SPYSHOTS: Audi A3 Sedan 1.4T sighted in Glenmarie

IMG_7624

It looks like the Audi A3 Sedan will be launched very soon. We sighted this trailer-load of A3 Sedans in Glenmarie yesterday and managed to snap a few photos thanks to the massive double parking in that area, causing the trailer to have issues driving through, presumably to Euromobil just around the corner.

We’re assuming all the Audi A3 Sedans on this particular trailer are of the same spec, since they all have the same wheels and the same exterior outlook. The badging on these cars were covered up while they were on the trailer; however after they were delivered to the showroom, we saw multiple units being test driven around Glenmarie, which revealed a 1.4T badge on the boot lid.

This 1.4T variant is powered by a 122 PS/200 Nm 1.4 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, mated to a seven-speed S-tronic dual-clutch transmission. 0-100 km/h acceleration time is 9.3 seconds.

IMG_7656

We learned of the Audi A3’s upcoming launch at an Audi roadshow at Bangsar Shopping Centre back in April this year. At that point, a launch date of before the end of June was indicated with two variants – a front wheel drive 1.4 litre model as well as a 1.8 litre model with quattro all-wheel drive.

Sightings on local car classifieds such as oto.my have pointed to an indicative price of just under RM180k for the 1.4T. The 1.8T quattro is expected to compete against the new Mercedes-Benz CLA 200 in terms of pricing. The 1.8 TFSI engine does 180 PS and 250 Nm of torque, mated to a six-speed S-tronic dual-clutch transmission. 0-100 km/h is in 6.7 seconds.

The Audi A3 Sedan – which won World Car of the Year 2014 – is built on the Volkswagen Group’s MQB platform, which is also used by the Volkswagen Golf Mk7. A sedan built on a platform also used by the Golf would probably remind you of the Volkswagen Jetta, but the Jetta is based on an older platform.

Audi A3 Sedan at Shanghai 2013

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Where is Najib's 30% reduction? on Jun 21, 2014 at 2:25 pm

1 Year have passed after the elections, where is Najib’s promise of reducing car prices? Car prices look like they are increasing.

This car is priced at US$29,000 in the US. That is the price after profit and after Audi US have made their margin.

Euromobil will get this car far cheaper than that direct from their principal in Germany. The price might be about US$20,000 or less. Their cost when it arrives Port Klang will be less than RM60,000

So, how can the selling price be RM180,000? Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices? Najib promised voters that if they voted BN in the election last year, he promised he would reduce car prices by up to 30%. Where is this promise? This is just a basic promise. If basic promise also cannot honour, how about big promises?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 270 Thumb down 38
    • youReJoker on Jun 21, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 119
    • Najis on Jun 21, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Don’t be naive to believe what Najib said. They are politician, not philanthropist. Their concern is their pocket, not people’s living

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 6
    • Preve Owner on Jun 21, 2014 at 4:43 pm

nevermind where is najib’s 30% reduction… where is najib even !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
    • cendol (Member) on Jun 21, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Manifesto is not a promise. Manifesto is just manifesto.
      Besides, Jib Kor can say reduce price over 5 years what, now its only pass ONE year, wait.
      Cannot afford buy Audi? Buy local car.
      Cannot afford local car? Walk or buy motorbike, local brand of course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 40
    • Alibaba on Jun 21, 2014 at 6:50 pm

U slow slow wait la…. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
    • benzfan on Jun 21, 2014 at 10:18 pm

Wow very nice!!!!

I mean the car to the left of trailer

• doggie on Jun 21, 2014 at 10:21 pm

You bark here noone gives a damn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • Albert lee on Jun 21, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Bradder,the price reduction did happened.
      When? In our dreams,only.
      Did you you know what Natasha told Captain America ?”You are a terrible liar”.Of course Captain America is Mr.Clean and misunderstood.
      Politicians….day and night,night and day….the lying continues.

• never trust a politician’s promise… never…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • bisakeris (Member) on Jun 22, 2014 at 12:08 pm

sure or not u vote for him?

• Spirior on Jun 22, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Why wait for the 30% reduction? Manifesto bukan janji. Furthermore, if price is reduced by 30 percent, and at the same time ringgit is further losing its value – it’s back to square one anyway.

Car prices in Malaysia is just a Malaysian reality. Yes arguably it could be cheaper. But it is a Malaysian scenario. There are similar hurdles everywhere in the world. Be it in form of COE, costly license plate, annual inspection, insurance, etc.

• policeman on Jun 22, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Car prices should remain high. This is one promise I’m happy he did not keep. Hopefully he will not keep. The taxes charged for cars can be put to good use.

Car prices in this country are just fine. It’s people like you whom are getting greedy and think that the government owes you something. The government owes you nothing! Always remember that.

You may pay a few Ks in taxes annually, but don’t think because of that you deserve to be treated like a king. Companies are paying millions in taxes. Your few Ks are chump change by comparison. Your paid tax can’t even cover the cost to patch a few potholes. Always remember that you’re benefiting more from the government than the government is benefiting from you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • thas_ks on Jun 24, 2014 at 11:11 pm

He promised of reducing the car price if we vote for him. But we didnt vote for him. They wont it by their own effort. So, the rate is still the same.

• thas_ks on Jun 24, 2014 at 11:13 pm

He promised of reducing the car price if we vote for him. But we didnt vote for him. They won* it by their own effort. So, the rate is still the same.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 21, 2014 at 2:29 pm

VW jetta and passat engine?

Die lo camry. The most expensive in D segment yet the most shitty spec offer.

If I have rm180k. A3 why not?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 7
    • Dual Clutch- Problem after Problem on Jun 21, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Also it is dual clutch. Be prepared to see it breakdown like they VW DSGs and Ford Focus and Fiesta cars.

Even Paul Tan also wrote long article on it.

Stay far far away from dual clutch engines. It will fail and fail until you get fed up. Not once, not twice but it will keep on giving you non stop trouble.

If you still persist in buying dual clutch, make sure you bring a torch light with you cause for sure you will breakdown in karak highway at 2am one day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
      • Obviously (Member) on Jun 22, 2014 at 1:39 am

Not saying that DSG and DCT don’t have problems at all but the article you mentioned said that the dual-clutch gearboxes mention that the problematic gearboxes are dry clutch in design. They’re saying that in the future, wet clutch DCT would be more common due to better cooling. That difference in design is pretty big. Most DSG’s and Ford’s Powershift DCT are dry clutch, hence the breakdowns.

• dual clutch engines?? lol

• TheRealMaserati on Jun 21, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Because the maintainence of an Audi is freaking high .
      And the 2nd hand value is utter rubbish. Oh yea, Don’t forget the horrible Euromobil Service Centres.

And I doubt this A3 will have very good specs.Most probably will be very very basic!

So it will be a wiser choice to take a Jap sedan than this Audi A3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • Audi A3 is a C-segment.

there is no luxurious legroom.
      it’s also a Front wheel drive.

nothing worth the extra for RM180k A3.

• Jimmy on Jun 21, 2014 at 3:14 pm

If Mazda6 is the deal of the year 2013, then A3 sedan, 240Nm 8.3 sec, at RM176k OTR will be deal of the year 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • enthu on Jun 22, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Then what is the Golf 1.4TSi that uses the same platform/drivetrain/engine/gearbox as the A3 1.4T?

Deal of the century?

• notprotonfan on Jun 22, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Preve with racechip can get around 7 secs, why bother with this junk?

• Jayden on Jun 21, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Agree with u bro.
      However, both these 1.4T n 1.8T engines are not the same that we found on VW Jetta n Passat. Although they are under the same company group, but the engines they use are not the same, they just shared some technologies. Btw, this is a 1.4 turbocharged engine while the Jetta one is a 1.4 twin-charged engine. No offence ya, cheers =)

• macam preve je

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 109
    • torque on Jun 21, 2014 at 2:45 pm

OMG…another one. Just because the Preve is a notch higher grade than the old Proton models that doesn’t mean it justify the same grade, effort, technical enhancement, passion and quality as Audi. Proton is years back behind not only to Audi but even Hyundai as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Ricardo on Jun 21, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Did you go for an eyesight test? Please don’t insult the A3 with a Preve. Btw they have a 1.4 spec which comes with 122hp and 200nm. Which one they bring in?

• Preve Owner on Jun 21, 2014 at 4:42 pm

lol !! I actually have an AUDI all this while and I didn’t realise it

• Better look at the mirror. Your eyes must be looking like a Preve now.

• Alibaba on Jun 21, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Bodoh!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Vader (Member) on Jun 21, 2014 at 10:51 pm

Yalah, macam preve ada 4 tayar.. Copy saje..
      Memang celaka..
      Ops, don’t charge me for saying celaka!

• WaJib on Jun 21, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Macam Preve.. Syiok sendiri aje..

• bisakeris (Member) on Jun 22, 2014 at 12:10 pm

LOL hahahah.. gud 1!

• sonar on Jun 22, 2014 at 4:20 pm

I agree, it resembles preve somehow, maybe copied some lines

This is not sarcasm

• bring in hatch too, reduce a3 price and all win

• That red colour car with partial white camouflage for once it looks like Saga Taxi…..

• Finally… after waiting about 3 months.., Now it’s coming…:)

• Brain on Jun 21, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Paul,

Pardon me for my ignorance. 7 Speed S-tronic is different compared to the “Problematic” DSG Dry 7 speed right? This is the Wet 7 Speed? 0 – 100km/h looks comparable to Golf 1.4 TSI (0.1 sec difference)

• Ray (Member) on Jun 21, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Audi A3 sedan, my opinion.
    Audi’s design language is better executed on smaller sedans, the A4, A5 and sportback. The A3 sedan is one sexy thing, unlike its weird looking hatchback counterpart. But as far as styling is concerned, I’d pick a CLA over this anytime (but the price!!).

Performance-wise, I can’t say a thing on the A3 sedan but according to many reviews, its strongest rival, the CLA 200 suffers from poor suspension issues as it seems to be a bit too hard for our local streets. The others work fine but the 35k jump makes the A200 a better deal. The CLA can sell based solely on looks alone.

So Audi, what’s your move?

• design is subjective, but I would prefer this over the merc, it has simple lines and being selected as car of the year says a lot.

• reard on Jun 22, 2014 at 4:26 pm

COTY is a big joke, how many years they test the car? If gearbox kaput then how? It shouldn’t be COTY, it is JUNK!

• hippo on Jun 21, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Built on golf platforms, will it hv vw gearbox problem?

• Boy Racer (Member) on Jun 21, 2014 at 4:04 pm

http://paultan.org/2014/06/21/audi-a3-sedan-1-4t-spyshots/img_7620/

A3 Teksi Limited Edition

• spongewai on Jun 21, 2014 at 4:34 pm

MANA JANJI DITEPATI, Mr PM??

btw, same price with Audi A1 leh…

unless A1 price must reduced, so many customers can attract this super-cute car on the road

• seancorr on Jun 21, 2014 at 5:18 pm

I think we will be seeing quite a number of A3 on the road once it’s launched just like the influx of 316i which I notice is everywhere on the road now.

But even with the attractive price for the 1.4 will have to see what kind of spec is offered as standard and Audi Malaysia after sales service is no where near compared to BMW or Mecedes. One cannot imagine driving an Audi on the East Coast where there is no service centre!

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 21, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Red with white cover, looks like teksi saga.

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 21, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Well, interesting to see the 1.4T and the 1.8T both available. Have seen the A3 overseas, have sat in one in fact at the Audi dealer out of Malaysia. It is a nice, well made car, but space is a bit limited. You can feel that it is a smaller car, and feels tighter than a Golf for some reason.

It will be like a My First Audi, but that’s it I guess. Especially if the 1.8 comes in at above 200k, it would make more sense to get the A4 1.8T Quattro instead, or a 316i or the base C Class.

• VW Fanboi on Jun 21, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Nice, it is an Audi Jetta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • lol that one look like saga taxi.

• Saw the smoking tire and Kelley blue book review of this. Absolutely rubbish car.

• Alibaba on Jun 21, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Are they using the same engine and gearbox like the VW…. If they are…. Aliluya…. Sure mati lo. The price of VW is like xxxx hope this wont happen to Audi …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • farghmee on Jun 21, 2014 at 6:52 pm

I like the proportional design of this car

• Grandeur on Jun 21, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Audi beats all Japan Junks Camry Accord. Ya why not?

• S-tronic ke or whatever nama pun, it’s still the VW’s 7DSG which is prone to problems. Good luck A3 buyers.

• I still feel that CLA is more sexy especially its coupe design + low profile tyres

• Yo yo on Jun 21, 2014 at 9:43 pm

Yaaaaaay. We are gonna ride in an A3 taxi. See the first pic, bottom deck.

• transformer on Jun 21, 2014 at 9:50 pm

diesel smuggling and subsidized petrol being abused by foreigner are rampant!

JUST REMOVE ALL THESE SUBSIDY(saving billions) and REMOVE CAR TAX(ID & ED) once and for all. Then all RAKYAT can afford and enjoy Audi A3(saves petrol and cleaner)!!!

need not waste brain juice to think whats going into NAP, NEP and no need EEV as A3 engine are much cleaner, leaner, more efficient than takPRO engine.

everyone definately happy driving an A3…..

• geniuz on Jun 21, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Look forward to test drive and book if satisfied

• Sam's Best Friend on Jun 21, 2014 at 10:06 pm

dont want to buy. Too ugly.

• redtaxi on Jun 21, 2014 at 10:20 pm

The red one looks like a taxi. No class, VW should sell it for 60k only.

• Tiger on Jun 21, 2014 at 10:26 pm

Really dunt understamd why 1.4cc engine selling at such ridiculous prices, eben the Mitsubisi Attrage 1.2cc? Selling above 1.6cc Potong models..either the foreign carmakers cannot produce cars at lower cost vs P, or someone is controlling the prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • justwaitnsee on Jun 21, 2014 at 10:38 pm

the red one look as it is made as an executive taxi although it is only the protective cover…)

• If I were to buy this Poor Man Audi I will remove the 1.4 logo at the back… amat segan lah.

• Wet DSG on Jun 21, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Can see the cars in their stockyard in Glenmarie.

• Steve Kok on Jun 21, 2014 at 11:36 pm

If Wet Clutch is ok.
    Pls stay away from Dry Clutch.

I’m not sure about Audi’s gearbox quality compared with my ex- Ford Fiesta. It’s a nightmare having the dry dual clutch gearbox.

Bought the car at 84K.. Sold it for RM50K after 3 years.. and feeling happy when i sold the car.

• gavin y on Jun 21, 2014 at 11:58 pm

Dual clutch = dual no

• bisakeris (Member) on Jun 22, 2014 at 12:11 pm

whateverpung.. this A3 sedan is really sexy!!!

• Marieta on Jun 23, 2014 at 6:54 am

1.4 turbocharged for a D segment car ? It gonna scream super loud when climbing hill and hold super long traffic jam from jalan kuching to pekan rawang hahahaha

• DrCooper on Jun 23, 2014 at 6:57 am

250 NM from 1.4T ? now I felt ripped off from Peugeot 1.6T

• grape on Jun 23, 2014 at 3:40 pm

I think the 1.4 TFSI being offered is the 122PS/200Nm version instead of the 140PS/240Nm. Anyone can confirm this?

• kereta kompak on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:35 pm

At my first glance on first photo, i thought it was a Gen2 Taxi (red/white) on that trailer… Then scroll down lahhh it’s Audi lehhh.

• bootupjoe on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Don’t blame Preve or Audi A3 ,both cars still overprice….Thanks to those idiot vote for “Barang Naik ” lah….

• RAMSLEO on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:59 pm

guys , i am seriously thinking of getting a A4 1.8,
    pls adv