F10 BMW 520d updated with new 190 hp B47 engine

BMW 520d Touring

The BMW F10 5 Series 520d variant has been updated with the new B47D20 2.0 litre turbodiesel engine, which brings power up to 190 hp at 4,000 rpm and 400 Nm at 1,750 to 2,500 rpm, an increase of six hp and 20 Nm over the outgoing N47D20 engine.

The B47D20 is already available in Malaysia – it made its debut in the F25 BMW X3 facelift that was launched recently. The engine features an aluminium crankcase with thermally-joined cylinder liners (to reduce internal friction) and integrated balancer shafts, a turbocharger with variable intake geometry as well as an improved 2,000 bar common-rail direct-injection system.

BMW also claims that the starting characteristic of the engine has been improved, which is important for comfort when used with the Auto Start-Stop function. The entry-level 518d diesel also gets the new engine – in the 18d tune, the engine does 150 hp and 360 Nm.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Dead Chicken Kick Pot on Sep 18, 2014 at 12:50 am

WTF… I will just pump RON97 to get the extra 6hp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 63
    • Seriously on Sep 18, 2014 at 1:03 am

Wise guy, try pumping RON97 into your DIESEL car and see what happen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
      • hahahahah LOL…ron97 into a diesel…hahahahaha

• BMW 520d - King of RV Depreciation on Sep 18, 2014 at 2:57 pm

When you buy a diesel, just enjoy the higher torque. Because whatever savings you make on using diesel, you lose on bad RV. The 520d, so hard to sell. Sometimes it takes up to 6 months just to sell the 520d. And the prices are so low, you will cry cry cry cry.

2011 BMW 520d now can get for RM170k. And new 2014 520d is RM360k.

Lose 50% in value in 3 years. So, what you save on diesel, you lose on RV.

Even kimchi also cannot lose RV like how a BMW 520d loses its RV.

Those haters, go to Mudah or Carlies and see how desperate sellers of 520d are.

And BMW Malaysia is so bodoh, they increased the 520d price from RM330k to RM360k in 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
          • 99% of Malaysians buy diesel to save on fuel. Very few buy because of the higher torque and NM. Those who do so are mainly car enthusiast or those who used diesel before and love the NM torque.

But long run, you lose more $$$$ when you buy a diesel in Malaysia. Diesel cars RV are the worst.

Even if you clock 100,000KM a year also, in 5 years, when you sell the car, you lose more in the long run.

And that is not even counting the damaged parts you need to replace. Diesel clogs up the injector/pump. To replace that in the 520d is RM40,000

That is why people scared to buy 2nd hand 520d

• old dog on Sep 18, 2014 at 7:06 pm

the problem is our diesel is euro2+…when diesel is euro5, the rv of diesel car will goes up for sure..

• Malu Bising Max on Sep 18, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Very malu hear diesel engine always… Go hotel lobby, valet also quickly drive away my car.

• The Truth About BMW Diesel on Sep 19, 2014 at 8:25 am

Your Hilux diesel sure malu lah.

• The Truth About BMW Diesel on Sep 18, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Why would someone buy a car that ONLY gives 2 years warranty.

BMW Malaysia is the ONLY company not just in Malaysia but the entire world to give its cars only 2 years warranty.

All other cars in Malaysia have upped their warranty to 5 years. Even BMW’s rival Mercedes have upped their warranty to 4 years.

Do you know why BMW only gives a mere 2 years warranty? Very simple. Just right after the 2nd year, as seen in forums and BMW groups postings, and facebook postings, major parts will fail. Most common part is the gearbox. Be prepared to fork out about RM80,000 for a new gearbox.

As in the case of the diesel, all the 530d E60 owners are all crying. Our dirty diesel has damaged their cars so badly, the owners spend tens of thousands of Ringgit per service. Thank you BMW Malaysia for your promise to the 530d owners 10 years ago that the Malaysian government would introduce clean diesel very soon. The “very soon” became 10 years already.

You will be paying through your nose for parts after the warranty expires. That is why you see so many 1 year old BMWs for sale in the 2nd hand market.

To those sour grapes BMW salesman who will say I am a Mercedes salesman, don’t be jealous. I am not. I am a BMW owner fighting for the rights of all BMW owners in Malaysia for longer warranty. You BMW salesman should be telling your management to give longer warranty to us BMW owners.

Facebook and forums don’t lie. Go and see for yourself what happens after the 2nd year and read all the forums. The saying Banyak Masuk Workshop is not a myth. Even the company themselves so scared to give you more than 2 years warranty so that alone speaks volume!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • xiper (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 1:04 am

try it and your engine is gone, this engine is not suitable for petrol fuel

• You pump petrol RON97 into a diesel to get 6hp? I think it’s more like 184hp to 0hp after that.

• If you pump Ron97 for 6HP, you can say goodbye to your diesel engine.

Also the value of the B47 is the refined engine. That’s a big plus. Also it sounded badass like the bomber.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 7:48 am

RON97 isn’t a power fuel. It is just more resistant to premature detonation which causes engine knocking in engines with higher compression ratios.

It probably won’t give you the 6hp and definitely won’t give you the 20Nm.

• Oil burner type R on Sep 18, 2014 at 7:58 am

really? who cares?

• letstorque on Sep 18, 2014 at 8:35 am

It’s a diesel engine, bro.

Read fully before comment.

• droll on Sep 18, 2014 at 8:54 am

yeah but you will not be able to beat the fuel consumption of a diesel if you are using a pure petrol engine. if you use a hybrid, you will get very similar fuel consumption but you cannot get the power that diesel offers.

so diesel gives the best of both worlds actually. too bad there really isn’t a mass market offering for diesel in Malaysia (all the diesel offerings are in the luxury segment unless you want to buy pickup trucks) ever since the focus tdci stopped being available here.

• Rice hater on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:06 am

You should add M Power sticker,Ring’ sticker and Petronas sticker will add 5hp each

• riz (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 1:10 am

good power , but does this engine produce too much torque?
    suitable for 4wheel drive car,crossover
    but for sedan, too much torque..
    your tires gonna wear out very quickly and very easy to slip..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • I am very amazed and amused by your belief. :)

No, torque does not kill tires. The driver does.

• Diesel redneck on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:08 am

It make you easy go uphill

• oh my god!…this fellow have never driven a diesel. try drive one, u’ll be amaze wt it’s torque

• 1/4 MIle on Sep 18, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Hory shet!! Torque are used to tow any heavy thing,Hill climb,Off-roading,and Drag race!!!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 2:12 am

not as impressive as merc BLUETEC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • @dead chicken kick pot… its a diesel you numbskull

• Pretty sure that BMW Malaysia has removed its diesel particulate filter and tweak it to be compatible with our Dino-era Euro 2M diesel!

• Zzzzz on Sep 18, 2014 at 8:39 am

And where the f*** did u plan to pump RON97 into diesel cars? Stupid Chicken

• BMW Fan on Sep 18, 2014 at 8:41 am

Got torque bro?

• beemer on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:18 am

Guys, i’m interested wt the beemer diesel(currently looking at the 520d since need a big family car) with its huge 380-400nm of torque from low rev + its hybrid like FC. But a bit worried abt our current euro2m diesel fuel, couple wt BMW very short (by today std) 2 years warranty….any advice from true owner pls, thank you in advance

• kl fella on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:07 am

hi, current owner of f30 320d year 2012. the same engine as the outgoing model, 184hp with 380torque. it has been 2 years and no issues at all. just regular servicing. 15km/litre traffic jam and town, 18km/litre mixed, up to 24 – 25km/litre full highway drive.

just pump BHP diesel, they’re somewhere around Euro 3 grade.. just search previous paultan article about bhp fuel..

• tishaban on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:53 am

Paul Tan himself owned an F10 520d for awhile.

My old E90 320d is already 4.5 years old without problems. I hated the BMW Malaysia 2-year warranty as well but thankfully none of the cars in my small group of whatsapp diesel owners have had any major issues.

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 12:32 pm

The thing is you must see if you are going to do lots of highway miles or not. If yes, then please go for the 520d, it is genuinely brilliant…

But if you go for more city driving miles, you are better off looking at a 520i or even the 528i. One of the things is that for a diesel to function well is that you should run the engine for about 30km avg of consistent driving (not stop go) to allow the catalytic converter to run and clear up the filters and dirt from it.

I have had a diesel car before (Santa Fe 2.2CRDI, not the insane 442Nm one but the pre facelift one) and after 90000km when I sold it, it was genuinely problem free.

• Krishna on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:48 am

After driving a diesel car, it will take a lot of convincing for me to come back to petrol. Price is stable (increased by 20 cents only once in 4 yrs), efficiency is much much greater (RM80 diesel gives me 750km), torque is much higher so very very powerful. Environmentally friendly too. I didnt have any technical issues with our diesel euro 2 and these cars are upto euro 5 or 6 ready.

So yeah, this is good news. I hope other car makes will introduce more diesel models too so that we wont be affected by the volatile petrol prices.

• kl fella on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:12 am

yeah fully agree.. i won’t go back to petrol.. just not used to the torqueless feel of normal petrol cars, unless it’s a turbocharged petrol. even petrol turbocharged torque will be lower, but it has the advantage of max torque at a wider RPM range (2,000 – 4,500 rpm).. diesel higher torque, but at a narrower RPM range (1,750 – 2,500 rpm).. so sustained high speed sure kalah, but who cares, we’re all living in cities, stop go traffic will be a breeze and with great fuel consumption!

• droll on Sep 18, 2014 at 2:07 pm

ah the solution to that is for manufacturers to put in a gearbox with more gears so you get to keep the car running within the torque sweet spot while at higher speeds. bmw seems to have done that. :)

• Contender on Sep 18, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Did I read correctly, there is 518d, entry level 5 series ? Hey when is BMW going to bring it to Malaysia ?

• Gracke on Sep 18, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Good new diesel engine!! Which means the 318d is coming on the way :-)

• F10 aficionado on Oct 17, 2014 at 12:36 am

Dear Paul,
    Thank you for this update. As a person who has been interested in owning an F10 since it was launched in 2010, I feel this new diesel model will be apt for me. I drive daily total of 70km / day to work and fro. As I haven’t had any experience in owning a diesel-powered car before, I would like to have your opinion and take on this F10 with B47D20 2.0 litre turbodiesel engine. Fyi, I don’t often change my car and if I purchase it, I plan to hold to the car for at least 4-5 years. Thank you for your attention.
    Regards,
    F10 aficionado