AES to be enforced this month – offenders will be notified within five days, with a clear photo

Speedsters beware, Big Brother is watching you! The Sun reports today that the Automated Enforcement System (AES) is expected to be enforced later this month, and notices will be sent out by the Road Transport Department (JPJ) within five days.

“This way, the registered owner should not have trouble remembering who was driving the car at the point of offence – as opposed to if they were to find out about the offence one or two months later,” outgoing JPJ director-general Datuk Solah Mat Hassan told the daily.

The JPJ D-G, who retires today, added that notices – which will be sent to registered vehicle owners – will include an image of the vehicle captured by the AES camera. The image, which will clearly show the vehicle’s number plate and face of the driver, will have relevant information such as time, date, place of the offence and recorded speed.

However, it was revealed that the face of the front passenger, if any, will be blocked out. So for those with ahem, “unauthorised companions”, your partner will have photographic evidence of your car time together, but he or she won’t be able to tell who.

Solah explains that the photo and video recording, as well as details of the offence, will be sent from the camera to the AES control centre in real time, via online transmission. The info will then be processed and checked with the database to determine details of the registered owner. This way, stolen cars with fake number plates will also be found out.

Upon receipt of a notice, the vehicle owner will have two months to pay the RM300 fine. If he or she wants to contest the notice in court, an additional one month will be given for this purpose.

Read our previous post on AES for more info. Click here for the official FAQ on the AES by JPJ.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• slumber on Sep 18, 2012 at 11:47 am

The enforcement team should be praised for the effort to make this system work, BRAVO!
    Please, penalize those who hogs the fast lane and those who drives on emergency lane with this system!

• DragonSlayer on Sep 18, 2012 at 1:13 pm

Hog the fast lane? If you consider driving at 120km/h on fast lane is hogging, then you are an idiot.

• Adoyai on Sep 18, 2012 at 2:50 pm

its still hogging if you dont let those who drive s faster than you to pass if its clear on the middle lane!

• paparadzi on Sep 18, 2012 at 5:14 pm

The right-most lane is NOT a fast lane. It is an overtaking lane.

No matter how fast you drive, keep to the left lane, unless you are overtaking a slower vehicle. And remember that speed is relative.

• Papadom on Sep 21, 2012 at 12:36 pm

You are definitely right bro.

BTW those who love to use the emergency lane to jump ques and worsening the bootle neck in front are COMPLETE MORONs and BODOH SOMBONGs doesn’t matter how expensive or cheap the car they drive.

• There are still people in this country who think it is their god forsaken right to hog the right lane at the max permitted speed limit… sigh…

• Lorat on Sep 18, 2012 at 11:20 pm

It wouldn’t be a problem if everyone hog the right lane at 110.

• LE_buruk on Sep 18, 2012 at 5:14 pm

just give way to faster car…they can afford the fine…

• slumber on Sep 18, 2012 at 5:40 pm

DragonSlayer,
        I correct my word used,
        I mean ‘hogs the OVERTAKING lane’
        Please dont get too emotional calling people idoits!

• fastlan3 on Sep 19, 2012 at 11:29 am

Speed cams don’t catch ppl who hog the overtaking lane. It just catches folks who driver beyond the speed limit.

• NotAnIdiot on Sep 20, 2012 at 12:49 pm

How old are you kiddo? Barely reached puberty is it?

• Linda- ROAD BULLY VICTIM on Sep 18, 2012 at 4:16 pm

If government got so much of money to invest in this system, how come have not invested in a Big Brother kind of system to protect its own rakyat from snatch thieves, road bullies, rape, burglary etc?

Pandai make money of the rakyat but to give the rakyat back by protecting their safety, that they don’t know. I was a road bully victim and the person got down and bashed my windscreen with his steering lock and all my windows plus all my car lights. But in the area my car got bashed up, there were so many cameras as it was at a major flyover. In the incident I was so traumatized that I did not see the car number plate. When I went to the police, they said they have no way to see or find out the car number plate of the perpetrator and asked if they could close the case that evening itself.

Polis and JPJ pandai saman orang tapi tolong orang yang kena pukul, banyak susah.

• malaysian on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:34 pm

You are right. Government use our money to make more money from us! useless government! have to change it now!

• most people here who are not like this system most likely road offender or will be road offender….i hav no worry watsoever, im not doing wrong on the road…y should i afraid rite…but y only for speeder wat bout car that langgar red light?

• u all should support since this is will be income for new gov PR beside petronas money for funding free edu, free water, free electricity, no excise tax for car, low income tax, cheap or free petrol, free house, free food, RM3000 min salary, free internet, no toll, free……

• think on Sep 18, 2012 at 9:42 pm

this actions going to worsen the traffic jams in malaysia…congrats,,for the smart thinking..

• oblong on Sep 18, 2012 at 11:49 am

Wah so clear la that picture…so scared…

• LE_buruk on Sep 18, 2012 at 5:26 pm

just take out ur plate no. during holiday seasoned…no plate fine only 150 maa….

• mentari driver on Sep 18, 2012 at 7:39 pm

what happen if you car got stolen and the hijacker drove high speed or do traffic offense…
      question: who will pay the summon if the camera caught the stolen car in action?????
      hurm….

• Fauzi on Sep 18, 2012 at 10:35 pm

If your car got stolen make a report la,then the summon will not valid

• janjidicapati on Sep 18, 2012 at 11:51 am

i foresee a lot of marriage will stir because of this :p

• Karl von Jitry on Sep 18, 2012 at 11:56 am

Before they can implemented the AES, please furnished the alert signage at adequate distance FIRST. Otherwise, AES is merely another TOOL to earn rakyat money, nothing to do with the accident rate whatsoever.

While, in the interest of the AES operators, namely private Beta Tegap and ATES (the name already suggests about ‘makan’ [ate]) as well as RTD, adequate alerts mean fewer business for them BUT this is inevitably important for the objective of accident reduction.

Perhaps, this will educate Malaysians and Singaporeans (or Thai) drivers in Malaysia to drive defensively in our roads.

SO FAR, I’m not aware about the signage, even ONE. This is daylight robbery. FYI, l only got one ticket worth RM300 for ‘speeding’ at 70kmh at 1.32am at MRR.

• there is one in Putrajaya with an alert signage about 200m before the camera..on 70km/h speed limit area..so now everyone are driving around 60km/h when using that area, surely wont cause accident at that speed..good system

• regarding singaporeans and thais, how to know their address to send the memo?

• Car Lane on Sep 18, 2012 at 8:36 pm

They are well known daylight robber since day 1.

Hey PKR, will you start “Turunkan Camera Yang Merompak Rakyat”? Please do so.

• Karl von Jitry on Sep 18, 2012 at 11:59 am

RTD, please check commercial vehicles overload and coach exceeding speed limit too.

• why la on Sep 18, 2012 at 12:11 pm

They know best screwing citizen life, catching real criminals tak pandai.

• Car Lane on Sep 18, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Shhh, don’t tell other people that criminals are actually their abang adik.

• What will happen to the offender if he/she fails to pay up? What’s the penalty?

• Ekspresi Ruang on Sep 18, 2012 at 12:25 pm

Speedster should get up early after this going to work :)

• rather than trying to summon all those offenders, why dont the government try to collect the summon from the singaporeans and vips 1st?

• drive slowly and carefully, don’t need to hurry going to work, get up early

• LE_buruk on Sep 18, 2012 at 12:47 pm

we need james bond car plate now..

• Will it stop sleepy lorry drivers from causing accidents and damaging property? This is the major cause of accidents on the highway not cars going above speed limit.

• Settle Saman on Sep 18, 2012 at 12:58 pm

PDRM’s extra way for extra income :)

• It can detect stole car with fake no plate? means he who got his car stolen can report…

• smokey on Sep 18, 2012 at 1:03 pm

till now cant c any sign boards for AES…thought they will make it visible to motorist??

i saw one AES operating at Peal Point old klang road junction…the camera is hidden between trees and there is no sign boards for it…

• they wants to earn money only.. as there is 2 company operating this, can split the profit with the government.. then why should they put a sign?.

• Maserati on Sep 18, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Absolute rubbish and waste of time and money to implement this. Goodluck BN! Hope u lose this years election!

• mr_em on Sep 18, 2012 at 1:13 pm

For the sake of transparency and supposed “rakyat didahulukan” etc and all those rhetorics…. and if Govt is willing to walk the talk… please do publish/disclose the full list of sites/locations where this AES cameras are installed.

Any attempt to do otherwise i.e. avoid disclosing these camera locations will only mean one thing –
    it is just another means to raise Govt funds and “suck” dry people’s money (with excuses such as “speeding” offence etc) and not for safety reasons… where is actually MIROS role in this?

Why do Govt need to outsource in the first place? Beta Tegap and ATES? What the ****?

• MoFaz on Sep 18, 2012 at 2:41 pm

UK and US govt also outsource the system to private companies… reason is quite simple, the camera is very expensive, about $60k each. rather than using tax monies to fund the cameras, let the offenders pay for it.

• u always come up with your funny comment defending gomen and proton.

kudos.

• MoFaz on Sep 18, 2012 at 7:16 pm

what’s so funny? I would say the same even if PR is the gov. but funnily, there are some people like you who can’t accept the facts.

• Car Lane on Sep 18, 2012 at 8:41 pm

Camera expensive? So what?

Do you know how many BANKS will queue up to meet me if I was granted the AES project license?

• fastlan3 on Sep 19, 2012 at 11:34 am

The point is the law states that a sign board has to be put up 500m ahead of a speed cam. The whole point of a sign board is to keep people within the speed limit. The main purpose must be reducing accidents, not making money.

• mr_em on Sep 23, 2012 at 2:16 pm

Woowww… they listen to my comment hehe just kidding but anyhow… here’s the official JPJ disclosure of the AES cameras:
          http://portal.jpj.gov.my/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=149:senarai-lokasi-pemasangan-kamera-aes&catid=20:penguatkuasaan&Itemid=45&lang=en

So lets hope they do enforce it properly…
          And lets give credit for disclosing the 14 locations of the first of AES… yeayyy!!

Everyone, do drive sensibly when you pass these AES areas yaa….

I am all for safety improvements and educating drivers for better road safety…

Cheers

• klguy on Sep 18, 2012 at 1:21 pm

how bout those morons on the superbike speeding at 180kmh…are they getting the summons too. sick and tired of these motherf***ing b@@t%rds pretending to be some VIPs on the road. somemore got police escort sdometimes. wat a joke…

• LE_buruk on Sep 18, 2012 at 5:19 pm

jealousy detected….work harder and buy super bike and joined their club….now you can also speed 180 km/h on road

• Car Lane on Sep 18, 2012 at 8:44 pm

Small Mat Rempit is Quietly allowed.
      Big Mat Rempit is Loudly presented.

• carazy on Sep 19, 2012 at 2:32 pm

I just call them matrempit but with bigger bike.. dont give way to them.. they did not pay toll :)

• how about people who drive 40-60kmh on fast lane?

• how about people who drive 40-60kmh on fast lane..

• this is malaysia.. ‘Slow Moving” country, so nothing will happen if you drive slow.. unless you slow a Vip behind you..

• interesting on Sep 18, 2012 at 1:40 pm

How about those driving too slowly on the highway? They are a moving chicane and chances of causing accident is so much higher…

• oldpassater on Sep 18, 2012 at 1:53 pm

I have a speedster friend who normally wear a F1 type of Helmet while speeding in midnite hour in his GTi, So the camera can’t capture his face in the future, would the pic still sufficient in the court of laws?

• MoFaz on Sep 18, 2012 at 2:45 pm

you could choose to pay the fine or contest it in court. if you lose in the court, pay more.

• fastlan3 on Sep 19, 2012 at 11:40 am

By default the owner is considered driving the car, unless you state who else is driving it at that time.
      Either way, someone will get fined. It doesn’t mean the fine goes away just because they can’t figure out it’s you.

• wacko on Sep 18, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Here we got the fixed AES location so you have been warned!!!

### PLUS Arah Utara
    ?Under a bridge at about 456km, Sg Buloh junction.
    ?Under a bridge at about 459km, Bukit Lanjan interchange.
    ?Under the overhead restaurant at Sg Buloh.
    ?Under the last bridge before Sg Besi toll at 309.2km.
    ?Under the bridge at 296.5km, Bangi junction.
    ?Under the newly constructed bridge at 289.0km, after Nilai North junction.
    ?Under the bridge at 286.5km, Nilai North junction.

### PLUS Arah Selatan
    ?Below signboard at about 454.6km and 455.2km, Sg Buloh layby.
    ?Under the bridge after Subang junction at 11.3km.
    ?Under the bridge at 22km, Bukit Lanjan junction.
    ?Under the bridge before Mint hotel, Sg Besi Toll. 80km/h only!
    ?Under the bridge at 302.8km, Kajang junction.
    ?About 1km south of Bangi junction, both south and north bound outer lanes
    ?At 296.5km and 297km, Bangi junction.
    ?Under the newly constructed bridge at 289.0km, before Nilai North junction.
    ?At 285.5km and 285.8km, Nilai North junction.
    ?On center divider at 251.8km and 253km after Senawang junction.
    ?After Alor Gajah junction at 213.9km, next to water theme park.
    ?Behind the right hand crash barrier at 198.4km.

### Lebuhraya Elite Hubungan Timur Tengah/Utara
    ?On left hand side at 4.8km after Batu Tiga/Shah Alam exit
    ?Under the overhead restaurant at USJ/Hicom junction about 8.5km. 90km/h zone!
    ?Below the bridge before USJ/Hicom junction at 10.5km.

### Lebuhraya Elite Hubungan Barat Tengah/Selatan
    ?Under the overhead restaurant at USJ/Hicom junction about 8.5km. 90km/h zone!
    ?Below the bridge before USJ/Hicom junction at 10.5km.
    ?After exit from KLIA toll to the airport, below Jalan Pekeliling flyover.90km/h

### NKVE Arah Timur/Utara
    ?300m before Jalan Duta toll, 60km/h!
    ?Behind crash barrier on the left when going towards Jalan Duta toll, at 24.9km, 80km/h!
    ?Below bridge at Damansara Junction, 17.5km

### NKVE Arah Barat/Selatan
    ?Behind crash barrier on the left when leaving Jalan Duta toll from KL, at 25.3km and 25.7km, 80km/h!
    ?From Jln Duta, below the bridge, 23km, 80km/h zone!
    ?From Jln Duta, at the underpass at Sg Buloh Y-junction, 22km.
    ?Behind crash barrier at Damansara Junction, 17.7km and 16.8km
    ?Below railway bridge at 11.2km
    ?Under the bridge at Shah Alam junction.

### Lebuhraya Kesas Timur
    ?Under the bridge at 44.8km, downhill run after Puchong junction.
    ?Kesas West Bound
    ?At Sg Besi side of East Bound Toll. Kuala LumpurCity
    ?Jalan Duta; below the flyover at the Damansara junction, 70km/h zone.
    Lebuhraya Kesa – Klang
    ?Dual carriageway between Klang and Port Klang. Towards Klang direction, at about 13km mile stone. 70km/h only!

### Leburaya Pantai Timur
    ?East bound, downhill run after Raub junction.
    ?Maran, 60km/h zone.
    ?Paya Bungor, 70km/h zone.

### Kawasan Negeri Johor Arah Selatan
    ?Tangkak junction.
    ?Under the bridge after Yong Peng
    ?North junction at 97.3km.
    ?Ayer Hitam junction.
    ?Sedenak junction.

### Jalanraya Sekitar Utara Malaysia – Arah Utara
    ?Around Ayer Hitam in 60km/h zone.
    ?Before Perwaja Steel.
    ?Sg Petani junction.
    ?Between Seberang Jaya junction and Sg Dua Toll.
    ?Penang Bridge at island end.Speed limit 80km/h.

### Jalanraya Sekitar Utara Malaysia – Arah Selatan
    ?Penang Bridge Island end. Speed limit 80km/h.
    ?About 2km before Juru Toll Speed limit 90km/h.

### Kawasan Perak Jalanraya Arah Utara
    ?Under the bridge at 197.1km and 198.8km, afterKamunting Junction.
    ?Under the bridge at 204.3km, after KamuntingJunction.
    ?Under the bridge at 208km, before Kamunting Junction.
    ?Under the bridge at 214.8km, before Kamuntingjunction.
    ?Ipoh Vista Point at about 263km. Speed limit 80km/h.
    ?Under the bridge at 271km, Ipoh North Junction.
    ?Under the bridge at 274.4km, Ipoh South Junction.
    ?Under the bridge at 286.9km, Simpang Pulai Junction.
    ?Under the bridge at 296km, Gopeng Junction.
    ?Under the bridge at 352.6km, after Sungkai Junction.
    ?Under the bridge at 353km, Sungkai Junction.
    ?Under the bridge at 373km, Slim River Junction.

### Kawasan Perak Arah Selatan
    ?Under the bridge at 199km, before Kamunting junction.
    ?Under the bridge at 241.9km, at Kalau Kangsarjunction.
    ?Under the sign post at 296.1km, before GopengJunction.
    ?Under the bridge at 297km, at Gopeng Junction.
    ?Under the bridge at 300km, after Gopeng junction.
    ?Under the bridge at 308.6km, after Gopeng junction.
    ?Under the bridge at 372.6km, at SlimRiverjunction

• klguy on Sep 18, 2012 at 2:27 pm

?Under the bridge at 197.1km and 198.8km, afterKamunting Junction.
      ?Under the bridge at 204.3km, after KamuntingJunction.
      ?Under the bridge at 208km, before Kamunting Junction.
      ?Under the bridge at 214.8km, before Kamuntingjunction.

u got to be kidding me,4 cameras within 20km..WTF,WTFFFFFFF

• WHY THE FARK ARE THEY ALL UNDER THE BRIDGE. THEY MIGHT AS WELL HIDE IT IN THE BUSH! FARK THIS GOVERNMENT!

• ABTguy on Sep 18, 2012 at 3:26 pm

Thanks man !!

• car driver on Sep 18, 2012 at 3:50 pm

copied from forwarded email issit?

### Jalanraya Sekitar Utara Malaysia – Arah Utara
      ?Around Ayer Hitam in 60km/h zone.

i don’t know about the rest, but this is not true. there’s no AES camera at this place. i know because i’m from that place and i pass the entire stretch everyday for the last 10 years.

don’t just paste incorrect information.

• Brother, thanks for the infor, must give u thumb up.

• Macha on Sep 18, 2012 at 8:06 pm

Aiyoo,

This list has been around for years!! This is the traffic monitoring system la thambi.

AES fixed camera can only be put on the roadside not under a bridge!

• mystvearn on Sep 19, 2012 at 2:52 am

Thanks for sharing this with us:)

• your information obselete already. it has been around a year in the net…

• tishaban on Sep 18, 2012 at 1:56 pm

If enforced correctly, with transparency, proper calibration and signage etc. then I would pay my saman. It’s the cost of going somewhere quickly.

However being the cynic I foresee like most other projects in Malaysia that this will be abused or be enforced selectively. VIPs and foreign plates will get away while the companies setting this up will report ever growing profits yearly.

• No signboard will put, unless we “kena” than we know where the camera form, my house near NKVE, already installed and tested 2 cameras yesterday, is really suck our motorist blood, i wont worry on this, i worry is when this Gov will step down, i think most of the motorist will think of this, SUCK OUR HARD EARN MONEY BY THE COLONY FROM : TOLLS, ILLEGAL ENFORCEMENT, ROAD BLOCK MAKE A MASSIVE JAM BUT JUST BUT THE SIGN, INCREASE PETROL PRICE, MONOPOLY INSPECTION CENTRE AND ETC…ENOUGHLAH GOV, REALLY ENOUGH, MEMANG TERLAMPAU SANGAT.

• KIMIMURA on Sep 18, 2012 at 2:47 pm

you are very right,I come along NKVE until seremban Highway all way long many this CAMERA is install and testing…WTF if really implement please be sure Warning Up the Driver Before any action, most Tak tahan is their fav(AMBUSH) POLICE,JPJ,SPEEDING CAMERA,ALL IS NOT SAFETY ,THEIR ALL FOR MONEY!!

• Hi, all frenz overhere, i saw 1 new camera near Plus highway from Bangi RHB training centre (must slow down here) thru sg besi toll, all must alert for this crap, i saw it flash few times within few second.
        Good luck all brother.

• Cosmo Artemis on Sep 18, 2012 at 4:23 pm

So, what will you do if you are the government?

• smokey on Sep 18, 2012 at 6:35 pm

furthermore, some speed limit is ridiculously slow!!

• niceone on Sep 18, 2012 at 11:56 pm

indeed. i feel sleepy when having to obey the sometimes ridiculous speed limit, it’s just too slow. so surely getting sleepy while driving is more dangerous than driving fast but in alert state? lol :)

• BadBET on Sep 18, 2012 at 2:17 pm

minister car, vvip car and mat rempit with police escort can get the notice or not? Or AES will only detect the face of commoners?

• Car Lane on Sep 18, 2012 at 8:48 pm

Aiyo, they always play belakang one, you still don’t know meh?

• how about if someone else drives my car and kena saman.. who pay?

• Expatriate VN on Sep 18, 2012 at 2:36 pm

Oh ho, those with V neck T shirt and big bag, beware of speeding, not only you may et fine, but also may spot by someone as LGBT!

• SamatSaat on Sep 18, 2012 at 2:44 pm

it will stop to operate once the money is good enough for election.

• Bell&Ross on Sep 18, 2012 at 2:45 pm

buy the laser jammer…settled

• linear_system on Sep 18, 2012 at 3:01 pm

cant they give like testing period..so we can change our driving style to a better motorist..i think its hard for me to drive on the speed limit especially on normal road..highway no problem..if normal road after traffic light i like to drive fast..or time to change lane i will push the pedal more than normal..

• SSaturn on Sep 18, 2012 at 3:09 pm

Since we will get fined when we drive over the speed limit, I wonder why don’t they also fined those who drive very slow in speed limit? For example, on the road speed limit is 90km/h and if you drive slower than 60km/h you get fined as well. Who is with me? :)

• how to keep exactly at the legal speed?
    Imagine a 90km/h zone, I need to overtake someone doing 80, and i speed a while to 100 to do the maneuver, then drop back to 90….
    FAQ jpj sooo informative.

• RTD maybe will erected the alert signage soon but the thing is no point IF TOO CLOSE.

• nurburgring on Sep 18, 2012 at 3:47 pm

can the AES capture if the speed more than 300kmh?come on la..please increase the speed limit on our highway to 140kmh la..even a my car easily 4sec can go 100kmh ady….look at autobahn no speed limit but can count on a finger how many accident case there..Gov’s all doing nothing…just want to earn easy money from this AES…

• It is very clearly stated in the FAQ of JPJ that a warning notice and signboard will be erected to warn motorist of the AES system. If I get a fine because there was no signage to forewarn me, can I then take this up to the court?

• mentari driver on Sep 18, 2012 at 6:22 pm

frankly no signboard to warn about the AES!
      eg coming PLUS from south/bangi… just before the Kajang exit there is AES camera fix with its external flash..
      YUP NO WARNING!
      The only thing you see is the bright flash; hence captured u on crime scene..

• Car Lane on Sep 18, 2012 at 8:53 pm

A sign board at Toll entering, “Perhatian, AES Di Hadapan”. So until the next exit, the sign board is still valid. See how you wanna drive lo.

• fastlan3 on Sep 19, 2012 at 11:42 am

Yes, you can and everyone should take them to court where there’s no signage.

• There is this paragraph in the Sun which I felt a ‘very-good-info’ to share (but not publish by paultan):
    “The privately-financed AES project undertaken by two concessionaire companies will see a total of 566 speed cameras and 265 traffic light cameras installed in stages”

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 18, 2012 at 5:05 pm

GY, it was mentioned in our earlier story on AES (http://paultan.org/2012/07/19/speedsters-its-game-over-for-the-aes-cometh-soon/).

• Carlzen on Sep 18, 2012 at 4:23 pm

“However, it was revealed that the face of the front passenger, if any, will be blocked out. So for those with ahem, “unauthorised companions”, your partner will have photographic evidence of your car time together, but he or she won’t be able to tell who.”

Defuq??

• Ah Kam on Sep 18, 2012 at 4:40 pm

I tought saman ekor is illegal. That’s why there a big write off some time ago. So if we got caught with no signage we should not pay. Or wait for discount (Malaysia Sales)

• Adoyai on Sep 18, 2012 at 5:11 pm

those days saman ekor was without any photo evidence hence we can contest on the legitimacy of the summon. am not to sure for AES summonses but I have no problem settling all my summonses after cut off date and still got discount (for those eligible for discount), dont have to wait until the official discount announcement.

• Any possibility to check the summon via myeg 1st??
    got my 1st flash at putrajaya..
    unlucky me..driving 80 while the road just 70..

• Adoyai on Sep 18, 2012 at 5:08 pm

usually it would be available after 3 days of offense. I got mine on tuesday after being flashed on friday.

• n4zm4n on Sep 18, 2012 at 4:42 pm

just another way to loose B-End.

• kl-ipoh, 375km.
    installation spotted on 15/9/2012

• paparadzi on Sep 18, 2012 at 5:27 pm

I wonder how many cameras are installed at a place where the speed limit is very much lower than the actual condition, such as ELITE near Subang Jaya area where the speed limit is 90 km/h but the highway is similar to other area with 110 km/h speed limit.

Build a nice smooth highway, then slap a slow speed limit on it, then put up the AES camera. A sure way of making a lot of money.

• niceone on Sep 19, 2012 at 12:03 am

90km/h at that highway stretch is just ridiculous. that area is really a goldmine for jpj, got myself few summons on that 90km/h area. surely with AES installed they will earn more profit after this.

• Papadom on Sep 21, 2012 at 5:44 pm

At least once in a month I drive up from KL to Kelantan via Bentong-Raub-Gua Musang-KB road for business trip.

I can feel that the speed limit of 60km/h at many streches along the route were ridiculous and were set up purposely for the G to make money and not for the rakyat safety.

• Nobody wants your money. If you think you too rich, the please continue to speed and endanger other considerate road users. If you think you too poor, don’t speed, save money, reduce fuel consumption and save the environment.

• think on Sep 18, 2012 at 9:37 pm

mr.lee,,speed is not the utmost reason for accidents..it’s the vehicle you are driving ,whether it is capable of reaching a high speed ..nxt the road conditions in malaysia..third speeding..speeding in a junction and normal roads can cause accidents..If your comment is true,,then i don’t hear any ministers cars escorted by the police officers involved in accidents..they are running at ultimate speed…think

• reDalerT on Sep 20, 2012 at 12:58 pm

That’s why the driver of the VIP cars are called DRIVERS. They are being paid to drive in whatever way required by their employee. And escorts make sure no idiots suddenly decide to enter the right lane at 60kmph without signalling when the vip car is approaching at 200. The driver (and effectively othe drivers near them) is the main cause of accidents.

• Triple C on Sep 18, 2012 at 6:23 pm

Support Big Brother. BAN road block so PDRM will have no excuse to not improve civil safety.

• blacksheep on Sep 18, 2012 at 7:07 pm

i’m planing to wear mask to drive next month put my number plate inside my car.

• lalalululili on Sep 18, 2012 at 8:29 pm

i already got 4 summon with pictures,all in ayer hitam area 60km/h, r u fukin’ kidding me??? 60km/h??? Lol!

• TooSlow! on Sep 18, 2012 at 8:31 pm

Please revise the speed limit of some stretches of highway. For example, Why the hell do we need to slow down to 90km/h near the MUFORS Galeri near Subang at NKVE?

• Wacko on Sep 18, 2012 at 8:37 pm

If u guys noticed, most AES’s hotspotz on north-south PLUS expressway are highly concentrated along heavy daily traffic volume stretch i.e between Senawang, N9 to Rawang, Selangor. So what this tell you? It’s purely another public generated money printing machines waiting so eagerly to be activated.

• Car Lane on Sep 18, 2012 at 8:58 pm

This is one of the G’s SKIM Cepat Kaya.
    You marah pun tak boleh buat pa. Dia pa mau kaya ma, kita sui ja la.

• AntiLoopholes on Sep 18, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Privately funded? Should enforment be in the public interest, it would have been operated by the public servants not some private companies too eager to bleed people’s hard earned money. But this is Malaysia where loose ends and loopholes are waay too much some people can collaborate with the ruler to rob the citizen in the broad daylight!

Unless there’s sufficient warning ON THE ROAD ITSELF, i would consider this as a robbery, not a pure intention to mitigate or prevent or even educate drivers.

• think on Sep 18, 2012 at 9:31 pm

the enforcement system should be to all…including ministers..who thinks there are flying in the sky,escorted by uneducated police officers who siren’s the drivers to stop at the sides even though the road doesn’t allow enough space..once in kuala pilah i was almost hit the hill on the road side ,due to this stupid actions..and one more only uneducated people tells that speed is the reason for accidents..take a look at our roads ..it’s 101% perfect…nxt election we will see…think

• scalabu on Sep 18, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Do you aware speed limit above pic only 25km/h.. Who will drive with that Speed?????

• nighttrain on Sep 18, 2012 at 10:10 pm

which company will be the first to update the cameras in their navi system?

• chong on Sep 18, 2012 at 10:59 pm

how accurate for the cut n paste AES around malaysia i not sure but for me a place confirm have it n its working good is located before slim river exit as i just kena snap on 18/9/12 as the flash very bright while i travel at 150km/hr the rest of the place not seeing any……

• if there rules stats clearly and we break them, aren’t we the only one to blame of ourself. it sucks to be summoned but it takes 2 hands to clap. obey the speed limit for your own and loved ones safety, not just your pockets.

• Inspector on Sep 19, 2012 at 12:04 am

In this bolehland, everything can “kawtim” lorhh, anyway spotted this camera at SKVE highway, near the Shell petrol station

• Roxas on Sep 19, 2012 at 1:07 am

lol?it is not cars who speed cause accidents. it is the stupid driver and lack of awareness on the road. and, cars that cant brake well.

• yomamaisadumbfuck on Sep 19, 2012 at 10:58 am

dafuq? how about those cars who speed but cant brake well?

• AES = another expensive stupidilty on Sep 19, 2012 at 8:05 am

Instead of warning signboard in which might not be there…, why dont paint the AES structure in flourescent color so it is visible to all motorist? Just imagine a flourescent red pole on the highway or near the traffic light, isn’t it more obvious? Prevent is better than cure right?

• Adoyai on Sep 19, 2012 at 11:11 am

why do you need a signboard to highlight which area have AES? speed markers not enough to tell you that you need to follow the speed limit meh?

• meorsalimi on Sep 19, 2012 at 9:03 am

What is the KPI for these privates? i.e How many summons they supposed to produce to Govt in a month?

How does the system works? i.e The private camera sent the feed to RTD or RTD outsources their database to these company for summons issueing ?

Who handles the networks and what is their SLA on downtime? i.e. Most Govt agencies took 1 week or more just to “upped” their server again..

• we should voice out our concerns to PKR, if they can improve the system, that’s where the votes will go to.

• Proton Fan on Sep 19, 2012 at 10:12 am

The JPJ director resigning today after implementing this system?? I smell somebody retired very rich with big crony project approved…

• civicEK on Sep 19, 2012 at 12:29 pm

Let’s vandalize those camera! LOL :D

• kerja on Sep 19, 2012 at 2:29 pm

The idea is to prevent/decrease accidents in accident prone areas. Only those who are degil will go over the speed limit in those areas. The powers that be are responsible to inform motorists that they are entering designated dangerous road, and if they keep speeding, the cameras will take pictures. Now, are we informed that we are entering dangerous area? Are we informed there will be cameras? Will those areas be reconstructed to become safer? Are the cameras painted in visible color? The whole idea is to make safe roads, safe cars (like Proton’s two airbags), prevent/minimize accidents, educate drivers etc. If you install cameras to make money, then we change the powers that be. Yes, we can. I ain’t paying until the whole thing is perfect, and will fight due to the system is not perfect. Is that a valid argument when called to court? hehe..

• orang biasa on Sep 19, 2012 at 3:23 pm

Aku rasa ramai antara korang kat sini semua banyak merungut la…

Rampas duit rakyat? Pandai la korang.. Semua saman melibatkan duit la.. Silap parking kat Selangor pun still kena bayar denda dalam bentuk duit kat PBT..

Kalau tak disaman dalam bentuk duit, nak denda pakai apa pulak? Kena penjara? Tarik lesen karang, tak boleh pulak korang nak drive..

Go by the rules la dudes… Mana-mana tempat pun ada undang-undangnya.. Ada aje speed limit dia..

Ada je benda politik nak diungkitkan Apa la korang.. Politician ni semua sama aje.. Kalau korang bijak sangat takde nak merungut kat sini sepanjang masa..

• In general accidents caused by human factor as well as ROAD factors. That’s no brainer that our driver attitude contributed greatly to Malaysia high accident rate, only China ahead of Malaysia. This is understandable since newly rich Chinese has little driving experience before their economy became world most prosperous nation.

IF the authority FAILED to offer STICK to those involved in making our road UNSAFE (look at LPT2 stretch from Dungun to KT- so dangerously engineered) then we hardly able to make our roads safe.

When last time you heard the incompetent contractor that failed to deliver their false promises exceeded their due in handing over the highways? Nothing, right? They even offered another lucrative offer for new tender for the same stretch that they failed to completed.

Only poor rakyat was forced to obey the laws BUT not the rich one.

• Driver on Sep 19, 2012 at 8:19 pm

Want to confirm, is the aes fully operational or still in testing phase?

• Charlieboy on Sep 20, 2012 at 1:20 pm

In China when a driver want to speed on the highway they will just use a pillow case to cover the front and back No. Plate and just remove it when they reach the city.

• Azizi on Sep 20, 2012 at 9:57 pm

tak sabar tunggu pasang di Johor especially di Batu Pahat. Harap harap tak perlu beri diskaun. Bawak kereta tak pernah pikir pasal orang lain, kereta dah nak roboh pun nak bawak laju.
    Aku tak pernah rasa sekeping saman

• Faisal340 on Sep 23, 2012 at 12:50 am

speed limit should first be adjusted to a faster speed. for example who the hell will drive 90 km/h on a free way like maju express, it should be 110 to 120km/h! and some highways that are 70km/h? as if we r driving in sunway lagoon park not highway !

• dentalman on Sep 23, 2012 at 8:29 am

ah..better vote PR…free water, free education, cheap car, cheap petrol bla bla bla…AND no saman whatsoever, no fine for speeding or jump queue or beat red lite or anything silly like dat…oso free parking anywhere

• Justice on Jan 25, 2013 at 1:02 am

Can the police use AES to find Willian Yau ???

• Justice on Jan 25, 2013 at 1:04 am

I really hope the Police can use AES to do something good like finding where William Yau