Proton Saga FLX+ launching this Saturday?

saga-flx+

Proton will be launching a new, more affordable car variant this Saturday at the Proton Edar outlet in Mutiara Damansara. The car manufacturer revealed this snippet at a media briefing today at the Kempinski Hotel Jakarta, prior to the launch of the Proton Preve in Indonesia, which is the fourth export market for the car after Australia, Thailand and Brunei.

While it wasn’t explicitly revealed which Proton model would be getting this new variant, Proton revealed that it will be a model with three-star ASEAN NCAP rating, which leads us to believe it is most likely the Proton Saga FLX+, which is an improved version of the Saga FLX.

Back in February, the Proton Saga FLX+ was graded in the first phase of ASEAN NCAP testing, obtaining a three-star rating. It’s fitted with the latest safety package, which includes twin airbags. Currently, the Saga model lineup is made up of the FLX and FLX SE variants.

According to Proton deputy CEO Datuk Lukman bin Ibrahim, the new Proton variant will enjoy a price reduction of more than 10%, achieved through value analysis and engineering, with no cut in safety, quality and comfort. He added that the new price is not a margin cutting exercise, which Proton doesn’t subscribe to. The new price will also be a permanent thing, not just a promotion.

We’ll get you the full details of the new car on Saturday, stay tuned!

UPDATE: Apparently the car will be known as the Proton Saga SV. Here are two scanned brochures that a reader dropped in the comments below. Stay tuned tomorrow morning for the full details on the Saga SV.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• having 10% price reduction is good in order to compete with P2. However it mentioned “with no cut in safety, quality and comfort”….from d beginning this car is not safe, poor quality and not comfort comparing other cars in this segment. Just tat it is d cheapest car pricing in “msia” only.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 198 Thumb down 71
    • Allen on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:21 am

I doubt any of other cars in the same price range offer 3star NCAP rating.

Viva? nah.
      Myvi? barely a 3star if you ask me.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 189 Thumb down 13
      • Jimmy on Jun 13, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 204
      • Ha .. The thousands of Myvis are 3 stars compared to zero 3 stars Saga on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 42
      • Idiotic Allen read carefully i say “other cars in this segment” where this is mini sedan car tat shd compare with Kia Rio, Ford Fiesta, Yaris etc, but becoz of d tax structure these cars become expensive and d only car u can compare proton saga with is Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 38
        • Not really, look at Thai prices, similar with here. Don’t compare with UK and US

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
        • does fiesta same range price with vios or city in thai?

• viosed on Jun 13, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Saga is anytime more comfortable than vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 81
    • Message for Dato Lukman on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:30 am

Hello Dato Lukman, 10% reduction is not enough. All our Proton cars are sold for nearly half the price in Saudi Arabia and the whole of UAE. Why are we subsidizing rich Arabs? They earn for more than the average Malaysian. We are Malaysians. Your own citizen. You should be selling to us cheap. Charity begins at home. Give first to your own people, and then, if there is ample, we can give to the whole world.

If you are selling so cheap to rich Arabs, you must be making a profit. Otherwise no business will sell at a lost. You have been selling in UAE for years, so trying to penetrate foreign markets at a loss should have been over long long time ago. If yiu are selling it at a loss still, you have to answer not only to your shareholders but also to every Malaysian because it is our tax payers money that is used to protect Proton. The hundreds of millions of ringgit in grants the government gives you also comes from our taxpayers pockets.

So why are we selling our Proton cars so cheap overseas? The Arabs GDP per capita ie the earning capacity of each Arabs is many times more than the average Malaysian.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 506 Thumb down 51
      • i tot, oversea price cheaper due to their gov tax structure…info from my reading within paultan also la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 42
        • jun jun on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:52 pm

in malaysia my second home (MM2H) program, be given 20%-35% discount those who particitipate in this program..wtf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
      • Tredia on Jun 13, 2013 at 12:02 pm

Yeah so so true. Proton, started
        off with a noble cause
        but now.. more of a ‘rotten cause’..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 16
      • It’s becoz of govt tax structure. You have to pay high tax when buying cars in Malaysia (incl Proton) but not in Saudi Arabia. You message should be addressed to PM instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 32
      • The GCC/Arab nations pay the least for cars because they have no car tax whatsoever. Malaysia got import, excise and sales tax.

The Perodua Myvi costs RM46k in Malaysia, but the ACTUAL PRICE is ONLY RM24,860 ! The Proton Prevé CFE costs RM73k, but the ACTUAL PRICE is ONLY RM39,460 ! The rest is tax !

Go to YouTube and Google ‘Turunkan Harga Kereta’. Rafizi pointed out exactly why Proton cars are cheaper in the Arab countries and are more expensive in Malaysia.

This is not Proton’s doing. BN is the one implementing taxes. Contrary to popular belief, car taxes in Malaysia are not just for imported cars, but also for locally made cars as well.

Next time, do some research before commenting on a subject you obviously don’t know anything about. I am disgusted to see over ‘100 likes’ for your comment, it just shows that Malaysians are too gullible and naive. Macam mana mau jadi first world if we all have third world mentality ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 806 Thumb down 336
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 882
          • In Langkawi, only import tax is waived. Excise and sales tax still got.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 906 Thumb down 105
          • Aero Father on Jun 14, 2013 at 1:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 634
        • Proton is the Government on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 1012
          • Nice try BN cybertrooper. I’m sure you called all your BN friends to ‘mass dislike’ my above two comments, even though they’re factually accurate. 20 minutes ago, 1 dislike; 20 minutes later, 100 dislikes. This is no coincidence.

There is no point in me lengthening this debate, my words will only fall on deaf ears.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 554 Thumb down 84
          • Falcao on Jun 13, 2013 at 5:38 pm

HAHA. BN penipu! golf turun harga la sangat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 13
          • er if i am not mistaken DRB not owned by syed mokhtar. there an intention to buy proton but sime darby won it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
        • Cybertrooper on Jun 14, 2013 at 1:23 pm

It looks like Aero is the real BN Cybertrooper. In one hour, his “likes” can go to from 100 to 335. Don’t cheat lah cybertrooper. Nobody likes your twisted comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
          • I don’t have all day to like, wait and like my comments over and over again to prove a point. I have better things to do, convincing others to believe in the truth over the internet is not on the list.
            I am quite surprised it got so many likes in such a short time, something very weird is going on here.

That said, no one has managed to rebut my statements on the sales, excise and import tax. Can’t deny the truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • Mohd Zaki on Jun 14, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Aero, stop your nonsense small kid. For years we tolerate your nonsense and non logic remarks. Stop it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 28
          • Well, first off, I don’t post comments indiscriminately and anonymously. I use the same name and photo (Aero) whenever I comment. And I’ve only been on paultan.org for a year or two.

I’m having a hard time seeing how my comments are ‘non logic’, if you Google the stuff I mentioned, you’ll see it’s all mostly true or relevant. That said, I don’t wish the claim that I’m a ‘know it all’, and that I understand that I may have made some errors in the past. For the sake of courtesy, I’d like to extend my apologies.

It’s just that whenever I mentioned ‘BN’ or ‘UMNO’, sh*t always hits the fan. This is the 3rd or 4th time something like this happened in the last 12 months.

Anyway, for better or worse, from now onwards, I won’t include politics in the full picture.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
          • kessler on Jun 15, 2013 at 11:18 am

So now you have got many likes. What say you?

• @kessler

I’m quite baffled. I didn’t ask for any of this, I was only trying to iterate that Proton is not subsidising cars for the Arabs, and I gave evidence to support my claim.

Oh well. The internet is weird.

• Andrew Cheah on Jun 14, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Aero, you got no shame use autobot to like your comment? Tak malu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
          • butang on Jun 14, 2013 at 4:00 pm

at least Aero use the same name for his comment throughout this postings. And even he also share his blog and got a picture and biodata of himself. Surprisingly, the comments that he wrote didn’t reflect to his young age. respect.
            how about other keyboard warrior? dare to reveal yourself?

• Did you use autobot too?

• Gila? on Jun 14, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Aero, kau ni gila kah? Orang tak like you tapi nak tipu orang. Macam kita tak tahu you pakai auto like

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • mahathir on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:46 pm

Kenapa kereta Proton dijual lebih murah di Arab Saudi berbanding di
        Malaysia? Sedangkan dgn kos shipping, sepatutnya harga kereta disana patut lebih
        mahal..

Saya jawab mudah, semua ini adalah kerana marketing strategy. Malaysia terpaksa bersaing dengan Toyota, Honda di negara luar. Nama Proton bukan ramai orang kenal pun. Jadi untuk membina nama dan tapak mereka perlu melakukan strategi pemasaran dengan menurunkan harga kereta.

Proton di Malaysia juga terpaksa bersaing tetapi orang di Malaysia masih akan membeli Proton kerana harga kereta import masih lagi mahal tapi Malaysia untung, Korea Selatan juga negara pengeluar kereta, tapi dia tak open market sebab rakyat dia jenis support apa saja kerajaan mereka buat.

Janganlah tengok je Runningman tu. Tengok sekali sikap rakyat mereka. Kalau perasan semua kereta dalam tu kereta jenama tu je. Sebab tu mereka lebih cepat maju walaupun mereka meminjam IMF. Malah Korea Selatan hantar wakil minta kebenaran nak tiru pembanggunan kita, kalau perasan airport dia pun guna konsep sama dengan kita. Sekarang mereka nak buat Putrajaya versi mereka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 39
        • saladin on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:08 pm

Ape ko merepek ni. Marketing strategy utk bersaing dengan toyota honda???. Peduli ape aku proton jual kereta murah kt saudi. Persoalan dia kenapa proton tk boleh jual murah dkt negara sendiri. Kenapa proton kna excise duty n sales tax . Utk pengetahuan ko korea sbnrnya sama mcm malaysia. Protect company kereta sendiri. Bila nk bankrupt goverment dia bail out sama mcm kita. Tax import car mcm kita.

Aku cadangkn local car semua no tax. 0%. Aku boleh bli myvi rm20k. Excise duty import car naik 200%.honda civic jadi rm220k. Import tax masih 0% .Jgn pedulikan AFTA. Goverment malaysia pn sentiasa cari cara untuk menipu AFTA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 15
        • copy paste…

• alamak… kesiannya kau bro, before you comment, please do google and analyze with your brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • haha.. backup la sangat gomen ko tu bro. manja sangat..konon nak proton bersaing..kalau turunkan harga kereta kat negara sendiri..maintain harga kereta import..apa salahnya? still sama ja dgn statement ko bagi tu. rakyat takleh beli kereta import sebab mahal..then why nak jual kereta proton mahal jugak kat sini? ape daaa..

manja sangat kat proton..itu la jadiknyer.. tengok langkawi.. proton laku ke? dari bli preve or inspira, baik beli megane.. harga honda city je.. itupon 100 kali lebih baik build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Megane kalau rosak campak laut je la. Maintenance susah.

Good luck.

• Dato Lukman on Jun 24, 2013 at 1:56 pm

Hey dum dum.. Saudi Arabian did not have the tax for the car..cheap bcoz their goverment very rich, hence no tax..before sputing nonsense..read dum dum

• Lol.. They cannot cut from safety, quality and comfort because there is nothing there for them to cut from. ahahahahahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 31
    • seancorr on Jun 13, 2013 at 12:01 pm

We’ll be the final judge on whether the car was built with safety and quality in mind. Hope it comes with ABS, EBD, BA and dual air bags too.

On the other hand a 10% cut in price ain’t enough….our NEW government promised more so…hope u will keep the promise and give us more discount in the coming months or years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawi on Jun 13, 2013 at 12:41 pm

If it is the FLX+, it IS safer than the Myvi, and getting close to the Vios (the FLX+ almost has a 4 star rating, the Myvi barely has a 3 star rating… almost got 2). Also the Myvi has poor handling, I find the ride to be uncomfortable, …

Proton makes their entry level car much safer, AND cheaper. What not to like about that?!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 12
      • Keroni on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:00 pm

Not bad from 1-Star jumped to 3-Star…ingat rakyat tak tau kah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 9
      • The new entry-level car by Proton is the new Saga SV. Let’s see how if fares in the NCAP test.

Oh yes, Proton still makes big profit through this new entry-level version, but not mentioned in their financial reports.

• Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 13, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Finally ‘lauk’ is coming. So yummy to bash…..

Dont talk about price. Because all who talk about this know what is actual fact. kalau dah tak suka, macam2 la tuduh kan?

Safety? Compare to tanks meh?

Tutup proton and perodua? Can you prove it will reduce imported car price? Do you have power to set the car price?

Dont have that, dont have this…. bla2…. If proton put all wish, would you buy? Futhermore I challenge you. Go to any shop, take as many as product you want. At the counter, you complain to cashier, why all things amounted more than RM1?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 120
      • Keroni on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:14 pm

I challenge Proton go to USA market…kenape takut ke jaguh kampung???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 28
        • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:26 pm

No need. Although success in US market, you still bash and always bash for rest of your life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 54
        • pirlo on Jun 13, 2013 at 5:35 pm

why go for USA? currently, the largest car volume sold is China, not US anymore. more than 5 million cars sold in china per year, if can commit 1%?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Masmas on Jun 14, 2013 at 11:47 am

And how many percent of the total market did proton manage to get in China?

• Abuya the Kampung Boy on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Balik lah kampung. Eating ikan bilis and wetting the public toilets in the city, that is all you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Next time don’t forget to refresh this page to see how people have down-voted your comment because your comment shows that you are lack of brain cell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • skyfall on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:56 pm

perotong salesman detected!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • Both should be close, roads r more safety.

• Keroni on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:04 pm

It will keep Utusan happy lah…that’s the reason after the news blunder He He He!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
    • imran on Jun 13, 2013 at 4:23 pm

Proton shouldn’t do 10% price reduction..

instead, improve saga flx+ with loads of more stuff. better suspension & tires, better sound insulation. comfort seats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • theanswer on Jun 14, 2013 at 10:27 am

agree. proton should push saga fwd. more refined..more comfort..more safety.

• Whynot on Jun 15, 2013 at 12:54 am

Proton is still backward in terms of aerodynamic and exterior curvature design. I still won’t buy any Proton cars unless they use so degrees of Lotus exterior design. Shame on Proton executives and designers that approved the Saga FLX!

• Japs and koreans are light years behind proton. What do you expect on a saloon, a sport car? If yes better get sport car right away.

• so that mean myvi is better than proton lah…

• proton maniac on Jun 17, 2013 at 12:50 pm

with no cut in safety? r u sure? how come the ABS been removed?

• Saga, Saga FLX, Saga FLX+, Saga FLX++, Saga FLX+++, Saga FLX++++, Saga FLX +++++……………………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 28
    • Yo Dawg, I heard you like new launching so we are launching an already launched car as a newly launched car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
      • eddie on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:21 pm

This is variant not new gen, unlike Jap who launched new car with same skin, haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
        • Whynot on Jun 15, 2013 at 1:01 am

Japan adopted lane production and is constantly upgrading exterior features to trick customer to change for new model. Proton adopted mass productions for max profit and if they clam so that they are using lane productions, then they are so damned slow. Ought to give them all fingers and toes down!!!

• No, after FLX+ will be Saga FLX+ SE RS Anniversary Awesome Edition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Savvy88 on Jun 13, 2013 at 4:55 pm

I thought that’s perodua practice..
        from SE, S series, SX, EX, EXi, SR, Exclusive, LE, Mahathir Edition (MM), Elite, Advance version, BX, EZi, Extreme Edition, to infinity…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • “According to Proton deputy CEO Dato’ Lukman bin Ibrahim, the new Proton variant will enjoy a price reduction of more than 10%, achieved through value analysis and engineering, with no cut in safety, quality and comfort.”

Seems legit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
    • In other words, it means the Saga you bought previously is overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 7
      • The Saga my dad bought was around RM35k and came with a 1.5 Mitsubishi engine ……
        …..back in 1991, sounds reasonable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
        • jensi on Jun 13, 2013 at 4:37 pm

I thought he had beemer, haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
        • your car engine outdated with SOHC,KARBURETOR….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
          • Whynot on Jun 15, 2013 at 1:15 am

Manual is so much powerful and better looking in those days (30 years?). They can easily overtake FLX with slide modifications to the exhaust system. After 30 years now shouldn’t the SAGA FLX looks like Fiesta or Jazz or even better like Lotus?

• slicy on Jun 15, 2013 at 4:47 pm

FLX is a sedan, not hatchback like Fiesta. If you want it to be like LOTUS, work harder pay more

• Victor on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:19 am

3 Stars? oh wow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • Allen on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:20 am

During the previous Proton National Conference, CEO En. Hisham has mentioned that a variant of Proton Saga “Super Value” variant will be launched soon to help Proton to sell more vehicle.

It seem this is the one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • _xXx_ on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:34 am

yawn….mengantuk plak aku ni…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Josh Ling on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:41 am

it should be called Saga SV. one of my proton edar friend revealed to us this morning.

• Josh Ling on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:42 am

it’s called Saga SV. my proton edar friend told me.

• Dru-Zod on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:52 am

Tutup lah Proton. Syarikat ini membebankan rakyat Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 72
    • Keroni on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Nanti Top Gear nak buat lawak apa kalau takde Proton lagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 13
      • Lawak apa-apa pun boleh, merc, bmw, vw, bentley, aston martin….

Janji dapat duit.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:57 am

While any improvements in safety would be welcomed, butI mean, 3 stars?

“According to Proton deputy CEO Datuk Lukman bin Ibrahim, the new Proton variant will enjoy a price reduction of more than 10%, achieved through value analysis and engineering, with no cut in safety, quality and comfort. He added that the new price is not a margin cutting exercise, which Proton doesn’t subscribe to. The new price will also be a permanent thing, not just a promotion.”

Begs the question, so where are the cost savings come from? Not from your margin, not from leaving out stuff. I can understand if this was a new platform with cost savings in fresh engineering, but unless Proton has doubled up its production and dropped unit fixed costs, where are the savings from? managed to squeeze your vendors a little more this time? Using cheaper parts?

hmmmm…. that statement makes no sense business wise. Its just marketing goop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • pirlo on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:56 pm

The savings doesn’t necessarily derived from cheaper parts. It can be derived from less tact time during manufacturing process, longer amortization period, higher volume demand by clients or common parts usage.
      Plus, the savings that Proton gain not solely from the product itself. It also can be gained from the reduction of Proton’s operation. Know that Proton has closed Lotus Malaysia in TPM and China? Combining both Edar and EON operation?

• saladin on Jun 14, 2013 at 12:01 am

Nmpk sgt tk faham mcm mana proton running business. There is no reduction in manufacturing cost. Kilang sama, treadmill sama worker sama, time sama, parts sama, efficency max. There is no reduction come from dealers operation. Dealers only take comission. They would not effect the car price set up by proton. The reason why the car price can be reduced is very simple. Because najib ask proton to do so. This how GLC works.

• pirlo on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:14 am

treadmill? you mean the conveyor, dont you? i thought u know how a manufacturing bussines run.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:59 am

Not subscribe to margin cutting exercises?

Pls explain why the Iswara is sold at 35K and the last Saga LMST came in at 26,800.

Been making fat profits for the Iswara now haven’t you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • beatnik on Jun 13, 2013 at 12:15 pm

“.. with no cut in safety, quality and comfort”

I’m very sure there will be cut in features and some parts will be manufactured using cheaper material.

With P2 and P1 introducing cheaper variants, it looks like this is the “exercise” to lower the car prices. Not actual price cut but somehow inferior car in some ways.

Savings from the reduction could buy some capati though..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • butang on Jun 13, 2013 at 1:00 pm

when price expensive, people complaint. when price cheaper, accuse with cheaper material, no standard etc.

apa lagi paultan reader mahu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 22
      • hutang on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:36 pm

Mahu Proton tutup kedai baru rakyat happy gembira merdeka???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
        • butang on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:48 pm

haha betul jugak tu. Proton tutup kedai, i bet Paultan akan kurang meriah with these comments. The comments will reach hundreds when it comes to Proton & Perodua.
          and let’s put trust to Govt (read: BN) to reduce car prices after the Proton closure.
          oh, please check on the VW Golf price like what Utusan showed the day before.

• impiony on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Wow so good everyone will buy VW. Later go anywhere by kapchai because it stalls

• beatnik on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:59 pm

Then why not lower the price of the existing models, instead of introducing a new one???

Apa lagi paultan reader mahu? we want REAL price drop!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • 4G63T DSM on Jun 13, 2013 at 4:47 pm

Everyone welcomes cheaper cars.

But not in expense of a possible use of cheaper materials and squeezing the vendors more (I am in manufacturing and we all know how that normally turns out in the end).

Instead of making the product more cheaply, just reduce the tax. Done.

Only goons like you fail to see, nearly 50% of the car price is taxes. The other 50% goes to profit, administrative fixed costs, marketing, and the cost of actually building the car.

Since he has stated there is no reduction in margin, that 10% all comes down to making the car cheaper… which only means, the possible just the cost the actual car price has to eat 10% of the total price reduction. What rubbish are you going to end up with?

I’ve done this calculation before (accurately or not it is to your own judgement).

Let’s say assume the retail price of the Saga 1.6 FLX CVT is 43K (excluding insurance, registration, discounts, number plate etc etc).

Minus Sales taxes and Excise duties – 20K
        Minus a minimum 25% margin for profit, administrative fixed cost, marketing, storage etc etc. – 5K

A Saga 1.6 FLX perhaps only cost 18K or less to manufacture (BOM and Labour and unit fixed cost).

You think Proton lost any money on the 26K Saga LMST? That car probably cost Proton perhaps 12K to manufacture. (it was absolutely disgusting they were selling it at 35K)

But FWIW, its not all doom and gloom. 10% less of the retail price would probably equate to only 1.5K of the cost saving from the manufacturing of the car itself, the rest are from less taxes charged due to slightly lower declared value.

To Proton’s defence, I don’t think they are making much money from each car sold…. they are basically working for the government in tax revenue and as a crony gravy train.

DRB must have had made a big squeeze on the vendors.Or they are expecting an increase of production volume to lower the unit fixed costs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • just name it SAGA and SAGA SE for god’s sake… no flx or flx+ or flx se… just use friggin SAGA…

• Yeah same as Satria Neo. Should be called with just Satria. No need for that ‘Neo’ word. We never heard Camry, Civic or Accord add any name for the new generation of their models.

• gunner on Jun 13, 2013 at 5:59 pm

FLX is because it’s CVT gear. Camry and vios here have only one type of gear, that is 4 speed old gear, LOL

• how about corolla altis?

• wearear on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:39 pm

That should go to museum coz still use 1z engine and torsion beam, LOL

• bsegi on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Don’t compare toyota with proton because toyota cars can fly onto drain and shop roofs

• alldisc on Jun 14, 2013 at 5:50 pm

altis means it is a different corolla, a bigger size for asian market (m’sia, hong kong, taiwan) while in japan the standard corolla is smaller.

• How about SAGA1, SAGA2, SAGA3 … and so on.

• So I just bought an overpriced Proton Saga FLX? No wonder the first week drive feels like driving a viva. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawi on Jun 13, 2013 at 12:43 pm

You bought a Saga FLX when they announced in April that soon there’ll be a FLX+ with much better safety rating? (I do wonder what took them so long, wasn’t it supposed to arrive in early May or so?).

• Keroni on Jun 13, 2013 at 1:59 pm

Go sell Saga to USA market lah if Proton dare jaguh global konon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
        • and then maybe jeremy clarkson will come with his hammer and dynamite…. bam! bamm! bammm!…… boooommm!

• jarami on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:29 pm

Yes so syiok to watch the clowns get crazy. He is the joker of the year.

• Expected from DRB la..

• VoidDance on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:14 pm

You’ve to wait till the engine hits 10k mark and it will be smoother after that. I have been using FLX for over a year now with not much of a problem. FC is a bit high but then again I’m not light footed. It is for my daily office commute and once a while go back home town. For a family of 3, it is way better than no bonnet MyVi.

People like to bash but hey… It is your choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • taboogen on Jun 13, 2013 at 12:21 pm

give oso complaint.. dont give do riot… ciggarate price increase no one complaint.. why not campaign banning ciggarete since its the major couse of death in THE WORLD.. but hey its business for the richest.. cannot disturb them already.. arguing at the wrong topic.. why not ascking for low house pricing, low price for children milk, low pricing for medical assistance.. still Malaysian people are not well educate.. one people say this.. every body follows…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 29
    • 75% car excise duty…same rate given to cars fuel efficient or not…is that a FAIR to car buyers?

Kasi sumpah ini Proton jadi bankrap bungkus lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • keyboard.rosak on Jun 13, 2013 at 12:23 pm

FLX+ already sold in the market la.
    Started production in April.
    FLX+ is the one with additional airbags and 3 point seatbelt for center passanger.

this will be SV to compete with Perodua S series.

• notorp on Jun 13, 2013 at 12:38 pm

I thought they said they are going to stick to 5 years life cycle for this Saga model since launched in 18th January 2008 !? 5 or 15 years ?

• KillBox1Alpha on Jun 13, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Production of Malaysia? Oh my English!

• Proton, please include side-air bags as standard. Even baby car seats nowadays are tested for side-impact safety, what about you? Instead of reducing the price, may i suggest that you use the margin to squeeze in additional airbags. The number of lives that can be saved surely outweigh the additional costs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Keroni on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Yes true look at the cute dog at the back seat too…need airbag for dogs also lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Abg Long on Jun 13, 2013 at 1:44 pm

this is good move by proton. good job proton, although it will b much2x better if proton can give 10% reduction on other proton cars as well. for me, i’m waiting for pug508 to reduce the price keh3x.

• read this news, comments from VW & Peugeot on gov. car price reduction..

http://my.news.yahoo.com/pembuat-kereta-sangkal-dakwaan-utusan-mengenai-penurunan-harga-231602617.html

• BeemerFreak on Jun 13, 2013 at 1:51 pm

What happened to the aspirations of being a world class standard company? A company of that stature should be producing a new car every at least 24 months and all we are getting are improved versions of what is currently already in the market.

• FU Saga on Jun 13, 2013 at 1:54 pm

no power window, no fog lamp, no side mirror auto adjust, no CD player, no sport rims, no ABS, no air bag, no CVT, no kukuciao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
  • Keroni on Jun 13, 2013 at 1:58 pm

Menyusahkan rakyat betul lah Protong nih!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 24
    • Kerani on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Sama bodoh macam orang yang suka berhimpun ramai-ramai pakai baju hitam tu, menyusahkan orang lain!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 27
  • gOOsh on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:02 pm

i think it’s a good buy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • azrul on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Cut 10% from what…tax or proton cost…if proton abis lah tak untung bleh bungkus

• latest Saga’s dashboard looks boring, still wonder why Proton design n built such ugly dash, only the steering wheel looks nice but the dash…yayyy… not a mistake to design it for simple look but also nice and ‘semangat’ to see and…. own!

• Proton thought Saga dashboard like simple European design like VW…but ends up just like 1983 Skoda car dashboard LOL!

• tongok on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:32 pm

Saga dashboard is derived from older car Savvy, no wonder. It’s much better than Jap dashies

• sutheshkumar on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:48 pm

FLX+ is already out in the market. The standard gets passenger airbag and all across the range now gets the middle 3 point seatbelt as well. I wonder what changes the Executive and the SE gets.

• Megavalve on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:05 pm

This car surely looks good in 1989….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • Oh man I was just thinking to sell my 2012 FLX standard.I guess its harder to sell now.. sad sad

• Moonwalker on Jun 13, 2013 at 4:56 pm

get 3 star but produce same sh*t, good move proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • plonk on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:25 pm

Toyota 4 gear and honda SOHC engine are much sh*tter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • neemfa on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Proton’s DOHC & cvt combined still can’t even beat toyota’s 4 speeder & honda’s SOHC engine, be it efficiency and reliability.. how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
        • inhitim on Jun 14, 2013 at 1:28 am

Ek eleh belambak teksi saga persona waja campro, tak rosak pun. Reliability apa lagi.

efficiency la konon kalau harga 130k nak pakai berapa tahun baru untung FC, 20 tahun? kekekeke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Compare with Savvy how..?

• I thought FLX+ has been released like 2 month ago but they still using FLX name… Now both Saga FLX Standard and Executive have 2 airbags and 3 point centre seatbelt.

• saladin on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:45 pm

Proton jadi mangsa politik BN. Janji GE 13 nk turunkan harga. Masuk utusan haritu kata 10 harga kereta dah turun. Rupa2 nya semua menipu. Nk cover balik malu paksa la proton turunkn harga. 10%jer…… Beli kereta waktu promotion raya lagi byk discount. Ini semua gimik buta. Buang sales tax dulu la baru cerita…

• Norman on Jun 14, 2013 at 12:24 am

Improvement over the inlet manifold and the intake system.All range got twin airbags plus 9kg less for auto from the current one.RM30k is quite a catch for a 1.3 sedan you ask me.Invest in the extended warranty programme for a piece of mind.For for now they should include push start button and 15 inch sport rims as standard item

• hello , please added esp , it could save some lives

• azrai on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:43 am

Dear Paul,

Just came back from Proton showroom last night. These new variant will be known as S-Series ( :-) Just kidding) It will be known as Saga FLX SV which SV stand for Super value. It come standard with 2 airbag but they cut some of the accesories featured previously in the standar/basic model.

1. No strap handle for rear passenger (just like the old Saga Kereta kebal/1st batch of BLM)
    2. No muffler cutter
    3. No bonnet plastic tray
    4. No bonnet pad
    5. No door visor/air press
    6. Unpaint rear bonnet garnish
    7. Space saver spare tyre (tayar sotong) instead of full 13″ spare tyre
    8. Regular rubber floor mat.

• azrai on Jun 14, 2013 at 9:49 am

“Ketika ini, model transmisi automatik standard dijual pada harga atas jalan (OTR) RM41,373 dan jika ditolak 10 peratus maka harga OTR model ini ialah RM37,236 manakala model manual kini berharga RM38,373 akan dijual pada harga RM34,535 (harga Saga Super Value),” katanya kepada Bisnes Metro di sini semalam. Sementara itu, BERNAMA dalam laporannya dari Jakarta, Indonesia berkata, PROTON akan menawarkan kepada rakyat Malaysia pada Sabtu ini, satu varian kereta keluarannya yang akan dijual dengan harga lebih rendah dan mampu dimiliki oleh semua rakyat negara ini.

• i think to sell cheap because of competition is one of the dumbest thing one could ever think. know what? the rule of business is simple: you make a good stuff, people will buy. if you put the same price on import cars yes it will affect proton’s sale. but it will make guys at proton work harder to make a better cars in order to stay in the competition.

• Green on Jun 14, 2013 at 10:21 am

from leak info::

Proton Saga SV manual, RM33,888
    Saga SV CVT RM38,888

https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/484759_10200837105704928_1732025327_n.jpg

https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/1001822_10200837105144914_1560153054_n.jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • Green on Jun 15, 2013 at 12:46 am

Saga City Driving
      10km/L

Highway Driving
      15.7km/L.

source:: Proton @ Paultan
      http://paultan.org/image/saga-chart.jpg

• niuhje on Jun 14, 2013 at 10:43 am

Is that a dummy dog in the backseat??

• Yanto Supardi on Jun 14, 2013 at 12:32 pm

apa yang boleh buat dari proton kalau janji nak turun harga,macam2 dikurangkan kos nanti,macam2 tak ada.bumper pon kale hitam.Dah tak sesuai jual pada rakyat Malaysia,elok jual pada kami orang indon,bangla dan myanmar,rakyat makin ramai sekarang ni,bagi kereta low kualiti je pada mereka ni,turunkan harga kereta import supaya ramai rakayat malaysia boleh pakai kereta lagi berkualiti.

• NIEKO on Jun 14, 2013 at 6:46 pm

Ha
    Well just in the nik of time,My dad needs a better car than the crappy Used 8 year old Proton Wira that we bought last year ,Umh let me tell you guys its starting to pis me of ,thank god We have 3 other cars with us 1)P.Iswara UKspec (A), Saga BLM Midline (A),Nissan Sylphe (A),,,
    Hum The Saga FLX+Plus is starting to sound Tasty ,Yes I know 3 Protons in one home sounds Stupid but hey my mom loves all SAGA’s(BLM,FL,FLX,FLXSE)but hats all Perodua’s……..
    If my mom knows about this news she will flip

• shadin on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:13 pm

East Malaysia buyer still have to pay rm3K extra from west m’sia buyer. Prton should set One Malaysia price so its Fair Value for all.

• shadin on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:37 pm

east Malaysia buyer still priced rm3k extra from west m’sia buyer. Proton should have a OneMalaysia price a fair value for all. oversea proton price lower despite high shipping cost.!!!

• Enough of this joke laa~just close down Proton and abolish taxation on foreign car to make it affordable for the people is the best solution~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • on the spot on Jun 15, 2013 at 12:39 pm

Reduce prices for EVERYTHING, not just Proton cars,
    then everything will be cheaper.

• on the spot on Jun 15, 2013 at 12:40 pm

and….please widen up ALL ROAD before reducing the car price. The current traffic jam is already bad.