New Maruti Swift Dzire spied in India, it’s a ‘Swift Sedan’

The previous gen Suzuki Swift, which is still current in Malaysia, spawned a sedan in India called Swift Dzire. The looks were odd, but the booted Swift proved popular. Here’s the new one, based on the latest Swift. Caught on camera by MegaPower Services, it confirms that the Dzire name has been continued, and that a launch is imminent.

Viewed from the rear, the “Swift Sedan” looks decent, but the funny proportions are unavoidable, since Suzuki wanted it to be below four metres in length to enjoy the Indian government’s excise benefits for small cars. As a result, the stubby tailed new Dzire is shorter than the old one, which is 4,160 mm long.

In front, the Dzire is distinguished from the hatch by a new grille and fog lamp housings. The cabin is carried over from the new Swift, which dumped the old minimalist dash for a more conventional layout. Being a sedan, the Dzire is trimmed with “luxury” in mind, as opposed to sporty – a two-tone theme and wood trim can be found.

Engine options are said to include a 1.2-litre K Series petrol and a 1.3-litre Multijet diesel from Fiat, engines that already see service in Maruti’s range.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• How can 1 make a nice car ugly:

Please consult the New Maruti Swift Dzire

• kimi_ on Jan 17, 2012 at 8:41 pm

I thought this is kind of photoshop “April Fool” joke at first !!!

• Ahh VW and Suzuki pls stop making Hatch to become Sedan ! so disgusting !

• khylie555 on Jan 18, 2012 at 4:22 pm

if this can sell india,proton should consider sell their juara there.

• Loba Loba on Jan 27, 2012 at 3:34 pm

After spending so much in the R&D in Europe that came up with the Swift.. now they throw everything down the drain with these type of designs..

• Tanaka Livina on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:12 pm

Sedan but so short? Look a bit funny to me…

• Mozilla Chrome on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:15 pm

Somehow I wanna laugh.

• Michael on Jan 07, 2013 at 6:21 pm

i… found… someone… feels like how i feels..

it tickles me the moment i saw the photo..

hahahahahahaha

• kesian to that poor swift fellow..

• pumpkin on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:19 pm

OMG!

• 2wheels on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:23 pm

LOL!!!

• kuriang on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:23 pm

HAHAHA… kerete tak siap ke?

• whysoserious on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:28 pm

swift with ass..hahahaha..disgusting..

• Seriously on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:30 pm

That’s one weird looking ass for a car..

• Already think... on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:33 pm

Funny. hahaha…

• raja ninja on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:36 pm

how big is the boot space?

• Ei Wei on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:39 pm

This is one of the nicest cars I ever seen.

Well done Suzuki!

• Bay MH on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:41 pm

They should make it a fastback instead….

• madimat1 on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:47 pm

This design will definitely make Peter Shreyer cry for 5 straight days.

• gabla on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:49 pm

Looks like Vios to me…

• ya ampun!! How can they make a drink out of curry?

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:57 pm

it looks stunted

• deftones on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:58 pm

what’s the point of making this sedan? the boot space is almost the same size as hatchback..plus,this is super ugly ass..they should design the rear like forte then only it will be nice..

• Maserati on Jan 17, 2012 at 5:03 pm

One of the ugliest piece of crap i hv seen. I thought the pug 207 was bad, this is atrocious

• Farid on Jan 17, 2012 at 5:06 pm

I think if make it into a wagon is much nicer lah!

• mohsin on Jan 17, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Love the tail lamp

• kevin lee on Jan 17, 2012 at 5:15 pm

this is like small erection :(

• very odd proportion…

• Swift with booty? Beyonce must be proud.

• Chriszoom on Jan 17, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Super

• ABTguy on Jan 17, 2012 at 5:20 pm

Yak !!!

They should name it Suzuki UnDzire.

• hantu on Jan 17, 2012 at 5:23 pm

Super FUGLY.

• fatty ahbeng on Jan 17, 2012 at 5:27 pm

WTF! hahahahaha….

• ss427 on Jan 17, 2012 at 5:27 pm

OMG, will someone hit that Swift with an ugly stick??

No wait, it already got hit with an ugly stick :) LOL

What were the Indian designers thinking? Too much Bollywood dancing until they released their dateline is up… LOL :D

• gtmaniac on Jan 17, 2012 at 5:27 pm

Indians already got the latest Swift.. plus got time to work a sedan version out from it.

And we are still milking the previous gen swift with many many tiny facelift and lesser & lesser equipment.

• bobdbilder on Jan 17, 2012 at 10:23 pm

There is nothing wrong with the old Swift. If its not broken why fix it?

• i cry because i have no shoe until i see a man with no leg. we complain how bad is proton until we see maruti suzuki

• inspiring on Jan 17, 2012 at 5:43 pm

this what we call like ‘a rat repair the pumpkin’..

• for india, by india and like india

• wat? seriously???

• Funny on Jan 17, 2012 at 5:55 pm

Haha so funny car

• foxis on Jan 17, 2012 at 6:04 pm

A swift with a tumour growth at the back.

• mosar on Jan 17, 2012 at 6:50 pm

please dont let this abomination come near M’sia…dont get me wrong, suzuki swift is a cool car, i like it plenty, but this? its horrendous…

• mosar on Jan 17, 2012 at 6:51 pm

please don’t let this abomination come near M’sia…dont get me wrong, suzuki swift is a cool car, i like it plenty, but this? its horrendous…

• klaka seram on Jan 17, 2012 at 7:03 pm

it looks so weird ..

• it’s well known that switching a hatchback to a sedan isn’t an easy task ie peugeot 207…
    but this failure is …legendary!

Please dont bring in this joke…

• Ugliest car of the car 2012! . whats the point of making a sedan when the hatch has more cargo space. Bad decision by the BOD of maruti suzuki. Somebody need a sack!

• go saga on Jan 17, 2012 at 8:16 pm

no idea…………………….,

• Saf Badar on Jan 17, 2012 at 8:19 pm

300% agree!!!!

• Absolute Rider on Jan 17, 2012 at 8:20 pm

Proton bashers always complaint Proton cannot design a nice looking car. So, Proton basher (blind one) better look at this one.

Me…. no comment….TQ Very much :-)

• shawal on Jan 17, 2012 at 8:49 pm

The new DZazter, oops dsire….

• Though i think the face and the butt of the car is quite nice but THEY SHOULD REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY Re-WORK THE SHAPE!!!!!! Really out of shape..

• Kelvin on Jan 17, 2012 at 9:08 pm

Dzira….just like 207, fiesta, and mazda 2 sedan…. all these cars have weird proportion either the boot too long or too short. Sigh..

• Visitor on Jan 17, 2012 at 9:10 pm

The design is very awkward.

• 4agze on Jan 17, 2012 at 9:11 pm

what on earth is this!

• dozy888 on Jan 17, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Award for the ugliest Car of 2012.

• BoLiao on Jan 17, 2012 at 10:20 pm

Saga BLM much better than this.

• bobdbilder on Jan 17, 2012 at 10:21 pm

You’ve got to see the Hindi Movie ‘The Three Idiots’ to understand the effect of memorizing when you’re getting your engineering degree.

• jolly_idiot on Jan 17, 2012 at 10:43 pm

It looks absolutely retarted and incomplete. Should fire the designer who made this disaster.

• ezracopters on Jan 17, 2012 at 11:41 pm

is this photoshop or what..

this is 100 times worst than t dugong..ish ish

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Jan 17, 2012 at 11:53 pm

Suzuki Dzire? Should name this ugly car Suzuki Dzaster. I cannot believe Maruti Suzuki can produce this out of proportion shape sedan.

• mspfaz on Jan 17, 2012 at 11:57 pm

It looks like it tries to fart but doesn’t want to come out but instead inflate the ass.

• an651 on Jan 18, 2012 at 12:02 am

I kinda like if the rear end designed more ’roundy’. But it looks like “baru-lepas-accident-mau-claim-insurance”~

• exJAVANESE on Jan 18, 2012 at 12:20 am

yuckkk!!!

• Oh What a Nice Car!!please Brings this to malaysia,i cant wait to….ROFLH.hahahahha

• good & goods on Jan 18, 2012 at 8:21 am

the result of gettting 2 CEO to run the company..hahaha

• TerBaboo on Jan 18, 2012 at 9:57 am

ini namanya pensel kontot~..haha…anyway interior is acceptable..got auto-climate too.. : )

• Guess It doesn’t matter there…you’ll be surprised on the amount of cars they can sell there…these fellas can survive the road conditions…every where you’ll see a Suzuki…but honestly speaking, i wouldn’t buy this model…for me looks does matter.

• Johnny on Jan 18, 2012 at 10:18 am

Proton Exora steering wheel!

• it looks like it got ram by a lorry from the real and them just cut off the acess and put back the rear lights and paint it back…… but i believe if made longer with better propotion, it will look better…..

• PakAbu on Jan 18, 2012 at 10:49 am

Wow…. lots of derisive comments.

We, Malaysians, are a bunch smug people, aren’t we?

:(

• ezracopters on Jan 19, 2012 at 12:38 pm

smug, nosy whatever.. i’m proud to be Malaysian.. we dare to say yes, no and speak out our mind although sometimes it’s lame & stupid!!! hehehehe

• harris murad on Jan 18, 2012 at 10:49 am

my goddd just what on earth were they thinking lah!
    addoiiii…:’|

• okcomputer on Jan 18, 2012 at 11:24 am

Simple fugly….

• Han!h on Jan 18, 2012 at 1:19 pm

Kizashi’s butt!

• gaman-kun on Jan 18, 2012 at 1:40 pm

super funny looking car..hahahaha..

• ben yap on Jan 18, 2012 at 1:47 pm

who approve this design? he ought to get sacked!

stupid looking car….

• samsam on Jan 18, 2012 at 8:55 pm

LOL!

• CDE426 on Jan 19, 2012 at 7:24 am

Even my 6 years old daughter laughing when I show her this car photos

• carazy on Jan 19, 2012 at 10:00 am

burook la wei..

• persona more better when it tranfrom from gen2…

• DarkllydreamingDexter on Jan 19, 2012 at 4:10 pm

Really folks, It’ a…. ‘Tailored’ Swift.

• DD dexter on Jan 19, 2012 at 4:16 pm

really folks, it’s just a …………’tailored’ Swift.