New Mitsubishi Triton Single Cab launched – RM70.5k

Triton_Single_cab

Amidst the March madness of the Bangkok, New York and Seoul motor shows running concurrently, here’s a bit of local new for you. The new Mitsubishi Triton Single Cab is now available for purchase across Malaysia in 2.8 litre diesel 4×4 manual form for RM70,409 in the Peninsular, or RM71,221 and RM71,372 in Sabah and Sarawak respectively (all prices quoted without insurance).

The Mitsubishi Triton Single Cab is more utilitarian than accomodating as you can see, and unlike most double cab pick-ups we have over here, this one is not meant for families. It’s not personal; it’s strictly business, as Michael Corleone would say. If you transport more goods and machinery than you do people, this is the pick-up for you. If not, there’s always the Triton VGT.

It’s got a 2.8 litre indirect injection non-turbo engine that makes 97 hp at 4,000 rpm and 198 Nm of torque from 2,000 rpm. Fast it’s not, but it’s a simple machine that’s tough and reliable, precisely what you need for heavy-duty usage. A simple five-speed manual gearbox is in use here, channelling power to all four wheels via the Easy Select 4WD system which allows ‘shift on the fly’ from two- to four-wheel drive at up to 100 km/h.

Mitsubishi_Triton_Single_Cab_2

The powertrain is designed to withstand various quality levels of diesel fuel, reducing the risk of costly engine damage when supplied with less-than-ideal fuel that the agricultural and plantation industry transporters may be forced to use in remote areas. For convenience, the loading bay is set at a low 845 mm, while turning radius is a tight 5.9 metres for easy manoeuvrability.

There’s not much when it comes to safety features though, with only anti-intrusion brake pedal, collapsible steering and RISE (Reinforced Impact Safety Evolution) body structure listed as standard. It’s as basic as it can be, and the wheels are steel items too.

The fully-imported Mitsubishi Triton Single Cab is available only in solid white with unpainted front bumper (there’s no rear bumper), and comes with a three-year/100,000 km warranty and two-year free maintenance package.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 28, 2013 at 12:39 pm

I could never understand why all these single cab pickups have the worst possible engines.

Does it not make sense that these workhorses need some extra ommph to carry loads and better fuel economy in day to day haulage??

I could loose the 4WD to get a better engine.

I know contractors and business owners that have been suckered into buying the Triton lite…. nothing but complaints.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • nabill on Mar 28, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Thy need torque not speed

• This engine is seriously low in torque. If turbo version 4M40 is still acceptable. The fact is, all diesel truck should have turbo charged. Turbo helps diesel engine increase torque. If insufficient oxygen, incomplete combustion produces black smoke and excessive heat which would cause the head gasket blown.

• diamjer on Mar 28, 2013 at 2:54 pm

seriously you would want to trade all you have to get 4WD when you get stuck in the “jalan Balak” during rainy season.

• Dmax with 3 litre commonrail touch on the fly RM75000. Rebate RM3000. Better get that. This 4M40 old engine from pajero without turbo.

• lonelyobserve on Mar 28, 2013 at 5:43 pm

That 2.8L 4M40 is the NA version but remember Mitsubishi makes improvement on its diesel engine from time to time, even though 4M4 family engines are dated. See the Europe version of the Triton 3.2, the engine is with commonrail direct injection and has 200ps and 450Nm of torque.

Remember this Triton has such engine because of Boleh Land’s low quality Euro 2M diesel in order to keep maintenance cost low.

• land cruiser on Mar 28, 2013 at 12:51 pm

seems like a good idea, those VNT turbos, direct injection and commonrails are not for us staying and working deep in the jungle and timber camp where good quality diesel is of scarce

• just to be fair on Mar 28, 2013 at 1:45 pm

this is why i love malaysians, you see an add’s but it has to be double standard ,where went the translation in tamil, it would hurt though …

• Sam Loo say his Hilux & Tundra can beat this piece of sheeet anytime :p

• lonelyobserve on Mar 28, 2013 at 5:45 pm

Of course, using lower spec pickup truck to show the superiority of Hilux & Tundra with big difference. Typical hardcore lover.

• Self-proclaimed Sultan of Bulu on Mar 28, 2013 at 3:58 pm

It may be cheap to buy, but I would go for the 2.0 turbodiesel, at least the roadtax and fuel consumption is cheaper and lighter too.

• Don Corleone on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:14 pm

If im a businessman and i need to haul goods around, I will choose a light lorry instead of pickup truck… add up a few k more and u can get RM83k Mitsubishi Fuso FE series.. u can haul more goods in a time… its worth the money…

• RM78,000, rebuilt mitsubishi canter 3 tonnes body. Bdm 5000kg. Commonrail engine.

• Should lower te price if it’s without a turbo… Below rm70k mark. If its at 70k, better get more torque engine like dmax or hilux VNT… If triton has turbo, could be ok

• still rely on LR 109 to laden ‘sawit’ bunches… noisy, slow, rough… but the pulling power is still awesome for the 3 decades workhorse :)

• Very inconsistent. Triton alone sell 5 different types of engine. Why don’t they just take 2.5 89hp 196nm to fix in. Cheaper roadtax. Or selling at RM78,000 with its commonrail 2.5 commonrail standard. Why hilux are hot cake in the market because they are not confusing client with various type of engine used.

• Ayzak Anthony Anthony on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:58 pm

where to find single cab triton