Audi A3 Sedan – now with a RM13k navigation option

Audi_A3_Sedan_S_line_Malaysia_ 001

The new Audi A3 Sedan – launched earlier this month at RM179,900 for the 1.4 TFSI and RM240,888 for the 1.8 TFSI quattro – is now available with an optional MMI Navigation plus with MMI touch package for an extra RM13,000. That’s the same amount asked for the Audi A4 1.8 and 2.0 quattro’s optional navigation system.

Other than the obvious satellite navigation function, the “MMI navigation plus” option also adds a much-needed bigger 7.0-inch (up from 5.8-inch), higher-resolution central display, as well as a touch-sensitive MMI control knob with handwriting-recognition. The latter is similar to BMW’s latest iDrive Touch controller.

Audi_A3_Sedan_navi

This adds to the long list of options available on the A3 Sedan, which includes Comfort Key (RM3,500; only on the 1.4, standard on 1.8), Bang & Olufsen sound system (RM4,000), reverse camera (RM2,000), full LED headlights (RM8,000) and the full S line package (pictured above, only for 1.8 quattro)

For more info, read our launch report or watch our walk-around video of the new Audi model. You can also compare detailed specs and equipment between the 1.4 and 1.8 quattro models on CarBase.my.

Audi A3 Sedan 1.4 TFSI

Audi A3 Sedan 1.8 TFSI quattro

Audi A3 Sedan S line

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• john doe on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Just spend RM50 for your phone holder and use waze. Much more intuitive and responsive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 0
    • Bought a New Xiaomi Note + RM100 holder and mount it on dashboard will just cost you; 13000 – 609 and you saved RM12,391. I just cannot justify the 13k Navi option, its just too ridiculous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • Same L0rrr on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:12 pm

When you are at rural areas with no 3G coverage, there gone with your waze.

The built in GPS means offline maps, it will work even if there is no LTE no 3G no GPRS no GSM.

You paying for the offline maps, not the device!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 55
      • as though you drive into the jungle everyday with an Audi..

No coverage area should be using pickup truck instead..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
        • letstorque on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Why off coverage area need to use pick up truck?

Some of the best scenic route out there have spotted coverage of internet.
          The.road which best enjoy with car instead of pick-up truck.

Wake up and try venture out of KL.
          There are lots more to see in Malaysia than just KL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • If you havent know, there are offline map apps available for FREE..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Bro, offline maps not a new thing. They’re basically in every GPS unit we’ve been using ages before Waze and any other data-enabled maps came to existence. And you can still buy Garmin GPS units now if you don’t wanna use Waze or Google maps. RM13k is way too much. You can buy every map in the world and still have cash to spare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • letstorque on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Most of them KL boys, only live within city limits, and have no knowledge outside KL.

Typical KL boys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • hondaman on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:42 pm

cheaper to subscribe the GPS apps which don’t use data services. TomTom apps cost. usd77.

• John doe on Aug 19, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Haiya same l0rrr, whats the point of having smartphone without data plan.

Oh forgot, u are still using your old 3310 aren’t you?

Meh

• Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:49 am

Haiya John doe, whats the point of having smartphone without 3G coverage.

Oh forgot, u are still dreaming u are having vacation in korea aren’t you?

Meh

• shame_Loo on Aug 19, 2014 at 8:49 pm

RM13K, crazy. Top up your car price and buy a better car. A Garmin works better and cheaper.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:34 pm

my macai perdana also got gps for free….u nak charge lagi…apa la u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Bob_B78 on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Rather pricey for the accessories.
    The money would be well spent on 320i instead for its bigger and probably drives better.

• mootkam on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:53 pm

will wait for 3 years see what the reviews are going to be. i might buy this if there are no other worthy sub 200k cars..

• heybadigol on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:24 pm

If it was me, i’d just use waze on my smartphone or a standalone GPS unit. But the B&O upgrade at only RM4k is quite a good deal. Even if you go and do upgrade at an accessory shop, the cost for a new subwoofer, and 2 new pairs of speakers will set you back as much, and they may not even match properly. At least RM4k for the B&O means everything’s matched and suits the car’s interior.

• Sam Ioo on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Ridiculous. Toyota gives for free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • VAG sucks on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Just a glorified Jetta …he3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • VAG sucks on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:58 pm

…or a mk7 golf wt a boot…since its using the same MQB, engine & transmission for the 1.4TFSI…or a skoda, seat…etc….hehehehehe

• I will buy your A3, but wont spend RM13k for Navi..
    I can get waze for free..
    Offline Garmin, Tomtom dont dont cost more than 1k..

• Zheng Lik Yeap on Aug 19, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Ugly..very ugly design. Audi looks are getting boring. trying to make extra money from accessories

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Are they mad…..!!!

• gaviny on Aug 19, 2014 at 3:42 pm

4k b&o sounds a boat load more.sense

• being a RHD car, how does it feel handwriting on the touch-sensitive MMI control knob using the left hand? (if you are naturally right handed)

• niterunner99 on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:02 pm

like to know which owner actually pay for this option…hahahaha

• Rm13k for navigation, seriously ?! What kind of state of the art technological navigation system they are selling here ?

• 13K for the NAVI??? Make sure is 3D la Audi!!!
    So the A3 LED DRL need to buy??

• Jimmy on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:11 pm

The marketing team has a lot to improve.
    More marketing surveys need to be done before launching a vehicle, especially if it comes from a semi-popular brand.
    Even Mercedes also cannot be overconfident.

• Car_fan on Aug 19, 2014 at 10:26 pm

Garmin portable gps unit, rm400, free map updates. Wonder how much to update the map of the Audi’s sat nav? Ridiculous prices.

• Wow… really a tale of two cities.
    Some poor fella struggle to pay up half for the newly launched Perodua Axia which costs 25k whereas some rich kids just dump 13k for Audi navigation option? Sigh….

• RM13K is no big deal when you make RM130 million from maybe a submarine deal, or jump political parties, put cows in condo’s. or something. Allegedly and hypothetically only. But of course not for those making salary, even RM50K/month will think long and hard to get that.

• 7yearsfd1 on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:32 am

i hope this is still under “old” management decision

not now ones

• mmaker on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:59 am

RM13k?! It should give it for free la wey

• longjaafar on Aug 20, 2014 at 10:30 am

Audi thinks Malaysians are fools and willing to pay RM13k for something others give free.