Fifth-generation Porsche 911 GT3 unveiled in Geneva; 475 hp and active rear-wheel steering but PDK only

Porsche911GT3_Main_1

Lamborghini isn’t the only one celebrating its Golden Jubilee in 2013, as Porsche’s iconic 911 turns 50 years old too. But instead of marking the occasion in an extravagant and grandiose frolic like its fellow Volkswagen Group stable mate, the German brand has chosen a more purposeful way of merriment, by launching the fifth-generation 911 GT3.

Built on the latest 991-chassis, the new road racer heralds plenty of firsts for Porsche. First up, out goes the much-loved Metzger engine of the old GT3, replaced by a heavily tuned version of the standard Carrera S’ direct fuel injection 3.8 litre flat six engine.

Power is up by 75 hp to 475 hp through the use of new GT3-specific crankshaft, valve gear, titanium connecting rods and forged pistons. The new engine revs up to 9,000 rpm, 500 more than before.

Putting all the available rev to use is the sole transmission choice, a seven-speed dual-clutch PDK gearbox. Yes, the latest track special 911 is no longer available with a manual tranny.

Porsche911GT3_Main_2

Before you shout out blasphemy, Porsche claims that the PDK has been tuned specifically for the GT3, with shorter ratios and faster shift times. The gearchange algorithm has been tuned to mirror that of Porsche Motorsport racing car’s sequential units.

The changes mark out remarkable performance figures. 0-100 km/h is now done in 3.5 seconds, 200 km/h takes less than 12 seconds and the top speed is now 315 km/h. It laps the Nordschleife faster than the outgoing turbocharged 911 GT2 at less than seven and a half minutes, even coming close to matching the Carrera GT’s seven minutes 28 dead.

Moving to the latest-spec chassis, the GT3 also sees the implementation of the fuel-saving electrically assisted power steering. How that will affect the steering feel is yet to be seen, but thankfully the same system fitted to standard 911s have been rather decent to say the least.

Another Porsche-first is the use of active rear-wheel steering. This turns the two rear wheels into or away from the corner according to speed, aiding stability and agility. The new GT3’s Nordschleife time probably owes a lot to this feature. That and the fully adjustable suspension.

Porsche911GT3_10

Among the other new driving dynamics features are larger 20-inch wheels, electronically-controlled, fully variable rear differential lock and the now-standard dynamic engine mounts.

As it turns out, the Italians do know how to party, but all seriousness aside, Germans can be just as captivatingly fun too.

Closer to home, Porsche has just introduced the all-wheel drive 911 Carrera 4 and 4S in Malaysia. Read our launch report and test preview in Austria too.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Vodka on Mar 06, 2013 at 11:20 am

OMG!

• Sam Loo on Mar 06, 2013 at 5:02 pm

That day I race with a C2S in my Hilux, I smoke the C2S. Porsche guy tabik my higher torque power!

• GT-Rider on Mar 06, 2013 at 11:39 am

Haiz, too many versions already, why they don’t give a sub 3 secs sprinter?

• rally_fan on Mar 06, 2013 at 2:41 pm

there aren’t too many versions really.. this is the all new model, 5th generation of the GT3. The GT3 has always been an extremely popular model for porsche.. and its also the weapon of choice for endurance racing and is FIA homologated..

finally, porsche isn’t only about straight line. speed.

convertidor youtube a mp3

• Joe Radzif on Mar 06, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Oh…
    bila nak kaya nih

• big_knob on Mar 06, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Looks like myvi lagi best punya edition or golf blue thingy edition or lambo alien version

Designers now all lazy ones to think and create new designs, all want to recycle old designs

• rally_fan on Mar 06, 2013 at 4:29 pm

OMG.. you didn’t just compare a 911 GT3 to your myvi did you?

and who are we to argue with porsche on what is their best selling model of all time.. the iconic 911.

• lambo_lembab on Mar 06, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Toyota is better lor, here we got dugong vios which is sold like hot cakes. Many times more than froggy porsche.

Why cannot argue, we can bash any cars like we are the engineers and designers then we can bash others too.

Have fun bashing.

• vee-oh on Mar 06, 2013 at 4:19 pm

so sexy i want one isk isk

• hafiz_4ag on Mar 06, 2013 at 7:09 pm

I know I would never be able to afford one, but its sad the 911 GT3 no longer have a manual tranny..

• Heel-and-Toe on Mar 06, 2013 at 9:25 pm

True. A sad day for manual fans around the world, it seems like the GT3 didn’t continues its tradition. But take a look at an interview by Evo (can search it up at YouTube), maybe Porsche wants to capture a bigger audience and wider range of customer. Besides that, the paddleshift can be pulled simutaneously to disengage the clutch. We can slowly accept it. We’ll live, but we’ll be sad. But we’ll live.

• I feel your pain. I know it’s faster, but the GT3 was always meant to be a enthusiast 911, for people who love to drive. and if I want a faster Porsche, there’s always the coming Turbo version. Yes, the PDK has some manual characteristic as Heel-and-Toe says, and yes we will live. But I find no reason wanting a GT3 as I had with the 997 version.

This may be a quiet whisper that Porsche is saying “hey, the customers who are actually paying wants convenience, profit first”

• David on Mar 07, 2013 at 7:35 am

Porsche have auto gearbox problem???!!!