2014 Toyota Corolla Altis officially launched

Toyota Corolla Altis launch-4

UMW Toyota Motor has officially launched the 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis – the Thai-built 11th-generation Corolla debuts here in three variant forms, a baseline 1.8E, a 2.0G and range-topping 2.0V.

Looks-wise, the new car is a much sharper looking proposition – the frontal styling is certainly rakish. Viewed from the side, the new Altis has a longer profile that is visually ‘extended’ by a long straight character line that runs from front to back.

At the rear, the flow of the rear chrome garnish, combination lamps and character lines are seamlessly connected, with the trunk lid and rear bumper forming a continuous surface.

Measuring in at 4,620 mm long, 1,776 mm wide and 1,460 mm tall, the new car has a wider and lower profile – length is 80 mm longer than the previous car, and width is up by 16 mm. Wheelbase has been increased by 100 mm to 2,700 mm to enhance cabin space. Boot space, meanwhile, is 470 litres (VDA).

Toyota Corolla Altis launch-29

The increased wheelbase translates to increased space for the rear occupants, with rear seat knee clearance up by an additional 92 mm. The rear seats are 60:40 split foldable and can also recline for added flexibility.

The design of the seats has also been improved, with enhanced support and grip for the body with increased seat-to-body contact – among the changes are extra bulges to the seat bolster to enhance fitting comfort on the lower back.

The 2.0V front seats come with a sports design with added shoulder, torso and hip padding and driver eight-way power seat, while the 2.0G and 1.8E are equipped with a six-way manual adjustment front seats.

In terms of powertrains, the 1.8E wears a 2ZR-FE 1.8 litre unit, with 139 PS at 6,400 rpm and 173 Nm at 4,000 rpm, while the 2.0 litre variants feature the 3ZR-FE, which has 145 PS at 6,200 rpm and 187 Nm at 3,600 rpm for output numbers.

Toyota Corolla Altis launch-22

All three variants are shod with a CVT ‘box with seven-speed sports sequential shift, but the transmissions are different – the one in the 2.0 has been carried over, with a revised control unit, while the one in the 1.8E is new to our market.

Standard kit across the range includes front and rear fog lamps, three-spoke leather-wrapped steering wheel with audio controls, a leather-wrapped gearshift, a windscreen featuring acoustic glass, front/rear parking sensors and automatic air conditioning.

As for upholstery, the 2.0V features black combination leather lined with fine white stitching, while the 2.0G and 1.8E comes with fabric in two shades (black and dark grey pattern). The audio console on the 2.0V is finished in what is called a ‘Cyber-Carbon’ effect, while the one on the 2.0G and 1.8E is in Piano Black.

Other differentiation points – the 2.0V comes with LED projector-type headlamps with DRLs and automatic levelling, while the 2.0G and 1.8E are equipped with halogen headlamps with manual levelling. As for wheels, both the 2.0G and 1.8 E Altis wear 16-inch alloys and 205/55 profile tyres, while the 2.0V is equipped with a 17-incher and 215/45 rubbers.

Toyota Corolla Altis launch-28

The 2.0V and 2.0G are equipped with a DVD-AVX two-DIN audio system as standard – the system incorporates a DVD player and a seven-inch touchscreen display as well as Smartphone link and a reverse camera. The 1.8E, meanwhile, also has a two-DIN head unit, but incorporating a CD player.

While the 2.0G and 1.8E have a regular keyed-ignition, the 2.0V features push-start ignition. It also has auto electro-chromic rearview mirror, cruise control and VSC/traction control. Optional for the 2.0V is an “Additional Safety Package,” which bumps the airbag count to seven, a class-leading figure, at an additional cost of RM3,900.

Five colours are available for the new Altis – White Pearl CS, Silver Metallic, Attitude Black and two newly-introduced shades – Grey Metallic and Dark Brown Mica Metallic.

The 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis is priced at RM114,000 for the 1.8E, RM123,000 for the 2.0G and RM136,000 for the top-of-the-range 2.0V, all on-the-road with insurance. As with all models offered by UMW Toyota Motor, the Altis comes with a three-year or 100,000 km warranty.

Read our full test drive report here: 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V Review.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• THE BEST CAR MONEY CAN BUY !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 215 Thumb down 126
    • fatchicken on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:38 pm

finally a toyota that can smoke the golf gti anytime anyday! moving forward!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 134
      • Timun and Pumbaa on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:31 pm

I can’t stop laughing

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 21
        • I know, you try to indicate that golf gti is only as fast as a tow truck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 9
          • Cerato FTW on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Cerato > Corolla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 41
          • carlies on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Just saw this from show room. A great improvement of the design and well done Toyota! The most spacious C segment ever and the outlook is really eye catching!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 25
      • das auto on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:58 pm

That is impossible to happen even in your dreams! Hahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
      • ReDKnight AHA on Feb 06, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Haha..Dude yo donno a shit abt GTI do you? Mummies boy. Your post seriously reflect you knowledge about car..none.

• Kia salesman on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Oh no..our boss just told us that year 2014 we have to eat Kangkung for lunch for this whole year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 38
      • Toyota junior sales man on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Your so call boss is junior sales man from toyota. This uncle just sent his resume to Kia after seeing ridiculous price and quality of altis.he is Sam, not boss. He dream only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 37
    • yourr atthhhh the best !!!! no Xenon lights and not powerful enough compare to Ford Focus and Mazda 3. so Ah beng la this car

• AutoFrenz on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:12 pm

…and the legend lives on…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 37
  • niaulong on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:15 pm

No Money No safety
    U give me more money
    We give u 7 bobby
    Deal?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
    • Gentleman on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:49 pm

I think I will go for 2.0 with added Safety Features.

RM140k in total.
      Traction Control TCS, Stability Control VSC
      7 airbags.

2000cc seems good in terms of torque. Max torque at lower RPM will be great for heavy load.

RM20k extra compared to Cerato.
      Worth it:
      – Most Reliable brand 2013 @ American Consumer report.
      – Superior Finishing and comfortable.
      – Better Service from service Centre.
      – more airbags.
      – Got traction Control while Cerato dont have.
      – more spacious and headroom too.
      – very low maintance cost.

Good Quality at extra cost- Just Worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 87
      • vader on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Typical sam family junior sales man group comments. What a joke of the day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 25
        • NormalPeople on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:48 pm

I dont see whats funny honestly. Gentleman might be right actually. Would u save 20k or get those extra? Unless you are too poor for car of this segment, i think paying extra 20k would be a sensible choice

Add Ons : Resale value would end up cover up the extra cost you spend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 20
          • Obviously on Feb 05, 2014 at 9:52 am

So you want to feed Toyota’s mentality that safety should be a premium even at this price? It isn’t a sensible choice. The safety package SHOULD be standard throughout the range, or at least offered as an option throughout the product range.

It is a lose-lose situation. Buying the Altis at all will tell Toyota that people don’t care about car safety, encouraging them to continue to offer 2 airbag cars as standard to the Msia market. Buying the Altis with the added safety package will tell Toyota that people don’t mind paying a costly premium for the added safety so they will continue to milk their loyal customers.

I’ll leave you to decide what your best option would be.

• Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2014 at 8:34 am

A 1 year old Celaka is a great alternative.

RM30k or so only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 12
  • HondaLover on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Only Altis can compare to my Civic.
    Cerato and Elantra?Pls dream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 114
    • Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:45 pm

But Celaka and Elantra can always be compared with Chinese and Indian car manufacturers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 56
    • Honda officially became kangkung car already, boycott Honda!!! support Toyota,Nissan n Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 65
    • SayTrue on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Elantra is 2013 the best selling car No.4 ….
      Where is Civic????
      Later Proton make Civic Become Proton Waja…careful man…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 33
  • Sam Lou on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Bravo to Toyota…!!

Even the price twice expensive than Preve and without 6 months free installments, it’s still by far the best buy for a Toyota car…

Due to tongkat nature of our car market, buying Toyota is a safe-heaven to protect your purchase against resale value drop…anytime your Toyota 5 years old still keep above 70% resale value…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 69
  • Super RV on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Smart move by UMW.
    You see this Altis just launch in Thailand n S’pore UMW already launch it.Unlike the stupid apek Tan Chong always launch a new model very late.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 5
  • Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Overprice junk.
    RM 136k car just have 2 airbags?And 7 airbags for Accord price?Sorry lah Cerato better,6 airbags n ESP across the range.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 63
    • Wah… Altis so overpriced until Sam Loo pun terasa. Good for you bro. :-)))

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 50
    • Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:44 pm

No Avatar means imposter

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 9
    • William on Sep 21, 2015 at 1:37 pm

Yes newer kia model like cerato k3 has a good spec with reasonable pricing

• Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:23 pm

No wonder so many K5,Cerato, Elantra & Sonata come into my yard this morning.

This is the norm when new sushi models are launched.

Gotta turn every single kimchi owner away, no trade in before CNY

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 41
    • kangkungjawi on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Pakcik, you mimpi lagi atau belum makan ubat? Jangan buat malu cakap macam budak kecil

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 74
    • Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Another K5 owner that has been shown the broomstick.

I really kesian you sor hais

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 12
      • vader on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Confirm ubat pun tak guna. Kasihan pakcik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 77
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:49 am

KIAowners confirm sakit jiwa oledi

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 25, 2014 at 12:56 pm

Don’t Worry about getting heart attacks once the trade in price of kimchis are read out to you.

We have a defibrillator in the office

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:22 pm

Confirm K5 owner that shown broomstick to before.

In fact after CNY, I will only open my boomgates to KIA Celaka owners first. K5 buggers gotta wait

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 6
  • Jayden Koo on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Proton added additional airbags on Preve without increase on price, but why still need to top up additional RM3K for this junk car? The based model itself is already freaky overprice. That’s ridiculous & absurd. I’m wondering if we can report this to National Consumer Complaints Centre.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 9
    • Toyota 4eva on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:53 pm

Please don’t bash without checking your facts, hokay. It’s RM3900, ‘xcuse me! Plus it’s only for 2.0V model, so all u miskin buggers who can’t afford top range model but want safety can look elsewhere. If u value reliability, like me, then buy Toyota. If accident and back passenger hurts/dies, can always claim insurance what? At least my car doesn’t breakdown, plus got RV summore!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 84
      • Niamatoyota on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:31 pm

The back passenger that dies could be your mother!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
      • gabriel on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:02 pm

so if your love ones dies in an accident…you go claim insurance la..and buy yourself another car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • das auto on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:39 pm

So money is more important than your family? I pity them. You can bring all the money with you to hell when you die then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
      • glaze on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:41 pm

he’s just being sarcasm lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • sudonano on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:26 pm

That’s the thing. Isn’t there a law to prevent ripping off customers?

• razakoss on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Toyota salesman surely busy at their showroom. Boasting that altis is better than civic, golf and even preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 49
    • Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Civic, Mazda3 and Corolla same league

K3, Elantra can only be compared with Geely/Great Wall/Dong Feng & Tata/Mahindra

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 50
      • das auto on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:44 pm

But why 2.0G at $123k still got no VSC when even 60k picanto has it? Conclusion toyota must be making toy cars comparable to tamiya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 83
      • Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Actually, all korean cars comes standard with VHL instead of VSC.

VHL=Very Hai Lat

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 18
    • jacksonljs on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:09 pm

It’s super duper busy for them (boasting how high the RV Toyota have, the rest all no RV), but 99.9% of their ‘platinum’ showroom visitors are time wasters (unless there’s VSC and traction control available as a standard equipment across the range, maybe 6 months – 1 year later from Camry’s experience, else no buy)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
  • While the 2.0G (RM123,000) and 1.8E (RM114,000) have a regular keyed-ignition. Kangkung ignition…╮(╯_╰)╭

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • SpongeWai on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:41 pm

ok, I’m going to see and snap it after work…

• Ugly interior, kosong spec for 1.8E&2.0G, no VSA for lower range model=failed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
  • james on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:02 pm

How to stop Toyota UMW ego?
    Answer: U, consumer should be the kingmaker. if there is no demand, they will come out with better spec/price…
    if it sell like hot cake, toyota will increase price in next generation!!
    please be united to teach Toyota UMW a lesson!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 5
  • lemer on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:18 pm

This overprice junk does come with safety features only highest model 2.0v. European cars and latest model proton cars equipped with safety package such as stability control, traction control, ebd and abs come as standard is not feature anymore just simple it is STANDARD this is the way car should be. However a lot of mis-informed and ignorant Malaysians they will buy this overprice Altis crap even though this car is not safe (except 2.0 v model). If I were Toyota/UMW boss, I would not equipped this car with safety package on sale in Malaysia either, knowing stupid Malaysians will sill buy it, less equipment to install the more revenue and the more merrier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 36
    • Kimchi Junior on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:10 pm

That is rite. That is why this car is for lantau Malaysians

• toyota_nice on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:33 pm

this is truly value-for-money car. pls dun forget from the tracked record, altis/corolla can serve you for more than 10yrs without giving you big headache. even nowadays, you still can see the very old version of corolla on the road and they still work like charm. so dun you still think it is overpriced? TOYOTA, MOVING FORWARD!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 45
    • Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:54 pm

And a 2003 Corolla Altis was traded in for RM45K and sold off for RM51k in Dec by my neighbouring yard.

This is indeed great RV

For Celaka, 1 year old unit can only fetch no more than RM30k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 30
      • utusan on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 186
        • Utusan on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 128
          • Sam de sorhai on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 120
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Then you must have been the most sorhai person in Malaysia.

Maybe you are a foreigner, coz Malaysians will be much smarter than that

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 17
      • Besi Buruk on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:05 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 197
        • Sam needs a doctor on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 168
        • Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:37 am

Liar Liar pants of fire

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 15
          • Sam de sorhai on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:56 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 140
          • Sam Toyota Sales Man on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 137
          • Sam Loo on Jan 23, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Its the people that have lost 70% of value of their car within 2 years that have thumbed you down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Uncle Sam only deals with used Hyundai.

Trading Toyota? Margin is too small. For kimchis like Elantra and Sonata, margin is at least RM10k in absolute money terms

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 11
        • Sam de sorhai on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 125
        • Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2014 at 11:15 pm

See, this is where the people with no business mind will forever be a tar kung chai.

Every market has its players. For T&H, dealers play the volume game.

For kimchis, as the risk is high and volume is low, we play the margin game

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
          • Sor Chai Sam on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:59 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 136
        • Sam Loo on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:51 am

That Japanese grape across the street, very sour one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
        • sam69 on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:57 am

Sam is correct all this while.

Korean cars not only have low resale value but is a career destroyer.

Never let your boss know that you drive a Korean Car, all promotions will go to someone else that does not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
      • who Is Sam? Harry The Greatest! on Jan 26, 2014 at 10:00 am

Ah Sam R…..wow 1 yr old Celaka costs only RM30K..either the Celaka kimchi car is crap or yoj are the biggest celaka.
        I will take up all your stocks of the Celaka of 1 yr old for RM30K each….u have or ot? Then I will double up my investment and later uy more houses and go for another European vacation.
        Sohai!

• Altis 2005 on Apr 05, 2014 at 11:46 am

Pls take my 2005 altis 1.8 for the same price that you took the 2003. No need to give me over trade. Deal?

• Don’t think 3 years or 100k warranty still relevant in bolehland..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • policeman on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Apa ini? Boot lid got no cover. Exposing the casing for wires near the hinge.

Low cost Inspira also got boot lid cover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • ‘The 2.0V also features push-start ignition, while the 2.0G and 1.8E have a regular keyed-ignition, auto electro-chromic rearview mirror, cruise control and VSC/traction control.’

Wait, wait wait, did I read that wrong or did that just noted that the 1.8E gets VSC as standard. If that’s the case than…..honestly I’m shocked. UMW, offering vsc on the lower spec car, damn Egypt will snow when that happens….oh wait.

Honestly if that is true than bravo, the corolla by itself is a step forward for Toyota ,sharper, more modern and thoroughly improved car. But vsc on the low spec is a step forward for UMW.

Unless I read that wrong, than correct me please and down vote me to oblivion as a blasphemy to paultan comment culture for praising a UMW product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • Paul Tan on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:14 pm

That was a mistake in sentence structure. Sorry. We have corrected it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • Yea I notice, thanks for making it clearer but it was my mistake for having too much faith in UMW to begin with, haha.

Need more coffee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Transformer on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Why still 114k???
    Where is that 30% cheaper NAP???

Kangkung pricing again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • TeacW7 on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Biasalah kangkung gov will tell you that price is already 30% cheaper. Actual price is more than that, LMAO..

• Okay after a cup of coffee I read and re-read the article. The overreaction I offered in my earlier comment seems to be one of the worst overreaction I’ve done in paultan and cross the line for praising UMW, so please down vote that

I still remain my view that the corolla is a step in the right direction for Toyota as a whole. But UMW being UMW placed the price way to high and the spec thou improve is severely lacking compared with the competition. True it has 7 airbags and vsc, which technically is the safest amongst its peers, but it’s also more expensive, a full RM30k(or a nice home makeover or a family trip to Europe) over the next safest car the amazing Cerato.

Put it this way, if you absolutely want that reliability and worry-free of a Toyota can give, UMW at least now sells a Toyota that has international level spec, but it will cost you and I do not really recommend it for the price. Shame if only Toyota sells that ASP for all the range than it might be a heavily recommended car, for now if you want a C-segment….I recommend either a Cerato or Civic hybrid. At least the Civic scores well in the Stringent IHS small frontal overlap test where the toyota……didn’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
  • Norman on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Pls pls dont compare this with Civic..each of them got pro and contras.Bravo to Toyota Thailand for making the car look fresh…Actually the 1.8 also not so bad in my opinion.The only way that Toyota can lose to Koreans is because of pricing and the gadgets theyre offering.Im waiting for the new FT Supra replacement,Look drollings!!Anyway i get the Altis over Vios anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Timun and Pumbaa on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Why the interior does really look cheap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • das auto on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Interior looks worse than proton standard…cheapskate materials. Better just buy persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • hatersgonnahate on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:05 pm

My dream car. Lul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Denaihati on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:09 pm

look much better than previous gen but three-year or 100,000 km only, many other manufacturer give 5 yrs with unlimited millage, hope umw toyota should consider very well. more over toyota genuine part quite expensive.

• superbird #43 on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:57 pm

i think i go for the woman cladded in black. :D

• das auto on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Centre console looks cheap like somebody punch there and bengkok. Maybe it melted in our hot weather. Better save money and buy polo sedan. Solid interior.

http://paultan.org/2014/01/20/2014-toyota-corolla-altis-officially-launched/toyota-corolla-altis-launch-37/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • dugong on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Sam Loo got pissed off with the poor quality interior and punched the centre console. Can see his fist markings there on the right side of the screen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • the stering look ugly

• diamond on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:37 pm

only highest spec got DRl???

• setscrew on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Wow, nice…err…I mean the chics, not the car. no car without VSC would be in my shopping list.

• Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 163
    • sam69 on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:08 pm

You dun sound like Sam, definitely an imposter.

I am one of the K5 owners that is so ker lian until have to rent a Camry for CNY. Can’t stand the being looked down feeling anymore

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 11
  • Cowrolla on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Inside out this Corolla got upper hand compared to it competitions. Two departments that make the purchase a bit unwise.

1. Pricing. Too premium despite fewer amenities than Civic. Unless they sell for RM106k or lower for 1.8E: don’t buy

2. Lack of safety features. No TCS ESP 2 airbags

For comparo in Thailand 1.8E retail at RM84K while in Malaysia RM114K, good RM30K different!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • johnliew on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:11 pm

probably ford focus will be better choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • Chow 1 on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Just checked out the car in showroom. Big improvement from old model. Much more comfortable seats. Looks gorgeous in metal until you forget it’s a very ’empty’ car. Talking about the cheapest model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Suprimau on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Suprima can smoke this altis anytime anyday baby…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • Cronies Hater on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Donno why, Kia or Hyundai, they just let me think of Naza & Inokom, which are the cronies of UMNO. Therefore I will prefer Toyota, at least it does not smells like UMNO cronies…

Are they (Kia/Hyundai) now still under the cronies’ umbrella?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • Archangel on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:02 pm

Overall the design is good but the pricing strategy is not good.

• The safety package of 1.8E and 2.0G is below my 2005 1.8G Altis… No point to downgrade the car…

• Fedix on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:40 am

The exterior..impresive compare to older model.. The interior.. Dissapointing.. Overall 140k for that…nightmare

• eAtMySmOkE on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:48 am

Interior & Exterior looks good, but the only thing is steering wheel looks so ugly. Prefer no button at all rather having it with empty slot on the right………..puuuuuuiiiii

• Nasi lemak on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:27 am

C’mon stop bragging bout safety feature. Msia ppl buy car jz think about the resale value!

• Jebat on Jan 21, 2014 at 11:00 am

Proton Accordana is still a better car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Modesto.hann on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:51 pm

UMW has no choice but to sell altis with better spec to capture its market share for the next few years. Government will stop hybrid incentive, which will mean UMW will lose sales of good products like Prius and Camry hybrid. Unlike honda, they can easily turn around with ckd hybrid model and still manage to enjoy good tax exemption facility for their hybrid models.

• designer toyota buat design paling malas..itu je yg aku boleh ckp

• apparau on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:40 am

Exterior is elegant n sporty look but interior lousy design n looks very simple. Shame to call 11th generation car :-(

• Kimchi Junior on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:04 pm

A great car for lantau Malaysians

• Kuinosan on Jan 24, 2014 at 1:04 am

All these Toyota nut heads talk rubbish and without substance and proof. So don’t feed them with angry response as they are just jealous that Korean cars have put a dent into their annual sales as per the figures shown on the statistics table comparing sales for cars for year 2012 and 2013. If you Toyota salesmen were to be educated enough to read up on the Malaysian Automobile Sales Figure Table for year 2012 and 2013, you will realize how stupid and clueless you guys are about Korean cars. Korean cars have almost double in sales figures whereas Toyota suffered a massive dip in sales. So there you have it, official facts and figures don’t lie whereas all the empty and demonizing talk about Korean cars by Toyota salesmen out there are just plain lies and mere cheap talk. Cheers dumbas*es!

• Sam Loo on Jan 24, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Korean Cars will only dent the bank accounts of their owners, but surely make mine fatter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • reuben on Jan 24, 2014 at 7:57 pm

Hi. Sifu. Why toyota removed optional accessory – aerokit for the altis 2014?

• reuben on Jan 24, 2014 at 7:59 pm

i mean UMW

• who Is Sam? Harry Is Greatest! on Jan 24, 2014 at 10:20 pm

Toyota is great lah…UMW is sohai la….u guys talk stupidly without using ur brains la… UMW is only making Toyota look lousy…..if only Toyota Japan take concern and action against UMW.
    I own a Camry 2.4v and a kimchi (lets not mention which make and model…give them kimchi some face)…kimchi cars works fine but after few years ar…rattling here and there, engine singing louder and louder …something i dont experience with my camry….
    Oh yeah i only buy 2nds ….. not so sohai to be paying so much for something that is supposed to be so little….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 25, 2014 at 11:30 am

Even in Colombo, buyers will only go for kimchi coz they are dirt cheap (the ones Sam brings in).

But don’t think this will last, as Sri Lankans have discovered lately that owning a kimchi is more expensive in terms of TCO, something that sorhai Malaysians do not know how to compare

• who Is Sam? Harry the greatest! on Jan 25, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Majority of Malaysian are sohai…dont know how to calculate or count. You know why? Because all want face ar! Face value is so important that they will still pay so much for a brand new car nomatter what make it is. Then later they say..aiya no budget for this or for that ar….everthing is going up in price but spending $$$in cars never did stop. What to do! Sohai mah….
        Buy 2nds is the wise and best choice….thats when you dont pay so sO SO much for something that is supposed to be cheap and afforble.
        Mind you, I paid cash below NZ$10K for a Rav4. You wont even be able to buy a Myvi vor that kind of money. And I also paid cash for a Ford which was in such good condition even better than a brand new Preve for only NZ$4K. So, i will say majority of Malaysian are real sohai forking so much of their hard earn money for craps.
        Do you guys know how much a brand new Ford Focus is in NZ? Go check it out!
        Back in Malaysia I will strongly pay for 2nds……well having face value will not be able to feed you leh… so i am not one of those sohai la. With the extra money i saved …welll i can buy myself another 2nd car or another house or houses and go for an Europe trip which others will feel envious because they are Ll sohai stucked paying for their monthly repayments….for 9 year…..ahahaha…. dig that!

• Gentleman on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:19 pm

2nd hand.

We have no time to continuously send our car for repair..

We want high peace of mind.

While New car depreciate, Old car continue to depreciate too..

Hence, we Buy New car.

• who Is Sam? Harry The Greatest! on Feb 22, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Yes, you hVe a point there but pls let me ask you….have you ever owned any 2nds before? How patience were you looking for a 2nds? How well do you take care of your car? Etc…..
            I have owned so many 2nds and they are all good 2nds …not those that you have mentioned. Anyway, its a waste of time explaining to sohai who would want to tKe the easy way out…typical Malaysian…
            That is why why so many Malaysians are indebted to the banks for their entire lives because they have such shallow knowledge and mentality…. and that is why I, Harry the great continue to enjoy luxury lifestyles….whereby many of you are always counting to your last dollar for survival…
            I rest my case…… go ahead spending your last penny for a car which is supposed to be cheap and reasonable and continue to worry about your monthly repayments not just for the car but also your redit cards!

• who Is Sam? Harry The Greatest! on Feb 22, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Yes, you hVe a point there but pls let me ask you….have you ever owned any 2nds before? How patience were you looking for a 2nds? How well do you take care of your car? Etc…..
            I have owned so many 2nds and they are all good 2nds …not those that you have mentioned. Anyway, its a waste of time explaining to sohai who would want to tKe the easy way out…typical Malaysian…
            That is why why so many Malaysians are indebted to the banks for their entire lives because they have such shallow knowledge and mentality…. and that is why I, Harry the great continue to enjoy luxury lifestyles….whereby many of you are always counting to your last dollar for survival…
            I rest my case…… go ahead spending your last penny for a car which is supposed to be cheap and reasonable and continue to worry about your monthly repayments not just for the car but also your redit cards!

• SpotDiablo on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:02 pm

143hp ? Traction control for what ? Ah Pek brand for Ah Pek’s.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:44 am

KIA owner sakit jiwa oledi

• better get the cerato….or the vtil accord..got more spaces just add about 10k……but go and get this if u willing to spend ur $$$ only for the T badge,…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 25, 2014 at 11:25 am

A 1 year old Cerato @RM30k is indeed very attractive

• ayamas on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:44 am

baik beli rumah lagi baguih daaa

• Who is Sam? Harry the Greatest! on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Betul ayamas. Tapi di neagara ini ada banyak sohai…beli kereta dari beli rumah.

Banyak kawan macam tu..kereta mewah mahal tapi rumah teruk and selalu tak cukup duit. Memang sohai.

Just read my posting above….memang ada sohai dislike my comments. Like ke dislike ke tu tak penting to me…apa yang penting memang ada orang yang lebih pentingkan kereta dari yang lain….

• ReDKnight AHA on Feb 06, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Dont Forget those with nice car..but live in a tree hahaha..Jokinglah.ON serious note, some ppl balance it lah, nice hse, but more on cars. Preferenceslah..no harm rite. Measure ourselves dont ape others.

• Prius is my lover on Feb 11, 2014 at 11:38 am

I totally agreed with you Malaysia car price is superb high and we Malaysian want peace of mind for repair need to pay high price for non- national car unlike other countries but it is not our fault, it is mamakutty fault. After 30 years, the adult still look like new born baby. What can we do?
        This is the reason why I buy Toyota Prius, no tax.

• Aziana on Feb 05, 2014 at 4:21 pm

nice car..

• no money no talk