03, 2012 at 9:03 am

I am in a cross road between scirocco 1.4 vs golf1.4
    My understanding is both uses the same engine and very much a like except scirocco is3 doors vs 5 golf. I tested scirocco and the cabin build is very solid and quite. The engine is very responsive. Is Golf same as Scirocco in terms of comfort, performance and quietness. I never do sharp cornering in high speed. I wish to have a comfortable, quite, relatively powerful engine but tiny car. It’s a 30k different between both car… :-)

Some advise would be very much appreciated … Thx

• Deric on Jun 03, 2012 at 9:23 pm

Bro, depends on what u like, sportier 3-door or a casual 5-door. I understand that in some countries both cars selling at same price but it’s pricier here due to tax structure coz scirocco is classified as coupe (someone may be able to firm this up). I just got my Golf recently and was indeed solid. Gave it a 195km/h last nite, was smooth and stable. Happy choosing!!

• melvin on Jun 04, 2012 at 11:09 am

Deric, How’s the noise inside the Golf. My current Kia Forte Coupe really noisy even at 80kph .. can really hear the tiring and road.

• nabeel on Jan 30, 2013 at 2:46 pm

well i would suggest u to choose between two devil the handsome devil is golf because its more responsive n beefier n above all tourqe is bit more then scirocco reason engine is almost same but weight is less when its comes to golf thats make golf more responsive n quicker…

• Deric on Jun 16, 2012 at 10:17 am

Melvin, probably the noise comes when you hit around 130kph… go test drive one bro!

• I got my golf 1.4TSI recently. Compare with my citreon C4 grand picasso. The electonic spec r higher. Golf got Back Mirror dazzle. Where the mirror would become darker when there where a headlight behind car start to kill your eye. Very good for driver with night vision problems. Well Golf made from germany and germany tech always score 90++% and french score 70++% on their product. Not to mention Japanase or Asian made car. They score far lesser maybe 50++%. Well if you got money and intention for long long term car…go for germany made. See on the road car..old old car like bettle, merz still proudly driven by driver. well you can buy toyota car but the safety feature r suck. I am middle age guy with driving problems…need a good safe car to protect my kids. I city, I still can drive with full adrenaline and it wake me up during driving. You can feel the handling cornering is much better 20% compare with my last honda city. So it is a car for you when you hate tailing a car behind..very good for female who do not like to get horn from behind and it get a lot of respect on the road in term of speeding. The downside is the price. Well long run you win since fuel efficient is same as my last honda city. It is best selling car in Europe and with Europe financial crisis…i think the germany would like to capture asia market…Japanese in big problem is they still thinking selling old tech car to us. My motto is better car always win in Safety, comfort and fuel efficiency.

• 2.5bar is german terms is absolute pressure = 1.5bar boost. Take note.

• SatriaGTI on Sep 12, 2012 at 4:43 pm

Hahaha…1.4 ! Mana boleh guna kereta ini ! Motor pun susah nak overtake !

• Fair comment on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:44 am

160 PS & 240nm la. Tak tau baca ke? : “This little 1.4 litre motor puts all the 2.3 to 2.5 litre big 4-potters in the D-segment under RM200k car range to shame…”
      Atau keyboard bragger?

• Expected from a Satria lowlife. Continue to enjoy your moronic ignorance.

• maggieL on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:58 pm

contemplating of getting either the polo GTI or golf TSI, quite similarly priced, difference of around 10k MYR. Since already year-end, thinking of getting it within Q1 of 2013. any opinions of either the polo GTI or golf TSI? will be going for a test-drive wtihin this month just to have a feel first….. :)

• coportillo on Jun 16, 2016 at 6:10 am

I do not agree