Volvo details Active High Beam Control technology

Volvo Active High Beam Control

Volvo has provided some details on its innovative Active High Beam Control tech, which will be available on the Geneva-bound updated S60, V60 and XC60 models in the spring. Essentially, the system allows the driver to continuously use high beam at night, without dazzling oncoming drivers.

How does it work? Well, a camera mounted on the rear-view mirror sees approaching cars (motorcycles too) and tells the headlamps to shade out appropriate areas of the high beam. Volvo says the technology can frame the chosen object with only a 1.5° margin of error. Watch the video below to see Active High Beam Control in operation.

The headlamp shading mechanism involves a tiny cylinder with metal pieces of different sizes that can be used to shade out as much of the beam as necessary. The system is active at a minimum speed of 14 km/h.

The environment outside the shaded area is still illuminated by the high beam, which helps the driver detect objects at the side of the road, such as parked cars, unprotected road users and animals.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• alldisc™ on Mar 04, 2013 at 9:59 am

this is just brilliant!

• Sam Loo on Mar 05, 2013 at 10:09 am

China car also want to invent things? Try not to put lead or toxic material into your car or baby milk powder. No wonder RV of Volvo alyas so bad.

• oilworker on Mar 04, 2013 at 10:09 am

Isn’t this available as part of Mazda Skyactiv Tech?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Great, now DOUCHEBAGS like me can high beam all the time!! even during the day!

• comrade on Mar 04, 2013 at 10:16 am

myvi’s should adopt this tech as well…

• yes, myvi and alza

this is slightly off topic and i’m not sure whether its just me, but i do noticed some new myvi and alza light beam are really distracting, when they are behind you.

the beam are not just unnecessarily high, its also some kind of “floating”. really distracting, and quite annoying. not quite, really annoying.

on first encounter i thought some bastard was using high beam tailgating me, but then i start to notice many new myvi and alza ara the same. are there any different headlamp option for alza and myvi? is it some halogen/xenon options that were not properly tested by perodua? or is it kedai abang add on thingy?

* i do like to clarify that i have nothing against myvi and alza drivers. later kena hantam pula. and yes my car doesnt have auto dimming function. its an old car

• ayamxxx on Mar 04, 2013 at 11:05 pm

for me, it look normal.
        but the new myvi and alza, both with projector headlamp, produce quite a good light output. even with normal halogen, the light spread evenly and shine quite a distance.

• Wow they always come up with innovative ideas!

• jilbaber on Mar 04, 2013 at 10:37 am

Opss..Volvo did it again ! I’m so hope there aftermarket stuff for this thing…I’m getting old, eyes have to use high beam all the time at night..

• Gavin on Mar 04, 2013 at 11:12 am

so eventually there will be no low beam only high beam setting

• e.tau on Mar 04, 2013 at 1:49 pm

this technology is not friendly to pedestrian, the glare would endanger them. the driver should switch to low beam when seeing the pedestrian or 2-wheeler when in use.

• they should put this in alphard and alot of other ricer drivers who like to install hid and angel it right to your face. Assholes only care about their own vision but not considerate to others. one of these days im going to install those set of offroad high beam lights and blind the next time i see these inconsiderate assholes

• pelams on Mar 05, 2013 at 6:04 pm

if im not mistaken, BMW has already introduced this tech (correct me if im wrong)