W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class recalled – steering issue

Mercedes W205 C-Class France 54

The W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class has only been on the market worldwide for a few months, but it’s already been hit with a sweeping recall to fix an issue with the steering on Stuttgart’s latest compact executive fighter.

According to the company, the steering coupling interlock may have been set to an open position when the cars left the factory, instead of it being locked as it should be. This may cause the steering wheel to emit a squeaking noise and fail to turn, potentially resulting in a loss of control No accidents or injuries have resulted from the problem so far.

The issue technically affects only cars that were built in Europe, but Mercedes-Benz has decided to issue a worldwide recall as a safety measure instead. The company has yet to disclose the total number of cars affected around the globe, but it has already called back 28,000 units in Germany, 10,500 units in the US (which assembles its cars in Tuscaloosa, Alabama) and another 946 units in Australia (right-hand drive models come from South Africa).

UPDATE: Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has informed us that there will not be a recall issued locally, as the car has only just been recently launched. The company added that it will do a complete check on its cars prior to customer deliveries.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 13, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Haven’t seen one on the road yet and a trip down to Hap Seng revealed that there is still no test drive car yet but I got the chance to see the C200 up close and personal and boy is the interior a good place to be in though some of the switches on the center console feels plasticky.

Just looking at the color multi-info screen and you know this car is already ahead of its peers design and tech wise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Same L0rrr on Oct 13, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Recall shows the car manufacturer’s responsible and zero-tolerance attitude toward product weakness/defect.

No recall doesn’t mean the car is problem-free. You don’t do body checkup doesn’t mean you won’t get cancer.

It is much better than local car manufacturer. They hardly have any recall means they have good build quality?? everyone laughed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 34
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 8:44 am

What will Same LOrrr says when PROTON got recall? poor quality, shitty 5S, ask to change Management..bla bla..

• Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 11:02 am

If Proton is recalling, it is taking ACTION, not kopi o talk.

Did Proton recall as it should be with its build quality? Unfortunately No!

So Proton 5S lifestyle is still applied:
        1. Sendiri Cakap
        2. Sendiri Syok
        3. Sentiasa Rosak
        4. Sales Carnival
        5. Semakin Mahal

• More bugs to come – may take a few years to sort out all the small issues here and there, facelift version may be more stable.

Also, the current CBU w205 in Malaysia only has the LED projector headlamp without the Intelligent Light System (ILS). To note this is the “mid-spec” version and does not look as sharp as the one with ILS. See picture here: http://www.autoevolution.com/news/new-2015-c-class-w205-has-three-different-headlights-photo-gallery-73502.html

Don’t think the CKD version will have the top spec LED with ILS – even the CBU C250 doesn’t have it. MBM may be planning to reserve it for the facelift version so there will be enhancement functionally and visually to keep sales going for many years.

Moral of the story – wait for facelift, or buy the w204 AMG 2014 pre-owned at sub RM200k now which has been tested thoroughly over the years for bulletproof reliability. Best time to go in for the kill is probably around Jan 2015 for 2014 stock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 13, 2014 at 5:58 pm

because mercedes steering good feel. unlike audi steering no feel so problem also no need recall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Chai Brothers on Oct 13, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Campro still the best engine in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 39
    • wanny on Oct 13, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Apahal ni..orang cerita lain ko cerita lain. Tak ada kerja lain selain nak burukkan Proton..

• My Kangkung on Oct 14, 2014 at 8:31 am

I think no need to burukan proton.

Proton know it’s own reputation, reliability, technology, CSR, service quality, C/P value..

Pls give your comment.
        Thumbs up if proton doing good in these 32 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
        • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 12:33 pm

ya…good for my pocket….i makan byk duit dari proton tau

• Macai on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:57 am

Cam…Ptui…

• Bell Hans on Oct 13, 2014 at 6:18 pm

Ini stering baru sebab itu bermasalah

• policeman on Oct 13, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Can’t the German’s make a reliable car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
    • thomasNOTmyname on Oct 13, 2014 at 6:38 pm

Can’t the Malaysia’s make a reliable car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
      • policeman on Oct 13, 2014 at 7:43 pm

They can. I’ve owned several and am owning one now.

I just noticed a mistake in my question in the previous post. I’ll type it again.

Can’t the Germs make a reliable car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • you prove to me/us that NOT ONE german auto has EVER broken down, or had any kind of recall and i’ll show you Superman exists.

the fact of the matter is that even for a car company thats over 100 years old, sh*t still happens-period!

• Sam Loo Sucks on Oct 13, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Can’t the policemen keep our streets safe?

• policeman on Oct 13, 2014 at 9:45 pm

They do. Imagine how it will be without them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • thomasNOTmyname on Oct 14, 2014 at 9:52 am

They do. If you belanja them kopi O Kau Kau. Imagine how it will be without them (kopi O Kau Kau).

• APKing on Oct 14, 2014 at 11:54 am

Oh really? I thought u bz drinking teh tarik, makan kuih lapis and cari duit kopi. While there are robberies, bombers and shooters roaming around.

• screw you jack@ss! my dad, God bless his soul, was on the force, and so was his brother. you dont know what its like to see your mom scared shitless and learning how to shoot, sleeping with a .38 under her pillow, not knowing if your dad is ever comin back home coz his name popped up on a hit list, for doing his job right.

not all of them are bad u @sshole.

• Moronhead on Oct 15, 2014 at 12:07 pm

No one said that u fool. Say if maserati cars got 999 defects per 1000 cars. Do you go and scream at ppl if they say marerati is not good?

• holofanboi on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:17 am

Im borderline considering just stopping from frequenting this blog just from comments in this article. Ah… ;_;

*Sips cheap coffee at 12.17*

Nevermind. Just a necessary part of paultan :/

• TheDean on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:24 am

Wow. Inability to….. steer?!? At 160km/h, it’ll be hard to trust Benz Msia’s word.

• benzw205 on Oct 14, 2014 at 7:43 pm

I guess the risk is low but they just are scared to have to pay millions if accidents happen…