997 Porsche 911 GT2 initial specs

First details of Porsche’s new 911 GT2 has been revealed. It’s 3.6 litre twin VGT turbocharged boxer engine will be putting out 530 horsepower at 6,500rpm and 685Nm of torque between 2,200rpm to 4,500rpm, compared to the 911 Turbo’s 480hp at at 6,000rpm and 620Nm of torque between 1,950rpm to 5,000rpm.

So that’s more torque, more power, yet two less wheels to drive them through as the GT2 has always been a rear wheel drive monster. You can expect some serious rubber burning with this one. 0 to 100km/h takes 3.6 seconds – 0.1 seconds faster than the 911 Turbo Tiptronic S.

Though not officially unveiled by Porsche yet, I’m already waiting to see what RUF can do to this car.

2007 Porsche 911 Turbo (type 997)
997 Porsche 911 GT3 on the Nurburgring
2007 Porsche World Road Show Videos

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 11:00 am

So many meters in the display cluster… and another in the centre, meters galore!

• hakim (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 12:27 pm

hmm, redline before 7000rpm? is it normal for porsche?

• transformer (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 3:28 pm

other than Carrera GT and Cayene, i basically can't really differentiate this with other Porsches though… coz Porsche designer are too old to design new younger and fresher looks…

Love Carrera GT so so much!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 4:39 pm

looks the same…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 5:28 pm

porsche designers are not old and neither is this design old. Its not right to say that this car looks like other porsches because the entire world of porsche revolves around this car, the 911. When it comes to how a "porsche looks", the iconic 911 is the benchmark.

If the 911 is changed to not look like a 911 some day, I'll say thats the day porsche will fail as a company. Why change a design that everyone loves?

• raptorclans (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 5:58 pm

i want to touch that wheel… it's alcantra rite?

• szw (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 6:24 pm

so normal

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 6:43 pm

Porsche breeds so many fabulous monster.
    This Nine-Eleven GT2 is surely another masterpiece coming out of Porsche’s stable.
    Damn, now i am lost. I can’t make up my mind.

Porsche… the moment you look at it once, you know that you want one. And from the time you want for it once, it’ll take about 20 years before you can having one.

Yeah, there is no substitute.

• transformer (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 8:37 pm

Ok ok dun need to change looks and this can save up more coin for investor ROI’s!

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 9:55 pm

Porsche’s fastest road rocket to date. The 911 (997) GT3 already dropped my jaw with its handling and power figures but Porsche has managed to do it again with this GT2. Quicker to 60mph and even more power.

Definitely agree with you Paul. I wonder what RUF could possibly do to further enhance this monster of a car. New RUF RGT on the way perhaps?

• ab (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 9:06 am

remember the 993 GT2? that was a sexy car…the 997 GT2 is none of that, the rear bumper is messy

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 8:34 pm

It has been reported in Malaysia newspaper today that a Porsche Targa had been robbed from one of Porsche’s showroom in northern part of the country.

The Porsche which is stated to be around 1 million RM however had been left by the robber after out of fuel.

If merely a Targa would cost a million bucks in Malaysia, i wonder how much they will strangle you to get a 911 Turbo or this GT2 !

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 12:44 pm

you will be strangled for RM1.35 mil for the 911 turbo. no info on gt2 prices yet. but in today’s papers, the targa thieves struck again and tried to steal it from the police station. actually he succeded but didn’t get very far this time due to road blocks but he was smart enough to bring some additional fuel.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 8:10 pm

Gosh another sequel of Gone in 60 seconds !