McLaren P1 – 0-100 km/h in 2.8 secs, 0-200 km/h in 6.8

mclaren p1 01

McLaren Automotive has released confirmed performance figures for its McLaren P1 supercar, and some of the numbers are, as you’d expect, staggering. The hybrid powertrain, which consists of a 3.8 litre M838T twin-turbo V8 with 737 PS and 720 Nm, paired with a lightweight electric motor developing 179 PS and 260 Nm, turns out a combined 916 PS and 900 Nm.

It’s all good enough to offer the Woking outfit’s third model a 0-100 km/h sprint time of just 2.8 seconds, and the nought to 200 km/h run is done in 6.8 seconds, faster than many hot hatches get to the 100 mark. Blasting one’s way to the 300 km/h mark takes just 16.5 seconds, a full 5.5 seconds quicker than the McLaren F1, and the P1 tops out at an electronically-limited 350 km/h.

The Top Trumps numbers continue with braking – hauling up from 100 km/h to zero takes just 30.2 metres, which is less than a third of the recognised stopping distance for the speed mark. And, in case anyone’s curious as to the standing quarter mile (or 400 metre run), it’s accomplished in 9.8 seconds at 245 km/h.

mclaren p1 03

Oh, and rated fuel efficiency is 8.3 litres per 100 km in a combined cycle, which presumably isn’t with the pedal being floored all the time.

Customer deliveries have begun – the first car, finished in a striking Volcano Yellow and contrasting visual carbon fibre, rolled off the bespoke production line at the end of September, and was collected from the McLaren Technology Centre by its UK-based owner.

A total of 375 examples of the P1 will be produced, hand-built by a team of 82 technicians in a four-stage assembly process – once running at full capacity, the line will see one P1 being completed each day, and so production is due to go on until mid-2015. Speaking of the P1, an example will be in town for a brief visit to grace the official launch of McLaren Kuala Lumpur, which takes place tomorrow. Stay tuned for the gallery.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• namanama on Oct 22, 2013 at 4:45 pm

mad beast!

• mambang on Oct 22, 2013 at 5:13 pm

mad beast!

• Sam Loo on Oct 23, 2013 at 9:25 am

My Hilux look better than this McLaren. My Hilux looks better than a Bentley Flying Spur or a Rolls Royce Phantom. It is no wonder why when you arrive at a 5 star lobby in a Hilux, all the bellboys and concierge stand up in respect. All run to open my door. No other car commands such respect like the Toyota Hilux. You think this McLaren can command such respect? Hotel bellboys will think it is a Kit car made in your garage.

Btw, just for the info of everyone, it is the Toyota Hilux that caused Maybach to close down. Maybach limos could not compete with Toyota Hilux. And don’t forget, Toyota Hilux got the best RV amongst S class, 7 series, Bentley and Rolls Royce.

So, don’t waste time with this McLaren. It is a joke. That day on Federal Highway, I race with one orange McLaren. Of course he beat me, but when reach Batu Tiga, got flash flood, he car just could not move. My Hilux just kept going and going like Duracell battery. I look at my mirror, I saw the McLaren so scared to move. So scared to go on mere 10 inches of water. Like chicken the McLaren was sitting there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
        • motorhead on Oct 23, 2013 at 9:39 am

& you comparing McLaren with your Hilux? Are you feeling well today? Better go & see doctor..

• Sam Loo on Oct 23, 2013 at 12:59 pm

My Hilux still can be driven on Malaysian roads. This car cannot be driven on Malaysian roads at all. It is trash. Nice to look at but it takes longer for a McLaren to do 1 KM stretch than a Hilux. Don’t believe me, try to follow a McLaren. See how many times he slows down and practically stops at each hump and pot hole. I am long gone with my Hilux. Yes on highway McLAren wins but most of the time, we travel on normal trunk roads with full of potholes and humps. Get real. Face reality. No need to show off if you are rich. Go for better ground clearance. Only sports car that can be used in Malaysia is the Porsche Carrera C2S. Even Ferrari also tak boleh jalan lah in Malaysia. See so many in Damansara Heights but Damansara Heights full of speed breakers and humps. They crawl on the speed breakers so scared that their under carriage gets banged up. I in my Hilux is long gone. Long long gone. Every time I look at my rear mirror I always see a Ferrari crawling behind me. Bising banyak tapi tak boleh jalan macam Hilux lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
        • _xXx_ on Oct 23, 2013 at 10:27 am

I like your joke, dude. Here u go my like…

• GTR38 on Oct 23, 2013 at 11:17 am

Sam Loo, are you mad? Have you taken your medication or some food? Totally irrelevant even if you were trying to be cheeky..1di0t.

• Sam Loo on Oct 23, 2013 at 12:52 pm

Don’t kutuk me, I am only speaking the truth. Can you really drive this trash with so low ground clearance? Every hump and pothole, the car will sink in. My Hilux beat this car flat. All the commentators here are youngsters don’t know what they are talking about. Want to show off you got money. Don’t know about practicality and ground clearance.

• this uncle has tasted enough sour grapes

• adrianc84 on Oct 24, 2013 at 4:44 pm

sam: this car is so fast that it can stop at the bump, passengers alight and push the car thru the bump and then continue with the journey. It will still be faster than the hilux!

• Petrolhead on Oct 22, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Cars that do 0-100 km/h in 6.8 seconds(below), with the same time this Mclaren does it with TWICE THE SPEED! GODLIKE!!!

AMC AMX 6.4L V8 7030
      Alfa-Romeo GTV 3.0 V6
      Audi TT Roadster 2.0T FSI 200
      Audi V8 4.2 V8 Quattro
      Chevrolet Silverado SS 6.0
      Ford Fiesta ST 1.6 Turbo
      Honda Civic 2.0 VTEC Type R
      Honda Civic 2.0 VTEC Type R EDM
      Honda Civic Type R EK9
      Infiniti FX 37 3.7 V6
      Jaguar X Type 3.0 V6 Sport
      Lamborghini 400 GT 2+2 3.9L V12
      Lancia Delta Integrale 8v
      Mercedes SL Class 560SL V8 R107
      Mini Cooper John Cooper Works Clubman
      Peugeot 208 GTi 1.6 Turbo
      Renault 5 Turbo 2
      Skoda Octavia RS TSI 2.0 Turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Very ugly car! what is this seriously?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
  • droll on Oct 22, 2013 at 4:51 pm

holy shit. quarter mile in 9.8s?! godzilla does it in the high 10s or 11s if i recall correctly.

let’s wait for the refreshed GTR and see how it stacks up. but kudos to Mclaren for producing such a beast.

• jimmy on Oct 22, 2013 at 8:15 pm

now where’s GT-Rider that claim their so called supercar is the fastest on the street? :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • GT-Rider on Oct 23, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Hey hey hey, since when I said mine is the fastest, I always use “faster”, ok?

And with 2.8sec, he is sure can beat me? Nah, if the driver’s balls aren’t big enough, forget it.

• abuya123 on Oct 22, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Wow….. this is outstanding. But for me, I just need Vios or Myvi. Working in KL is waste if buy car like this although you can afford it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
    • you might be right. but i doubt ppl who can afford it actually need to work. i don’t mean they don’t work. i mean they don’t have the same working routine and practice as the rest :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Jimmy on Oct 22, 2013 at 5:48 pm

Impressive.

• Sam Loo Hailat on Oct 22, 2013 at 6:00 pm

This car…resale value will drop 50% the moment you drive out from the showroom. Owner sure hailat face when they want to trade in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
    • flat_tire on Oct 22, 2013 at 6:06 pm

so just drive back into the showroom.. and you will get your 50% back..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • samlooissohai on Oct 22, 2013 at 6:42 pm

yea..ur hilux still da best..value will always be the same after 10 years

• RV do not apply here on Oct 23, 2013 at 12:51 am

The Mclaren F1 is worth much more today than when its new. Cars like P1 and LaFerrari are collectors’ item and will only appreciate in value in the future. Now, can you say your Hilux will be worth twice its price in 10 years time?

• ghost on Oct 25, 2013 at 7:58 pm

this is a collector’s item, so it’ll probably cost 3 times more than it’s original price and in 10 years time and at least 50 times more than your hilux uncle. unlike yours this car is an investment. and u should probably realize that people who own this car would at least have another 10 cars with at least 1 for daily driving or better yet, to be driven in…

• WOW. That is fast ! o.O I’m sure it goes ’round bends just as swiftly as it does in a straight line.

Who says hybrids can’t be fast and awesome ? This and the 918 Spyder = pure sex on wheels !

• how many airbag? 5 star euro ncap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • JasonKiD on Oct 22, 2013 at 7:28 pm

At the moment, only McLaren P1 and Porsche Spyder 918 can compete with La Ferrari…

• jimmy on Oct 22, 2013 at 8:18 pm

you forget to mention Lambo Venneno too :)

• Nope. Lambo Veneno is not hybrid, and its gearbox is an old butt-kicking single-clutch, unlike the gearboxes on LaFerrari, 918 Spyder and P1 which are super-quick-and-smooth twin-clutch.

• I dont think La Ferrari same class as Mclaren P1 & Porsche 918 Spyder coz this 2 car have 2 major target to bid for their existence

1) CO2 emission less than 100g/km
      2) Fastest on the track…

For La Ferrari, as ferrari CEO has spoke before.. they doesn’t care on CO2 emission coz that not Ferrari style.. La Ferrari c/w >300g/km

• senzr on Oct 22, 2013 at 8:57 pm

They’re bringing it in to McLaren KL? Left-hand drive only wor…

• oh really on Oct 24, 2013 at 1:52 am

Do u even know that people in UK (which is where this car originated) are right-hand driver as in Malaysia?

• senzr on Oct 25, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Duh, obviously I know UK is right-hand drive and that McLaren is British. But they only make the P1 in left-hand drive because of technical issues in constructing a RHD version, so they didn’t even bother. It’s only available in LHD. Look at the P1 pics on this very site for the McLaren KL launch. Better still, google “McLaren P1 left hand drive only”.

• khairulx19a on Oct 22, 2013 at 9:00 pm

very economical

• Denaihati on Oct 22, 2013 at 9:57 pm

“5.5 seconds quicker than the McLaren F1”. very impresive and welcome to KL.

• I need this in my garage. Tomorrow i will ask Najib to launch new white elephant project and charge this car as a project car for me to use.

That stupid proton the rakyat see me in it is for my maids to goto pasar to buy vege.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • Jilbaber on Oct 23, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Oh dear from side view,the passenger compartment look so fragile and easily rattled to pieces if crashed

• Only vios can beat this car! :P

• niterunner99 on Oct 24, 2013 at 4:45 pm

not sure when & how often the owner can do 2.8s everytime they frive the car…at every traffic light??