SPYSHOTS: 2014 Kia Optima facelift sighted at JPJ

kia-optima-k5-facelift-jpj-005

It shouldn’t be too long now before the 2014 Kia Optima facelift makes its way into Naza Kia showrooms in the country – an example undergoing type approval evaluation at JPJ Putrajaya was invariably caught by regular photo contributor Anol Alias. The facelifted third-gen TF made its debut in New York back in March, and closer to home, was launched in Indonesia in September at the Indonesian International Motor Show.

As previously mentioned, the mid-life update brings about only minor changes; in terms of reworked exterior bits, the daytime running lights on the pre-facelift K5’s bumper now sit on top of the headlamps in the facelift, and the foglamps are now a four-cluster LED array type. Find photos of the current Optima below for easy comparison.

At the back, in line with newer Kia offerings, the new rear lamps feature a LED bar frame, and the bling-looking machine-finished 18-inch, 10-spoke flush-faced alloy wheel on the old car has been replaced by a new five twin-spoke design, also an 18-incher. The interior has also been refreshed, with a new seat design one of the items in the mix.

The Optima facelift will continue to be a 2.0 litre job, with the Nu CVVL unit – which took over from the Theta II in the original TF late last year – being retained, mated to a six-speed automatic transmission. There should be no change to the 165 PS at 6,200 rpm and 198 Nm at 4,600 rpm output numbers from the outgoing car, which made its market debut here just under two years ago.

2014 Kia Optima

2013 Kia Optima

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• shawal on Nov 09, 2013 at 2:35 am

Maybe dis time d passenger seat is electric, but still no satnav…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • Aerro on Nov 11, 2013 at 8:35 am

This Optima is far way much better buy than that rebadge Accordana…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • alldisc on Nov 11, 2013 at 6:18 pm

and yet look at how many k5 were sold by nazakia… hardly any.

main reason is – poor after sales support evidence in the the current JD power customer satisfaction survey where Kia is the bottom three!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • AudiOwner on Nov 15, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Wow, this New K5 Optima look very nice and pretty good. That why my colleague (girls)when saw K5 in the road so this car so pretty look and strong looking. I totally agree this K5 very economic to buy and well look. Last sentence for this K5. “Kia K5 Optima is the Proud of Asians Car” Good Luck :)

• Wallace Choo on Nov 09, 2013 at 2:51 am

definitely looks better than most of the competitors’ D-segment in the market now. The 4-cluster LED fog lamps and better looking rear lamps.. At RM14xk, y not? although slightly under power..

*ignore this post if still want to talk bout RV, put aside RV in this case

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 15
    • Good job Kia! Definitely beautiful taillights, DRL, four-cluster LED array type, etc.

I always wonder why Proton can’t be more creative and innovative like Kia. Their cars are always boring looking (not bashing, but DAMN THEY DO LOOKS BORING).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 7
      • But specs are a lot better that the junk toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 6
      • (In case I wasn’t clear, I meant Proton is the boring car)

• Jinny on Nov 10, 2013 at 8:19 pm

Mazda 6 > 508 > Cerato > K5 > Teana > Accord > Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
          • I can’t wrap my head around the Mazda 6 man – it looks so ugly but at the same time it looks so pretty. How is this possible :p

• I think your definition for boring is lack of accessories, and interior details. Is it right? Because if you mean about engine, I think Kia also very boring in that term.. But if you mean about interior design and their innovation in accessories, then I absolutely agree.. Proton need TO learn from Kia

• Bro – to answer your question about why Proton can’t design cars as nice as this:

KIA took the risk to hire Peter Schreyer from Audi as their chief designer and also realised that it’s a good idea to create an maintain a design studio based in Europe because that’s where the knowledge pool of automotive designers are.

IMO Proton is too fixated on making a “Malaysian Car” which means no European design studio and a loooooong learning curve with regards to design. It’s good to do it locally, but the price you pay is that your designs are going to suck for a long time before it gets better.

IMO it’s better to opt for the shortcut by bringing in European designers and knowledge transferring to locals over the long term – that way you get cool cars now and you build a local talent pool for the future.

• Also to add on – I don’t know if Proton can afford it or if the government is willing to partially fund a design studio that isn’t directly employing a Malaysian majority…

• alldisc on Nov 11, 2013 at 6:30 pm

cars designed by malaysian
          waja – did well in malaysia but not oversea.
          gen2 – failed
          savvy – failed
          satria neo – failed

but….
          persona rear end designed by korean consultant
          saga BLM – korean consultant
          exora – korean consultant
          preve – bertone

need to say more?

• fraz006 on Nov 10, 2013 at 5:53 pm

i beg to differ lah. 4 cluster looks weird. i like the long horizontal led, make the face looks wider and proper

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 11, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Clear acknowledgement that kimchi have no RV here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • Maserati on Nov 09, 2013 at 7:29 am

Dont know why, but this kia k5 looks so damn boring already. Even this facelift looks terribly boring. Korean cars age way too fast!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 131
    • You are right on Nov 09, 2013 at 8:54 am

For once, I agree with Maserati. K5 doesn’t have the long lasting look. Got bored with it after 1 month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 93
      • Ya. Current camry suits you better, as it nv been called handsome before so you wont feel it ages fast as it has already aged when it was newly launched…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 15
        • Low Budget on Nov 09, 2013 at 9:37 pm

In USA, Camry is mainly bought by people above 50 year old. Only Toyota Camry can excite the old Americans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
    • Camry exciting? on Nov 09, 2013 at 9:00 am

Still better than Camry firs cone out. Day 1 already cannot stand looking at it. The rear 2 big square lights reminded me of looking at 2 ipad minis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 34
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 11, 2013 at 2:43 pm

1 year later when you try to trade in your cabbage, even your mum can stand looking at your hailat face

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
    • Ya meh? I still turn my head whenever a K5 pass by me..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 27
    • The same can be said of the Camry too, which is launched later than the Optima. Even the previous-gen Camry looks better than the current one. The Japanese (with the exception of Mazda) tend to be conservative in styling to appeal to their traditional customer base.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 9
    • If thats a personal opinion than I don’t mind, I still think it looks bloody handsome. Just that the K5 has become a more familiar sight on the road and that has dullen our view on the car, its not as unique anymore. Take for example, if half the population drives a Ferrari F12, than a F12 will look boring, and if there is only 3 Camry sold since launch(and I know many hope for this) than the Camry will look rather unique on our roads.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 8
      • Takki on Nov 09, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Agreed and well said.

• Enthu on Nov 09, 2013 at 9:17 pm

you have no idea about “styles that aged well” do you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
        • Its very rare to have a “styles that aged well”, 250 SWB, 330 P4 and the absolutely f**pable Jaguar Low Drag Coupe(dont google search this as it is too sexy for most eyes). But even than, if most of this is mainstream, than chances are most people will walk by it give just a quick look, before continueing on.

Nowadays cars have extra ways on attracting attention and this applies to the Kia K5 as well; bright LED DRL.We are naturally, in the morning, attracted to anything bright, and the Kia has one of the brightest I have ever seen on a production car, it will certainly attract the needed attention.

• True that. The formula is simple; the ‘cool factor’ is inversely proportional to mainstream recognition.

Like how Apple was cool in 2008, but nowadays, every little kid has an iPhone. No more ‘cool factor’ already. -__- On the other hand, if you still have a Nokia 3310 today, you’re totally awesome and cool. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
        • -off topic-
          I would really one to have one of those Japanese slim flip-phones, something like the original Motorola Razr. Now most phone on the markets are too big for my hands(yes small hands here). But I have grown fond on the convenience on watching shows and reading articles on smartphones to really let go.

• Kinda agree with this. When I’m in KL and I see a Jaguar XF, I stop what I’m doing and just keep looking at the XF. Then when I went to Singapore – there were Jag XFs everywhere so I ended up just giving it a passing glance…

… until the XJ came driving by. :)

• funny how nobody mentions the fugly accord, the painfully boring camry, or the shoebox Vw jetta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
  • hadi hamzah on Nov 09, 2013 at 9:17 am

Four cluster LED fog light?hurm JV with blackberry ke?huhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • norman on Nov 09, 2013 at 9:19 am

Korean automotive merketing very aggressive but still lacking in their motorcycle bussiness compared to Japanese or Europe,Their HYOSUNG & Kymco bikes need at least 4 years for facelift!Compared GT650 & Kawasaki ER650 its way apart

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
    • Gegary on Nov 09, 2013 at 10:39 am

hmm.. what’s that word, let me think. Oh, yeah:

OFF-TOPIC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
    • Theanswer on Nov 09, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Gt650 is one of the best selling bike in oz and europe. And kymco manufactured scooter under bmw badge.

• kimi fans on Nov 09, 2013 at 10:09 am

It has a good looking, but not fun to drive comparing to same segment cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 31
    • dugong on Nov 09, 2013 at 11:37 am

So, are you implying that camry, accord or teana a better drive then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
      • Enthu on Nov 09, 2013 at 9:17 pm

are you that blur?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
        • cynical on Nov 09, 2013 at 11:52 pm

facepalm.. it’s a rethorical question. but since you didn’t get it in the first place, i suggest you look it up

• Gary Yap on Nov 09, 2013 at 10:24 am

OTT part 2, it appeals to teenagers but I can’t see senior executives choosing this blingy D-seg sedan over more established brands. Kia is better making small cars that little boys buy after exhausting their quotas of Proton and Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
    • True – this is a “nice looking car for a lower than usual price” for people who want a nice big car but don’t want to spend too much on it.

I suppose the step up from this would be the Volkswagen CC if it’s status you’re after.

• Really wise if they keep the current price.. bt who knows if G tell them to jack up the price so one day G cn reduce price and tell us jnji d tepati.. peace..

• Cutter on Nov 09, 2013 at 11:38 am

I found a BlackBerry logo at the front fog light.

• TIGER Q7 on Nov 09, 2013 at 11:43 am

this car deserves Turbo charge engine(petrol OR Diesel)then its really fun to drive as normal Multi point injection MPI injection engine with RM 140k price is not worth and KIA MALAYSIA should listen this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano on Nov 09, 2013 at 11:44 am

The K5 Optima is just one of the best looking family sedans in the sub 200k market. I can’t believe we’ve had it in MY for 2 years, cause compared to other models like the Camry and Accord, it still turns heads.

Only the Mazda 6 and 508 can compete with it in terms of beauty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 17
    • tuntan on Nov 09, 2013 at 10:35 pm

Yeah, but if you buy the 508, be prepared for really high maintenance bills as the car has so many problems …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Fahmi on Nov 10, 2013 at 12:30 am

I agree with you, though IMHO, 508 looks conservative compared to striking Kia Optima and Mazda6… On the flipside, the 508 has the Euro (French) flair which the two don’t have.. Besides, I also think that Kia Optima’s design ages better than Hyundai Sonata…

• Not much change, but thats a good thing, the K5 has always been a handsome vehicle. Not too sure about moving the LED DRL to above the lights, I do not like it in the FL Sorento, so not sure on this.

So sharp K-pop star, sexy Geisha, and the inconspecious working man. Man the D-segment has never look this good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Wait who’s who?

K-Pop Star -> K5
      Sexy Geisha -> Mazda 6 ?
      Inconspecious working man -> Camry / Accord?

• Yeah the first two is correct, I had the Accord in mind for the Inconspecious working man. I like it, I still ,contrary to most(ben),I struggle to find the ugliness in it that everyone speaks of. I only find it non-exciting, but other than that there is nothing wrong with it really, just Honda playing it too safe.
        [opinions may differ]

• Manager/Director = Camry / Accord

• Paul, where is the article of the K5 and Camry comparison as shown in your photo gallery?

• showmetheranger on Nov 09, 2013 at 1:24 pm

From the photo, clearly the K5 is better looking than the camry, not surprising as Camry is the bottom dweller in D segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 09, 2013 at 8:38 pm

That’s an old archive photo from my old magazine days. Here’s an excerpt of the article:

“First impressions are king and while the Toyota requires you to overlook its appearance and dowdy interior to appreciate its solid core qualities, the Kia needs no such predicament.

If style and perceived sportiness are your prime concerns, buy the visually impressive Kia Optima K5. But if comfort, handling and refinement are what you’re after, get the Toyota Camry. It is, surprisingly, the more rewarding drive.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • Hi Hafriz, do agree camry might give you more comfy drive and has better refinement. But don’t forget K5 is priced at 14xk, in this case we are comparing to camry 2.0, with the poor equipment list and weaker active/passive safety feature of camry 2.0. I would say choosing K5 is still a right move. Even crash test, K5 is better than camry(check out IIHS).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • fenzo on Nov 09, 2013 at 5:07 pm

For about the same price better get Peugeot 508 turbo. Premium looks and drive too. Now I’ve heard they offering good year end discount on 508.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • Simba on Nov 09, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Not really. The Peugeot 508 is an awful car. You will regret if you buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Maserati on Nov 09, 2013 at 9:07 pm

After looking through several video reviews on this new car, I hope Malaysians won’t fall into the trap of buying this car. Lousy handling, exterior that’s easily outdated, ugly interior, poor fuel consumption and bad resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 47
    • Fahmi on Nov 09, 2013 at 9:56 pm

Hope Malaysians won’t fall into the trap of “Toyota Vios” which have only 2 airbags, no ESP and antiquated drivetrain…. Only good thing is resale value and reliability… Handling? AFAIK, Honda City and Proton Preve handles better than Vios POS… Look how many Vios have become “airborne” on sides of our roads…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
    • The exterior styling worries me a bit – it might be too good for it’s own good. They need to develop an “evolutionary design language” such that the next model looks similar yet improves on the current version – like how Mercedes does with their cars these days.

• This Anol Alias guy…. is he working for JPJ or what ? I think he’s leaked sypshots of four or five cars at JPJ Putrajaya already. Keep em coming man. hahaha

Looking forward to the launch ! See what kind of safety standards the Optima FL will get, but judging from the Picanto, I have my hopes set very high.

• Fahmi on Nov 09, 2013 at 9:46 pm

I think Kia should get a 2.4 variant as well as cheaper, lower spec variant (with full safety gear) to attract more sales… I think single model line doesn’t cut it, need multiple trim lines (3/4) to give more choices for the consumer like most D-segment cars here…

• gudang on Nov 10, 2013 at 12:21 am

Don’t think cost concious malaysian will like to pay 2.4 road tax. 2.0 will still be the top seller.

• Fahmi on Nov 11, 2013 at 2:34 pm

Most will opt for 2.0 here, but there are some who opt for bigger engine … Statistically the top selling variants of Accord and Camry are 2.0VTi-L and 2.0G respectively, but 2.4VTi-L and 2.5V “flagship” still attract some buyers.. There are many other examples as well which includes Kia Optima’s twin, Hyundai Sonata which have 2.0, 2.0HS and 2.4HS..

• they’re unable to bring the 2.4 model most probably due to our fuel quality

• Fahmi on Nov 11, 2013 at 2:25 pm

I think there’s an MPI (not GDI) version sold in some developing markets.. It produces 176 hp (131 kW; 178 PS) at 6,000 rpm and 168 lb·ft (228 N·m) of torque at 4,000 rpm compared to 198 hp (148 kW; 201 PS)-200 hp (149 kW; 203 PS) and 184 lb·ft (249 N·m) -186 lb·ft (252 N·m) of torque for GDI version..

MPI-Multi point injection
        GDI-Gasoline direct injection

• Asked KIA SC recently, they mentioned that the new Kia K5 price will boost up to 155k. I think even more expensive then Toyota Camry.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 10, 2013 at 10:47 am

Can’t even get a trade in price for Kia nowadays.

Buy Hyundai instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
  • Prospect on Nov 10, 2013 at 1:35 am

No GPS unit in this price bracket, is a big let down for me. I heard the ride of last version is harsh, can anyone confirm?

• K5owner on Nov 10, 2013 at 8:41 am

As a 3 months owner, i would say its still acceptable as its wearing 18″ wheels and rubbers. The benefit from it is the more precise steering, even though the steering is still comfy bias and has filtered quite some road feedback. My advice is give yourself a test drive and see if you like it or not. Look wise, till now i still like it very much, i can stand from distance and observe its look like its somebody else car parking at the road side :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 10, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Another 3 more months, you will want to get rid of this cabbage, coz your colleagues will look down on your, you bosses stops trusting you, your family and friends give you a funny look.

Bad news is that used car dealers will not accept trade-ins for Kia’s anymore. Only Hyundais

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 33
      • maserrattiShameLoo on Nov 22, 2013 at 2:11 pm

Small kid talk so sour like kurang ajar from parents. Sam family member can only afford saga and let them to continue to be jealous of what they cant afford. Work harder Budak Sam.

• Utilitities on Apr 27, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Keep it coming sam.. It’ll make people despise toyota more and more… Thanks to you..

• kiafan on Nov 10, 2013 at 2:09 am

this car definitely better looking than proton accord

• accord fan on Nov 10, 2013 at 1:54 pm

accord has better interior and finishing than this, camry, mazda6, sonata n teana..may be its exterior and specs is a bit outdated

• 100k ringgit car and seriously no GPS ah? Car looks awesome lah, but GPS is a must these days for any cars with a screen type head unit

In fact, personally I think that cars that cost as much as K5 (140 – 150) should come with Android head units with Google Play access so that I can customise my driving experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Utilitities on Apr 27, 2014 at 2:59 pm

If you can afford this car, surely you can afford a smartphone too. Then Waze is a better alternatives to a built-in GPS.. the speed trap, accident, slow traffic etc info is just great thanks to the Wazean community, something seldomly found in a built-in GPS..no?

• Utilitities on Apr 27, 2014 at 3:00 pm

IMO, if you can afford this car, surely you can afford a smartphone too. Then Waze is a better alternatives to a built-in GPS.. the speed trap, accident, slow traffic etc info is just great thanks to the Wazean community, something seldomly found in a built-in GPS..no?

• nighttrain on Nov 10, 2013 at 10:50 pm

New perdana replacement, very sexy amd curvy. LED headlights summore. 7 airbags, satnav, active pedestrian safety, VSC, 7 speed getrag, machine gun and flamethrower. Wait for it.

• the camry looks even crappier being placed beside the k5 in the picture

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 11, 2013 at 10:58 am

The Camry owner can easily trade in the car 3 years later at 75% of the ori purchase price.

The Sonata owner can get around 50% of the ori price within a year

The K5 owner can’t even get a trade in price, unless it is sold as scrap metal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
    • Fahmi on Nov 11, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Where I can buy your “cheap Kia”? I wish to buy one for each of my family members as Camry is too expensive for me…

• breaL on Nov 11, 2013 at 9:38 pm

it is very important for you to sell your car as soon as you buy it…remember that

• protonfag on Nov 11, 2013 at 11:50 am

close competitor for proton accord

• panadoll on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:15 pm

the tucson park beside facelift k5 is a tucson facelift, i bet ainol didn’t notice it..

• AudiOwner on Nov 15, 2013 at 10:40 pm

K5 the proud of Asian Car

• ForteOwner on Dec 25, 2013 at 1:59 am

I wonder is it CVVT(Valve Timing) or stated CVVL(Valve Lift)…is alot worth by buying CVVL than CVVT, as CVVL are alot more powerful than CVVT

• sinopsis film homefront on Jan 02, 2014 at 9:00 pm

What i don’t understood is in fact how you are now not really much more neatly-favored than you
    may be right now. You are very intelligent. You realize therefore considerably
    in relation to this matter, produced me individually believe it from so many numerous angles.
    Its like men and women don’t seem to be fascinated unless it is one
    thing to do with Lady gaga! Your personal stuffs nice.

All the time care for it up!