F20 BMW 1-Series previewed at BMW Shorties 2013

F20_BMW_125i_M-Sport_Preview_ 001

The F20 BMW 1-Series has been spotted again, but not through spyshots – turns out the 125i M Sport that was seen on a transporter yesterday was making its way to the BMW Shorties 2013 launch at the Majestic, where it was on static display last night in front of the lobby.

We got a closer look at the five-door hatch, with 218 hp and 310 Nm available from its N20 2.0 litre turbo mill, which is paired with an eight-speed automatic tranny. Plenty of M Sport cues about, led by a more agressive front bumper. The rear bumper’s different too, with twin exhaust tips lending the rear added bite.

The five twin-spoke M alloys are 18-inch units, dressed with 225/40 front and 245/35 rear tyres. The Estoril Blue example was locked, but a peek inside the car revealed snazzy looking M Sport front seats wrapped in Alcantara/fabric. No sunroof, but equipment includes auto start/stop, cruise control, and there’s also navigation incorporated in the kit list.

With the early Society of One teaser leading into last night’s static preview, the F20 should be officially launched very soon. Aside from the 125i, the 116i should definitely be in the lineup – we’ll have all the details on the hatch when the time comes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kennytkl on Sep 04, 2013 at 10:10 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 230
    • haha….people tot oni certain national car ass ugly…design by Azlano team…hahaha

• But Azlano team confirm ugly material..

At least 3/5 series still look good.

• The people won’t stare at proton cars if it’s ugly. If I don’t have any taste, I could say preve is beautiful car.

• the gaps is just too big..just look at tailight, bumper n bonet poor design….cbu or ckd?

• somebodyelse on Sep 04, 2013 at 12:48 pm

the rear & paint lo0ks like proton suprima S lol.

• wiralution on Sep 04, 2013 at 10:25 am

Suprima S looks nicer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 11
  • kadajawi on Sep 04, 2013 at 10:41 am

Those headlights… seriously.

The rear is very Polo, but still acceptable. But the front…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Yeeeee on Sep 04, 2013 at 10:53 am

Good god.. The front is just hideous… Seriously… The rear??? Looks like a cross between a Polo and an A class… The A class rear is hideous too.. But at least it’s saved by the front…

• sudonano on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:00 am

Wow. The 125i better be priced right. Love the Estoril Blue.

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:00 am

One hell of an ugly car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • hanssen on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:39 am

ugliestest ever frontage…cannot afford to imagine

• Datuk on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:51 am

…dressed with 225/40 front and 245/35 rear tyres. Anthony do you have any idea why this F20 1 series use two different tyre paired with the same size 18 inch rims?

• Jonathan Ali on Sep 04, 2013 at 12:06 pm

my fren jus ordered one, in angry pig pink color.

• how i wish they are bringing in 116i….

• mason on Sep 04, 2013 at 12:15 pm

i cant feel the sport,and cant see the sport…but frankly,i do like the interior….but if want to compare,A class is better with the new diamond grille look…whick the 125i almost the same as previous model…

• shawal on Sep 04, 2013 at 12:43 pm

For the same money u can get…
    A used 325i msport ..
    A used e230 v6
    A new a200
    Mazda6 2.6 …
    Golf gti
    Public transportation…
    So many other choices than this ugly little One

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 04, 2013 at 12:48 pm

A Mazda 3 at half the price is a better car overall. Wait for the launch soon

• A 250 still look nicer than this..

• Tyler Durden on Sep 04, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Folks, any indications on the 116’s price?

• BMW,please do something about that headlight.. =(

• Keris Jawa on Sep 04, 2013 at 3:21 pm

Undesirable.

• 中山郎 on Sep 04, 2013 at 3:33 pm

I really dun mind if the myvi looks like this car n perform half as gud.

• Dr Mamak on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:07 pm

This is possibly the fugliest beemer ever!! That makes A250 a no brainer choice.

• BMW BEST on Sep 04, 2013 at 8:59 pm

People who keep complaining so much but still can’t afford it wahaha!

• i see a smiling piggy face

• jolly_idiot on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:22 pm

Hate this but must say suprima look better than this

• glaze on Sep 05, 2013 at 12:17 am

personally i can only use the word strange to describe this car, the front looks like >_< and the rear looks like /_\

hmm a bit not matching here..