Proton Iriz EV prototype in Korea, developed with LG!

proton-iriz-ev-lg-korea-8

Seems LG Electronics’ involvement in the future of the Proton Iriz isn’t just limited to the ADAS stereo camera and the NEXLIDE lights – MITI minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed has posted pictures of a Proton Iriz electric vehicle (EV) prototype on his Facebook page.

Not completely far-fetched, this, since we know the Iriz’s all-new platform can has been designed to support hybrid and electric powertrains. Pictured here at LG’s R&D facility in Incheon, Seoul, the Proton Iriz EV prototype is claimed to have an all-electric range of 240 km – if that is so, it’s pretty impressive. The Nissan Leaf sold here only travels less than 200 km on a single charge.

Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) CEO Madani Sahari revealed recently that a prototype of a locally-assembled electric vehicle will be completed by September 2015, and that it would be the result of a joint-venture between a local company and a foreign one. Was this what he meant?

Late last year, we reported that Proton was targeting to bring its first EV to market by end-2015. Before that, Parliament was told that Proton would begin selling electric vehicles by 2014. At that stage, the national car company was collaborating with UK-based Frazer-Nash Research to develop its own EV. It has also worked previously with Detroit Electric.

Now that we know an electric version is alive, when can we expect an Iriz hybrid?

Learn more: ,

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Trolak on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:40 pm

nice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Damn nice…

How was the public phone, coin parking meter, those electric/electronic installation at road side, TNB cable, Majlis Perbandaran flooring metal plate?

How was the action taken to close the problem, not to mention prompt action.

How it could be survive under 3rd world country mentality?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 78
      • English Teacher on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:20 pm

dude, what the heck are you saying? ur english is so damn teruk.. no body can understand what rubbish is coming out from your mind.

please brush up ur english before trying to act like a keyboard warrior!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 7
        • Sawwy on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:50 pm

I would love to buy it, but Proton must give 50 years warranty first lah okay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 60
          • Lembu Rm500 juta, Sapi Nama on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Rm500 million spent BUT its DEVELOPED BY KOREANS ???

This is another Cowgate scandal in the making

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 101
        • Haha, what do you expect from Proton’s operation manager?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 41
      • Uzair on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:22 pm

True,

but the car is claimed to be able to travel 240km in single charge. Meaning, it is possible to charge it at home go to work, and return home to charge again.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 0
        • RON97 on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 124
          • buaya on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Are you an idiot? You do realize that there are lots of high end properties being built in those areas as well. Nobody wants to live in crappy little suites in KL anymore. People are willing to pay high end money for a bigger house, bigger land with beautiful natural surrounding.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 2
          • Poor people deserve a better car than a arrogant, third class mentality people like you.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:38 pm

First, we almost forgot the terrible traffic congestion that may need hours to release, not accurate to measure by km.

Second, this is too routine for msian that make impossible to deal with any surprise/ appointment where might risk our life in the middle of the palm oil farm, highway, federal roads, etc… with no charge facilities available/ damaged.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
          • If you caught in the traffic congestion, the battery will not be consumed except a little bit for A/Cond. The battery usage in EV has no direct correlation with time or duration caught in the jammed. That’s why as an international understanding, battery juice is measured only by distance traveled. TQ

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 1
          • kadajawi (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 7:26 pm

As long as there is electricity and a power socket you can charge it, albeit a bit slow. And as SYN mentioned, not moving = not using electricity, except for the AC (just open window instead if range is getting tight…).

• SkullJuJu on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Beats fueling anytime.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Last August there news at WSJ bout LG Chem is working on battery that rival Tesla range..they oso decline to reveal the name of thé car maker..So now we know what company..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • Keris Jawa on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Good luck Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • Marieta on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Oh my god…I love it, please put it into production quickly lah proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • Nicole on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:17 pm

if they can make iriz engine as smooth and powerful as the 1.5l myvi and as quiet as a nissan car and FC mileage as the axia it’ll be a success for proton

so far it’s still far from it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 98
    • myviu engine smooth and powerful??

Give me plastic bag..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 6
    • Eyo (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Engine smooth and powerful as the 1.5l Myvi ? err , i think you’re confused . It’s not the engine that is smooth and powerful , it’s the myvi’s body that is super light .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 3
      • One of an engineering feat in auto industry is to make the car body lighter. Not heavier like iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 52
        • And one of the most important feat of car industry is to have the most safety features as possible. Not excluded as most as they can, like you know who..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
    • So you want to downgrade the engine from 1.6L to 1.5L in order to be powerful? And you expect a 1.6L car to behave like a 1.0L car? Hahaha, why don’t you ask for 0.5L car to be as fast like Bugatti Veyron instead?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • clair on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Myvi 1.5L weight: 980kg
      Iriz 1.6L weight: 1170kg

Myvi fuel Rated Economy: 7.8 L/100 km
      Iriz fuel Rated Economy: 7.4 L/100 km

Do you think which better? I used Myvi and I think Myvi is “tin milo”, gear switching like stuck between the gear and that was not smooth.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 6
      • saifulmsm on Oct 02, 2014 at 7:35 am

i like iriz led lamp hehe

• pirlo on Oct 02, 2014 at 12:59 pm

those values are based on NEDC cycle. what if Iriz had same weight like Myvi?

based on the lighter Myvi, its FC values is not remarkable. why people still claim Myvi has good FC?

• Veneno on Oct 02, 2014 at 8:30 am

are u making a damn joke..?? Myvi engine feel like a tanker engine.. heavy as shit.. pffftt..

• Nice… now make it to at least 300km, i will be the fan of this EV version

• Long live Tun Mahathir. With you at helm, Proton will have a bright future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 16
    • kairul abdul on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:31 pm

You must be 2nd to DRB chairman, keep taking TDrM balls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 45
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Before TDM dont have power to control p1 destiny..now he has that power..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Eyo (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:26 pm

All electric range of 240km ? Count me in! i could be stuck worry-free in jam since petrol is no longer an issue woohoo . Now the Government must supply more electric car facilities such as car charger at every petrol station just in case:)

Drive safe everyone , may god protect you on the roads .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
    • In fact if you observed, there are already quite a number of charging stations available in Klang Valley. You even can find them at Penang 2nd bridge. But the stations are not necessary provided solely by the govt. It can be from private entities as this can be a new business opportunities. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
      • kzm (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:29 pm

that correct..there is business opportunity for that especially shopping complex.

• buaya on Oct 01, 2014 at 6:01 pm

there is one charging station in KLCC parking, in G-Tower parking etc. I also know one station in the big Petronas next to PLUS highway in Serdang. I heard cyberjaya buildings almost all have charging station. Hopefully, there will be more in the future.

• Karim on Oct 16, 2014 at 6:59 pm

We already have 100k mAh powerbank for smartphone. My take is the car has to start rolling first and the industry players will come up with a lot of juice in many ways (powerbank for EV, idealistically).

I didn’t hear ppl asking for more public charging facilities when we were about to introduce laptops and mobile phones those days. It evolved an still do.

• rosli on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:27 pm

gain back the quality of the car first. hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. shame on you Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 71
    • Nieko on Oct 01, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Well mr Rosli let me ask you something ? have seen the VW triplets ie the VW up/Seat Mii and the Skoda Citigo they have the same or even lower interior quality than this Proton.

You see the Europeans don’t care about Interior Quality for Cheap cars like this as They really like those Dacia Logans and Seat Tolido fyi these cars have the worst quality even worst than Protons ,all they care about is a few things like =
      1)Fuel Economy
      2)design
      3)safety features

The rest of it they couldn’t give a SHIT….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • Goh Jeng on Oct 02, 2014 at 9:53 pm

I still remember DSZA remarks when he launched Preve few years back that goes a lil bit like this:

“People (Malaysians) would prefer a car with Japanese reliability and Continental feelings at a Malaysian price.”

So damn funny.

• Imagine a car to be used daily in klang valley without the need to go to petrol pump forever and ever… How you would like that….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • mangata on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:34 pm

Soo much money going out for soo many research..u sure or not money is coming in to back up the current ambitious project..oh yeah..no worries coz government is there :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
  • Bestnyer xyah guna minyak da

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • I am all up for Proton going the EV route, but it would be a better choice producing hybrids first since the infra for EV charging stations are still lacking even in Klang Valley. If Proton really plan to roll out EV by end 2015, then need to make sure at least there are 30 – 40 new charging stations first.

• they said 240km but in real life it will never exceeds 240km. In longer term the power decreasing and only can go around 180km per charge.

• mad-scientist on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:56 pm

240km is the theroretical/calculated/modelised/simulated range. With stop go traffic, air-conditionin and other electric consumerism switched on: included Electric power steering for the new Iriz – it will be great if it gets to 150km. That’s the capacity of a lithium-ion battery

• kzm (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:27 pm

lol…electric power steering use 12V lead battery. same oso for other electrical parts eg light, radio, cooling etc..those lithium-ion use to move the car…same like Nissan Leaf. now u know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • nabill (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:56 pm

I hope thy will do with a range extender…a small engine to charge up the battries constantly, limitless range…makes alot more sence,n more practical

• toyota overall had a best review for hybrid car. why work with lg. if proton work with toyota/honda it should increased a consumer confident. by other name increase sale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:12 pm

LG is global powerhouse of EV battery…GM Chevy Volt and Spark source their battery from LG…VW oso planning to use LG battery..others Ford, Renault..there is rumour that Nissan oso in talk with LG to supply battery…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • Those big names got engineer / specialist to monitor the peoject. Proton ada apa? Nak harap Azlan and the 3 suku engineers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 41
        • kzm (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 6:42 pm

then u join la p1..jgn buat mulut busuk jer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
        • kett@VreakdoWn on Oct 01, 2014 at 6:48 pm

This will be a long term cooperation between LG and Proton..and the other car maker..do u think LG gonna make bad out of this ..?

• pirlo on Oct 02, 2014 at 1:02 pm

kau la buat ioma. kau macam terel je. MIT graduate kan with 4-flat every semester kan?
          tapi, with that intelligent minus the attitude, u wont go anywhere.

• Samurai G on Oct 03, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Warh really… now you sound like ‘3 suku people’..always talking a bad things about proton. No matter what Proton did, u always give ur bad comments. How much ar ‘they’ paid you…pity you. Such a ‘Mulut longkang’!!

• W204 C63 AMG on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:20 pm

The more you guys hyped this car up, the more embarrassing it is if it turns out to be a failure in sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • frossonice on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:45 pm

You do know that Paultan was the media partner during Proton Iriz launch? So, I guess now Proton start to listen to people since they ask Paultan instead of normal main stream media to cover their launch of Iriz.

Come on now, complain as much as possible. Don’t forget about the power window! We want it to last for eternity la Proton! :P

• kzm (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 6:50 pm

if u think paultan is bias y u still here? …many car site in boleh have same opinion as paultan.. do want to say all of them bias?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • haven’t u heard about P1 lifetime warranty for power window? well, now u know!

• rosli on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:24 pm

If cost more than petrol… say goodbye… lu fikirlah sendiri Nabil.

• amry83 on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:31 pm

i really hate stupid typical malaysian minded, as always everything is negative for any proton research and development.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • rosli on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:46 pm

you better hated Proton after sales service bro. hhhhh “Aku Suka Selalu Tipu Ramai Orang” (ASSTRO).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • rosli on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Funny… “Aku Selalu Tipu Ramai Orang” (ASTRO). hhhhh

• I hope every petrol pump will provide at least one charging station for starting

• Proton Iris Kornea on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Don’t forget that testing in Msia, need turn on A/C full blast, range will at least drop by 50km. Test in Korea no need A/C.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Haha.. Yeah.. testing in Korea no need A/C.. But they need heater during winter. And heater consumed more energy than A/C.. So, you guess, how much range will it drop in Korea.. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • Karim on Oct 16, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Nissan Leaf uses small solar panel for A/C, radio and wiper. Battery is solely providing juice for engine. Leaf definitely will be a benchmark for Proton EVs

• “Seems LG Electronics’ involvement in the future of the Proton Iriz isn’t just limited to the ADAS stereo camera and the NEXLIDE lights:

Actually the whole car were designed by LG, just like Savvy. It just the muka tak malu claimed they designed it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 50
    • lu apa cita on Oct 01, 2014 at 6:08 pm

moron detected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • Nieko on Oct 01, 2014 at 7:23 pm

1)FYI The next Mitsubishi Lancer will be based on a future Renault platform so who are you to say they never design the Iriz just because LG is involved in all its Electronic system does not mean that Proton did not make Iriz ,if LG made the Iriz they wont be quiet. They would let us know about it. They are KOREANS GOD DAMN’IT….

2)As for this Electric power plant well it looks promising as it will comply for NAP’S EVV incentives …so Perodua will not be the only one with an economical car….

3)Its not a good idea for all of us to question Tun Mahathir for he’s ambitious future plans as now he has the authority to make decisions for Proton however revolutionary it may seem. Yes I admit that last time He made a lot’s of promises that being just a company advisor he could never keep.. but now he has every authority to make things happen for Proton even if it means sacking anyone who don’t comply….In a way Tun M didn’t like Dato Syeid Zainal that much…as its because of him that we still have cars based directly from very useless car by Mitsubishi ie the Lancer. Yes the car had some amount of quality but when it comes to Safety/Economy and the mechanical side it still could not beat an even useless car the Toyota Altis let alone the Protons own Preve ….hum come to think of it if DSZ was still in power at Proton hah I don’t think there will be an Iriz let alone the Iriz Active what we will get is the Stupid,Gayish & Unsafe Mitsu Mirage ohh the horror..!!!!ewww

Keep Going Proton ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Whatever it is there are more inspira on the road than both you preve&suprima combined.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • If this EV launch, mean that Perodua no longer most save fuel national car anymore

• screwed on Oct 01, 2014 at 6:28 pm

so the 3 bil asked by old horse goes to LG?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Nieko on Oct 01, 2014 at 7:54 pm

Well he may be an old Horse but at least he’s doing something that will help improve a company like Proton, unlike you who is only a keyboard warrior..

FYI even BMW & Audi will request development grants from the German government.Because if the Germans are developing EV or Hybrid vehicle than they are entailed to seek Government funds don’t believe me huh google it and you will be amazed …

• danedz on Oct 01, 2014 at 7:18 pm

240km only?Nak pergi jauh kena beli power bank laa…hahahaha…

• GTR 2.0 on Oct 01, 2014 at 8:27 pm

Good one. Need to have few power bank, just in case :)

• FireAce on Oct 02, 2014 at 10:48 am

Power bank will not do.. Go get one generator, 20 liters of petrol and keep in the boot. Home made mobile charging station. :-)

• shawal on Oct 01, 2014 at 8:02 pm

I dont mind switching to EVs as long there is no sacrifices to be made….
    Alot of infrastructure has to be placed before such transition is made… Like wireless charging parking lots or at least charging stations in parking lots…and so forth

Electricity could be harness cheaply through nature if not for greedy power supplying companies and policymakers

And batteries could be recycled….

EVs are the future….. Until fuel cell becomes more feasible

Proton must benefit from tesla’s patents…

• darklord on Oct 01, 2014 at 8:14 pm

Proton IRIZ – Proton Design Process:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NDZFqQsnuOY&w=250

At 6.31. What do you guys think?

The next perdana or saga?

• I think it’s the next Perdana. Given that the clay model that they’re working on in that video.. you can see towards the end, the hood of the model clearly match the previous Accord which the Perdana will be based on.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 10:40 pm

For Malaysia, i hope every charging station will have aircon + f&b for ppl to drink & read newspaper while waiting for car to recharge.

• Tokano on Oct 02, 2014 at 9:15 am

Please 100x proton..mass produce this car a.s.a.p

• overthepagar on Oct 02, 2014 at 11:44 am

lepas abis batery, brapa boleh charge?? 6 jam ker 10 jam??

• bubbaonsteroids on Oct 02, 2014 at 1:19 pm

..eerrrrr..tun love spyshots?!?!

• Interesting on Oct 04, 2014 at 9:02 pm

So what the big deal here? Trying to explain the Govt R&D budget being spend wisely in LG.

As quoted in last paragraph this article Proton has been working with several EV technology companies. How much was spend in these companies?

It not that Proton seal an exclusive rights of LG EV technology that other automaker cannot used. For you know Nissan EV car may just used LG EV technology instead.

For I know, there will be no end R&D improvement to EV technology be it by LG, Nissan or Detroit Electric.

• Malaysians too addicted to Korean stuffs is it ?
    So stupid, their technology going down the drain already yet Malaysian still support.

Good luck, soon Korean will claim Malaysia land as 2nd Korea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • IrizX on Feb 11, 2015 at 7:45 am

This is actually something good. The Iriz is mainly a piece of junk thanks to the low powered noisy and loud twin terror combo of Campro+ Punch CVT.

Without these replacedthed by a new EV engine and transmission, it actually can become a car you wont hate to ride in.
    But it must comes with 10 yrs all round warranty including the battery. Otherwise, no thanks.

• It’s already 2016, end of it. Common proton.