What is Electronic Stability Control (ESC) and why Malaysians need more active safety tech in our cars

You’re driving along the highway to KLIA to drop your wife off to catch a flight. The skies are pouring down at full blast, and your wipers are struggling to keep up. There’s loads of water on the road, so you keep to the middle lane to reduce your chances of aquaplaning. You think there’s plenty of time to reach the airport, and since you’re taking precautions, everything should be dandy.

But not everyone is as conservative as you in the wet. Another car behind you speeding along in the fast lane suddenly starts spinning, and spinning, and spinning – and you watch it slowly come closer and closer to you through your rear view mirror. It’s spinning 360 degrees while sliding towards you at a higher speed than you’re driving forward with full traction! BAM! The other car hits you at highway speeds and sends your car veering almost sideways out of control towards the barrier.

Seems a little far fetched, but this actually happened to me some time ago. And I didn’t hit the barrier, because my car was equipped with stability control. In seconds, stability control did its magic, applied brake force to the necessary individual wheels to stabilise the car. I regained control of the vehicle without much effort, and could have proceeded with my journey if I had to. A potential disaster had been averted, and I got away with just a broken bumper and a tail lamp.

There are so many potential situations where stability control can potentially save your life. Another driver might be merging into your lane without bothering to check his wing mirrors to see if he’d be ploughing straight into you – and at highway speeds, an evasive manoeuvre could see you lose control as the car starts to fishtail.

Most people are unaware of what stability control is. The layman interprets car safety as being passive – which means the car must be good at saving your skin when you crash. He thinks the body must be “solid.” and he kicks the bumpers, shuts the hood and slams the door at the showroom to apparently test this by the sound the body parts make. This must be an acquired skill like wine tasting, as it doesn’t make sense to me at all. And then he counts the number of airbags in the car – the more, the better.

He also takes into account if the car has ABS, but he thinks this means the brakes are stronger, not the real meaning of ABS (Anti-Lock Braking System), which basically allows you to steer while you’re braking, so you can steer around the object that’s in your way. The point is, ABS isn’t passive safety, but it’s active safety, essentially a vehicle system that works to prevent you from crashing, rather than try to cushion the impact of a crash.

Another form of active safety is stability control. There are really not many people that know what stability control is. So when market surveys are done, this important safety feature doesn’t show up as being desired by the potential buyer, and so the bean-counters at the car company decide that they don’t need to put this feature in to sell cars

We have even seen cars that come with stability control in one generation and with the next generation, the feature is gone, all because market studies showed consumers did not ask for it, and so it didn’t matter when it came to sales numbers whether such an important safety feature was included or not.

Since 2009, Euro NCAP began awarding three Safety Assist points to a car if stability control is fitted as standard across the model range, or if it is an option on every variant and the manufacturer also expects to sell at least 95% of cars with the system as standard equipment.

From 2012, stability control has been regarded with such importance that Euro NCAP will only reward equipment with a five-star rating when ESC is fitted as standard across the whole of the model range, and the feature has also become compulsory for all new cars sold in the EU. The NHTSA has done that for 2012 as well.

Electronic Stability Control (ESC) is an advanced technology designed to improve a vehicle’s stability by detecting and reducing loss of traction (skidding).

Here’s a step-by-step explanation of how it works:

1. Sensors: ESC systems have several sensors to gather data. These include wheel speed sensors, steering angle sensor, rotational rate sensor (also known as a yaw sensor), and lateral acceleration sensor. These sensors are continuously monitoring the car’s movement and behavior.
    • The wheel speed sensors monitor the speed of each wheel. If one wheel is spinning faster than the others, it could indicate a loss of traction.
    • The steering angle sensor detects the direction in which the driver intends to go. This is done by measuring the angle at which the steering wheel is turned.
    • The rotational rate sensor or yaw sensor measures the rotation of the car around its vertical axis, which corresponds to whether the car is turning to the left or right.
    • The lateral acceleration sensor measures the sideways acceleration of the car, like when the car is going into a curve.
  2. Comparison of data: The data from these sensors is continuously compared to a model of the vehicle’s behavior in the ESC system’s control unit. If the data from the sensors does not match the expected behavior — for example, if the car’s actual direction of travel (determined using the wheel speed and yaw sensors) does not match the driver’s intended direction (determined using the steering angle sensor) — then the ESC system determines that the vehicle is beginning to lose traction or skid.
  3. Control actions: If the ESC system detects a loss of traction or skid, it can take one or more control actions to help stabilize the vehicle. These actions include selectively applying the brakes to one or more wheels, reducing the engine power, or a combination of both.
    • If the vehicle is understeering (not turning enough and tending to go straight), the ESC system might apply the brakes to the inside rear wheel to create a torque that helps the vehicle turn.
    • If the vehicle is oversteering (turning too much and tending to spin out), the ESC system might apply the brakes to the outside front wheel to counteract the spin.
    • In some cases, the ESC system might also reduce the engine power to help regain control.
  4. Continuous monitoring: The ESC system continues to monitor the vehicle’s behavior and may continue to take control actions until it determines that the vehicle is stable again.

By reducing the chances of skidding or losing control, ESC systems can help drivers maintain control of their vehicle, especially in slippery conditions or when the vehicle is handling at the limit of its capabilities, thereby significantly improving safety.

Here are three very good videos that explain how stability control works. I reckon it does the job much better than trying to explain it in text.

Are you sold yet? Can you see what an important feature stability control is? You can’t guarantee that you’ll never be in a situation where stability control won’t save your skin – as my own experience proves, even if you drive safely, some douchebag could slam into your car at any time, and then you’ll have to fight to keep your vehicle in control.

Most distributors here, however, won’t include it in cars sold in Malaysia, if we don’t ask for it. There are many brand names for stability control, depending on the car manufacturer – it has been called ESP, VSA, VSC, DSC, ESC, etc. The next time you visit a car dealership and shop for a car, ask your SA if the car has any kind of stability control. Raise your concerns if the car doesn’t. Provide valuable feedback to the car companies and hopefully they will listen! Sometimes the product planners want to include stability control, but are unable to because of survey data that shows low demand.

For the latest list of cars on sale in Malaysia with stability control, click ahead to use CarBase.my’s search tool: Cars with electronic stability control (ESC) in Malaysia.

Now, what you should do is send this story to all your friends, share it on Facebook, call your parents up, call your friends up. No matter what method you use, just spread the message of the importance of stability control.

Malaysians, it’s time for you to understand car safety systems that are beyond just airbags and ABS and ask for more safety features, or we will forever be stuck with low safety equipment levels in our cars.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kudos for the article, Paul.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 2
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 156
      • Yeah but it helps when the situation necessitates.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 1
      • ESP Man on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:42 am

Great article Paul. This is like Air Bags and ABS. In Europe, these were compulsory like 10 years ago. In Malaysia, airbags are still an option. Sad to say our Government is not bothered.

They are more concerned about enriching the AP holders and Bumiputeras.

Pity also, its the people who who Proton and Perodua’s are the main ones meeting fatality in car accidents nowadays because their cars have no Airbag, ABS nor ESP. Yet, the majority of the people who are buying these Protons and Peroduas are voting the BN governement, the same government that is compromising on our safety on the roads. Ask anybody in the kampungs and they will tell you that they either know or have one member of their family who is invalid, vegetable or seriously handicapped because of a car accident that could have been avoided with ABS, ESP or Airbags.

Its high time the government abolish all these stupid AP’s. These APs are the ones causing us to get substandard cars or low specced cars that jeopardize our safety. The AP system was created to encourage bumiputera participation in the car business. But this goal has 100% failed as 90% of all AP holders sell their APs to the chinaman. So, what is the real purpose of the AP?

Indirectly or directly, the AP system has taken tens of thousands of lives from Malaysia. Look at the US, a USD$15,000 car alone can have airbags, EBD, ESP, ABS etc etc. And yet, in Malaysia, just to get ESP alone, we have to spend RM100,000. Enough is enough. Its high time the government do something about the AP system as the system is now jeopardizing our lives and has taken tens of thousands of lives in the past with uncalled for accidents.

May God bless you for writing this article and I appeal to everyone reading this to forward this article to everybody also and facebook it. ESP must be a basic standard like aircon. And if people refuse to buy cars without these basic safety neccessities, the car manufacturers will have no choice but to make it standard. Remember, merely by forwarding this article, you may be saving a life!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 202 Thumb down 41
        • Celicazz on Apr 07, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Proton and perodua? Are you serious?

Where did u get the facts?

Of course, bcos they are the most sold brands in malaysia, but, by percentage, do u have any facts?

Its not only proton and perodua who reluctant to give us the ESP system, but the others like toyota as well, throughout this entire region of South East Asia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
        • You must first realize where u are.. You must look at target buyers for both Proton and Perodua.. What they really want is a cheaper price and they are not totally ready to pay extra for these features.. Of course soon they will demand for these technology for their safety since they have more information on it.. And Proton is going towards it by having the Preve and Suprima equipped with those technologies..

• william on May 26, 2015 at 10:32 am

And stop linking everything to politics! My gosh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • WickedSwicket on Jun 15, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Everything blame the gov. It’s the car manufacturers & importers tht does not want to include these features.
          And most car owners actually worry about resale value rather than safety.
          That’s why people are buying Vios, which is actually a crap car.
          The Fiesta n even Preve & Suprima is a class above.

• openmind on Jun 27, 2012 at 1:15 pm

I dont think this is a drawback and this perspectie is defintely wrong. Can i say that because of better living environment, then it create a false sense of healthiness and thus people would start to neglect and live recklessly ??? Reckless or not, it is behaviour. We are talking about features and equipment that helps. Stronger helmet doesnt guarantee you will not die in accident, but, at least, it helps to mitigate certain risk or minimize risk of severe head injury.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • since when the opposition promise they will make those car cheaper and with mandatory safety requirement? or do you assume they will give everything that we need after they take over the goverment? i;m not against pakaran or anything,but please enlighten me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 46
      • It’s very simple. Benefit outweigh the drawback. You sure need it when the time comes.

• ryuki on Jun 28, 2012 at 11:07 pm

Aah a Toyota salesman. Trying to justify why the Camry don’t have ESP/VSC. Let’s all pray that Tom will be in the same situation as Paul did and he can come back to share his views whether ESP/VSP is a must. ….if he gets out alive! And not in a body bag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • driver on Jun 29, 2012 at 12:00 am

Tom,
        It’s called “compensatory behaviour”.. as much as your comment holds some merit, but the actual fact still holds – i.e. human has limitation that need to be supplemented by technologies such as the ESP…

ESP Man,
        I do agree with partial of your comment, but have some reservation to others. The existence of AP may have some contributions to the sub-standard car on the road, but in my opinion, less demand in our automotive market is more superior factor. Hence I, like you, also strongly support Paul’s effort to make people aware, understand, and DEMAND of this technology.

The current government unfortunately, like the manufactures, may think that road safety is something less important as compared to the economic impact to the country. Thus, the rakyat need to create the demand, and tell them to enforce the safety standard in the country. In short, it goes back to the demand of the rakyat.

• Pilih BN untuk Harga Tinggi on Jun 29, 2012 at 9:30 am

Remember in the 80s, you can buy a brand new Nissan 130Y for about RM16,000 and a brand new Mercedes 200 for RM57,000. Let me remind everybody, global car prices have not really gone up that much. Infact, car prices have gone up so slow over the years due to healthy competition. Look at car price history in Australia, UK and US, UK, they have gone up slightly in proportion to global inflation.

So in reality, your Honda City and Toyota Vios should only be about RM40k to RM50k, which is what Indonesia and Thailand is charging their people.

Wake up lah kampung people. Your government is cheating you left right and centre and you are still voting BN. Wahai si kampung, tak kan bodoh sangat? Nasi pun susah mahu beli, masih nak pilih BN?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 35
        • guest on Apr 07, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Harlo, you lah kampung people. Idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
        • Celicazz on Apr 07, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Have u went through toyota’s indonesia n thailand website to verify ur claim?

Have u compare side by side, spec by spec?

U cant have malaysian spec on thailand and indonesia basic price.

• compare on Apr 29, 2014 at 10:00 pm

did u go and compare it ?

Malaysia :
            http://www.toyota.com.my/vios/#price

Thailand :
            http://www.toyota.co.th/en/product-detail.php?model=vios&opt=spec

what i can see for the sportvio its just the rear brakes are different and the amount of speaker we have are 6 , they are having 4 , our 25++k are use on the disc break and 2 speaker ?

=.=

• Bimmer on Jun 29, 2012 at 9:43 am

For me a good handling car is more important than a bad handling car with VSC. The best would be a good handling car with VSC.

With a good handling car, the possibility of you finding yourself in a condition that requires ESC intervention will be lower than a bad handling car.

Thus, in a situation where a good handling car requires the ESC intervention, most likely, the ESC in a bad handling car won’t be able to help if the bad handling car is in a similar situation as the good handling car with ESC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
        • not true! every car needs VSC la..even good handling car such as bmw needs VSC, check euro ncap VSC test here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gRTtw7otjhc

• john true on Nov 22, 2016 at 8:52 am

define term ‘handling’

• esp are for those unexpected situations

• Innovator on Apr 29, 2014 at 9:31 pm

You are such a douchebag. In the above article, it was mentioned very clearly that accident can still happened regardless of whether you are a careful driver or not. It’s because of people like you that we still get shitty cars bring sold here

• With or without ESC, we Malaysian will always drive recklessly when we hop into the car(a nice person to talk to suddenly become a person who have no regards of others’ live), because a car itself has already create a false sense of safety, ever heard of conversation like this?
        A: The traffic is so bad in KL, i think i’ll ride my motorbike to work. :)
        B: What!? Don’t you know how dangerous it is to ride a motorbike? Go with your car please! Its safer!

• Yeah, so those with AIRBAG are more likely to BUMP into others…

• Lim Kopi on Jun 27, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Remember what Proton’s ex-MD Mahaileel use to say something like – Airbags are not that important ??

What do u think Paul?

• Kenneth on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:57 pm

Paul, what about Lexus CT200 also fitted with VSC and Traction control?

• Rhys Milen on Apr 01, 2014 at 9:30 pm

Paul… the starex since 2011 has esp..

• ashraf on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:17 am

YEAH.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WE DESERVE IT..!!

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:24 am

Paul, Toyota Prius is in both the C and D segment list? Typo perhaps?

• HirumaKecil on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:17 am

I think c segment is Prius C while the d segment one is the standard Prius..

• No way… Prius C is just as big as Toyota Yaris.. its even smaller than Vios.. Standard Prius is not there yet to be D segment..

• alldisc on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:36 am

Prius C 1.5 in B segment, the 1.8 model in C segment

not any error.

• kumar on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:51 am

one is “Prius C 1.5” …another is “Prius 1.8”

• sohigh on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:19 am

i hate smartass who doestn know how to read like u the most

its obvious written Prius C and Prius

different cars if u are not well verse in the local automobile industry i suggest do more research before trying to correct a car journalist tq

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 27, 2012 at 1:48 pm

Originally the Toyota Prius was duplicated in the D-segment list when I read it at right after Paul posted it this morning. Now he has rectified it in his post. Not only you failed to read my comment properly, you replied like a rude jackass as well.

• 1Bangladesh on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:24 am

No perodua in the club? At least proton have preve in thestablility group

• 1000horses on Jun 27, 2012 at 7:45 am

Prius C in B segment and Prius in C segment…no mention in D segment…

• P'Fanz on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:01 am

Perodua not safety at all…even air bag cannot deploy..

• OMG….grow up lah….As long as our government enforce the safety features such as ABS,airbag and ESP to all new cars, P1 and P2 sure must follow the rules.

• OMG….grow up lah….As long as our current government not being change, nothing will change except the increasing of price..

• Izzard on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:24 am

Making it a regulatory requirement is much better than having car makers taking it up voluntarily. Else we’ll end up with the feature being offered on higher spec variants only.

• mivec101 on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:25 am

our transport ministry and government are so incompetent that we are condemned to driving unsafe cars with expensive price tags

• tiong on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:31 am

keep on blaming game. it is majority of malaysian who put them up there. it is the same majority of malaysian also who buys cars without esp, so seller still make money even without esp, so who care?

• Mazda For Life on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:26 am

Thanks so much for sharing this important article, Paul. Increase safety awareness among the driving population and hopefully in turn, our manufacturers and distributors do not cut corners by omitting such safety features from their cars.

• myr532 on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:27 am

Kudos to Paultan.org for bringing this long overdue topic up, its about time Malaysians woke up and realize the importance of ESP. I suggest Malaysians (who can afford such cars) downright avoid buying cars with no ESP because when its about the safety of our children and family members, there should be no compromise.

The government should also follow suit with the Europeans, Australians and the Americans in requiring ESP to be present in every car model sold here in Malaysia, there’s no reason why safety equipment should be made a luxury. Its sad enough that our road fatality rate is one of the most highest in Asia.

• littlefire on Jun 27, 2012 at 7:17 am

Yup, already long i highlighted about ESP! If u guys do know i commented a lot in here about it..

But still a lot of people still don’t aware of it… Now with this article, we need to educate more ppl regarding car safety!

• Most people that buys H & T only cares about RV. Nobody bothers about stability control whatsoever

• Mazda For Life on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:28 am

Paul with that complied list I notice one famous marque is missing from the Cat D-segment list: the Toyota Camry.

• cum-lee on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:31 am

toyota removed stability control from all models of the camry. funny, altis also got stability control but camry dont have.

• Terence on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:55 am

don’t worry, Toyota & UMW will remove ESP/VSC from next gen Altis

• Gabla on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:39 pm

Funny how a lot of people commented in the Camry launch news about how ugly they think the new Camry looks. Yet now I think some of them still care about the car and upset about the fact that VSC feature is not available.

There other D segment cars which are within the same price range as Camry and yet offering more value for the money like Passat, Mondeo and Optima K5. They say UMW is ripping them off but when they want to buy a car, they will still go back to the company, that’s why they care so much about the missing VSC feature on Camry.

For me, if I’m buying a D-segment car, my choice would be Mondeo. The Camry is so fugly that I won’t even bother to know what features are offered or skipped by UMW.

• intermilan on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:51 am

The omission of stability control from the RM150K and above Toyota Camry (latest generation) spark PT to write an article on stability control as means to raise public awareness on why stability control is crucial. The omission (decision made by UMW, i guess) was a shocker, and merit appropriate response.

Anyone experience skidding (99.99% of the time, your ESP-less car will crash the road barrier or worse, crash to a solid object (e.g. tree) or stuck in the ditch etc) know what PT write is true. For those who think ABS, EBD are good enough, they serve different purposes and won’t help once your car begin to slid, fish tail or skid. And good handling is not a substitute for stability control too.

The compilation list of car sold in Malaysia (sub-200K) with stability control is the revelation, an eye-opener to us on which marques does emphasis on occupant safety (i.e. their clients and theirs’ loves one) and which marques prefer to count and accumulate as much beans as they could.

• hoo.. even my little Polo has ESP.. shame on T Camry…

• Palani on Mar 31, 2014 at 7:11 pm

For your kind information – I don’t think Volkswagen Polo having ESP feature!

• Jimmy on Jun 27, 2012 at 5:53 pm

UMW is the one which continues to make all cars getting more and more expensive and less and less well equiped. Remember in 2006, Toyota Camry was just RM136OOO when the government just revised the tax structure. Then UMW raised the price back to around the same old price of RM150000 to RM160000. The Honda, Nissan D segment cars followed (current Accord and Teana were launched after last generation Camry). If we continue to support this current empty-boxed Camry this time, then the next generation Teana Premium and Accord 2.4 may follow not to have VSC. Possible?
        So reducing tax is of no use in reducing price of cars in Malaysia, it has become a culture to sell car at expensive prices — rampas money: aim to sell one D-segment car with profit margin of 100% (sell one, earn one). Just look at the prices of our hybrids. So we can blame government and Proton, but we cannot solely blame them.

• Wong Mei Fun on Jun 27, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Only a very very very very very stupid person will buy a Toyol ta Camry. ESP pun tarak ada!

• The Chinaman on Jun 28, 2012 at 9:28 am

To the Chinaman, success is very important. Those who have achieved ultimatum ie Managing Direcotr or CEO status, success is defined buy showing they own a Mercedes and a Rolex. To the small time Chinaman (mainly SME and small businesses) who has achieved and made it in life, success is defined by owning a Toyota Camry and still a Rolex. They did not mind whether the car was ugly nor with low specs.

But that was yesteryears. Today Chinaman, no matter how apek they look, is educated and intelligent. To them, safety of their family is important. They don’t simply buy anything just to prove their status in life. Besides getting their money’s worth, they are very particular about the specs they receive, especially the ones that contribute to safety. I can verify that 99% of the younger generation refuse to buy the Camry. One or two older generation do trickle down and end up buying the Toyota Camry but it is not going to have the volume of the previous years. One thing for sure, Toyota Camry without the ESP is going to go downhill. Nobody will want it also in the second hand market and rest assured current buyers of the non ESP Toyota Camry will have difficulty retaining their value.

• The Chinaman on Jun 28, 2012 at 9:53 am

Very simple why Camry got no ESP. Toyota is by UMW. UMW is bumi crony company. It is mainly owned by Permodalan Nasional Bhd. See the detailed shareholders and you can see the minister’s children having a pie share and other crony businessman. These people just want $$$$ and don’t care about safety.

Based on the shareholders, it can be said it is 100% government ownership. So, this is another rip off by crony bumi companies and government. The same with Proton. Why Proton cars expensive? Cause all the hundreds of crony suppliers hike up the price of each item and sell it to Proton.
        Its like the food you eat on the MAS flight overseas. Per head is RM100 per meal. Go and find out who owns the catering company. The same with Camry’s supply of parts. See who owns it. Then you will understand how the crony system works and why safety is zero importance.

• toyota totally omitting traction control and VSC from current model is a really bad move since 2 previous generations 2.4 model were having them. They might lost some customers due to this omission, but i guess when toyota is doing so well they just dont care anymore…..

• DontBeRippedOff on Jun 27, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Toyota Camry is glaring example of how Malaysian consumer are getting ripped off. Malaysians made Camry was the best selling D-segment cars for 2 years now. Last year, 7,000+ units sold, 2010, 11,000+ units sold. Assuming that Toyota target the same number of sales for the new model, and assuming the cost putting ESP in the new model is RM 1,000 each(and I’m sure its cost a more than that), they have save a cool $ 7 million. I bet Toyota knew, that with our current buying mentality, it does not matter. Ripped off the consumer, and they will still buy anyway.

I think those planning to buy Camry should demand Toyota to put these safety features. If other manufacturer can do it for less expensive car, why cant Camry. Otherwise, guess have to wait for government to make it mandatory, and god knows when that will happen.

• alldisc on Jun 27, 2012 at 4:47 pm

the previous camry (4th gen) was all from thailand bro, get the facts right. the new one is back to CKD, as was 1st, 2nd and 3rd gen Camry.

• chan kam nam on Jun 27, 2012 at 6:06 pm

Yep, to put it bluntly, Toyota does not give a Fork if their customers die. As long as you have paid for your car (whether through cash or HP), what happens is not their concern.

But still, you will have many countless supporters saying never mind, small matter only. What matters is that the engine is reliable and resale value good.

To all Camry buyers:

You Deserve What You Pay For.

Let it be known to Toyota or more specifically UMW, you cannot short change your customers for too long. Eventually, you will lose your customers, here it means the literal sense, i.e. your customers may meet with an accident and lose their lifes.

To those who say that Camry was launched in SIC to show it can handle high speed corners, a track is very different from the real road, plus, the track was dry.

• Passat laa on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:05 pm

No need to bash Camry here laa. Those who buy Camry will never know the existence of this site. Or still thinks data is stored in floppy disks!

• jackcity on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:30 am

D segment Toyota camry

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 27, 2012 at 1:09 am

None of the models in the new Camry range have ESP. The uncles say no need cause they drive slow slow. RV more precious than ESP.

• Camry-lover on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:19 pm

..and toyota knew that uncles drive below 110km/h..and they already knew in advance about the implementation of RM2000.00 max fine for over speed limit.. :D … so.. don’t bother with ESP (Toyota’s VSC – very silly cornering)

• rozanne on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:30 am

For Malaysian authority, is better for our people to die in accidents rather than car manufacturers losing some of their profits by putting ESP or other safety equipments in their cars.
    We always need to pay for premium prices but getting lower quality products.
    Still most Malaysian will come out with ridiculous ideas to defend our authority on this particular issue. Patriotik la sangat.

• car driver on Jun 27, 2012 at 7:04 am

proton brainwashed the rakyat by saying their lotus tuned handling will save your ass if something goes wrong. no need for active safety, passive one is good enough. high tensile body, lotus tuned suspension, crumple zone; no need esp lah. rakyat cannot understand such advanced jargon.

remove esp from domestic cars and apply esp for foreign export market because only orang putih could understand such advanced technology.

• Why blame P1 only? Why not P2?

At least P1 have the innitiative to put it on the Preve. Maybe on more models after this.

But P2??? Abok pun tarak! Just a ‘yes’ man to their Japanese owner in whatever models they give.

• John L on Aug 14, 2016 at 6:46 pm

And… years later Proton was the first to introduce ESP for a local car at RM40k. Without the Iriz, the Perodua Boxza might not even have ABS…

• Stiggie on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:31 am

Well said Paul. We drivers deserve first class active and passive safety features in every car we buy! Occupant safety should not be taken for granted.

• tiadaid on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:31 am

The fact that the Proton Saga is fitted with an ESC for the AU market proves that it’s not hard to include ESC as a standard item. All that is needed is a shove from the Government.

But with the state of the country at the moment with all the useless politicking by either sides – nothing ever will be done. Anybody else are tired of all the NATO?

• b sensible on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:33 pm

yea…our car IS most costly compared with regional peers. even i take nissan selphy selling for RM114k, BUT only RM77k…a whopping RM37k diff. just think it will not cost much for a vehicle equipped with ESP…but it’s the gov tax that made the car costly. the only thing car makers hv ESP if they can sell the product and make profit. if can’t, then sell with std spec only loh! this is want we get! bloody gov!!!

• dear paultan,

While i agree with ur proposal, esp is still quite an advanced tech considering what we malaysians are usually served with on our plate. Lets consider esp as a level 5 safety feature. We malaysians aren even blessed with cars with basic feature, i.e. Level 1 – stronger crush zones.

And im not talking about just proton or perodua. We can take a look at youtube on the euro, australian or american ncap tests on the common japanese offering, amd they usually end up with bad ratings. And we can only afford these due to high taxation.

Then we also need basic items, level 2, i.e. Airbags. In malaysia, to have airbags is like trying to dine in air asia. WE END UP PAYING MORE for basic things. And then, at level 3, ABS. Similar to airbags, ABS also costs more. This is evidenced in cars offered by proton n perodua.

Then there’s EBD followed by ESP. I believe in real life, the law makers have perhaps, despite some good

things they have done, never in their life ever get to experience to make decisions in buying a car with good package. I really hope your article could in more ways than one influence our lawmakers in making compulsory all basic safety features in our cars in the future.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 27, 2012 at 1:21 am

Reading news reports in the media, our lawmakers are more concerned with making money and the rakyat overly concern with race and religion. If more important things had their attention, we won’t be dealing with old grade fuels, poor public transport and a national automotive albatross, to name a few.

• 1000horses on Jun 27, 2012 at 7:51 am

One day when the guy that holds the pen experience the same with all family on board, i will bet the law shall be in place the next morning….if of coz he lives to hold the pen…..

• artworks on Jun 27, 2012 at 1:42 am

pay 80k for fiesta sedan and u get 7airbag and ESP

• alldisc on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:44 am

and a really cramped rear cabin, suitable only for children below 10 yrs old.

• weird how fiesta hatchback gets only 2 airbags but sedan 7 airbags

• artworks on Jul 11, 2012 at 2:47 pm

when u say fiesta rear is cramped, i tell u is roomier than a wira.

• Fiqie on Sep 23, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Seating in the Fiesta rear seats makes me a little bit claustrophobic. Most B and A segments car too..haha.

• kay_are on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:45 am

Vios dun hv meh? The so called “great” trd sportivo oso dun hv meh?

• beemer on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:49 am

Good job Paul. I’m guessing this article is written because the latest overpriced camry is without VSC, and a lot of people, authorized distributor and buyer alike, seem to take this feature for granted. Malaysians are truly ignorant.

• Samuel Schick on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:55 am

My Suzuki Swift Sport by right supposed to comes equipped with the ESP, thanks to SMA where they decided to not include it into. It’s without the auto leveling xenon projector headlight and climate control too. It’s so sad that malaysia market always get the least stuff in their cars.

• tishaban on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:57 am

Thanks Paul for bringing up the safety concept of ESP. Malaysian lives have always been “cheap” ie. people care more about money and ego than their own health and safety whether when in cars or anything else.

It’s time we change this mentality and for you parents out there, to teach your children differently.

• Jimmy on Jun 27, 2012 at 1:05 am

Slapped on somebody’s face, and we know whom she is.

• we just started to have airbags, even that is not standard yet, heck, even ABS is not standard yet and if I am not mistaken, ABS plays an important role in electronic stability control

• Taurus on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:54 am

stability program uses ABS module for braking to counter over and under steer

• Palani on Mar 31, 2014 at 8:06 pm

In August 1978 Mercedes-Benz presented the second-generation anti-lock braking system (ABS), developed together with Bosch, to the press in Untertürkheim. The world-first enables a driver to retain steering control even during emergency braking. From December the innovation became available, initially in the S-Class sedans (116 series).
      Eight years before, in 1970, the first-generation anti-lock braking system for passenger cars, a system that had been developed together with TELDIX, had its world premiere. ABS is thus an example of the great staying power sometimes required to bring a product up to production standard – a responsibility which the Mercedes-Benz brand takes upon itself again and again with its numerous innovations.

• Cruze on Jun 27, 2012 at 1:17 am

Chev Cruze was not included in the list

• Rags1968 on Jun 27, 2012 at 1:20 am

Paul,
    I totally agree with your statement having survived a almost fatal skid on the NSE in 2010, at the time, my 3 month old Inspira 1.8 manual skidded on the Pagoh side going to KL, km 120 to be exact, I was driving at 5am in the morning and due to a careless motorcyclist falling on the highway and my emergency maneuvers had cause my inspira to skid , crash in the middle divider and fly to the other side of the highway, if not due to the early hours in the morning, I would not be commenting on this blog today, if the inspira was fitted with vsc and trc , there would not have this problem

Due to this I replace my drive to the 2011 altis 1.8G and when I was shopping for my new car in May 2011, there were only a handful of cars which has the vsc, trd function, my swing to altis was due to this.

I can confirm that this function of vehicle stability and traction control is still not understood by 70% of the drivers on the road, it’s unfortunate that our car traders/manufacturers/assemblers dun not think the function of vsc and trc is important enough to warrant introduction in this country, the most important thing is bottom line to them

• Bimmer on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:25 am

Inspira is launched in Nov 2010, on the 10th to be exact.

Even if you are the first one to get the car, how can you drive a 3 months old Inspira in 2010? Even in December 2010, you car would only be 1 month old.

• alldisc on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:50 am

too bad you had to learn it the hard way. should have read more.

• Shaekey on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:53 am

I totally agree that ESP feature is still new to most Malaysian drivers. In addition, many car salesman also don’t really know what ESP is and how to explain it to potential buyers.

Unfortunately, many change their alloy rim and add low profile tires, add cheap stabilizer bar and slap some stickers and thought they have a sport car now and warrant to be driven like a super car, tailgating at high speed on a highway.

• Shifter on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:33 pm

True, they even can’t respect others too. Buat macam jalan sendiri.

• Proton got lotus handling, you don’t need VSC/ESP. Didn’t you read proton brochures?

• C-Segment Chevrolet Cruze 1.8

• Im an advocate for VSC. Was spared a crash when my car veered of in an erratic fashion during a heavy downpour! This was not the case in a 2006 vios 3 years ago. All offerings should at least have a VSC as an option. I’d rather drive a b segment car with equipped VSC then say the new camry. I further recommend that drivers of vehicles without VSC read up on how to counter an Aqua Planing situation. Important to prevent an unnecessary accident! Also drive slowly during rainy conditions especially when puddles of water start forming.

• alldisc on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:52 am

one thing worth noting – all vios comes with ABS, even in J model in 2008 even though without airbags, UMW has not forgotten to include it as standard feature.

• Mr.Crazy on Jun 28, 2012 at 11:23 pm

but Toyota still not yet included VSC as their one of the option in Vios… That was true…

• prakeq on Jun 27, 2012 at 1:43 am

very informative, thanks mate… cheers

• It gomen fault. Incompetent Gomen thats putting its poor rakyat life in risk!!

Nyawa rakyat dibelakangkan!rasuah diutamakan!!!

• mystvearn on Jun 27, 2012 at 1:47 am

Great job. Paul, can suggest you put this info in oto.my as well. Like keywords or safety feature you can tick when choosing vehicle

• seancorr on Jun 27, 2012 at 1:55 am

Kudos to Paul for this article. Stability control should be standard along with the usual ABS, EBD, BA and 2 front airbags. Our country gets a lot of rain so more the reason to have it as standard.

A good example of a safe car is the recent Volvo S60. Probably all car manufacturers should follow them and add curtain airbags, Blind Sport Warning, Lane Change Warning and so on in the near future (I’m signaling this out especially to Audi, Mercedes and BMW Malaysia!).

Other passive safety features like adaptive lights which points in the direction of the steering wheel would be a good add on.

• Carfan on Jun 27, 2012 at 6:39 am

The DSTC on the New S60 is a completely different animal. Apart from having the usual SC, TC and YC, it is an advance stability control system that also comes with sports mode, coupled with CTC, torque vectoring, RSC and TSA as standard(though I am not sure if the Malaysian units have the last two)

• niceone on Jun 27, 2012 at 1:57 am

paultan, as you guys have in-depth knowledge of cars, i think it is a good move that you can periodically write articles that are more to educating the public in terms of safety, car maintenance, etc. more articles similar to this is certainly welcomed!

• yes, i agree. gomen should make you the road safety ambassador. whip any manufacturer ass if they are ignorant about their CUSTOMERs safety

• jalan54 on Jun 27, 2012 at 2:09 am

Not only that a lot of Malaysian don’t know what is ESC but they don’t even know they shouldn’t put their children (below 12 years old) on the front seat, Even though there is an adult holding the child on the front seat. Sad…

ISOFIX should be a standard equipment in the car as well.

• theanswer on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:41 pm

yes agree. but might as well makes isofix seat cheaper too. u cant find child seat+isofix less than rm500.

• rosdi on Jun 27, 2012 at 2:25 am

I have actually seen people knocking and slamming doors of some cars in showroom to gauge how strong the car is… haha!

• The Enthusiast on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:20 am

Apparently how the door is shut is far more important than airbags, ABS, BA, EBD, ESP, and TC because safety is such a cliche. Hahahaha!

• Yea lo. Well maybe that’s the common perception given by certain local companies, where they can’t even pass the knocking and door slamming test a few years before.. Lulz..

• Camry-lover on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:33 pm

That’s me…. ha..ha..ha..

• miaomiao on Jun 27, 2012 at 3:34 am

How about Mazda 2 and 3? I checked their website and it says got ABS.

• wendy on Jun 27, 2012 at 7:52 am

Viva n saga oso got ABS, we are not talking ABS here my dear.

Anw paul, is TSC also some kind of stability control?

• The Enthusiast on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:21 am

ABS is not ESP. I suggest you to google it.

• wendy on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:27 am

really got ABS meh? how bout headlamp and signal light? got radio or not?

my dear..we are not talking about ABS here..Cheap Saga and Viva also got ABS lorrr..

Anw Paul, is TSC consider as Stability Control too?

• Traction control is part of the ESC . back then Traction control is important to reduce skidding while accelerating. it is like ABS but in the acceleration way.

ABS allows u steer during heavy braking.
        TC allows u to accelerate during slippery snow road. ( when the grip is almost / snow road )
        ESC allows u to steer well during emergency, it uses the traction method as well when it has sensor on the wheels measuring which wheel is skidding .

ESC allows u to steer

• BeemerFreak on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:54 am

Friend it is esp not abs. Even viva has abs……

• roslan on Jun 27, 2012 at 3:58 am

Just for information….honda stream especially recond from japan not all model(rsz model) got vsc or esp…its depends which type of that mpv…low spec dont have that function…so from my experience for those who want to buy recond car or mpv better check all specifications….that its the most important.

• Nescafe Lover on Jun 27, 2012 at 4:16 am

Hello, I heard that only the new Camry 2.5V has VSC but this feature was not mentioned in the comparison chart with 2.0E/G on the Toyota Malaysia website, probably to avoid making the 2.0 volume-sellers to look too inferior. Is this true?

• If Toyota includes items such as chrome trim, wood trim in their specifications, I’m sure they would love to include ESP if the Camry had it.

• BeemerFreak on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:56 am

Nope it has been confirmed that no model of the Camry except the hybrid ones are equipped with vsc. Try checking with Singapore, Thailand and Indonesia website to confirm.

• Nescafe Lover on Jun 27, 2012 at 4:34 pm

Oh I see. Thanks for clarifying!

I’m going to wait for Honda Accord 2013 then!

• sohigh on Jun 27, 2012 at 4:42 am

with so much markup they still wouldt add esp..

• maajeeedaaa on Jun 27, 2012 at 6:40 am

Paul..i think u should have highlighted the Proton Preve CVTCFE just to show those bashing machines that they can get this ESP thingy in a subrm 80000 cars…..any Perodua product with ESP by the way???

• theanswer on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:42 pm

even camry 2.5 dont have vsc..dont expect p2 got esp. or else the price sure expensive.

• benzema on Jun 28, 2012 at 12:17 pm

there is no way for P2 to put ESP on their model. our local people wont stand any chance to persuade the japanese. why we need to increase the cost?

• So.. Anyone still thinks that the countless facelifts on Vios is appropriate?

Shows that Toyota, at least Toyota Malaysia is only concerned about ripping off buyers using their brand image. Not so safe afterall, eh?

• shawal the airhead.. on Jun 27, 2012 at 6:55 am

man I wish you have facebook share button so I could share this to non-paultan browser

• Chris Ng (Member) on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:41 am

You could get into our Facebook page and share it from there. We post all links in FB too. :)

• 4g63tdsm on Jun 27, 2012 at 7:22 am

Screw the local distributors. Just get recond cars and you’d get most of these as standard.

VSC is just an item in a long list of safety items local manufacturers cheap out on.

– isofix mounts
    – Airbags
    – Abs (prerequisite for VSC)
    – proper crash safety ratings for all new cars sold…so buyers know what they are buying

I for one prefer a car without stability control as I prefer the car not to interfere with my driving, but that said, I had many years of track and driving in snow/ice and poor weather…and have advanced training. I could see how stability control will help normal drivers as an additional safety net.

The other problem is that most people have no idea on the conditions of their tyres. No system will save u if u have worn out tyres. Even with good michilin pilot sports that does well in the wet, there is a marked difference in wet performance when the thread reaches half worn.

• pianrasa on Jun 27, 2012 at 7:22 am

I’m planning to buy the new (face-lifted) Honda City E. It does offer BA (Break Assist). Is it the same as having ESP / VSA?

• Chris Ng (Member) on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:42 am

The Honda City E, which is the top spec one, comes with VSA.

• openmind on Jun 27, 2012 at 1:22 pm

brake assist is not VSC …different

• pianrasa on Jun 27, 2012 at 2:08 pm

Got this info from the Honda City brochure, the E spec comes with ABS + EBD + BA + VSA..

• Cheh… thought the G announced something sensible.

But none the less, it’s a good article.

• bcgiap on Jun 27, 2012 at 7:48 am

dear all, for the car budget below 100k, as far as l know honda insight, jazz hybrid, toyota prios c or toyota aqua got this function already. if you want more safety, better got Enron ncap 5 star, whis is honda insight and honda jazz hybrid is under the list for below 100k car.

• Thanks PaulTan for highlighting this key feature. Let’s not forget ABS too in this case and HOW these features should be applied.
    Many a times I believe the SA is only interested in selling the car and wave goodbye. There’s hardly any training or briefing of what these feature do so sometimes I don’t blame te general public for ignorance. Education is key, in addition to regulation and enforcement. People should drive carefully, roads should be well maintained too!!

• Malcolm Lim on Jun 27, 2012 at 7:51 am

Excellent article. A lot of drivers don’t know that ESP is very important in a vehicle these days and sad to say that people still buy cars like the dugong vios without stability control when you can get it in cars like the Forte or the new City 1.5E.

Even lame is the new camry opting not to have VSC/ESP in it to cut costs! Shame on UMW toyota for putting those uncle’s lives at risk! Malaysia always get watered down specs and ESP/VSC is not cheap but it is sites like paultan that needs to educate people to make them understand the importance of ESP! Kudos to Paul!

• toyota (for malaysia & asean) and perodua also never share their crash test to public… over decade the japanese people (especially japanese working in malaysia) are shiting us by reduce safety features in malaysian car. shall i share myvi crash test result? from black market, the true color of japanese people at pero2 shittin us??…
      beware perodua… new myvi use same platform from old myvi, thus the result more less is same.
      perodua, muslim people want to perform solat jumaat also restricted…

just my 2 cents..

• Jimmy on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:40 pm

Good businessmen will claim their car as stiffest with goal protection. You trust them?
        I trust ethical persons, not king of cutting cost.

• Hadi1975 on Jun 27, 2012 at 7:52 am

Thanks for the info paul…

• Hi Paul, I have a question. Can ESP help when someone loses control of their car on a slippery road?

• picasso on Jun 27, 2012 at 7:58 am

Buy second hand citroen picasso 2005 with 4 airbag
    ebd esp abs for only 30-40k.. its a good buy

• albag on Jun 27, 2012 at 7:59 am

from what i see, most typical Malaysians don’t care bout this acronyms… all they want is a solid built car, especially when the doors are closed in the “thud” sound… and also, i’m shocked to see the Colorado is the only pick up truck to have ESP.. however the mindset of most typical Malaysians are that the Hilux is the mother of all pick ups due to the brand, and Toyota rules the roads with its Hilux without the ESP feature.. sadding truth

• ahmadfaris93 on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:07 am

ESP is a must but then cutting cost is also a must in our country so that the car will be cheaper. HAHAHA what joke is this la

• Jimmy on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:47 pm

To make us forget about tax revision in 2006,and to justify the increase in price, someone purposely changed from CKD to Thai-import so that he could raise the price back to original. This made Nissan and Honda follow. He is the culprit that made all D segment cars RM20OOO more expensive than they should be. Now shifted back to CKD but the price is not RM136OOO anymore, even without ESP.

• Malcolm Lim on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:15 am

I just noticed that Toyota only has 3 vehicles with ESP:

Toyota Prius C
    Toyota Prius
    Toyota Corolla Altis

What a joke. They have more cars like the Rush and Fortuner and those vehicles don’t even have ESP! Look at other manufacturers such as Honda, Kia and Hyundai – more of their vehicles have stability controls!

• Terence on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:38 am

If you look at those Toyota JDM model, you will even more shock because of so many models don’t have VSC / ESP

• shawal the airhead.. on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:22 am

I thought i10 also has stability control or is it EBD (electronic brakeforce distribution) is not the same as ESC ?

• jaka sembung on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:19 am

shawal the airhead
      EBD is totally different,just because its having letter E at the front doesn’t mean similar

• sudonano on Jun 27, 2012 at 4:08 pm

EBD means when you slam the brakes, the car will automatically adjust the brake force to equalize it all 4 wheels, ESP is if the skid is gonna happen, it will auto adjust and prevent skid, EBD cannot do that.

• Kam-II on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:22 am

Whats the different between ESP and EBD (Electronic Brakeforce Distribution) ?
    Because your list doesn’t include Mazda 2 and 3. and they have EBD and BA (Brake Assist)

• Maid05 on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:45 am

You can check ESP, EBD and BA here. Checkout their animated clip in each section for better understanding.

http://www.toyota.co.za/ContentPage.aspx?PageId=28

VSC is Toyota’s naming for ESP.

• seancorr on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:23 am

The new Camry does NOT have VSC! Toyota Malaysia confirmed it with me over Twitter and mention that they will include it in future developments.

I avoid cars with no VSC/ESP so to those car manufacturers who want my money….you know what to do!

Keyless entry should also be added in the list of optional equipment. If you’re running for your life from robbers to your car…you won’t want to start digging your pocket for the key…

• Jimmy on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:52 pm

Now there is reason to FURTHER increase the price, despite untung bulat-bulat RM20OOO EXTRA. EXTRA, ok.

• biskut on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:29 am

i read some of forum in EU countries that stated the ESP & ABS only works effectively below speed of 80kph. If diriving more than 80kph , the system is not able to compensate enough.

It seems in your case Paul, your driving below 80kph when another car slammed from behind. Then, the VSC performed 100% compensation to stabilize.

When I was in Sweden past 3 years ago, most of Volvos there are manual trans instead of autobox. When asked, they said you wont have decent control when come to very slippery due to icing road. It seems only asia people is trying their new invention.

Still checking around at what speed the VSC & ABS is works effectively !

Read above our forumer mentioned on accident on Inspira, at what speed he got accident while manouvering to other lane.

I dont own any car with VSC…can you share at what speed the VSC is effective..it should stated in the car manual book

• jaka sembung on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:15 am

biskut
      we at malaysia got icing road?????????????

• tokmoh on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:36 pm

We have oily road instead so that asshole tow truck fuckers can prey on our misfortunes caused by them in the first place.

Lucky I’m not speed demon driver, I can feel a bit weird when going over certain oily patch on highways, like wanting to lose control, but managed to hold on. If I drive faster, most likely I lose control already.

You might curse the kedekut speed limit of Msian roads, but they’re there for a reason. Appreciate it.

• Maid05 on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:32 am

I would like to share additional info here.

Manufacturers uses different naming to their stability control. Examples:

Toyota: VSC
    Honda: VSA
    Nissan: VDC
    Ford: ESP
    Peugeot: ESP
    Merc: ESP
    Hyundai: ESP
    KIA: ESP
    BMW: DSC

This is a short clip from Discovery Channels, demonstrating ABS, Traction Control (TRC) and ESP in real situation.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K3m24bjkfg0

Another great explanation (with animation) about ABS, BA, EBD and VSC is at this Toyota website:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K3m24bjkfg0

As stated by Paul in his great article; lets spread the message so that we can create the awareness and then demand to car manufacturer here.

• Maid05 on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:03 am

Sorry. the Toyota website is here:

http://www.toyota.co.za/ContentPage.aspx?PageId=28

Really worth watching the animated explanation.

• jaka sembung on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:16 am

Proton:ESP supplied by Bosch–bear that in your mind

• Maid05 on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:37 am

Even though supplied by Bosch, Proton named their system as ESC (Electronic Stability Control).

• MycarMylife on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:33 am

Now we know sorry state of affairs in the motor trade in MY , well done Paul , cronies enjoy it while last !!!

• The Enthusiast on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:35 am

It’s quite disturbing that not many Toyota makes are on the list (only Prius). Not even Innova, a FAMILY car. I agree; we consumers should voice out our concern for safety. Often we see car buyers look into petty things like push-start button, DRL, paddle-shifts, but hardly on safety feature. Given by the typical reckless road attitude we have in Malaysia, I think safety should not be ignored in the decision making.

• sonyman on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:19 pm

bro not everyone like u mah, ppl follow, if the friend got i must get also, but i dont know why i want one.

• Jimmy on Jun 28, 2012 at 12:06 am

Paddle-shifts = Piece-shits.
      I wonder why some manufacturers want to put piece-of-shits in D-segment cars instead of ESP. POS is one of the least important features in any family vehicles or D segment cars. For Honda Civic maybe le.

• ryuki on Jun 28, 2012 at 11:35 pm

Most toyota buyers are more concern about its resale value, which is a con job by toyota salesman themselves.
      I hope these sales ppl will have a bit of sense that they are selling a death trap. Its a known fact that these toyota uncle of a driver will not drive fast so they don’t get ijnto an accident … but what if someone hit them? I think the re sale value of toyota is more precious that their wife and children

• JustDriver on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:36 am

I think we consumer also partly to be blamed on the current situation. Generally, (not stereotyping here :P) we Malaysian like better car because we like to be seen driving one rather than we actually think we need one, if you get what I mean :P

• Helio on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:39 am

Excellent article, Paul.
    Can someone confirm if new Toyota Camry equipped with VSC? It is such a disgrace to Toyota/UMW to remove VSC for the bottom line!!!!

• tokmoh on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:42 pm

New Toyota Camry 2.0 and 2.5 confirmed no VSC, not only in Malaysia, but Thailand, Singapore and Indonesia as well.

The only Camry with VSC is Hybrid which is not sold here.

• Unforgiven on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:45 am

We need to protect Tun M and cronies, we need to feed the boss of Saga and Myvi. We have too many Jaguh Kampung.

• not a car enthusiast on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:50 am

This is good and timely article. You should do this type or article more often. It adds depth to this site. In addition to your own staffs, a guess writer, experience in his particular field, could also be included.

I’m waiting for your next articles on “Isofix dos and don’ts”, “What to do after a minor fender-bender” and “headlamp height adjustment”. For that last one, I bet many of us do not even know that with just a screwdriver, we can adjust the height of the main beam ourselves. Almost everyday, I see cars with beam either too high or too low or worst uneven height between the two.

Btw Paul, one thing you do not address in this article is “when can/should I turned off the ESP?”

• Maid05 on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:00 am

It is advised to always drive with ESC switched on, except when activation would prevent the vehicle of pulling out of a slippery slope, ramp or other similar situations.

(http://www.euroncap.com/faq/esc.aspx)

Once the stability control is off on a performance car you can start powersliding without electronic interfence. When it is off in a 4WD then it won’t intefere with the odd slip and slide as you experience in many conditions such as sand or mud driving. With it enabled it’ll kick in, apply the brakes and kill precious momentum.

(http://www.gpsvehiclenavigation.com/rmp/blog/stability-control-ESC-vs-traction-control)

• brazbuz on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:50 am

I think a good start is ,the gov should enforce the manufacturer to equipped ESC at least in one variant for each model sold in m’sia. At least for those who afford can option for it eventhough it’s an A segment car….

• CarDude on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:52 am

Great Article! Thanks for the community awareness. We need more such articles!

• cardreamer on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:57 am

First of all make sure all your 4 your tyres have good thread. If not possible make sure the rear tyres have better thread than the front. Most people misunderstood that the front tyres should have better thread than the rear ones. This is to avoid aqua panning for us living in tropics especially. Then having VSC is a huge bonus to that!

Paul/Danny..the list did not include Grey import cars? Toyota Wish has VSC too, besides Honda Stream! hahaha…

• alldisc on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:19 am

so true! how will ESP work when tyres not in good condition like less than 2mm in depth?

• BadBET on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:59 am

this new kind of article really bring paultan.org to another level. Good job.
    Maybe after this you can come out with more article regarding safety & ethics.

• stebenrudin on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:19 am

esp is a must…but safety awereness is compulsary to all driver..drive safely everyone..

• astroboy on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:21 am

I would prefer all cars to be built with a some what balanced chassis with FR config instead of the front heavy understeer prone FF setup. Use electronic to rectify design flaw of car chassis to me, is secondary.

• slumber on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:25 am

Paul, perhaps this video will add up to this article?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1tSy5tHtT1g
    Cheers!

• mokkf on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:25 am

Thanks for sharing all this nice info. We know that ESP is important during daily drive as we never know when we will need it during emergency situation.
    Even if our goverment is so keen to force this as mandotary, I think our driving school should have include this into the training programe. Because I believe most of us never know when/ how to use it (ABS, ESP, BA…) We just press hard on that middle paddle.
    Now, only those much famous car makers offering these special coarse to drivers.

• Nicko on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:27 am

It’s indeed very important, thanks for sharing. But i’ve a question, since it’s so important, why is there an off button on it? It’s in my car too.

• alldisc on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:25 am

a powerful engine can still cause a wheelspin even on dry tarmac; ESP will interfere by cutting onff ignition (and therefore, engine power) and to some drivers there is no fun there.

this is just among one of the reasons…

• The Enthusiast on Jun 27, 2012 at 1:36 pm

I think you’re talking about traction control there, not ESP.

• Afiq Bazli on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:34 am

First of all, I would like to say thank you to Paultan for sharing this article. Currently, I’m a student studying Engineering in Automotive in a private college in Sarawak and I’ve learn this system in my classroom. It’s sad to say that cars sold in Malaysia are lacking safety features like the ESP system as standard equipment. As you all know, roads in Sarawak and Sabah are bad as they are full of curves and road imperfection, not like the long highways of Peninsular Malaysia. Due to this almost half cars that were sold here each year are pick up trucks because of there durability. From the list above, non of the pick up sold Malaysia is equip with ESP (besides the recently introduce Chevrolet Colorado LTZ.).

About a year ago, one of my relatives was on route from Miri to Kuching and he was driving a top spec Mitsubishi Triton pick up. While descending a curvy hill, the rear end of the pick up slips and the car end up doing a 360 before hitting the road barrier. Now this type of incidents is common in Sarawak especially on pick up trucks. An incident that could be prevented if the cars are fitted with ESP. Cars like sedans and mpv does cost cheaper and is equip with ESP but the low ride high is a problem when going long distance driving here.

I hope that in the future Malaysia Government would consider putting airbags, abs, esp and tcs as standard equipment in cars and varies there car model trims in form of sound system, exterior look, power accessories and engine size but not safety. Example like in the US a top spec Camry has the same safety features as the basic Camry. 7 airbags, ESP, TCS and ABS as standard.Not like here where even the top spec Camry is without ESP. I think is about time Malaysia think about this.

• alldisc on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:42 am

just check what is govt approved accesories in new car listings and one will be surprised, and it has been the same since the past 15 years i believe.

• Kelvin on Mar 31, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Isuzu D-max new generation is equipped with ESC as well.

• Gov should enforce it and make it as common feature as ABS/Airbags. God speed.

• ProTip on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:53 am

As some have mentioned, our transport department is sleeping and enjoying their hard-earned coffee.

Just make it legal, jeez. Same with our filthy diesel/ABS/airbags. No demand, my arse.

• ABTguy on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:56 am

I think going by the road accident causing car list, Proton & Perodua must fit ESP !! And some Van !!

Once Proton & Perodua do it across all their models, all other brand will follow suite.

Government, do your job !! Don’t waste time on funny , hacky-panky matters !

• Is ESP and VSA (vehicle stability assist) is the same?

• ops, didnt read the whole article before i asked. yup its the same.

• alldisc on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:52 am

similar function, different name.

Honda used to call every other thing different, to set them apart from competitors.
      Other than VSA, their EFI is known as PGM-FI, the ABS was called ALB (Anti Lock Brake) in the 80s.

• Saga R3 Biru on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:01 am

Paul for Menteri Pengangkutan. Sapa nak undi Paul sila Like. Sapa undi Sami Vellu sila unlike

• tunguuu on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:29 am

alamak tersilap unlike! i support paultan! by the way also do an article on how manufacturers are ripping us off, maybe do a comparison in specs in each segments with cars in same price bracket. lets say a 508 vs camry, include maintenance and so on. educate people more!

and for those wondering y hilux fortuner innova avanza has no ESP, simple reason..they r made for third world countries, n UMW considers us as third world people who can easily be cheated…so ask yourself, am i easily cheated?

• Kokoi on Jun 27, 2012 at 3:35 pm

Is this shadow cabinet hehehe

• zas zahari on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:06 am

this slot tells us clearly why most of fatal accident happened to the cheap & unequipped car like proton & perodua….

• Ee Chian on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:07 am

Excellent stuff. I would totally agree. I recently got a chance to test drive a car with ESP (seriously cant drift if ESP is on) and I the whole experience changed me. Looking for a new car how and ESP is a must in my check list. Thanks got shortlisting the cars too!

• Brian on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:12 am

Paul, the Prius C has the Toyota’s version of ESP, the VSC, vehicle stability control which acts similar to various ESP. Only Altis 2.0V has full spec of VSC which the 1.8 G has VSC but without traction control though i dun understand how VSC works fully without TC. Even the all new highest spec of Camry, the 2.5l, is without VSC though has traction control, break assist and ABS. In the entire Toyota model line, only Altis 2.0V, Prius and Prius C, have complete VSC equipped as standard features.

• Yeah. I would like to find out what’s the difference between ESP and traction control?

• The Enthusiast on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:42 am

ESP functions mainly to prevent understeer or oversteer, which gives better stability at corners, hence preventing skidding. Its function applies on wheels.

TC works in tandem with ABS to prevent loss of traction on the road. It controls the throttle input to give the optimal wheel spin on various driving surfaces, allowing better control.

Both are equally important to drive in slippery conditions and fast corners.

• Maid05 on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:51 am

In the clip that I’ve posted earlier, says that:

ABS stops your wheels slipping when you’re braking.
        Traction Control stops your wheels slipping when you’re accelerating.

Some vehicles have traction control but no stability control. No vehicle has stability control without traction control. Stability control is made up of traction control, ABS and a programme to determine whether the vehicle is understeering or oversteering and take appropriate action.

(http://www.gpsvehiclenavigation.com/rmp/blog/stability-control-ESC-vs-traction-control)

ESC normally consists of the electronic systems of traction control and ABS using several sensors such as steering wheel angle sensor, yaw rate sensor, lateral acceleration sensor and wheel speed sensor to monitor the vehicle’s direction of travel and the driver’s intended course.

(http://www.euroncap.com/faq/esc.aspx)

• kadajawi on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:32 pm

Traction control not really important here, unless you are driving a PS monster (especially RWD ones). It helps a lot when there is ice and snow, i.e. really slippery conditions where you may not even move forward due to lack of grip. Otherwise the worst you would get is wheel spin while accelerating (racing) and a loud noise. Just accelerate less hard in that case…

• tunguuu on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:32 am

hmmm..i checked the spec list..camry only has EBD n BA…no mention of TC as u say?

• Both Prius confirm have coz its made in Japan and sold to develop countries too….but those specifically sold to Msia might not have…hmm, our lives are cheaper according to TOYOTA

• preve got esc.. same or not with esp?

• Saga R3 Biru on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:24 am

should be the same. And Preve also takes its electronic stability control (ESC) system from Bosch.

• Alley Bubba on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:51 am

For Australian Preve maybe got ESP as standard.

For local buyers of course not fitted lah 3rd class treatment.

• Laugh at you alley burbra..

Even cheaper than dugong.. Big T laugh at you all T supporters…

http://proton-edar.com.my/Experience/Models/Preve/PricingSpecs-%281%29.aspx#info

• rosdi on Jun 28, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Preve CFE got ESP lah!.., they call it ESC which is the same thing.

• beemer on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:31 am

Malaysians are truly ignorant, and car distributors are taking advantage of this fact to fool and rip us in broad daylight. We have to pay for expensive cars but for less features. In other countries, cars are really cheap, and they get better specs, why? Because they won’t tolerate overpriced cars with minimal features. We, on the other hand, let this thing go by because a lot of us are ignorant of our rights as consumers and don’t want to admit it. We’re the buying power, and yet we have no control. We need more people like Paul to educate Malaysians. We ought to make our voices heard. I like the idea of using FB to spread the info / to educate. You should do it Paul!

• tiadaid on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:22 am

That’s the problem – they are more interested in resale value rather than features, especially for Japanese makes (Toyota anyone?)

Problem is, resale value’s relative to demand – if more Malaysians demand cars with good safety features certainly the resale value of these cars will go up as well.

• kadajawi on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:29 pm

Malaysians are interested in features. DVD player, bodykit, rims, spoilers…

A B segment car here comes with all sorts of rubbish that costs money, but is only “helping” the looks. Go get a B segment car in Europe. It will have… a steering wheel, brakes, 4-5 seats and an engine. Some models don’t have an auto gearbox. Entry level ones almost always run on steel rims. Bodykits are relatively rare, reserved for very high spec etc. BUT they have ESP and 4-7 airbags (4 is really entry level, and then you usually have the option to upgrade to 6 for a relatively low price).

• Alley Bubba on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:37 am

ESP unit costs at minimum RM4000 per car direct supply from Thai vendor factory.

If implemented as mandatory, our local Ali Baba Kronies Vendors will simply re-label as its own and jack-up the price to RM8k to supply (plus RM2K markup by car firms as a bit recoup money lost to Kronies) which each car ended up cost RM10k more expensive.

That is one item ESP. Other satefy items like extra airbags etc. God knows how much Kronies held us ransom for it to have.

The problem here is not implementation but Kuraption by Kronies.

Otherwise things like ESP, ABS, TC, EBD, 10 airbags etc are all easily made standard car accessories by car manufacturers here in Bolehland even without mandatory enforcement.

Very sad how car safety equipments being forced to become luxury items.

What’s next? Free voucher to get coffin for car buyers as mandatory too? Sounds crazy but in Bolehland anything can lah.

So next time (very soon) make sure you all write X in the correct place ya!

• kadajawi on Jun 27, 2012 at 5:22 pm

Where does ESP cost 4000? Any source?

Elsewhere cheap cars have it (how, if it is so expensive?), here even the Camry 2.5 doesn’t (yay, Toyota!).

• Dino77 on Jun 27, 2012 at 5:34 pm

If you don’t know what you are talking about, it is better if you reserve your comments.

There are only few company that have the technology to integrate ESP/ESC into the car. They are BOSCH, TRW and Continental AG (at least the one I know). OEMs approach them to integrate their system to their cars. It is not as simple as plug and play to an engine. Development have to be made. You will requires a lot of calibration and testing works. The testing works is very stringent as it is a safety system. Development would require millions of ringgit. So the only way, is to pass the cost to the customer (if they value their live :P). Sad case is that people in Malaysia does not feel the need for it.

If and only if, ESP is a deciding factor to buy a car in Malaysia, it would make the Product Planning job easier (less vehicle variant to think off) since it is a must have for customer.

Same goes to airbags, not many OEMs have the know-how of the airbag system as well.

• kadajawi on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:24 pm

But the Camry always has ESP… in other countries. Same with Vios/Yaris, Corolla etc. The R&D has already been made. What is missing is a small (cheap?) chip, a few sensors and some other parts.

And it’s the same story with airbags. Everything is developed and set up already. I mean the US Camry has 10 airbags… in base spec.

• Jimmy on Jun 28, 2012 at 12:33 am

Then why put piece-of-shit (paddle-shift) to add cost?
      I mean in a car where comfort is the main concern and the target customers are ‘uncles’. Might as well use this cost to add safety features.

• mazda 5 also got TSC…same like ESP…

• Maid05 on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:15 am

TSC is only Traction Control. It’s not the same as ESP.

Stability control for Mazda is named as DSC (Dynamic Stability Control)

• I like Mazda on Jun 28, 2012 at 12:40 am

The Mazda 5 has DSC & TC. It’s listed in the brochure.
        http://www.mazda.com.my/getdoc/88c59423-14b9-420b-a2c3-9317e6604f74/M5-2011-Brochure.aspx

• khairol on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:46 am

-5 Star NCAP Safety Rating

Chevrolet Cruze 1.8 got :
    -Anti-Lock Braking System (ABS)
    -Electronic Brake Force (EBD)
    -Traction Control(TC)
    -Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
    -Dual Circuit Brake System
    -Dual SRS Airbag

• thats the main reason i chosen Kia forte over Proton Inspira. Because of this very important safety feature

• the best joke is , New Camry dont have this basic requirement….wat a joke TOYOTA!

• mazda3 on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:12 am

paulhow about Mazda 3?

• The new Honda city facelift has 2 variants. E high spec and S low spec. Both version increased price of RM 500. With this new FL and price, only the high spec comes with VSA/ESP. Both increase price, why not the low spec S get the VSA/ESP as well? Completely rip off.

• xatomic on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:31 am

But are all stability controls built equally that good? I doubt so..like a german one vs a korean one

At the end, if you exceed the car limits, no ESP can save you…and i am sure it varies depending on the car’s chassis, suspension, tyres, etc

• William on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:35 am

Cars sold in Australia and Malaysia has a major different where the Malaysian’s cars have feature like touch screen LCD display but lacking safety feature and unaware of vehicle NCAP/ANCAP rating.

Australian sold cars will not have the luxury features like the LCD touch screen but they are all rated above 4 stars ANCAP except Proton. A small base Yaris sold in Australia has 5 stars NCAP/ANCAP where it has ABS, ESC, seven air bags, rigid body etc… as standard.

No wonder Proton is not selling in Australia and has a very poor public perception in safety and branding as Proton tends to shy away for sending its vehicle for NCAP/ANCAP testing.

• kadajawi on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Huh? There are no Avanza in Australia? Also I remember quite a few very poorly ANCAP rated pickups (worst of all the Proton Arena).

Btw. the Avanza got 3 CNCAP stars (CNCAP is much less strict than EuroNCAP and ANCAP), which is the same rating that the Gen-2/Persona got).

Also you don’t send a car for Euro NCAP testing. Euro NCAP decides which cars are important enough to warrant testing, then sends someone anonymously to a random dealer to buy the car there.

• pelangi on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:41 am

Thanks for the article Paul..
    Malaysian government should implement this to all vehicle especially passenger car. As for me the important thing to buy a car is not how its looks or the accessories but what are the safety features come with for the safety of my family.

• Mazdaspeeder on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:48 am

C-segment – Mazda 3 MPS (2.3 Turbo) has DSC

• Calvin on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:07 pm

Does the 2009 Honda City comes with VSC? I think only the new facelifted E Specs come with it?

• Peugeot RCZ has ESP.

• 2Wheels on Jun 27, 2012 at 1:42 pm

Plus ABS, EBD, EBA, ASR and DSC. So is the 308T, the 408T, the 3008, the 5008 and 508.

• But it retails at more than RM200k. The above list is for cars under RM200k.

• DontBeRippedOff on Jun 28, 2012 at 3:07 pm

Only the RCZ and the new 508 Diesel above 200K. The rest of the Pug models are below 200K. Between the Camry 2.5 and Peugeot 508, I’ll take the Peugeot anytime.

• Peugeot 407 has ESP.

• ToyotaViosGuy on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:38 pm

I drive my Vios for so long never encounter any problem without ESP, ppl just drive carefully not so fast and improve your driving skills don’t expect the ESP too much.

• BeemerFreak on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:58 pm

ESP is essential when you are put into a situation you cant control… These are situations you are not able to expect until you have faced it. Till then you could do however youo want to drive safely. Remember aqua planing also happens at speed below 60km/h

• You obviously did not read the article properly. Paul was talking about other people driving like idiots and getting in your path. Whether you drive carefully in your Vios without ESP or like an idiot in a Fiesta with ESP, there is a car in your path that you must avoid. So which car would you prefer to be in – the Vios or the Fiesta?

• Kucing on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:50 pm

before i just know ESP is ESPANA(spain)

• intermilan on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:50 pm

Shifting the attention from Toyota…

Nissan has only 1 variance from all car/MPV/SUV/pick-up/etc models on sale that come with ESP – Stability Control!

Nissan Teana 2.5L V6 @ RM173,017.10 OTR.
    (Teana 2.0L @ ~RM141-145K don’t have ESP).

Indirectly, TC is telling us only for RM173K would you get stability control from them.

The rest? Skid-friendly unit.

Can anyone reply this post and list all Nissan models (under RM200K) in Malaysia? Thanks.

p/s: Does the all-advance 100% electric Nissan Leaf come with ESP?

Cheapest car sold in Malaysia with ESP?
    1. Ford Fiesta
    2. Proton Preve (CFE CVT only)

• Practical on Jun 27, 2012 at 1:16 pm

With RM10k difference between Preve CFE vs Preve Campro, they offer (for Preve CFE):

Campro CFE
    BA + Traction Control
    ESC
    Side airbags
    ISOFIX Seat Mountings
    Auto Headlamp
    7-Speed Protronic
    Paddle Shifters
    Auto Climate Air Conditioner
    Rear Spoiler
    Push Start Button
    Auto Cruise
    Auto Wipers
    Tinted Film (4 Windows with Break Resistance)
    Steering (Leather wrapped with Audio Switch)
    Auto Fold Side Mirror
    Built-in GPS Navigation

I think that ABS, BA, EBD and ESC package doesn’t cost that much. If proton can provide these safety package with additional RM5k, it will satisfy people’s concern.. Just my opinion.

• This is a good move forward for traffic law in Malaysia. I live in Victoria – Aus and it is a requirement for all new cars sold to have ESP as standard. So even the cheapest 3 door hatch will have ESP in it in order to ensure it is legally saleable. I know Msia is a developing country but it is the government’s responsibility to move the country forward so that it will reach developed state in the future.

• Ford Ranger 3.2 Wildtrak and VW Sharan has ESP built-in.

• Just a recap:
    Brake Assist (BA): increases braking pressure in the shortest time possible aka sudden braking aka the system recognizes a need for more braking power.
    Electronic Brake Force Distribution (EBD): provides even braking power to all 4 wheels by regulating the brake pump pressure individually.
    ABS: prevents brakes from locking up due to sudden braking.
    ESP: requires all the above mentioned to work. therefore a complete system. ESP (computer controlled) provides individual braking to any 4 wheels when ABS sensors detect a slip. driver only focuses on getting the car back in control. any component above failing will light the ESP light on the dashboard.

• ponpon on Jun 27, 2012 at 2:08 pm

ESC, ABS, EBD, Airbag..all are toys for new cars for people who are thinking they will not die ( takut mati )…rich people will spend all money to these stuff for their new cars.

Then drive fast though they are over confident of these junks..then smashed lorry or other innocent vehicle/people..keep on flashing on hiway with high speed.

It seems a lot road accident today with total fatality involving that expensive cars like new E90 recently. They thought that they wont die with all these stuff.

Lets learn from our father on how to drive car..respect others, follow speed limit and take time on braking rather than braking abruptly . If you brake abruptly, yes proven your ABS car can stop immediately but remember six wheeler possibly behind you unable to stop and take you to the grave..that’s it

Driving considerately eventhough you buy car TAKUT MATI spec !

• True..

Back then there were no such thing as airbags, ABS, EBD, ETC.

Still nothing can save you when you’re supposed to press brake but instead you press real hard on the accelerator!

Remember the Ferrari tragedy in Singapore? It’s a pity that a young, rich business man died..

• tokmoh on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:17 pm

That business man deserves to die for driving like an arsehole. The ones who should be pitied are the taxi driver and his passenger.

It’s because of faggots like that Ferrari driver (Chinese from China), Singaporeans are more xenophobic nowadays. To them, foreigners bring more troubles.

• Carl Wong on Jun 27, 2012 at 5:05 pm

What about the Vans and national cars without any of the safety features but driving like a Ferrari? SUICIDE…….

• kadajawi on Jun 27, 2012 at 5:26 pm

While I agree that one should drive carefully even with many safety features, they are still very useful.

Also I disagree that it’s many rich people who die. But if an expensive car crashes, that might be newsworthy. If yet another Myvi or Vios driver dies… who cares, really? The newspapers would have to write page after page after page on these crashes.

• StopMe on Jun 28, 2012 at 7:58 pm

@tokmoh nobody deserves to die like that no matter what car they are driving, it’s a tragedy and an accident. It can happen to anyone not just because ther are foreigners.

• kerelbort on Jun 27, 2012 at 3:21 pm

safety features for malaysian car?

i doubt it will make it safer.

got airbag, they drive with their child on their lap not knowing the danger of snapping their child neck on airbag deployment

got ABS, they believe they could stop faster than any other people. so they tailgate until they crash their car onto another person car. not knowing that the ABS only work with really hard braking.(coz they scared their brake pad worn off if press to hard)

got ESP, they believe they could avoid any obstacle on the road,not knowing that at 120km/h, you are travelling at 33m per second, chances that you unable to avoid a big rock in the middle of the road 100m in front of you is high.

there’s no safety equipment could save the life of an irresponsible driver.

however, those highly price car with no safety devices? avoid it at all cost.

btw, i believe single airbag is going to be a standard equipment for Malaysian car next year. Correct me if I’m wrong. call it late but it better than never.

• kadajawi on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:14 pm

2 airbags are compulsory in Malaysia since the beginning of this year, though I think manufacturers could ask for an extension if they are unable to fit 2 airbags in time.

Yes, proper education is crucial. That wearing seatbelts is necessary, for ALL passengers (otherwise those who are not wearing seatbelts will not only kill themselves but also may kill the others). What is important when driving a car with airbags. That the headrest has to be placed properly… if it is too low (which is comfortable) it may snap your neck).

120 is not really fast. In Germany they generally drive quite a bit faster than that (and everyone at a different speed), and there are no more traffic deaths than in other European countries, which drive the same cars but with a speed limit of 110-130. With proper education and training and decent cars it is not an issue at all.

• Camry on Jun 27, 2012 at 4:15 pm

I boycott Camry because this car without VSC causing me had accident twice.

• nighttrain on Jun 27, 2012 at 4:15 pm

Cars so expensive oredi, passive safety features will make it more expensive and force the market segmentation to shift, putting a lot of people without transportation. The government is not helping, much less the distributors. Find ways to change this.

• kadajawi on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:07 pm

The margins Toyota enjoys are so high, they could easily put in every safety feature there is and still get a good profit. The Toyota Yaris and the Ford Fiesta are similarly priced cars… the Yaris perhaps a bit cheaper. But over here, the Vios (Yaris sedan) and Fiesta sedan are similarly priced, but the Fiesta has 7 airbags instead of 2, it has ESP whereas the Vios doesn’t, and the rest of the kit is also good on the Fiesta. Why? How can Ford offer everything, and Toyota can’t?

• so to whom shall i write a letter to, if i want to upgrade my saga flx to have esc?

• kadajawi on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Upgrade not possible lah. That’s why you need to buy a car with all safety features, bodykits, spoilers, DVD player, nice rims etc. can be easily added later, but safety features can’t.

• Majority of the rival to the new Camry has ESP but Toyota even have the boldness to exclude them in their ALL NEW Camry, sigh. Wanna save cost also got limit, don’t get so stingy till even such a common safety feature also don’t give. Is not like it is a cheap car, 150k to 180k you know!

• Poweeerrrrrrr on Jun 27, 2012 at 4:54 pm

Don care i just wanna more poweerrrrrrrrrr!

• GreenFuel on Jun 27, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Well said Paul, a lot people thought ABS will help them stop faster, so they tend to brake late, and slam other car from behind.
    Why there is no rules to force all car to come with ESP? The reason very simple, they want you to crash your car, so you will buy a new car and boost the car market. The recent rules to make airbag compulsory is one of the strong reason for their motive

• kadajawi on Jun 27, 2012 at 5:42 pm

Thanks Paul, unfortunately I think most of your readers are aware of these features, and those who aren’t won’t read your blog.

While I’m also not a big fan of the government I think it is unfair to blame it on the government (and only on them). It is possible to buy a 70 or 80k car with at least 4 airbags and ESP. 80k is well within what many can afford, apparently. Yet people don’t do it, they rather buy other cars.

People don’t demand the feature, they don’t vote with their money, so why should manufacturers care? Lets look at the cars that have many safety features vs those that don’t, shall we?
    Ford Fiesta: Sedan has 7 airbags, hatchback has 2. The sedan costs around RM 1000 less. Which one sells very well? The hatch. It looks nicer and has a bodykit. Those “features” apparently are more important. Vios vs Fiesta sedan is a huge difference in terms of safety. Which one sells well, which doesn’t?

Toyota Prius/Prius C vs Altis/Vios: The price difference isn’t very high, and they are all from Toyota. Yet people seem to prefer the conventional version, even though Altis and Vios have almost nothing to protect the driver, while the Prius/Prius C have 7 airbags and VSC.

Is it expensive to add so many airbags and ESP? No, not really. In Europe cars that only have 4 airbags often can be upgraded to 6 for a few hundred Euro more… lets say RM 2000 (should be less than that, but the taxes are indeed very high). So 6 airbags are around RM 6000. When you pay 150k for a car 6k is nothing.

Do you really think no AP = all cars have ESP? I wouldn’t even be surprised if the price stays just the way it is right now.

What the government could and should do though is to create tax incentives… For every airbag there is a 5% tax reduction, if the car has ESP: 10% lower tax. A car that has less than 2 or 4 airbags will have a tax increase. Then profits would rise when a car is safer… and companies would quickly implement it (after all the US Camry has 10 airbags, and at least all cars that are also sold in Europe already have ESP etc. developed for them).

• sonyman on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:28 pm

you know why the ford fiesta has 7 airbags and TCS, because those who wanted a sedan fiesta last time complained and complained to SDAC that they forgo the fiesta and get the Forte, because the forte is bigger, more goodies and completes with safety feature. But the fiesta sedan initially was to compete with Vios J, but the ppl who wanted to buy the sedan were well aware of TCS, because the Sports version has it, So in the end SDAC got fed up of our complain and concerns and put in 7 airbags and TCS to shut us up and buy the car. I was one of the ones who complained at that time, and i shut up when the came it with the 7 airbags model.

• Tok-kok on Jun 27, 2012 at 6:15 pm

What is the Transport Minister doing all this while?
    Sleeping at his office I reckon?

He should have proposed that all new cars sold from 2013 shd have a least 2 air bags and ESP!

• Kalun on Jun 27, 2012 at 7:40 pm

Not just those equipments. All we need is a fully equiped car with ESP, Stability control, ABS with EBD, Crumple zone, at least 4 star safety rating are permitted on the road.
      And plus, atleast surpasses Sepang highspeed test to check for any oversteer or Understeer

• kadajawi on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:04 pm

4 star rating would be good. But I think more important would be to let the public know about the safety of their car/the car they are going to buy. And that means test the car that gets sold in Malaysia, and always test the base spec/the worst spec in terms of safety features (since the cheaper Fiesta sedan is a safer car than the Fiesta hatchback). Make the results really public, for example enforce (!) that any ad needs to prominently display the safety rating. Show the video of the crash and the opinion of experts in the news.

Also please change the car in driving school. The Kancil really doesn’t make sense. Students do not learn how it is to drive at higher speeds. In Germany it is common for driving students to drive 150-180 km/h on the highway, they are encouraged to do so, so that they learn how to behave at those speeds, that they have to observe the traffic at all times, especially on the highway (I was taught to look into the rear view mirror at least 30-50% of the time). If you know what is happening around you you tend to make fewer stupid mistakes that can quickly lead to accidents.

• kadajawi on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:57 pm

Can’t happen. Toyota would give him money or a new car to continue sleeping. What do you think, why would Toyota (or Honda etc.) be happy with such a ruling? Of course they would fight against it, since it means less profit. Proton already has ESP in the CFE, something that Toyotas flagship, the Camry 2.5 doesn’t have.

• theanswer on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:44 pm

for a start..i prefer abs and 2 airbags. btw the major problem with airbags is..some of us didnt know that the airbags wont employ if u didnt fastened ur seatbelt..end up blaming the airbags wont function. no use if drive a car without fastening your seatbelt.

• roobie doobie on Jun 27, 2012 at 6:32 pm

Even where laws are obeyed, ESP has been shown to reduce road fatalities by 1/3rd. In developed countries, it is illegal to sell a car without ESP.

• Driver on Jun 27, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Totally agree with this article. Experienced the same situation as the 1st video and ESP did works well to avoid the accident.

• Kalun on Jun 27, 2012 at 7:36 pm

Nice article Paul!
    Why don’t the government tax the car by using Carbon Taxation. Where ther more carbon dioxide you produce from the car, the more expensive the tax.
    Just like what Australia and British did. Tax free the cars and implement Carbon Tax instead.
    So, cars with Euro 5 compliments or Hybrid cars or Green Engine cars are cheaper to buy compare to Fuel thirsty, black smoke cars.

ESC is a must for all cars in malaysia. As what Paul says earlier. If the cars is tax free here, Proton will have the determination to improve to the max due to competition. Most Aussies says that Proton has bad quality. Thus buying other cars with the same price tag with more equipped and better quality are preferred among them.

Carbon Tax Please!

• kadajawi on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:53 pm

Protons are taxed the same rate as CBUs from ASEAN countries (like Thailand or Indonesia). What are you talking about, then? Protons must be much cheaper to make in order to compete, because people think Proton is so bad that a C segment Proton can’t compete with a B segment Jap… which is quite ridiculous. It’s amazing how Proton can even offer the Preve CFE… margins can’t be high, or are super high at Toyota.

• isn’t that with all kind of safety feature we can drive faster and faster. The most important our driver habit.

• The typical middle crass Ah Beng car buyer in BodohLand is only interested in Resale Value, what other goodies the salesman will throw in & will the bodykit make my car go faster to Ah Lian’s house.

As SammiVelu of LowYat forum espouse, Resale Value is everything.

Kiasu Beng cannot lose one mah. Die also never mind one, most important, kennot lose marnee one. Lose marnee no face liao.

• sonyman on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:03 pm

you not happy with UMW taking out the ESP on the Camry is it? why suddenly a kind or write up like this? shows that you are not happy. So what are you saying, stop buying cars with no ESP? mana boleh, UMW will tell its customers, ESP is not important, Comfort is important. Airbag will kill you if you have too many in a car, 2 is more than enough. Always trust an engine which is proven 1000 years ago, i thought Tan Chong is giving old stuff to the market. But UMW is joining the trend. No wonder so many old folks like the camry. Cause everything is old. At least the folks dont need to bother about things breaking down, heck they say. If it is so important, ESP, Airbag, and so on, how come i still alive today? otherwise i be long gone, So they are not important. A good bumper and good body strength saves the day.

For infact u know ESP is important, But u know, companies tend to forget to put them in. Ai ya, forgotten the ESP, nevermind we include in the facelift model. lets go minum teh first.

• Paul Si on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:35 pm

The government must be held responsible for this state of affairs since it has the power, with the stroke of a pen, make it mandatory for ESP to be included in all new cars.
    It doesn’t even require great intellect to do this since most other developed nations have already done it.
    If safety were to be left to consumers, many Malaysians would still choose to buy cars without seat belts and use the money saved to buy a big GT wing and neon lights for the undercarriage.

• ppinang kid on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:49 pm

I dunno if Government have to change some regulations. But local manufacturers (with largest market base is HERE locally) should’ve worked on improving the safety aspect as well. Yeah sure, good crash impact rating, handling etc…but standard ABS & ESP would’ve made tons of difference. Just have a vision like Volvo did, and Malaysians would’ve love you to death!! (or by avoiding being so)!!

• ppinang kid on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:51 pm

Btw, I own and drive local cars out of practically and pride. Those imports looks reaaaaally enticing now.

• baibos on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:57 pm

Just courious! Does EBD & LSD in 4×4 pickup serve the same function like ESP? Hope can get enlighten…

• sepul on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:56 pm

pickup trucks do not have LSD.. what they do have is a diff lock to switch between 2wd or 4wd depending on the driving condition, i.e. tarmac or gravel (for offroad drive).. still, the purpose is to maximize traction

hope this helps

• baibos on Jun 28, 2012 at 9:17 am

just for correction. pickup truck like ford ranger got LSD. i drove one. that why i asked does the LSD serves similar like ESP. Hope our sifu can help.

• Medic on Jun 28, 2012 at 4:39 pm

LSD means limited slip differential.It functions to limit the tyre with the least grip from over spinning,eg during violent,sudden acceleration.Hence it is a gem for 2 wheel drive sports car like Renault turbo.Heard the new Gti Mk 7 plan to install this also.It is also an alternative to 4 wheel drive for improved traction.

Hence no pick up truck will ever have LSD,unless it has 700nm of torque &gets to 100km in 6 sec or less.

• Xefron on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:48 pm

Paul Tan for Minister Of Transportation.LOLOLOLOLOL

Too bad my car doesn’t have ESP.Got ABS,EBD,SRS but no ESP.I is sadding.

• I thought Proton Exora Bold comes with ESP also? how come not listed in the MPV huh

• tortuga on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:40 pm

CT200h standard and luxury models (both below RM200k without insurance) have VSC

• yeah! below than 80k! n its 4airbag too..kudos to preve..n it feels really save in it! aha

• Looks like the Proton Preve CFE is the best value car to buy.

• Moesfa Azlee on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:46 pm

Kudos to Paul for this article. I look forward to having more of these coming.

As Paul and many others mentioned, you can be the safest driver in the world, but there are always other idiots on the road. The three times that I have ever involved in accidents were caused by getting hit by idiots.

The problem with these safety equipment is that, people generally do not appreciate them until they are saved by one, or affected by not having one. Otherwise Malaysians generally think of these as additional costs only, money preferred to be spent on those bodykits, wings, slap on DRLs, stereos and whatnots.

I think a scare tactic may make people appreciate these safety devices more. For starters, I have been trying to find Malaysian accident statistics broken down by manufacturer for the following: percent of total registered that involve in accident, percent fatality and serious injury rate of occupants, and maybe the above broken down by model and YOM. Is this available anywhere?

We don’t know what we don’t know. The above statistics might just be the spark the general public needs to appreciate these devices.

By the way, Paul, your list is missing Alfa MiTo and 159. I am pretty sure the Giulietta has ESC too. Also Skoda Octavia should have it as well, and Superb (if it is under 200k).

And I believe Passat is >200k.

• my bad. proton exora bold has EBD only, not ESB.

sigh, so sad. am targetting either exora bold or innova, but seems like both mpv also doesnt have esb.

• sepul on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:52 pm

no one mentioned about road design? see how bad our roads are.. i say this also a factor for unsafe driving condition

yes, i also support the mandatory enforcement for esp enabled vehicles for malaysia.. if the gov decides it

• Ahpek on Jun 28, 2012 at 12:10 am

Even trailer and truck in europe has esc features! Imagine how much life could save in malaysia that involve these type vehicles

• khlam on Jun 28, 2012 at 12:16 am

Volkswagen Sharan has ESP

• tokmoh on Jun 28, 2012 at 1:13 am

Too much tax, and this is what we get: car manufacturers stripping off every possible equipment, yet still overpriced due to tax. UMW is unique though, they can command ridiculous margin and still become the best seller. Insult to buyers’ intelligence at its best.

It is not about protecting Proton, in fact Proton suffered too because of excessive tax. Without tax, Vios might be sold at RM50k++, but Saga FLX might be sold at RM20k++. This low price would have allowed some buffer zone (without seen as overpriced) to add in more specs, especially safety items. As we see in Australia, Saga FLX can be equipped with ESP. It’s only a matter of cost and buyer’s bargaining power (which we don’t exercise as we keep buying overpriced under-specced cars).

Two things that needs to change: the government (because it’s unthinkable the tax structure will ever change with the current govt) and the buyers’ behaviour. Sadly, neither is changing. Pigs will fly before Anwar conquers Putrajaya. Meanwhile, new Camry is selling hot instead of boycotted.

• Yi En on Jun 28, 2012 at 6:57 am

Excellent article Paul. I am currently studying automotive engineering in Germany and not only am I aware of how important ESP is, I am also unfortunately aware of how backward our country is in terms of making it mandatory for manufacturers/distributors to include this feature in their product line-up. Over here, airbags, ABS and ESP are standard in almost every car on the road and like you said, ABS and airbags have been standard in cars here since the early 90s.

This is a very important issue and you probably wouldn’t believe it, but as opposed to Malaysia, the accident rate here in Germany actually declines by the year. And this is in spite of the no-speed-limit Autobahn that everyone knows of. Why? Because of constant implementation and improvement of existing vehicle safety systems, whether active or passive.

In matters such as these, what we like to do is simply blame the government. However, does anyone happen to know which part of the government or should I say which body is responsible for governing the standards of cars that are allowed to be sold in Malaysia? Is it Puspakom?

• Karl von Jitry on Jun 30, 2012 at 8:39 pm

Puspakom is private body. MoT deal with this. JKJR MIROS maybe deals with this matter BUT again most distributors belong to the government in form of GLCs so do not expect much from passive authorities.

• haiya on Jun 28, 2012 at 8:51 am

haiya malaysian delaiva is very bad one la..it is aida u put knife on the steering or put airbag no diffelent loo..still want to drive recklessly u have esc u delaive more careless lo..this is wadd they col risk compensation lo..those sporty-sporty delaiva don like esc lo cannot drift lo

• penang born... on Jun 28, 2012 at 10:26 am

i once had experinced the VSC on my civic during rain in highway near Ipoh…i didnt realised there was water pond on road and my car full loaded with my family…suddenly i realised my car went trough the water but in sudden the VSC light appear but i feel my car was back in control automatically …OMG we save that day…but then when i look back i saw a kancil was spinning after on the same spot….now i feel worthy of buy cars with this VSC…pity on the fellow who behind me…

• putera on Jul 29, 2013 at 1:55 pm

is it true civic has VSA…as far i know the year 2006 to 2009 doesn’t have VSA only 2.0

• Bolehlannd on Jun 28, 2012 at 10:49 am

Yup , i agree with Paul on this , cheap or not cheap this should be default

• ESP feature saved me from a possible crash/impact (low speed <50km/h) in my 2 weeks old Jetta just a few days ago. My car swerved to avoid a car coming out at a 3 way junction and was safely under control back on the road. I was already expecting an impact or my car got drifted to the sidewalk. Thank god my new car has this feature.

Yesterday heard from a friend, his father's Toyota Fortuner turned turtle when trying to overtake (<80kmh)on a wet road. The SUV lost control after it swerved on grass at the road side and later made contact with water patches.

Checked with my friend on the internet, Fortuner didn't have ESP/VSC…

You'll never know when you need the feature so do put safety features a priority when you buy a new car

Paul, maybe you can also write a feature on usage of child/baby safety car seat. The usage is very low amongst Malaysian and it's very common to see parents let kids jumping/playing around in a moving vehicle without realizing the danger.

Thumbs up for the article

• Abuya on Jun 28, 2012 at 11:40 am

The proton basher talking why exora bold didnt have esp. So did camry, vios or city have?

Bangang oh bangang, sentiasa cari peluang utk bash. We are talking about safety for all car in Malaysia as whole you fool. Did you want end your life in your proudly dugong because no esp?

• orange on Jun 28, 2012 at 12:01 pm

why no A-segment car has ESC, they suppose to have the priority to have it ! their short wheel base made them easily spin if take corner

• Thanks Paul for making the move while others local car web site just go along…

• Paul, starting on today, give cars that don’t include good safety features, a much much lower mark.
    As a popular car review site, ppl came here before buying a car, with the awareness/emphasize for safety given by this site for every car, the consumers will eventually have a second thought and this will force the Manufacturer/Distributor to give a better spec in the future.

• rosdi on Jun 28, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Proton Preve has ESP meanwhile Proton Inspira (which is more expensive) doesn’t. Why should I buy Inspira?

• Passat CBU was RM 190k now CKD RM 175k. Almost RM 15k savings or discounts offered to consumers. Fair savings in assembling a car being passed on to us.
    But SMART UMW took this opportunity from Thailand Camry last CBU RM 175k 2.4L but not 2.5v RM 180k. Increasing price for local assembly why took so much trouble! Just but from Thailand in trading biz. Waste time set up factory with no savings! Just crooks!
    This UMW Crooks can just import from USA Toyota the highest spec XLE MRSP USD 24k or RM 72k. Look at their gadgets! Some copied here READ BELOW

Star Safety System™ – includes Enhanced Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), [14] Traction Control (TRAC), 4-wheel Anti-lock Brake System (ABS), Electronic Brake-force Distribution (EBD), Brake Assist (BA) [15] and Smart Stop Technology (SST) [16]. At speeds greater than five miles per hour, when the accelerator is depressed first and the brakes are then applied firmly for longer than one-half second, Smart Stop Technology is designed to help the driver bring the vehicle to a complete stop.
    Ten airbags [17] — includes driver and front passenger Advanced Airbag System, driver and front passenger seat-mounted side airbags, driver and front passenger knee airbags, rear seat-mounted side airbags and front and rear side curtain airbags

My suggestion to UMW less trouble to assemble buy direct from USA TOYOTA at USD 24k ( should be lower cause this is retail price buying bulk should be cheaper). Assumption USD 20k. Our Import duty 30%+ excise 90% + sales tax 10% = USD 48.4k or RM 154k.

Selling price 2.5V now low spec RM 180k – 154 = 26k profit. But we have to adapt to drive LEFT HAND DRIVE.

I assume the Camry 2.5 V low spec kit from japan kit is est USD 17k. After taxes USD 41.14k or RM 131k.

SO THEIR GREEDY PROFIT IS EST RM 50k per Camry sold.

ANOTHER SAD DAY FOR MALAYSIANS

Ford mondeo 240bhp 340 Nm RM 193k. Check their specs

Volvo S 40 RM 169k only. Ya older 2004 model with facelift. But you are buying a Tank for safety.

Optima K 5 RM 143k.

• Carl Wong on Jun 29, 2012 at 12:57 am

It’s 2012 and many base models still don’t even have ABS and airbags. ESP? They will ask what is that??? LOL…….

• Melvin Goh on Jun 29, 2012 at 8:08 am

The Fiat Bravo 1.4 T-Jet sold here has ESP as well. Not sure whether these are still being sold though.

• Karl von Jitry on Jun 29, 2012 at 10:17 am

One should THINK about the car company that offer 2.5V Camry. They’re GLC but taxing us too much by offering cheap product elsewhere dearer than Conti counterparts BUT come without security basic necessities (in Europe).

JUST STOP BUYING, the “killing” (or very high margin) will stop too.

God willing, even long before this very good article published, l relentlessly advised my friends that thinking about buying CAMRY (myself too like Camry or T for that matter): we must act by stop buying if we don’t want UMWT and the likes take us for their ride.

No thank to NAP, they made we suffered since 1985 and when other country car prices not much differ than the outgoing model, we’re paying astronomically for the thing that only consumer goods in most economies (after three or four year of ownership, we’ll feel that changing a new car is necessary.

• Mr tan,

Navara has esp but its called vehicle dynamic control

• Zack Khoo on Jun 29, 2012 at 1:17 pm

How about suzuki Swift 1.5?

• i remember in end of 2011 ,when i was shooping for a car with a budget less then rm150k, mazda3 had a few cbu left and these units didn’t have ESP. When i ask the salesman, For car with price of almost rm130k how come no ESP. He said ESP is not really important. EBD is the main thing that will help stop the car from skidding.

• Extrimist on Jul 10, 2012 at 6:04 pm

I think that salesman, either lack of knowledge or he just “play safe”.

EBD is related to the loadings inside your car. Remember momentum, we learned in high school? We can simply imagine; If you drive your car alone for your whole life without putting any other loadings, than we can assume that it is meaningless for you having a car with EBD.

www.toyota.com said that:

“EBD responds to sudden stops by redistributing brake force. Wheels with more braking effectiveness receive more brake force; wheels with less effectiveness receive less brake force. This helps prevent brake lockup.

EBD is especially helpful when carrying cargo. Sensors recognize the extra load the cargo puts on the rear axle, so brake pressure on the rear wheels is increased because the extra weight improves braking effectiveness.”

ESP is more advanced; combining ABS, BA, EBD and Traction Control to stabilize your car (braking, steering, ECU processing etc) when skidding during cornering.

• Illya on Jun 30, 2012 at 1:04 pm

Was thinking of getting Ford Ranger 2.2, But it doesn’t have ESP, only the 3.2 WildTrack.
    Then was interested in Camry 2.4, but sorry no.
    Now looking at the Pug 508, but wary of poor service and Pug308 battery issues. Still waiting and seeing…..

• aries on Jun 30, 2012 at 1:11 pm

101% support and agree!
    sometime is not about how safe we drive is about how we can be safe even if other people drive recklessly and make mistake that might causes other people harm!
    we can be driving caution all time but yet still get into accident due to other driver speeding or error.
    safety feature is always must be the main priority in making cars or other gadgets and buildings, basically everything! ^^

• Agree 101%.. Lets start the ESP campaign to value our lives and make our Malaysia road safer.

Next car we are buying, just request and insist on having ESP. Just tell the sales man, “Don’t have? Sorry, i will only buy if it equip with ESP”.

Educate everyone you know on how important is ESP. Just spread the info. If everyone stop or delay for 3 months or more, buying car without ESP, sales will definitely drop.

I just did it. Ford just lost 1 sales of new Ranger 2.2XLT from me (canceled my booking but still haven get the refund after 2 months, poor service), because they don’t want to equip the 2.2XLT with ESP after many request from me and other buyers too…Bought Chevrolet Colorado 2.8LTZ with ESP.

• genie on Jul 01, 2012 at 7:48 pm

i’m sorry but how about mazda 5 with their DSC?

• tcmean on Jul 02, 2012 at 1:52 pm

Does Honda City 2009 comes with ESP?

• Embun on Jul 04, 2012 at 2:23 pm

I’ve been in a ditch once and really need a car with ESP. But below 100k car got one ah?
    Currently driving Proton Persona E

• beemer on Jul 06, 2012 at 10:56 pm

Went to a Toyota showroom today, and asked the salesman why the ALL THE NEW CAMRY PRECISION does not have VSC when the old version has. Guess what he replied? “USB got, got.” I told him VSC, not USB. “Oh, no need VSC. This one got very high precision, that’s why no need VSC.” It’s really an insult to my intelligence. You think we’re stupid? Am seriously thinking of a campaign to boycott Toyota. How come a lot of salesman do not know much about the cars they’re selling. There’s one time, I went to Hyundai and ask the salesperson about a problem commonly known to a car as it’s widely reported by owners in a forum (owner’s club). “What forum? No, it depends on your driving style. Where got problem, no problem.” Another insult. I feel like opening up the forum and shove it up his face. Eat this!

• Felix Cheam on Jul 08, 2012 at 6:47 pm

Great article, Paul.

My wife own an Altis 1.8G and one of the reasons I recommended she buy it was because it has ESP. Frankly, however, I was very surprised when you did not list the Camry as one of the cars with ESP. I have just checked the Toyota Malaysia website and you are absolutely right – the Camry doesn’t have ESP. Why is their flagship car setup without it?

• living on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:37 pm

better buy korean car..!

• C F Chin on Jul 19, 2012 at 8:30 am

Shame to UMW Toyota for not having TRC & VSC in their new Camry 2.5. Saying that majority of Camry owners doesn’t think it’s necessary is unbelieveable. Just say Toyota want to increase profit margin and the brand can sell without good safety features is more believable.

• Buy the top spec Proton Preve, value for money with ESP.

• we Malaysians would still be able to crash any car even with all the safety systems available. why bother if our driving style won’t change? i think if we are given a tank to drive, we would still crash. we Malaysians are natural born street racers kekeke.

nonetheless, the system would help but like some of the comments here, it must start with the driver. ^^

• mkhor7 on Aug 05, 2012 at 12:40 am

Everybody knows and accepts that wearing safety helmet when riding motorbike can reduce death and serious injuries. But you can see everyday this is being ignored by many riders. Our local cultures and enforcement does not promote safety first.
    So what is this thing called ESP… or VSC…?

I agree with PT to make ESP a legal requirement for ALL new vehicles.

• fh006 on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:47 pm

I’m really support on ESP or VSA or VSC to make it compulsory.
    Last weekend… right in front of me, Honda Accord (new generation) 2.0 (I know it does not has any VSA) got skid during heavy raining on NS Highway. The car hit the road guard reel and flip on the air. Lucky the car is landing on the tyre instead of roof. I can’t stop my car due to safety reason but I called 112 (same thing as 999)& PLUS to get help. I pray to God that they survive.

My car is Civic 2.0 8th Gen (with VSA). Eventhough I drive much faster (still within speed limit, I can feel a lot of different on car stability during raining.

So, if you concern about safety, ESP or VSA or VSC is highly recommended. You will really appreaciate once you face the situation.

• Check your fact first b4 comment !!

http://honda.com.my/model/major_equipment/accord

My inspira dun have coz it’s 30K cheaper

• nadzriautostarde on Aug 23, 2012 at 5:06 pm

chevrolet cruze and captiva also equip with esp and tc but not in a listed

• James on May 09, 2013 at 2:39 am

The unscrupulous UMW TOYOTA MALAYSIA has announced that the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY 2.0G & 2.5V will come with VEHICLE STABILITY CONTROL (VSC) & TRACTION CONTROL (TRC) as standard FEATURES,in less than a year of its launched.Is this how UMW TOYOTA MALAYSIA treat their LOYAL FANS & SUPPORTERS??Cheat us out of our HARD EARNED MONEY!! It is very important that all of us who had bought the 2012 Toyota CAMRY without this important SAFETY FEATURES,to express our dissatisfaction with UMW TOYOTA MALAYSIA…Can someone feedback to me regarding this issue?Thank You…

• Anonymous on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Well, tons of warning everywhere including pt.org to stay away from camry without vsc+trc. but you still choosen to march ahead into the cliff. cant blame anyone i think.

• if the computer box get error… all safety system will not function… better all driver go study about drive safe and learn some driving skill like skidding and drifting so you can avoid accident… and always don’t use mobile phone when driving… Malaysian driver always forget about their safety…

• My old satria also have ESP-like system.. But its called as drive carefully ;)

• Celicazz on Mar 31, 2014 at 4:55 pm

All preve on sale got 6 airbags and ESC now, right? Not only the CFE ones.

They had upped the spec earlier this year.

• Gajen on Mar 31, 2014 at 5:01 pm

A-segment = Kia Picanto has ESP

• Eugene Lee on Mar 31, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Honda Civic Hybrid has ESP as well. I don’t seem to see it in the C segment list.

• Halleluyah on Mar 31, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Although i spotted the list was As at June2012,
    but i would like to mention the new Kia Picanto is the only A-segment car with 6 airbags and ESC in malaysia. (under RM100k)

• wait.wait..how bout 2014 vios.. seems they no need ems/vsc etccc..

• SamLoo sux on Mar 31, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Toyota Vios can sell well without ESC/VSC because Malaysian are way too dumb & lazy to find out for more information.

• glaze on Mar 31, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Honda City (E and S only)

S spec is coming with VSA?? It should be E and V spec only.

• Since on Mar 31, 2014 at 10:41 pm

I thought Mazda 6 (2.0L) also comes with DSC (Dynamic Stability Control)? But why here only mention 2.5L?

• Jebonr on Mar 31, 2014 at 11:10 pm

Good article Paultan. This will helps me a lot in convincing my parents and my Wife.

• vincent ng on Mar 31, 2014 at 11:17 pm

I thought the new cheaper version Mazda BT50 also comes with the stability control!

• smartkkia on Mar 31, 2014 at 11:42 pm

better buy KIA..!!!

• MJaal on Apr 01, 2014 at 10:35 am

SUBARU XV!!!

• Andrew on Apr 02, 2014 at 9:24 am

As for Pick-Up under 97k Madza BT50 – 2013 provides the ESP…Is a bit odd that the Asian cars only comes with certain safety features but not all unless they ask us to buy as extra under the accessories category …Anyhow the Madza BT50 Aussie spec comes with 6 air bag and GPS where as Malaysia only offers 2 airbag and no GPS……

• Alan Tan on Apr 04, 2014 at 9:32 am

Hi Paul,
    Which model cars have this in our Malaysian market? If not, can you install it on any car like a stabiliser bar in the engine boot?

Rgds,

Alan

• Chris T on Apr 06, 2014 at 8:20 am

It is not possible to be aftermarket, the mechanism is going to be very complicated, way more complicated than Airbags.

• Isuzu Dmax premium. ESC.

• Nantha on Apr 06, 2014 at 12:58 am

D-max X series

• Enoch Abraham on Apr 07, 2014 at 12:50 am

Today most countries around the world have already made ESC a compulsory feature for all new cars being sold in their respective markets so it’s high time the Malaysian government follows suit. ESC is no longer a luxury nice to have feature but rather a necessity and a must have feature similar to seat belts.
    I read with disgust an advertisement in today’s paper where a brand new luxury MPV is being sold for RM 258k without ESC when this same model is actually equipped with ESC and being sold at a much cheaper price overseas. For the ridiculous price it’s being sold here, the ESC should never have been omitted in the name of profit margins. This is blood money.
    However this would not be the case if Malaysian’s prioritize safety and boycott all new cars without ESC. It’s indeed a joke that people are willing to pay top dollar for cars without ESC when they could very well get a car equipped with ESC for as low as RM60k. This is totally unacceptable and an insult to Malaysian society in general. This only goes to show how little respect some automotive manufacturers have for the precious lives of the Malaysian public and how foolish the Malaysian’s are to generally choose a car based on brand name instead of safety features.
    In case you might be wondering, ESC is an inbuilt system that comprises of 2 key sub systems which are the Anti-Lock Braking System (ABS) and Traction Control System (TCS). These systems in turn consist of 6 key components which are the:
    1. Yaw Rate Sensor
    2. Steering Angle Sensor
    3. Wheel Speed Sensor
    4. ABS Pump
    5. Engine Control Unit (ECU)
    6. Transmission Control Unit (TCU)

The basic ABS system works whereby the wheel speed sensor continually monitors if any one of the 4 wheels have stopped rotating whilst the car is still moving during hard braking. If such a wheel lockup is detected, the ABS control unit will immediately intervene by getting the ABS pump to repeatedly press and release the brakes on that particular wheel so that it can still be slowed down without locking up as locking up of the wheels would result in the car skidding out of control.

Traction Control on the other hand is a more intelligent sort of inverse ABS system that functions whereby the wheel speed sensor continually monitors if any one of the 4 wheels are rotating faster than the other wheels which indicates a loss of traction/grip. If such a situation is detected, the Traction Control System will immediately get the ABS pump to briefly apply the brakes on the spinning wheel until it slows down to match the speed of the other wheels so that all 4 wheels on the car rotate at a uniform speed to prevent the car from spinning out of control.

Electronic Stability Control is basically the ultimate system that comprises of two additional sensors; namely the steering angle sensor and yaw rate sensor which work hand in hand with the ABS and TCS to provide total stability control at all times.
    Basically the yaw rate sensor continually monitors the vehicle’s movement in relation to the driver’s steering input based on readings from the steering angle sensor. Whenever the vehicle movement does not tally with the driver’s request on the steering, the ESC takes over by getting the ABS pump to briefly and sharply apply the brakes on any one of the 4 wheels in order to provide a counter moment on the vehicle so as to steer it in the correct direction as per driver request on the steering wheel.
    During this same time, the Engine Control Unit (ECU) and Transmission Control Unit (TCU) work hand in hand to reduce engine power to the wheels by disengaging the transmission from the engine so as to increase the effectiveness of the ABS pump in performing its selective braking to steer the car in the correct direction.

From here it can be clearly seen that ABS , TCS and ESC are relatively high tech interrelated systems that cannot be installed as an aftermarket accessory but can only be developed by OEM’s and factory fitted due to the complexity involved. In view of that, DO NOT buy a car that does not have these features thinking you can add them on later on as it’s totally impossible.
    On the other hand, from a hardware point of view, you can also see that once a car has ABS, it just needs two additional sensors to be equipped with ESC hence the disgustful act of omitting ESC to save approximately RM 300 for both the yaw rate sensor and steering angle sensor is totally uncalled for and unacceptable.
    For those of you who worry about the reliability and durability of these electronic components as well as the cost to service them once the warranty period is over, my only advise is prevention is better than cure. No point saving all the money in the world buying a vehicle without technology only to spend it on expensive medical bills should an accident/mishap occur and the worst parts is the same electronics you looked on with disdain will be the one looking after you in the hospital. In case you still do not get the point, most modern day medical equipment greatly utilize electronics and the sad part is not only that you end up paying top dollar for your medical treatment but you might never be the same again even after all those sophisticated treatments.
    Of course you might argue that you’re a very careful driver and so many people have survived driving safely for decades even without this technology so why the fuss now. However I beg to differ as the technological evolution of our generation has also brought about new found hazards unheard of before mainly due to increasing vehicle speeds as well as distractions from mobile phones and other multimedia devices and as such, the least we could do is jump on to the bandwagon of active vehicle safety to protect ourselves from an accident before it happens. Better be safe than sorry!

To all Malaysians drivers, please exercise your right to safety and reject all forms of vehicles that have no regard for your precious lives. Happy Driving!!!

• astral on May 12, 2014 at 10:24 am

Nissan serena
    Subaru xv

• FAIZULADLAN on May 29, 2014 at 5:53 am

So ESP is comprised of 3 essential items – speed sensor on each wheels, hydraulic system, and steering wheel.

Designed to help driver in avoiding obstacles and under-steering with aim or reducing skidding.

Ah now I got it!

• AndMay on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:55 pm

Ford Ranger across the range.

• Hi Paul,

pls update for 2014/2015 ESP car available to Msian Market

tq.

• Hey Paul
    U Miss out Ford Kuga in the SUV segment!

• Subframe on May 26, 2015 at 10:16 am

Author, you missed the iriz and the new exora in the list.

• Melvin Lai on May 26, 2015 at 10:40 am

Proton Iriz has ESC across all variants.

• iriz?.did iriz have esc paul?

• Paul Tan on May 26, 2015 at 11:08 am

Hi.

The list of cars with stability control was done in 2012. This is one of the reasons we developed CarBase.my, so people could easily search for cars that have stability control instead of relying on the list in this story.

You may get the latest list of cars on sale in Malaysia with stability control here, sorted by the cheapest car.

http://www.carbase.my/search?on_sale=1&esptc=1&sort=price_low

You may then use the search functions to further drill down to your desired budget, body type (sedan, SUV, hatchback, etc) and others.

• MrPoppyplants on May 26, 2015 at 11:12 am

Tell this to Toyota Malaysia.

• Regina on May 26, 2015 at 12:00 pm

My Proton Wira has stability control, but just that it’s not electronic. It’s called RFLFH – better known as Right Foot, Left Foot, Hands.

• Lagi Power Lagi Best on May 26, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Where is the Malaysia’s Icon Car in the list,that is the almighty Myvi? Hahaha

• The Rock on May 26, 2015 at 3:01 pm

My kia cerato got this.

• yoffy88 on May 26, 2015 at 8:16 pm

B-segment with esp
    suzuki swift sport!
    Proton iriz premium variant

• 1st we need is an open market in automotive. Then the car makers will do it cos of competition.

• Riduan on Nov 23, 2016 at 1:27 pm

To prevent is better

• Ahmad Zhafri on Nov 23, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Yes, happened to me. I have to veer off, a quick lane change at 130km/h on NKVE when one car is about to hit side of my car. With ESC/ESP, car sticks on the road, alhamdulillah.

• The solutions:
    1) Burn Proton to the ground and let them Rust In Peaces.
    2) Burn Perodua to the ground and let them Rust In Pieces.
    3) Pray that Proton and Perodua Close Down forever and ever.
    Lastly, bring the automakers which do not provide the minimum safety specs on cars with ESC for example to court and sue them for fraud like low spec Hondas and Toyotas here in Malaysia.
    Issue solved forever and Proton and Perodua shitboxes will no longer exist like the rest of the world.

• satishwarren on Nov 25, 2016 at 11:48 am

Its a great article, kudos to the writer but ive gor a question. Why is the a off button for stability control? When do i off it ? And why would i off it ?

• sohhai on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Bought a new car with ESP and was informed to turn it off when changing tyres. That’s why

• James on Nov 25, 2016 at 9:15 pm

Problem is that all these safety features are purposefully set at high prices, forcing people into buying it at high price. So, those with low / middle income that can’t afford these ‘optional’ features will opt out. If they can get the car at cheaper price, they will do so. I say all cars should have it without prices being jacked up because of these safety features.

• Duncan on Nov 26, 2016 at 10:52 am

Does it mean I have to switch I n the ESP whenever I drive? Isn’t automatically switched on right?

• IkuMiku96 on Nov 27, 2016 at 11:35 pm

i’ve been driving without any stability control equipped cars. including the latest Bezza 1.0L (not ESC and TC)

well, had a tragedy before with my 2008 Persona (B-Line). what i can control so far my brake with my feet. but i cant control my car stability yet.
    i turned a S-corner, starting with the left turn. rain just suddenly pouring down and my rear tyres got lose traction and induces me to oversteer. i counter-steer back, is like a drifting moment but due to sudden back tyre traction after that, i reacted too late to counter again and i spunned to the right. luckily i didnt crashed to side.
    if my car have ESC, i wouldnt be having this tragedy. ESC is way more important for even experienced driver, especially if you use any sedan or MPV or any heavier vehicle.
    this is why im kinda disappointed why the perodua didnt included ESC with the 1.0L variant as well.

the ESC off button is kinda a market demand balancing, especially if you are an expert driver or wanted to have some fun adn risk. some owners, including me, like to skid cars, testing the car’s real capability. but if you are not in that mood, enabling it is a real deal though. in safety, having this button is not ideal for average driver but again, included for some drivers who want to enjoy the risk. (ESC, should be enabled in default when you start your car)

• Andrew on Jan 24, 2017 at 8:14 am

Hi there. Just a question if i should turn ON ESP all the time when driving? Does it interfere with ‘normal’ driving scenario? Thanks!

• Honda crz has esp since 2011, shame on all the so called family car, or is it widowmaker