GALLERY: Nissan Teana facelift in China, changes detailed

We headed to the Guangzhou Motor Show in China last December to see the new Nissan Sunny, other world debuts and the hot stuff on display, but also encountered some unexpected new metal like the facelifted Chinese market Nissan Teana.

As you’ve read in our D-segment triple test, the Teana is a great all rounder that delivers good comfort and decent driving ability. This refreshed Teana sees revisions and/or differences compared to the CKD model sold by Edaran Tan Chong – let’s compare and see which do you prefer.

The headlamps are most obviously changed. From the rather plain looking units on our car, the Chinese Teana adds on projector headlamps and an LED strip for more flash. The elements have also been rearranged. Next up is the grille. From the five strips of chrome, Nissan has framed up the grille and gave the inside bars a different colour.

Rounding up the facelift is the reprofiled bumper from a ‘V shape’ to an ‘X shape’, a trick Toyota used for the current Camry. Also notice the disjointed lip to make the air intake more prominent. The result is a more aggressive and ‘sporty’ outlook.

There’s less change at the rear. The taillamps, which already have LEDs arranged in a ‘C shape’, are made more prominent as the ring of diodes are now behind a clear lense.

In our shootout, you may have noticed comments about the Teana’s dash looking a bit sparse, but this isn’t the case with the Guangzhou show car, which has a navigation system. The GPS controls occupy the panel just below the central screen, pushing the climate controls down below the stereo, a position most are used to.

In this Chinese Teana, the dominant cabin colour is still beige, but the main dash panel and the upper door panels are in a darker shade of brown. The wood grain trim is in a lighter hue. I prefer this colour combination over our local car, how about you? The push start button in this left hand drive car is nestled between the steering column and centre stack.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• danny,I agree with you that the dashboard colour combination is an improvement over ours which is too light. Wonder why the wooden part of the steering is at the bottom, do they expect drivers to hold the steering there instead? the mercs and camry wooden section is on top which makes sense if you hold at 10-2 position

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 15, 2011 at 3:57 pm

Good question, but I have no idea why.
      The steering design is consistent with that in the Intima concept.
      Personally, I prefer to hold leather than wood though.

• ILOVEPICKUP on Mar 15, 2011 at 3:50 pm

Don’t know when it will arrive our Boleh land.. haha… so if 1 to buy.. just need to wait la…

• murad on Mar 16, 2011 at 8:58 am

Teana has been in every country many years already, and since this new so called version landed into our shores and China’s Teana is getting some plastic surgery so by the time we get ours China and the rest of the world will be getting a totally new Teana. So we end up paying large bucks for yesterday’s stuff.

• VoidDance on Mar 15, 2011 at 6:39 pm

They really loves blings and chromes. :D

• Spongebob on Mar 15, 2011 at 7:22 pm

Nice facelift!!! Better than current 1~ :)

• meane on Mar 16, 2011 at 2:11 am

not photogenic…still.

• zanggief on Mar 16, 2011 at 9:53 am

Just to confirm on the gear, the Chinese FL fitted with S mode+/- but in local model is there fitted as well?

• Is that a downgrade for chinese market????

• rezvani on Jul 23, 2013 at 6:12 pm

If you willing coact together about accessory nissan teana2001(j32) send emile for me.
    tanks