Reducing auto and excise duties may bring negative impact on industry, says Tan Chong

UPDATE: The post now includes a paragraph at the end of the story from the original source report.

Edaran Tan Chong Motor says the move to bring down car prices and excise duties will have a negative impact on the industry, according to a Bernama report.

Executive director Datuk Ang Bon Beng said discussions must be held with used car operators, dealers and traders to get their feedback before putting the move to practice, adding that new car dealers would be negatively affected as they would have tied-up their funds in new vehicles as stocks.

“If the value of cars suddenly goes down, the dealers are certain to lose out,” he told reporters recently. He was responding to a statement by Parti Keadilan Rakyat Director of Strategies Mohd Rafizi Ramli who promised to bring down car prices if the opposition pact wins the general election.

Ang said the proposed price drop would affect the used car industry badly and this could result in steep losses as consumers would opt to buy cheaper new cars over used cars.

He said 14% of used car buyers were still paying for their loans and would lose out if the value of their cars depreciated. “Although the move will be good news for consumers, a proper study is needed in order to come out with a holistic approach before implementing the proposal,” he added.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• keluangman on Aug 07, 2012 at 10:47 am

Sell! Sell! Sell!

• Kimi_ on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:49 pm

Lets boycott tan chong together and dont buy nissan cars from them!!!

• Gabla on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:23 pm

If you think about it, a big chunk of the amount paid for a new car is actually tax related. Meaning that, most of the car loan amount that people take is actually used to pay the tax.

Is there any other country in this world where the tax amount imposed on the citizen is so high that they can’t afford to pay the tax and need to take a loan for the tax payment.

If you look at it from another perspective, a lot of people In Malaysia are in debt not because they bought a car but because of they need to pay a huge amount of tax.

• a lots of ppl in malaysia in debt because of credit card. car, if not paid, bank can repossessed.

• athlon on Aug 07, 2012 at 9:59 pm

gabla,
          i think you don’t understand how personal tax calculate. max is 26% and if you earned 100k, you’re paying less than 26k but you still have 74k earnings. some countries imposed even higher tax rate and if you think it’s high, switz where there’s no tax… again, i expect ppl to bash this comments…

• Gabla on Aug 08, 2012 at 8:55 am

Athlon, I am not talking about personal tax but I am talking about the tax imposed on cars. These are the import duty, excise duty and sales tax. The total of these three can sometimes be higher than the cost of the car itself.

Since the tax amount is higher than the cost of the car, obviously when people take a loan, they are no longer took it to pay for the car but it looks as if the loan is taken purely to pay off the tax imposed by the government.

If you look at it that way, you will notice that the government is actually collecting tax from the citizen who can’t afford to pay with their own money. Instead they need to borrow from the bank for the tax payment and they will also be charged with the interest.

• naaim on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:37 pm

Boycott ETCM cars…

• Michael Goon on Aug 07, 2012 at 5:04 pm

Real snake. Edaran is already giving us outdated and so old models with very high prices and they got the cheek to tell duty should be maintained. We should all make a conscious effort to boycott Nissan completely. I have lost respect for Edaran completely and have zero regard for this company and its directors. If they cannot feel for the poor people in this nation, then we should all boycott Nissan completely.

You give us very old models as compared to Singapore and now you do this to us? We have been tolerating your old and outdated models for years and keeping quiet. Not everyone is rich and not everyone is a datuk lah and we all suffer paying for our cars.

• Michael Goon on Aug 07, 2012 at 5:09 pm

Come lets see how Malaysians are cheated….

Mainstream Cars Prices

World Prices vs Malaysia Prices

Honda Accord US$21,480(RM64,440) RM150,000

Honda CRV US$22,495(RM67,485) RM150,000

Honda Civic US$15,955(RM47,865) RM115,000

Toyota Altis US$16,130(RM48,390) RM112,000

Toyota Camry US$22,055(RM66,165) RM180,000

Kia Sorento US$23,150(RM69,450) RM160,000

Hyundai Tucson US$19,245(RM57,735) RM140,000

Hyundai Sonata US$20,895(RM62,685) RM150,000

Hyundai Elantra US$16,695(RM50,085) RM98,000

LUXURY Car Prices

BMW 328i US$36,500(RM109,500) RM300,000
          BMW 528i US$46,900(RM149,000) RM400,000
          BMW 535i US$52,500(RM157,000) RM600,000
          BMW X5 US$47,500(RM142,500) RM580,000

Mercedes E350 US$51,000(RM153,000) RM400,000 (In Malaysia for only CKD E250)

Jaguar XF US$53,000(RM159,000) RM500,000
          Jaguar XJ US$73,700(RM221,000) RM1,000,000

Porsche Cayenne US$48,850(RM146,000) RM570,000

• Malaysia Memang Bolehland on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:52 pm

DEAR ALL RAKYAT,

We sholud spread dis topic wit dis link to all unknown Rakyat out thr. By commenting here only create small numbers of awareness how those so call Datuk Datuk has been so thick face openly commenting how to further squeeze Rakyat even more.

Y not just let our 1Malaysia speak up to dis comment.

Let’s start wit Nissan facebook n otter community portal.

I felt sorry for myself to b one of Tan Chong victim to purchase their car n yet Tan Chong is so unbelievable never care bout poor people like me !!!!!!!

• BOYCOTT CAR TAX on Aug 07, 2012 at 3:01 pm

AGREED. THESE IDIOTS NEVER MENTIONED THE GAINS THAT THEY MADE WHEN THE TAX WAS IMPLEMENTED. ALL THEY WANT IS PROFIT.

• Michael Goon on Aug 07, 2012 at 5:24 pm

On principle, every person should not buy Nissan cars from today. It is a matter of principle and dignity.

In a survey, 90% of people in Malaysia are earning RM3000 and below and they spend 50% of that in maintaining their car loans thus depriving their children of good food and clothes, education and healthcare.

I pay so much for my car that I cannot buy that tenggiri fish for my children to give them good protein so that they will be healthy and strong and able to study hard.

So what Nissan is saying, your children are not important, their health and education are not important. It is better for your child to die of malnutrition. Nissan is also saying, instead of taking them to SJMC, just take your kid to hospital besar for treatment.

• e-tique on Aug 08, 2012 at 8:33 am

isk…for me, quality food 1st for my family. car is last, i’d rather drive a viva to work than buy any nissan to show off. sad to hear about your tenggiri story…hihi

• Hundai Tucson Driver on Aug 08, 2012 at 11:58 am

Actually, the gains are a lot for a distributor. I just bought a Hyundai Tucson, in the AP Permit and Customs Documents I noticed, Hyundai Korea sells the car only for RM27,000 to Malaysia. Yes, I too got shocked.

Then, there is
          1) The import duty is 30% at about RM8000
          2) Duty Eksais at 80% at about RM28,000
          3) Cukai Cukai Lain (possibly sales tax) at about RM6000

So the total for my car RM27,000 + RM42,000 in taxes comes to a mere RM69,000.

I bought my car at RM139,000. So, the distributor makes a cool RM70,000 for a reasonably priced car of RM140,000. This is CBU.

In the case of CKD, I think the distributor makes even more because most parts are made locally, so, I think the margin is even more.

• Jimmy on Aug 07, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Car tax (30% of selling price paid) goes to government.
        (More) Bunga on tax paid goes to bank.
        Helah untuk jual mahal by car companies.
        Spare parts murah tapi jual mahal dalam CKD, durian runtuh ni goes to cronies.
        Makan suap goes to those with power in hands.
        These people will continue vote NB.
        Reduce car taxes also no use, someone will telan bulat bulat the profit by keeping car prices the same.

• Boo TCM! on Aug 07, 2012 at 9:43 pm

Mindset need to be change and our G need to change also. 20 years ago, China citizen can only afford bicycle, to own a car is beyond their imagination, nowdays they can afford a car. A car means ‘NEW CAR’ not second hand car!! Who cares bout second hand car dealer, we Malaysian deserve cheaper price car!! Shame on you TCM that you think differently. I pray your sales to drop :)

• athlon he’s not talking bout income tax

• Out of all country in south east asia only brunei i know has cheap car..the rest moreless same as malaysia price +-20k

• ETCM! shame you.. your sales this month and onward will be drop.. i hope so..

• Black Dog on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Because of a few hundred towkays, millions suffer! He’s talking through his shit brain.

Anything that ultimately benefits the rakyat, no matter what or who..should be implemented. That’s the main point, should be drilled into those hollow politician’s brain.

• TropCool on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:37 pm

Looking at all the comments below and the likes vs. unlike on all comments, we can make a two conclusions:
          -Malaysians love their cars and are sick of paying so much money for them
          -Malaysians are sick of this Government and are starting to stand up for their rights and going to change the country for the better.

I am today proud to be part of such a popular wave of people asking for their basic rights, whether in automotive or anything else and stand united in front of intimidation and greed.

• Unforgiven on Aug 07, 2012 at 3:26 pm

26Millions rugi vs 1Million untung, please think in long term for the anak-anak M’sia.

• Thanks to the one who introduce the Tariff and crazy tax to the car.. guess who?? hahahaha…who? Tun …. ?

• Lim Kopi on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:46 pm

What a brainless statement from TAN CHONG.

Do they not believe in the GREATER GOOD for the people???

Do they not believe in
      Short Term Loss for LONG TERM GAIN ??

I believe all industry players can work around this if they really believe in making in come true.

Of course there will be f*cking cronies whom just want to protect personal interest and make statements about the shortcomings….

So screw u Tan Chong!!

• Lim Kopi on Aug 08, 2012 at 2:04 am

Bottom line is ….

If the Opposition such as PKR / DAP / PAS believes in making good changes to our motherland…

THEY SHALL HAVE MY VOTE!!!

• Darren Orng on Aug 08, 2012 at 2:30 pm

We should all spread this topic to everyone. Cut and paste the link and let everyone of your friends read it. Ask each friend to pass or forward to as many people as possible. You see, venting our frustration here is just one off. Two or three days later, typical Malaysians, everything is forgotten and forgiven. There are 300 comments here, so, about 250 people have commented. Each one of you, post it in your facebook and forward the cut and paste e-mail. Its only by methods like this, awareness will take place. Otherwise like I said, 2 days later, people forget. Let us make an effort to make people realise how car prices are burdening the rakyat. The people up north and in the kampungs are still not aware

• azhar on Aug 07, 2012 at 10:59 am

dealer will lose out..what bout rakyat who lose out all these while?..short term it will come down hard, but on a long term everybody will benefit from it..its a bitter pill that we should take

• Vader on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:35 am

Agreed! The benefit should given to the majority, but not only the certain small group of ppl, including AP king!

• taboogen on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:53 am

yang jual kereta tu bukan rakyat ker? thats why u cannot be a leader…perghhhh

• yes, they all rakyat.. sure new Government will have something to cheer them to make sure they will able to survive.

BTW, fyi, current Government already promise to intro AFTA here in Malaysia long time ago. But they keep postpone it, unlike few other country in ASEAN, they obey with AFTA. How u can be a leader in ASEAN if you cannot win your rakyat heart? haha

• Klata-Klata on Aug 07, 2012 at 7:40 pm

Govarmint repeatedly postponed AFTA and willing to PAY Penalties. That is using OUR Money to protect their cronies.

• and again for your information,

Gov already use this issue long time ago to beneficial them and chroni AP. haha.. there, you will see some chroni AP will go down.. no more easy AP for them.. they all family of whO? hahaha.. u know? or you dont know?

• henryee on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:52 pm

Hello, yang jual kereta tu dah untung banyak tau!

This guy doesn’t know how things work in these industry, just forgive him!

• Visitor on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:08 pm

I am sure there are millions of Malaysians who are ‘provoked’ constantly by this AP system and high tariffs. So, the rakyat are really losing out in this matter…

• Hang ni 2nd hand car dealer kah? Yang penjual kereta ni hanya 1% dari rakyat Malaysia. Yang 99% tu, pengguna dan pembeli kereta. Takkanlah kerana nak untungkan 1% tu, yang 99% majority kena bayar lebih?? And that’s why you will always be backward, only hoping for handouts!!

• of course.but then,what class of rakyat?these ppl are on top of the social pyramid.the majority r us who dwell the bottom,who sometimes hv to contemplate between having a car or a house,bcos we cant afford to pay for both at the same time.the people up there,well, like pharaohs r comfortable with their mansions complete with huge porches to park their many luxury cars.sir,there will be collateral damage if the taxes are cut down (or even abolished),but logically,if we dont do it at all,we will hv to pay for the extra cost forever.short term loss vs long term gain.

• Malaysia Memang Bolehland on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:01 pm

Fully agreed, dats how govt initially starting to increase tax price n never think of Rakyat n wit all those AP king out thr hav been milking, squeezing all of our money for years, wat make u think “Tan Chong” d short term lost will hurt AP King by comparing years of profit they hav make from Rakyat? I just wonder Y Tan Chong is so Kan Chong in dis tax reduction topic whr else oter auto company just on observation mode.

• kimikira on Aug 07, 2012 at 8:15 pm

well say, that a word!!!!
      im just a ordinary Malaysian and hope malaysia not only car price be better, also our traffic and toll and parking problem and public transport….that is mess hell mess for us civilian. but most hater matter is when police or some datuk datuk comeby we(tax payer) have to pull a side!!

• Sensitive issue….. But things can be done to help those who are financially tight….

• along on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:02 am

Then what should we do with the current situation where entry level car requires 7-9 years loan. Is this healthy? The loan is used to pay tax… is this OK with you.

Its easy to say, cannot do this… cannot do that.. if cannot do this, any suggestion?

Well, as customers, as citizens and as the main shareholders, we should hold the trump card, not anybody else…

Lets maintain our current ride and boycott buying any new cars, regardless local or important… I will convince everyone in my circle of influence.., I hope everyone do the same.

They can say what they want, if we are not buying… they will succumb to our knees and price will drop…

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
    If we work together, we can win this…

spread the message around…

• hayden on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:59 am

Tan Chong just disliked your comment! ;P

• epirose on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:28 pm

love d idea but malaysian will definitely gonna buy a new car…they wont listen…it’s malaysian habit la…to show-off..even bank negara had tight up da procedures to have a car-loan, they all dah bising.malaysian dun care about poket kosong or anak bini makan megi or hutang sana sini, janji can show-off around da neighbourhood with new car..even elantra easily hike da price with nothing improvement…so how??

• “They can say what they want, if we are not buying… they will succumb to our knees and price will drop…”
      saw this campaign many times & many issues before, but never happens…. xD xD

• akula on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:53 pm

I am quite agree with the current tax system. Only the rich pays hefty tax to satisfy their ego on new car, then the tax can be used for a lot of good course.
      if you feel burdened with 7-9 years car loan, why not buy cheaper old/2nd-hand car that still can move you from point A to B….. don’t tell me you couldn’t find any good moving car with price tag less than rm5K in our beloved country.

• Visitor on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Those hefty tax should be used instead solely for improving public transportation system. Now, 72% of Malaysians living in urban areas…

• “good” moving car under RM5000? Are you serious? By the way, dont you know that the tax that we pay are not being used properly for good courses..?

• I think he mistake those with 2 wheels as a car… dude, have you even tried to do some research before suggesting that RM5k can buy a moving car??? The car would be so old you can’t even find spare parts!!! Oh, and you think it can pass Puspakom inspection???

• nonsense.so only the rich can drive VWs,Hondas,etc?while overseas these brands r not even in the luxury category?

• Then what car are you driving now and why are you still reading this blog if you prefer to buy second hand cars instead of new cars? and after so much of taxing on imported cars, what improvements can be seen? Potholes and bad tarmac conditions still exist around the roads in the whole country. Did you consider the risk of getting a sudden breakdown when you’re using the old second hand car? Imagine travelling at the highway and suddenly you have a brake malfunctioning. Or when you’re having an emergency and your second hand car broke down halfway during the emergency period. You want all this to happen especially when these things could possibly put your life at risk? You mentioned about moving from point A to B but you can’t even reach point B safely or in time if your old ‘less than 5k’ second hand car broke down. How about safely? Do you think an old second hand car under 5k is safe enough for you in case of an accident? I doubt those under 5k second hand cars have airbags or ABS. Please think before you wrote such a comment.

• chen1982 on Aug 07, 2012 at 5:17 pm

i agree with your statement with both my hands and feet high above in the air…

we are constantly being ripped-off due to the protection of the national car…hence we can hardly even afford a good house/living standard for our families…

if gov really want to win the heart of the public…they should be doing the right thing that every msian wants…if not they can use the collected tax on some things that will benefit to all of us…not only to themselves.

i always advise my relatives/friends/colleagues that if we stop buying new cars…the supply will exceed the demand…and hopefully the price will be reduced…

as for the AFTA thing…even if the imported tax is removed…i believe that gov will come up with some other ridiculous tax to be imposed…

• People should unite & topple BN. Before BN topple people with all kind of ‘suckening’ policies

• uncertain buyer on Aug 08, 2012 at 8:01 am

goddamit…i just bought a car for this raya..if not i can join ur move!

• Just me on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:09 am

We don’t owe these people for living neither do we owe proton/perodua for living. Why should we pay extra just to keep their business running. Infact they owe us for making us pay so much higher that it should and we have pay for us a long long time.

• Same mentality as you know who. Always looking to benefit a few people at the expense of the majority of rakyat. Better to have a quick pain than to have the pain forever.

• Ah Jib Gor 2.0 on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:14 am

This very statement just goes to show how selfish & short-sighted Tan Chong Motor is. No doubt, during the transition period, there would be some loses suffered by all parties, but in the longer terms, it would benefit everyone and the nation. Isn’t it just ridiculous now to have an average car costing about the half of an average house? Most people just work their whole life servicing the loans of these two items!!! No quality life.

• ramun on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:18 am

Datuk Dr Ang Bon Beng, have u ever think about consumer that have to purchase ‘stone age’ car model from ETCM? Have you ever taught on your firm reluctant to bring fresher new model to MY? Install few bodykit & charging the consumer thousands of RM? I do understand as a firm you are interested for profit. But IMHO you get the profit by stabbing on your customer chests. If you can only think about how your dealer nak cari makan, Ill rather put my cash on your competitor.

• Muhaimin on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:51 am

I totlly agree with you, but I think you must understand, this is not entirely about the excise duties but the dealers must not be seen as unfavorable to the government, else, who knows, no APs for them later on… car prices have always been politicized. But then again, isn’t everything the same? Same as other issues, if the gov really wanted to slash the duties, they would have searched for a way to do so already.

• waterman on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:53 pm

i like your comment, please post in Nissan Malaysia facebook and have them respond to it.

• skypirate on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:20 am

that is to be expected after you have been ripping us off for so many years.

• so, lets keep the prices in the interest of the industry players..lol..the inflated prices that we have today to protect a certain national brand has also benefited companies like tc as they need to keep their proces higher. while i agree that the market is gonna be really bad in the short term, the benefits espcially to the average malaysian would still outweight that in the middle and long term.

• guyver on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:22 am

greedy businessman talking here again. dealers both of new/old vehicles won’t be out of business, they simply earn less for a little while.

cheaper cars are good for everyone but gov mst take measures to rid of older and often bad conditions ones out of the road.

long term strategy is still to improve public transport or else the road will be jammed.

• vincent on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:24 am

By right, government should start to slowly reduce the car price to embrace 2015 when car should be tax free. But instead of car price going down, it actually increased price. Who is to blame?
    Let’s hope PR take over and abolish this for us. Car is really too much to us and we have no choice with lousy public transport systems.

• hold on to new car purchase decision until next E.

• seriousdude on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:24 am

does dealer really lost? their stocks carried at higher value (prior to abolish tax/excise).
    but when excise duty abolished, manufacturers should pass the rebates/adjustments to dealers who hold their stocks at prices before abolishement.
    afterall manufacturer cost price stills the same.

• waterman on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:57 pm

rebates/adjustment is good but when the time they announce it… those excise duty money is already in “someone” pocket and they won’t return to them. they will give excuses like money already spent by buying super over price unnecessary items… LOL

• salgoodguy on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:24 am

alooo..they drop the duty la, not your profit or what so ever your cost, yes ! the second hand car dealer will effected..so who care? i care for malaysian not the second hand car dealer..of cause got problem for trade in but i dare for better future..plz give better reason tan chong..

• chikubi on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:28 am

Just reduce the price already…than i dun have to buy proton and perodua…

• Murphy on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:28 am

stupidest comment i’ve read since i got to know PT website (apart from proton is better than any other cars)…. we users should be the main concern, not the dealers… gona sell my nissan because of this comment..

• ScotchBite on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:29 am

Bite your tongue ETC. The high prices for cars and the fleecing of the rakyat wallet will end one day. Might as well bite the bullet now. And of course you’re gong to pay lip service to the Government. You’re part of the money machine at the expense of us Malaysians.
    What a disappointing statement!

• ThinkFirst on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:32 am

question is, Rakyat first or Car Dealers first? We need to reduce car prices so we can reduce the rakyat monthly commitment so we can have a better lifestyle is other areas.

• mamamiya on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:35 am

Well, I assume that when Proton arrived in the 80’s, this same fellas selling 2nd hand cars have no complaint when their old car stock price suddenly sky rocketed overnight.

• shawal on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:35 am

It is not everyone birth right to drive fancy cars , astro internet , fancy gadgets, fast foods , you have to sort out your own financial issues ,and be sure to pay whatever tax that comes in your way, you want more money, the best is first to spend less.

cheaper cars means more traffic jams , poor road maintenance , thousands working in assembly factories, dealers, networks , service centres will eventually lose their jobs, hence makes our ringgit weaker.

The world doesn’t owe you anything, so stop behaving like the government does as well ….

you want to change the government, its your right, but if theres no improvement , don’t blame the former then …

• tunguuu on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:00 pm

as though our automotive industry is so good now? supplying low quality parts to proton? is this what u want? im sure PR is not that stupid…after years under BN who is doing more shit as days go buy…n do things like janji dicapati…i rather let PR take over for 5 years…how bad can it be??

• Fizilem on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:30 pm

Hell no, I rather face a high car prices than not having water to shower. Perhaps u don’t shower in the morning that’s why u don’t mind

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:22 pm

Agreed bro. But master-blamers are just master-blamers.

• car driver on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:29 pm

yeah, i’m sure you don’t mind paying a few ringgits for each shower you take, everyday.

how can a water processing plant costs a few billion to build? RM9 billion translates to RM9,000,000,000. that’s 9 followed by 9 zeros to you.

who’s gonna pay for all of that? you are. say that some crony somewhere got 10% pocket money for the project. that’s nearly RM1 billion of coffee money that you’re gonna have to pay.

• kimikira on Aug 07, 2012 at 8:20 pm

yup, now we taking the worse from BN left behind

• Shawal,
      Please use some logic with your statement.

There is a finite number of drivers on the road.

What makes you think just because car price go down 50%, car volume will up 100%? The roads are already poorly maintained.

For the same amount of money we pay now, we should have SAFER and CLEANER cars. Even Perodua doesnt fit their cars with catalytic converters to save that few $$$, at the expense of the rakyat’s health.

Many Malaysians will soon be dying of cancer because of the poor fuel quality we are provided. Why should we sacrifice our health just because the Government is too stingy to subsidize clean petrol / diesel? I’d rather pay for it (clean fuel) myself than have to rely on the Govt’s handouts.

• ur comment is contradicted. how come when ppl buy more cars eventually leads to assembly factories, dealers etc lose their job, innit?
      and one more, of course its not our birth right to live with expensive things but its our right to have life much more comfortable than now.

• kerelbort on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:16 pm

agree… while most of us who are using the internet to ‘hantam’ on the government are from the middle class.. anyone think for the lorry driver who drove the spare parts from parts factory to assembler factory riding motorcycle feeding on 5 people?

what we are having now is 1st world problem, while others having problem buying food, here we are complaining on car prices. If you can’t afford a new imported car, just buy the damn second hand car and pay cash. People in China are doing it? why not you?

• car driver on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:33 pm

anyone seen the 2nd car prices nowadays? can you even get something for under RM5k that could fit in 5 people?

and if a lorry driver gonna have a problem getting enough to feed his family of 5 do you think he’s gonna be able to splurge RM5k cash to get a kancil?

• Kerelbot, what logic is this?

If car prices came down, lower income group wont have to put their LIVES at risk riding motorcycles!

Your comment is like one botak politician said that he’d rather have chicken chop, when the detainee is on hunger strike.

If anyone is selfish, its you. The lorry driver could have bought a similar second hand car at a much lower price and use the spare money to put his children through school.

Where are your priorities my friend? Keep the poor, poorer and rich keep getting richer?

• Here second hand honda civic year 2001 still price about rm20k-28k. In the uk this type of car already get scrapped for £100 or £200 pounds max.

The second hand car for civic year 2008 is about £1000 to £2000 pounds roughly not more than rm20k. Our second hand car dealer already ‘cekik darah’.

We rakyat deserve better for our own country….

Guys look on our neigbour Brunei…. Cars over there with taxes are cheaper than cars sell in malaysian that exempt from taxes. Our government is blood sucking government.

• Just me on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:11 pm

This is not about driving fancy car, idiot. it is about upgrading your quality of life. Those that current riding motorbike in the rain/scorching hot weather with school going children can now own a car, those that currently paying RM700 for crapy proton/perodua can now own a better car. Yes the world doesn’t owe us anyhting, but current automotive policies owe malaysian a lot. It has been report that a RM200K VW only cost RM60K in China and RM80K in US. That’s what I means government own us!!!

• i dont hv astro,fancy german cars,fancy gadgets,or neither do i dine in mcD every now n then.i do hv intrnt,but i pay darn high rates for it as well.but where is the properly covered tarmac?where is the LRT system tht connects to every single area in every single state?

u also said thousands losing jobs in the factory?do u even know what ur talking?we want to cut down taxes,not cut down car cost,nothing to do with the production end.were talking abt the subsequent taxing structure.

ur talking as if we dont pay taxes at all.we still pay for many other taxes,even road taxes for our cars.

• buyunghensem on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:36 am

I am happy if the price of the cars reduced if PR wins in the next GE…. But G will lost one of it lucrative income. Im afraid others will go up…. Maybe income tax, of it might be [email protected]/litre.. Or COE….or higher annual road tax…. who knows. Guess somebody can give some figure how much G collect from the excise duty/import tax per annum, so that we can expect what are the things that will possibly go up

• bro.. go and see the belanjawan la.. think and study.. the sum @ belanjawan is funny.. u see the income tax nowdays, flip flop, always change and keep increasing! now pm want our nation to become high income citizen and country.. so far, what i can see is only barang naik.. salary and opportunity of better job still same. Don’t watch bultin utama la bro..

Our country is by far richer than alot other country. We have petroleum, iron, cooper, Balak, Gas, Water resource, good forest, agrculture, good land, we should be hepi land since long time ago. Enuf with them, its time to move on. We talk about democracy, we been taught in school, we been hear it whole life.. Why we scare then?

Trust yourself, i know u will use your brain wisely. :)

• hulwan on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:22 pm

Yes, the government will have to find other ways to increase their income (or reduce their spending). If the reduction in duties is made gradually, then the impact will be gradual. Currently we have to borrow money to pay taxes, meaning that on top of high tax, we have to pay interest on that tax. If I pay 20,000 in taxes for my car, I have to pay the bank another 5,000 in interest for the tax, on top of the interest on the car price.

• when come to repair your car, you also gonna pay huge tax for the spare parts.

• finally, somebody is talking sense here.

• Majority of other countries do not impose excessive duty like Malaysia does. Yet, do you see these countries having problem in managing business?

• waterman on Aug 07, 2012 at 3:09 pm

hmmm~ i’m thinking the same thing but in another thought, the other countries which do not impose excessive duty like Malaysia they have rocket fuel price to reduce people from driving when it’s not necessary to drive. and they have good public transport system.
        some how Malaysia with high excessive duty seems like it’s necessary??
        OMG i want low price car but i hate traffic jam… please share your thoughts.

• The so called lucrative income is much lower than the exorbitant “WASTAGE” the G is doing. By removing even 50% of “WASTAGE” is enough to lower ALL our income tax!!! All the so called Billion-Billion Projects are 3-4x higher than necessary. Come on, you think all those cracking bridges, collapsing stadium are all accidents????? THINK AGAIN!!! I have heard many such stories but I was involved in a JKR project and to see with my own eyes… the Millions gone…

How do you think Penang managed to be profitable without Federal G funding???

This fella is obviously a MCA snake, trying to protect his handsome income but used poor car dealers as an excuse. I’ve never liked Nissan cars but now, it’s totally blacklisted!

• haahahah… sily statement.. walawei.. always thinking about his untung..

u know why he said like that? because he is one of them who is going to get less untung because of this.

Car dealer will rugi, how long car dealer already untung?

Okay, i think this statement better suit with tan chong.

TC: If you reduce price, the dealer will be suffer
    Dealers: Yes, agree with you TC.
    Rafizi: Yes, i know. Then whats your idea TC?
    TC: Can we increase the tax? Dealer should be vy hepi, rakyat will be suffer.
    me: wont buy nissan just bcoz of stupid selfish statement by him.. crazy.. very selfish! and i believe pakatan is not going to listen to u! who are you.. you just selling car.. Everytime government want to increase price, we said, bad to rakyat, but wen new government want to do something to rakyat, bisnesman will say they going to suffer.. the heck.. always want untung!

• Ricky James on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:37 am

Don’t buy car (Nissan) from Tan Chong Motor!!!

• smiley on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Hey Tan Chong, nobody forces you to drop you car’s price. You can maintain you current price after the removal of excise duty, but no one will buy Nissan then. Booooo!

• Sgt Scoop on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:37 am

Every car owner is going to lose out too. They know this and are still willing to take the hit to drag Malaysia’s car market out of the 1980’s.

My concern is how the shortfall in tax revenue is going to made up.

• Terry on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:37 am

because you loss out that make Malaysian pay higher price for the vehicle? lets say one day whole malaysia public transport are more convinion and less car is needed on the road, then that time should you say it will also impact to the industry and request the government to cut down the public transport? who told you doing business must be profitable one?

• naaim on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:41 am

i am a rakyat, i am all for lower car prices… go to hell with dealers, and person of interest who sed that lower car prices is bad… shame on you…. profiteering on rakyat’s expense

• yeah me too. I am all lower for everything, lower tax, lower gas price, lower groceries price, lower house price, free education to all. Heck, is there any such countries in the world that either have everything low in price or free?

• ETCM really make me down and no more ETCM car for me.. wont ever consider anymore.

• holla324 on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:41 am

why would tan chong motors care about the second hand market? lower market prices of brand new cars would actually increase their business profit due to more people buying from dealers.YES,it could affect the industry and economy slightly,but some smart guy out there could figure something that will work out.looks like tan chong motors is one of BN’s puppets.

• Rambo Ramsey on Aug 07, 2012 at 3:13 pm

Because if new vehicle price is lower, current owner can’t change their ride due to drop in 2nd hand cars. New car buyers want to buy cheaper 2nd hand car but current owner won’t sell as they will have to pay the market value versus the loan. In the end no one buys anything except for 10% most. Our TIV is driven by 90% replacement, 10% new buyer

• curious on Aug 07, 2012 at 8:52 pm

Please get your facts right before making such a statement. Only a few countries do people depend on the sale of their second hand cars to make a new purchase….. ie countries where the price of cars are almost if not more than half the cost of a residential property.Please read more before making such a narrow minded statement as you cant see yourself except in the mirror!!!

• Rambo Ramsey on Aug 08, 2012 at 1:44 pm

curious,

which few countries? Clearly you have not heard about the issues during Pak Lah era when they introduce the NAP. The revision to tax structure have caused the reduction to certain range of cars (2.0 to 2.5 ltr). Due to the revision being downwards all OE is facing trouble selling the car even with the price have been reduced by 10K. This caused panic in the market and resulting in drop for sales and becomes stagnant for about 6 months until car companies put up their own initiatives to clear up the stocks and the introduction of 9 years loan.

face it, Malaysia auto sales relies a lot on replacement. the 10% new buyer are mostly fresh grads or rich families buying small cars (saga, viva, persona, myvi) for their children. TIV (if you dont know what that is, its Total Industry Volume)cannot be more than 500,000 ~ 600,000 units during good days. And it will shrink if not for hire purchase.

Facts from MAA sales, BNM and related distributor studies.

• curious on Aug 07, 2012 at 8:55 pm

That comment was for rambo ramsey and for the 4 persons who thumbed up his statement without understanding what he was actually saying !!!!!

• curious on Aug 07, 2012 at 9:14 pm

BTW a car is a liability…not an asset…do you know what that means? That why it is correctly called hire-purchase in the countries where motor vehicles are not one of the highest revenues for a government to squa…

• mamamiya on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:42 am

1Words: Boycott Nissan Tan Chong!!

• kuriang on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:56 pm

I’ve boycott TC already before this statement is reveal because I’m not own any nissan model haha..

• kelvin on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:43 am

Grow up Tan Chong, Why other distributors in countries with low car tax can do well?

• Gurmit on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:45 am

who care what TC say

• Muhaimin on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:45 am

Well, unless the gov finds a way to reimburse the taxes paid on the car stocks that have already been bought, it’s not going to work

• curious on Aug 07, 2012 at 9:21 pm

For the 7 individuals who got away with a thumbs up, do you REALLY know what Muhaimin was saying????? Well I have JUST bought my car 2 YEARS ago, I too want a reimbursement if they abolish the high taxes TOMORROW! …GET REAL!!!!!

• nubians on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:46 am

When this happening in Malaysia in can only shake my head..
    This customer purchasing power is so weak until the CAR Maker can take advantages to us easily. See how Malaysia speck car quality is reduced but in higher price because of tax. The question is do we deserve this? In term of safety, in term quality did we get an equivalent substitution from local provider (p2, and p1) ??? Do we? and yet we have to take 7-9 years loan to pay more tax than other country. it great news when the local cars is reduced because we are paying 10%-20% higher then other people pay for p1 and p2 cars. And yet their concern is the dealer which the minority. People is suffer from buying cars here. Make the live better. No, we deserve a better car at a better price. We have the right and more purchasing power!

• Faizul on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:46 am

it is always about dealers.. some one must bear the consequences as a result of price cutting. how about consumers? consumer is majority and the one that is heavily affected by loan of up to 9 years.. dealers are the one laughing all the way to the banks.. to dealers.. stop asking how much profit the country can give you but start asking how you can contribute to this country.. start by this very first step.

• Same here. 100% support all comments above.

• Eurohead on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:49 am

Holy shit, this is gonna boost traffic jams and promote higher fuel usage…prices come down then have to limit the amount of cars a household can hold… Higher fuel prices for sure, when demand goes up so does the price..

• Please lah, how many cars can YOU drive at the same time? Already we have people like Dato Ang who can afford 10 cars parked in his garage. Does all 10 cars appear on the road at the same time?

• rakyatMalaysia on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:17 pm

if car price go down…people can spend their money on other items…this item also got tax….no need to worry government will still gain money…

• sigh.. u really think backward.. Cheaper car doesnt mean all people can have.

Banks in Malaysia allow us to tenure our loan up to 10 years or 9 years just because of the crazy price car here.

This thing will change and the max tenure will be shorter to 5 years rather than 9/10 (now). The monthly commitment to bank would be slightly cheaper but hell it should be strong enough to avoid all ppl rushing to buy car. Look at Thailand, car is cheap, but, is it all ppl buy car? no, they arent!

So, within 2 years, you can already sell your car, and buy other car without have to wait 4-5 years (now).
      And rakyat oso wont be burden up to 9 years just to pay the nissan car.

Dont be selfish, this is 2012, low-mid income rakyat should deserve more reasonable car price. They also rakyat, they have their right in this land.

We call it, Equal Opportunity!

• again, glad somebody that finally talked some sense into this.

• That’s not true! Lower car price means you can settle your debt faster and use the money to improve your living quality.
      Talking about excessive fuel usage, if the gov are serious about this, they will start to work on improving the public transportation system for the last 10 years CONTINUOUSLY.

• kimikira on Aug 07, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Car price UP = People buy cheaper car P1/P2
      But still buying too

car price down = People buy better car more safety
      But still buying

the point is when come down P1/P2 hurt the most, even i think worse tutup kilang….then lose many job, but on contrary we can do business like neighbour country ,do the CBU and CKD assemble export.

• Good to hear that dealer lose out rather than rakyat…

• Car dealers loose out? So who is the one to created Proton in the first place which actually caused the higher tax for all other cars???Pls think! The ppl have been paying more money for lower spec car for nearly 30 years. Is this fair to the Rakyat???

• Malaysia Car Owner on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:54 am

Why malaysia haven start scrap all the car over 10 years or 15 years . Like SG will receive so amount from the car you scrap. Even due i do not trust 2nd car dealer , all the time i get cheat from them when they say the car in good condition . Everyone in malaysia got his own dream car cos of the car price no one could afford to buy it . Like at TW you can get a Golf GTI R below 200k but at malaysia Golf GTI 2.0 already over 200k .

• taboogen on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:54 am

SOKONG

• kerelbort on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:56 am

what happen when tax price reduced.

assembler will stop sending CKD kit to Malaysia as they will just rationalize their factory to a bigger facilities i.e. Thailand.

most people who work in automotive sector will loose their job causing reduce tax collection, tax from car and tax from automotive sector loosing, government will have less money to spend on development causing budget deficit grew bigger. petronas will be nationalize just to ensure their profit goes to government coffer directly thus causing more taxes from Petronas operation will not be included into the tax collection.

in the nutshell, to satisfy a few to buy cheaper car the whole nation will be loosing.

better to say that this is another promise that will not be kept by the PKR if they take over Malaysia in the next PRU, which they will not succeed.

• kerelbort on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:59 am

btw, i’ve read they are going to use open tender for AP to cover up for taxes loss by this act of removing auto excise duty.
      My question? who is going to pay for that AP fees? customer or vendor? will that not become an additional cost to the car price?

are they turning an egg into omelette and telling people they are not they same?

• rockStar on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:40 pm

You are really short minded people right? Reducing cars price so people who are currently paying loan 7-9 to 5-6 years… It can help the poeple to have a better live. AP tax? what nonsense? AP should been there at first place.. Look at KIA, after 10 years i Already can stand on it own feet.. We? They are spoiled and left us to suffer high car price.. TAX not enough for country? Excuse me.. how many our many is gone to waste due to inefficient financial of our country? With corruption the money goes only to certain poeple. If not for them, they money can be more than enough for the RAKYAT! Which one is better? High price cars with evil government or low price car with good government.?

Also in long term investment, the economy will better better because people has more money to spend, rather than paying abuse overpriced car.

more spend-> more growth in economy..

• You are another skeptics from BN. Of course PR need a way to compensate these auto dealers. But that will be for the short run.
        When these dealers have settled down with the new price, the AP system will be abolished completely by 2016 if I am not mistaken.

• bro.. dont jump to conclusion made by BN…

Haha, bro,

when the tax decrease, other car maker will be build their plant here.

1. Creating job opp
      2. Create investment
      3. Tax been collect
      4. Land been leasehold by government
      5. Custom collect the tax by anything import/export for biz purpose.
      6. Imigration collect all the work permit money from those foreigner and expat!
      7. LHDN will collect more income tax
      8. Land price increasing all surround the industrial area
      9. We need new port. (its good)
      10. All other car makers will rush to open their manufacturing plant here.
      11. Creating job, a good job to rakyat is one of Government responsibility.
      12. i can list alot positive thing here rather than negative thing!
      13. Petronas has alot money, yes its look like private, but is they? hahah…. How about IPP? think think think..Dont insult other reader intelligent.. cheers

• Rambo Ramsey on Aug 07, 2012 at 3:25 pm

Other maker will not open up plant in Malaysia as the labour rate here is more expensive by at least 1.5 times. Do you want to work in auto industryy with pay less than 900 ringgit? With stiff competition from cheap countries like indonesia the supplier have to consistantly being harrassed by OE to provide cost reduction by annual basis. Even profit level being determined by them. Higher fuel cost will translate to higher cost across the board and with this conditions who want to do business here?

• Bro,
          This is bisnes..

who say carmaker dont want to open the car manufacturing plant here? labour cost? dont look at the school text book and simply summarize everything. If you think so, then i will and need to ask you,

why on earth Singapore, despite being one of the highest labour cost in Asia, able to attract billion dollar investment per year to manufacturing sector. Even electronic company also there? how can it be? would you imagine that?

C’mon, grow up. Open your eyes.. alot investor run to Singapore because of what? hehehe..

Real world is not what you think on paper bro…

It is mostly depend on how package that government will give to investor?

Labour cost will take effect when come to the overwhelming number of worker over the profit gain.

Alot think need to be consider by the investor before they invest to the particular country.

Labour cost is just one of the reason, not more than that, as long it still give the profit to the company, then it shouldnt be a problem. But the main problem always tax and “birokrasi” issue. Not the labour cost. If coz of that, small country with high labour cost like UK, Malaysia, Singapore, Hong Kong, would not be able to attract the investor…. alot thing need to be consider..

See, indo got earthquake, volcano.. Thai always flood..

Malaysia, singapore? u funny..

Please think before post the comment, we are in 2012, we should think wider and wiser.

• Bro,
          This is bisnes..

who say carmaker dont want to open the car manufacturing plant here? labour cost? dont look at the school text book and simply summarize everything. If you think so, then i will and need to ask you,

why on earth Singapore, despite being one of the highest labour cost in Asia, able to attract billion dollar investment per year to manufacturing sector. Even electronic company also there? how can it be? would you imagine that?

C’mon, grow up. Open your eyes.. alot investor run to Singapore because of what? hehehe..

Real world is not what you think on paper bro…

It is mostly depend on how package that government will give to investor?

Labour cost will take effect when come to the overwhelming number of worker over the profit gain.

Alot think need to be consider by the investor before they invest to the particular country.

Labour cost is just one of the reason, not more than that, as long it still give the profit to the company, then it shouldnt be a problem. But the main problem always tax and “birokrasi” issue. Not the labour cost. If coz of that, small country with high labour cost like UK, Malaysia, Singapore, Hong Kong, would not be able to attract the investor…. alot thing need to be consider..

See, indo got earthquake, volcano.. Thai always flood..

Malaysia, singapore? u funny..

Please think before post the comment, we are in 2012, we should think wider and wiser.

• In japan the labor very expensive but why the main operation are still carry in japan.

How about europe where minimum wages is is like more than 8 euros per hours. Why still BMW, mercedes still make car in their own country.

What a crap argument….

• hulwan on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:31 pm

Quite the opposite actually. Once the prices come down, demand for non-national cars will come up. It will then make financial sense for assemblers to put up factory here. With AFTA coming up, M’sia can no longer give preferential treatment to P1 & P2 without risking reaction from other ASEAN countries. If we impose extra tax on cars assembled in Thailand, other countries will impose extra tax on us and in the end we will not be able to export.

• tunguuu on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:57 am

if we can afford more efficient cars then even with higher fuel prices y not?

ETCM all this while enjoying high profits, because they will always say cars are expensive because of tax…if no tax they cant hide..no choice but to price it lower n earn lesser…cant use TAX excuse no more..same like TOYOTA N HONDA!

with a level playing field..im sure more new factories will be set up here n create more jobs…u think the industry is proton only ka? if their suppliers are good of course they can supply to the other car makers right?

• epirose on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:00 pm

becoz fuel for all citizens..and car maybe not…lower income peops dunmind to have car…even u giv them free car, how come they want to drive it if they cant afford to buy fuel??but they need fuel to earn money…using in generator-meniaga at pasa malam, motorbot to catch fish, etc…minyak naik, lain-lain barang sume naik…maybe u dunmind to buy ikan kembong rm20/kilo instead of rm6/kilo now..but not to lower income…so is this lower car price good for “ALL RAKYAT” or juz “UPPER INCOME RAKYAT”??

• tunguuu on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:58 pm

i thought all this while nelayan all r given subsidies? dont they? so u rather pay 25k… squeeze 8 people inside?? sekali accident..8 people die on the spot?

• tunguuu on Aug 07, 2012 at 3:00 pm

of course prices goes up…but can i ask u…is prices are even cheap now? n even with tax on cars..or subsidies…is our living better? those nelayan n peniaga pasar malam as long as have…kais pagi makan pagi…then petrol drop or go higher..no difference…

• of course all rakyat.u think lower income rakyat dont travel?if the car prices go down, they too can afford vehicles, esp d ones wiv better quality.

• rriizzaall on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:58 am

always when it comes to BUSINESS people … they will lose, they will suffer and everything. What about when they make tons of RM?

And what about us, the Rakyat, which are ALWAYS on the losing end, with overpriced under-quality cars for the past two decades.

Nobody seems to bother about this :-(

• carnoisseur on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:01 pm

from a person like Datuk Ang , Im deeply disappointed with this comment .Please look at the big picture rather than the small one

• curious on Aug 07, 2012 at 9:29 pm

He IS looking at the bigger picture…just not from the same perspective as you…..his angle…his view…his gain…your loss

• Rafieldo on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:01 pm

I second the tax reduction for cars. In the long run, ETCM will benefit as the sales figure will increase tremendously as people can afford to change new cars more often. For low income earners, they can benefit too as the price of second hand cars are much cheaper now. Proton employees will benefit too as foreign car makers will JV with Proton to produce better quality cars and the workers will not be affected. The only one that affected will be the Vendors of low quality goods (cronies), as the good one will keep on supplying.

• Watchthemburn on Aug 08, 2012 at 11:15 am

ETCM just want to do less for more… less innovation, less competition and even less work.. any idea how competitive dealers are outside of Malaysia? The dealers here can even afford to choose customer.. cannot afford? go buy other cars lah! typical typical…

• 1000horses on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:01 pm

ETCM juz signed his own death wish….bcoz of your selfish statement, sales for Nissan cars will plummet and many will have second thoughts abt buying Nissan cars…heck we will boycott Nissan cars! Shame on you, you selfish b@stard! If u r like everyone else struggling every mth juz to pay instalments for a P1 or P2 then i dare u to say the same thing….juz bcoz u r filthy rich now tats t u dun feel anything abt paying sky high prices for car…

• Randy on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Are you telling me that companies get a cut from the government tax?

If we eliminate government tax, it would encourage sales!
    Not make you sell less.
    This director doesn’t make sense.
    I smell cronyism.

• Unhappy tax payer on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Datuk Ang, ask the government to refund you the taxes you paid for stocking up your warehouse. Aduh, atuk…

• seancorr on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:05 pm

What Tan Chong said is not professional. Like what the others said above, our industry efficiency needs to be improved and there are places in which they can cut cost and of course their fat profit margins must be reduced NOT AT the expense of cutting their workers wages.

We as the customers have been putting up with the high prices of cars that the government & the car industry players have set over the decades and it is high time now for them to stop milking off us!

I’m all in to reduce the excise duties of cars. This could and should be done as our living costs have been climbing like hell over the years thanks to you know who!

• Mamaktir on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:07 pm

another dumb comment from a dumb business man who has been spoonfed all this while. If it is implemented, the changes will definitely be in stages. I’m no businessman or politician, but even I know that.

• Bob Vettel on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Before bashing him to no end like a typical Malaysian – take a step back and go deeper than just what’s on the surface.

He does have a point in that it will undoubtedly affect the dealers if car prices were to go down dramatically especially for those with high stock of cars that are paid for during the old system which they can’t sell at the old price, as often is the case when there’s a price reduction. Don’t forget – behind the dealers are people who work for a living too. What would you do if you’re the ones affected by this, up to the point of being fired from your job?

If there is a need to repeal the taxes it should be done in stages rather than in one fell swoop – at least the government (whoever’s in charge) will have the time to implement ways to recoup the losses from less car tax revenues, as well as the dealers.

A measured action is much more beneficial than a knee-jerk reaction. Unfortunately being Malaysians they only see “cheap car prices” rather than the bigger picture.

• go to rafiziramli.com, look for the article explaining the mechanism to reduce car price . they didnt draw this idea out of thin air.

• kenkay on Aug 08, 2012 at 8:43 am

I agree.. I think in the short term both Rakyat and Dealers will lose out.

I see a lot of Tan Chong bashing here, but take a step back, and think about it.

If the Govt slashes prices tomorrow by say 30%, the residual value of your current car will drop by 50 to 60%. That means if you owe more than 50% of your car to the bank, you basically have NOTHING left.

So, if the majority of Rakyat are still servicing loans for a car, it is conceivable they will “lose” a fair bit if they try to sell their cars, esp if it’s still under loan. For those that have paid off their cars, how would you react if you woke up the next morning to discover your car has lost 30 – 50% value?

Just because cars will be cheaper, do you think that everyone one will go out and buy a new car? What are they going to do with their existing cars?

• car prices go down,u can finance new cars w/o even selling off ur old one.

• Mike Dude on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:10 pm

For something good to take place, some people have to sacrifice. This time it’s the car dealers.

• It’s People Time??

It’s negative to whom??? To very few capitalists? The more income at our disposals will be used wisely for other things… Thank you.

• Mike Dude on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:13 pm

I WANT MY RM80K 2012 GOLF GTI!!!

• paparadzi on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:17 pm

Don’t even consider buying a car until the next general election.

One side say they will make cars cheaper; the other side wants to keep car prices high. Which side should you vote for?

• no brainer la kapten.tht latter side is also the side tht shuts one eye to enemies rummaging our national carrier.

• Rajaking on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:21 pm

any plan to compensate new car owner??

• odi862 on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:22 pm

Few weeks ago Custom DG commented on this in The Star that the G will lose 6-7 billion in tax revenue. 6-7 billions is a small amount compare to more than 100 billion collected every year. Some years ago some idiots increase the fuel price to RM2.90/liter in order to reduce the G subsidy and save 4 billion (that was said to be used to improve public transport). The result is the increase of prices in the market and make the rakyat suffer the higher living cost.

• bro, i already forgave the one that increase petrol price to RM2.90 last time. For me, what happen, happened. I hope he will realise his mistake and apologise to rakyat in future…

• gmorque on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:23 pm

Please everybody boycott nissan cars. Show him who’s the boss..

• blue-traveler on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:23 pm

WTF?!!!!! I cant believe that he said that. What about all the “real” income working citizen of Malaysia, i.e. his customers… Crap! This show what kind of people they are and guess it also shows that AP holders are really scare of change for the better! Also I thank Paultan for this information, for I will submit to company HQ/shareholders requests to remove all Tan Chong Motors Cars brands from list of cars company approve to buy. Damn him, now i will feel so piss off whenever i walk pass the 2 N cars in the company lot. i approve them somemore. Damn you.

• oligopoli on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:24 pm

if i undesrtand correctly, car price will go down (should PR win next PRU) because no more excise duty, but each AP will be charged from 10k to 40k. so the price decrease would not be significant, I suppose. unless u are buying ferrari, lambo or porsche.

• kensomuse on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:24 pm

Hmmm, the way I read it is for the short term, dealers will hold off buying cars from ETCM and this in turn affects their annual forecast results. The 2nd hand car market is just an excuse as ETCM does not have any businesses in this area. Instead of finding a way around this issue (such as what some continental brand manufacturers are doing by holding off paying the excise duties until the minimum 10% payment is cleared by the buyer), I find it rather odd that the Executive Director suggests that things remain as they are.

In fact, the statements made here are inconsistent. By saying more buyers will opt to purchase new cars over old cars, this would in turn benefit ETCM (and every other manufacturer) to fulfill their annual quota considering 2nd hand market sales means nothing to the principal manufacturers. The only issue is the principal ddistributor (such as ETCM) may have to manage its stock levels a little more delicately IF the Opposition come to power and the law is proposed (which is again dependent on whether IF it gets approved by the new Parliment and what is the lead time towards implementation)

I think there’s more to this interview … probably another snip and censor by the powers-that-be to make the Opposition look selfish by criticizing this proposal. I can’t imagine an executive director would be so bold as to make such a sweeping statement and risk a PR disaster and the furor of the public.

• Dato Dr Ang, how much does ur superior or people on top offer u? to speak something that against ur will? its difficult aint it?

• Mr Ang Bon Beng never think ahead, yes they may suffer some loss for the moment but he never understood the fact that Tan Chong can sell more cars when the tax goes down. Not to mention his funny name haha…no offence.

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:33 pm

Ang is looking at it from just one perspective, that is on the dealer’s side of the coin. Of course, the proposition to reduce car excise duties can have negative impacts. But surely if it is done gradually rather than drastically, everyone will benefit from it in the end – dealers will be able to expand their showroom inventories, and motorists will be spoilt for choice!

Having said that, the government cannot simply abolish the duties and let the market crash just like that. Contingency plans have to be in place to absorb the impact.

• Tishaban on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Please go read Rafizi’s blog…

http://rafiziramli.com/2012/08/asar-automotif-negara-pertahan-hak-rakyatangkat-ekonomi-negara/

One of the things he mention (Matlamat 5) is the reduction of the number of personal vehicles. He also mentioned the increase in prices for AP

http://rafiziramli.com/2012/07/pengurusan-permit-import-ap-yang-lebih-baik-jana-sumber-kewangan-negara-menggantikan-cukai-eksais/

So there’s still lots of stuff unclear or incomplete. I also don’t see any mention on improving fuel quality to improve our air quality and environment, nor do I see any move to improve road, driver and car safety which should reduce injuries and/or deaths on the roads.

Tan Chong as usual is trying to protect their stupid profit margins, but PKR’s plans are still very incomplete in my opinion and may not really lead to what we want.

• from rafizi blog

“i. Pengenalan sistem bidaan permit import (AP) mengikut kategori kenderaan dijangka akan membawa hasil di antara RM2 bilion hingga RM3 bilion setiap tahun sehingga 2015 apabila AP dihapuskan sepenuhnya.

ii. Penurunan cukai eksais secara berperingkat dalam tempoh 5 tahun akan memastikan hasil negara tidak jatuh merudum seperti yang didakwa oleh sesetengah pihak, sebaliknya diimbangi oleh hasil baru dari bidaan AP.”

BRO, WA TAK JUMPA LA YANG KATA HARGA AP AKAN NAIK.. YANG WA JUMPA, AP akan dibida. Itu pun untuk mengimbangi kemerosotan tax dari kereta secara berperingkat. Apa masalah nya?

Nak kurangkan harga kereta pun bising ke?

Pelik, ada lah caranya tu. Dun worry..

For me, – Both party want to make a good thing to rakyat. But only one party proved that they failed to develop country in the proper manner, while the other one – not yet has the power to rule the country. Give them chance, and hope die-hard BN ppl use their brain to choose the ruler properly. Show them the power of rakyat!

• Tishaban on Aug 07, 2012 at 6:28 pm

Daam, from the link I provided:

“3. KEADILAN percaya harga purata bagi setiap AP yang dikeluarkan boleh mencecah RM40,000 apabila penjualan AP dibuka kepada proses bidaan”

I’ve made it generic enough to say that the end result may not be what we like. Nowhere did I say I support PR or BN, I try to be impartial but obviously some people read too much between the lines or don’t read enough :D

I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again, it’s much easier and better to increase your income. With increased income you get a better car no matter who wins, you also have more options for other things eg. education, vacations, better houses.

• :) thank you for remind me.. I didnt realize it bro.. when i was wrong, i admit, thats how we share our opinion. cheers bro..

For me its just one of the mechanism to lift tax for the goverment. AFTA car wont be burden for this case, plus it is average 40k consider much2 cheaper rather than RM700K (now) Nissan GTR R36 compare to US – USD85k+/- ….

So, AP 10k (go to chroni,) + 200% tax is worth it to us to buy rather than base price+AP 40k+(maybe50%-100% tax)?

For me, its win win situation.

Right now, almost all rakyat who dream a new or 2nd hand car need to make bank loan and most of them pull the tenure to the max regardless. This thing already became habit to the malaysian, while in the other hand, government is the one who force malaysian to make a loan, arent they?

Think back? all of this tax should be eliminate long time ago within the AFTA, but somebody say they need to cover P1?

Rakyat already suffer long enough.. Jalan mesti ke depan, bukan ke belakang.

But look at us? static..

Your opinion regarding increase rakyat’s income is not bad also bro.
          But bare in mind, there are alot thing need to be upgrade before jump to this decision. It is very hard decision. Every single thing will be increase once the income been increase and fix the base income. The problem will remain how strong ringgit in the floating market as increasing income will give huge shock to the consumer sector, farmer, buruh, fisherman, pasar2 man and all those who work base on kais pagi makan pagi.

The main point need to consider is inflation, ringgit, investment, job oprtnity. Ringgit no more tie to US dollar, its floating now, and ringgit will be affected whenever the changes makes to the cash flow within country, either to positve or negative side. Its hard to get back when u drop, for me, dont take risk thou..

thank you sir.

• Gabla on Aug 07, 2012 at 9:35 pm

AP is for the importation of CBU vehicles. What they are planning is to have an auction for the AP which will be given out based on quota. This means, to import a fully assembled car, an AP is required and only the highest bidder will get the AP.

This will drive the price of CBU cars up but at the same time this will promote local production by foreign manufacturers if they want to sell their cars at a competitive price

• Keith on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Reduce the tax, and reduce subsidy on petrol.
    When we can afford more efficient cars or even hybrids, we will learn to manage our fuel.

When we learn to manage our fuel, we will be able to reduce pollution and carbon footprint. Just like when the fuel prices were raised ton RM2.50 during Pak Lah’s time, all of us learned to be a bit more considerate and traffic reduced.

To begin with, we need good alternatives – the opportunity to own a good, high technology efficient car at a reasonable price. Instead of making us dependent on fuel subsidies. Btw, when tax is reduced, we can do an asset refresh more often, no need for huge bank debts, more cars will sell, stimulating the industry and reducing Malaysians household debt.

• ohhhh Edaran Tan Chong, why couldn’t you keep silent? now none of us are gonna wanna buy a nissan! sendiri cari pasal, you have only yourselves to blame!

• YeapyEvo on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:37 pm

Reducing auto and excise duties will bring positive impact on:
    1)Consumer wallet
    2)Household debt
    3)Consumer spending power
    4)More better quality and newer car on the road, reducing accident and fatality rate.
    5)Possible to regain the status as Detroit of the East
    6)As 5), more job opportunity, parts vendor booming
    7)Lower fuel subsidy inccured as consumer are able to buy fuel efficient newer car.
    8)Shorter loan tenure to a reasonable 5 years max
    9)Make ppl realised that Vios, City, Polo is just cheap car rather than godlike sports car
    10)More brands will come into Malaysia, stopping the arrogance of T & H which take advantage of Malaysians.

• arrrrzmiii on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:39 pm

tan chong main politik kaaa? sudah banyak kaya lo…,rugi sikit pun takut…

• bschin on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:49 pm

please don’t bulls.. you’re stil making the same amount of money..

• and make 5 years as maximum loan tenure for car..

• Estimosis on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:52 pm

Make it three years. Five years is long enough..

• disappointed on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:54 pm

It wouldn’t be negative if the duties are reduced on a structured and gradual basis. It is high time M’sians stop getting suckered to pay high car prices any longer.

• I bet PKR will have a way to compensate these auto dealers on their cars value lost. In the long run, it will be an apparent benefit both to the user and the 2nd hand auto dealers.
    Current scenario, the 2nd hand cars in Malaysia is too expensive that we cannot export our cars to 3rd world countries. When the new price policy in introduced, surely these auto dealers will benefit as they have broader markets to sell their cars as other 3rd world countries begin to accept our 2nd hand cars.

• WE ARE ALREADY THIRD WOLRD COUNTRY, WHERE DO U EXPECT OUR CAR TO BE SOLD? sorry for the caps lock. but actually lower the car price may help car dealer to make profit instead of losses. Example, a C-class sells at rm290000 with almost 400 car per month. but if lets say C-class being sold at rm150000. i ber the sales will boomed close to 1000 takers per month. isnt that a good news for car company? btw, lower tax wont cause u to make losses. sohai!!!

• kuriang on Aug 07, 2012 at 12:59 pm

Latuk, better lu tarik balik lu punya statement, nanti nissan talak laku ma.. hihik..

• dreaming of maserati on Aug 08, 2012 at 4:51 pm

yeah…i say we all boycott nissan cars for this datuk’s stupid, selfish and arrogant statement! even after reduction of excise duty.

unless he pulls back his statement, make a public apology and give additional 10k rebate for overtrade.

• ryosan on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:01 pm

Ultimately we pay from our hard earned money. Who cares about used car dealers when new cars it’s affordable. Just like Japan … auction it or export to 3rd world country. Unless our pay rise 150% just like tax duties. Stupid Tan Chong .. Boycott them and refrain buying Nissan Cars then they will know.

• Etcm is obviously barking up on the wrong tree. They should be happy so ppl can afford better cars. So the looks of it better not support tan chong .

• iampedopra on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:06 pm

Look at the state of roads and public transportations in this country, if the tax money was put to good use ppl won’t have to buy cars to travel around.

Higher tax or excise duty should mean that the revenue be put to these public amenities to ensure that our roads and public transportation is in the best conditions.

But i guess u all know that in this corrupt country that kind of thinking is wishful thinking. Instead our roads are bad and even worse public transport.

So what is the point of high excise duty if it doesnt benefit us? It only benefits the banks, dealers, car makers, government. Rakyat? we are being fed to the dogs.

I hope Proton die a slow and painful death.

• tokmoh on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:11 pm

Apa ketahian ni?

Majority of bankrupts in Malaysia is caused by car loans, so they’re saying it’s better this way?

Janji dicapati untuk kroni betul, prrrffffttttt

• In the US, Henry Ford started car making business so that people could afford cheaper cars.
    In Malaysia, Proton was introduced so that people has to pay more to own a car.

• jalan54 on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Tc is only half correct. I’m not trying to back him up, but this is what i think will happen to the market if the automobile price drops tremendously over night. Not only the second hand car dealers will be affected, but also those cars owners, why?
    Let says you are driving a rm60k car right now and haven’t finish paying the loan and if the price of the car reduce all the sudden and your car price now only worth rm30k, do you think that those second hand dealers still pay you rm50k or rm40k for your car when you try to sell it off? The loan that you are paying now is much more higher than the actual car value, do you still want to continue paying such high loan or to surrender your car to the bank? I’ll definitely surrender my car and let the bank suffer instead of myself and get a better and cheaper car. So, imagine if majority of he people have such mentality, what will happen to the market? Bank will suffer and market will crash and all the people in Malaysia will suffer especially he poor one.

I hate the high car price and low quality car that I’m driving right now and i hope that the will drop too, but the damaged already been done by those assholes trying to protect the fucking family business and there isn’t a way we can reduce the price over night, they can do it slowly maybe over 5 years time to avoid the huge negative impact to the market. What can really be done is to reduce the price of the petrol, improve the quality of the diesel here so that more diesel cars hence more fuel saving. Subsidize hybrid cars so that people can really enjoy the benefit and also to protect our environment. Improve the quality of public transport so those poorer people don’t have to suffer to paying unnecessary car loan. There are so much more can be done but the current g is not doing anything about it but just to create some mind controlling song… sigh…

• Visitor on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:56 pm

You mention hybrid cars in your comment along with reducing price of petrol. I think hybrid cars will only be more worthy of buying when price of petrol increases to RM 4++.

• chan kam nam on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:15 pm

I don’t mind if my current Car that I am still paying drops by half. I will just continue paying until I finish and then buy a new car after that.

You just like to Jual Ikan. Just admit it, Don’t just think about now. Think about your future generation.

How long do you want the current stupid system to continue. Until u finish off your own HP.

• jalan54 on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:42 pm

I’m not saying don’t reduce, but gradually (as I mentioned before, make it a 5 years plan). If all the sudden you take all the taxes and excise duties away, market will crash and this is definitely not good for our future generation.

Most importantly, G should make a good use of the collected tax money from the people and not put it in their pockets. I don’t mind paying high taxes, but I really mind when I pay such high taxes, I don’t see improvement in our countries but just some assholes become richer and richer.

• bro, we sacrifice for the better future. Now we lose some money.. but future, our country will be better! i hope government will set a base price for each of car (for 2nd hand), and i think they will think of this thing.

Agree with you, some of people will suffer wer they lose 2nd hand value, but the main objective of the car is to bring u from point A to B. I believe G will absorb some loses from rakyat and provide a better package for those who want to trade in their car (old car, BN era) and new car (PR era).

• rockStar on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:41 pm

That is short term effect..
      for long term effect is more positive than negative la…

• orange on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:46 pm

I agreed with this statement, dropping the price overnight is not a complete solution, it must be done gradually instead..

• exactly my good sir, it won’t be an overnight thing, but it’s heading towards a right direction.

• tunguuu on Aug 07, 2012 at 3:05 pm

hybrid cars enjoy virtually no tax right now..but the prices will never go down lower than that..either MOF say..cannot or dealers just laugh to the bank..

• Anti-Tax on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:25 pm

Moron TC. You think only dealers get hit with the price decrease? The rakyat will also feel the impact when they need to sell their car at a lower value. Should this be a reason not to reduce the tax? Hell no! The rakyat are thinking long-term and are willing to take the short-term disadvantage!

• awg1031 on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:26 pm

face it just as we the normal rakyat had to face it all this while…we always in the losing end, now why don’t you?

• Then we shoubld boycott Tan Chong, a greedy organisation.

• Dont support them, ………….buy other brands

• janjidicapati on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:42 pm

how about the rakyat who would still have to serve the remaining years of loan with no hope of settling out the loan when car prices plummet?

people who had no car would be enjoying their cheap imports while those who already owned a car can only look at them envy.

this rafizi need to be more detailed in his plan but seeing how easy to get people to support him, i guess he can just simply make empty promises. im still waiting for the 20% reduction on cukai pintu for selangor in their 2008 manifesto. ZZZzzzZZ

• At least Rafizi is proposing something that everybody has been hoping for. You come fast into conclusion that Rafizi do not cater for the existing car users having their cars value plummet.
      You are suggesting that in order to take care the existing users, the car price should be remained so that many more users in the future will suffer paying car loan for most part of their working life.

• janjidicapati on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:27 pm

not me but you instead come fast into conclusion. i did not say i do not support the move, who would be rejecting the possibility to own better luxury cars at cheaper price? why focus on the car dealer loss while ignoring the rakyat outstanding loans?

i was merely asking more detailed plan, not to be fooled easily by rafizi in his agenda to get votes. eg; even 2008 manifesto has not yet been fulfilled.

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 08, 2012 at 1:42 am

Halo, after you finish paying the loan, you will be at the losing end regardless of whether the car prices come down, because of high depreciation. When you are trading off your old car for a new one and the new car price is cheaper, you won’t be forking out a huge loan anymore for the new car, even though you won’t be making as much on the old car. Which do you prefer? Spending less each time you change your car or take a loan equivalent to buying a house but pay more interest every time you buy a car? Also you will have more choices as you constantly do not have to be taken for a ride by distributors because of merely buying a car for RV.

• Well, I am not quite sure it will happen but New Zealand has done it 10 yrs back!!

For me, it is too much hardship for normal rakyat, you tend to live a life serving installment….like it or not ; it is NO fun for almost 27 long yrs for auto scene ; rather no scene!

• jflee169 on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:44 pm

When a new rule/law is implemented, there always a transitional period. As what Didi mentione, PKR must have a way to compensate the auto dealer and second hand car dealer. We consumer also at risk when the auto and excise duties are abolished, our current/old car also get affected. My personal point of view on the compensation to 2nd car dealer would be claimed of auto and excise duties for every car trade in to auto dealer and 2nd hand car dealer based on the age of the car by percentage.
    By the way, ECTM, you have just lost one customer!

• Visitor on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:46 pm

If the government (whether BN or PR) decides to reduce and ultimately abolish excise duties in the future, then at the same time subsidies on petrol should be abolished altogether. I know some people may not be agree with me, but the reality is government has been dumping billions of RM to subsidise our vehicle fuels for years and I think this is unhealthy and unsustainable. The money should have been used for something more productive.

And make it compulsory for all car makers to publish fuel consumption on each of the model they sold in Malaysia in their website, just like what they do in the US. So, people will be more rational when it comes to buying new cars.

• If no tax on imported cars and still subside petrol will be good for nation. But if govern remove botg car tax and fuel subsidary then wat will happen?! cannot imagine on the consequnces of inflation. So far i can only see reduction of car tax but not removal of car tax in mid term.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 07, 2012 at 1:53 pm

The industry has benefitted too long from the pOlicy. What goes around comes around, It is time for the consumers to enjoy

• Chow 1 on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:01 pm

Dictator’s mindset.

• Cheaper cars> Less Old junk 10years proton cars on road(emission > more new cars on road > Life quality better and richer .

• totti on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:19 pm

Short term loss will have a long term benefit.

This will provide high disposable income for individual and stimulate the economic.

Reduce car tax mean more money for rakyat and less money for AP KING.

• b sensible on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:20 pm

no matter what…car price shd be maintained for now. use the money from the excise duty to provide FREE public transport for ALL……our roads are overloaded with traffic…accident is high….
    imho public transport is more effective as it can cater for the masses while the private car only cater for the rich…just look at melbourne the transport network is extensive and you dont’t even need a car!

• abdul123 on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:25 pm

Talk about revenue lost.
    The BN government lost even more money through
    corruption.

• uhh… sacrifice the majority to benefit the few? i thot it’s supposed to be the other way round

• Hukaka on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:32 pm

tan chong are making huge income under one roof,
    so if once the tax reduction are start to operating they have to facing competitive price war.
    so the better it’s don’t buy any Renault&Nissan cars.
    selling your own way to keep on making $$.
    when i was looking a used car market mostly nissan car second hand value are lower because they like to trow price to making buyer lost they resell value.i never buy a Nissan,and those car spec mostly king of Kosong spec. delayed model.

• Tan Chong has one of the few fully integrated CKD operations in the country. They are afraid if duties are reduced, they cannot compete with lower cost manufacturers like Indonesia and Thailand.

I agree it will be hard on the industry, but it will recover after 1~2 years and will than flourish. Short term, will definitely be painful but long term will be good for the industry.

They have the personal interest at heart. We should boycott Nissan!!

• How come PKR fooled national hero Lee Chong Wei?

• laymen on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:42 pm

It is really interesting to read some ppl who are so near sighted. Comments are shallow and so primitive.

I’m not siding car companies nor any government bodies, but rather a very objective outlook.

If all new car prices drop, what would happen to the used car industry? Able to maintain business or drop as well? If they drop, what happens to your trade in value for your old car? Do you think you can get the same valuation as you do now? It’s because used cars survive that can you get good prices for your trade in.

And if car prices drop, and a fresh grad with 2k income can afford a VW. Can he/she maintain the car should any heavy maintenance or repairs needed if unlucky? If you think it will all be covered by insurance, I can say your insurance premium will probably increase.

Ppl will be changing cars so frequently and we will have tonnes of used cars lying around because no one will buy it when new car prices are so cheap.

Everyone thinks that the other parties profit and you are burdened by high car prices. But no one forced you to buy VWs and BMWs when you earn a measly 2-3k a month. You think it’s a heavy burden on 7-9 year loan, why not get a cheaper car that you can afford on a 3-5 year loan?

Right now everybody is blasting car makers and current government but nobody sees the impact it causes to the overall economy. It’s a cycle, people. Other will suffer, jobs will be cut, just to give you all the freedom to change cars as you wish.

I wish to have cheaper good cars to choose from also. But at my pay bracket, I’m confident that the car I buy, I’m able to afford the ownership.

When people are lame, they love to blame.
    – RK

• Bimmer on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:27 pm

The problem right now, a fresh grad can’t even afford a Vios or Honda City without sacrificing half of the monthly salary to serve a 9 years loan. Both of this cars are not even a premium item elsewhere in this world.

Do you think a fresh grad only deserves to buy a Myvi or a Proton? Why should they just buy a second hand car which has a higher interest rate and maintenance cost? Not all of them come from a wealthy family that can subsidize the downpayment for a better quality car.

• laymen on Aug 08, 2012 at 7:57 am

problem with malaysians is, we all want to start big. big job, big car, big pay. come out with diploma also wanna buy civic and vw. no one willing to start small and work their way up. there is myvi, saga, hyundai i10, low grade vios, etc. is whether you want or not.

those who did work their way up, will feel so rewarded with their achievement.

what’s next? more subsidy on petrol, electric, water, food, etc?

• Watchthemburn on Aug 08, 2012 at 11:57 am

Its called education in financial planning. Its one of the mandatory courses when i was studying in the states. Perhaps if we can educate people on how to manage their own fiances then this would not be a problem. We will and can also force the manufacturers to actually let the people judge on their reliability and parts prices. That will create competition, better quality cars, cheaper prices, the people wins. I dont see why the 99% has to suffer because of the 1%.

• nighttrain on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:02 pm

Dude, don’t you get it? Vios or City is not big. Inspira is not big deal. But the majority still can’t afford it. Graduates should be able to buy these cars with 3 year loan but that is not the picture right now. What manner standard of living is this?

• tokmoh on Aug 07, 2012 at 6:21 pm

“Ppl will be changing cars so frequently and we will have tonnes of used cars lying around because no one will buy it when new car prices are so cheap.”

Good lah, I don’t mind a year old Prius for rm30k. Or a year old Golf GTI for rm50k. You think it’s ridiculous? You’ve yet to understand what is a LIABILITY. Anyway, I, and many others who don’t mind used car (most likely lower income people) benefit greatly. Cars can become so affordable nobody worries about second hand value anymore. And because cars are affordable, less likely people become bankrupt.

You meanwhile ignore the fact that under current system, it has caused many people to go bankrupt.

• laymen on Aug 08, 2012 at 7:49 am

then maybe you should tell current gti owners who paid 200k but have to sell to used cars for less than 50k. who will compensate? a year old, the loan he took also haven’t settle half.

our future pkr to compensate? where the money come from? from our tax? then how to provide better education for our children?

people become bankrupt because they spend above their means. they hutang credit card and house and car loans. so you blame car companies?

even if the country is rich, spending uncontrollably will probably land you in the same boiling water that europe faced.

everyone thinks of one side of the fence, please lah, try to look at the other side.

cheap price easier to sell, but it’s not as easy as you think.

• Watchthemburn on Aug 08, 2012 at 11:32 am

So your argument is cheaper car prices = bad decision making?

• Watchthemburn on Aug 08, 2012 at 11:51 am

This is trully a generation of entitlement.
          Don’t bother working for anything at all, we just want this and that and dont even care about our future generation, our current condition or even whats going on.
          I believe we the people do not mind to pay for the taxes imposed as long as there are improvements. But what have we seen so far?
          People are demanding now for cheaper tax because we do not see any changes, no improvements and more burden piled on us.
          I believe this will be beneficial in the long run for everyone in the country, even with the expense that my car will devaluate. Alot of people are complaining about their car 2nd hand value. Perhaps you should think about it before investing in a car? Its a liability, not an invesment, get that through your think skull, without the current tax structure, we dont even have to worry about having to sell off our car to afford the next car.
          i believe this will also encourage people to be controlled in their spending, do you really need a new car? do you really need to change your car now? or is it just for show? im still driving a 10 yr old car and not worrying about my resale value, but i will definitely worry about my next generation having to afford a new car without being tied down with their HP loan.

• nighttrain on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:09 pm

those people will finish servicing off their loan no matter what and then buy a really worthwhile car for RM200k. That is all there is to it. People like me can buy the Golf at RM120k.

• inderaloka on Aug 07, 2012 at 2:54 pm

Reducing auto and excise duties will bring HUGE positive impact on rakyat’s life.

• It’s true that there will be ramifications, surely we will suffer an initial state of crisis, but I’m sure we as Malaysians will be able to overcome it, I say let us fight rather than being castrated from the beginning where we can’t do anything about it. Let the nation benefit and deal with the situation instead of the few tycoons who are coasting on our riches. That doesn’t mean we should all go out there and start car shopping just like asian mentality are when there’s a sale and “BUY BUY BUY”. I say we reduce the taxes to normal rates, and instead look to reducing emissions, have a firm rule on environmental policies, and most importantly, improve the public transportation by 10 folds. We have to get over our wrong mindset of comfort i.e having a car is so much better, feeding to the ego, setting apart from lower class. We will never find a rich millionaire who takes the train to work here, and that’s the problem.

• zaraki on Aug 07, 2012 at 3:03 pm

haiiiyaaa.. mau kasi protect ini taukeh2 besar saja, kita rakyat sapa mau protect??

• ong chin aun on Aug 07, 2012 at 3:07 pm

Edaran Tan Chong Dr. Ang opinion and statement is uncalled for and selfish. Just look around, the 2nd.hand car dearers are every where proved that this business is very,very lucrative. Help the rich richer ?? There should ben more stringent rule control the 2nd. car dearer.

• Unforgiven on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:18 pm

2nd hand car dealers are helping the AP holders, taking indirectly advantages group, protected cronies to do business, it’s grey business and not that straight forward as we thought…

• Tancheongsmom on Aug 07, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Shut up tan chong you greedy pigs

• ong chin aun on Aug 07, 2012 at 3:23 pm

Ya, I support boycott buy car from ETC either new or 2nd.hand.

• Caruser on Aug 07, 2012 at 3:23 pm

Fact is the rakyat has been burdened with high car prices since the set up of Proton and is desperate to end it. Car prices are high not just because of the forces of supply and demand but due to the excessive taxes. Its ridiculous when one has to get a 7 to 9 years loan to repay his/her car loan and almost 30% of the net take home pay is used for such payment. We can’t be worrying about whether car dealers will be badly hit anymore, it is the rakyat well being that is more important. Why worry whether the AP holders will suffer when these ppl have profited a lot from the rakyat misery all these years! Genuine car companies like ETCM should have no fear because their profit margins are not affected since we are talking about reducing government taxes not their selling prices. Besides that, if car prices are that low, consumers will change their cars more frequently meaning more business for car companies and finance companies.

• as a car owner, i rather suffer the short term devaluation of my current car than to pay exorbitant price for a new car. I rather swallow this bitter pill now than to be forever putting money into cronies/AP kings pockets.

• dr822 on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:10 pm

ETCM sell BOTH nissan and renault… stop buying either till get a public apology over insensitive remarks, just like how ETCM publicly voiced out its insatiable GREED!!!

Country for RAKYAT! BUSINESSMAN need to adapt to find other ways to cari makan, not flogging the same old horse(s) for donkey years… I WONDER WHICH COUNTRY ADAPTS ITS POLICIES TO FEED THE PAMPERED FEW PPL AND SCREW THE RAKYAT?? lol…. no wonder you guys are so unhappy!

• Driver on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:10 pm

I think slashing the tax directly will not make sense as CBU could be cheaper than CKD, then people who depends on it will be suffering. What I propose is a 5year gradual change (not no change), a proper plan/transition, to take care of multiple parties.

If no tax, then everybody cancel booking T/H, go buy cbu merc/bmw/…

• Janji Ditepati on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:15 pm

This wan sure Tan Chong was in hangover when he made the statement…

• sammyB on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:20 pm

TCM needs to protect their CKD investments. Who will buy their cars when anyone can import cars directly? Remember that Murano and 350Z are now sold by grey importers for 200k when TCM sells them for 450k! If somone brings in Sentra/Sunny and sells them for 50k, what happens to all their Livinas, Slyphy etc?
    Also TCM runs discounts of 5k or more for existing models, so what of 2nd hand values of existing models now?

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 08, 2012 at 1:54 am

The fact that TCM’s own CKD models are way overpriced when compared with CBU grey imports, speaks volumes of TCM’s own greed and incompetence doesn’t it?

• seriousdude on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:22 pm

with comments like this we can kiss AFTA goodbye foreva ^^

• kelvin on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Tan Chong only bring in expensive old tech car. Stop buying Nissan!

• Ononimos on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:32 pm

Malaysian~ The way they work (their effort), is like they only want to buy kelisa/viva/saga, but infact, they so busy screaming their ass about wanting to drive Golf GTI.

Malaysian~ Everything should be free.

Malaysia~ Fuel/Petrol is unlimited and Petronas can pay them for every single thing.

Malaysian~ Frequently thought that they are smarter than others, just because the other party has different kind of understanding. (SPM = 0 A, Uni = CGPA below 2.5).

Malaysian~

• Our motto should be “Ask not what we can do for our country, but what our country can do for us.”

And i’m not even on the political nor car manufacturer standpoint.

• green no tax on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:36 pm

the current government is reducing the tax already.. starting with hybrid.. n follow with diesel, electric car etc.. car with lower carbon emulsion will get lower tax or no tax at all.. so u can see slowly our car price will go down.. cannot drastically coz will kill the industry and also what will be happen to our own current car value.

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 08, 2012 at 1:57 am

Why is it our hybrid car prices are still comparatively higher and only DRB and UMW selling it? Are you sure govt is still not artificially inflating prices by other means?

• kamaji on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Good day ETCM, for decade dealers like you, the cronies & Gomen have been screwing the rakyat and now just b’cos we want you to stop you make a big fuss.No wonder everybody here boycott you.

• Executive director Datuk Ang Bon Beng should be sack for his stupidity. I have never heard of idiots who are in an industry coming out to say taxes are good for his own industry. This guy is so short sighted that i am suprise he is an executive director. Excuse my french, but TCM is farked with a senior management team like this.

• rickyll on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:41 pm

Don’t blame Dr.Ang, he is merely speaking his mind. Actually, what is Tan Chong has to worry about? It’s selling new cars. The people standing to lose are the rakyat and the second hand cars dealers. The problem started when one brainless politician up there began the so called National car project and burdened the rakyat with 75% of excise duties in order to survive even in its own country. Well, no pain no gain, before we get to buy cars at lower prices, all of us must bear the cost of equal amount of depreciation of the cars we are now driving.

• amirad on Aug 07, 2012 at 4:55 pm

Lower new car prices. Yipee. But heck, I’m targeting even lower used car. How about a low mileage, 3 yrs old, still got warranty golf R for one fifth of the current price. Bargains galore indeed. Hope current golf R owner jgn marah2 ye.

• That’s the purpose!!! So Malaysians can afford to buy new cars!

• Wow, so many comments already.

Here’s my take after reading the statement (please read things properly!)

It did not indicate that they reject the motions, but rather that everyone discuss on it properly as it involves companies losing money or external parties.

Everyone did not read properly and take it as a negative statement. If you own an automotive company, you will be worried for yourself as well. Nobody doing business wants to lose money, because they have thousands of mouths to feed, not only the owners. Everyone thinks that decisions are so simple to make. Suka-suka you cut price.

So while you think of your own pocket, they have theirs to think of as well. Let discussions begin to find a solution, instead of everyone boycotting for the sake of it.

It is so immature and 3rd world thinking.

• AngAngAng on Aug 07, 2012 at 8:33 pm

Stupid bp, dis s nothing new. &u have ill forgotten dat when d car price rose, did any party consult u, me or any commoner??? U must understand simple equation: Everyone needs a car but everyone isn’t working in automotive industries

• and you talk through a wrong hole.

i am voting opposition in next election. so what is your argument?

but pr has been fighting for fair election and better life for the rakyat. how can they contribute to rakyat when most money need to compensate back those of us who paid the duties last time? those who own overpriced cars will also be affected.

it’s not as simple as you want, you must immediately get.

and all tc said is let everyone discuss the matter because it will involve them the most and our future leader’s country spending. when our leaders step up, they need money to work with as well. and most money are from duties and taxes. i pay taxes like you do, and i too want affordable cars.

prices won’t go up and will only come down. so why you so anxious? stop thinking like a commoner and put more rationale in your thought. your mind is too simple.

failing to plan is to plan to fail.

• Vemal on Aug 07, 2012 at 5:06 pm

Seems you are UMNO Cronies, Better you maintain you car pricing even after Excise duty revised and don’t forget to standby your grave yard for ETCM…..

RIP ETCM

• I wont happened (cheap cars) unless you vote for the alternative gov, not the current one.

• d'aboukirs on Aug 07, 2012 at 5:12 pm

Lets organize BERKAT 1.0 “Beli Kereta Tanpa Tax” protest and demonstration before this coming election

• matlimmutu on Aug 07, 2012 at 5:16 pm

i think the process of reducing car prices must b done slowly, i mean not drastically.

• yes.. if drastically reduced, im telling u. those who support in this forum wil die too. i mean, lets redur=ce it by 10% every year.. its good enough. n it will not affect the 2nd car dealer as economy will reach its balance. even with lower tax, ppl still have to visit 2nd car dealer as many of our nice cars are not being offered thru authorised dealers.

• whoever agreed with the current tax system. can go fuck urself. its either u r blind and being spoonfed or u r die hard BN supporters that even it cost u ur lives. if u r BN supporters, u r expendables. without current tax system, even our “beloved” police and mighty army can afford to drive in BMW or at least nice japs brand rather to stick with kapcai. everyone has the right to drive nice car and live life to the fullest. but many dreams shattered by this fucked up tariff system. we will see in 2015 whether AP is being abolished? otherwise.. bye bye BN.. forever.. goina start missing you..

• Super PRO on Aug 07, 2012 at 5:47 pm

tan chong offering too much overtrade d. if price drop, they GG with their overtrades hahahaha

• I support Micheal Goon and everyone against high duty and taxes. Havent we malaysians been paying too much for too long !

• Tong SH on Aug 07, 2012 at 6:01 pm

He is more interested in his Company than the welfare of the rakyat.

• AngAngAng on Aug 07, 2012 at 6:08 pm

This is outrageous. Who is dis fello Dogtor talkin bout…duty removal has got to do nothing vit him. He shld b glad dat more Malaysian ll b buying non National car thus gain > market shares. Crazy SeiFeiLo (Cefiro), Nissan & Renault shld b left vit high exercise duties when new gov takes over due to TCMA’s ignorance!!!

• droll on Aug 07, 2012 at 6:32 pm

ok rather than bitching about it all day (which i would as i tend to agree with the rest), let me offer some potential solution
    1. remove tax completely – overnight!
    2. all the cars stuck in port klang – no problem since tax not paid yet
    3. all the cars stuck in dealer’s showroom – reimburse tax (govt pay lah since it’s rakyat’s money what!)
    4. all the people who already bought cars and feel they have been shafted – claim tax rebate from govt. but the tax rebate can only be used to buy new cars.
    5. all the 2nd hand dealers – same model as #4. when someone buy’s the car from them, that person can claim tax rebate and only use it for new car
    6. the tax rebate in #4 and #5 should be pro-rated according to the age of the car.

how? can work?? or i’m going to get b**ch-slapped by readers here?

• droll on Aug 07, 2012 at 6:36 pm

hmmmmm wait a minute. #5 got flaw. who wants to buy a new car when they just bought a 2nd hand car. suggestions, anyone?

• eLLEN on Aug 07, 2012 at 6:38 pm

Now we can see who is pro G and who is pro people? Even the car dealer take side. HAHA

• satrian on Aug 07, 2012 at 6:44 pm

Betul ka???? or its a politiv gimicks…….i dont think sooo…..its 100% broken promises…….but for ur info Malaysia new car price remain same for the last 15 years (m0st of the models) and some goes down also by 3 to 5 k. Eg My father bought a brand new T.Camry in 1996 for Rm145k and in 2011 he change to new camry for Rm.146k….soo at the end Rakyat only kena paku…..

• satrian on Aug 07, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Rm 146 for 2.0e

• Aidaron on Aug 07, 2012 at 6:47 pm

Dont be so selfish. The people need cheaper cars to cope with other living expenses.

Very disappointed in TCM comments. Definitely boycotting Nissan.

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 07, 2012 at 6:54 pm

ETCM is just another uncompetitive Tun M crony attempting to hoodwink the public. Here is Naza demanding the opposite: http://paultan.org/2011/09/30/naza-group-hoping-govt-will-reduce-duties-on-cars
    If you look at the volume of cars on the road sold by both Naza and TCM, you will know who is the more successful dealership. TCM has lost its competitive ability a long time ago. It is time they step aside and let businesses that are actually interested in selling cars come to the forefront in the market. TCM is just another uncompetitive business like DRB and Inokom, hoping that they can continue to milk people with low quality goods at high prices.

For the people talking about second hand market crash, let me ask you this, how many cars actually hold much of their purchase value when resold? Have you all forgotten that we have very high depreciation as well? So by taking this into account, how much of this going to severely affect used car resellers when they are already getting your car at a hefty bargain? Don’t forget that the reduction of current prices will be done in stages to cushion current owners and resellers.

For people talking about govt loosing revenue, how much total revenue is the govt collecting now and how is it being used? Does anyone here actually know? If the govt desperately needs the excise duty income, then why are they constantly wasting their funds by funding wasteful projects? Shouldn’t they be spending wisely in the first place, for the benefit of the people? How does giving the govt more and more money forces them to correct such abuse?

Except for the people I’ve just described, the rest of the comments I have read today make me proud of Malaysians. I hope more of us say enough with the mistreatment and lies and vote with our wallets and at the ballot.

• RKG,
      Like and agree with what you said, but have to point out that NAZA wants lower duties so that he can sell more ferraris amd lambos coz he mentioned “filthy rich” people, though not stated in the article but the meaning is there. So, IMO, NAZA not really interested in perspective of the majority rakyat.

• Merc=Real Euro on Aug 07, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Does TC have a facebook page…pls go and vent your frustration there… Let your voices be heard…

• salgoodguy on Aug 07, 2012 at 7:14 pm

i believe, current gov will revise this current tax…next month…yahoooo

• HONpengDA on Aug 07, 2012 at 7:55 pm

let us write a letter complain to global nissan CEO mr.carlos ghosn and tell him to take away tan chong as distributorship in malaysia.

• DArkerMarker on Aug 07, 2012 at 7:58 pm

blardy Tan Chong…..

Think only about profit.

Boycott Tan Chong, until they sell their cars at Pasar Lambak….

• Paul Tan on Aug 07, 2012 at 8:08 pm

UPDATE: The post now includes a paragraph at the end of the story from the original source report.

• this article…fuuuh

a shit storm started it has.
      let’s hope once the shit settles down on Boleh Land, the shit will nourish the land and a new Big Tree will sprout and grow up to be fruitful to the rakyat.

• think on Aug 07, 2012 at 8:16 pm

if we keep on telling that people will make lost,people will make lost,,,until when we going to talk about that..our automotive industry is on of the worst in the world..people are paying 50% of their salary only for vehicle ownership..even more we are only country taking loans up to 9years to pay loans..even more worse is the stupid action with AES system stating that we should follow 110km/h in order to reduce accidents..look at our road condition,,even when driven at 60km/h ,the vehicle tyres suddenly will enter into a deep holes…think

• Setscrew on Aug 07, 2012 at 8:20 pm

Pls ask yourself a simple question? How can the benefit of the minority car dealer surpass the majority public?

• AngAngAng on Aug 07, 2012 at 8:24 pm

pitching claims on excessive duties &taxes frm ex-Gov (when new Gov takes over) s one thing, new Gov shld NOT forget 2 penalize national car maker 4their numerous mistakes &failures whom bearing fiduciary duty 2ensure every tax payers reap d benefit with low cost structure vit high end quality values. Still remember our dads bought “Milo tin” car @our expense in R&D??? Ex national car maker whom had enjoyed in spending millions shld compensate &contribute d value lost of current owners &2nd hand cars, not US again!!!

• Nissan Rainy on Aug 07, 2012 at 8:47 pm

Shame on you ETCM.

• Calvin on Aug 07, 2012 at 8:53 pm

I’m sorry Datuk Ang, but I don’t think my next car will be a Nissan. It’s obvious that you do have my best interests at heart.

• It’s funny that the people who are opposing this are people with vested interest.

If Tan Chong is more responsible and ‘holistic’ they should stop ripping off people selling 15 year old models for 100k like the sentra.

Geez… Been thinking of changing my accord for a teana but now way now. At least Honda doesn’t pretend to care for people.

• if no tax duties, I will buy toyota century and toyota crown majesta frm japan..haha

• Leon Loke on Aug 07, 2012 at 10:21 pm

Bringing down prices will do good to the economy and make cars more affordable for the rakyat to own. Why pay so much for tax and AP? If BN is bold enough, do it before the general election and don’t let PR to raise it as an issue. In the 80s, a Toyota Corolla cost RM15,000. After the birth of Proton, car price increase steady every quarter until the mid 90s. Does the car dealers complaint, I remember we don’t have to loose much money after driving the Iswara for 3 years before we dispose it at almost the price that we buy the car. Did we complaint? Now that when we wanted to bring down car prices, some say dealers will be out of business. They can always buy low and sell low. Consumer may loose the resale value of the car they have by 30% , but savings will goes back to the purshase price of new cars by 30% or more.

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 08, 2012 at 1:24 am

I most certainly agree with you here. Govt never cared about people buying at high price but sell at low value. Used car dealers are not going to buy cars at high prices anyways, so it will still be the first owner facing the brunt of the price revision.

• smiley on Aug 08, 2012 at 8:09 am

true. to reduce loss, car owner can sell direct to potential buyer. Remember, lower 2nd value might trigger people to buy 2nd hand, rather than brand new. I know I would. In a way, it can make the car market even merrier. How many millions car dealers in Malaysia again? Duhh!

• the 80s, i remember my dad changing car every year until the birth of P1.
      tax/duty reduction is good and I support.
      but, loose 30%, that is almost 100k for me bro.

Hopefully new G comes up with something for existing owners ( gradual reduction is the ideal 1st step ).

Rebate on existing cars ( G just have to refund some though wishful thinking… ) or maybe the coffers already empty…

Special rebate for new purchase ?
      ( if trade in with existing cars bought within 1-5 years, maybe )- means Govt impose less taxes/stepped tax rates , based on the trade-in car’s year of purchase. Those who do not trade-in cars get to but at the new std tax rates…etc…win-win for both, save the existing owners and the economy as well.
      Govt just have to sacrifice in the tax revenue part for XX years ( ie. less income ) Just have to manage Govt spending wisely.
      Just my humble thoughts.

• cheapskate on Aug 07, 2012 at 10:36 pm

I am dissapointed a person of such a high ranking had lost it’s conscience and too money face. Datuk, don’t forget, you can’t bring all the money to 6 ft underground, the amount of money you have make from all the malaysian people all this while and i am also one of your customer. Your comment have insulted us the consumer and i will exercise my right of not ever ever ever buying another nissan or renault. One less sale from me might be nothing but at least i can sleep peacefully at night while you have thousand of curses and swearing each day people see a Nissan/Renault car.

Have a good sleep Datuk. Karma is a bitch though.

• fuel cell phone on Aug 07, 2012 at 10:53 pm

imho, it is true that the g will lose quite sum of yearly income (around rm 8b), but compare to a-g report of yearly losses due to corruption (around rm 28b)?

• CHLim on Aug 07, 2012 at 10:57 pm

Let’s submit a protest over this statement at Nissan’s website.

• Abc Says on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:30 pm

I think they should to remove the excise duty tax by staggered, and in same way tighten all the car loans so they will don’t pay too much for cars when the car price decrease.

• subaruman on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:08 am

I Fully support on bringing down impose tax n excise duty.. i would love cheaper car.. but don you guys think on consumer end like us.. going to lose alot?? For example

I have 1 car which is Subaru impreza STI
    Car priced bought at rm 257K OTR. When this thing happen.. my car value is going down maybe 4 years down the road and is only going to worth maybe rm 80k? So i’ll lose a huge chunk of $$.. and i think ETCM is trying to explain here.. im not supporting anyone.. but seriously if im a second hand car dealer.. ill take ur 2008 vios for rm 20k or less. And if for camry 2.4 2008.. it will be evaluated trade in price at rm 27k to rm 30k maybe? So im scared here.. becos if this thing happen.. im paying a 257k valued car and selling it off 7 years later and get my money back for just 70-80k.. which is sad..

• Unforgiven on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:45 am

Not forgetting cars are something that we should be able to change every 5 years, you should be capable of getting a new Evo, GTi, A-class, M3, etc for a good price, which is good for you too, and of course, your future generations should be able to enjoy that.

• Sacrifice for future generations, i am see no reason for u to have big problems since u already can afford that kind of cars.

Think more about the poor and less fortunate……

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 08, 2012 at 2:09 am

First of all, what makes you think that your car will be even worth half of that by the time you sell it? How many people out there waiting to grab your Impreza by then? You are bound to lose either way whether car prices are reduced or not. People need to realise that the high depreciation is not determined by new car prices alone but also by supply and demand.

• Statistician on Aug 08, 2012 at 7:52 am

That’s why I said only stupid people drive Subaru !

Situation 1 – Tax abolish
      After abolishing tax, new impreza only worth around 90k. You can sell your current unit at 40k and top up only 50 k to get new one.
      Situation 2 – No tax abolish
      You can sell your current unit at 190 k. You need to top up 67k to get a new unit !! SEE ? Honestly, I do not think your current unit worth 190 after 4 years !

Pakai otak la

• smiley on Aug 08, 2012 at 7:59 am

you’re a rich person, can afford Impreza. Consider it just a one-off thing. The car policy should give priority to majority. Sorry mate, you’re minority here, but a rich one nonetheless. Now, imagine if someone who can only afford a viva or cheap second hand car – how do they meet their ends need?

• brader on Aug 08, 2012 at 1:05 pm

brader,

kalau harge jatuh mendadak camna kau nak jual kereta kau to yang kau dok bayar dengan duit OT tiap2 hari? Bank tak nak bagi diskaun bila nilai pasaran kereta lu jatuh? Lu ada paham masak2 ka apa yang Tan Chong cakap ni? Turun harga bagus tapi kena buat cara betul!

• nighttrain on Aug 08, 2012 at 10:58 am

Once the price go down, do you know what you can get for RM300k?

• dreaming of maserati on Aug 08, 2012 at 6:04 pm

the way i see it only ppl that have bought cars above 100k are hit hard in depreciation. Those that bought cars at 40-80k are not really hit bad.
      it is easily taken care of by a gradual 3-5 yr reduction in tax n not done overnight…say maybe 15% a year.

anyway its time to change malaysian’s mindset on cars which are liabilities and not to place priority on resale value but rather you safety and life.

• ordinarycitizen on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:49 am

kepala otak Lu Tan Chong!!! Aku siang malam bantai OT kat kilang aku hanya untuk dapat gaji lepas tolak kwsp RM2200. Dengan duit tu aku rolling untuk bayar rumah, kereta wira, moto dan bil-bil lain. dengan duit tu jugak aku kena cover duit yuran sekolah 2 orang anak aku dan lain2 kos. kita rakyat dah lama ditindas untuk bayar dengan ribuan ringgit sebagai cukai. hari-hari Lu ingat Lu punya untung. Dato Lu mesti mau pakai Lu puunya otak dulu baru cakap…..

• vicecity on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:51 am

Just to share a story here, my dad bought a new perdana v6 9 years ago, took 9 years loan,total payment RM 1##k, finished paying it, the car price is 20 k now..is that fair? I know people said that, buying car is not an investment as you will loss money but then, if not because of the crazy tax, the car will not be that expensive in the first place, do you think the v6 is worth 100k plus?? I don’t think so.we malaysian, are not paying for the real value of the car, we are paying for the tax, it is sad to see, people take 7 to 9 years loan only to pay for a viva, as when I was in japan, this car, an engineer(as I was an engineer) can buy that car cash( saving up the salary not more then 1 year) why?, the car is damn cheap! yes, some will suffer if the tax is reduce,2nd hand dealer, our own car price re-sale value and so on.. but just look in long term, less money spend for car, more money spend for real living!

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 08, 2012 at 2:04 am

The fact that the car value depreciated so much shows that people are already being harmed by low resale. Bringing down the car prices won’t change that or make it worse.

• vicecity on Aug 08, 2012 at 4:14 am

the morale of my story is that, I want to relate proton cars with the tax.as we all use to hear the old lame excuse saying that, we need the tax to protect proton but then, proton is the one who cause us the most harm, as the national car maker, they have the responsibilities to give the people the cheapest car, why u ask? we are paying the crazy tax because of them to begin with and the price they put is just nonsense, a 60k waja is actually the same price of a Honda accord in Japan,it totally does not make any sense. Anyway, the tax has been one of the biggest source of money for the Gov and it will be a miracle for them to abolished it and for this tan chong, like he care for the people, only care for his “untung” only…

• Tan chongis really old men car company.u see Nissan livina 1.8 price Rm:98,000.00 but model already very old.very sad myself have one now cannot sell out because nobody want in market.nissan car is lower spec,no standard,expensive,who want to buy car please don’t think Nissan.proton better than Nissan.if dato ang not agree can call me.my h/p:0122332838

• Peaceful Citizen on Aug 08, 2012 at 2:51 am

Nissan always have a bunch of ugly, old fashion designs and cheap plus inferior interiors. It definitely have an impact to YOU because when both taxes are reduce or gone and with the reduced priced I won’t even think of Nissan cars for sure.

• MrDDR on Aug 08, 2012 at 7:12 am

Not only Nissan la. All same. Toyota, Honda. How come hybrid car tax free also expansive? Don’t tell me transportation cost from Japan to Malaysia is higher than car itself.

• old vios on Aug 08, 2012 at 7:25 am

we as a rakyat must think carefully…if car price go down drastically we also lost..eg. if New vios goes for rm 40k then we lost about 30k until loan settlement for our car..who will buy our current vios at 60k? tax can be reduced but need sometimes and cannot be reduce drastically.

• dreaming of maserati on Aug 08, 2012 at 6:11 pm

who ask u to pay so much for an overpriced underspec dugong junk in the 1st place?

• nazri on Aug 08, 2012 at 7:27 am

i don’t mind if i need to pay hight tax for car but please provide good public transport so rakyat have alternative if they don’t want buy car…ini cukai dah laa tinggi,public transport macam haram

• uncertain buyer on Aug 08, 2012 at 8:04 am

dammit!! i feel like being cheated by government now!

• RedBeanBun on Aug 08, 2012 at 8:31 am

you know why people says cheaper cars more traffic jam? since our public transport sucks! remember the time when last PM says the Petrol price up use to invest in public transport? hello public transport? you know why the best and affordable mini-bus was taken away? its not its dangerous, its INTRA-KOTA want to monopolized, who is director of Intra-kota then? and Intra Kota BIG bus model sucks, now RAPID KL? why taking away the model that success for business (Mini Buss) and move it to BIG bus not sustain system (Intra Kota, Rapid KL), since MONOPOLIZED!! The mini bus was owned by those owners (and mainly Chinese then) We just need a rule to regulate them, and I believe our PUBLIC transport will get better with this mini bus coming back.

• Pumpkins on Aug 08, 2012 at 8:39 am

Here’s a quick guess:

If (only IF) Pakatan wins and reduce car taxes later, how current car buyers able to cut loss?

Yes current car still under loan but it can be trade-in right?

Then possible to trade-in car under loan to buy new car with revised lower price?

Eg. Current car outstanding loan RM30K Proton Persona (price RM55K, loan 50 pct repaid, monthly RM650)

If Honda City new price RM50K would it be similar monthly loan repayment after trade-in that Persona?

The point here is, worth it for current car owner (still under loan) dump their cars for trade-in and buy new one lower price?

Yes there is trade-in loss but is it worth taking a new car?

He He He no wonder parti Dacing very afraid now…..

Make sure you put pangkah X correctly soon OK!!!

• thedarkside on Aug 08, 2012 at 9:32 am

i think proton is better car than nissan

• akash on Aug 08, 2012 at 9:51 am

Dude, ur vehicles have one of the worst resale value in the market..so who cares bout ur brand vehicles…for sure i wont buy your car even u slashed 50% of the price…coz they suckss!!

• Agreed with Rafizi..
    Car prices at Malaysia was too expensive.
    Besides,the government & Proton afraid to compete with other manufacture because we knew that Proton quality is poor compare to others.Proton car prices also quite high.Japanese manufacture sell their car to their people with reasonable price.Simple example,why car prices at Langkawi is cheaper than tanah besar area??..almost half of it..we can see it clearly that we have to pay high duties & AP for car at Malaysia..any perhaps higher ranking officier in this industry & their crony ada ambil duit poket lebih..rakyat kena bayar lebih plak…

• Rafizi on Aug 08, 2012 at 10:29 am

Existing car owners especially newly bought will get POORER INSTANTLY if the price for new cars is reduced significantly as no tax imposed.

They are including opposition supporters too.

Who is going to compensate their losses.

Don’t ask me. Ask DSAI.

• nighttrain on Aug 08, 2012 at 10:48 am

The management of change is hard to process, even harder to implement but can be done. Even before this thing takes effect, people like you are already worried and choose to look at it negatively. The economy will take a slight hit in order to satisfy the majority, but I assure you the country will bounce back. But it must be done quickly while we still have natural resources. The free ones.

• AngBon on Aug 08, 2012 at 11:38 am

Only in Bolehland can we see opposition to lower car proces. This is totally absurd!! Nowhere in the world will we see people object to lower car prices. Well, since you are so in favor of high car prices, I guess you also like high house prices, high food and necessity cost, rising electric and water bills, medical bills that cost you a bomb, etc!! After all, all these businesses need to make money, right….. at the expense of the rakyat. It’s OK that the poor to average rakyat keeps paying thru their noses just to enrich the few like you, isn’t it?? Don’t ask me, ask the “Janji Ditepati” creator!

• kimikira on Aug 08, 2012 at 7:51 pm

the TAX in the rakyat when buy, when lower tax i think the one receive who shall take the responsible
      PS ;BTY since collect 30 AP Tax for bear a compensated for 1 year that fair enough !!

• ben yap on Aug 08, 2012 at 10:31 am

2nd hand car dealers always buy cars 15-20% lower than market price. so if the prices of cars are down by 10%, this 2nd hand car dealers still make money.

ETCM just wanna make money and prefer the cars to be expensive. when cars are expensive because of tax, car manufacturerers will cut corners on trims and specs to make money. from standard 4 airbags become 2 airbags and traction control is excluded.

all for the greed of money.

• nighttrain on Aug 08, 2012 at 10:40 am

I would like to take this opportunity to thank BNM for highlighting the issue of critical household debt in Malaysia by tightening the T &C of automotive loans. The case has taken a domino effect and has come down up to this level. We need to spread the word that to live a more satisfying life, household debt must decrease, which leads to less crime especially white collar crimes, happier, healthier families, safer and modern vehicles on the road which leads to less accidents.
    The next step is to look at other countries on how to deal with old excess cars such as auto junkyards etc. The second household debt, however has not been addressed yet. We will see.

• Musalmah Endut on Aug 08, 2012 at 11:08 am

I like Nissan car, but for now I dont like Edaran Tan Chong!

• Merc=Real Euro on Aug 08, 2012 at 11:23 am

For new car reduce the tax over 4 years so people can adjust and at the same time reduce the loan tenure accordingly.
    So in the 4th year the tax will be 0% and max loan tenure will be 5 years. For used car allow 9 year loan but reduce yearly until in 4th year the max loan tenure will be 5 years.

The used car price will drop gradually rather than overnight. This will allow everybody to adjust accordingly. I see this is the only win win solution …..

• AngBon on Aug 08, 2012 at 11:25 am

Mr Ang, it’s pretty obvious that you are having a side business in selling 2nd hand cars, arent’t you? Isn’t this a conflict of interest to Tan Chong? Well either this or you are just sucking up to your political masters and their cronies. Please…. do not insult our intelligence! We are the car buyers, we determine the demand of Nissan / Renault cars! Without us, you can say goodbye to your sales and oh yes, you can also keep the high prices of your Nissan / Renault cars for all we care! From today onwards, Nissan / Renault is dead to me and I believe to many others as well. I will never consider any Nissan / Renault cars anymore, Good Riddance!! And to Tan Chong, you may want to consider sacking your executive director cos after this, do expect your car sales to drop!! Power to the consumers!!

• Lots of interesting reader comments from this story but judging from many of them, most don’t have a brain to think about what they are reading. Tan Chong is highlighting the negative repercussion particularly for the used car market.

Lower prices actually benefit new car dealers like Tan Chong. They are trying to highlight holes in the promises made by Rafizi and trying to remind that such schemes require input from all players in the industry. Otherwise it will negatively affect the whole industry.. and other related industries as well. The point they are making is that this sort of thing requires proper discussion and input from all industry stakeholders. Otherwise its just cheap lip service to win votes.

So use a little more grey cells before commenting negatively about Tan Chong and calling for boycott etc etc.

• Rafizi on Aug 08, 2012 at 3:35 pm

Agreed. They are all easily trapped by the publicity-crazy who just want to win votes.

• johnny on Aug 08, 2012 at 3:37 pm

wow government is kinda desperate also ah… now they asking their cronies to come out and talk… think about if ruling party said anything it shows its a direct resentment to the opposition.. so what better way then to ask the cronies to do the dirty job… bravo..

• Forget about NISSAN for now on. Brainless leader of NISSAN Malaysia. Should sack him.

• tikus on Aug 08, 2012 at 5:26 pm

We should boycoot Tan Choong and bring this forword into the facebook page.

• Enough on Aug 08, 2012 at 6:11 pm

I have no choice to buy perodua or proton or a small compact car from other makes because I cannot afford other cars. Even in my 30?s i still cannot afford a 100k car because how to pay 1k++ for a car a month for 9 years. OMG! Enough of this bullshit! i want someone to stand up for the rakyat and stop ppl cheating the rakyat!

• zidane on Aug 08, 2012 at 6:22 pm

more ppl will buy Proton and Perodua, because they still be the cheapest…

Malaysian will look something that is much cheaper… trust me…

• dreaming of maserati on Aug 08, 2012 at 6:22 pm

http://www.facebook.com/NissanMalaysia

the proper place to give Tan Chong a piece of your mind!

• Redlox on Aug 08, 2012 at 6:23 pm

read this … http://www.financetwitter.com/2012/07/abolish-car-excise-taxes-first-step-towards-dismantling-mahathirlogy.html

it gives you all a better idea of the auto tax and how we are all really F***ed by the gov

• If I were MITI,I should think like this:revenue from car tax duties actuallly can be substituted from other form of revenue like renewable energy investment, raw sources manufacturing/investment etc…why need to tax car so high while you can actually generate other source of income as a country revenue…..until I see this happens, I would want all JDM recond car to be driven by all our ordinary simple folks…..

• kimikira on Aug 08, 2012 at 7:56 pm

9 year ago, i pakai VIOS, until now i still pakai VIOS, not because i cant afford because it not worth cuz i being cheat by the TAX from first day i buy car in malaysia. full settle include loan 100k now day ot worth 2-3XK. 1 0 1

• maserati on Aug 08, 2012 at 10:35 pm

I felt very funny after reading all these bashing comment,people just telling the truth and give his point of view on the impact to auto industry if reducing auto and excise duties without a proper study. He never disagree with it coz he know he does not have the power to stop PKR to implement it if they take charge after next GE. What we should blame should be the blood sucking BN goverment who implement such tax system. The impact of duties/taxes reducing should reach win-win situation as we can’t expect all the 2nd hand car dealers go bankrupt due to this exercise, if you or your family memebers is in used cars business, how would you feel? Just my 2 cents.