2011 Suzuki Swift – more pictures released

Suzuki have released new pictures of the 2011 Suzuki Swift that was just revealed earlier this month. The new pictures include interior shots and gives you a better idea of the Swift’s design, as it includes rear end shots that were not available before.

The engine options available so far for the European market include a 1.2-litre petrol and the 1.3-litre turbo diesel, which we now know produces 75 horsepower at 4,000 RPM, while 190Nm of torque is produced at 1,750 RPM. A five speed manual gearbox will be offered as standard with both petrol and diesel engines, and there is an optional four speed automatic transmission for the petrol engine.

The diesel powered engine only sips 4.2 litres for every 100 kilometres travelled, while the petrol engine consumes 5.0 litres of fuel for every 100 kilometres travelled. Included with the new pictures is a spec sheet for both the 5-door and the 3-door models.

Look after the jump for the gallery.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1230]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• neokid on Jun 23, 2010 at 12:05 am

i thought they wud rock their rivals..but.. the design is more or less the same? hmm..

• hahahehe on Jun 23, 2010 at 12:09 am

Looks alot like the Renault “Big Butt” Clio.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 23, 2010 at 12:11 am

dont like the steering wheel

• skiborne on Jun 23, 2010 at 12:38 am

the only thing that turns me down is, “4 speed auto box”, damn it why not, 5-speed at least, like current Jazz??!!

• alpha999 on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:48 am

i believe it’s due to cost issue unless there’s economic of scale for 5 speed

• what’s with the weight of the car ??

• Ultraman says: on Jun 23, 2010 at 1:13 am

Very Boring design inside out… the jazz design is much better.

• Karipap Panas on Jun 23, 2010 at 1:20 am

There is so much potential in turbo diesel cars
    with regards to its fuel efficiency and emmission levels
    and yet we only have Euro2 in Malaysia.
    As long as the fuel grade remains status quo , we will never
    see a single turbo diesel engine being introduced with the exception of BMW.
    Where is the green technology initiatives/incentives promised by the govt ?

• klguy on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:07 am

got Focus TDCi also

• The Loner on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:33 am

The G always makes empty promises. If the incentives are given, they earn less income for themselves.

For time being BMW is premium brand to offer turbo diesel vehicle whereas Ford is the brand to offer affordable turbo diesel vehicle.

But check carefully the engine displacement because the annual road tax is a long term expenditure.

• Georgie on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:15 am

Not sure for you guys over the peninsular, but for us here yes we do have the green technology incentive when buying green diesel engine for our pick up trucks. They cut the rod tax nearly 50% if your diesel engine is certified a green engine.

There’s no problem in employing turbo diesel even in local cars, of course if everybody is buying a diesel engine then how are they going to profit from the much more profitable petrol?

• carzlover on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:33 pm

here jalan lubang sana sini. of coz road tax cheaper. takkan u pay expensive road tax for jalan teruk macam ni.

• Farhat Haniff on Jun 23, 2010 at 1:56 am

So Renault-ish..
    I always hate new generation swifts (eventhough my dad once owned a black 1989 Swift Sedan) but this made it worse..

BMW Mini and Fiat 500 did great in introducing a evolutionary design language for their newer generations but the new 2010/11 swift is just not right…

Apart from the unique A-C Pillar design (like an aircraft), the icon for the new swift, the rest is simply (to us malaysians) – Cut and paste jobs..

I dont know if the swift is ‘Inspired’ by Renault, but it has a similar butt with 2004 Megane (worse on the swift), Uber-similar centre aircon vents as the 2010 Megane and a typical “RENAULT” styled Steering wheel Silver accents (quite similar aswell to our top-line Peroduas)..

Honestly, in my opinion, i dont like it. I never had liked the current Swift, but this one doesn’t even cut through the thin icing on a cake.

• jab strong fierce! on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:08 am

Swift was inspired by Mini Cooper. The car designer mentioned it in his Japanese blog way back when the first gen Swift came out in the JDM

• it looks a bit like the mercedes s class from the front…

• 1.2 – CKD rm60K ? good deal

• bangmovie.net on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:20 am

4 speed auto? Common….

• Jaybond on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:16 am

1.2???? Come on, at least 1.3..

• looks like suzuki has adopted mini’s ‘deja-vu’ design philosophy, it looks soooooo much like the old one. although im not really a fan of new cars looking too much like the one it replaces, i have 2 say they’ve clean up the design rather well, everythin looks more tidier n neater. although i wont choose 2 buy one (never been a fan of it), i still think it looks ok.

ps: is it juz me, or is the front lights looks too much like those on a wish???

• littlefire on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:00 am

Bring the 1.3L Turbo diesel in, i might book 1 if the price is right!

• sick and tired on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:06 am

boring! the interior looks good though ;)

• CiViC_7900 on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:35 am

Looks much nicer than the current swift

• like em' on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:01 am

gonna wait n see the swift sport. 1.2 onli? awww man…

• alldisc on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:28 am

The Mini fever has infect suzuki camp i think…

they changed it, but it looks the same. as the saying goes – if it aint broke, dont change it.

sighhh…..

• zackDADA on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:55 am

I lov lov lov my current swift…

Way of Life

• lol at u guys..when change too much..then u will say ‘i prefer the old model’..when change a little..then u will say ‘still look the same..nothing different’…LOL..u might as well go apply for their designer post..lol

• autojohndoe on Jun 23, 2010 at 1:59 pm

it become a myvi look-a-like…

Myvi wannabe?

hoho

• mustafa on Jun 23, 2010 at 4:58 pm

hello….it’s the facelifted MYVI that follow the swift front end……
      so actually it is the MYVI that is the swift wannabe….

• autojohndoe on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:50 pm

basically they try to be each other… i think…

• scgtimk1 on Jun 24, 2010 at 8:53 am

Myvi is the one that try to copy swift….

Typical myvi owner statement, they cannot afford a swift and think his/her car is equal to Swift and say swift copy myvi…. chet…

Pathetic.

• Type F on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:37 am

So stupid for swift if they want to copy the MyVi cheap car design…
      Out of the league…

• Niezam Bond on Jun 23, 2010 at 2:17 pm

Play safe ……

• AllWhites on Jun 23, 2010 at 2:19 pm

Yah, the new swift’s rear really looks like a Renault. Others look pretty good, though the front looks almost exactly the same.

• aliBaPa on Jun 23, 2010 at 2:33 pm

the back looks nicer

• aliBaPa on Jun 23, 2010 at 2:35 pm

front like myvi, back looks nicer

• SCM-dybc2125 on Jun 23, 2010 at 3:38 pm

rather than giving comment to the outlook or design, I would be more interested to look and the suspension and handling setup as swift is a car which is excellent in handling. doubt if any improvement to it or not ???

I tot engine is DVVT??? from the spec, it says it is VVT ??? anyway, high power is not its characteristic as it is not in same segment with those 308 or mini or clio or ….

• celica zzt231 on Jun 23, 2010 at 4:13 pm

bring in the 1.6 sport model!

• nebula87 on Jun 23, 2010 at 4:19 pm

i can see a toyota or honda accord…in front..

• Neutral on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:15 pm

hmm Suzuki dah abis idea n modal so minor change only :(

• learner on Jun 24, 2010 at 8:40 am

what is the weight of 1.2l swift? savvy with just 955kg and 1149cc capable of smoking myvi with 965kg and 1298cc. both manual

• read that the european version has 7 airbag. 190Nm is something to say too :)

• torez on Jun 24, 2010 at 2:11 pm

if it priced below 60k for CKD would be competitive.
    If not payah la,
    d problem is d blood sucking parent co. here – DRB-HICOM…
    the Economies of Scale if mass produced here would b beneficial
    come to think of it, DRB-HICOM nak buat ke?
    NOT A CHANCE>>>>

• c14man on Jun 25, 2010 at 12:59 am

more like facelift?

• Bius Dogong on Jun 26, 2010 at 11:44 am

mmm boring.. outdated design…

• When it will available here?

• Pacman88 on Oct 17, 2010 at 5:15 pm

Dunno. As usual when you ask Suzuki Malaysia, they have no idea either. Paul, do you know?

• Christopher on Dec 30, 2010 at 10:02 am

when will it launch at malaysia????