Mitsubishi ASX – facelift introduced, RM140k

mitsubishi asx 2013

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has introduced the facelifted Mitsubishi ASX. It’s basically a minor cosmetic job, with changes led by a new front grille design and the inclusion of a panoramic glass roof. Additionally, the vehicle now incorporates auto rain and light sensors, GPS navigation with Bluetooth/iPod connectivity as standard features.

The ASX – which debuted in 2010 – was last upgraded for the 2012 model year, adding new 17-inch alloy wheels, a smart key/push-start ignition system, auto-retractable side mirrors and revised leather seats when it came about in January 2012.

Still no changes to the running gear, with the 4B11 2.0 litre MIVEC four-banger still turning out the same output numbers, these being 150 PS at 6,000 rpm and 197 Nm at 4,200 rpm. Also present, the INVECS-III CVT transmission with six-step sports mode.

mitsubishi asx glass roof

A range of three optional accessories packages has been made available for the car, each individually specifiable. The first package adds in a front corner extension with DRLs, front and rear under covers, a side wind deflector and a large rear spoiler, and goes for RM4,599.

The second package consists of a rear bumper plate, chrome-plated door mirror covers, a tailgate protector and scuff plates, and is priced at RM1,799. As for the third package, a new shift knob, side tray lid, rear cargo luggage mat and luggage net will set you back RM899.

Four exterior colours – White Pearl, Titanium Grey, Black Mica and Red Metallic – are available for the facelifted ASX, which is priced at RM139,981 (on-the-road, without insurance).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mazda CX-5 is way better than this dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 66
    • stupid snow on May 23, 2013 at 3:47 pm

Like cx5 then buy one n if you don’t like the asx who cares

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 28
    • Jimmy on May 23, 2013 at 5:49 pm

How many airbags does CX5 have?

• Jimmy on May 23, 2013 at 5:51 pm

See, no negative comments on Mitsubishi ASX.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • Jimmy on May 23, 2013 at 5:52 pm

In case some of us sometimes do not read comments with brains.

• agree with jimmy….. its a very very very very comfortable and nice car…. Love it when I have a test drive on it….. feel bringing one home and I did it…. hehe

• Tyler Durden on May 23, 2013 at 11:31 am

Great value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • When the ASX first came out, it was ideally size. But it has the same problem as the Hyundai Veloster and the current ‘smilley-head’ Peugeout 308, which is that grill makes the entire car looks front heavy, as if the front is design separately for a bigger car. I don’t know weather they’ve shrink the bumper or clever optical illusion but now it looks a lot better than the original.
    RM 140k seems like a fair price for this car. And MMM seems to be secretly improving their product lineup lately

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo on May 23, 2013 at 8:47 pm

Best not to compare sushi with rotten cabbage.

The latter’s trade in value is getting worse by the week, especially after 505

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 90
  • sick&tired on May 23, 2013 at 11:58 am

after the whole inspira fiasco, mitsubishi has lost all credibility, in my eyes anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 47
    • Mreat on May 23, 2013 at 1:30 pm

Mitsubishi has not losing all their credibility, in fact i think their name has been built up due to the sales pick up in Mitsubishi Triton. * Proton might comes out with a new line up which is similar to honda accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Green on May 23, 2013 at 1:59 pm

YEa. True off road Powertrain Performing Beast come from Mitsu Triton, Pajero Sport and the Pajero.
        undeniable beast.

• bring the diesel version…that 190nm at 4,000rpm is waay too weak…btw, cant they just plonk in the Triton engine..that will move this SUV

• Johnny on May 23, 2013 at 4:36 pm

Dude, Inspira is an awesome car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
      • Sam Loo on May 23, 2013 at 8:48 pm

Dude, Mitsubishi Lancer is an awesome car. Inspira is very low quality version of that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 47
      • indrani on May 23, 2013 at 11:40 pm

In SG saw inspariah park side with lancer gt. So malu la wei.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
        • jacker on May 26, 2013 at 8:20 pm

Lancer GT got no Lous/Proton RnH
          Lancer GT so malu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • Indrani: lemme guess, this is coming from someone who drives a Toyota Vios J Spec

• 1degree on May 23, 2013 at 12:05 pm

i like the panoramic roof

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • me too!

• did you know, the front fender is made from plastic?? same material w the bumper. What do you think?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • doesnt sound reliable right..

• Rulered on May 23, 2013 at 8:58 pm

There are a lot of cars that uses plastic front fenders nowadays. It has it’s pros and cons, just like plastic vs steel bumpers of yesteryears. It has nothing to do with reliability. For all you know, it’s easier to maintain.

• _xXx_ on May 23, 2013 at 3:32 pm

yes…until u know its weight, lol…

• gOOsh on May 23, 2013 at 4:22 pm

boleh laarrr….

• Noname Takadanama on May 23, 2013 at 4:46 pm

still no 4×4 variant in malaysia… (T_T)

• Babemoon on May 23, 2013 at 6:01 pm

If this ASX made it CKD, it will be more awesome ! haha

• BlackBJQ on May 28, 2013 at 9:57 am

You’ll got it. This model will be CKD in Tan Chong Segambut plant. Might be Q4 this year. Price will be cheaper.

• seancorr on May 23, 2013 at 6:21 pm

It would be better off with some other feature instead of the sunroof. Maybe more airbags?

• I miss the old airtrek turbo. That design was awesome. The new mitsu suv leaves me cold. Just wondering why the japs dont turbocharge their engines like say Ford or vw. Get the benefits of both power and low fuel consumption

• I prefer Subaru XV over this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • shahza on May 29, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Who asked for your preference? You’re suppose to comment on the car….

• Chill80 on Jun 02, 2013 at 12:26 am

I’m confused..please help me…any suggestion buying suv car… Before this i prefer mazda cx5… But since i read the review of this especially the panoramic glass roof darn i love this..hmmm..how about the engine? Is still the same performance of asx before?
    P.s i love crv but my brother juz bought it…huhu

• Prefer CX-5, 6 airbags and skyactiv technology. Even though never sit in ASX before.

• Wonder what the max it can go….. hehe….. mivec 2.0L without turbo charges….. if install a toubo charges will raise up the fuel consumption…. hrm……