Volkswagen Passat updated with more kit, RM171k

???????????

The Volkswagen Passat has been given a minor update in Malaysia – the D-segment sedan now has Bluetooth, audio streaming, 12-way electrically-adjustable front seats with driver memory, electric folding wing mirrors and an anti-theft alarm with electronic immobiliser.

Other than those additional features, the rest of the car has similar specs. Same 160 PS/250 Nm 1.8 TSI, same seven-speed DSG. Candy White, Light Brown, Reflex Silver, Deep Black, Black Oak Brown and Icelandic Grey body colours are available.

The updated Passat is open for booking at RM170,817, OTR without insurance – about RM20k less than the CBU Passat Sport.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• asrul on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:24 am

new features, old problems

DAS FAIL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 16
    • LOLOLOL on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:41 am

DSG BRO, not DAS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 99
      • wakakaka on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:49 am

That just made my day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
        • tupac on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:26 pm

There goes the Naza salesmen again. Mostly trolls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
          • Najib Razak on Apr 11, 2014 at 3:29 pm

HAHAAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHA

• Car Enthusiast on Apr 14, 2014 at 2:53 pm

They can make all the updates but the DSG is still the same. Still hearing my friends with 2014 DSG breaking down so often. So, the DSG is not a pre 2013 problem. It is also a 2014 problem.

VW Germany already admit on May 08 2013, all their DSG boxes, whether its 2013 or earlier years strictly cannot handle 1) Hot Asian Climate 2) Asian traffic jams otherwise prone to non stop breakdowns. This is an admission in black and white. What this means is that, their DSG cars CANNOT be sold in Malaysia at all unless you want to use the car in the night only when it is cooling and got no jam.

For existing DSG owners, there is no way around it. Even the recent global mass recalls cannot sort this problem out. They will just put in a new DSG box when they recall but ALL the DSG boxes by Borg Warner are inherently defective.

How can I trust a car company who denied for years there was nothing wrong with their DSG until the China government came down hard on them?

So, a reminder again, the DSG cars should not have been sold or to be sold in Malaysia in the first place. You can use this car in Europe but a big NO in Malaysia. As earlier said, unless you use the car ONLY at night (when it is cooling) and there is NO traffic jam.

Pity current DSG owners. Their prices are going to have a free fall plummetting to ridiculous levels. Bargain hunters can now buy a 2012 Golf or Passat for less than RM90k because everybody knows about the DSG problems. Its all over the VW facebook page. Most owners are mad that to replace their DSG box takes 3 months. So, 3 months no car!

VW owners must do a class action suit against VW Malaysia. They knew about this problem for years but persisted in selling still right up to APril 2014 DSG cars. In overseas, people are suing because it is a danger. Many people accident and die because halfway overtaking DSG lose power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Tyler Durden on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:51 am

I think the joke was “DAS AUTO = DAS FAIL”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 160 Thumb down 8
      • DAS auto dude

• CLUBUXXX on Apr 15, 2014 at 4:34 pm

DAS AUTO BRO…LOL

• SYAFIQ on Apr 15, 2014 at 4:50 pm

DAS AUTO…BRO..LOL

• CLUBUXX on Apr 16, 2014 at 7:23 am

DAS AUTO BRO….WHAT HE MEANT

• Same Lor Orii on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:49 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 133
      • So many armchair critics, no actual car owner, so how to believe?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 14
        • Rhys Milen on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:38 pm

All owners now crying in silence …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
          • Kimi Raikkonen on Apr 14, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Owner here. Don’t understand what’s the fuss about the DSG. One or two customers having problems and the world act like DSG is some sort of plague.

Let me tell you people one thing – DSG is the future. It’s efficient, it’s effective. Perhaps not so reliable (for some owners) but faultless to me.

Once you’ve gotten used to the Auto-Hold feature and the directness of the DSG, there’s no going back to conventional Torque Converter autos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
      • Simin Hee on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Many people died in the Camry. Nobody died in a VW.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 19
        • Yellow on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:20 pm

it is true.. i watch a crash test clip lately..

camry and prius score so poor.. honda accord & suzuki kizashi is good.
          even hyundai sonata and vw jetta score better than camry and prius..

here is the clip guys.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFcAliaRVgo

toyota should really put more effort on car building instead of pricing and marketing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 5
          • fast5 on Apr 11, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Not toyota is UMW !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • Nice sharing! But there is some incorrect information.

Toyota Camry: It should be from bad to worse, because it has only 2-airbag in Malaysia.

Honda Accord: It should be from good to bad, alsoe because it has only 2-airbag in Malaysia.

The rest of others brand and model which available in Malaysia, is sharing an international standard. So, is accurate accordingly.

• Same Lor Orii on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Nobody died in VW? Those died in Europe are not human?

No one buy the car of course no one die, common sense.

Less people die in Proton Tiara compared to Toyota Camry, so Proton Tiara a better car?

There are much more people die on the road compared to in sea. So the sea is safer place?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 59
          • tuan nee on Apr 11, 2014 at 3:16 pm

He is refering to died to to techical fault of the car la, not due to everyday accidents. In the case of Camry, many died due to the sudden acceleration fault of the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
          • BeemerFreak on Apr 11, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Ah lah Toyota hailat safest la…….behave macam like children.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 7:10 pm

If Europeans would drive ASEAN spec Toyotas the death rate on European roads would go through the roof. EU spec Toyotas are fine. But the cut cost junk they are selling in Malaysia? Why can’t they sell the European Yaris in Malaysia, rather than the no one cars if people dienASEAN version (which is totally different from what Europe and Japan get)? They sell that version in Singapore.

VW’s faults are expensive and annoying. Toyota’s faults are deadly.

• sipaigong on Apr 12, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Hey, Toyota also got recall campaign !!! Big big news now !!

• DAS auto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • BMW Fanboi (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:39 am

Yes, and the 2013 batch which they haven’t sold up to now is going for RM149k at their showrooms.

And another thing, up to now, it didn’t have power folding mirrors? Maybe all the technological research funds went into their DSG transmission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 10
    • Yes, previous version CBU dun have electric folding wing mirrors. What a joke for a car in that price tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Bob_B78 on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:08 pm

My Jetta have electrical folding mirrors but operated manually, and I thought Passat have auto folding mirrors.
      IMHO, Passat was never a bargain to buy to begin with. If I have the budget, I would buy 2.4/2.5 D-segment Japanese/Korean cars instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
    • Before any of you talk bad about this car. Drive it first, then own it for more than 2 years like I did. If you are not satisfied, sell it. My car is now closing in on its third year. Far better than the Toyota Camry I owned previously and also the Honda Accord.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 19
      • salesman ah?

better ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 29
      • Bob_B78 on Apr 11, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Yes, no doubt this car handles pretty well and have slightly better FC. But this is the only interesting point for this car selling at 170K IMHO. Selling it at 170K puts it in no man’s land.
        Sell this car 10k cheaper and it will be a winner

• Passat's problems on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:23 pm

I’m driving a passat sport Year 2013 with the milleage of around 42000km and you’re right passat has good FC you can easily hit 1000km driving within legal speed limit on freeway with a tank of fuel and it’s handling is much better than Japanese Camry and Accord. But the car is very problematic, Below is the summary of what I’ve been through.

1. Car jerking going off on 1st & 2nd gear, every single
          volkswagen with 7 speed DSG has this problem – The
          multiple clutches of DSG replaced. (Around 22000km)

2. Abnormal gear changes and engine check light – Fuel
          Line replaced (Around 25000km)

3. Abnormal engine combustion, losing power and
          Engine check – injector replaced (Around 33000km)

4. Strong engine vibration and engine shaking violently
          when the gear is on ‘N’. The Service centre told that
          the Fuel Tank need to be replaced because of Fuel
          pressure issue and it is a common issue associated
          with Passat. (Around 42000km)

VOLKSWAGEN MALAYSIA should have recalled all their cars associated with these common issues rather than waiting for car owners to turn themselves in. COST SAVING on recalls program will backfire on your car sales. VGM you read it right, your cars are problematic and you handle it poorly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
          • Bro…VW oredi solved the dsg problem..all car made from mid of 2013 have new parts installed into the dsg and it is proven thus vw china cancel the 10 years warranty starting from April 2014..just bought mk6 at below RM100k with high spec.. .

• Polo owner on Apr 12, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Dear Passat’s problems,
            I disagree with your No. 1 problem. You said, “…Car jerking going off on 1st & 2nd gear, every single
            volkswagen with 7 speed DSG has this problem.”
            My 2010 Polo with 7-speed DSG did not encounter this problem.

• LIM, I AGREED WIF U.

• Hahahahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • ONLY NOW vw offers electric folding wing mirrors in passat! smart move indeed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • adrian on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Electric folding mirror is the most basic function that must have in thr car yet it doesn’t have in the previous 1? What a joke it is..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • regularguy on Apr 11, 2014 at 1:08 pm

wondering, how important or how often do people really use their electric folding side mirror,because so far,I rarely fold my mirror on my Myvi and Vios.
      IMO,just some extra features to attract customers,yes,we do use it once in a blue moon,but not always.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
      • Own a bigger car before you judge. Park a camry or a passat next to another Dsegment or suv in a parking lot then you’ll realise it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
      • CARtoon on Apr 11, 2014 at 6:47 pm

I fold my wing mirrors all the time when its parked. Its a double edged sword. As a courtesy to other people walking past and at the same time saving my wing mirror from being pounded by oblivious passersby.

• glaze on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:41 pm

i’m folding my mirror ALL the time before i leave the car, maybe u didnt drive any wider car before to realize how important to fold the mirror

• seancorr on Apr 12, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Puiii u have no idea how important electric folding mirrors are especially in bigger cars!!

Just breaking one side mirror will make you cry especially ones with side view cameras!

• Howling on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:07 pm

I will give it a Pass at it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
  • RM170k?! I think I’ll pass and get a Mazda 6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 15
  • hopefully the mechatronic will last for the minimum 5 years of my ownership…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • DSGFail on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:41 pm

For rm170k, it doesn’t even have reverse camera and keyless entry where now most cars (even cheaper) have that too.

Somehow, i tested 2 passat, one brand new and one pre-reg, the dashboard do creaks over certain road. Not always but it comes and go. I am surprised german build quality have such creak from their dashboard. CKD fault ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Simon Teo on Apr 11, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Who say no reverse camera? Got la. Don’t simple bluff la salesman!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • hantu on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:13 pm

There is no reverse camera for passat 1.8tsi ckd la.

• glaze on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:44 pm

there is optical parking system but no reverse camera

• I’m not sure why these people saying that there is no reverse camera is getting thumbed down. I drive a Passat and memang it has no reverse camera, unless u pay an extra RM3500 for it (c/w bluetooth, etc)

• Denaihati on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:49 pm

i think 12-way electrically-adjustable front seats with driver memory function make it quite expensive. also, for me, vw color variant less choice and less impressive.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 1:05 pm

I actually thought power folding mirrors were standard at this price considering a 50k B segment hatch has it.

• seancorr on Apr 12, 2014 at 9:15 pm

Surprising but real indeed. Same goes for more expensive cars like the C class or 3 Series which do not even have keyless access as standard in which you would expect them to have in that price range…

• Vanray on Apr 11, 2014 at 1:05 pm

when is the ckd jetta be introduced???

• roti canai (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 1:32 pm

how vw solve the dsg problem. introduce a new variant. german logic. perghhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Is it because the upcoming Passat B8 will be introduced this year worldwide and now VW M’sia trying to get rid of their stock so to clear path for B8? Highly believe so.

• fix the issue first..then only consider advertising facelift or any-lift.

• CL Sia on Apr 11, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Actually there is no problem with VW cars. Yes, there is a problem with dry clutch DSG, but it is not a serious problem and it can be resolved easily. Even Ford and Honda, as well as the BMW M5 has the same problem. But nobody is complaining. They are only complaining about VW because their rice bowl is affected as they are mostly competitor salesman. Just use logic, what are the most common European cars on the road today – it is of course, VW. What are the European cars affected by VW’s success? Mostly cars in the Naza and Sime Darby stable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
      • glaze on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:49 pm

So you think when your car stucked in the SC for 2 months due to warranty claim without courtesy car is normal?

Do you think changing clutch pack every 25k km +- and changing mechatronic every 60k km +- are normal?

OK dont talk about M5, but how many Honda on the road compared to VW? After so many years Honda is selling cars here and there are no ppl protest infront of Honda Malaysia. The reason is because VW really made their owners crazy about the after sales service! Other car makers are still within tolerance level.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • mim (Member) on Apr 12, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Not a serious problem? My aunt almost died because her DSG box decides to fail at the middle of an intersection. 2 cars spun out trying to avoid her.

VW have to stop showing off their advanced-but-unreliable tech in their normal lineups. Seriously, what sort of advantage can DSG give to normal daily-driven cars? 1 secs faster to office? 0.1L/100km fuel saving?

This stupid problem wont happen if they just use the famous 8-spd ZF auto like most other new European cars. It’s just as quick and efficient.

• would appreciate comments and reviews from actual owners or drivers of passat. well at least we can get honest and real experience from them :)

• MoJoe on Apr 11, 2014 at 3:08 pm

You obviously must have been living under a rock all this while….Haven’t you seen the outrage by ACTUAL owners on their DSG issues? The public outcry infront of VW’s HQ in Bangsar? NO? Here’s a link : https://www.facebook.com/pages/Vw-Dsg-7-Defects-Community/306447496142735

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • I’m a owner of a 2013 passat..

It sound cool to have folding mirror n memory seat.
      From my own personal view.. have or don’t have this functions it doesn’t really add any significant value to me.

It drive decently with sufficient power delivered in all situation when u need it. Power n stability wise..im still sorry for you Camry 2.5

What I can share at least 2013 model is way better situation compare to those 2010 to 2012 Golf / 7 speedo model which suffer both machatronic
      N clutch problem.

2013 model, mainly there still facing clutch issue.. same apply to my model.. since then vw has came up with 3 version improved clutch n I’m waiting mine to replace.

don’t get me wrong.. my.car still drive nicely n smoothly is just a very small creeping / juddering changing from D1 to D2.. which I wise to address immediately. .

The real complaint was rather on their availability of parts to be replace.. Please improve your inventory please…

Regular interval service.. I nvr have problem to secure an appointment. .

Some complaint VW Service Advisor has bad attitude or not professional. . So far I’m ok with them.. bcoz it all begin from how we communicate with them. If we start conversation with high tonne.. sure la ppl also tension. How we treat ppl.. same way how ppl will response to us..

peace..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
      • merc fanboi on Apr 11, 2014 at 3:51 pm

You seem to be very forgiving with the VW shortcomings. Congratulations. I wonder if people would also show the same patience if the problem car was a Proton instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
        • My case maybe I’m more privilege coz I still have a spare car.

Even thts the case.. It doesn’t mean I need to be harsh VW SA.. They are helpless too coz the problem is at VGM. For matter fact.. be friend with SA.. you get things to move easier..

Just an open question. If 7 speed DSG works perfectly without issue.. who wont want to buy a VW? Who wont love a VW TSI? Not everyone can own a BMW or Mercedes right coz they r premium.

I guess the only argument would likely focus on reducing tax by gomen to make it more affordable.

Peace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Al (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 4:34 pm

Hi John,

I’m a owner of 2012 Passat.

For your juddering issue from D1 to D2, can be settle by replace a new O-ring in the DSG.

The add on really feel great compare to my version. Bluetooth, electric folding mirror & Memory Seat is way expensive if to install outside.

Anyway, have a good ride.

Cheers. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 8:13 am

Heared that all Passat’s have rattling dashboard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • Giggs on Feb 20, 2017 at 12:22 pm

Hi AL,

May I know which SC u went for O-Ring replacement that solve your DSG problem?
          Thanks in advanced.

• Giggs on Feb 20, 2017 at 12:26 pm

Hi AL,

May I know which SC to replace the O-Ring that solve your DSG problem?

Thanks is advanced.

• holofanboi on Apr 11, 2014 at 8:47 pm

A well mannered, cool headed VW owner review. You are certainly a rare sight in these parts! (Not a VW owner, but I personally know six colleagues with VW Polo and Golf for TWO years without problems yet which is why I am kinda skeptical about the DSG outrage.)

And yes, I have sat in four of them quite frequently during lunch times.

• Iniesta on Apr 12, 2014 at 11:43 am

Couldn’t agree you more , a view supported by facts and reasobable of the passat , not like others simply bash the dsg problem as if every vw car fitted dsg can not used at all, they dont know and simply bash

• John…are u the roti john that ask people to go back home in BMW 7 series article comment?

• i believe only those old man cheat by the sales person will buy this old uncle fashion car. adding in those non constructive even non usefull feature. this in other hand, no different with P1 car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
    • GTR36 on Apr 11, 2014 at 3:17 pm

True, I nearly kena con by sales man from Wearnes who said the 2013 Passat CC using different gearbox compared to local Passat. Six speed wet clutch instead of 7-Speed DSG. Lucky got Paultan.org to confirm it doesn’t.

Pay a bit more get much better Lexus ES (for unker like me).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • soldier of fortune on Apr 11, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Hiya, whatever all you guys say, this car will still sell better than any other European car. You know why? Because actual car buyers don’t read this. They buy based on emotion or pricing, that is practical to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Asernal on Apr 11, 2014 at 3:29 pm

One thing for sure…dsg gearbox does not design for stage upgrade. Keep my stock passat for last 2years with problem free.

• merc fanboi on Apr 11, 2014 at 3:45 pm

folding side mirrors finally? electric-adjustable seats finally, bluetooth finally?

omaigawd, omaigawddd… the premium brand is getting more premium by the day. i can’t wait to bask in the premiumness of this prestigious VW car!

Das Premium.

• idontknow on Apr 11, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Better buy Peugeot 508. The French Connection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
  • mango on Apr 11, 2014 at 4:21 pm

give extra goodies also kena bash. what’s wrong with people now a days.

• sohai wan on Apr 11, 2014 at 4:22 pm

There goes the Naza salesman. Asking you to buy a car that would cost you twice as much as a BMW for parts repair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • John Hansen on Apr 11, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Why is it that 90% of VW buyers are Chinese, while 90% of Peugeot buyers are Malays. Can someone please explain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • tambi67 on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:14 pm

And 90% indian buy Mahindra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Ah Beng on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:50 pm

Coz Ah Beng smart liao these days…

last time use to install loud exhaust as if it add 100 HP.

Installed loud stereo.. to show their love on music..

Now most conti.. which include VW.. Most model equip with turbo.. n nice stereo system..
      So ah Beng invest money smarter lol.. u get power while balance in comfort.

• Put aside those creatures comforts, VW is way better then their japanese and korean rival at the same price range in term of handling and safety aspect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Sam loo on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:46 pm

This 2013 car 2nd hand aready 90k ma…CAMRY NEW GX much…much refined..and those KIMCHIS ..,no RV..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • hailat on Apr 11, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Sam.. dam I waited so long for you.. finally ur hailat comment arrived..

how can PT complete with you.. Sam

• Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 9:40 am

No Avatar=Imposter

• I owned passat B7. I still prefer to drive my 7 yrs old accord compared to 1 yr old passad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Mind to elaborate more why u love ur accord more? I love my old E46… but my B7 is more economical. . Comfortable. . Safer.. as E46 aged

• accordana on Apr 12, 2014 at 7:32 am

what a joke

• langsat on Apr 11, 2014 at 8:31 pm

exhilarating drive with dsg issues vs boring japs drive. Choice is yrs. DSG with new version mechatronic n clutch plate for my 2010 golf no more issue. I still prefer the VW drive than my previous Camry. To be frank I suffered with juddering until VW came out with the new version and did the recall last yr. So I think 2013 model onwards should be better but sad thing VW sales plunge coz they address too late damage done . Reputation hancur !

• Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 8:15 am

Why would 200+ppl protest picket in front of VW HQ in Bangsar screaming about 2 engines and 2 gearboxes in 2 years on 2011 models?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • Ho Sam on Apr 12, 2014 at 9:15 am

The key here is 2011 model, Sam Loo. Go back to school if you dont understand the topic. Your Camry kills people. So pls dont compare with these topics.

• tee neoh on Apr 13, 2014 at 11:18 am

The 200 people are Toyota salesmen. Ha, ha, ha.

• fenzo60 on Apr 11, 2014 at 9:57 pm

My rm95k Peuegot 408 has electric folding side mirror. No need to buy this expensive vw to have that feature

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • inperson on Apr 11, 2014 at 10:26 pm

did you have any experience driving a passat?

if you compare with high spec camry, the experience like you riding a ex5 and duke 690…

• Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 8:15 am

Another sui kwan eur car with No RV

• Steve on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:02 pm

Wah.. Not bad ah ..some ppl got skills to calculate epidemiological distribution based on race and car brands..

• just like that on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:58 pm

Peugeot’s r having a renaissance in Europe and I used to drive one and its not exp to repair like a bmw coz I used to have one also. if u go to the bmw forums, a lot of issues also with F10 (e.g. F10 having issues going thru 1 feet of water).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
    • Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 8:16 am

Pijat is also not expensive to buy used coz there is No RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • too han on Apr 12, 2014 at 9:18 am

Excuse me, Peugeot is bankrupt in Europe that the Chinese have to buy them out. They are the worst performer in Europe.

• Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 8:10 am

VW=Very Worrisome

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
  • Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 10:11 am

Do consider a used Sonata.

2012 models selling for around RM50k

• Goh & Co on Apr 12, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Hey Sam Loo, you no bal*s ah? Don’t dare comment on the Toyota recall link, but talking c*ck here. Your Toyota is far worse than any VW. At least VW and Nissan have cars that have won World’s Best Engine more than 7 times. What your Toyota got? Nothing, almost as bad as a Lada.

Toyota resale value high only because got a lot of stupid people like your kind. Thats all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Have you driven a passat? on Apr 13, 2014 at 3:22 am

Toyota and lexus have high resale value for a reason, the cars are reliable. Volkswagen is a piece of shot if you ask me and I am driving g a passat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
  • Allen toyota subang on Apr 12, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Folding mirror? C’mon guys .., the VW DISEASE is worse aready… Can we now call it VW CANCER… We malaysian are so forgiving because we believe that VW IS SO CLASSY.. Soo hailat… Even 2003 camry still drives good today…the problem with VGM IS ACTUALLY THEY LOOKED DOWN ON US…how About for 6 month everybody cancelled all VW BOOKING, instead come to my toyota subang… We can talk… The drink is on me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
    • I still can accept if a Mazda sales came.. n trying to promote their Mazda 6.. rather thn Camry with old technology with lack safety features.. The latest Camry model seriously looked like ah Beng car with outdated cheap body kit.

Obviously Toyota salesman should compare their car with Honda, Mazda n Nissan..

Obvious winner among Japanese model is the latest Honda Accord… spend more time worrying how you are losing sales to Honda than VW.

Peace

• Wah, all the Toyota salesmen commenting here now. Because they got chased out of their own forum due to Toyota’s unreliability and because so many people died in Toyota, which they are trying to cover up. Losers!

• Passat 1.8TSI CBU 2011 on Apr 24, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Some really funny post ,haaaaa. Here am an owner of Passat 1.8TSI,CBUYear 2011. Here are the facts:

1.DSG 7Speed Transmission has problems with hot,humid tropical climate and stop and go driving ( Malaysian traffic jams) ,as stated by some comments already that VW has admitted, worldwide.
    Jerking on reveres and gear one and possibly gear two,however you enjoy sheer power in torque and in higher speed.
    – VW remedy : uses mineral gear box oil instead of synthetic , some adjustment which reduces the power of torque with a minute difference. One will only feel the difference if you own one and had the gearbox fixed.
    2/ VW dealers are also to blame (eg. Federal Auto) , as they were taken by surprise with so many complains that their small after sales service centre were unable to coup with it. Thus, their after sakes service sucks.
    Right after my first service, my battery went dead in one parking lot. Yes, it is still under warrantee, but “hack” did their mechanics or specialist not checked and noticed that the battery were already weak. Had they change it then during the first service, customers would not have to go through unnecessary annoying and situation of being stuck somewhere in Malaysia and had to call and wait for Mondial tow truck to tow the car ?
    3/ many faults followed and the best was that it was noticed by the owner and not their mechanics. Yes , again items were change under warrantee. Surely, if the owners are less knowledgable in identifying faults, eg. Female owners ( sorry ,don t mean to be bias ). the faults could have been undetected and when the problem gets bigger, it would have already passed the warrantee period. Customer to pay for parts and labour.

I am seriously tired of complaining as I only wish to share this bad experience.
    My remedy: I sold the car at a lost, of course , but I am free from headaches and I find my precious time being used more productively.

• Samlok on Jul 07, 2014 at 7:30 pm

No worry, mineral oil save the day.

• Michael on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:06 pm

The problem of VW is NOT just DSG! Much far beyond DSG! Aircond compressor, radiator fans, center lock electronics module, wiper motors, bearing, and so many thing can be down within 2 years, and WORST –> Repeat again very soon! I have not yet starts with attitude of your Service Advisor (especially Sg Besi), their face like we customer steal their money! Not to mention idiot rule that “only Thursday” can place order for replace parts (even I wish to pay for the parts by myself!).

• passat is air cooled???

• Jeremy Chua on Oct 29, 2014 at 5:21 pm

I am considering buying a Jetta. What do you guys advise?

• Polo Owner on Oct 30, 2014 at 8:41 am

Hi Jeremy,

You have to be prepared for service advisors that ignore you, or worse, refuse to serve you. I don’t know whether it’s what Goh Brothers Motor told them to do, but that’s what I got. Maybe it’s because owners have nowhere else to go, so they act like you owe them.

• Dear Friends,

Need your comment on Passat Dec 2014. Planning to get it, but still considering about all the feedback abt DSG !!..The VW promo on 0 interest 0 down payment is attractive . Pls advice tq

• John 2014 on Feb 20, 2016 at 2:06 pm

Mine Passat 2014 model – judder at D1 when rpm below 1.5k.
    Only can feel it during traffic jammed or slow pick up.

Anyone have this problem too?
    Or already know the solution?

• Johan Bin Mohamed on Jul 18, 2017 at 5:44 pm

Hi Guys

Im really interested to purchase a Pre Reg Passat 1.8 2014. Now 2017.
    Everyone i know told dont buy the car,
    going to have lots problem gearbox
    high maintenance,
    instead go Accord or Camry Maxda 6

Is the cost of owning a VW Passat really that high?
    It says has warranty till 2020. So that seems ok?

I really am tempted. Looking for a family car and pleasure to drive.

Appreciate owner experience,
    Should i go japanese instead ?